Dell EMC Unity Reviews

21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 19, 2020
Rakesh Lohar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dell EMC Unity is used across the entire organization. It is used as a dedicated SAN as well as a shared customer environment SAN. It is used for hosting applications from basic web server all the way through large database applications.
  • Dell EMC Unity once stood up is reliable and performs to expectations.
  • Dell EMC Unity has improved on the end user management experience over their older product suites
  • Difficult to configure and set up out of the box compared to newer solutions in the market
Has caused us a need to look elsewhere for a better solution for our business
Dell EMC Unity, in my honest opinion, is basically an all-flash VNX with a better interface. There is ZERO innovation coming out of EMC. If you want a company that's going to give you good support and be proud of their product instead of their profit margin, I strongly urge you to look elsewhere as there are better and more innovative products in the marketplace.
Read Rakesh Lohar's full review
August 27, 2020
Roni Peterson Alvarenga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dell EMC Unity300 for the entire organization. We use it within our VMware cluster and also for file storage and engineering. There is also an area for editing our institutional TV. As it provides a hybrid environment, we can take advantage of the available block and NAS functionality. We acquired it because of its auto-tiering options, cost-effectiveness, and great support from Dell.
  • Auto-tiering
  • Provisioning LUNs
  • Management reports
  • Integration with VMWare
  • LUNs with greater storage capacity
  • NAS with greater storage capacity
  • More user-friendly provisioning for end users
Dell EMC Unity is a hybrid solution. That is, it is indicated for environments that do not need specific and customized solutions. For general use, it guarantees an excellent performance, with the possibility of delivering 60TB NAS to end-users. However, if the environment is critical, there are solutions, from Dell itself, that are more appropriate. For example, do not try to use it as database storage, it will not have acceptable performance.
Not only support for Unity, but for any Dell product, whether for companies or for the end consumer. Support is agile, helpful, and always focused on solving the problem. To date, there has been no problem that Dell's support has failed to resolve and help us with.
Read Roni Peterson Alvarenga's full review
February 19, 2020
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization was using our Dell EMC Unity in production up until a few months ago. It is now used for our proof of concept and test environments. It was used for block storage only, serving VMware environments. Unity is a good hybrid block storage array with a mix of both flash and, HDD and slow disk providing auto-tiering.
  • Tiering.
  • Integration with vCenter.
  • Legacy tech.
  • Not as dynamic as other products.
The Dell EMC Unity is well suited to general usage VM storage or NAS usage if required. We found that using it both for file and block had a performance impact on our VMs. It is not for fast access servers, such as Oracle DBs, etc.
Dell EMC's support for the Unity array is normally quite good. However, when there are issues with the reporting and statistics, they often are not responsive.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
February 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dell EMC Unity 600F and 500F for the whole organization. 600F is used for the production environment and 500F is used in the DR environment. These storage arrays are mainly used primarily for storage purposes.
  • Compression
  • Deduplication
  • Should be lighter. A smaller footprint would be better.
  • More integrated features.
It could help to add more detail on the networking side. Better integration with RecoveryPoint would be helpful. Support has a lot more access and visibility to things that are happening. If we have more visibility it would help for troubleshooting purposes and allow faster resolutions to issues.
Support for Dell EMC Unity is great. Only the upgrade support takes a bit longer. If the upgrading support were to be faster it would be 10 out of 10.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dell EMC Unity is being used by a division of the organization. The EMC Unity I monitor and maintain is at two of the facilities within that division. EMC Unity is used by all departments. The EMC Unity is the SAN where the departmental data is stored and accessed. Data availability, reliability, and redundancy are critical to our business. Dell Unity delivers.
  • Flexibility
  • Reliability
  • Alerting: receiving an alert when an issue occurs. That is good to know. However, if the alert is cleared, or somehow no longer in alarm, no email is received. At times I will receive the email alert on weekends, not knowing if the issue is resolved or not until Monday when I can access the unit. I have learned in most instances, the alert is a false alarm, which could be a problem.
  • The alerting itself is sometimes not clear. For example, it tells me the link is down, we reset the connection, the link is still down, a tech was dispatched, he troubleshot, and finally the alarm cleared. This incident took almost a week. It went back into alarm after he left, then suddenly it cleared on its own.
Dell EMC Unity is best suited for small to mid-size organizations. The facility has up to 100 end-users and 5 TB of space. In 4 years time, there is still some room to grow. Overall, Dell EMC Unity did what it was designed to do. A large organization may want to consider the Dell EMC as part of the HA solution, but maybe not production.
I am hard-pressed to give Dell EMC unity support a 10. Just the oddities with working with the support, and the last incident still fresh in my mind. Why did it take so long to send a tech on-site? This was after remote support was unable to resolve? Honestly, the on-site tech did not do much outside of suggesting we replace the cable for the connecting link. The link ultimately reset on his own. We never fully received an explanation.
Read this authenticated review
January 11, 2019
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dell EMC Unity is our primary storage system. It is used by the whole enterprise and managed by the IT department. The storage system hosts virtual servers disks, oracle virtual disks, databases and disk mapping to traditional physical servers. The Dell EMC Unity can be attached through fiber links. It is easily configured and managed through a straightforward graphical interface.
  • Very reliable arrays with a notification system when a disk fails
  • Simple disk provisioning and mapping
  • Easy to upgrade the firmware
  • Fast access with a relatively cheap storage combination of flash and SATA drives
  • integrates with Vmware vcenter
  • The NAS part is not capable of auto-fail to the secondary node.
  • Monitoring Dashboard has very limited options
  • custom reporting capabilities are not possible
The UNITY storage system is perfect for medium-size enterprises. The auto-tiering feature can boost performance for commonly used apps while moving less utilized apps disks to cheaper storage arrays. This said, UNITY suits best an enterprise with a mix of heavily used and rarely used applications. On the other hand, enterprises with applications requiring heavy access are recommended to get the more expensive all-flash storage systems.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
January 17, 2019
Kevin Blackburn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dell EMC Unity exclusively for block storage. We have ESXi, Windows, Linux, and AIX hosts attached to this SAN.
  • Simple management interface
  • Performance has been very good. No issues with latency.
  • Management is too simple. It would be nice if there was a mode for more advanced users. This is Unity's biggest weakness in my opinion. For an engineer that has been managing enterprise storage for 10+ years, I feel like the Unity is a step backward. While it is super simple for newer engineers, there are configuration options that I wish were available to me as a more experienced user.
  • VMware integrations are somewhat clunky and operations are time-consuming.
Functionally it is perfect for us and what we are using it for. I just wish it had a more advanced and less simplistic interface.
Read Kevin Blackburn's full review
January 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dell EMC Unity is used across the entire organization. It is used as a dedicated SAN as well as a shared customer environment SAN. It is used for hosting applications from basic web server all the way through large database applications.
  • Dell EMC Unity has improved on the end user management experience over their older product suites.
  • Dell EMC Unity once stood up is reliable and performs to expectations.
  • Dell EMC Unity allows for small entry into the the product suite and can grow based on needs.
  • Difficult to configure and set up out of the box compared to newer solutions in the market.
  • Software and firmware updates are complicated compared to many other new storage players in the market.
  • Support with Dell EMC is sometimes very difficult to get an experienced support professional to assist you with certain less often seen issues.
Dell EMC Unity, in my honest opinion, is basically an all-flash VNX with a better interface. There is ZERO innovation coming out of EMC. If you want a company that's going to give you good support and be proud of their product instead of their profit margin, I strongly urge you to look elsewhere as there are better and more innovative products in the marketplace.
Read this authenticated review
January 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Dell EMC Unity device currently in use on campus is used by the entirety of our organization. The primary use case of the device is for CIFS based file shares, which are broke up into several named CIF servers, down to the department level. The use of the Dell EMC Unity allows for centralized storage and retention of the organization's intellectual property.
  • The Dell EMC Unity has great Active Directory integration, which allows for NTFS based permissions as needed on a device or file share level.
  • The Dell EMC Unity has great capabilities for data replication to another Dell EMC Unity devices.
  • The Dell EMC Unity has great integration for NDMP based backups.
  • I would like for the Dell EMC Unity to have an easier path to navigation for creating and adjusting Windows-based file share permissions.
Great support, easy to use, and does exactly as it was promised. Support actively reaches out to upgrade the microcode of the devices if I have not been keeping the device up to date. The Unity works fantastic for our situation. The Unity also has some development deployments supported by allowing for Iscsi connections across the multiple types of adapters the kit was configured with.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (4)
8.0
Flash Array Integration (4)
8.8
Data Compression (3)
5.7
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (4)
8.2
Simplicity (4)
9.0
Power Savings (4)
7.8

What is Dell EMC Unity?

Unity from Dell EMC is a family of all-flash and hybrid flash storage platforms emphasizing value and cost efficiency.

Dell EMC Unity Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No