Eclipse Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
255 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Larry Reed profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used by various people but is not generally used by the organization. I was a user before I started at SurveyMonkey and continued to use it up until early in 2019. The company has generally not encouraged any particular IDE until this year. Most folks tended to use SublimeText, with a fair number using PyCharm, and only a few of us on Eclipse. Those of us using Eclipse like it's fully integrated debugging environment for Python (which also attracted users to PyCharm, which is essentially Eclipse with paid-for enhancements). I particularly liked being able to use it to access SQL Server in the same environment as Python and Javascript.
  • It is very good at managing many files under edit. I like the ability to manage multiple projects and multiple files. It supports a wide variety of file formats with type-specific syntax formatting.
  • I like the integrated debugging facility. In particular, we used a remote file system debugger with Python in external VMs to great effect.
  • I like the ability to access multiple types of databases in the integrated development environment. It provides connectors for a wide variety of databases and supports most basic DB access methods.
  • GIT integration is very effective. You can easily manage repositories and connect them to projects, and the project integration into GIT is virtually seamless.
  • While the DB integration is broad (many connectors) it isn't particularly deep. So if you need to do serious DB work on (for example) SQL Server, it is sometimes necessary to go directly to the SQL Server Studio. But for general access and manipulation, it is ok.
  • The syntax formatting is sometimes painful to set up and doesn't always support things well. For example, it doesn't effectively support SCSS.
  • Using it for remote debugging in a VM works pretty well, but it is difficult to set up and there is no documentation I could find to really explain how to do it. When remote debugging, the editor does not necessarily integrate the remote context. So, for example, things like Pylint don't always find the libraries in the VM and display spurious errors.
  • The debugging console is not the default, and my choice is never remembered, so every time I restart my program, it's a dialog and several clicks to get it back. The debugging console has the same contextual problems with remote debugging that the editor does.
For immediate local development, it's great. You can run tests and do debugging directly. For remote environments (typical if you develop in a VM or container environment) the setup is painful and pretty much undocumented.
Read Larry Reed's full review
Brandon Hightower profile photo
October 25, 2019

GPA Eclipse Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is a program that is not used by many people at our school. Our 6th, 7th, and 8th graders use it in a programming class that we offer at our school. It allows our students to develop programs with the Java programming language. We had used other programs before but found that this was the easiest for our students to use.
  • It is a really good program for developing with Java.
  • The user interface allows for even the most beginner of students to be able to learn.
  • There are times where it can be glitchy, so that could be improved upon.
  • The online support could be a little better.
It is well suited for classroom settings where Java will be taught. We have been using it in our classroom at our school for a few years now and have loved it. It is good for small programs. I think in situations where there are larger programs being built with Java, there are better programs out there.
Read Brandon Hightower's full review
Gabriel Samaroo profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse has been my favorite IDE to use for Java development. Eclipse has great shortcuts that improve the speed at which you code, and have a lot of great built-in features, such as the debugger and a marketplace to add plugins for various frameworks like Spring and Maven. Like any good IDE, you can have your own custom settings and preferences to tailor things to your specific preferences.
  • Extremely easy to install and use
  • It's free to use (as opposed to competitors like intelliJ)
  • Great marketplace for add-ons like Themes and Spring / Maven plugins
  • Great IDE for Java development. Plugins available for other languages (ie: Python), but not as good compared to other IDEs (ie: PyCharm)
  • Uses a lot of system resources / CPU
  • There are so many features built-in and available for use, it can sometimes take a long time to learn them all.
I would highly recommend Eclipse as the IDE of choice for Java developers. It's great for both small and large teams, but particular good for large teams because it is free to use. If you are developing in other languages (such as Python), I would recommend using other IDEs (such as VS Code, Atom / Sublime, intelliJ, PyCharm, etc.)
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Ram Nair profile photo
October 14, 2019

Eclipse review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used as in integrated development environment for all our applications. Eclipse advantage is it has integrated local servers so that we can deploy and test the application locally before pushing it to other environments. Eclipse is widely used and hence we get great support in case we have any questions or need additional support.
  • Integrated development environment
  • Easy to code
  • Coding assistance available in Eclipse
  • Integration with newer technology
  • backward compatibility
  • logging mechanism
Eclipse is useful in small, medium and large organizations. It has integrated software libraries for several programming languages. The code assistance help developer to develop rapid code. Integrated server assist in testing the code developed by developer to capture any issues or bugs. Overall Eclipse is a boon for all software developer, using Eclipse reduces the coding time significantly.
Read Ram Nair's full review
Richard Davies profile photo
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Eclipse as the IDE and code editor for our Adobe ColdFusion-based web applications. We only have a small number of ColdFusion developers but we standardized on using it as our IDE almost 15 years ago. As a full-featured code IDE, it allows us to edit code files in various languages, has an integrated code debugger, and integrates with our Subversion source code control.
  • Eclipse is very powerful and has a wide range of plugins that can be used to customize it and add additional functionality. For example, you can write code in a wide variety of languages, debug your code, commit it to your code repository, and manage your database schema and data all without ever leaving Eclipse.
  • As open-source software, it's available for free.
  • It has (or had) a very large user base so if you ever encountered issues, it's likely you're not the only one and you can find help from someone else who's experienced the same issue.
  • It runs on top of Java so it's available on almost any platform.
  • Compared to newer, more popular code editors today, Eclipse feels very large, bloated, and slow.
  • I've had compatibility issues in the past where certain 3rd party plugins I've relied on weren't compatible with newer versions of Eclipse and prevented me from being able to update to the latest versions. Or sometimes two plugins would conflict with each other or cause issues when used together. Occasionally I get random errors that are difficult to troubleshoot or identify the root cause.
  • Starting Eclipse always seems to take a really long time, it can consume a lot of memory, and sometimes runs slowly.
If you need a full-featured IDE for programming or web development Eclipse might be worth a look at, especially if you need a free editor or if you're doing Java development. However, it's starting to show it's age when compared to newer IDEs like VS Code, Atom, or Sublime. But if you only need to occasionally edit code or don't need integrated debuggers and code repositories, then I'd strongly recommend looking at a more lightweight editor.
Read Richard Davies's full review
Randolph Jones profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization, the selection of the IDE to use is made by individual engineers or on a project-specific basis, depending on the needs of the project. We use it for software engineering, mostly of Java code. We also have developed a plug-in for the artificial intelligence language we use.
  • It (mostly) smoothly integrates development with version control.
  • Incremental, continuous compilation and instant error checking are huge wins.
  • Built in unit testing.
  • Support for a variety of different languages and file types, with the ability to develop plug-ins for new types.
  • The version control integration is sometimes sketchy, especially for GIT.
  • Integration with Maven and Gradle are not complete and do not always exploit Eclipse's continuous compilation strengths.
For Java development, in particular, Eclipse speeds up development by an order of magnitude over other choices of language/IDE.
Read Randolph Jones's full review
Shivani Sharma profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Eclipse for all Java project development in the department. Most of the times when dealing with some complex problems which can only be solved using Java logic, we have to rely on Java development and use an IDE. Eclipse is one of the oldest and most popular IDE kits. Eclipse helps with business problems like fast Java application development with proper industry standards. The third party integrator and connectors help a lot to make the finest and crafted end product.
  • Third party integration services are easy to implement and track bugs easily. Helps in faster development of the project.
  • Code Editor and the User Interface is more than awesome to work with.
  • Large Eclipse community makes it possible to install and setup the environment for the development of industry level projects.
  • Eclipse workspace should be encrypted within the OS drive so that someone handling the same machine cannot get to your project and development easily.
  • Eclipse takes a lot of time to start and initialize. The kick-start time should be like a code editor. Once started, then it can gather resources.
  • The IDE is suitable only for Java developers. Though there are a lot of plugins for different languages, it should have a standalone IDE for other languages too.
Well suited for when you have a large project to do. It's not suitable for small code edits and markups.
Read Shivani Sharma's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is currently being used primarily by the IT community for aiding the businesses across North Americas and the South Americas for the business sectors across the organization. It is used primarily to help build reports of medium complexity by utilizing Hana views for SAP systems based on SAP HANA fairly quickly without relying on traditional ABAP route.
  • Eclipse is a great platform to help build Hana views of high to medium complexity without depending on traditional ABAP.
  • Eclipse has proved to be a great tool for purposes of building a view on the fly when a critical business decision in Production systems needs complex analysis.
  • Eclipse has proved helpful for our super user's community in corporate finance departments to build their own queries with less reliance and dependencies on IT.
  • Eclipse, at times, seems to pull a lot of system resources when running in the background resulting in slower system response in general. The workaround has been to eliminate some other applications running in parallel to improve the system performance.
  • Though there are multiple methods to expose the Hana views developed from Eclipse to the user community, some options are not very intuitive such as creating O Data services for creating Fiori apps, etc.
  • In case of finding incorrect joins, the ability to run data previews at join levels come in very handy. The performance of the backend Hana views at times is time-consuming and the cause for the issue is not obvious at the onset. However, after careful analysis, once the cause (say an inefficient join condition ) is known, the rectification could be simplified.
Eclipse is recommended for enabling the user community to be self-reliant in scenarios where the mode of operation demands agile, on the fly accurate reporting, such as during month ends for reconciliation purposes. The urgency and sensitivity of such situations result in a lot of stress with quick turnaround times but with the ability of Eclipse and Hana views, the reliance on IT could be minimized. Also, IT could leverage the power of Eclipse to develop Hana views without having to do the traditional route of ABAP developments. It might be less appropriate for situations where the agile and dynamic nature of the operations is not a necessity.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company currently, Eclipse is being phased-out, since other products were decided to serve as the main integrated development environment used for Java and other JVM languages. However, it is still widely used for the development of existing software in low-level languages such as C, C++, and Fortran. Thanks to its vast ecosystem of various plug-ins it helps a lot to increase the productivity of development.
  • Efficient architecture with plug-ins providing all the functionality on top of the powerful run-time system.
  • The ecosystem of different plug-ins for a wide variety of neat features.
  • Rich client platform for implementing robust desktop applications.
  • The design of the UI could be improved and modernized.
  • Integration with version control systems is a bit slow.
  • Syntax prediction tools are solved better in other IDE products.
Eclipse platform is really well suited for the development of projects written in low-level languages. Versatile implementation of the OSGI framework specification is capable of dynamically running multiple separate extensions. On the other hand, for Java and Scala-based projects, better environments exist which are outperforming Eclipse in several areas such as stability and ease of use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Eclipse since my student days as it is a very versatile development environment. Currently, we use Eclipse as the preferred way to write ABAP code for the SAP environment, and to manage our HANA landscape. Eclipse is mainly used by our developers and IT staff, and we have used it with our clients as well.
  • Eclipse, through its library of tools, is exceptionally broad and can be customized to suit just about any situation.
  • Eclipse SAP HANA tools are the best way to manage a HANA database.
  • Eclipse SAP ABAP tools are the preferred way to develop CDS views and modern ABAP programs.
  • The biggest issue I have with Eclipse is probably its biggest selling point: it's so big that it can be quite cumbersome to get the appropriate tools and configuration set up for your use case.
  • I'd like to see (maybe) a lightweight distribution of Eclipse that comes with specific tools for specific purposes (SAP specifically).
Eclipse has a better ABAP editor than the built-in editor with SAP. Code completion, error checking, syntax checking, its all handled better in Eclipse. It is also one of the only ways to develop CDS views which drive an awful lot of SAP HANA functionality such as machine learning, and some of their newest programming models.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 24, 2019

Eclipse Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Eclipse project that is being used at our organization is the Integrated Development Environment.
It is used exclusively within the Development Teams as the primary code editing tool. It was, for an extended period of time, the only code development tool that was used in our department (approximately 100 team members). However, we now have a more heterogeneous code development tooling environment. The Eclipse IDE is really an integrated code development environment, that allows for code editing, building/compiling, version control, code quality checking, web development, and more.
  • Eclipse uses the concept of plug-ins to extend it's core capabilities. This is a highly efficient concept, as you'll be able to add only what you want to. Don't need maven build integration? No need to add the M2E plugin. Need to hook up to an SVN repo? Feel free to add in the Subversive plug-in. This goes for every aspect of the features that are made available.
  • It is actively maintained. There are scheduled releases every year. at least 2 if not more. They come packed with all sorts of enhancements and feature upgrades.
  • It's open-source. Now, this is a more philosophical point. If you believe in Free Software, and the Open Source paradigm, then this will ensure that your organization continues to align with those principles. It is community-driven, and even the plugins that it supports are themselves open-source. So you'll continue to have a thriving ecosystem.
  • It is very strange that the Eclipse IDE has such a long startup time. And feels very bloated. The core product doesn't come with any additional features or capabilities, and yet, with every release, it seems to get slower and feels bulkier. It behooves me to understand how this is possible.
  • Despite their regular releases, it almost seems as if the Eclipse team is focusing on the wrong things. Their updates and enhancements are certainly very welcome, and it's clear they are actively working on fixing defects. But they are continually behind the 8-ball on supporting new industry standards and anticipating where the field is going.
  • It's wonderful to have choices, and that is a testament to the Open Source ecosystem. However, compatibility issues continue to plague the eclipse project. Plugins often are incompatible with different versions, or are unusable and just crash upon installation, yet continue to be offered as compatible plugins. This causes a mess.
  • Setting up and configuring Eclipse can range anywhere from a tedious, but necessary task, to an absolute nightmare. Although the core product is highly portable, the customizations, the plugins, the configurations that make it works exactly the way you want, or more importantly, the specific setup that you want your entire team to use to ensure consistency, can be hellish to port over if and when you switch to a new laptop.
I would strongly recommend Eclipse to any developer working on almost any programming language. But more importantly, if you are working in an environment that requires integration with various tools and platforms across your enterprise, then Eclipse is an especially powerful application. However, one size does not fit all, and sometimes you don't need a swiss-army knife. But rather a precise surgical tool. In those cases, Eclipse's more general functions won't hold up, compared to say, Microsoft's Visual Studio Code. In fact, one could even say that if you are a modern web-app developer, then there are a couple of development environments that are probably better than Eclipse.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 24, 2019

Developing in Eclipse

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our development team currently uses Eclipse for our J2EE web application. We develop and debug using the tool to deliver quality software to our business users.
  • Free IDE which was an easy sell to upper management to use.
  • Very easy to set up development environment to get started.
  • There is a community of users which can be helpful if needed.
  • Debugging feature not as polished as other paid IDE tools.
  • When moving from different Git branches, I've noticed Eclipse sometimes breaks my local setup at different levels. I have to waste time to diagnose the problem.
  • I wish there was better debugging mechanism when debugging our web application.
Eclipse is ideal since it is free and easy to setup. All you would need to do is import your code base and build the code and are ready to start developing.
Read this authenticated review
Jonah Dempcy profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Eclipse for Java development which includes building and deploying web services, as well as Java Android development, although for the latter we primarily use Android Studio now. However, we have legacy Android applications which still require the use of Android Studio as they were never upgraded to Android Studio and Gradle. So, for Maven projects we still do Android development with Eclipse. Primarily, however, we use Eclipse for building web apps and cloud services.
  • Eclipse is great for its Docker integration. We have had a breeze deploying using Docker with Eclipse.
  • I love Eclipse's local history feature. Even with Git Flow integration, which we also use, it's nice to be able to quickly diff between current and older versions of a file.
  • Eclipse has a very powerful search feature for finding and replacing code.
  • Eclipse is also great at refactoring. I love its auto-import and code generation features.
  • Eclipse has so many windows that it took me years before I wasn't overwhelmed by them. When I first started using Eclipse in 2006 I couldn't stand it.
  • The learning curve is very steep. There are a hundred little tricks you have to learn.
  • Sometimes Eclipse can get into a bad state and you have to clear the caches and restart or go through elaborate build-clean-build processes to fix it.
  • Eclipse can run very slowly.
  • Eclipse is notoriously bloated with unnecessary features that most of us will never use.
Eclipse is great for Java development. It's not my first choice for Android development since Android Studio is so much better now. However, having done Android development in Eclipse for years, it's not that bad for that either. Eclipse is also not my first choice for web development of any kind, despite plugins that go a long way to supporting web languages. There are simply better IDEs out there if you want to write Ruby, Python, Perl, or PHP code. There are also better IDEs and text editors for HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and many of the new web technologies like CoffeeScript and Less. I pretty much only use Eclipse for Java development and for that it's a must.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is a famous Java IDE. It easily combines language support. The best thing about Eclipse is the suggestions we get for every line. When we are aware of the proceeding we get all suggestions which can be included or used for correct usage. Java related coding and debugging is done in Eclipse. Beginners who are interested in coding can start with Eclipse but when we come for specifications it becomes a bit difficult. Pointing out errors is very easy in Eclipse. It also shows proper directory structure which allows the user to navigate easily from class to class.
  • Pointing out errors.
  • Auto fill code.
  • Proper directory structure.
  • Less menu structure.
  • Restarts soon when closed and opened.
  • UI can be changed with better colors and options.
People who are starting with coding in Java should or can start with eclipse as it is beginner friendly and saves time. There are many shortcuts available in Eclipse, which will almost auto fill the code to the max. Eclipse suggests importing jars that are there in other projects' classpaths. It makes it easy rather than going and searching for jar downloads
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2019

Eclipse good for Java

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used primarily by developers. Eclipse is a development tool IDE that is used to create applications in Java. Eclipse is one of the many leading tools used when developing Java applications and is widely used and well supported.
  • Eclipse is good at telling the developer when there are issues with the code or even with the build.
  • Eclipse has code autocomplete which saves me time when coding, it will even import when I attempt to use a library.
  • Can integrate with plugins such as Ivy for dependency management.
  • It is a resource hog this is probably caused by it constantly analyzing code on the fly. I do recommend closing it when not in use.
  • The autocomplete can sometimes be a pain and start freezing.
Great for development for enterprise level Java applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 05, 2019

Great IDE at no Price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it on a daily basis to access java programs and Oracle Service Bus proxy services. It is used across the organization by many people. We are a service and integration team, and we build services using Java/Weblogic JAX-RPC using Eclipse. It enables us to modernize legacy systems by exposing them as services.
  • It's a free tool and we can use it for pretty much everything Java.
  • We also use it to connect to version control systems, such as svm directly from the IDE.
  • It has great short cuts enabling us to navigate between various classes and methods at a great speed.
  • I think the shortcuts and handling of boiler plate code could be better.
  • We miss connectivity to something like Salesforce CRM to do SOQL queries.
Java and Web programming using Eclipse IDE is very cool. It's easy to get on to it. The learning curve is very less.
I am not sure how good eclipse is for Python Django kind of work. I use PyCharm for the same. Also, refactoring code is not intuitive on Eclipse.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of the developers use Eclipse for developing applications. It's used across different teams to design and collaborate. Eclipse supports a variety of plugins which makes it easier to code applications for both Android and IOS environments. It provides customized startup templates for developing web applications, web servers and small to large scale websites.
  • Community support is good. New plugins are released which makes it easier to code applications.
  • Integration with 3rd party applications is seamless
  • Debugging code is easy which helps you to write reusable, efficient and well-tested code.
  • Eclipse has problems with version updates. It restarts while installing newer versions of plugins and software which makes it difficult to use.
  • The intellisense functionality needs improvement.
  • Configuration with other 3rd party applications is not easy and documentation is not easily accessible.
It's useful for debugging which helps to test the application before deploying to various environments. It is less appropriate when integrating it with 3rd party applications. The appearance looks little buggy and not many themes are available to be installed. The intellisense feature has not been improved and is not efficient.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

Eclipse review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used across my organization. Code Completion is the main feature, instead of digging through documentation you should be able to tab your way through methods and save yourself a lot of writing.
  • Global Find and Replace is no replacement for good refactoring support, that starts with renaming functions, variables, classes.
  • Syntax Checking, helping you out with writing correct code while you type.
  • Pressing ALT+F8 to start a transaction (like SE11 for data dictionary) takes forever, if it has to “search” for it.
  • (Implicit) Enhancements are impossible.
The only REALLY nice and productivity increasing feature (for me) I have found so far: using quick fix to create a new method. Can’t activate an include used in more than one main program.
Read this authenticated review
David Crawford profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used by the Integration department, specifically by myself mostly. I use it for almost all of my projects, as our 3rd party vendor, Intersystems, uses it for its main Cache IDE. I use a plugin called Atelier which drives the perspectives and server connections I need in an easy way.
  • As a text editor I was pleased that it has most of the features I'd expect, such as block select, and good syntax highlighting.
  • It allows for plugins to change its behavior by a lot, which is great because the main plugin I use, Atelier, changes the workflow of normal Eclipse projects by a lot.
  • It handles password management for servers well, as they're encrypted and saved in a format acceptable to most security standards.
  • The actual management of plugins isn't as powerful or easy to implement as Visual Studio. In some respects the UI feels outdated, and actions don't work the way I'd expect.
  • Importing of project files isn't friendly, and sometimes I have to zip everything for it to get recognized. It's never felt as "drag and drop" as it should.
  • File management on a server is tedious and I usually have to remove or add files using another tool, because it's clunky and I'm not sure what's going on behind the scene.
It's great if you need to develop a highly customized plugin, as its behaviors can change a lot and has lots of freedom. It's also good for basic web development, as it handles those files out of the box better than anything else I've used.
Read David Crawford's full review
Carla Borges profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is a very useful tool for small projects that needs a very useful tool for JAVA programmers in general. We use it daily I really like having a text editor with a syntax marker whose compilation is in real time. You can do many activities in a single application, such as unit tests with JUnit version control with CVS and integration with Ant, which is very useful and decreases the delivery time of the work. You can also add the add-in to provide more features. It is a lightweight platform for software components.
  • It has an excellent autocompiler and provides a lot of help with all its libraries.
  • It is very useful and decreases the time of delivery of the work. You can also add the add-in to provide more features.
  • It is a good IDE to program in Java and shows compilation errors during the programs. It has utility for many add-ons to generate web services.
  • What I dislike most about Eclipse is the consumption of system resources because it does not work for old computers.
  • It is developed for people who are already professionals and not beginners because the learning curve is broad and lacks support for webapps as if it were NetBeans.
  • It needs to be more intuitive and it would be nice to add more add-ons and tutorials to help beginners.
I would recommend 100% as it is a very useful tool for the IDE program that facilitates your work, decreases delivery times and is very easy to use. It has helped me reduce the delivery times of small projects, although I am used to NetBeans, this program is much less heavy, so for small projects of short duration it is a good option and a way to optimize the work. It is smart and comfortable. It has all the desirable properties to facilitate the work of a developer.
Read Carla Borges's full review
Nikita kumari profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has been used to create window and web application using java language. It is also used to create scrapping applications to download data from different markets.
  • Easy to create different types of web applications.
  • Managing the code global classes are very simple.
  • Easy to enhance and fix bugs.
  • Difficuilt to add server database connection on local machine.
  • It takes time to build project solution.
  • It should support auto port change feature.
Eclipse provides a solution for missing classes and bugs in code. Easy to handle dependency in different files. It allows running multithread of the same object.
Read Nikita kumari's full review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is being used to develop the Client Web Application at my workplace, where we create CRM for a lot of Canadian and other financial institutions. We have developed our own layer that we use on top of Eclipse to help us get the most of eclipse and simplifying our business process. It helps the developers to develops features in various modules easily and also helps the QA to test the patches on the go without waiting for the latest code to be deployed to the main branch. The projects can be easily stored over Git, which makes it accessible to the desired people with a good level of security. The feature that allows you to use different servers at the same time saves a lot time and resources.
  • The JUnit tests are really handy when it comes to testing the code before pushing it.
  • Easy integration with GIT.
  • Writing Automation scripts has been simplified in Eclipse, you can import external JAR files to add a lot more functionalities and POM to import the unknown JARs into the project.
  • Plugin support is excellent.
  • It is pretty hard to install in a MacOS.
  • It is a pretty heavy program and the initial installation is a little hard
  • At times, a lot of temporary files are created while running a program, these files have to be regularly cleaned.
  • Plugin Support is great, but is a a bit tricky as you might end up getting an error that would take a few hours to troubleshoot.
Eclipse is so far the best IDE we have used for developing web applications and writing automation scripts. It might not be the best IDE present in the market, but it has a huge community support, which means that would can always find solution to your problems in one of the forums. I is compatible with many other languages, but it works the best with Java, therefore if you are planning to use Java as your primary language, do try out Eclipse.
Moreover, it is available for free, so do give it a try before getting the premium version.
It does have some flaws, like it slows at times and needs to be restarted, but it has really made the development process easier in our organization.
Read this authenticated review
Ronald Melendez profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used it as the main IDE to develop products in java and jsf - primefaces and jsp, the truth is a very powerful IDE which can be integrated with several technologies, for example when working with continuous integration there are very useful plugins such as may task incubator integration with git directly in the IDE, it has the facility to create Maven projects, the truth is very complete.

It has many versions which you can choose to work with, there are also many IDE's that are based on Eclipse, which allows working with several environments, and which can be oriented to different types and technologies. The large number of plugins that it has allows you to configure in a flexible way for your workspace.
  • can be integrated with continuous integration
  • supports different types of programming languages
  • supports different servers
  • perform unit tests with JUnit quickly using a plugins
  • it's very heavy
  • it embraces a lot with the servers and you have to run a lot of clean and build
  • some configurations are very cumbersome
I like to work with Eclipse when I have to develop very large and robust projects. It also allows me to integrate several technologies into a project. I like it a lot when I use continuous integration since it handles the necessary plugins for that and works all from the IDE. The truth is, it is very comfortable to work from the IDE, perform unit tests quickly and easily and is ideal when you are going to work with Java-based technologies.

When you have a robust project with several layers, it is ideal to use Eclipse since you can define a very complex architecture and you can approach it in a very simple way. When you create a project from scratch you can use several configurations to prepare your project architecture much more readable.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
Richard Molina profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I use eclipse in my organization as the main work tool to be the most stable and powerful development environment in the market. Thanks to Eclipse, I develop applications based on JAVA business and J2EE for large and medium companies. At the moment I am developing an integration to process the payroll data of a company with a MAVEN project and I find it quite comfortable and easy to include the libraries through the import tools included in this development environment.

Also, I strongly recommend the DEBUG mode of this environment because it is understandable and easy to use. Among the disadvantages of this application, I can mention that there are some incompatibilities due to a large number of existing versions, maybe they can improve more in this sense by facilitating compatibility with some intermediate applications.
  • Excellent for creating MAVEN projects with different libraries quickly and safely.
  • Easy integration with GIT, the plugin that provides the environment is quite complete
  • An easy-to-use debug perspective to facilitate application testing.
  • It is a bit limited to develop applications with high graphic content.
  • A large number of existing versions make it susceptible to incompatibilities.
  • It does not have much documentation for the Hispanic community.
Eclipse is excellent for developing business applications since it is quite stable for large and small projects, it fits well with teamwork. It's good for web and desktop applications, I like it because it provides a professional experience, I can last hours working and rarely closes or fails, and its clean interface makes using it quite comfortable and simple.
Read Richard Molina's full review
yixiang Shan profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is the corporate standard IDE for the FedEx IT department, majorly for the Java based system development. Some dedicated team also uses its C++ version and Python version. Most of FedEx in-house built IT solutions are implemented with the help of the Eclipse, which includes the traditional J2EE application, Java Client, SOAP and RESTful services, etc.
  • Coding is kind of fun, straight forward
  • Easy to use
  • Fully configurable and very flexible
  • Rich functions
  • Many great plug-ins to follow the latest technical trends
  • Sometimes due to default enabled validation mechanism (difficult for the beginner to fully understand how and where to customize all options) Eclipse performance will suffer
  • Plug-in installation is tricky and does not always work well
  • Crashes due to the plug-in issues without giving useful trouble shooting messages
If you are looking for some free and comprehensive IDE for speeding up your team's productivity with the following key features, you should opt for Eclipse:
  • Quick and easy code navigation
  • SVN or GIT integration
  • Auto completion
  • Refactoring
  • Easy debugging
  • Searching


Read yixiang Shan's full review

About Eclipse

Eclipse is a free and open source integrated development environment (IDE).

Eclipse Integrations

Eclipse Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No