Bubble PPM Reviews

15 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Laura Sew Hoy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2017

Great project management tool - One point of truth!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Bubble in NPD (New Product Development) to manage all new projects in development. It is used as a project management tool for the Innovation project managers and also as the "one point of truth" for all cross-functional teams involved in the project. Under each project/SKU profile, cross-functional teams are able to see the project overview, their tasks, what stage the project is in, meeting notes, basic timelines and who is involved.
  • Great at being able to manipulate projects and filter certain projects into a report. This is great for when we have different meetings for different channels e.g. food service vs speciality.
  • Easy to use - our cross-functional teams use this and they are able to find what they need without a lot of training.
  • The development team are understanding of our needs and happy to adapt the program for us.
  • Parent-child functionality. However we are currently working with Bubble to develop this and find a solution to our needs.
  • Limited timeline capability.
  • Sometimes the speed is slow - however I think this is related to our internet connection.
Bubble is great for having all project information in one place! It makes managing a lot of SKUs easy and is great for pulling reports which become the agenda of our project meetings.
Read Laura Sew Hoy's full review
Matt Parsons | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2015

More than just software: a collaboration that streamlines productivity and alignment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator is our "single source of truth" for stage gate and portfolio management reporting. It is central to our PMO function and is used for regular monthly reporting of metrics, issue escalation & resolution, and portfolio optimization. Bubble Innovator has provided a level of transparency across the organization that was previously impossible to achieve. There are some key elements of the product that enabled this: highly intuitive user interface allows frequent data upload with minimal effort; visually appealing and simple automated reports drive transparency and alignment across the organization, while streamlining reporting (people can now spend time doing productive work, and less time trying to match an ever-evolving format for reports); and the new addition of highly customized reporting, so that users across many functions (upstream, downstream, pipeline, operations, regulatory, etc) can very easily create the reports that are best suited to their needs, and the questions their leaders are asking.
  • I already mentioned the simple user interface for data upload, and the equally intuitive customized reporting. Leadership and "supporting" functions for product development get tremendous value from this because they don't need to hunt down answers anymore. Everything from pipeline planning to operational planning can be built on the same foundation of objective data, rather than many different sources interpreted through many different lenses.
  • But the greatest value I think Bubble Innovator delivers is not really the product itself. It's the sense of partnership and responsiveness from the Bubble Innovation team. The Bubble Innovation team becomes a part of your team. They are valued consultants with helpful input on best practices for stage gate management, portfolio analytics, and report visualization. I have continually been impressed with the responsiveness and effort that their team brings to the table. When we have challenges and need to customize our data or analytics or reporting, they are right there beside us, finding the best solution, sharing prototypes in a test environment, and implementing as fast as possible.
  • The biggest issue we've had in the past is customized reporting. But this has now been addressed with a new module dedicated to enabling any user to build the report to exactly meet their needs and address the questions being asked by their leaders. There is always room for improvement here, and the leadership demands for alternative views are frequently evolving, but with the customized reporting ability we can deal with this evolution far better than ever before, and beyond the capabilities of any competitive product I've seen.
  • Detailed resource & capacity planning is not the strength of this tool. Compiling and packaging data to drive highly constructive conversations during stage gate reviews, pipeline reviews, and portfolio optimization discussions is. With that said, the Bubble Innovation team rose to the challenge of creating a high-level resource & capacity planning tool that now gives us reasonable ability to plan for forward-looking functional resource gaps in the context of a prioritized project list. It won't address detailed capabilities/competencies at the individual employee level.
  • For senior level reporting, we tend to speak in PowerPoint. While it is pretty effortless to create Excel and pdf output from Bubble Innovator, it would be nice to be able to export reports/data/charts/content to PowerPoint.
No stage gate or portfolio reporting solution can overcome poor input data. The organization has to be willing to commit to consistent and rigorous updates of the information, or the reporting becomes useless. From what I've seen of competitive systems, Bubble Innovator is the easiest to use in this regard, so the excuse of not having good data because it's painful to upload or cumbersome to retrieve goes away. And the ease with which you can produce customized reports allows you to immediately find the gaps and weak points in your data, and take action to address them. That's not to say that every report and function in Bubble Innovator is perfect. But the close collaboration and responsiveness of the Bubble Innovation team has made it relatively easy to triage, prioritize, and implement improvements along the way.
Read Matt Parsons's full review
Todd Render | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2015

Just what you need, without a bunch of stuff that you don't

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator is being used across the organization to track and manage our portfolio of R&D projects. It is the source of truth for projects in our stage gate review process, providing information to decision makers at all levels on project selection and execution.
  • Bubble customize what data are required very quickly, so that we only look at what we need.
  • Extremely responsive! Issues or requests for changes are handled typically within a day.
  • Based on their experience from various industries, the Bubble team contribute valuable insights into what and how information gets reviewed.
  • Only thing I can think of is almost piddly, that is having to scroll on a screen within the web browser - so that you have to scroll the screen then scroll the browser screen to get to the bottom of a chart.
Well suited for any new application, any customization (whether changes within the existing framework, expansion to cover new capabilities and scope, or development of a different framework), and any size organization.
Read Todd Render's full review
Katherine Umberger | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2015

Amazing Portfolio Management Tool - will make your job a lot easier!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Bubble Innovator within our R&D/Marketing Department for 2 main reasons, Portfolio Management and Gate approvals. We implemented the system in the past year and everyone in R&D and Marketing is working in this system. The system has addressed the issue of many different Excel spreadsheets of our portfolio, not organized correctly, not enough information on the spreadsheets; one central location is the biggest benefit. We also incorporated the Gate Process for approval of all our projects and this allows us to report to upper management in a consistent manner.
  • The team that implemented Bubble Innovator into our business was tremendous. They worked with us closely and listened to our needs in incorporating changes quickly. The support we received was professional, timely and throughout the years of implementation we built a great working relationship with the team. They spent the time to work with us and also trained our entire department/business on this new system.
  • Change Management/Support - Bubble Innovator support team is responsive when asking for updates/upgrades to any report or additions/deletions that are required.
  • One improvement is all the reports need to be able to be placed into a PowerPoint easily, currently you have to take a picture and add [it]. This system is amazing and has helped me with my position of reporting and managing over 50 new projects.
Bubble Innovator is suited for any business that does not have a centrally located portfolio management tool. It serves as one point of truth for the company, anyone can go in and run reports, look at the updates on any project, timelines, finance, etc.
Read Katherine Umberger's full review
Rushi Potdar MD MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2015

R&D Portfolio Management with Bubble Innovator

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Bubble Innovator as the main tool for portfolio tracking, reporting and analysis for entire Orthopedics R&D. It brings tremendous viability to the innovation pipeline and provides up to date information on where we are with each of the program. The further cuts it provides into state of projects, risks, financials and overall platform level projections are fantastic.
  • The User Interface is sleek,very user friendly and imaginative. There is a lot that can be customized by user level and interest. The data insights and visuals it provides are unparalleled. I have seen another similar system and the first thing that strikes me Innovator is so modern - 2015.
  • The support the team provides is excellent. The team has great talent with deep insights and experience into NPD. The team understands the challenges of working with a big company. They are great to work with and a very resourceful partner. During our partnership they went well beyond just system installation but improved native processes such as stage gates and leadership reports.
  • The system is highly flexible- one can create a variety of reports, views, analysis. It allows various restrictions if needed. It can create special views providing insights for management consumption which are very different to day-to-day tracking of portfolio. Very importantly the data can be uploaded into the system using one's own Excel files such as business cases.
  • There are stand alone analytical tools. Innovator will be even better if it fortifies its analytic capabilities
It is particularly well suited for complex R&D organizations with multiple platforms and levels of R&D
Read Rushi Potdar MD MBA's full review
Richard Farrar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2015

Everyone Seems to Like Bubble INNOVATOR for Stage Gate and Portfolio Decision Making

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator is being used across my whole organization as a tool for both stage gate and portfolio decision making. It has greatly improved the efficiency of data gathering and presentation in moving from spreadsheets and PowerPoint decks to the single Bubble Innovator tool.
  • Bubble Innovator seems to be one of those software packages that is liked by anyone who uses it. It kind of sells itself just by showing it to someone. It seems to be very intuitive and simple to use even for an occasional user.
  • Bubble Innovator shows the project progress through the stage gGate process very clearly which is great for upper management but it also guides project managers through that same process which means that things don't easily get omitted by accident/forgetfulness.
  • Bubble Innovator seems to be well received by upper management due to the simple way it presents the whole portfolio of products along with key metrics/data that is really helping to simplify portfolio decision making.
  • Bubble INNOVATOR is relatively new and so there is an ongoing list of development activity. Resource planning is an example where new functionality would be welcomed.
  • I am honestly not aware of any other weaknesses. Bubble INNOVATOR seems to be one of those systems that generally meets with great reviews from users and especially new users at all levels. I guess just the desire for it to do more and more.
It would be difficult to comment specifically as it would depend precisely what the prospective new company would like it to do. In the area of stage gate and portfolio decision making, it has been a revolution for my company based on the prior methods we used which relied upon spreadsheets and PowerPoint decks, and were very labor intensive. So clearly I believe that it is well suited to this area of use. I think Bubble Innovator seems to be a relatively low cost option too.
Read Richard Farrar's full review
Emma Winter | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Bubble Innovator, recommended as a tool to manage New Product Development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator is used as a tool to manage new product introduction and process change management across our organisation.
  • The Bubble team is outstanding at providing technical support, query response times are often within an hour and resolutions (depending on the level of complexity of the query) follow very quickly after this. They provide a professional, reliable service.
  • The software design is simple, intuitive and more accessible than many of the alternatives on the market. It does not require licenses, installations, internal servers, extensive training programs. It doesn't interface directly with 'business management' software which provides flexibility and development opportunities.
  • The Bubble team have a depth of knowledge for new product development processes and relevant industries, and provide much more than just the software. The teams are actively involved in process design beyond the software, and their recommendations have been invaluable when establishing a new stage-gate process across our organisation.
  • Development of custom functionality, and redefining 'standard' options for the software. As Bubble grows and their customer base increases there will be opportunity for this, at present development projects can be slow and expensive. However the standard software options are excellent, but as processes evolve within organisations the flexibility to evolve the software could be made simpler.
Bubble Innovator is perfect to manage a stage-gate decision making process without introducing difficult, cumbersome software, and that stands alone from bureaucratic business process management software. I cannot find any other software which delivers this at such a reasonable price and without layers of complexity.
Read Emma Winter's full review
Neville Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2014

At Last! A Project & Portfolio Tool with a difference!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator was initally developed and configured for use mainly within our R&D group 3 years ago. Very soon it became obvious that there were huge benefits to the whole organisation. By making our New Product Development pipeline visible to the whole organization it promotes cross functional alignemnt and focus on the NPD priorities. Innovator is now used across all business group/functions globally, and is seen as the single 'source of truth' for key NPD information. It has replaced a miriad of other unconnected tools and ad hoc reports. We use the Innovator Project Dashboard to manage the 'business' data for NPD projects, it also drives our Project Reviews and Reports, Stage Gate Reviews, Portfolio Metrics which are automatically rolled up by platform, business group etc. The project prioritzation and resource management functionality provides true cross functional visibility on resourcing capabilities and constraints.

Innovator provided us with one system to manage all our 'non technical' NPD project data including project status and risk reports, project financials to Stage Gate & Portfolio Analysis. Having one place to capture all the data has created huge efficiencies for project teams, project managers, portfolio directors and senior management, eliminating multiple other reporting mechanisms, share point sites etc.etc..
  • Innovator is easily configured around your exisiting processes and requires little or no training so you are up and running very quickly
  • Innovator focusses on the practical challenges that almost all companies face in managing Portfolios of New Product Development projects - a one stop shop for all project & portfolio data, real time reporting, scenario modelling to support portfolio decision making.
  • Users are attracted by the ease of use and visual format of the tool.
  • Our internal IT group love it -it's provided by the Bubble Group as Software as a Service (hosted by Amazon), this means vitually no internal IT support is required
  • User configurable screen views and reporting capability are in development - this will significantly help key users
  • User configurable Portfolio Views and charting
Innovator is suited to companies who want an intuitive, easy to configure system to manage their NPD or similar portfolios of projects. It's an easy and lightweight tool to get up and running and little or no IT burden. Innovator doesn't pretend to have specialist capabilities in detail project planning or portfolio optimization, It would however provide many companies with all the functionality they need to manage their NPD efforts.
Read Neville Turner's full review
Douglas Raymond | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 29, 2014

INNOVATOR is Bubble-icious

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator rolled out 3 months ago across our entire organization. It presently is addressing 2 major gaps for us. As a Project Management tool, it is enabling consistent reporting from our project managers, focusing on upward communication around project status, risk, timeline, and resource levels. As a Portfolio Management tool, management is able to look across the entire business to make prioritization decisions, with the project profile data to make those tradeoff decisions now at their fingertips.
  • The version of the tool presented to us on day 1 required some configuration to match our product development process. Bubble was very willing to partner with us, dig into the details of our procedures, and work towards a successful solution.
  • Bubble Engineers and Programmers have clearly spent countless hours working on the interface. The usability of this software is among the most intuitive I have worked with in a business environment.
  • Support from both Customer Service and Acct Managers has been great. Questions and reasonable requests are always handled in a timely manner.
  • Limited metric reports available at this time. Screen printing and general report printing interfaces could use some improvement. Very little customization is available to different stakeholders for reports important to their department.
  • The small text size and grey text color can be very difficult to read in meetings where projectors/large TVs are used. While it looks stylistically fantastic at my desk, it can be very challenging to view during presentations or peer reviews with stakeholders. Reference documents are often provided which defeats the purpose of having a web based tool to view live.
Bubble Innovator is very structured related to moving through the gate process, and much of its logic is based on this structure. While this is great to keep consistent our management and reporting of core projects, it can be difficult to log projects that are not classic R&D Design Control projects. For example, special management initiatives, supply chain projects, or Marketing and Sales initiatives. There are times when you want to track this to know where resource effort is going, and these can be difficult to capture.
Read Douglas Raymond's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2017

Bubble Innovator - Intuitive portfolio project management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator was implemented to provide a single source of truth that would support fact-based decision-making, consistency of project delivery and would be accessible to all who needed it. Now used across 4 departments within our business we use Bubble Innovator to provide a better understanding of potential projects and help strike a clearer balance between long and short-term innovation opportunities, enabling team members to work on more projects with greater efficiency, and at the same time, provide better visibility of the measurable benefits being delivered.
  • Simplistic, smart view of entire portfolio, with easy filtering for quick searches
  • Readily accessible one-page summaries for projects, detailing specific data relevant to our needs
  • Ability to rapidly run a variety of specific reports
  • Ability to export graphs / cut & paste graphs to presentations
  • Agile-stage-gate
  • Ability to run graphical reports
  • Quicker ability to assess financial metrics for improved management and forecasting

Great view of entire portfolio - allowing teams to operate a balanced portfolio. Ease of use. Quick access to one-page reports.

Resource model more restrictive - if looking to use >3 role levels.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2017

Bubble Innovator Overview

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator is used across the business but primarily by those cross functional teams that are all part of launching new products - supply chain, marketing, quality, R&D etc.
  • Gives us one point of truth for both the projects and reporting.
  • Allows accountability for team members.
  • Is very easy to use.
  • Parent child relationship between projects.
  • Dependencies between gates and timings.
Bubble Innovator is well suited wherever you need to have one point of truth/consistency where there are multiple inputs from multiple teams. Due to the accountability factor it means that the project has a shared responsibility as opposed to just with the project manager.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2015

Bubble Innovator is Awesome!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator has had a tremendous impact on our ability to clearly visualize our complex product portfolio and to manage the priorities so our resources are effectively deployed. Managing our resources and ensuring that our corporate strategies were being met was beginning to get unmanageable as we grew. Bubble Innovator fit very well within the stage-gate process that we were deploying. We are using it among multiple organizations throughout the world.
  • Bubble Innovator is a tremendous visualization tool. The entire organization can quickly see where projects are in the stage-gate process.
  • Bubble Innovator became a key part of our strategic process for new product revenue projections. Utilizing Bubble Innovator as a portfolio management tool allows us to quickly output new product revenue projections for our strategic planning process.
  • Bubble Innovator is highly flexible. We are able to adapt it to our particular needs at different sites. This adaptability also allows us to utilize information to support other business processes.
  • As the Bubble Innovator solution evolves, tighter tie-ins with other software solutions will be advantageous.
We have had tremendous improvements in our ability to drive new product revenues with a stage-gate process. Bubble Innovator has allowed us to automate this deployment which has driven our performance to a new level. This is a great product!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2015

Bubble Innovator - Simple straightforward portfolio management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bubble Innovator is being used across our organizations as a single "source of truth" for new product development, program/project descriptions, financial impact, status and stage gate milestone progress. It is further being adapted to be used for the same purpose for research programs and clinical studies.
The Bubble Innovator product solves the problem of multiple sources of truth floating through your organization regarding the status of any program/project at any point in time. It also reduces the multiple demands from different quarters of an "update" since you can point everyone to Bubble Innovator as that "single source of truth" for the new product development (NPD) pipeline.
  • The Bubble Innovator team is particularly good at listening and seeking to understand your specific requirements and needs to make sure the outcome of the product meets those needs.
  • The Bubble Innovator product is fast, efficient and available and accessible from anywhere.
  • The Bubble Innovator product gives you layered levels of logic associated with your programs so you can decide what rolls up with what or not as desired to suit the business needs.
  • Bubble Innovator is still working out the best logic to be used for collections of projects that are part of a program. It is not a project management software platform but must still manage/show dependencies appropriately.
  • Sometimes it is difficult to capture the right information for the right report. Note that a company's constantly changing needs for reports becomes Bubble Innovator's nightmare to keep abreast of. Bubble Innovator has introduced a custom report generator for their customers so you have more personal control over creating the reports you want.
Do you need a portfolio management solution that provides a single source of truth for all your project related information? Choose Bubble Innovator.
Do you have difficultly organizing cross functional alignment on the funded versus unfunded programs? Choose Bubble Innovator.
Do you have trouble communicating consistently with your markets the future availability of your NPD pipeline of products? Choose Bubble Innovator.
Does senior management constantly want updates on the status and progress of your programs for which you end up in a constant PowerPoint loop creating? Choose Bubble Innovator.
Do you need a project management solution to manage your projects? This is not Bubble Innovator.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2014

Bubble Innovator - The Strategic Tool that will change how your business is run!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I believe Bubble Innovator is an extremely valuable tool for our entire organization especially for management. This tool provides the ability to see the full consolidated portfolio as well as the specific details of each project. This tool also allows the organization to rank the strategic importance of each project and makes it very easy to generate graphs for presentations. Each cross functional team member can also contribute and document their own progress in each project as well.
  • This tool provides the ability to see the full consolidated portfolio as well as the specific details of each project.
  • This tool also allows the organization to rank the strategic importance of each project and makes it very easy to generate graphs for presentations.
  • Each cross functional team member can also contribute and document their own progress in each project as well.
Read this authenticated review

About Bubble PPM

Bubble PPM is a cloud-based Project and Portfolio Management (PPM) software solution from Bubble®. Founded in 1999, the company serves clients globally via offices in London, Cambridge, and Vancouver.

Its cloud-based solutions help customers improve the planning, governance, and delivery of Innovation, New Product Development, Engineering, IT, and other initiatives.

Their software supports Portfolio Planning, ongoing Project and Portfolio Management, and Resource management.

According to the vendor, the solution enables cross-functional teams to collaborate effectively on projects and provides a flexible platform for business leaders to consider investments, define priorities, and monitor overall progression. For project teams, it provides real-time views on project status and risk, streamlines reporting, facilitates the preparation for stage gate and other project reviews, and enables fact-based decision making.

Bubble PPM Features

Has featurePortfolio Dashboards (Fully configurable to plan / monitor investments)
Has featureReal-time Portfolio Analysis & Scenario Planning Tools
Has featureRoadmapping tools (e.g. Strategy / Service / Technology Roadmaps etc)
Has featureSupports Waterfall, Agile and hybrid project management processes
Has featureBusiness Case, Financial and Risk Management tools
Has featureProject Selection and Prioritisation tools (e.g. Balanced scorecards)
Has featureProject Process Governance and Management
Has featureFully configurable Metrics (e.g. 1-click Chart builder / Reporting tools)
Has featureResource, Task & Capacity Management Tools

Bubble PPM Screenshots

Bubble PPM Integrations

Supports API calls to extract data from platform using REST API calls, Supports import & exporting (e.g. MS Excel/PDF etc), Project, Portfolio and Application level document repository

Bubble PPM Competitors

Clarizen, Planisware, Sciforma, Changepoint, Sopheon Accolade, GenSight Enterprise Portfolio Management, Planview Enterprise One (formerly Planview Enterprise and Troux), Clarity, Planview PPM Pro (formerly Innotas)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Element 1: One-time fixed SaaS set-up fee One-time investment based on required configuration and deployment. Element 2: Monthly license fee Calculated on #users (per user type). Variable - According to required users/types.

Bubble PPM Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
25%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
75%

Bubble PPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Ticket reporting & resolution
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
On-site System Training

Bubble PPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: Supports Multi-Language