Microsoft Dynamics 365 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
550 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 80)

Patrick Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Dynamics - Perfect for a Seasoned Team with Low Turnover

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was asked to address the growing separation of marketing and sales at a local school (so, in this sense, sales will be considered Admissions). I needed to do several things 1) turn focus towards the completion of the job (leaving the small, menial tasks to the machine), 2) coordinate a way for both marketing and admissions to work together, knowing how well the other department is doing without interference, and 3) ensure quality standards were met when employee retention was a major issue. Microsoft Dynamics was used briefly through a sister account to observe how new employees would take to it, as well as see how currently long-time employees would take to it (reverting to old ways or moving towards the product).
  • Data unification - "one stop shop"
  • Adaptable pay structure, with customization options
  • Not new user friendly, nearly impossible to train someone new in it without them losing interest
All told, if it hadn't been for the fact that we were testing it with both employees who knew CRM lingo and those who were new, we wouldn't have found such an issue. The program itself can be very useful for people who already manage CRMs, who know how to use them, who know how to run and manage employees on them, namely because of the "one-stop-shop" concept in data visibility. When it came down to it though, if you have high-turnover, then this product will devolve into only being used for it's base components. Down the middle, we found that the people who'd been in marketing for 4-5 years fell into the product easily because of the way it was written. Everyone before that, with novice experience, thought it was written like a textbook for a graduate class - little to no leeway if you don't happen to know one specific term.
Read Patrick Stephens's full review
Kenyata Garner | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Whether start up, small or well established....Microsoft has the software you need to expand, enhance, and take your business to the next level.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started off using Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM) as both my business partner and I have used numerous Microsoft products in various positions and companies we worked for. When we decided to start our own business, which is still in the startup stages, we all agreed that Microsoft Dynamics 365 would be the best choice and provide us with the best tools we needed for data, our business insight. UPDATE*********We are still using this software and have found it to be very useful in and for our business matters and needs. We are now a little more seasoned if you will and find it to be a vital necessity for our company.
  • We haven't jumped into the marketing as much as we would like but what we have seen and anticipate it will work great.
  • The sales module works great.
  • The layout can be a little better as far as navigation.
  • Pricing
I think that whether you are a start-up, small business, or large business, this software will work for you if you customize it to your specific needs. It is easy to use, and training is a breeze. Onboarding, even for us still in the starting stages, has been smooth, and we anticipate immense growth in the coming years, so that is important to us.
Read Kenyata Garner's full review
Jarrod Mobley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Dynamic is Dynamite!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft dynamics is being used by our company by sales, operations, and admin support employees. Dynamics helps sales track new prospects and house historically relevant data to reengage old prospects and new. Sales process is tracked from start to completion of sale and handed off to operations for implementation. Operations can then see all bites attached to assist in converting over to client status.
  • Customizable
  • Fast
  • Entering data can be tedious. Mass information entering isn’t very easy.
  • With customization can also come with more steps to enter some data.
Compared to Salesforce, I love the ability for sales reps to edit and delete information. Salesforce did not have that flexibility for me in past roles. I also think that the reporting options are fantastic. I can easily create custom views so the I can find relevant and usable data.
Read Jarrod Mobley's full review
Sara Rogers | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Dynamics CRM for the win

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics CRM is the software we use to manage our clients and prospect data and where sales keeps track of opportunities and tracks pipeline, etc. It's also now where our support team tracks support tickets. We have found that the CRM has helped us build stronger relationships, improve productivity and performance and give our staff a single view into the complete activity for any given account or contact. We integrate it with our campaign management platform (Marketo) as well as our sales enablement platform (Seismic) so our entire sales organization (account execs, demo, implementation) can easily see how marketing is also interacting or influencing the buyer journey.
  • Integrations
  • Customer engagement
  • Not particularly strong in completeness of vision
  • Higher priced than competition
The system does everything we need it to. We (as marketers) use it to find out about clients and prospects given it's tracking engagement and opportunities for all of our product lines across the organization. It's also tracking (in some cases) which campaigns or trade shows a specific client or prospect has attended that we have also exhibited at. Further cementing that our audiences attend xyz events and showing we need to continue to engage in these events to engage and influence like minded individuals with the same pain points.
Read Sara Rogers's full review
Susan Hammiche | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Manage Financial and Operations together

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is mainly used by the sales and marketing department to keep track of leads and potential leads as well as current and past client contacts. It helps improve the workflow in regards to financial management and customer service as well as other areas. With its vast variety of applications that are integrated, it helps keep everything organized.
  • Customer Relationship Management
  • Simple layout design
  • Pricing - small businesses have smaller budgets
  • Learning curve for users not familiar with it
Dynamics 365 is a great application for all kinds of businesses from the feature standpoint. It can be used in many ways for financial and operational management. By tracking your customers and leads, you can keep everything organized and everyone in your department can see the progress. That way nothing gets lost or forgotten. From the price point, it may be harder from small businesses to use this software as it carries a high monthly or yearly cost.
Read Susan Hammiche's full review
Robert Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

GFI goes to the cloud with Microsoft Dynamics 365

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The platform is being utilized by our real estate brokers as a customer relationship management platform. Additionally, management of those brokers is using the platform to harness data on call volumes opportunities missed and forecasting
  • Reporting
  • Visualizations
  • Mobility
  • Better performance.
  • Better UI on mobile.
  • More security features.
For a small business, it's a home run and you can scale it up or pull it back being in the cloud makes it durable and always on. Depending on the complexity of your sales organization it could cumbersome to use, but compared to Salesforces it has a great value at a lower cost
Read Robert Ross's full review
Srinivas Rao | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Happy with Microsoft 365

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is used by our department or customer support team, we call it the Share point. My team members and I use this to share data which contains secured data and we do feel safe as the details are not compromised. The main issue of sharing critical data with the team is what has been addressed.
  • Secured
  • User friendly
  • Customer-centric
  • Lively
  • Graphics could be improved.
We all use Microsoft products and MS Office too. Sharing of Excel files has never been a hassle, across geographic locations.
Read Srinivas Rao's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics 365 is currently used as a company-wide CRM for the management of our sales metrics, customer contact, and database. It is widely used by upper management to track the "health" of their pipelines and sales goals. Lower-level employees use it daily to keep track of customers and data entry. It has been a great tool for running various queries to view performance. Very easy to use.
  • Query searches.
  • Great user experience and design.
  • Displaying data in various charts.
  • Global search function tends to freeze a lot.
  • Linking emails to certain leads/opps could be improved in both Outlook and Dynamics.
Well suited for companies with products to sell products instead of services. Well suited for users who are familiar with Excel.

Not well suited for companies who need high levels of customization to their CRM and data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2020

Dynamic reporting and customer service

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is being used across our organization from development to project management. When our school has large projects, we like them to go through the pipeline process. It helps track project tickets for our facilities and IT departments, as well as helping us keep track of donor leads and alumni.
  • Large user group network with great customer service support!
  • Reporting
  • Sometimes the processing and saving seems to be slow.
  • Email - several technical issues
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is well suited If you want to use something with great Outlook integration. Our facilities department can schedule projects and program meetings to make sure that our school projects stay on the desired timeline. And we can keep track of the project with programmed emails and internal communication notes using this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Microsoft is hard to beat

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across our whole organization, and it helps to bridge some communication problems and usually works pretty adequately. It definitely helps us to track leads, but sometimes we have issues with the cloud updating that may not be related to the program and just might be our system.
  • Great for tracking metrics.
  • Helps people stay organized.
  • The interface isn't as friendly when accessed on a Mac, but not bad.
  • It has a lot of functionality and sometimes it is difficult to find the exact one you are looking for.
It has great integration with our software, but do your research on how it integrates with your specific software. Microsoft Dynamics is constantly being updated and the customer service is excellent. It is a nice comprehensive CRM solution all-in-all. It is very efficient compared to other systems I have evaluated, and is what I recommend to customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

The fast and easy way to set up your customer analytics and loyalty management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics is mainly used by the Marketing Department of our organization. Its main purpose is to provide the back end for our mobile app and to manage loyalty programs. Also it provides reports and dashboards based on customer transactions. It helped set up our customer relations base and reach our guests.
  • It has a solid structure to set up customer and loyalty analytics.
  • It provides a good amount of reports that could be customized and extended easily.
  • Export of some large reports can be problematic and you may have to divide reports into smaller chunks.
  • Navigation in the report pages can be difficult.
Microsoft Dynamics CRM is well suited to establish a basic standard customer relations and analytics structure. Many of the basic concepts are ready and could be customized with less effort to start analyzing your customer behaviors and prepare your strategy to keep existing base as well as extend your customer access. It has good integration especially with Excel where you can analyze live data from CRM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

Great CRM tool with a lot of potential

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this application globally within our company and not only by the sales reps or department but it holds a lot of the essential master data for our products and pricing structure. Our product managers and marketing users use the application to compile information about our sales and send out surveys etc. CRM 2016 enables the company to streamline the process and way of working with a sale from lead to order, and it helps our service technicians to handle RMA's and service cases on a global scale.
  • Guides the sales reps through the sales process.
  • Enables fairly quick quoting, presenting the customer with a quick quotation.
  • We had to rely on some third-party tools like Experlogix and HubSpot, it would be neat if this was unnecessary.
  • It's a Microsoft tools, so the number of clicks is still too high.
It's fairly easy to customize and integrate against, but it does require some developers to maintain. There's no product configurator or great mobile app, but these are areas in which MS knows to invest in future versions of CRM. The support for new on-prem versions seems to have been diminished since everything is going cloud which I think is a bit of a shame.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Dynamics 365 at a glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Battelle is currently using Microsoft Dynamics 365 as its primary CRM system across the entire organization. We use it to track business opportunities throughout the duration of the sales process, from contact generation to order close. This helps the organization overall keep better track of it's current and potential projects.
  • It allows opportunities to be linked directly to specific accounts and contacts.
  • It allows users to enter specific details of phone conversations they have with clients or potential clients.
  • It could provide a better training program.
  • It could have a slightly better user-interface.
It's well suited to track opportunities throughout the duration of the sales process. It's also well suited to tie opportunities to specific contacts and accounts. Less appropriate scenarios include tagging emails from Outlook in a quick and easy manner, as it's not very good for this. It's less appropriate to use on the phone as its mobile interface is somewhat difficult to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Clarity and data intelligence with Dynamics 365!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics 365 is being used in our company to track valuable insights that help our teams monitor their relationships with key customers and ongoing interactions with them. The predictive insights from the tool are used to decide future strategies and support our remote teams in working in a more cohesive, aligned manner.
  • The dashboards are truly fantastic. Highly customizable, easy to understand, and quick to gain key insights upon logging into the tool.
  • Depth of information available in the tool is necessary for various teams to gain the right level of detail they need.
  • Integrations with other applications is helpful for our remote teams. This allows different apps to feed into one another and makes it easier to use overall.
  • There are very many subpages in the tool, and this can make it more challenging to onboard new users to the tool. It takes some adjusting to, to feel that the tool is seamless.
  • As access to info, or access to particular sections of the tool, can be restricted for some users by the main admins, this can be frustrating as not all team members have access to the same information. This means that admins must build more strategy around how the tool will be used.
Dynamics 365 is necessary for larger organizations with teams across regions/locations. Having a centralized tool allows everyone to work better together. In these cases, predictive analytics are also a necessity, as planning actions among a remote team can be a challenge, and this tool helps with that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

easy to train and create custom documentation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This was part of a custom CRM application for a vanity cosmetic surgical organization. We were brought in to work with on site developers to create custom training and deploy the product nationally. We fielded questions from users, worked with developers to tweak the system, and promote the benefits to the population to garner buy in for the process change. This was an extreme overhaul of process.
  • Easily customizable
  • Scalable
  • Not a complete con - but it did have a different look than what they used before
It works well when you have a development team on site or dedicated to the project. There are necessary updates/features that you don't anticipate in planning. Having trained developers ready to make changes is key.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Dynamics is a one stop shop to help all your business operations be more streamlined

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynamics 365 as our main CRM platform with our company. Dynamics is used by all departments within our organization. We utilize Dynamics for marketing, support tickets, sales, accounting. CRM and HR. Basically our entire business runs off of Dynamics. We have been able to streamline processes across all departments as a result of implementing Dynamics 365.
  • Dynamics 365 being in the cloud is great since it reduced maintenance and is accessible throughout the world
  • Dynamics is very customizable and can be tailored to your companies exact needs
  • Great support for third party software providers that integrate into Dynamics 365
  • Great automation features
  • Would be great if you didn't have to have a staff member dedicated to just administrating Dynamics and
  • Can be a pain to fix if something breaks since Dynamics can get extremely complicated
  • The Reporting could use some improvements
  • Wish it was cheaper
Dynamics is great for mid to enterprise customers. Since it can perform almost every backend business function that is required to run a mid to enterprise size corporation. Dynamics is less well suited and can be overwhelming for smaller business under 100 users and can get expensive fast with consultants and dedicated staff members to just administer the platform.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Pink | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2019

Dynamics 365 is the way to go

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is using Dynamics 365 Online (currently Version 9.1.0.5826 April 2019 release) in three small to mid-size projects delivering professional services for 3 large company clients. We have Customer Engagement licences that include Sales, Customer Service, Project Service, Field Service, Voice of the Customer Surveying, Retail, and a Portal. Along with delivering our professional services to customers on behalf of our clients, we utilize Dynamics 365 as a standalone XRM database to thoroughly and accurately record and house data.

While a spreadsheet can easily house data, the Dynamics 365 platform is streamlining data entry, ensuring projects and other record types move along a rigid process for consistency and predictability, and providing unrivaled data insights to making decision and ultimately serve our client better. We are currently using the Project Service Automation app to manage thousands of construction projects that are applying for grant and incentive money. We easily imported more than a million of the clients customers records from their database to be able to understand the customer base and better serve them for our client.

We will eventually take advantage of the Voice of the Customer Surveying Portal for external partner access, as well Field Service for scheduling field work.
  • Provisioning and initial deployment are a breeze and completed within a day or less after receiving the licences.
  • Customizations and configuring the database instances is extremely simple as long as changes and enhancements are implemented cautiously and with purpose.
  • Integration with other Microsoft applications is one of the top selling points, such as Outlook for tracking email to Dynamics 35, data connections to Excel for refreshing data exports, PowerBI, Flow, & PowerApps
  • Advanced Find querying is one of the easiest tools to quickly get and save data accessed regularly.
  • The native Microsoft mobile tablet and phone app can be implemented with minimal extra work or configurations.
  • Ability to 100% fully implement (and integrate with other Microsoft platforms) with no code whatsoever (100% no code SaaS!) saving time any money for quick deployments.
  • The Dynamics 365 community is massive for forum support and user group networks.
  • Microsoft Dynamics 365 storage & license cost can prohibit some large deployments or even cost-sensitive small projects from using the platform (although I'm certain most deployments would realize a positive ROI if implemented correctly with process automation).
  • The cost and licensing document for Dynamics 365 is 61 pages and will take a rocket scientist to understand it. It's better to just have your Microsoft help estimate the cost if they are willing to help you that.
  • The documentation on how to first fully understand the Out of the Box default solution and settings is lacking or even non-existing. This has the potential to derail Dynamic 365 launches and implementations from the gitgo. Want to use an out of the box entity?.. well it's probably related to 5 other entities that require configuration and full understanding of it to successful implement. And you ask where is the laymen guide or instructions?... User groups and forums. In Summary, Microsoft can up its game in deployment training and supporting documentation.
  • Microsoft needs to incentivize more external platforms to build app connectors for easy integration, such as ZenDesk, Slack, Tableau, etc. Even the current connector apps such as Salesforce, MailChimp, Docusign are useless or don't work at all.
  • Several limitations inhibit successful Dynamics 365 deployments such as: limited number of Rollup field calculations (summarizing fields on child/related records), limited number rows that can exported to Excel via advanced find, Dynamics 365 files, log and database storage size limit is extremely small and will always require purchasing additional storage (for Online deployments).
  • New user buy-in or acceptance or system platform changes can be difficult if a solid change management plan isn't enacted.
  • Don't expect much help from Microsoft on implementation or solutions unless it's a technical flaw with the platform. Microsoft relies on their MVP partner network to consult for implementations at a hefty cost. Hiring a knowledgeable and savvy Dynamics 365 System Administrator can reduce the need for consultant support; of course, this is dependant upon many many variables.
Scenarios that are well suited for Microsoft Dynamics 365 deployments are:
  • ones with rapid deployment requirements, ones favoring low/no code solutions,
  • needing process automation (such as automated emails or workflows),
  • existing Office 365 platform enterprises,
  • those needing to standardize manual data entry for error elimination and enhance consistency,
  • those looking to utilize a third party consultant or Microsoft Partner for implementation.

Those that may shy away are
  • ones with extremely complex integrations with other systems and with little resources/capital,
  • those with datasets that are so large requiring a lot of extra GB storage and thus becoming costly.
Read Justin Pink's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

Dynamics 365 Customer Engagement (CRM) Is the Hidden Flagship behind the Microsoft Power Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics 365 Customer Engagement (CRM) is used by Sales, Customer Service, Marketing, Purchasing, our Creative Labs, our Quality Control Labs, Shipping, and Regulatory. Besides the out-of-the-box functionality we use, typical customer relationship management, we also have built on top of its custom, line-of-business applications. Traditionally, this was called XRM, but now the proper term would be model-driven PowerApps. Without these tools, we could not function.
  • Some useful out-of-the-box features, like mass uploads of Leads from trade shows or when qualifying a Lead, CRM automatically creates the Opportunity, Contact, and Account for you, etc.
  • Really powerful customizations through the user interface to improve user experience. Things like Business Rules, for example, if Field A = 1, then Field B = 2 and Field C = 2, if Field A = 2, then Field B and Field C don't apply, so automatically hide them.
  • Or other functionality that improves user experience, like Business Process Flows. These walk users step by step through our business process, helping them know when certain actions should take place, and at what point other data is now required. We've used this extensively with our Lead to Opportunity to Quote to Order process, helping users understand the business process each step of the way.
  • Customizations built on top of the platform now called model-driven PowerApps. You can have connections to "typical" data, like Accounts, Contacts, or Opportunities, for example, but then connect that data to custom entities, records that only apply to your specific business. This is all done through the user interface and allows you to customize and automate specific line-of-business applications for your specific needs.
  • Behind the scenes, D365 CE is built on SQL. So the data conforms to industry standards and makes it much easier to interact with. Your developers and IT team will thank you.
  • Small learning curve, obviously. You won't figure this out in a day, a week, or even a month. But given time, you can learn to be an expert. Or you can always get a consultant or hire in somebody. But learning the tool isn't out of the questions by any means.
  • Licensing can be confusing at times and isn't cheap, but it is cheaper than Salesforce. Plus no additional fees for data calls to better integrate your D365 CE data with other systems.
  • The Classic user interface left a bit to be desired, but now with the much-improved Unified Interface, the web client and the mobile client look the same, much more modern, and have more flexibility and power behind them for customizers as well.
Typical customer relationship management is great. Accounts, Contacts, Leads, Opportunities, etc. Those are obvious. But where it really shines is in the customization and integration with other Microsoft tools. Outlook connection for painless contact creation or tracking email communication. SharePoint and Office 365 Group connection to store documents related to a client and allow others to collaborate on overlapping data without additional D365 licenses (or at least get the much more cost-effective Team Member licenses to read data but make only limited edits). Or, full-on model-driven PowerApps, allowing quick development of custom line-of-business applications whose data can be related to other "standard" business records, like the "normal" CRM records. And the connection to Flow allows for hundreds of other systems to be connected to D365 and allows you to automate business process. Or, other third-party tools, such as Tibco Scribe, can be used to pass data back and forth between systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2019

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Makes Good Business Sense

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Dynamics 365 Online to track customer information, coordinate with our marketing automation systems, use it as a source of inspiration for content creation, and take it on the road with us via its mobile capabilities as marketers and salespeople. It is very effective and functional for our organization and its diverse needs among individuals and teams. Though I've only been using it about 2 years, our organization has thrived with its evolution for over 10.
  • Mobile Functionality Provides Modern Efficiencies that Allow us to Thrive
  • Multi-Departmental Functionality Improves Process Effectiveness
  • It's a natural segment of our business use and product/services models
  • As a marketer myself, I think Microsoft Dynamics 365 could do better at providing a Trailhead-style source for users
  • Community engagement is lacking - Microsoft could become more socially fluid and fun
  • Microsoft Dynamics 365 should extend its marketing team to create a more comprehensive and fun library of resources and tools for users
I would recommend Microsoft Dynamics 365 V9.0 Online, especially. Microsoft does a good job with upgrades and evolving to meet marketplace demands. Users should take advantage of the benefits of using it Online. On-Premises doesn't seem nearly as effective or sensical once you've upgraded to the Online version. Whether you're a small or large business, it makes sense to have CRM. It's how the world runs, and Microsoft Dynamics 365 is a front-runner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Dynamics 365 drives almost everything we do for/with our customers.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics 365 is being used to manage our direct customer base as well as that of our wholesalers and resellers globally. It is what drives sales, service, support, invoicing, and reporting, as well as wholesale/resale web portals and customer web portals. Dynamics 365 is at the center of our business and drives the delivery, management, and support of our product to our customers.
  • Works out of the box.
  • Supports a wide variety of customization to support any business.
  • Easy to customize and integrate.
  • Reliable performance that does not require a lot of IT resources even with an on-premise deployment.
  • On-premise versus online deployment options.
  • Internet-facing deployment is available.
  • Strong ecosystem of apps and support.
  • Reporting: built-in reports are not user-friendly. We do our reporting from Power BI to give us that flexibility.
  • Email: does not thread email conversations.
  • Email editors/text editors are weak and don't allow for the rich text editing supported by most email clients.
Dynamics 365 is well suited for all customer-centric businesses where an XRM system is needed whether it's small or extra-large. It is capable of handling your sales, customer service, support, field service, etc. Essentially all of your customer management will be in one place with a little or as much customization as you want to invest in. It will is also able to integrate with your other systems.
Read this authenticated review
Alexander Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Are AI and Outlook Integration your Primary Concerns? Here's the Product for you!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is being implemented to clients aided through our consulting services. We have multiple clients using Microsoft Dynamics to focus data in Sales, Finance, and Marketing primarily. We are keen to migrate clients to the cloud, as the benefits of Microsoft Dynamics 365 in the cloud are greater than on-premise solutions. However, we consult in both areas.
  • Having options for both cloud and on-premise solutions. Some clients, especially government contracts do not allow cloud-based solutions and must have on-premise. However, for most the cloud is the better option.
  • Multiple versions, such as enterprise and business edition, are not completely dissimilar. As a user of the business edition, it was easy to pick up the enterprise edition. Both are available for clients that may require different scales of solutions.
  • Microsoft's AI suite is among the best in the world and its integration with Microsoft Dynamics is very desirable for clients, and offers exciting advantages for sales.
  • Customization is tricky with Microsoft Dynamics 365. Javascript is primarily used, and due to this most business edition users keep their solution as "out of the box" as possible to save time and cost.
  • The out of the box interface is clunky, and those who do not want to customize the interface will lose time figuring out and navigating through the complex interface.
  • To get the most out of Microsoft Dynamics 365, you need integrations with the rest of Microsoft's suite, which incurs more cost and can make it so you're putting all your "eggs in one basket".
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is well suited when you already have existing Microsoft products ready to be integrated, and skilled Javascript developers to aid in the customization. Microsoft's different levels of Dynamics 365 make it appealing to different sized clients. The ability to manage sales, HR, finance, integrated with artificial intelligence and other Microsoft solutions makes it a great choice. However, its use of MS SQL primarily is annoying, as the clients I dealt with were migrating from Oracle solutions using MySQL, so these clients required a large and long-winded data migration.
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
Madelin Jaen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

A One Stop Shop for Data Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics is used across the company for the purpose of recruiting, managing applicants, completing onboarding and retaining up to date information on screening processes and candidate status. It allows for a seamless transition from applicant to new hire, and allows us to collect candidate information online to streamline the onboarding process.
  • Microsoft Dynamics is extremely robust, allowing for customization to a degree that I haven't found in other products.
  • The wide spread access enables employees from across the company to access the same up to date information constantly.
  • I am able to have all my relevant work information in one consolidated system. I can access Microsoft Dynamics at any time, which gives me the freedom to complete work wherever I may be.
  • The largely robust system can make for a tricky learning process. There are many things that can't be learned through training, just by time spent working in the system. This can make for a difficult transition for those who have never worked with the system.
  • Microsoft Dynamics can be slow at times, due to how much data it contains. This is a minor inconvenience at best, but it can be frustrating.
Microsoft Dynamics works best for large organizations that require a system to handle a lot of data input and collection. If you have a large number of employees that need consistent access to the same information, this is a good fit. I find it especially useful in onboarding and screening potential applicants. It would not be as well suited to smaller companies with minimal data management or low hiring standards.
Read Madelin Jaen's full review
Felix Tapia | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

HVAC Migrating to Microsoft Dynamics 365

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, the commercial commodity sales, residential commodity, and equipment sales side of our business are using the product. We're using it as two tenants integrating with our backbone ERP for real-time data.

It addresses the sales side of our organization and provides data on opportunities, in addition to prospect and customer communication.
  • Opportunity sales funnel view at a glance.
  • Task management for appointments, email tracking, and notes.
  • Outbound email communication using ClickDimensions and reporting on those pushes.
  • Web traffic data reporting.
  • User display enhancements. Mainly aesthetics.
  • Navigation control by security level.
  • Greater control of the iPhone app.
Allows for Microsoft Dynamics 365 to be the HUB for your business and provides a birds-eye view of staff.

Our sales team can find resources within Microsoft Dynamics such as brochures, literature, and templates and use them accordingly.

Our team can also view if their contact has acted upon an email sent, i.e. opened, clicked or completed a form.

Leads from external sources such as trade-shows and web-forms can be transferred and acted upon correctly.
Read Felix Tapia's full review
Lukasz Kokot | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

My Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is being used across the whole Americas Division in our organization by several departments. It's being used by our customer service, sales, and marketing departments. It addressed the issue we previously had with managing our customer service tickets. Prior to implementing Dynamics in our organization, we weren't able to track our tickets or even know how many tickets each rep dealt with on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
  • Dynamics does a really good job integrating with other applications. Exchange for example-- within minutes (an admin account is required) you can integrate Dynamics with Exchange so the application can start sending out emails from any user or service/department mailbox to customers. Once Server Side Sync is set up, Dynamics can also start email ingestion without any issues. Other applications can be integrated into Dynamics this easily as well, Microsoft or not.
  • Another thing that Dynamics does very well is case management. You can use Dynamics to manage every aspect of your customer service experience without any issues. Customer service reps can create cases automatically from emails, phone calls, or create them manually and communicate with the customers without leaving the application.
  • Managing accounts is yet another thing Dynamics 365 does a really good job with. You can create custom account forms that have all the information you need for your accounts. You can also connect your accounts to contacts and stakeholders so it can be easily determined what account is associated with a specific email address or phone number.
  • Dynamics 365 mobile app requires some improvements in my opinion. The overall performance of the app can be at times sluggish (even on Wi-Fi) and the updates that need to be downloaded when the app is opened are too frequent and take too long to download.
  • With Dynamics 365 Online the back-end access is limited which makes simple tasks difficult to complete at times. With the online version, admins don’t have access to the SQL databases so finding out things such as storage allocation difficult since it requires creating a Microsoft Premier ticket, which in my opinion has room for improvement.
  • The workflows in Dynamics 365 work in a way where only one can be run at a time, so if you have configured several of them to run, say to send out several emails, they will not run in parallel. The second one will have to wait for the first one to finish before it can be executed. I think that needs improvement since the application should be able to run several workflows at the same time.
In my opinion, a scenario where a business has a large sales force with hundreds or even thousands of accounts and sales reps that need the information to be available to them at any moment is what Dynamics 365 is well suited for. Also, when a company needs to track what the salespeople do with those accounts and opportunities is another example of something Dynamics 365 is well suited for.
Read Lukasz Kokot's full review
Nagish Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2018

Nothing is Better then Dynamics, total ROI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We in our organization use Microsoft Dynamics as a primary CRM/ERP across the whole organization for drawing charts for deep data analysis. We use it for decision making. It allows us to access it from the web, PC and mobile devices simultaneously. We use it in our Finance, Field service Client Management and many more across each and every department.
  • Everything in one place such as Sales, Marketing, Finance, Field service, Customer Service, Operations and the automation which is not available in other products that are in the market right now.
  • Most likable thing is customer support of Dynamics which I didn't see any other ERP or CRM team provide.
  • It looks and feels kinda mashup of Microsoft Word, Outlook, Excel, etc then it's a bit difficult to use it with ease at the start.
  • The knowledge curve for the first time Microsoft product user is a little slower and challenging for the first time for the user who is not familiar with other Microsoft products
  • Calculated metrics such as Key Performance Indicators, ratios, etc.. are not as simple as I'd like within the tool Can be done. I don't like to use codes and scripts much.
There are no such scenarios to not to use Microsoft Dynamics because it is a complete package and there is not any other application on the market which gives that many features which can be used in each and every scenario. I will be a little biased here because I love Microsoft Dynamics and use it everywhere.
Read Nagish Khan's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customer data management / contact management (60)
8.5
Workflow management (58)
7.8
Territory management (44)
8.0
Opportunity management (55)
8.5
Integration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail) (57)
8.1
Contract management (45)
7.5
Quote & order management (42)
7.6
Interaction tracking (53)
8.0
Channel / partner relationship management (44)
7.9
Case management (42)
8.6
Call center management (38)
7.9
Help desk management (42)
8.3
Lead management (54)
8.2
Email marketing (55)
7.7
Task management (50)
7.8
Billing and invoicing management (38)
7.9
Reporting (44)
7.8
Forecasting (48)
7.5
Pipeline visualization (53)
8.5
Customizable reports (57)
7.7
Custom fields (57)
8.2
Custom objects (54)
8.1
Scripting environment (41)
7.8
API for custom integration (46)
8.0
Single sign-on capability (47)
8.8
Role-based user permissions (48)
8.7
Social data (30)
7.6
Social engagement (31)
7.8
Marketing automation (49)
8.1
Compensation management (23)
7.8
Mobile access (40)
7.4

About Microsoft Dynamics 365

Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly called Microsoft Dynamics) CRM is a CRM system providing sales, marketing, and service (help desk) functionality. It is offered in two flavors: Online (competing directly with Salesforce) and on-premise.

The Microsoft Dynamics family of business applications includes other related products for ERP and retail management.

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Features

Has featureComprehensive Solution for Sales, Service & Marketing
Has featureProductivity Through Seamless Integration with Office 365
Has featureAnalytics Through Seamless Integration with PowerBI

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Integrations

Act-On Software, Oracle Eloqua, HubSpot, LeadLife, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Marketing, Adobe Campaign, Aprimo, eTrigue DemandCenter, ReportMiner, Centerprise Data Integrator, Syncfrog, LiveChat, CallidusCloud CPQ, CallidusCloud CLM, SnapEngage, Boingnet, Devart Excel Add-ins, GreenRope, Cincom CPQ, Axiom EPM, Paperless Proposal, QuoteWerks, Ektron Web Content Management System (Discontinued), Interactions Digital Roots (formerly ENGAGE), Office 365, PowerBI, Yammer, Microsoft Social Listening

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:global
Supported Languages: Over 40 languages