TrustRadius
Microsoft Dynamics CRM is a CRM system providing sales, marketing, and service (help desk) functionality. It is offered in two flavors: Online (competing directly with Salesforce) and on-premise. The Microsoft Dynamics family of business applications includes other related products for ERP and retail management.Are AI and Outlook Integration your Primary Concerns? Here's the Product for you!Microsoft Dynamics 365 is being implemented to clients aided through our consulting services. We have multiple clients using Microsoft Dynamics to focus data in Sales, Finance, and Marketing primarily. We are keen to migrate clients to the cloud, as the benefits of Microsoft Dynamics 365 in the cloud are greater than on-premise solutions. However, we consult in both areas.,Having options for both cloud and on-premise solutions. Some clients, especially government contracts do not allow cloud-based solutions and must have on-premise. However, for most the cloud is the better option. Multiple versions, such as enterprise and business edition, are not completely dissimilar. As a user of the business edition, it was easy to pick up the enterprise edition. Both are available for clients that may require different scales of solutions. Microsoft's AI suite is among the best in the world and its integration with Microsoft Dynamics is very desirable for clients, and offers exciting advantages for sales.,Customization is tricky with Microsoft Dynamics 365. Javascript is primarily used, and due to this most business edition users keep their solution as "out of the box" as possible to save time and cost. The out of the box interface is clunky, and those who do not want to customize the interface will lose time figuring out and navigating through the complex interface. To get the most out of Microsoft Dynamics 365, you need integrations with the rest of Microsoft's suite, which incurs more cost and can make it so you're putting all your "eggs in one basket".,7,For those without a centralized, all in one solution for major HR, Finance and other departments, Microsoft Dynamics 365 has vastly improved employee time utilization and profit. Migrating clients from on-premise to the cloud has reaped benefits including better security, no unscheduled downtime and frequent updates to functionality. Those transferring from cheaper solutions have lost money in the aim to be better integrated with other Microsoft products and AI they don't really utilize.,Salesforce Service Cloud,UiPath Enterprise RPA Platform, Blue Prism, Microsoft 365 BusinessA One Stop Shop for Data ManagementMicrosoft Dynamics is used across the company for the purpose of recruiting, managing applicants, completing onboarding and retaining up to date information on screening processes and candidate status. It allows for a seamless transition from applicant to new hire, and allows us to collect candidate information online to streamline the onboarding process.,Microsoft Dynamics is extremely robust, allowing for customization to a degree that I haven't found in other products. The wide spread access enables employees from across the company to access the same up to date information constantly. I am able to have all my relevant work information in one consolidated system. I can access Microsoft Dynamics at any time, which gives me the freedom to complete work wherever I may be.,The largely robust system can make for a tricky learning process. There are many things that can't be learned through training, just by time spent working in the system. This can make for a difficult transition for those who have never worked with the system. Microsoft Dynamics can be slow at times, due to how much data it contains. This is a minor inconvenience at best, but it can be frustrating.,10,I would be unable to be as effective without the capabilities of this system. While it can be slow due to such a large quantity of users and data, it allows me to run the branch effectively. I have also had a few complaints from new employees who were struggling to adapt to using the system. It took several weeks for them to feel comfortable navigating the system.,HVAC Migrating to Microsoft Dynamics 365Currently, the commercial commodity sales, residential commodity, and equipment sales side of our business are using the product. We're using it as two tenants integrating with our backbone ERP for real-time data. It addresses the sales side of our organization and provides data on opportunities, in addition to prospect and customer communication.,Opportunity sales funnel view at a glance. Task management for appointments, email tracking, and notes. Outbound email communication using ClickDimensions and reporting on those pushes. Web traffic data reporting.,User display enhancements. Mainly aesthetics. Navigation control by security level. Greater control of the iPhone app.,10,The reporting feature has allowed our sales team to be proactive in anticipating customer's needs. Our team, during the winter season, can see which of their accounts have not ordered in two weeks and can be proactive in reaching out to them to place heating oil orders. The reporting feature also allows a view for seeing which customers have outstanding invoices and the salesperson can work in tandem with accounting to collect and track all interactions. Our sales team can see which of their opportunities are lapsed and work proactively to close and or document loss appropriately. This increased close ratio and allows the marketing team to assist with timed email push reminders.,Swiftpage ACT!, Salesfusion and Salesforce.com,Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Office 365, Adobe Acrobat DCMy Microsoft Dynamics 365 ReviewMicrosoft Dynamics 365 is being used across the whole Americas Division in our organization by several departments. It's being used by our customer service, sales, and marketing departments. It addressed the issue we previously had with managing our customer service tickets. Prior to implementing Dynamics in our organization, we weren't able to track our tickets or even know how many tickets each rep dealt with on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.,Dynamics does a really good job integrating with other applications. Exchange for example-- within minutes (an admin account is required) you can integrate Dynamics with Exchange so the application can start sending out emails from any user or service/department mailbox to customers. Once Server Side Sync is set up, Dynamics can also start email ingestion without any issues. Other applications can be integrated into Dynamics this easily as well, Microsoft or not. Another thing that Dynamics does very well is case management. You can use Dynamics to manage every aspect of your customer service experience without any issues. Customer service reps can create cases automatically from emails, phone calls, or create them manually and communicate with the customers without leaving the application. Managing accounts is yet another thing Dynamics 365 does a really good job with. You can create custom account forms that have all the information you need for your accounts. You can also connect your accounts to contacts and stakeholders so it can be easily determined what account is associated with a specific email address or phone number.,Dynamics 365 mobile app requires some improvements in my opinion. The overall performance of the app can be at times sluggish (even on Wi-Fi) and the updates that need to be downloaded when the app is opened are too frequent and take too long to download. With Dynamics 365 Online the back-end access is limited which makes simple tasks difficult to complete at times. With the online version, admins don’t have access to the SQL databases so finding out things such as storage allocation difficult since it requires creating a Microsoft Premier ticket, which in my opinion has room for improvement. The workflows in Dynamics 365 work in a way where only one can be run at a time, so if you have configured several of them to run, say to send out several emails, they will not run in parallel. The second one will have to wait for the first one to finish before it can be executed. I think that needs improvement since the application should be able to run several workflows at the same time.,7,Dynamics 365 had the positive impact on our business by letting us implement the same business processes for customer service across all business units and brands across our Americas Division (including Canada, Mexico, and Columbia); there are over 50 business units and or brands. It also let us put standards in place across all the customer service departments across the Americas Division since they all are using Dynamics 365. Lastly, Dynamics 365 provided a positive return on investment by providing our sales force with the information they need when getting to a business meeting with a new or existing client (account) that previously they would need to research beforehand now can be accessed at any time on their mobile device.,Salesforce.com,VMware ESXi, Citrix Essentials, F5 BIG-IP, Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne, ClickDimensions, Microsoft Azure, Bluebeam Revu, SonicWall Web Content Filtering Services, Box, AirWatchNothing is Better then Dynamics, total ROIWe in our organization use Microsoft Dynamics as a primary CRM/ERP across the whole organization for drawing charts for deep data analysis. We use it for decision making. It allows us to access it from the web, PC and mobile devices simultaneously. We use it in our Finance, Field service Client Management and many more across each and every department.,Everything in one place such as Sales, Marketing, Finance, Field service, Customer Service, Operations and the automation which is not available in other products that are in the market right now. Most likable thing is customer support of Dynamics which I didn't see any other ERP or CRM team provide.,It looks and feels kinda mashup of Microsoft Word, Outlook, Excel, etc then it's a bit difficult to use it with ease at the start. The knowledge curve for the first time Microsoft product user is a little slower and challenging for the first time for the user who is not familiar with other Microsoft products Calculated metrics such as Key Performance Indicators, ratios, etc.. are not as simple as I'd like within the tool Can be done. I don't like to use codes and scripts much.,9,Improved efficiency by integrating reporting through for account managers for analysis Improved targeting Improved customer service by providing better information within reach,Salesforce.com,Salesforce.com
Windows
Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM)
468 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Microsoft Dynamics 365
468 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 468 vetted Microsoft Dynamics 365 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 61)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Alexander Cooper profile photo
March 02, 2019

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Are AI and Outlook Integration your Primary Concerns? Here's the Product for you!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is being implemented to clients aided through our consulting services. We have multiple clients using Microsoft Dynamics to focus data in Sales, Finance, and Marketing primarily. We are keen to migrate clients to the cloud, as the benefits of Microsoft Dynamics 365 in the cloud are greater than on-premise solutions. However, we consult in both areas.
  • Having options for both cloud and on-premise solutions. Some clients, especially government contracts do not allow cloud-based solutions and must have on-premise. However, for most the cloud is the better option.
  • Multiple versions, such as enterprise and business edition, are not completely dissimilar. As a user of the business edition, it was easy to pick up the enterprise edition. Both are available for clients that may require different scales of solutions.
  • Microsoft's AI suite is among the best in the world and its integration with Microsoft Dynamics is very desirable for clients, and offers exciting advantages for sales.
  • Customization is tricky with Microsoft Dynamics 365. Javascript is primarily used, and due to this most business edition users keep their solution as "out of the box" as possible to save time and cost.
  • The out of the box interface is clunky, and those who do not want to customize the interface will lose time figuring out and navigating through the complex interface.
  • To get the most out of Microsoft Dynamics 365, you need integrations with the rest of Microsoft's suite, which incurs more cost and can make it so you're putting all your "eggs in one basket".
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is well suited when you already have existing Microsoft products ready to be integrated, and skilled Javascript developers to aid in the customization. Microsoft's different levels of Dynamics 365 make it appealing to different sized clients. The ability to manage sales, HR, finance, integrated with artificial intelligence and other Microsoft solutions makes it a great choice. However, its use of MS SQL primarily is annoying, as the clients I dealt with were migrating from Oracle solutions using MySQL, so these clients required a large and long-winded data migration.
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
Madelin Jaen profile photo
February 09, 2019

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "A One Stop Shop for Data Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics is used across the company for the purpose of recruiting, managing applicants, completing onboarding and retaining up to date information on screening processes and candidate status. It allows for a seamless transition from applicant to new hire, and allows us to collect candidate information online to streamline the onboarding process.
  • Microsoft Dynamics is extremely robust, allowing for customization to a degree that I haven't found in other products.
  • The wide spread access enables employees from across the company to access the same up to date information constantly.
  • I am able to have all my relevant work information in one consolidated system. I can access Microsoft Dynamics at any time, which gives me the freedom to complete work wherever I may be.
  • The largely robust system can make for a tricky learning process. There are many things that can't be learned through training, just by time spent working in the system. This can make for a difficult transition for those who have never worked with the system.
  • Microsoft Dynamics can be slow at times, due to how much data it contains. This is a minor inconvenience at best, but it can be frustrating.
Microsoft Dynamics works best for large organizations that require a system to handle a lot of data input and collection. If you have a large number of employees that need consistent access to the same information, this is a good fit. I find it especially useful in onboarding and screening potential applicants. It would not be as well suited to smaller companies with minimal data management or low hiring standards.
Read Madelin Jaen's full review
Felix Tapia profile photo
January 17, 2019

"HVAC Migrating to Microsoft Dynamics 365"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, the commercial commodity sales, residential commodity, and equipment sales side of our business are using the product. We're using it as two tenants integrating with our backbone ERP for real-time data.

It addresses the sales side of our organization and provides data on opportunities, in addition to prospect and customer communication.
  • Opportunity sales funnel view at a glance.
  • Task management for appointments, email tracking, and notes.
  • Outbound email communication using ClickDimensions and reporting on those pushes.
  • Web traffic data reporting.
  • User display enhancements. Mainly aesthetics.
  • Navigation control by security level.
  • Greater control of the iPhone app.
Allows for Microsoft Dynamics 365 to be the HUB for your business and provides a birds-eye view of staff.

Our sales team can find resources within Microsoft Dynamics such as brochures, literature, and templates and use them accordingly.

Our team can also view if their contact has acted upon an email sent, i.e. opened, clicked or completed a form.

Leads from external sources such as trade-shows and web-forms can be transferred and acted upon correctly.
Read Felix Tapia's full review
Lukasz Kokot profile photo
December 28, 2018

"My Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is being used across the whole Americas Division in our organization by several departments. It's being used by our customer service, sales, and marketing departments. It addressed the issue we previously had with managing our customer service tickets. Prior to implementing Dynamics in our organization, we weren't able to track our tickets or even know how many tickets each rep dealt with on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
  • Dynamics does a really good job integrating with other applications. Exchange for example-- within minutes (an admin account is required) you can integrate Dynamics with Exchange so the application can start sending out emails from any user or service/department mailbox to customers. Once Server Side Sync is set up, Dynamics can also start email ingestion without any issues. Other applications can be integrated into Dynamics this easily as well, Microsoft or not.
  • Another thing that Dynamics does very well is case management. You can use Dynamics to manage every aspect of your customer service experience without any issues. Customer service reps can create cases automatically from emails, phone calls, or create them manually and communicate with the customers without leaving the application.
  • Managing accounts is yet another thing Dynamics 365 does a really good job with. You can create custom account forms that have all the information you need for your accounts. You can also connect your accounts to contacts and stakeholders so it can be easily determined what account is associated with a specific email address or phone number.
  • Dynamics 365 mobile app requires some improvements in my opinion. The overall performance of the app can be at times sluggish (even on Wi-Fi) and the updates that need to be downloaded when the app is opened are too frequent and take too long to download.
  • With Dynamics 365 Online the back-end access is limited which makes simple tasks difficult to complete at times. With the online version, admins don’t have access to the SQL databases so finding out things such as storage allocation difficult since it requires creating a Microsoft Premier ticket, which in my opinion has room for improvement.
  • The workflows in Dynamics 365 work in a way where only one can be run at a time, so if you have configured several of them to run, say to send out several emails, they will not run in parallel. The second one will have to wait for the first one to finish before it can be executed. I think that needs improvement since the application should be able to run several workflows at the same time.
In my opinion, a scenario where a business has a large sales force with hundreds or even thousands of accounts and sales reps that need the information to be available to them at any moment is what Dynamics 365 is well suited for. Also, when a company needs to track what the salespeople do with those accounts and opportunities is another example of something Dynamics 365 is well suited for.
Read Lukasz Kokot's full review
Nagish Khan profile photo
November 26, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Nothing is Better then Dynamics, total ROI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We in our organization use Microsoft Dynamics as a primary CRM/ERP across the whole organization for drawing charts for deep data analysis. We use it for decision making. It allows us to access it from the web, PC and mobile devices simultaneously. We use it in our Finance, Field service Client Management and many more across each and every department.
  • Everything in one place such as Sales, Marketing, Finance, Field service, Customer Service, Operations and the automation which is not available in other products that are in the market right now.
  • Most likable thing is customer support of Dynamics which I didn't see any other ERP or CRM team provide.
  • It looks and feels kinda mashup of Microsoft Word, Outlook, Excel, etc then it's a bit difficult to use it with ease at the start.
  • The knowledge curve for the first time Microsoft product user is a little slower and challenging for the first time for the user who is not familiar with other Microsoft products
  • Calculated metrics such as Key Performance Indicators, ratios, etc.. are not as simple as I'd like within the tool Can be done. I don't like to use codes and scripts much.
There are no such scenarios to not to use Microsoft Dynamics because it is a complete package and there is not any other application on the market which gives that many features which can be used in each and every scenario. I will be a little biased here because I love Microsoft Dynamics and use it everywhere.
Read Nagish Khan's full review
No photo available
May 15, 2019

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Dynamics 365 drives almost everything we do for/with our customers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics 365 is being used to manage our direct customer base as well as that of our wholesalers and resellers globally. It is what drives sales, service, support, invoicing, and reporting, as well as wholesale/resale web portals and customer web portals. Dynamics 365 is at the center of our business and drives the delivery, management, and support of our product to our customers.
  • Works out of the box.
  • Supports a wide variety of customization to support any business.
  • Easy to customize and integrate.
  • Reliable performance that does not require a lot of IT resources even with an on-premise deployment.
  • On-premise versus online deployment options.
  • Internet-facing deployment is available.
  • Strong ecosystem of apps and support.
  • Reporting: built-in reports are not user-friendly. We do our reporting from Power BI to give us that flexibility.
  • Email: does not thread email conversations.
  • Email editors/text editors are weak and don't allow for the rich text editing supported by most email clients.
Dynamics 365 is well suited for all customer-centric businesses where an XRM system is needed whether it's small or extra-large. It is capable of handling your sales, customer service, support, field service, etc. Essentially all of your customer management will be in one place with a little or as much customization as you want to invest in. It will is also able to integrate with your other systems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "MS Dynamics 365 ease of use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is used through our entire company mainly as a CRM system to track customers, orders and keep information stored.
  • Marketing tracking.
  • Operations management.
  • Financial management.
  • Making things a bit more simple on the interface
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is a good CRM system. We use it to track financials and also do operations of our company with it. We do use it for marketing as well, but I do not think it is the best tool. It is great for keeping your customers info and details.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 19, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Dynamics is NOT a time keeping tool you want"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The PM group made the decision to go with Dynamics for timekeeping and didn't do user testing. There was a mild revolt. Dynamics seems to be very robust, but it's not designed as a timekeeping tool, so the one purpose it had for us it failed spectacularly. Not sure if it was a slick sales job or what, but it was a terrible move for us.
  • It has lots of options.
  • It's very colorful.
  • It works well with IE.
  • For us, a spreadsheet was preferable to enter time over Dynamics. To start, post login it took about 7 clicks to get to the time entry area, and once there it was configured badly for the average user. It doesn't default to grid view (like Outlook calendars) so you have to AGAIN click to get into a usable format.
  • It has a horrible use of real estate on the screen. Taking up the whole screen but 2/3 is white space.
I'm not sure where it would be useful but I heard it was very robust. I just know for time entry it was incredibly lackluster. I think our PMs might have fallen in love with its other features, but they failed to solve the original problem, which was simple accounting of time and effort.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 03, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "CRM - a great product!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics 365 is used across my department and has been for the last few years. We use the CRM tools to help us manage customer relationships and we use the ERP function to help us to help automate some of the back office functions we use in our research roles.
  • Very easy interface
  • Great customer service
  • I think that sometimes the displays are a bit hard to sift through
Microsoft Dynamics is super helpful in terms of how I conduct my business day to day. I am constantly interfacing with customers in my role of account management and it is important to have proper technology to help me do this as seamlessly and efficiently as possible. It is easy to use and the interface is pretty straight forward when you're used to it.
Read this authenticated review
Haley Lay profile photo
June 13, 2018

"Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using Microsoft Dynamics 365 in multiple departments, but not across our organization. We use it to track incoming client requests - from support to implementations. It allows those who are client-facing to be on one uniform application and to work more efficiently. We also use Dynamics to track KPI and SLA, amongst other metrics.
  • Everything is in the cloud which is great for our company as we have a lot of remote workers as well as travel.
  • Certain solutions allow us to take a quick look at data.
  • Business automation for certain workflows is helpful.
  • Very cumbersome to implement... a lot of options. Time-consuming.
  • Learning how to get data is not always intuitive. There are a lot (hundreds) of options that I never use to gather data and metrics, instead, it's just overwhelming.
  • The amount of customization available is both a blessing and a curse. The more customization, the more it seems to lag.
It worked great for documenting client-facing requests in our large client base. Some of the workflows between implementation and billing have improved efficiencies and allowed us to avoid missed revenue. That said, there are also a lot of options and functions that are not applicable, and it would be great to be able to hide/remove things that aren't needed to avoid clutter and inefficiencies.
Read Haley Lay's full review
Yemsi Pino profile photo
August 24, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Helps me with my sales daily"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The department I work with is Geographical Systems, and we produce maps and planning projections for the future. This department uses the software when other firms needs a thematic map or a heat map and we have the opportunity to schedule the work and prepare the product, even program the reviews of the products before I deliver the final result. With this software I could send emails, prepare meetings and add some important notes from calls and communications with the customers. These communications helps me to improve my work every day in order be more efficient on the sales.
  • Is very flexible with the use of a very large database.
  • Integration with other products of Microsoft.
  • I can customize apps from a third party.
  • Is a very slow software to work with.
  • The learning curve is very steep to learn the software functionality.
  • The customize software is very difficult and needs a IT expert to do it.
In my daily work with projects are very well suited scenario for the best functions of MS Dynamics 365, because I can schedule the project, program meetings to ensure the goals of the project and the advance at the schedule time of execution. Add notes according to the agreements reached with the customer. And keeping track of the project with programmed emails and sales campaigns. The less appropriate scenario I can't find one right now, all you can do is adapt the way of work to the software you're working with.
Read Yemsi Pino's full review
Brian Kedash profile photo
August 17, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Dynamics 365 is a must!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
At my company, we use MS Dynamics 365 for a myriad of different applications and offerings. We use it to maintain a current list of contact information for current customers, as well as new leads and prospects who come in through our various business development programs. We also use it to process orders and generate quotes, using custom tools.
  • Database
  • Integration with Outlook
  • Integration with ClickDimensions
  • Integration with social media
  • Ease of use
  • User friendliness
  • Customization
Dynamics CRM is very well suited for storing and keeping current thousands upon thousands of customer and prospect records for contact information. We track our communications in CRM, and create quotes where the contact information is automatically populated by CRM. We also use this to generate statements of work through the document generation platform Intelledox.
Read Brian Kedash's full review
Layne Latham profile photo
August 07, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Well, it's not Salesforce. Hopefully it's less expensive."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics is the CRM we currently use at our business. It was the CRM that was in place when I joined the company, and it will likely be the CRM we will use for some time. We use it to track our sales pipelines and our existing customers. The primary business problem it solves it that it tracks information independently from the employee, so important information isn't lost when someone leaves.
  • The interface is relatively easy to navigate.
  • For the most part, it can be customized and becomes as helpful as you want to put time into making it.
  • The program is reliable and seems to be always available.
  • The sign in process is a complete mess.
  • The "save" button is in the worst possible place on the screen, all alone in the bottom right corner.
  • There are much fewer third party programs that are built to integrate with Dynamics when compared to Salesforce.
I can only imagine that it is less expensive than Salesforce, or that it's too difficult to transition to another CRM, as I can't believe we still use it.
It's better than not having a CRM, and I'm sure there are worse programs, but if I were a new buyer choosing between Salesforce and Microsoft Dynamics, and the pricing was even remotely similar, I'd be buying Salesforce.
Read Layne Latham's full review
Johnn Karanja profile photo
September 11, 2018

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM) as the best adaptable business management solutions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use this product across the whole organization to monitor system activity of users in Dynamics 365. This includes understanding which users are creating records and how many records they are creating. This also includes the same information on deleting, updating, and reading of records.
  • Field service module offers project management functionality through scheduling, routing, and work orders, as well as contract management, inventory, and return capabilities.
  • Project service modules can offer improved productivity. With tools for project planning, resource scheduling, time and expense management, and service analytics, businesses can work smarter and gain better insight into their performance.
  • The customer service module provides tools to help companies manage the support and retention phase of the customer lifecycle.
  • Ability to copy records is missing for most entities.
  • Administrative management of user created/changed settings, views, charts and dashboards is missing.
In my daily work with projects are very well suited scenario for the best functions of MS Dynamics 365, because I can schedule the project, program meetings to ensure the goals of the project and the advance at the schedule time of execution. Add notes according to the agreements reached with the customer. And keeping track of the project with programmed emails and sales campaigns. The less appropriate scenario I can't find one right now, all you can do is adapt the way of work to the software
Read Johnn Karanja's full review
No photo available
May 23, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Dynamics 365 for Sales"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our MS Dynamics 365 system is used by our Sales and Marketing department, as well as by senior leadership. We primarily use this system to manage our sales process, drive and report new revenue, and as a database for our lead generation and lead nurturing efforts.
  • The system is easy to customize to the meet business needs. The Dynamics 365 allows for setting up automated workflows, forms to capture additional data points, alerts, business processes, etc. all from within the UI, without the need for custom development.
  • MS Dynamics 365 has native integration with other Microsoft products (Excel, Word, Outlook, etc.) which makes the system generally user-friendly as many users are familiar with Microsoft's product suite.
  • Customer support in system updates could be much better. The latest major system update our organization implemented resulted in many complications that took a long time to resolve.
  • The system could be better in scalability as it is often tedious for the user to make mass changes through the Dynamics 365 UI.
If your organization is already using other Microsoft products, has many customization needs, and has a limited user base, Dynamics 365 might be a great fit. If your organization will be able to get by with Out-Of-The-Box functionality of other CRM systems and is using non-Microsoft products, another more cost-effective CRM might be a better choice. If you want a large scale, full-fledged CRM platform for a large number of end users you might want to look into Salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
Kelly Ferriter profile photo
April 11, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "We love this program!!!!!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as supervisors for scheduled maintenance. It helps with organization and helps us when people call out. I find it useful because it allows for people with little to no knowledge of the system to be able to work with it when we are short staffed and it is not hard to teach as well.
  • organization of staffing in regards to who is at work, roles everyone is playing during the day
  • tasks that have been done, versus tasks that need to be done
  • easy to teach to new users
  • we have not run into an problems currently
We really enjoy this program, as I have stated before it is so easy to teach new users so it does not take away time from the day where our top people would need to be on the phones or meeting with clients, we can get this training done in a morning or two and then we have them up and running.
Read Kelly Ferriter's full review
No photo available
February 09, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics 365: "MS Dynamics (online) review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used MS Dynamics as a customized CRM system on various campaigns depending on client preferences. Only alternative was Salesforce. Dynamics helped us to keep the whole chain of sales executives up to date on what is happening with a specific account, as we are a global organisation, and multiple executives from multiple regions have to work on the same account, additionally the client's team has to have access to the records as well.
  • overview of previous outreaches to a specific account
  • customization of design and data transfer to the next level of the sales process, making easy for the next person to take over
  • clean user interface, not overwhelming amount of information on one page
  • quicker and more user friendly than competing products (based on my opinion and xp)
  • it can be heavy for older machines, which is problematic for businesses which do not need the latest hardware; running in the background it could slow down other processes
  • like every other SaaS solution it crashes from time to time, it has to be more clear why, so people can address the problem to the IT dep responsible for the support
  • often there is a redundancy of needed information so many things have to be filled out twice until you cane save the activity
I have used Sugar CRM and Salesforce, where the first one is very easy to use but very limited in functionality, and the second one can do everything but gets very confusing for the user. MS Dynamics gives the perfect balance between both.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Solid scaleable CRM"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics is used by our organization to track sales opportunities across the entire sales process. Management uses the software for pipeline review and forecasting and the sales force uses the system to enter and progress sales to completion. In addition we have integration with marketo marketing for automated communication to our prospective clients. It provides a single system for us to ensure there is not a duplication of efforts and allows for accountability with the sales team.
  • Integration with the rest of the Microsoft suite is very helpful. The ability to flag emails and attach them to a particular opportunity is great.
  • The progression of sales through the sales process is great. We are able to require certain pieces of information and the completion of specific sales tools in order for users to move opportunities through the pipeline.
  • Contact management is nice as well, it allows us to pull reports and generate invite lists for events, marketing campaigns, etc.
  • The system is so complex that it can be over burdening for end users if it is not set up in a simple way. There is so much functionality that you can easily go overboard.
  • It would be nice to have multiple "owners" or end users associated with a single record or sales opportunity. We have multiple sales members working on individual contracts and it would be nice to avoid duplication and allow for better sharing.
  • Reports are a little difficult to customize, more ability on this front would be highly beneficial.
This product is a good fit for those already using the Microsoft office suite and want to take advantage of the integration. It is not as end user friendly as some of the other CRMs I have tested and used in the past, but it does get the job done. As with all software, the implementation is key to avoid duplication and confusion at the launch, which was a big struggle for us.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 12, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Microsoft Dynamics CRM a solid tool for biz dev outreach and prospect organization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Dynamics CRM as both a bank of information that every person on staff references and as a direct email tool to manage subscriptions and send out email blasts. The platform allows us to get in touch with prospects through targeted email, manage extensive lists of prospects and also track vital business information that helps our business function more smoothly.
  • Stores information in an organized fashion, allowing for easy search and recall
  • Simplifies the email marketing process by organizing lists and information
  • Provides one go-to place for key business information
  • Could do a better job of tracking duplicate information among contacts in lists
  • The email marketing interface sometimes glitches out, causing delays in our ability to send email blasts
  • Email marketing tests can be difficult to get exactly right, in terms of formatting
Microsoft Dynamics CRM is well suited for organization of key business information, where you can add many details that can be searched or filtered accordingly to what you want to see. Microsoft Dynamics CRM is a solid tool for email marketing campaigns, allowing for fairly simple editing of email templates, without knowledge of HTML. It can sometimes be glitchy though, causing delays in our ability to send messages. It is also good for managing very large lists, although I would appreciate a better feature for sniffing out duplicate contacts within marketing lists.
Read this authenticated review
Rich Mephan profile photo
June 26, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Dynamics CRM 2016 - Game Changing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Dynamics CRM across our entire organisation, from using it to log and manage support cases, time recording for staff and monthly billing, tracking implementation projects, and sales and marketing. It underpins our entire business. The flexible CRM gives us allows us to implement rapid process change should the need arise.
  • The ability to customize CRM out of the box without the need for a developer is its biggest strength.
  • Powerful and flexible workflow engine.
  • Simple and easy to understand security model.
  • The Workflow designer has not been updated in 10+ years.
  • Business process flows still need some enhancements adding to them to allow for extremely complex processes.
  • Dialogs should either be removed or enhanced (Mandatory fields etc).
It works really well as a support desk system especially with the new SLA management. The new CRM WebAPI is great for doing custom development. The new mobile application is also very useful but could be more customizable. Currently, the mobile application is too locked down for my liking.
Read Rich Mephan's full review
Maxime Guglielmetti profile photo
August 02, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "MS Dynamics: not so sexy but efficient solution with potential?"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics CRM is being used for different reasons and by different teams in my current organization. We are currently implementing it in the Communication division to address community relations, create, maintain and share a contact and organization database, log meetings minutes, issues, and improve the organization's image by straightening and aligning their outside communication. We are planning to add more processes in the near future.
  • Main menu. MS Dynamics menu is user friendly.
  • Interface overall is OK.
  • Auditing. Major issue for me. It is not possible to export "who" log to Excel - when and what people have been doing. It has to be done manually, which is really cumbersome. I had to review 100 of pages of logs to communicate my 1st Proof of Concept! It is very useful when working on a POC. as a BA or PM, I need to follow what is happening in order to address potential issues. In most of the others CRM I know, it is usually really easy to generate a KPI report by team, process, etc.
  • Administration. It is not user friendly compared to best in class CRMs. Roles and privileges are complicated. Designing a structure with business champion has been challenging.
We are looking at the integration with Outlook that can be really useful to us but I have not tested it yet.
Read Maxime Guglielmetti's full review
Brenna M. Humann profile photo
April 06, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "MS Dynamics for development work"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for organization wide philanthropy/fundraising CRM as a donor database.
  • "Dashboard windows" in which users can see upcoming activities or contact lists are helpful.
  • Virtually endless sub-pages and add-on fields are helpful to collect lots of data.
  • Data updates across all pages quickly.
  • Filter or query searches are not user friendly and extremely hard to build, requiring the help of IT staff. This makes even pulling simple mail merge lists difficult.
  • Use of sub-page nesting makes it hard to see a contact's full info when clicking on an "activity" link set for that contact. Multiple sub-pages must be opened. This clutters up the workspace and makes it difficult to remember exactly what field to enter data in.
  • Dashboard windows are extremely small and don't keep a running script when you scroll or make changes, so they're almost unusable except for a quick look. If these could be expanded somehow, they'd be even more useful.
Perhaps better suited for sales use than donor development.
Read Brenna M. Humann's full review
Chris Thorne profile photo
July 22, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "MS Dynamics CRM - Customisable but clunky"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics CRM is our organisation's CRM - we manage our sales pipeline and use it for reporting and sales forecasting, as well as day to day management of contacts, accounts and opportunities by the sales team.
  • Dynamics CRM is hugely customisable - making it adaptable to even the most unique/bespoke sales pipeline
  • The connection of different entities (e.g. accounts, opportunities) etc. is very straightforward, allowing for better attribution and reporting
  • In built reporting is intuitive and takes advantage of most people's familiarity with MS Office
  • The system is very slow, especially on the back end when it comes to making customisations
  • Ability to automate business processes falls slightly short for more advanced needs - such as being able to perform actions based on lookup results
Microsoft Dynamics is a highly customisable CRM, meaning it can be set up to the needs of most organisations. However, it is surprisingly slow, and is clunky to integrate with our systems, even MS systems such as AX.
Read Chris Thorne's full review
Rabie Khabouze MS, ITIL profile photo
August 02, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics 365: "MS Dynamics CRM 2011 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used almost across the whole organization, but heavily used by Marketing and Sales departments to manage sales opportunities, submitting and managing resource requests, activities and customer accounts. Also used to manage vendors and sub contractors. Marketing uses the application to manage contacts and open leads, run reports against opportunities, leads and activities based on date or customers etc...
  • Leads and campaigns management that allows to track lead statuses, methods of contact, roles, company profiles etc.
  • Management of activities such as tasks, appointments, text messages, faxes, emails etc.
  • Customer accounts and associated opportunities management, with customer information and its open and closed activities, ship to and bill to addresses.
  • The fact that I'm using 2011 version. I believe 2013 and 2016 have better features. I would start with Dashboard reporting, currently 2011 doesn't have an interactive dashboard and it's not effective.
  • Mobile is a big deal now. Most Sales folks are on the go, and they always like to access their CRM data on mobile. 2011 lacks that, probably 2016 has a better mobile framework.
  • Out of the box integration with various ERP and PSA systems, in 2011 version they are absent.
I'm not recommending the 2011, but the 2016 probably, because it has better framework. From the demos I saw, it has good navigation, better look and feel, interactive dashboard and mobile friendly. The online version has a nice service feature to allow management of project based sales, kind of what PSA offers. Compatible with SharePoint in case document management is needed, The new workflow seems to be simple and user friendly.
Read Rabie Khabouze MS, ITIL's full review
Brad Bauer profile photo
March 09, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Review: "Microsoft Dynamics CRM - great to use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics CRM is used by a majority of our organization. Our ticket sales department utilizes it for contact management and pipeline tracking, while our corporate partnerships department uses it primarily for inventory management and contract building.
  • Easy to learn and use
  • Very searchable, can look for people/companies across many different variables
  • No technical issues
  • A little more personalization would be nice
  • Easier to download reports
  • Mobile sign in
Microsoft Dynamics CRM is perfect for putting together a sponsorship proposal as it integrates with our asset inventory and also helps immensely with making sure all proposals stay under our fulfillment marks.
Read Brad Bauer's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customer data management / contact management (42)
8.2
Workflow management (40)
7.8
Territory management (32)
8.0
Opportunity management (39)
8.5
Integration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail) (39)
8.3
Contract management (30)
7.8
Quote & order management (27)
7.5
Interaction tracking (35)
8.1
Channel / partner relationship management (30)
8.2
Case management (28)
8.6
Call center management (24)
8.0
Help desk management (27)
8.0
Lead management (37)
7.6
Email marketing (38)
7.4
Task management (34)
7.7
Billing and invoicing management (24)
7.4
Reporting (27)
6.8
Forecasting (32)
7.0
Pipeline visualization (37)
8.2
Customizable reports (40)
7.2
Custom fields (39)
8.0
Custom objects (38)
8.0
Scripting environment (29)
7.3
API for custom integration (32)
7.9
Single sign-on capability (30)
8.8
Role-based user permissions (30)
8.6
Social data (21)
7.9
Social engagement (22)
8.0
Marketing automation (36)
8.2
Compensation management (16)
8.1
Mobile access (25)
7.3

About Microsoft Dynamics 365

Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly called Microsoft Dynamics) CRM is a CRM system providing sales, marketing, and service (help desk) functionality. It is offered in two flavors: Online (competing directly with Salesforce) and on-premise.

The Microsoft Dynamics family of business applications includes other related products for ERP and retail management.

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Features

Has featureComprehensive Solution for Sales, Service & Marketing
Has featureProductivity Through Seamless Integration with Office 365
Has featureAnalytics Through Seamless Integration with PowerBI

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Integrations

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:global
Supported Languages: Over 40 languages