TrustRadius
Eclipse Luna is a free and open source integrated development environment (IDE).https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/xi/K3/A677UGJV4TZD.pngEclipse is awesome!I have used it as the main IDE to develop products in java and jsf - primefaces and jsp, the truth is a very powerful IDE which can be integrated with several technologies, for example when working with continuous integration there are very useful plugins such as may task incubator integration with git directly in the IDE, it has the facility to create Maven projects, the truth is very complete. It has many versions which you can choose to work with, there are also many IDE's that are based on Eclipse, which allows working with several environments, and which can be oriented to different types and technologies. The large number of plugins that it has allows you to configure in a flexible way for your workspace.,can be integrated with continuous integration supports different types of programming languages supports different servers perform unit tests with JUnit quickly using a plugins,it's very heavy it embraces a lot with the servers and you have to run a lot of clean and build some configurations are very cumbersome,8,continuous integration streamline unit tests ability to upload to git directly from the ide integrate several technologies into a project,NetBeans and IntelliJ IDEA,NetBeans, IntelliJ IDEA, BlueJeansMy favorite development environment, I love the constant versioning.Currently, I use eclipse in my organization as the main work tool to be the most stable and powerful development environment in the market. Thanks to Eclipse, I develop applications based on JAVA business and J2EE for large and medium companies. At the moment I am developing an integration to process the payroll data of a company with a MAVEN project and I find it quite comfortable and easy to include the libraries through the import tools included in this development environment. Also, I strongly recommend the DEBUG mode of this environment because it is understandable and easy to use. Among the disadvantages of this application, I can mention that there are some incompatibilities due to a large number of existing versions, maybe they can improve more in this sense by facilitating compatibility with some intermediate applications.,Excellent for creating MAVEN projects with different libraries quickly and safely. Easy integration with GIT, the plugin that provides the environment is quite complete An easy-to-use debug perspective to facilitate application testing.,It is a bit limited to develop applications with high graphic content. A large number of existing versions make it susceptible to incompatibilities. It does not have much documentation for the Hispanic community.,9,This development environment offers the possibility of improving the productivity time of work teams by supporting the integration of large architectures. It drives constant change and evolution in work teams thanks to its constant versioning. It works well enough to develop continuous server client integrations, based on solid or any other programming principle.,NetBeans,WordPress, Wix, Joomla!Eclipse can be changed with plugins, but still feels oldEclipse is used by the Integration department, specifically by myself mostly. I use it for almost all of my projects, as our 3rd party vendor, Intersystems, uses it for its main Cache IDE. I use a plugin called Atelier which drives the perspectives and server connections I need in an easy way.,As a text editor I was pleased that it has most of the features I'd expect, such as block select, and good syntax highlighting. It allows for plugins to change its behavior by a lot, which is great because the main plugin I use, Atelier, changes the workflow of normal Eclipse projects by a lot. It handles password management for servers well, as they're encrypted and saved in a format acceptable to most security standards.,The actual management of plugins isn't as powerful or easy to implement as Visual Studio. In some respects the UI feels outdated, and actions don't work the way I'd expect. Importing of project files isn't friendly, and sometimes I have to zip everything for it to get recognized. It's never felt as "drag and drop" as it should. File management on a server is tedious and I usually have to remove or add files using another tool, because it's clunky and I'm not sure what's going on behind the scene.,7,My alternative was using Studio for Cache development, which can't handle web development in any modern capacity. So I can do projects now that I could never work on, which gives a very positive return on investment. New projects are flying out the door.,Visual Studio IDE,Microsoft Access, Slack, 1PasswordBest free IDE for Java developersEclipse is the corporate standard IDE for the FedEx IT department, majorly for the Java based system development. Some dedicated team also uses its C++ version and Python version. Most of FedEx in-house built IT solutions are implemented with the help of the Eclipse, which includes the traditional J2EE application, Java Client, SOAP and RESTful services, etc.,Coding is kind of fun, straight forward Easy to use Fully configurable and very flexible Rich functions Many great plug-ins to follow the latest technical trends,Sometimes due to default enabled validation mechanism (difficult for the beginner to fully understand how and where to customize all options) Eclipse performance will suffer Plug-in installation is tricky and does not always work well Crashes due to the plug-in issues without giving useful trouble shooting messages,9,It enables quick development, code sharing, reviewing and testing.,NetBeans and IntelliJ IDEA,Hadoop, Apache HiveExcellent IDE to create your projects and develop at a high level has multiple tools.Eclipse is a very useful tool for small projects that needs a very useful tool for JAVA programmers in general. We use it daily I really like having a text editor with a syntax marker whose compilation is in real time. You can do many activities in a single application, such as unit tests with JUnit version control with CVS and integration with Ant, which is very useful and decreases the delivery time of the work. You can also add the add-in to provide more features. It is a lightweight platform for software components.,It has an excellent autocompiler and provides a lot of help with all its libraries. It is very useful and decreases the time of delivery of the work. You can also add the add-in to provide more features. It is a good IDE to program in Java and shows compilation errors during the programs. It has utility for many add-ons to generate web services.,What I dislike most about Eclipse is the consumption of system resources because it does not work for old computers. It is developed for people who are already professionals and not beginners because the learning curve is broad and lacks support for webapps as if it were netbeans. It needs to be more intuitive and it would be nice to add more add-ons and tutorials to help beginners.,9,Eclipse helped a lot to achieve the goals set last year and this year I also help a lot in each of the projects of the Java programmers. Our clients like us to use eclipse since it makes the project more adaptable. It is very positive for the company because it can be installed easily in all the equipment of the institution and can be set up quickly, so it does not waste as much time as with other IDE.,NetBeans,JIRA Software, PostgreSQL, MySQL
Unspecified
Eclipse
168 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Eclipse Reviews

Eclipse
168 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 168 vetted Eclipse reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 33)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 11, 2018

User Review: "Eclipse is awesome!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used it as the main IDE to develop products in java and jsf - primefaces and jsp, the truth is a very powerful IDE which can be integrated with several technologies, for example when working with continuous integration there are very useful plugins such as may task incubator integration with git directly in the IDE, it has the facility to create Maven projects, the truth is very complete.

It has many versions which you can choose to work with, there are also many IDE's that are based on Eclipse, which allows working with several environments, and which can be oriented to different types and technologies. The large number of plugins that it has allows you to configure in a flexible way for your workspace.
  • can be integrated with continuous integration
  • supports different types of programming languages
  • supports different servers
  • perform unit tests with JUnit quickly using a plugins
  • it's very heavy
  • it embraces a lot with the servers and you have to run a lot of clean and build
  • some configurations are very cumbersome
I like to work with Eclipse when I have to develop very large and robust projects. It also allows me to integrate several technologies into a project. I like it a lot when I use continuous integration since it handles the necessary plugins for that and works all from the IDE. The truth is, it is very comfortable to work from the IDE, perform unit tests quickly and easily and is ideal when you are going to work with Java-based technologies.

When you have a robust project with several layers, it is ideal to use Eclipse since you can define a very complex architecture and you can approach it in a very simple way. When you create a project from scratch you can use several configurations to prepare your project architecture much more readable.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
May 09, 2018

Eclipse Review: "My favorite development environment, I love the constant versioning."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I use eclipse in my organization as the main work tool to be the most stable and powerful development environment in the market. Thanks to Eclipse, I develop applications based on JAVA business and J2EE for large and medium companies. At the moment I am developing an integration to process the payroll data of a company with a MAVEN project and I find it quite comfortable and easy to include the libraries through the import tools included in this development environment.

Also, I strongly recommend the DEBUG mode of this environment because it is understandable and easy to use. Among the disadvantages of this application, I can mention that there are some incompatibilities due to a large number of existing versions, maybe they can improve more in this sense by facilitating compatibility with some intermediate applications.
  • Excellent for creating MAVEN projects with different libraries quickly and safely.
  • Easy integration with GIT, the plugin that provides the environment is quite complete
  • An easy-to-use debug perspective to facilitate application testing.
  • It is a bit limited to develop applications with high graphic content.
  • A large number of existing versions make it susceptible to incompatibilities.
  • It does not have much documentation for the Hispanic community.
Eclipse is excellent for developing business applications since it is quite stable for large and small projects, it fits well with teamwork. It's good for web and desktop applications, I like it because it provides a professional experience, I can last hours working and rarely closes or fails, and its clean interface makes using it quite comfortable and simple.
Read Richard Molina's full review
August 10, 2018

Review: "Eclipse can be changed with plugins, but still feels old"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used by the Integration department, specifically by myself mostly. I use it for almost all of my projects, as our 3rd party vendor, Intersystems, uses it for its main Cache IDE. I use a plugin called Atelier which drives the perspectives and server connections I need in an easy way.
  • As a text editor I was pleased that it has most of the features I'd expect, such as block select, and good syntax highlighting.
  • It allows for plugins to change its behavior by a lot, which is great because the main plugin I use, Atelier, changes the workflow of normal Eclipse projects by a lot.
  • It handles password management for servers well, as they're encrypted and saved in a format acceptable to most security standards.
  • The actual management of plugins isn't as powerful or easy to implement as Visual Studio. In some respects the UI feels outdated, and actions don't work the way I'd expect.
  • Importing of project files isn't friendly, and sometimes I have to zip everything for it to get recognized. It's never felt as "drag and drop" as it should.
  • File management on a server is tedious and I usually have to remove or add files using another tool, because it's clunky and I'm not sure what's going on behind the scene.
It's great if you need to develop a highly customized plugin, as its behaviors can change a lot and has lots of freedom. It's also good for basic web development, as it handles those files out of the box better than anything else I've used.
Read David Crawford's full review
April 30, 2018

Eclipse Review: "Best free IDE for Java developers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is the corporate standard IDE for the FedEx IT department, majorly for the Java based system development. Some dedicated team also uses its C++ version and Python version. Most of FedEx in-house built IT solutions are implemented with the help of the Eclipse, which includes the traditional J2EE application, Java Client, SOAP and RESTful services, etc.
  • Coding is kind of fun, straight forward
  • Easy to use
  • Fully configurable and very flexible
  • Rich functions
  • Many great plug-ins to follow the latest technical trends
  • Sometimes due to default enabled validation mechanism (difficult for the beginner to fully understand how and where to customize all options) Eclipse performance will suffer
  • Plug-in installation is tricky and does not always work well
  • Crashes due to the plug-in issues without giving useful trouble shooting messages
If you are looking for some free and comprehensive IDE for speeding up your team's productivity with the following key features, you should opt for Eclipse:
  • Quick and easy code navigation
  • SVN or GIT integration
  • Auto completion
  • Refactoring
  • Easy debugging
  • Searching


Read yixiang Shan's full review
August 16, 2018

Eclipse Review: "Excellent IDE to create your projects and develop at a high level has multiple tools."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is a very useful tool for small projects that needs a very useful tool for JAVA programmers in general. We use it daily I really like having a text editor with a syntax marker whose compilation is in real time. You can do many activities in a single application, such as unit tests with JUnit version control with CVS and integration with Ant, which is very useful and decreases the delivery time of the work. You can also add the add-in to provide more features. It is a lightweight platform for software components.
  • It has an excellent autocompiler and provides a lot of help with all its libraries.
  • It is very useful and decreases the time of delivery of the work. You can also add the add-in to provide more features.
  • It is a good IDE to program in Java and shows compilation errors during the programs. It has utility for many add-ons to generate web services.
  • What I dislike most about Eclipse is the consumption of system resources because it does not work for old computers.
  • It is developed for people who are already professionals and not beginners because the learning curve is broad and lacks support for webapps as if it were NetBeans.
  • It needs to be more intuitive and it would be nice to add more add-ons and tutorials to help beginners.
I would recommend 100% as it is a very useful tool for the IDE program that facilitates your work, decreases delivery times and is very easy to use. It has helped me reduce the delivery times of small projects, although I am used to NetBeans, this program is much less heavy, so for small projects of short duration it is a good option and a way to optimize the work. It is smart and comfortable. It has all the desirable properties to facilitate the work of a developer.
Read Carla Borges's full review
March 30, 2018

Eclipse Review: "Best tool to create web based applications"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our organization to create microgrid projects for customers. We also create web-based applications using Java language.
  • It provides an interface to build web application easily.
  • Provides support to integrate, to debug and manage the code.
  • Easy to fix code issues in the shortest amount of time.
  • After updating version, there are still some crashing problems while building project solutions.
  • Needs improvement in performance as it take some time to load and sync the code.
  • It should support auto upload third library feature.
If we want to build an application with any object-oriented programming language we should use this IDE tool.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
May 21, 2018

Eclipse Review: "Best tool to develop java based applications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has been used to create window and web application using java language. It is also used to create scrapping applications to download data from different markets.
  • Easy to create different types of web applications.
  • Managing the code global classes are very simple.
  • Easy to enhance and fix bugs.
  • Difficuilt to add server database connection on local machine.
  • It takes time to build project solution.
  • It should support auto port change feature.
Eclipse provides a solution for missing classes and bugs in code. Easy to handle dependency in different files. It allows running multithread of the same object.
Read Nikita kumari's full review
May 04, 2018

User Review: "Eclipse-Developer Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been widely using eclipse IDE for developing various Java and J2EE applications in our organizations. We also use it for developing other scripting languages like javascript, widgets and other programming languages. But we mostly use it for Java applications. Eclipse also has had the capability to configure mobile based plugins/extensions for Android and iOS and to develop applications for mobile use. Eclipse has eased a lot of development and fast-tracked the development effort which directly increases the productivity of code and speeds up the delivery process.
  • Eclipse's latest version like neon, Zuno has inbuilt maven plugins where we can leverage the code integration and check in with various source control management tools like SVN, Github etc.
  • As said earlier, Eclipse also has the capability of extending plugins that are required for Andriod and iOS mobile applications.
  • The best I could say is it provided a lot of shortcuts for development like providing different Java API in front instead of the developer being typing.
  • I think it needs improvement in GWT applications.
  • More support for mobile simulation is required for iOS-based applications.
Eclipse is well suited for all Java-based applications. And mostly for developing major J2EE applications. Its very good for Java beginners to Java professionals. It has a lot of inbuilt tools which ease developer life. For instance, if you need a web service skeleton for testing purposes that can be achieved within minutes. Eclipse has very good debugging tools that ease code debugging. Though eclipse provides tools for other programming languages like C, C++, visual studio it is not well versed in that area.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2018

Eclipse Review: "Most Advanced and Open IDE to mostly all Developers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Eclipse as our main IDE for all our Consultancy services. Eclipse is used as well for our main commercially distributed products: Bonita BPM , Talend ESB and OpenKM. We develop JEE apps, Restful Web Services, SOAP Web Services among others.
  • Easy to Install and configure.
  • Most expandable with modules and plugins.
  • Evolve fast as new technologies appears.
  • The community around Eclipse is very helpful.
  • Although the latest version has high DPI screen compatibility, I think it could be better.
  • Needs faster startup time from cold boot.
  • Needs to update the icon library, since it looks out dated.
Eclipse supports a wide range of programming languages, so it fits perfectly if you do some Java EE with Javascript (Angular, NodeJS, etc). Put you are covered if you do PHP, plain HTML, Jasper Reports (custom eclipse). In short, Eclipse is a very versatile and is the preferred IDE for several Open and Non Open source projects.
Read Jose Miguel Siu Navarro's full review
January 30, 2018

Review: "Eclipse - A free IDE aimed at Java developers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use eclipse to develop our Java EE/JSF web server. JSF seamlessly integrates with eclipse with it's extensive selection of plugins allowing us to code in native JSF utilizing autocomplete. We use Jboss wildfly 8 as our application server which integrates very well with eclipse, I can start, stop, restart or start in debug mode all from eclipse' clear and concise GUI.
  • Integrates well with third party applications
  • Autocomplete is very useful (and with some additional configuration can work with third party libraries)
  • Provides a set of starter templates for a wide range of projects e.g. website, webapp, web server
  • It's customizable GUI is great as you constantly need to check contents of different files
  • Eclipse can sometimes be slow, especially when working on large projects
Eclipse is a must-have if you are developing any of the following:

- Web app
- Large Java EE web server
- HTML website

I would not recommend it for the following:

- NodeJS development
Read Rhodri Ellis's full review
November 29, 2017

User Review: "Eclipse: The IDE for You?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is the primary IDE for development of in-house projects. In order to quickly develop applications, including batch and web applications deployed to Tomcat, Eclipse is our go-to platform.
  • Tomcat integration for local deployment and integration testing is easily accomplished with Eclipse.
  • Integration with build standards like Ant and Maven are easily achieved with Eclipse.
  • Find bugs, JUnit, and other third-party tools that make code validation necessary and invaluable in Eclipse.
  • Menu structures are not as intuitive as one might think. Using the product for over a decade, I still have to search for elements that impact general development processes.
  • While the plugin architecture is nice, some features should just come standard. Code validation and debugging plugins should be improved and be default.
  • Tomcat integration should be defaulted. While it can be built out directly from eclipse.org, customizing could be by-passed and just default it as a standard installation and configuration.
Great for development especially in an agile work environment. SVN or Git integration is simple and collaboration is a thoughtful paradigm in Eclipse. While the tool is well suited for development, other IT departments would have little use for the bloat of the product. And example would be for software configuration management, a space where one IT firm recommends utilizing Eclipse but for which the product seems a bit too heavy.
Read Gregory Hanson's full review
February 26, 2018

Eclipse Review: "Easy to install, open source essential developing tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is used in my organization by me and by all the web developers that work here, except for one that prefers brackets. I am not sure about other departments using the same software, but I assume they use it as well. We use is basically to edit the code in the websites we manage, which are a section of the school of medicine.
  • Color coding, I love it.
  • The eclipse forums where you can ask for help.
  • The templates that come with it. Really helpful.
  • The start time when first initiated.
To edit pieces of code is really helpful because lame online editors are boring and they usually don't come with a debugger. It's nice as well for learning as you can start from scratch really easily, or use one of their cool templates. This saved me some money and so much time when starting a new project.
Read Angel Machon's full review
October 17, 2017

Review: "An Excellent Free Java Development IDE - Eclipse"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Eclipse in the whole IT department for the development of in-house Java projects, including SOAP/RESTful web services, Salesforce integration, ESB components and standalone applications.
  • Develop all kinds of Java-based projects, such as a standalone application, web application, and web services.
  • It supports powerful debugging functionality, especially with the integration of application servers, such as Tomcat.
  • It integrates with many tools, such as Maven and SVN, which makes the whole software development cycle much easier.
  • It should support type definition everywhere, not only in Java code, but also in JavaScript, XML, XSD, Spring contexts.
  • The code completion and renaming functionality should be more smarter.
  • The refactoring functionality should be more flexible.
Eclipse is very good for developing all kinds of Java projects, such as a web-based application, a standalone application, SOAP and RESTful web services, and ESB components. It integrates well with JUnit, Maven, and SVN. It's also good for developing projects of other languages, such as C++, Python, and Scala. It's less appropriate for the development of some special systems, such as embedded system.
Read Steve Yang's full review
October 26, 2017

User Review: "Eclipse easy and good"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to develop Machine Learning software.
We also use it to develop Selenium Automation test scripts.
Eclipse provides the environment to develop, debug and launch our software.

It is user friendly and robust.

It loads well. We also use the advanced version IntelliJ Idea for developing the Deep learning applications.
  • Provide code trace.
  • Provide save and restore of sessions.
  • Provide keyword suggestions.
  • Provide debugging help.
  • Merge projects
  • Distributed deployment (avoids memory requirements).
  • Run time dynamics display.
Eclipse is well suited for Software development. It can handle large projects with multiple class files.
Eclipse provides good help in pinpointing errors during compile time This helps in debugging.
Eclipse also gives a good view of the project files and documents.
It should provide a capacity to seamlessly allow cloud deployment.
Read Arunkumar Balakrishnan's full review
March 03, 2018

Eclipse Review: "A trusted old standard that works, but isn't necessarily a shining star"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Eclipse as its integrated development environment for building Java web applications and testing/integration applications with Oracle Utility Billing.
  • Flexibility and openness. Eclipse provides the ability to accept numerous open source plugins related to code syntax review, runtime server integration, code repository, and deployment.
  • Open Source. Downloadable and free, frequently updated, and supported by a large developer community.
  • Easy to use. Eclipse supports numerous views/layouts based on the types of development, debugging, testing, or performance results you are looking for.
  • The UI is beginning to look a bit dated out of the box. Visual Studio as an example, has made vast improvements and has driven forward with a better user experience.
  • Eclipse can have some slight responsiveness issues (slowness) in a Windows environment and the JVM may be part of the cause.
  • Eclipse is sometimes challenging to set up and install with its various dependencies in a Windows environment
Great for open source Java development. I have experience using it to create Java web applications that run on Apache/Tomcat and use a MySQL DB. I am aware, but have not used many of the large volume of plug-ins that exist. I would recommend it to others because it provides a low-cost way to jump-start development by individuals or small-businesses.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2018

Eclipse Review: "Powerful Open-Source IDE"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were evaluating different types of software for a client and some on the short list of software we were evaluating were using eclipse as their development platform as well as their business-facing application. In short, they were using Eclipse for both dev and client. The reason why they used Eclipse is that they wanted to develop on Java and Eclipse is friendly to that programming language, however, the UI was very difficult to use on Eclipse.
  • Eclipse is very Java-friendly so developing applications on Eclipse has many handy tools for that purpose
  • Eclipse is open-source so if you don't like something, someone has a fix for it. Or you can change it!
  • Eclipse is widely used so if you have experience with Eclipse, you're likely to run into it again.
  • Some of the UI controls are difficult to use. For example, there have been instances where I could barely see the UI controls, and there was no way to enlarge them. Which was frustrating.
  • Eclipse itself has a learning curve to it. If this is your first real IDE, you should take some time to learn all the controls to get the most out of Eclipse.
  • In the past, graphic rendering can take a long time depending on how fast your computer is. My computer is quite capable but sometimes still Eclipse performance issues.
Eclipse should be used if you are looking for an open-source platform to develop applications on. Since it is Java friendly, it is easy to recommend if you are using that tool. If you are well-versed with programming, this is a great tool. However, if you are a teacher trying to educate students on their first programming language and IDE, try to look for more rigid and easier-to-use IDE for your students.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2018

User Review: "A total Eclipse of my art"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As part of my role, I use Eclipse as content management for our web development along with the tech team. It allows us to work together on web projects and I find it a great system over other content management systems I have previously used. It is self-explanatory and speeds up my daily work on the website.
  • Ease of use - simple to use and quick to manage
  • Great user interface - can be personalised to your requirements
  • I have no recommendations on changes as Eclipse meets all my required needs for how I currently use it
Eclipse is a great system when in use with wider content management systems, in order to sync web data and keep up to date with others changes. My team all use it as a common system to integrate our changes and keep our web content up to date
I do not have a scenario where it wouldn't be useful as it can be used on any scale of work load.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2018

Eclipse: "A review has no name"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use eclipse within my department to research the most efficient web development programs and henceforth create the best strategy going forward.
  • Code Completion
  • Refactoring
  • Syntax Checking
  • It has a steep learning curve
  • A sophisticated IDE is not the best tool for beginning programmers within an organisation.
  • It will not fix bad code, practices, or design
It provides exceptional resource management capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
January 25, 2018

Eclipse Review: "OK - but has not improved in 10 years"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For Java development of custom and vendor apps.
  • OK developer experience
  • Good integration with Spring tooling
  • Easy to install, well-used by the industry
  • Its intellisense needs to get better - has not improved in 10+ years. Much worse than Visual Studio
  • Frequently the maven integration breaks and it requires a lot of manual tinkering to get the build to work
  • Needs a better project file structure to allow for easier import of projects
Java or other JVM based language development.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2017

"Quick Review on Eclipse"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since Eclipse is free and versatile to use with any kind of development environments, most developers in my organization prefer to use it as their main Integrated Development Environment (IDE) for Java SE and EE projects.
  • Main advantage is that it does not need any propitiatory license to use its full features. So using Eclipse is cost effective for any software development company.
  • Eclipse is comprehensive to adapt most industrial technologies/frameworks without any hesitation.
  • Eclipse has frequent upgrades. So the issues in the eclipse source are being rectified.
  • Eclipse users may experience unexpected crashes due to various reasons.
  • Compared to IntelliJ IDEA, Eclipse is lack of user friendliness.
  • Eclipse may be slow in operation when it has many background processes.
If you are looking for an open source IDE, Eclipse is the best which fulfills all the developer needs including repository management, code corrections, debug options and deployment etc.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2017

Eclipse Review: "IDE For enterprise projects and real developers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used by most Java developers in my previous company for software project development activities. In current company it’s individual's choice.
  • Number of features
  • Different language support
  • Plugins marketplace
  • Simple UI
  • Little slow
If you are doing Java J2EE development then there is no better IDE than Eclipse.
Read this authenticated review
August 11, 2017

Review: "Eclipse Saved Us Lots, How Can It Help You?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse was originally adopted by our QA department due to our web projects - it was used in conjunction with the Selenium IDE.

Unfortunately, as a company that creates digital ads with a proprietary system, we aren't able to use Selenium for every product we create. This guided our attention to other automation softwares such as AutoIt, and Sikuli.

Since Sikuli is a Python based language, our first assumption was that Eclipse would no longer be of use to us. However, by installing various language packs into the Eclipse framework, we were able to expand our automation efforts to cover the scope of projects built with our proprietary system.
  • Eclipse is able to handle various coding languages, and as previously mentioned, this has been a huge benefit to my entire organization. Not only does our company build applications in various languages, our QA department uses automation programs which are language exclusive. The ability to install language packs within Eclipse has kept us from searching for any alternative development environment.
  • Eclipse handles integration very easily. From the integration of Selenium, to the integration of Sikuli, Eclipse has handled the swap with ease. The simplest part integration is the ability to install additional kits/packs for those programs. Installation has been as simple as selecting "Help", and "Install new software".
  • As a Quality Assurance professional, and a music composer who uses software such as Pro Tools, Logic, and Propellerhead Reason, I can assure you - Eclipse is one of the largest software programs I've ever used. Learning the possibilities of Eclipse can be truly overwhelming at times. I'd like to see tutorials added for first time users.
  • At times, Eclipse has required restart. At times, this can be cumbersome when adding plug-ins, installs, or integrating/updating software. I'd like to install or update my software, then continue to write my code, and run my tests. Having to restart is a small issue, yet, an issue.
As previously stated, our QA staff at my current company mostly use GUI automation tools due to the proprietary software we create with. Initially, we assumed this would be a problem when it came to writing code around such GUI automation. However, we've found that Eclipse has been our go-to software for such coding, as well as our web efforts. We've found that Eclipse has been well suited for all of our automation efforts (just don't forget to install what you need - then restart).
Read Isaiah Hayes's full review
June 26, 2017

Eclipse Review: "Lightweight and extensible IDE for developers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I started with Eclipse development as a Java IDE, then discovered it could handle many more programming languages such as C, Python, HTML/CSS/JS, PHP, and it grew to become my go-to application for general programming.
  • Provides a broad range of programming language support. While the primary language support is Java, you can also add in support for C/C++, NodeJS, HTML/CSS/JS simply through the Eclipse Marketplace.
  • Provides easy tools for debugging code. I have primarily used these when writing faulty Java and Python code.
  • Provides an extensible plugin API for writing custom widgets. The Eclipse Marketplace hosts many useful utilities and extensions.
  • I would like to see a better dark theme. The first few versions I used did not have one, but since, a few have been released, but I still find IntelliJ IDEA's Darcula theme to be better.
  • It would be nice for Eclipse to work cleanly with other IDE projects without relying on external build tools. I once used a non-Maven/Gradle Java project to work with IntelliJ, and I managed to get it working, but I needed to re-write a few configuration files.
  • The Eclipse "workspace" is where it stores the projects on the computer. There should be a better detection of modifications to this folder, or at least make the error conditions more understandable. For example, there have been times I have had projects not able to be opened or imported due to differences in the folder name or file structure of the folder in the workspace.
I had been a heavy user of Eclipse for years until Android Studio came around and showed me how nice IntelliJ IDEA can be. However, I still fall back to Eclipse when I need to work in languages or frameworks that aren't supported by the Community Edition of IntelliJ. That is the area where I think it shines the most - the breadth of plugins and features that can be added all in one IDE.
I still like IntelliJ's less cluttered UI and project based workspaces.
Read Jordan Moore's full review
June 22, 2017

User Review: "Eclipse, a Swiss army knife of IDEs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eclipse is the main development environment that we use for writing code and making modifications to the existing source code. Using its different plugins we can access our database tables and even query an LDAP server.
  • It's ideal for core Java and JAVA EE development.
  • The visual builder plugins are excellent for making GUI, either in GWT or Swing applications.
  • It has easy integration with source control management tools like GIT, SVN etc.
  • Personally I think Eclipse is a wonderful product provided that its open source and community managed.
  • I would like its Git/Gerrit plugin support to be better. It runs into strange merge issues when dealing with commits in multiple branches.
Its wide support for advanced languages is a great feature.
Read omar ghaznavi's full review
April 21, 2017

Review: "Old school Eclipse user turned Visual Studio with a penchant for the past"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our MVP was originally coded in Java so when I jumped into the code base I used Eclipse Neon as my IDE. It had been 7-8 years since I had done any real Java development so I had to re-acquaint myself with the IDE. Overall it was a familiar feeling compared to when I had used Eclipse 7-8 years ago. The syntax highlighting was very helpful and I enjoyed seeing the different font styles as compared to Visual Studio. Neon was a quick and painless installation and was up and debugging in no time.
  • Dark Theme
  • SnipMatch
  • Content-Assist
  • Could use improved speed performance.
  • Better C++ support
If you want to go open source then Eclipse is probably the way to go, though Microsoft Visual Studio is gaining some traction in this space with their increased support for open source.
Read Brendan McKenna's full review

Eclipse Scorecard Summary

About Eclipse

Eclipse Luna is a free and open source integrated development environment (IDE).

Eclipse Integrations

Eclipse Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No