Beyond Compare Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Reggie Freedman | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Beyond Compare - Really good at all comparisons, file/folder/drives

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been a user of Beyond Compare (BC) for over 20 years. I use it nearly every day to compare files, folders, network drives. I search for a file and BC will ignore (when needed) folder structure making easy to locate misplaced files or documents. BC is a side to side viewer/comparer of names for anything on a drive. It is very visible, showing the same, orphans (left or right side), newer, missing, etc., all useful conditions. Information, location, duplicates, newest are among the many choices. Sessions are remembered. BC does such an excellent job, I've never had a need to reach for another "Beyond Compare" software. I know of nothing it does not do.
  • Compare: files, folders, drives, update or make changes
  • Solid operation
  • I have dual 32" 4k monitors. Add enlarge/use ctrl-scroll wheel to enlarge font view
I'm pleased with Beyond Compare. I'v never had a need to look for an alternative. It has served me well over the years and continues to do so.
Read Reggie Freedman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Beyond Compare

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As far as I know, Beyond Compare is used in the Engineering Department. It makes our life easier to compare multiple files or directories. And it is the best in the industry. It saves us a lot of time in the code review process and also in all the steps of the software development life cycle.
  • Compare files, directories.
  • Integration to the Visual Studio Source Explorer and Microchip MPLAB X IDE.
  • It could do a better job in comparing .CSV or Excel files.
Beyond Compare not only helps to solve business/ work problems, but it's also helpful in day-to-day work by providing you a lot of tools. As an example, it could even compare images.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Beyond Compare - Easy to use for a quick check!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I utilize Beyond Compare for validation purposes - specifically our source systems’ data feed in comparison with the actual data stored within our data warehouse. This software offers a rudimentary solution for data comparison.
  • Ease of use - simply utilize standard folders to select each of the files to utilize for comparison.
  • Once files are selected the software does the work - cross checking equivalent rows between the two files
  • Highlights errors in red to easily troubleshoot discrepancies in the files
  • For date formatting discrepancies the software does not automatically mark the dates as equivalent; for instance ‘2019/10/15’ vs. ‘15-OCT-2019’. This would be considered a difference.
  • The columns/report must be ordered similarly. If extra data is available in one file, it should be removed or extra rows will be marked as differences.
  • For spreadsheet comparison, the user must save the file on the proper tab and then “recompare” within the tool. There is no way to switch between sheets in the software.
For very rudimentary data validation or if files/data is expected to match 100% or close to that (such as regression testing), this tool is helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anthony Aziz | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

Beyond Compare offers flexible data comparison for a variety of use cases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Beyond Compare is a useful tool for operational tasks. We use it to compare various formats, include plain text, folders, and other structured data. It also works really great as a source code diff tool. Using it to compare eliminates manual work and reduces the risk of human error in long lists/data sets.
  • Compares more than just text files.
  • Extensive compare and merge functionality, eg. ability to adjust side-by-side lines.
  • Can save common comparisons for re-use or sharing.
  • No easy integration with IDEs.
  • No syntax highlighting or other useful editing tools.
BeyondCompare is useful anytime two pieces of data need to be compared. It's a tool in my set that I use after some text manipulation or regex to find differences in log files, hard-to-spot changes in large XML files, or just comparing code snippets.
Read Anthony Aziz's full review
Richard Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

A comparison tool that's truly beyond compare

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use BeyondCompare for a variety of tasks related to web design and development. I frequently use it to compare directories between our development and production web servers. It's also great for general purpose file comparisons, such as comparing a backup file or directory to the actual file or directory to determine if anything has changed. Overall, it's a great utility that any sysadmin, developer, or power user should have.
  • Compare two files or directories and easily see what's the same or different between the two sources.
  • Synchronize changes between two files or directories.
  • Be able to ignore insignificant differences such as code comments, minor timestamp differences, or certain file types, such as temporary files.
  • It could make it easier to compare more than two sources.
It's great for:
  • Comparing code between a development environment and a QA or production environment.
  • Comparing a directory with a copy or another version of that same directory (such as a restored backup).
  • Comparing two different versions of a code file.
  • Syncing changes between two files or directories.
It's not great for:
  • Situations where one or more sources don't exist on a local file system (such as comparing different versions of a file in a source code repository).
  • When you want to be able to do comparisons within another program, such as a programming IDE (i.e. Visual Studio, Eclipse, etc).
Read Richard Davies's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Merge Conflicts? Beyond Compare is the last tool you'll ever need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Beyond Compare is used within our development teams to provide a robust comparison solution amongst text files as well as for use in recursively comparing directory structures on disk. Not only does Beyond Compare highlight differences between files, it also provides easy to understand merging capabilities, making it very simple to merge differing files into a single file.
  • Text File Comparisons - Beyond Compare provides multiple views into comparing files against each other, and can even do 3-way comparisons.
  • Text File Merging - Beyond Compare can help the user merge two differing files into a single cohesive file encompassing all changes. It also does a good job of highlighting merge conflicts before a user conducts a merge.
  • File structure comparison - Beyond Compare can compare two directory structures on disk and identify the differences in the file lists between them. This is incredibly handy for installer development.
  • Outdated user interface - Beyond Compare's interface looks relatively old - with low-res icons and text defaults that remind you it was probably written 15 years ago.
  • Beyond Compare integrates with version control systems on the command line, but I'd like the ability to invoke version control from within the GUI as well.
  • This is going to be a silly complaint - but I'm having a hard time coming up with any other "cons" for Beyond Compare - I've never liked its icon. Why is there a tire in it?
Beyond Compare is extremely good at the task of comparisons, whether that is text file comparisons or folder comparisons. It does a great job of easily highlighting the differences for users, and giving them the option of merging (in the case of text files) or synchronizing (in the case of folders.) In either case, no one on my team has ever had any reason to reach for another different tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Beyond Compare Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is mainly used by a select number of people at my company, those that have a specific need to look at configurations for system setup. It is extremely useful for looking at any file type to determine what the differences are and quickly pinpoint lines that are not consistent. It is also used to validate registry settings between production systems.
  • It allows for scrolling through both documents at the same line level meaning you are not required to skip between files to look at what is different between the two.
  • A comparison between registry hives can easily pinpoint issues for hundreds and thousands of records.
  • Tabbing can allow for multiple compares to take place at the same time.
  • Some of the more advanced features of doing binary compare are a bit tedious to get right, but this is a very nitpicky problem to have.
File compare between configurations of differing systems is where this program shines and can reduce what would normally take many minutes or hours to show exactly where the differences are located. It is especially nice if you don't centrally manage servers to identify registry settings remotely on two servers and not have to expand all the keys manually but go right to where the problem is located.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Beyond Compare is a must-have tool for your toolbox.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Beyond Compare for many tasks:
  • Deploy files to production.
  • General purpose FTP and SCP clients.
  • De-duplicate and merge files.
  • Compare source code trees.
  • Compare JPG and PNG images.
  • It's the best FTP and SCP file transfer client we found. It's fast, rock-solid, and has never let us down.
  • We can compare huge file trees quickly. The filtering (diffs, orphans, sort order) is extremely powerful. We can locate minor file differences quickly.
  • Rule-based comparison helps by eliminating minor differences in JPG image headers, text file line endings, MP3 metadata, etc.
  • The ability to install in portable mode is a key feature for IT support work.
  • Mac, PC, and Linux versions are available.
  • The native decoding of file metadata (MP3, image formats) is very powerful.
  • The tabbed interface allows multiple operations to run simultaneously.
  • I often need to exclude folders or files from the comparison. Currently, the fastest way is to right-click and then pick "exclude" from the context menu. Having the ability to multi-select folders and then exclude the group would be nice.
  • Sometimes we need to verify MD5 and SHA256 fingerprints, and this would be a nice enhancement within the tool.
Any programming team needs a tool like this. I've tried many, many, file diff tools, and this is the best one I've ever used, hands-down. It has been continuously improved over the years, and now supports new standards like Amazon S3. Creative teams (photography, video editing) will also find this useful. Web developers who need to sync between development, test, and production will use this often.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Gets the job done

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to compare files and make sure they match exactly in terms of content and format. This allows us to be confident when we make a process change or to determine what may have changed if we have issues.
  • Compares text files.
  • Compares folder structures.
  • Easy to use.
  • Can give false issues.
Beyond Compare is well suited for comparing EDI or flat files.
Read this authenticated review
Hernán Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

The best file and folder comparison tool. No doubt.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use BeyondCompare mostly for code diffing and also for personal matters. In my day-to-day job, BeyondCompare is an essential tool in my toolset that allows me to see differences between files and folders no matter the format, extension or size.
  • Folder diffing. It allows you to see differences in deeply nested folder structures.
  • File diffing. It allows you to see differences in files no matter their complexity.
  • Diffing rules. It allows you to set rules to include/exclude files, folders and lines from your comparison.
  • Probably the only thing that might require improvement is syntax hightlighting on code files, the feature is in my opinion very basic and requires you to install or fine tune syntax hightlighting languages that usually lack precission in rules, attributes, names.
BeyondCompare is a superb tool not only for developers but also for power users of any kind. It works very well across operating systems for comparing all kinds of files and folders, especially code and media files.

I usually throw files with thousands (4000+) of lines or folders with thousands (3000+) to compare and the program will do it quickly.

I really don't think there is a scenario where BC is not the right tool for the task.
Read Hernán Silva's full review
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

BeyondCompare - Helping you navigate your sea of changes and differences

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As far as I know, it is not used by whole department but rather some specific people all over the organisation. I know that BeyondCompare has a lot of functionnalities but the ones that I've used the most were script compare and folder compare. I have also used it some time ago in order to promote changes. The software makes it easy to identify differences and apply changes to either the base file or the compare file.
  • The ability to compare whole directory structure is really nice and time saving. This allows to quickly identify at the file level what matches and what doesn't. You can then move into each file to see what is different.
  • When comparing files, you can go through changes and for each of them decides if you want to apply a file's version of that different line to the other one. When promoting changes, this allows you to go through the changes one more time by promoting each "delta" one by one.
  • Can connect to servers to compare remote files. This was a great benefit for us.
  • It would be nice to compare more than 2 sources. Not a common problem but sometimes we can have several versions of a script and it would be nice to quickly get a report of which of these are identical.
  • The ability to specify custom characters to ignore by folder/file could be helpful but I have to say that it is more a "nice to have" than an actual problem.
BeyondCompare is a really nice tool that should be used for professionals that do change management. Senior technical staff that revise other people's scripts will also benefit from such a tool.

The cost of the software makes it less appealing for large distribution in a company. Free alternatives such as WinMerge might be considered for other [types] of users that probably don't need as much functionality.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2019

Comparing files and folders at its best

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using BeyondCompare in the software development organization for file comparison. Often we have to compare files quickly and easily. These files can be not only source code, but other kinds of files, like xml, xsl, xls, even binaries. We have tools that process binary files required by the business and sometimes we need to compare them to debug some production issues.
  • Finds and shows the differences between files quickly and accurately
  • Allows you to update either file(merge) when the difference is found, just by clicking on the arrows
  • Folder comparison is one of the most useful features for software developers
  • The integration with the mouse right click menu is extremely helpful
  • The User Interface could use a big uplift. It is old looking, people will prefer something more modern.
  • A little slow when comparing folders that have many files or large file sizes
  • Sometimes when the differences between files are caused by moving text, it is difficult for the tool to identify that, and it is a pain for the user to merge the files.
  • As in most comparison tools, the alignment can cause some issues, by showing too many differences between files which are caused by the alignment.
BeyondCompare is the best file comparison tool we have used in our experience. It can compare any text format and even binaries. The folder comparison is a huge feature that helps a lot the software developers to debug/find issues in the code. BeyondCompare has proved to be much better also than the in-built file comparison from the file versioning tools we have used: VSS, SVN, SourceTree(Git).
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

A System Administrator's "Must Have" Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work in our QA department, and all of the Systems Administrators (Microsoft Windows) use BeyondCompare when troubleshooting configuration files for web-based applications. What are the differences between this configuration file and that one? Load both of them into BeyondCompare for text searching and - bingo! - any differences stand out like a sore thumb.
  • Comparing two configuration text files side-by-side is a snap. BeyondCompare quickly and clearly shows each and every line of text that differs between the two. That makes it very easy to see, for example, if someone modified a config file, or if a URL is wrong, etc.
  • When comparing two files that are lengthy, BeyondCompare has this wonderful feature that allows you to clear out all the clutter and see only the lines that differ. What a huge help!
  • Need to compare the contents of one folder with the contents of another folder? Easy peasy! BeyondCompare to the rescue.
  • If you want to merge the contents of two or more folders, again with BeyondCompare it is a snap. Drag-and-drop the folders into BeyondCompare and ba-da-bing you've solved your issue.
  • Want to keep the contents between folders synchronized? What a headache to have to do that manually, and often only because we forget, "Oh. Yeah! I modified that file last week and forgot to synchronize it with my target folder." BeyondCompare to the rescue. Folder sync is also a snap.
  • Want to merge the text content of two or more files? Good luck with doing that manually. Use BeyondCompare!
  • There are several operations that one can do with BeyondCompare, but the icons for them are all on one line, so you have to scroll (using a> on the sides of the screen) to see the next six options. It would be nicer if one could have them in a grid and move them around so they're in the order you want.
  • I'm not a big fan of the "Auto-saved" sessions feature because I don't generally keep coming back to the same files. I'm all over the network looking at configuration files and those that I place temporarily on my desktop. At least they created a relatively simple right-click, clear contents option so I can get rid of the session's clutter.
  • I would especially like to have an ability to have BeyondCompare open on one monitor and have it interact with content in a remote desktop session that is open on a second monitor, like being able to drag and drop content from the RDP session to BeyondCompare would be amazing.
It absolutely shines when it comes to comparing the textual content of two or more files. It also does well when comparing the contents of two or more directories (folders), synchronizing folders merging the content of multiple folders and merging two or more text files. I haven't actually done table compares, hex compares, MP3 compares, picture compares, or version compares, but if these work as well as the other features, then they are simple to use, intuitive, and quick. The ability to compare registries (a Windows construct for those who don't know what that is) has made my support work so much simpler. Great tool!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2019

Best Bang-For-The Buck I've Ever Purchased

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First off, let me disclose that I use Beyond Compare every day in my job as a DBA and SQL programmer. I recommend it to users every opportunity I get. I can't believe we haven't purchased an Enterprise license for it yet (I think one exists). We just have individual users requisition it from their respective department heads. Seems like something we need to buy en masse. It is my go-to choice for comparing SQL code, DDL, and just about anything.
  • Comparing database objects between test and production.
  • Comparing different versions of the code.
  • Clearly highlighting just the differences between text blocks.
  • Migration of differences from one source to another.
  • Copy and paste from spreadsheets, code editors, just about anything.
  • Don't love the printing options. They could be improved.
  • I haven't been able to figure out how to compare more than 2 objects at a time. Yes, that could be difficult, but it would come in handy once in a while.
  • Wish it had code editor formatting built-in, though these are all wishlist items. None of this is advertised by the product.
I love to quickly paste code or DDL directly into the text editor. Comparing thousands of lines is as quick as the blink of an eye.

I have never figured out the folder or image compare. I'd like to see a video of how those are supposed to work.
Read this authenticated review
Suhas Kashyap RR | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2018

BeyondCompare Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used BeyondCompare to compare the text file, which was related to two different versions of the application code. It was a very easy tool to compare both the files and folders. Both developers and testers were using that tool for comparison. By using this tool, we were able to save time by identifying the difference easily or else it would have been a tedious task to go through each and every line of code to check the difference between the previous and current version of the file.
  • Identifies the difference/similarity between the content of the two text files
  • Compares the content of the folder and displays the similar and different files
  • Other than normal text files, can even compare images, audio and video files
  • It also supports Folder Synchronization to perform website updates and backup tasks
  • Previous session details can be saved which will be helpful to view our previous activities
  • Comparison of large files and folders takes a bit more time to compare, yet it's a powerful tool
  • Need to take care with spaces and newline characters in the text file if not the comparison may return unexpected results.
  • Sometimes the context menu option to select file for comparison disappears when installing and uninstalling the lower and higher versions of the software
  • Along with the licensed version of the tool, if a free version was also available with a few basic features it would have helped a lot for a large number of users
BeyondCompare is one of the best-suited tools to compare the contents of the file and it's more useful for developers where they can use it to find the differences in coding between the different versions of the file. It can be used to compare other file types (images, audio & video), FTP server comparison and the folders, which is very useful. Also, the folder synchronization feature is very nice and useful.

But, when the file / folder size is large, the comparison using BeyondCompare takes bit more time and performance could be improved.
Read Suhas Kashyap RR's full review
Joseph Tozzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

Try BeyondCompare or continue living in BC

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BeyondCompare was used by our development team mostly as a diff tool for use with Git version control. It is a far better solution than the default mergetool utility included with Git and makes handling difficult merges easier to deal with.
  • Ability to compare files, directories, FTP sites, cloud storage (Dropbox, OneDrive, Amazon S3, Subversion and WebDAV) and archive files (tar, gzip, bzip2, Microsoft CAB, WinRAR, Zip, 7-zip, and IMG/ISO disk images).
  • 3-way text merging. Allows you to see the original file, the remote version and your local version all at the same time to reconcile differences.
  • Ability to synchronize folders.
  • Can be configured to work with version control systems.
  • Works on Windows, Linux and OS X.
  • The interface can be a little overwhelming at first.
  • During a 3-way merge, BC does not make it obvious which files are which so it gets confusing at times.
BeyondCompare is great for handling file differences for a large variety of file types. It is indispensable as a merge tool for version control systems, especially when dealing with difficult merges. And it also serves as an archive utility as it allows for the synchronization of folders.
Read Joseph Tozzi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2018

BeyondCompare is the best!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BeyondCompare to compare code files and config files changes while developing software. It is being used across the organization for code comparison needs. It helps to resolve any code-merge conflicts.
  • Compare code written by others.
  • Resolve any potential conflicts that may arise during software development.
  • I do not see any cons.
Resolving code merge conflict scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
Ralph Vanore | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

BeyondCompare is Beyond Compare

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our department of web coders, data entry and graphic design, we use it for everything from comparing code to massive spreadsheets. We can compare almost any file types and entire folders of files. We we receive documents from multiple sources we can easily combine them using BeyondCompare saving us countless hours or going line by line. The highlighted areas of the display make is simple to see where the differences are and move directly to them.
  • Being able to switch between seeing the entire document to just seeing the differences is very helpful when dealing with large amounts of copy. The ability to set the grammatical elements to compare also saves time and effort.
  • Sessions are great and can be sued to save and reuse an important compare you've done and retain the settings and rules you applied.
  • Accessing documents from the right-click menu is invaluable, quick launch of the program with your files loaded and ready to compare.
  • BC has a large number of file formats you can compare and the ability to change document formats or create your own is a plus.
  • Every once in a while there are serious alignment issues in BeyondCompare and it is hard to see exactly where everything lines up but you can choose the "align to" to compare important differences as blocks of added and deleted text rather than changed text.
  • It is difficult to select and or move blocks of copy when BC breaks them up into sections that are not the same on both the right and left sides. You usually have to manually select the row or rows you want to move.
  • Sometimes when a file is changed outside of Beyond Compare it does not update or recognize it and overwrites or eliminates any changes made. This may be a PC memory issue but I am not sure as it does happen occasionally.
it is perfect for comparing programming and development code. It handles many types of these files, .html, .php, .js, etc. You can even compare two InDesign files for differences. We deal with large amounts of XML data and BC easily helps us look at them and combine their contents eliminating any duplications.
Read Ralph Vanore's full review

About Beyond Compare

Beyond Compare from Scooter Software headquartered in Madison is a utility for comparing different version of documents and seeing the differences. It also allows changes to be merged and synchronized.

Beyond Compare Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No