Microsoft Project Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
473 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 98)

Matthew Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

A Workhorse for Scheduling

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS Project to manage multiple subcontract jobs. We have many workers and resources which need to be managed and distributed properly across our management team and work sites. MS Project has helped us find holes and over-allocations of these things which in turn has made the company more efficient.
  • Extremely detailed in planning items.
  • Integrates with MS Planner.
  • Allows for multiple users to use and manager their jobs.
  • Properly manages resources.
  • Can be overwhelming to new users.
  • Can get lost in the details and miss the big planning picture.
  • Requires a lot of training.
Overall I would recommend this program to other colleagues. However, I would ask what their intentions are, what they need to accomplish. Sometimes all you need is MS Planner or Excel but other times you might need MS Project. You want to be careful you're not trying to kill a fly with a sledge hammer. But MS Project can definitely get the job done.
Read Matthew Smith's full review
Kristen Silvan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Best Scheduling Software... Easy to Use, Manage, & Implement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project is used daily at the company I work for. It is utilized for both our project schedules and our bid schedules. The program allows us to track the project progress, delays, issues, review times, and many other project details. The majority of the time, Microsoft Project is utilized by our project managers. Also, our quality control department and estimating department use the program occasionally.
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to update / change / manage
  • More templates available
  • Help section could be more descriptive (use photos)
Microsoft Project is very well suited for any size construction company. It is so easy to use and easy to manipulate, change, update. It is so much better than other scheduling software available. The Gantt chart is excellent and easy to read. Most people are familiar with this program, so it makes it easy to discuss and share throughout the project duration. An excellent tool for any project!
Read Kristen Silvan's full review
Christian Oquendo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Microsoft Project - Excellent Project Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Microsoft Project is being used by my company to keep track of our company's progress and current tasks. It resolves many issues, one in particular would be the useful time-prediction for current tasks. This software has helped keep my businesses organized and helped become more efficient in productivity and urgency.
  • Organizes tasks efficiently
  • Predicts length of time for task completion
  • Difficult for first-timers
  • High price compared to other software
Depending on the nature of the business, Microsoft Project can be used to accurately and efficiently track company data and progress. The many features included may seem enough for a no-brainer purchase, however, I don't recommend for those that are not familiar with similar software, as it can be complicated to use without the proper training/instruction.
Read Christian Oquendo's full review
Erica Weiner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Projects Can be a Project

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, at our company, Microsoft Projects is used during the estimating phase while
planning timeline and phasing of a project, and by Project Management when
needed to create and revise schedules and manpower to see where and when
resources will be used. The program allows us to plan accordingly and see where
along with our schedule, we have a hole or time to make up if issues present themselves.
  • Planning
  • Scheduling
  • Not easy to learn

Microsoft Projects is great for creating project schedules and tracking subcontractors, manpower and adjusting timelines based on issues or changes that come along throughout the lifetime of a project.

For what it’s used for it is a good product but the program can be difficult to learn and isn’t something you will pick up in a day. The cost is also expensive for a program that focuses on one specific area of a project.

Read Erica Weiner's full review
Aaron Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

Feature-rich Project Management Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project is being used at Duquesne Light to manage project resources and timelines across the entire enterprise. Project allows us to visualize and map out the critical path of our projects, identify over-allocation of resources, and adjust or project timelines as needed. It is a good tool and integrates well with the rest of the Microsoft Office suite.
  • Lots of templates.
  • Can be used offline since it's a desktop application.
  • It's an expensive license.
  • Doesn't work well if you open a newer file with an older version of Project.
Project is useful for medium and larger organizations where you can negotiate a better price for the licenses. It is also well suited for any computer-savvy users. It's user-friendly enough for project managers of any ability to use for their projects. It's incredibly helpful when you're doing complex projects that require integrated work plans where small projects feed into a larger one.
Read Aaron Baker's full review
Monika Dutt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Expensive in a good-way

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Project to schedule and manage our company's ongoing projects. Its builtin templates makes our work easier. The Gantt charts and project health tracker allow us to track and understand the project.

Our whole organization uses the same project management but in a different set of groups, depends on their departments and project groups. It allows us to understand the project and cause the collision of various projects.
Due to this, our teams can track their projects and follow the deadline. It has increased the project success.
It integrates with all other Microsoft tools, which helps us to save time and money.
  • Gantt chart tracker
  • It integrates with other Microsoft tools.
  • Project health tracking
  • Templates
  • Little expensive
  • Required depth learning
If you are a team leader and have to keep tracking all undergoing project, then this will be an excellent option for you. The project tracking option is efficient and useful. You can create an event calendar, budget report, and project health report all in one. The flow chart gives an in-depth analysis of all work.
Read Monika Dutt's full review
Jonathan Ayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Best bang for your buck

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft Project to plan and execute IT projects at the customer facility I work at. This keeps track of in-house projects that are done at the facility level and do not require higher-level planning. This allows me to keep track of everything associated with these projects and serves to meet customer needs.
  • Plan project tasks.
  • Execute project tasks.
  • Provides management tracking of project completion.
  • The clunky interface is occasionally hard to use.
  • Help articles are not always clear and concise.
  • Feature integration is lacking.
Overall, it is the best project management tool I have seen for the money (represents the best value). It comes with Office 2016/Office 365 so it allows me to plan and execute projects without having to purchase additional project management software. Additionally, it allows for management oversight of project and task completion.
Read Jonathan Ayers's full review
Henry Winchonlong | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Project Control with Microsoft Project

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Microsoft Project to manage customer projects. Microsoft Project is being used in several areas. It is used during the planning phase. Also, it is used during the project execution phase to prepare weekly status reports, to track the project activities. Normally, the project planner is responsible for updating the project activities.
  • Project Gantt View
  • Dependencies between activities
  • The project reports
  • The print preview functionality
Microsoft Project is used in the in software development projects and engineering projects. We have developed project templates in Microsoft Project to rapidly create project activities, and it allows us to plan the activities fast and reduce the time in this phase. Additionally, we frequently perform engineering projects and we have also developed project templates for these kinds of projects.
Read Henry Winchonlong's full review
Duane Da`Vein | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Microsoft Project is amazing!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to manage projects.
  • Resource allocation
  • Time tracking
  • Using it fully can be time intensive.
Microsoft Project is perfect for complicated projects with multiple resources since you can track costs as they incur. It is probably not the best for a single task since it may take longer setting up Project than the time it takes to complete the task.
Read Duane Da`Vein's full review
Jakub Wilk | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

MS Project old fashioned good practice

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We just use MS Project to create Gantt charts and I would say that's all what we use, I know that MS Project can do much more but in my scenario we use it only for Gantt and to exchange Gantt charts with other companies, this was the installed version on my computer.
  • Gantt charts.
  • Resource management.
  • Collaboration.
  • Integration with other software.
MS Project is very good for people who would like to plan project timelines with all dependencies, it is also good when you would like to exchange projects across other organizations because almost everybody has it and you just send a project file and the other person can open it and work.
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Microsoft Project makes PM's job easy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project (MSP) is used for all projects and programs associated with our company. It helps in project planning, managing, and tracking throughout the project life cycle. MSP is the most suitable project planning tool for all medium and large size organizations. MSP is the enterprise software that is part of Microsoft Office and can be easily integrated with other applications such as SharePoint, Jira and Skype. Any certified or practicing project manager know MSP application hence no time or money to be invested for training.
  • Microsoft Project is good at producing an effective project plan. We can update the task completion statuses and can pull the updates anytime.
  • Creating Gantt Charts through Microsoft Project is easy.
  • Microsoft Project may not be suitable for small organizations as the cost of the application is high.
  • Project progress tracking is not user friendly.
Microsoft Project is well-suited for medium and large organizations at the Programs and Projects level. It is the best project management tool for accommodating both waterfall and agile frameworks. Built-in templates, Gantt Charts, tracking, resource - schedule management are most important features widely used in many organizations. We can manage any type of complicated programs and projects with the help of Microsoft Project tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

The best project management solution hands down.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by both the department level, and also across the whole organization. It is not mandatory to use the MS Project for Project software needs, but it is the main one that is widely used since it is part of Office 365. It addresses the business problem of having a really good, industry-standard, project software solution, that also pretty much does everything you may need in project software package
  • One thing it has is good integration with other Microsoft Office products and tools. More than likely most environments will already be using MS products such as Word, Excel, and Powerpoint, so it makes it easier to integrate documents, files, etc. with Project.
  • It also offers many good tools for communications, which makes it beneficial for those that are using communication tools such as Outlook and Skype.
  • Could be too advanced for those that are new to Project Management software, or those that are just starting out in Project Management. Since MS Project has many tools/features built into the program this can be overwhelming to new users in how to do certain things, or where to find the tool for doing something
  • There is a cost to this software, and if buying standalone licenses it can be expensive. It usually doesn't come bundled with the standard Office 365 suite. This is technically considered an add-on, and if you are on a subscription for the software, it can be cheaper.
It is well suited for environments that are already using other Microsoft based programs, as it integrates well with these different programs. Most environments are going to be using main document editing and spreadsheet software such as Word and Excel, so it would help to integrate files, etc. from those programs into MS Project. It is less suited for environments that want Project Management software that is really easy to use and doesn't really require a lot of formal training
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

The Impressive Rise and Potential of MP

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project is a tool primarily used by product management and secondary users include marketing and pro services teams. The tool is intended to enhance project time and collaboration between cross-functional teams. The Gantt chart is used heavily to determine a projects’ critical path and key milestones associated with that path in order to keep a project on time and in the case of pro services especially, on schedule for cost forecasts.
  • Microsoft Product integrations, including sharing and reminder notifications.
  • Interactive Gantt chart.
  • More efficient, reliable project and DevOps integration.
  • Training resources for new users.
Microsoft Project is well suited for product, marketing, pro services, and engineering teams for mapping out project milestones in order to keep a project on time, on budget, and on schedule. Additionally, key stakeholders can have view rights in order to stay tuned on progress which may dictate their strategy. Sales teams are ideal review candidates along with an individual contributors’ manager. This tool is ideal for team meetings to report on overall progress and individual tasks. It encourages contributors to continue updating their respective sections.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Works well if you’re a PM, challenging for a business end user.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project is typically only used by those who are project managers. It is not as intuitive as some other tools out there, but once you get used to using it I think it is a very helpful tool. Across the organization we have a number of different PMO’s and I’m not sure they all use Project. Some use Excel, Confluence, Trello, Jira, etc. We use Project to track all of the tasks that need to occur by who, what sequence they need to occur in, progress, complete, and timelines.
  • Timelines.
  • Calculations.
  • Easier to learn all of the capabilities it can do.
  • % compete does not shade in Gantt unless you manually add that line style.
Great for tracking overall tasks, timeline, dependencies, etc. Using predecessors makes adjustments easy!

Not always a good tool for agile projects, it can be used but % complete is rarely correct.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

A good value for money software for any corporate

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project is widely used in the organization for managing and monitoring different projects. There are multiple departments who use this software, and as it is easy to use and understand for the general audience, its use has been growing. This is used for medium to long term planning of complex projects where more resource and cost allocation is required.
  • Microsoft Project has an easy user interface and easy to edit documents.
  • It provides good visuals to prepare Gantt charts and define critical paths.
  • More complex assignments are not much flexible.
  • It's not a very EPC friendly software.
Microsoft Project does a fairly good job for project planning of corporate projects where resource allocation and cost estimation is easy to perform. It is especially useful for six sigma/process improvement projects where short term planning and analysis are easy to perform. It's also suited for some complex projects like construction of refineries or power plants.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Great tool for project management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project is quite popular in my organization for defining the timeline and deliverables. This tool is really useful to manage the projects that involve cross functions and systems. It also enable us to track the status of the project and risks around the activities. It is used mostly by the department for various projects which has a huge engagement of resources and needs a detailed layout of projects. It usually helps us to understand resource allocation and defining the planning schedule. It also helps us to understand the risks associated with the project.
  • Resource allocation.
  • Project tracking.
  • Expensive license - Online it is available as free with Microsoft Office but the offline license for desktop use is too expensive.
  • The online version of Microsoft Project does not have Gantt charts and project tasks like the offline version does.
  • Resource allocation - Assign resources for project tasks and allocate the percentage of their involvement.
  • Track the project status - Enable people to track the progress of the tasks and risks associated with activities.
  • Visualization - Provide the flexibility to visualize the status of the project and risks associated with dashboards and help to present data in a useful manner to executives.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Increase your project efficiency using Microsoft Project

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First, let me tell you Microsoft Project isn't easy to use, you will need to know what you are doing. The truth is it's the tools are straightforward. It's the planning that's hard. Microsoft attempts to make things easy by providing templates, but I still have a challenge planning. The thing I love the most, however, is that it makes the rest of my business life easier and increases my efficiency. In case you may be wondering Microsoft Project is a tool used for project planning and project management, it allows you to visualize and document the workflow.

  • Agile integration also is known as Sprint.
  • Affords the user/planner/business greater efficiency and time management.
  • Not easy to learn even when using the templates.
Microsoft Project helps to develop schedules, identify tasks, assign resources, tracks progress, helps manage the financial aspects of the project, and analyze workloads. It empowers the user to transform disorganized ideas into an ordered project. Microsoft Project is best suited for Project Managers, people who plan project timelines, and its dependencies.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Project Management for advanced users or those willing to learn

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project is a great software tool for project planning and budgeting. It is used primarily by the Operations and IT Departments to work on project tasks to ensure that timelines and deadlines are met. It addresses the immediate need for project planning and coordinating to ensure projects are being completed.
  • Microsoft Project provides all the typical options you'd want to do in a project management app.
  • The Gantt chart bars are interactive; therefore, as you adjust these, the information inside the cells update simultaneously.
  • Microsoft Project can take a long time to learn due to all of its functionality and even longer to master.
  • The feature-rich application has different ways of doing the same thing, and it might get a bit tricky for some users.
Choosing to use Microsoft Project for your organization makes sense if you are familiar with the Microsoft Office Suite Apps. First, its recommended to have a certified Project Manager to drive the software or someone willing to put the time and effort to learn it thoroughly. Second, it helps if your team already uses Microsoft apps. If you have to manage lots of projects, it would be best to have a dedicated individual to update and maintain these for the organization, such as a Project Manager.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Great project management tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project is currently being used by project managers in our company. Microsoft Project is used to schedule and manage different projects within the company. The Gantt charts and trackers are useful for tracking projects. Built in templates are also useful for project management. Using Microsoft Project Server, files can be shared with everyone involved with the project.

  • Gantt chart tracker is very good at tracking projects.
  • Templates are very useful for different projects that managers are involved in.
  • Beginner users need some help to get started with Microsoft Project. It needs better documentation.
  • There's no real-time updating and Microsoft Project does not work well with multiple users at the same time.
It is great for tracking different type of projects and working alongside different Microsoft applications. If someone plans to run several projects, then this is a good resource. It utilizes everyone's skills and decreases wasted time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Microsoft Project Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Project within our development, IT, business operations and sales departments. Our development and IT departments use MS project extensively to plan new feature upgrades, issue resolutions, build-out projects and plan future projects. Our sales department primarily used MS project to plan to acquire new clients and sell additional features to our existing client base.
  • Task management is what MS project is made for and it has a vast array of templates for practically any industry.
  • Great and assigning tasks to departments, teams, and individuals.
  • Being able to track company resources and how they are being utilized.
  • MS Project has great integration into the entire MS corporate product line.
  • Then need to improve the UI to be more user-friendly for less technical users.
  • More free online resources so users can train and improve there MS Project skills.
  • Integration into more 3rd party software providers that are none MS.
MS Project is great from small to enterprise-level organizations and practically any industry since there is a huge array of templates out of the box. It can also be custom tailed to your exact industry-specific needs. MS Project is less appropriate for small projects where you don't need too much detail and just require to track the basics of a project.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Project works for us!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Project to track and manage projects across a small team with a lot of requests. My department currently uses this for planning and working with requests and prioritizing based on needs across the organization.
  • Graphs
  • Timelines
  • Crashes ocassionally
  • Some graphs get too busy
Microsoft Project is good for timelines and for taking base data and creating different kinds of graphs. It can be too much for small projects that don’t have to be picked apart on every level or stage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Microsoft Project

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Project to schedule our construction projects from beginning to end. It is critical in being able to give our clients a document with a visual representation of our plan.
  • Links tasks
  • Shows Gantt chart
  • Some of the logic can get messed up.
  • It isn't as intuitive as other Microsoft products.
Microsoft Project is an above average product at a competitive price.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Technical Solutions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is use across the organization for project planning. It creates a strategic project management plan to address business solution that accounts for people, process, and technology.
  • Project Planning
  • Scope planning
  • Technical solutions
  • N/A
Microsoft Project is well suited during the implementation phase of a new technology. It also helps with managing and monitoring the financial aspects of a new initiative. It helps to develop schedules, identify tasks that need to be completed for the project, assigns resources to tasks, track the progress, manage the project budget, and analyze workloads.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Great tool for Project/Task/Schedule Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, Microsoft Project is used by my organization. Microsoft Project is used in my department. The tool is fantastic in making project scheduling and allocating resource simple.
  • Ease of Use
  • Advanced Options
  • Could be made faster
  • Could included in office 365 package
If you are looking for a tool to help with project planning and you are familiar with Microsoft products, then this MS Project tool is the right fit for you. You could create a .pdf file if you would like to share it with the colleagues who don't have Project installed in their PC. The downside is that he/she can't modify without the tool installed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Easy scheduling

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a couple of project managers that use it for their projects which can all be linked. This is helpful when we allocate resources to make determinations on the workforce.
  • Simple Xxcel format makes edits easy
  • Not much training is required to start
  • Can be exported to many different formats
  • Some of the more complex options require training
  • Only useful if all people within a company use it
  • One minor error can throw off entire scheudle
It is well suited for construction especially for the breakdown of a 3-week look ahead schedule.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (97)
8.7
Resource Management (94)
8.5
Gantt Charts (94)
9.0
Scheduling (96)
8.8
Workflow Automation (72)
7.7
Team Collaboration (86)
7.5
Support for Agile Methodology (70)
7.3
Support for Waterfall Methodology (69)
7.8
Document Management (66)
7.9
Email integration (71)
7.8
Mobile Access (58)
7.2
Timesheet Tracking (63)
7.9
Change request and Case Management (54)
7.7
Budget and Expense Management (74)
8.2
Quotes/estimates (45)
8.1
Invoicing (37)
7.5
Project & financial reporting (65)
8.4
Integration with accounting software (42)
8.1

About Microsoft Project

Microsoft Project is a project management software. It provides core project management and planning functionality, including agile workflow tools like Gantt charts. The software provides prebuilt workflow and report templates for rapid deployment. Project also enables resource management and planning and integrates with BI tools and other 3rd party programs. It can be deployed in the cloud or on-premise.
Categories:  Project Management

Microsoft Project Integrations

Microsoft Project Competitors

Microsoft Project Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No