ReadyAPI

ReadyAPI
Formerly SoapUI Pro, LoadUI Pro, & ServiceV Pro

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Top Rated
ReadyAPI

Overview

Recent Reviews

API testing made simple

7 out of 10
June 13, 2022
When our organization shifted focus to building software in micro-service-style architecture, we needed a good tool to test the APIs. …
Continue reading

ReadyAPI

7 out of 10
January 13, 2022
We currently develop an ERP accounting system that makes use of an API such that third-party systems can integrate with us. Ready API …
Continue reading

Speeding up QA tasks

9 out of 10
January 12, 2022
We use ReadyAPI almost daily for API testing and automating our test case suite for future runs. This helps us especially when doing …
Continue reading

ReadyAPI : Good Tool

9 out of 10
January 11, 2022
ReadyAPI enables our team to create, manage and run automated functional, security, and performance tests of RESTful, SOAP, Kafka, and …
Continue reading

To ReadyAPI or Not

9 out of 10
December 06, 2021
ReadyAPI is used to validate endpoint functionality and for load testing. The main purpose of using the tool is to create specific …
Continue reading

ReadyAPI review

9 out of 10
November 09, 2021
We use it in IT department mostly to do the Test Automation of the REST APIs.
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of ReadyAPI, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is ReadyAPI?

ReadyAPI (formerly SoapUI Pro, LoadUI Pro, and ServiceV Pro) is a REST and SOAP API functional testing tool that enables software developers, QA engineers, and manual testers to work together to create, maintain, and execute complex end-to-end API tests in their CI/CD pipelines without needing to…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

3 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Katalon Studio?

Katalon Studio is provided by the vendor as a free and robust automation solution for API, Web and Mobile testing. It is designed to eliminate the complexities of building an automation framework by integrating all necessary test components with built-in keywords and project templates. Katalon…

What is TestComplete?

TestComplete is a test management and functional, performance testing tool, from SmartBear Software headquartered in Somerville, Massachusetts.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is ReadyAPI?

ReadyAPI (formerly SoapUI Pro, LoadUI Pro, and ServiceV Pro) is a REST and SOAP API functional testing tool that enables software developers, QA engineers, and manual testers to work together to create, maintain, and execute complex end-to-end API tests in their CI/CD pipelines without needing to code.

ReadyAPI Integrations

ReadyAPI Competitors

ReadyAPI Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ReadyAPI's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses ReadyAPI?

The most common users of ReadyAPI are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 67)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have worked on different API automations like Ready API, Rest Assured, Katalon Studio, Karate etc. And after evaluating different tools we found that ReadyAPI is far superior to other API automation tools. It supports testing for Rest, SOAP, GraphQL, etc. It is a Scriptless API testing tool. Data-driven testing and Security testing are important features of this tool. It also has a feature to measure test coverage. So far Ready API is one of the best API automation tool I have come across in recent times.
  • Scriptless
  • Data driven testing
  • API Reporting dashboard
  • Security and Performance testing
  • Run Test suites in parallel
  • Property Transfer
  • Only supports Groovy script
  • Licensing cost
  • Limited options available to generate data using Data source
ReadyAPI is one of the best API automation tools. It is a Scriptless tool and requires very less coding expertise while working with groovy scripts in ReadyAPI. It is well suited for testing Rest, SOAP, GraphQL, etc services. Data-driven testing has been made it very easy with various options such as Excel, Database, JSON, etc. Performance testing is also one of the important features of ReadyAPI. It is not suited for Web or Mobile automation. Also not appropriate for mocking the servers
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When our organization shifted focus to building software in micro-service-style architecture, we needed a good tool to test the APIs. ReadyAPI was a great solution as it makes automation and performance testing very easy. A lot of tools in the market are good for manual testing but not for automated ones.
  • It makes API automation seamless, easy, and efficient.
  • Performance testing, distributing load, and key performance indicators are very well put together to help improve the performance of APIs.
  • Even non-programmers can quickly ramp up and write efficient automation tests.
  • Such a good tool and I love it. There are many open-source tools that do the same and are free.
  • Adding visuals to show chaining or dependent apis will be helpful.
  • Adding contract testing feature to the toolset will improve the value immensely.
If you have non-programmers and manual testers in the team, ReadyAPI is the best fit for API testing and automation. This will make the testing cycles shorter and improve the quality drastically. On the flip side, if your team has developers and test engineers who can write code, there are many open source solutions out there that can provide more or less all the features.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ReadyAPI is my go to tool. We do a lot of API testing, and with ReadyAPI the tests are easy to create and manage. The business problems we are able to address using ReadyAPI in conjunction with our CI/CD we can easily verify if a breakage occurs. When our tests start failing, we can easily trace back what the problem is connected to and easily verify whether the data returning is correct or not.
  • Test Suite Management
  • Test Step Updates
  • Import APIs from SwaggerHub
  • Would love to see some built in groovy scripts for easy addition and editing
  • The documentation can be lacking, ex: Wildcards and how to implement, as well as groovy scripts
  • Love the dark theme, but wish I could pick colors, as some of the functions are hard to read
As stated, we do a LOT of API testing, the swaggerhub import makes it easy to add APIs. This is very well-suited, as well as easy management of the steps/cases/suites inside of ReadyAPI. The one thing I do wish ReadyAPI was better suited for is changes to data, we have a lot of test cases in ReadyAPI and if we make a change to how the backend data is structured, one-by-one adjustments need to be made to the steps. Less appropriate, UI testing.
January 13, 2022

ReadyAPI

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently develop an ERP accounting system that makes use of an API such that third-party systems can integrate with us. Ready API helps us in testing the API from a functional as well as a performance perspective
  • Setting up Endpoints
  • Setting up of assertions to check if endpoints are working correctly
  • load testing of endpoints
  • Ease of use similar to test tools such as test complete
  • Groovy script completion for users that do not have Groovy knowledge
  • Easier buildup of endpoints like a built in Swagger Inspector
For any application that has any type of API and requires automated testing, Ready API is the ideal solution.
It is critical for API testing. It is not suitable for front end web testing
January 12, 2022

Speeding up QA tasks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ReadyAPI almost daily for API testing and automating our test case suite for future runs. This helps us especially when doing regression testing of many of our components (around 10) and allows us to run the whole suite of +1000 tests in a couple of hours, and this is only for ONE team within the company!
  • Generating test data
  • Reusability of test steps
  • Flexibility on creation of assertions
  • Running big batches of tests can break the application or freeze the UI interaction
  • Creation of result reports
  • Version control is not possible (branching, merging, etc.)
As a QA Engineer, creating, automating, and running test cases for APIs involves 70% of my working time. For this, ReadyAPI has been an excellent tool to do my tasks in a dynamic and time-saving way. On the other hand, ReadyAPI has presented many challenges when more than one person wants to work on the same project. For this scenario, the tool is not suitable since it doesn't have the ability to create parallel branches and merge them together after working on a project.
January 11, 2022

ReadyAPI : Good Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ReadyAPI enables our team to create, manage and run automated functional, security, and performance tests of RESTful, SOAP, Kafka, and other web services within a centralized interface, driving thus the quality of APIs.
  • API
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Productivity analysis
  • Test management
  • Data extraction
  • VSC doesn't work well
  • No connector to NoSQL database
  • Performance
Well suited for test management.
January 07, 2022

Software QA Manager

Laura Graham LaRocca | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ReadyAPI for Functional and Security Testing for our API updates. This allows us to have consistent testing with quick turnarounds per release.
  • allows for data driven testing
  • allows functional tests to be run at a project, test suite, and test case level, making it very flexible
  • security testing is made quick and easy
  • The copy/paste functionality in the requests, results and data source grids has been lost and does slow down work.
  • The tool is memory heavy and memory usage could be improved.
  • I have some long calls that "work" but don't respond before the UI times out. These are requests I am using to stuff variables for the subsequent requests. It should be possible to extend the wait time of the tool, as long as the Request is working.
ReadyAPI manages endpoints and environments very well, allowing the automation to mix several endpoints into the same Test Case. It is much better for automation tests. Postman has a Team Workspace which allows the SME to set up example Requests for the rest of the team and this works better for manual testing.
December 06, 2021

To ReadyAPI or Not

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ReadyAPI is used to validate endpoint functionality and for load testing. The main purpose of using the tool is to create specific scenarios that can be mocked by utilizing files with actual production data and then running it against different endpoints to confirm code is providing the correct response
  • data validation
  • load testing
  • endpoint availability
  • change ability between the free and paid version
  • better tutorials
  • better bulk processing
Is well suited for: - Validation of single data points - API functionality Is not suited for: - Validation of large amount of data points
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team is responsible for developing and delivering APIs for various system integration requirements. ReadyAPI suite of solutions makes the process of developing, documenting, and testing steps very easy. We have used the SoapUI aspects for connecting with and validating external on-prem as well as cloud solutions, LoadAPI to test the API load on the system by generating up to 500 mock API calls per minute with the virtual users feature. This is a tool that is integral to our day-to-day operations.
  • API contract validation
  • API load testing by simulating simultaneous virtual users
  • External credentials validation
  • RestAPI interfacing and testing
  • Clarity in API call failures
  • Better UI
We were estimating the system resource requirements during peak times in production but our QA system didn't have the same type of API load. We used LoadAPI to simulate the virtual users and multiple calls per user to create the same API load that was on our production system. This helped better estimate system resources and benchmark the test results.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's amazing software with loads of features readily available for both SOAP and REST services. I'm using ReadyAPI licensed version and I feel it's one place for all soap and rest service testing (including load test). I would strongly recommend this software for anyone [who] needs API testing in their day-to-day work.
  • Load testing feature is readily available with less effort to configure
  • Automate validation of response using assertion makes my work so easy
  • ReadyAPI is easy to use, user friendly compare to many other leading API testing tools
  • More customization on reporting would be more useful
  • Frequent updates and frequent changes in look and feel is something annoying at times, but not always
  • Customization of dashboard would be greatly helpful to manage our workspace and projects effectively
Best used for SOAP and REST-based services, which includes functional and load tests. This product is not greatly helpful sometimes, where there is event-based testing is required. It would be great if you could integrate event triggering options, pushing messages to JMS or MQ, etc would be an awesome feature.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Phase Change is in active development with our AI product, Cobol Colleague. We use ReadyAPI to validate API responses continuously using our CI/CD pipeline, which integrates with Jenkins and Test Rail. We also use the LoadUI Pro capabilities to do quick load testing when necessary, re-using our ReadyAPI (SoapUI Pro) tests. This re-use capability was a large reason we went with ReadyAPI.
  • Easy to use JSON path exploration to find the correct element to assert
  • Easy to re-use SOAPUI Pro tests in the LOADUI feature
  • Easy to integrate with Jenkins
  • Would be very handy to have some "canned" groovy scripts for more complex assertions - we had to create our own
  • API coverage reports just don't seem to make sense
ReadyAPI is well suited for API assertion testing and lends itself to easily modularizing the functions being asserted. The integrations with Jenkins and TestRail are very easy to use. There is some flexibility in the scenario set up for LOADUI that we like - it's not as robust as some others (e.g. LoadRunner) but it does the job for us.
November 09, 2021

ReadyAPI review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in IT department mostly to do the Test Automation of the REST APIs.
  • Easy to write REST requests
  • Easy to get values from the responses between multiple test steps
  • Easy to copy existing test cases
  • It is really hard to merge the changes of two different developers
I speak from experience and it is in test automation. It excels there and it allows us to achieve 100% test coverage on our APIs.
Ahmed Amer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it for different projects in different domains, but mainly it was used for a governmental project that included integration with different existing entities. My entity was providing and consuming different soap services that needed to be tested and validated before exposing them. This was done manually at first, then we started forming a flow of these services where responses from one service were fed into the request of another service, and so on. Then we started creating a script for some of these services to help us with one of our daily time-consuming tasks. This service was responsible for adding documents to a request, so we created a script that takes the request number from a user as an input using groovy script, runs a validation service that retrieves mandatory documents for this request, parses responses, and passes them to another service responsible for adding these documents to the request. We also used it to load test soap services that we provide under different techniques.
  • Different Load testing techniques with variable loads and settings allowing to load test your service in different ways.
  • Assertions are much easier to use by inspecting responses, especially xpath assertions.
  • Exporting test scripts and linking them on jenkins.
  • Modern and user friendly GUI compared to free version.
  • Running test scripts in parallel.
  • Reporting graphics and figures are not very user friendly, they look slightly like old fashioned reports.
  • There's no tracking of test scripts execution history.
  • Occasional lags and freezing while running load test.
Generally speaking, it's the most powerful tool if you're working with soap services. It's well suited to be used to automate daily time-consuming tasks that rely mainly on soap services, by using groovy scripts that can help add an unlimited set of functionality like creating test data, verifying test data, and adding documents through soap services to requests. It's not very appropriate to be used with RESTful services since there are more powerful tools that provide a wider range of functionalities.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, ReadyAPI is mainly used for testing API services.

Our main objective is to test services across many environments, also we need scripts to generate data, etc. That's why we started using ReadyAPI, which has different environment support and is easily changed in one click. ReadyAPI also supports Groovy scripts and WSDL.

ReadyAPI is a great tool to create test steps and their flows also has a nice assertions system.

  • Multi Environment Support
  • Several test cases and its flows management
  • Scripts support
  • Complex assertion system
  • GIT, Jenkins, Docker Support
  • Dark Mode
  • Simple test cases copy paste functionality
  • Changing several assertions same time
I am not able to recall using anything which can be compared to ReadyAPI for API testing. ReadyAPI is a must-have tool for mid/large organizations to test their API services across all envs. ReadyAPI is well suited to test all kinds of API types.

The disadvantage of ReadyAPI is that sometimes it's not stable and it crashes and if your changes are not saved, it's all lost. I would love to see a recovery feature added to it. Also, it doesn't have dark mode support which really strains my eyes.
August 11, 2021

My ReadyAPI experience

Birobrata Deb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is used by my project
  • It helps us with automating our APIs
  • Saves time, manual effort and repetition
  • Available plugins, though some I know are not yet supported
  • It has a good logging mechanism
  • UI needs to be improved. It's sometimes unstable.
  • Plugin for Jira Cloud available, but not supported. This creates confusion
  • For me, takes very long time to launch.
It definitely helps in reducing manual effort significantly, but the UI needs an overhaul and improvement.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ReadyAPI is used at our organization primarily in a testing capacity, within I.T.
When new functionality is implemented and is exposed via web services, both development teams, and testing teams, use ReadyAPI to test the functionality against expected results.
LoadUI Pro is also used, in a more limited capacity, by testing teams, to conduct performance testing of the web service.
  • The ability to be data-driven is a huge asset.
  • Cross-compatible with many protocols - it's not just SOAP-based.
  • Provides a full eco-system of products. Very feature-rich.
  • Solid Enterprise integration, including singles-sign-on, and OAuth2
  • Pricing. It's both complicated to understand how it's priced, and it's very costly.
  • The UI is very outdated. It's not a friendly user experience
  • Lack of connectors for different, popular products and platforms
I would recommend ReadyAPI if the organization is ready to fully embrace the ReadyAPI ecosystem. It is the most feature-rich and fully integrated suite of products for API design, testing, and collaboration. But it is opinionated in how it does things, and it really only provides value (for the cost) if you leverage the whole suite.
If you're looking for something lightweight, that can start providing value right away without too much setup, then you may be disappointed with ReadyAPI.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Majorly, it used by one department for automated regression suites.
  • Its drag n drop feature is easy to use.
  • Data generator in data source is one of the best features of ReadyAPI
  • Hierarchy of arranging test suites/cases/steps helps a lot in managing the stuff
  • Should be able to add test step like REST even when there's no API added in the project.
  • Its integration with GIT is very annoying, especially when you want to delete uncommitted changes and pull latest.
  • Sometimes ReadyAPI made some changes of its own. These are also very annoying.
Best:
  • Automated suites for regression and smoke.
  • Integration with GIT and other majorly known repo.
  • Integration of CICD with DEVOPS and other services.
August 03, 2021

API Testing Made Easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool is being used by developers and integrators to develop and test the various kinds of web services available within the IT system that we develop. It is also used to train on the various web services available and provide meaningful examples. The tool is also used to perform regression testing.
  • Ability to use test data from previous requests
  • Quick and easy to discover and connect to service endpoints
  • When using Forms within a Test Step, doesn't also keep the values entered
[Well suited] as a training tool to discuss with integrators using our web services.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were looking for an option for creating our regression suite and ReadyAPI came as a solution for it, our application being API heavy application.
This application is being used across multiple projects for building Regression/Functional Testing suite and load testing as well.
  • Easy to use.
  • Reporting.
  • Creation of test cases.
  • Adding validation.
  • Execution.
  • Execution on multiple environments with less/no changes.
  • More helpful documents.
  • Use of multiple scripting language (adding code ) for validation.
  • Performance when steps or projects grows in a workspace.
1. GUI automation is not possible.
2. Performance degrades, when steps grows or multiple projects are added in a workspace.
3. Version support, in case someone is using older version, the application stops proper execution. A pop up should be shown with the changes in newer version.
4. Also, updating version sometimes removes our prior many changes.
5. Sometimes even though we save steps etc., the same is not saved and need to redo it.
August 03, 2021

Best tool used

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ReadyAPI is used for the quality department to bring efficiency on the API test. We use the tool to automated all the API that the company has, doing the process easy and fast. We do regression test with just a click, saving time, give us the option to handle more that one API in less time.
  • Easy to learn.
  • Friendly user experience.
  • A lot of documentation.
We use ReadyAPI mainly for the regression test, really easy to check all the endpoints that you need in less time. Also is really easy add new endpoint. Also, we check one a week all the API that we has with just one click, providing the errors with good response and efficiency.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our teams have been using ReadyAPI tools ever since we decided to implement automated testing to test our API services. After successfully using ReadyAPI Test to test our RESTful services for many years, we're now also starting to use it to load test our APIs. It allows us to create extensive functional and performance tests and benefits greatly our entire department.
  • Ease of use (ability to automatically import API definitions, Jenkins integration for running in the pipeline).
  • Detailed test reports (allow to easily identify weak spots during both functional and performance testing).
  • One platform for all tests (allows to closely couple and reuse existent tests).
  • Sometimes Ready API Test performs poorly or freezes when REST response contains a lot of data
  • Performance Tests documentation could be updated to describe different assertion points with examples of usage.
  • Ability to disable certain test steps only in the Performance Tests section, while leaving them on for Functional Tests could be added.
ReadyAPI is a great tool to use in any scenario where API testing is required. It allows using a single application to test functionality, performance, and security.
Rashad Miriyev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ReadyAPI for API manual testing and automating API tests. Developer team and QA team use ReadyAPI intensively.
  • Working with multiple scripting languages, firstly groovy
  • So handy for API mocking
  • It is easy to automate API tests
  • Usability can be improved. Sometimes doing simple something can be more complex
  • There are some performance problems. It uses more resources on computer.
It is so simple to virtualise/mock API responses and automate manual tests. For example, when I need to mock some parts of API, I always prefer ReadyAPI.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ReadyAPI tools help us in the digital transformation which encompasses the API first approach, cloud native and micro-services based tech stack and platforms. REST APIs and services are built by numerous teams across departments and ReadyAPI is employed across different phases of SDLC lifecycle, from prototyping to development to testing and deployment.
  • Create virtualised services
  • Test the APIs and integrate in CI CD pipelines
  • Development teams use to define the skeleton of services along with OpenAPI / Swagger
  • Usability of GUI screens can be improved
  • Sharing of API projects across teams, similar to Postman, can be implemented
It is well suited in the development phase, when developers can import definitions (SOAP, REST) and work with different APIs. It can also be used to define contracts for API through Swagger / OpenAPI. In the testing phase, it can be integrated in CI / CD pipelines to run test suites for different APIs. Also, when multiple teams work on different APIs which are to be consumed by the other, virtualisation feature in ReadyAPI helps in creating virtualised services through the definitions / contracts created earlier.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used on several accounts and users. Many use the free version but we have quite a bit of us who use the Pro version. Used for automating functional testing.
  • Functional test automation
  • WYSIWYG interface for data driven testing
  • Matured product
  • Can extend functionality with scripting
  • Need phone support
  • More examples of groovy script for advanced users
  • Decrease load time
  • Ability to connect to Google Sheets as data source/data sink
Anyone can start with free version. Pro version is well suited [for] automating functional testing and data driven testing and doesn't require scripting knowledge for simple cases. LoadUI Pro is good for load testing but is quite expensive when [there are a] lot of free options are available.
Anthony Aziz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use ReadyAPI [(formerly SoapUI Pro, LoadUI Pro, & ServiceV Pro)] to quickly test web services. We consume services from many different vendors, clients, and other business partners. SOAP web services can be very tedious to manually test. ReadyAPI allows us to quickly import service definitions and test requests and uses cases before beginning proper implementation in our projects.
  • Import service definitions for quick discovery
  • Send requests and inspect responses
  • Set up test suites/cases
  • Code generation is out dated
  • XML generation can be a bit disorganized at times
We use ReadyAPI [(formerly SoapUI Pro, LoadUI Pro, & ServiceV Pro)] to test other web services for evaluation and discovery purposes. WSDL and other SOAP services are especially tedious to manually test in other generic HTTP testing tools, especially with large payloads. ReadyAPI lets us skip the needless scaffolding and send requests quickly, so that we can begin development on consuming the services in our projects.

ReadyAPI also allows configurable test cases for WSDLs, which enable integration testing of a service that might otherwise be difficult or tedious.

ReadyAPI can test REST and other simple HTTP requests, but is tedious for one-off testing of these types of APIs.