TrustRadius
IBM acquired Coremetrics in 2010, and has since re-branded the platform to the IBM Digital Marketing Optimization Solution. This cloud-based solution includes IBM Digital Analytics, the core analytical product, as well as several add-on modules, including Benchmark, Product Recommendations, Lifecycle, Multisite, and more. IBM has integrated the Digital Marketing Optimization platform with other solutions, like WebSphere Commerce and Portal for ecommerce, IBM Campaign and Interact (acquired from Unica in 2010) for cross-channel campaign management, IBM Tealeaf (acquired in 2012) for customer experience management, and much more. IBM continues to integrate the Digital Marketing Optimization platform into many other solutions as well, from business intelligence tools, to social media analytics, and more. IBM Digital Marketing Optimization primarily competes with other enterprise-level digital analytics solutions like Adobe Omniture, Google Analytics, WebTrends, and more.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/NA/03/U1KIM97ZN1EV.pngFrom Coremetrics to IBM Digital AnalyticsWe've recently implemented IBM analytics for the B2B portion of our business. Our marketing dept primarily uses it to track incoming traffic and measure ROI of conversion rates and engagement goals. IBM analytics allowed us to build our marketing strategy to get a better return on our SEM budget which is crucial in order to get an increased budget.,Simplified exporting of reports and specific ranges of data Automated reports are easy enough to set up UI is simple and easy to use,The speed of the UIX can be improved upon greatly, at times it is laggy. The more tabs that are open, the slower the tool becomes. Hard tagging is not full of features when compared to other solutions.,6,Heavy amount of time for training and setting up Increased optimizations of the conversion funnel Costlier than other similar web analytical solutions,Kissmetrics and Google Analytics,Kissmetrics, Google Analytics, MetricStreamIBM is deadWe use IBM Digital Analytics to track website activity through element tags, conversion events, marketing programs, etc. We analyze the metrics and provide strategy accordingly such as areas for improvement for the site and opportunities for increased engagement. It is used by our strategy and development departments and finding are presented internally to the rest of the company and to the client.,Ability to nicely organize and determine the hierarchy of data Ability to hardcode tags throughout your site for specific tracking Dashboard provides opportunity to display metrics in various types of charts and graphs,The new UI is slow, buggy, incomplete, is not intuitive, and has limited support or explanation. The demo videos for the new UI showcase features that are not even available in the new UI and support said those features may never be available so they are not sure either why they are shown in the demo videos. Tag management is extremely manual leaving a lot of room for human error. Support across the board for the legacy UI and new UI are not very helpful. They typically do not take the time to understand the root of your problem and commonly default to the response "that feature is not available". For example, you cannot currently delete reports in the new UI even though there is a delete button available. Support says the feature is not available, so if you want anything deleted you have to submit a list to support and they will delete it for you. This is extremely frustrating when you are creating "test" reports in the new UI and then you have no option to delete them when done.,2,We spend too much time trying to work around bugs on the new UI. We spend too much time trying to figure out how to make certain segments work because support and the knowledge center are lackluster. Our sales rep is very unresponsive and leaves us searching for a lot of answers on our own, including what other products we may benefit from that IBM offers.,Google Analytics Premium, Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager,Tableau Desktop, Google Analytics, Adobe Illustrator CC, Slack, Evernote, SEO PowerSuiteDisappointedIt is currently used by the marketing strategy department. We have been using Digital Analytics along with other reporting tools to drive business decisions.,It's relatively easy to export and schedule reports. The new UI has a simple and clean design.,Currently, the new UI is extremely buggy for a beta release with simple features like deleting reports or renaming workspaces being absent. The transition from old to new has been rough especially with an absence of support at times. Date sorting is also frustrating when creating custom reports.,1,It's been our main analytics tool so it has a positive impact by default.,IBM Digital Analytics: Overall product suite, digital ecosystem and marketing priorities should guide your choiceOur clients have traditionally selected IBM Digital Analytics over competitive platforms when they need a robust, enterprise system which can be 1) readily integrated with and provide cost benefits due to chosen CMS (typically IBM WebShere), 2) require reliable, robust data security and data ownership due to heavy regulatory concerns or 3) provide a uniform deployment allowing for the ability to opt into industry/vertical benchmarks.,Uniform deployments provide for the ability to opt-in to relatively robust benchmarks. Technical support teams allow both clients and agencies access to technical subject matter experts to ensure best-in-class implementations. Cost structure is often quite favorable, if a company has chosen other products within the IBM family. Current and long term integrations with IBM products (including Unica, Tealeaf, etc.) show promise and will continually increase the value of IBM Digital Analytics,Uniformity of deployment comes at a price, namely flexibility. IBM Digital Analytics is a better choice who are focused exclusively on e-commerce, heavily regulated industries, or simply interested in precision marketing and CRM. For those companies which prioritize style, form, and flexibility over precision (aka Art over Science), other solutions may be more effective. Competitors are integrating their systems more rapidly than IBM, which is still very siloed. It can be difficult to find professionals with technical expertise to implement and support IBM Digital Analytics. The user base from which to draw is significantly smaller. IBM technical training can be quite elusive to secure, unless you are already committed to the product and have a service contract in place, unlike competitors where technical training is readily available with registration open to all.,6,Overall, the positive impact has typically been on improving the reliability of data driven decisions to improve path to conversion.,Webtrends Analytics,Adobe Analytics,Google Analytics,3,5IBM Digital Analytics ReviewWe are a reseller of IBM DA where we have many clients engaged with several levels of the IBM product suite. The data is used across many departments for gauging marketing and site design performance. Many of our clients use this data to forecast visitors to their site and their potential actions. We use the Explore tool frequently to setup more in depth reports using custom variables passed in the tags, to build out and answer many of the tougher questions. We also have several clients that take advantage of the LiveMail tool to target and remarket to consumers based on interests or actions (abandoned cart campaigns for example).,IBM Digital Analytics is a strong offering for retail eCommerce clients, based on the out-of-the-box metrics available around product views, items added and abandoned, as well as the ability to remarke to the individual user based on that information. Fairly straight forward implementation compared to the other major tools Visitor stitching - I feel the IBM Live Profile is very accurate at creating a full picture of an individual user and provides opportunities to create better messages to them. Having IBM Support as a an immediate resource to clarify or troubleshoot any of the system features has been very beneficial as well,The user interface is in Flash, which can be very frustrating and slow at times. Apparently, this is to be transitioned in a future release. Can only segment the last 93 days of data. Any historical segmentation beyond the 93 days must be run in Explore (which is credit based, and has its own limitations with the number of credits per month, based on the initial contract with IBM). Reports can only display 93 days of data at a given time for custom date ranges. There are pre-programmed date ranges setup with IBM during implementation (last week, last month, last quarter etc.), but are not flexible enough to answer more specific questions. Certain reports cannot have segments applied, making answering some simple questions a bit more tricky. For example, I can create a segment around mobile devices and apply it to the marketing channels report, but I can't create a marketing channel segment and apply it to the mobile reports. Built in API calls allows for nice report design and automation.,8,Increased employee efficiency by utilizing API calls for reporting Lifetime value metrics have helped identify a client's strongest customers and the ability to market to those individuals more likely to convert, for a stronger ROI Identify geographic and technological (mobile etc.) opportunities to expand the client's business,,7
Unspecified
IBM Digital Analytics
47 Ratings
Score 5.5 out of 101
TRScore

IBM Digital Analytics Reviews

IBM Digital Analytics
47 Ratings
Score 5.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 47 vetted IBM Digital Analytics reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-22 of 22)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 22, 2018

Review: "From Coremetrics to IBM Digital Analytics"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've recently implemented IBM analytics for the B2B portion of our business. Our marketing dept primarily uses it to track incoming traffic and measure ROI of conversion rates and engagement goals. IBM analytics allowed us to build our marketing strategy to get a better return on our SEM budget which is crucial in order to get an increased budget.
  • Simplified exporting of reports and specific ranges of data
  • Automated reports are easy enough to set up
  • UI is simple and easy to use
  • The speed of the UIX can be improved upon greatly, at times it is laggy.
  • The more tabs that are open, the slower the tool becomes.
  • Hard tagging is not full of features when compared to other solutions.
IBM analytics has continued to improve upon the days of being the original core metrics. After using the updated version for quite some time, it has been great at providing the needed analytics to measure ROI and goal performance for our quarterly KPI's. It has resulted in a great increase in web engagements although we are a midsize company, smaller outfits may not need such an expensive option.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 07, 2018

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "IBM is dead"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Digital Analytics to track website activity through element tags, conversion events, marketing programs, etc. We analyze the metrics and provide strategy accordingly such as areas for improvement for the site and opportunities for increased engagement. It is used by our strategy and development departments and finding are presented internally to the rest of the company and to the client.
  • Ability to nicely organize and determine the hierarchy of data
  • Ability to hardcode tags throughout your site for specific tracking
  • Dashboard provides opportunity to display metrics in various types of charts and graphs
  • The new UI is slow, buggy, incomplete, is not intuitive, and has limited support or explanation.
  • The demo videos for the new UI showcase features that are not even available in the new UI and support said those features may never be available so they are not sure either why they are shown in the demo videos.
  • Tag management is extremely manual leaving a lot of room for human error.
  • Support across the board for the legacy UI and new UI are not very helpful. They typically do not take the time to understand the root of your problem and commonly default to the response "that feature is not available". For example, you cannot currently delete reports in the new UI even though there is a delete button available. Support says the feature is not available, so if you want anything deleted you have to submit a list to support and they will delete it for you. This is extremely frustrating when you are creating "test" reports in the new UI and then you have no option to delete them when done.
I'd rather use Google Analytics. If my team had the choice, we would use Google Analytics instead. Can't think of anything beneficial to keep us on IBM. The legacy UI is old and no longer supported by the support team, and the new UI is too buggy to depend on.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 06, 2018

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Disappointed"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently used by the marketing strategy department. We have been using Digital Analytics along with other reporting tools to drive business decisions.
  • It's relatively easy to export and schedule reports.
  • The new UI has a simple and clean design.
  • Currently, the new UI is extremely buggy for a beta release with simple features like deleting reports or renaming workspaces being absent.
  • The transition from old to new has been rough especially with an absence of support at times.
  • Date sorting is also frustrating when creating custom reports.
It's tough to recommend IBM Digital Analytics in its current state over another tool like Google Analytics due to its incomplete and buggy nature.
Read this authenticated review
Stewart Pratt profile photo
February 04, 2015

Review: "IBM Digital Analytics: Overall product suite, digital ecosystem and marketing priorities should guide your choice"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our clients have traditionally selected IBM Digital Analytics over competitive platforms when they need a robust, enterprise system which can be 1) readily integrated with and provide cost benefits due to chosen CMS (typically IBM WebShere), 2) require reliable, robust data security and data ownership due to heavy regulatory concerns or 3) provide a uniform deployment allowing for the ability to opt into industry/vertical benchmarks.
  • Uniform deployments provide for the ability to opt-in to relatively robust benchmarks.
  • Technical support teams allow both clients and agencies access to technical subject matter experts to ensure best-in-class implementations.
  • Cost structure is often quite favorable, if a company has chosen other products within the IBM family.
  • Current and long term integrations with IBM products (including Unica, Tealeaf, etc.) show promise and will continually increase the value of IBM Digital Analytics
  • Uniformity of deployment comes at a price, namely flexibility.
  • IBM Digital Analytics is a better choice who are focused exclusively on e-commerce, heavily regulated industries, or simply interested in precision marketing and CRM. For those companies which prioritize style, form, and flexibility over precision (aka Art over Science), other solutions may be more effective.
  • Competitors are integrating their systems more rapidly than IBM, which is still very siloed.
  • It can be difficult to find professionals with technical expertise to implement and support IBM Digital Analytics. The user base from which to draw is significantly smaller.
  • IBM technical training can be quite elusive to secure, unless you are already committed to the product and have a service contract in place, unlike competitors where technical training is readily available with registration open to all.
It is best suited for clients/companies which are in 1) highly regulated industries, 2) industries with a high user base of IBM Digital Analytics allowing for opt-in to benchmarks, or 3) where other IBM products have been selected which can be used to secure pricing advantages for selecting IBM Digital Analytics.
Read Stewart Pratt's full review
John Runyon profile photo
May 22, 2014

"IBM Digital Analytics Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a reseller of IBM DA where we have many clients engaged with several levels of the IBM product suite. The data is used across many departments for gauging marketing and site design performance. Many of our clients use this data to forecast visitors to their site and their potential actions. We use the Explore tool frequently to setup more in depth reports using custom variables passed in the tags, to build out and answer many of the tougher questions. We also have several clients that take advantage of the LiveMail tool to target and remarket to consumers based on interests or actions (abandoned cart campaigns for example).
  • IBM Digital Analytics is a strong offering for retail eCommerce clients, based on the out-of-the-box metrics available around product views, items added and abandoned, as well as the ability to remarke to the individual user based on that information.
  • Fairly straight forward implementation compared to the other major tools
  • Visitor stitching - I feel the IBM Live Profile is very accurate at creating a full picture of an individual user and provides opportunities to create better messages to them.
  • Having IBM Support as a an immediate resource to clarify or troubleshoot any of the system features has been very beneficial as well
  • The user interface is in Flash, which can be very frustrating and slow at times. Apparently, this is to be transitioned in a future release.
  • Can only segment the last 93 days of data. Any historical segmentation beyond the 93 days must be run in Explore (which is credit based, and has its own limitations with the number of credits per month, based on the initial contract with IBM).
  • Reports can only display 93 days of data at a given time for custom date ranges. There are pre-programmed date ranges setup with IBM during implementation (last week, last month, last quarter etc.), but are not flexible enough to answer more specific questions.
  • Certain reports cannot have segments applied, making answering some simple questions a bit more tricky. For example, I can create a segment around mobile devices and apply it to the marketing channels report, but I can't create a marketing channel segment and apply it to the mobile reports.
  • Built in API calls allows for nice report design and automation.
IBM Digital Analytics is very strong from a retail eCommerce standpoint. It is an enterprise level tool, so I would not recommend this for smaller business' with smaller budgets. In the selection process, I would recommend reviewing what business questions your company really wants to answer from an analytics offering, and ensure the investment is worthwhile. IBM Digital Analytics data is leveraged by other tools in the product suite (like LiveMail and Digital Recommendations (formerly Intelligent Offer)), to get more personalized messages and product recommendations to the consumer, if you have a contract with IBM for those services. I would also highly recommend that any end users receive in-depth training on how to use the tool and set up reports, as the interface can take some getting used to.
Read John Runyon's full review
Seth Poplaski profile photo
May 21, 2014

"A Review of IBM Digital Analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our organization is a reseller of IBM Digital Analytics. It is deployed across all of our client's websites. As part of our digital marketing agency services, IBM Digital Analytics is used to analyze and optimize our client's marketing initiatives. We leverage visitor behavior data from the tool to implement remarketing programs such as abandoned browse and abandoned cart. We also leverage IBM Recommendations to power intelligent, wisdom of the crowd, product recommendations on our client's websites.
  • IBM Digital Analytics is a very powerful tool for retail brands offering many out of the box product and category performance reports. Many features an online retailer would consider standard such as product or shopping cart abandonment are included in this tool but require enhanced or custom tagging workarounds in other tools like Google Analytics.
  • The Marketing Attribution reports are great, allowing us to see different attribution logic such as same session, 30 day last click, 30 day average click and others in one report. This allows us to see which channels act as acquisition channels and which are closer to the conversion. These reports have been improved with recent releases adding visitor journey and channel venn reports.
  • The Benchmark module with IBM Digital Analytics is very beneficial to us, allowing us to see how our sites are performing across a number of different metrics compared to others in our particular vertical or in US retail as a whole. It is also a great way to see trends in the industry.
  • The user interface is dated and flash based which makes it very difficult to use on mobile. The visualizations and graphs are nice but hopefully they will move away from flash soon.
  • The custom reporting module, Explore, is powerful and the only place to entirely customize display columns and metrics but it is limited to a certain number of credits each month. Each month of data included in a report uses 1 report credit.
  • Inside the Digital Analytics interface you are limited in the number of one time and persistent segments you can create. One time segments must be within the last 93 days and the date range cannot exceed 35 days. Depending on the reporting request that comes up you may run into this limitation.
IBM Digital Analytics is well suited to large retail clients but there may be other more cost effective options for analyzing smaller content driven sites. Ask about the data retention policy and also about the Digital Data feeds if you will be interested in storing IBM data in your own data warehouse.
Read Seth Poplaski's full review
Gareth Beer profile photo
May 15, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Digital Analytics at the heart of your business"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Digital Analytics is primarily used by our eCommerce team to analyze the performance of our eCommerce sites. We use DA to report on basic performance KPI's right through to advance consumer and channel attribution reports. DA feeds into our overall "data pot" and the quantitative and qualitative data that is produced is circulated throughout the business.
  • Channel attribution - for any business ROI is of paramount importance, but what we really want to know is how best to attribute the ROI. DA allows us to accurately attribute the ROI on a granular level. This then allows us to work closely with our digital marketing agencies to drive greater performance.
  • Keyword analysis - One of our primary marketing channels is PPC. DA allows us to delve down into the performance of our PPC at keyword level which again helps validate our marketing strategy.
  • Insights - Insights is a useful tool that allows any user to quickly understand what key areas (marketing / product / page) are working well or more importantly not so well. The insight data is backed up with some rationale behind the reason which can be quickly actioned by the relevant team.
  • The weekly Action Ready Reports are very useful in terms of KPI data. The reports are aesthetically pleasing and help facilitate our weekly eCommerce team meetings as most key areas are covered in this report.
  • Custom reports are often too slow when running. Default data reports run quickly but any report that is done using a custom date range is too slow. G.A doesn't have the same problems
  • Dashboards need to be more flexible. I'd like to make more use of the dashboards but they are quite restrictive in the number of options that can be included. All relevant data widgets should be incorporated into D.A. G.A allows custom dashboards to a much greater level than D.A
  • Segments - are a very useful tool which allows you to mine further in your data. However, they are too restrictive. Persistent segments can only be run for 93 days and one time segments can only be ran for 35 days. Both options limit you from getting a real accurate picture over time of your segments. Why can’t this be opened up to 365 days?
If the organization is looking for a basic analytics tool, then I would recommend GA. If the organization is considering making data the heart of their business then I would recommend DA because it can be that tool which helps drive important decisions through the power of the outputs it can provide. As DA is part of the EMM suite the options of enriching analytical data alongside product recommendations and onsite personalization is a very powerful tool which should also be considered.
Read Gareth Beer's full review
J. G. Emile Daigle profile photo
June 30, 2014

Review: "IBM Digital Analytics, harness the Core of your Metrics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultancy, we use a wide variety of web analytics products. We started working with IBM Digital Analytics when we developed a customer education portal for a large consumer electronics manufacturer, when the product was still Coremetrics. The client had just acquired a license and we conducted a full implementation. After that introduction, Coremetrics became one of our regular offerings.
  • Great separation and aggregation for multinational sites
  • Helpful dashboard composition
  • Strong implementation documentation
  • As of the last time I implemented it, the only implementation testing tools were for a single browser, making client-side scripted analytics hard to test cross-browser
  • The dashboards were a little over the top, UI wise.
What's your budget? Will you have someone on staff to monitor the dashboard to make use of the business intelligence this product will give you? Will you have someone on staff that can update your metrics implementation and reporting as your site evolves? This is an excellent product for a company ready to nurture their online key performance indicators as they evolve.
Read J. G. Emile Daigle's full review
Korey Hart profile photo
May 23, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics: "DA review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
IBM Digital Analytics has played a huge part in our organization each and every day. We are a re-seller of IBM Digital Analytics. Our analytics team works with our clients to provide reports, insights, and recommendations on how our cleint's websites are doing and how they can continue to optimize moving forward. IBM Digital Analytics for the most part is being used only within our IMS department (interactive marketing services). Our search, email, merchandising and analytics teams all use this product. However, the analytics team spends majority of the time on Digital Analytics. Providing reports and analysis both internally and to our clients. IBM Digital Analytics helps us address problems like, where on the site are customers dropping off...how can we improve those pages...how can we improve the check out process to drive more orders/sales. These are just a few of the problems that Digital Analytics allows us to address.
  • Digital Analytics does a great job of providing a wide range of reports that allows you to address many problems that your clients might confront.
  • DA allows great flexibility in reports.
  • DA allows users to segment and filter to look at certain visitor groups. This allows companies to look at customers at a more granular level.
  • DA could continue to improve on the UI to make it easier for people outside of the Analytics department to use and interact with.
  • Continue to improve the amount of real time information that is available.
  • Improve the UI for the benchmark tool. Make it easier to look at and easier to use.
One great thing to ask when wondering if you need IBM Digital Analytics or not, is to ask what stage in the business life cycle is your company. If you are medium/big company I definitely recommend IBM Digital Analytics.
Read Korey Hart's full review
Alice Watson profile photo
May 16, 2014

Review: "IBM Digital Analytics, an easy win for online retailers."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently work for a retail consulting organization with many clients that use Coremetrics. Currently we use their data to integrate into our own solution as well as for ad-hoc analyses around onsite search and navigation to products.
  • I think it's great for retail, very easy to understand how much and where your products are being viewed,added and sold from.
  • Provides streamlined overview of website performance with the top line reports and realtime dashboards
  • UI interface is clean and easy to use.
  • Should add more dimensions and or groups in Coremetrics explore reports as the 3 dimension limit is too small
  • Content section of website could be better structured for non-retail clients.
  • Help clients better understand the use of category hierarchies.
  • Join page view to product views in merchandising report.
If you are a retail client, you can't beat IBM Digital Analytics.
Read Alice Watson's full review
Jim Moult profile photo
May 15, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Think analysts, not their tools."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our primary analytics package for ECommerce reporting and analysis. Using it, we automated a large suite of regular reports for site-wide, device-type, geographic and marketing segments, including year-over-year comparisons, trends, and funnels, using explore reports and Microsoft Office automation (VBA in Outlook, Access and Excel). Use Analytics, Explore and Exports for a variety of ad hoc analyses, greatly enriched because of a sophisticated tagging strategy.
  • Mini-exports using Explore reports provide 10 metrics for 10 segments each. These enable easier automation than Adobe Digital Analytics (aka Omniture or SiteCatalyst) and Google Analytics.
  • Changing report options (e.g., filters, segments, metrics) in Digital Analytics, along with saving views, scheduling emails, and share rights is quite easy for business users, who can self-service very easily.
  • Marketing Channel manager is especially easy to use and, if supported by an intelligent MMC (Marketing Management Center) query string parameter policy, Marketing customers can be largely self-service for basic marketing reports.
  • Wish we could export and import segment and report definitions as xml files (or something equivalent). The broadcast functionality is inadequate and will waste report credits unless one is very careful.
  • Wish there were more options for setting default behaviors. For example, many of us would like to suppress the charts above reports as a default view.
  • The ability to move between applications and sites is awkward. Sometimes one must close a drop down menu, or move to a different application before changing sites. Also, the test and production sites are not bridged, necessitating a logout and login.
The implementation and support are substantially superior and cheaper than Adobe. Free Google has no support, of course, apart from blogs. There are some things that can be done easily in Adobe (if implemented well) that are hard or effectively impossible to do in the IBM UI -- such as page- or visitor- as opposed to visit-oriented metrics. The decision then is either to rely on a data warehouse and BI tools, or to decide that the value of such capabilities does not justify the added cost.
Read Jim Moult's full review
Nathaniel Guralski profile photo
May 13, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "A Whole Lot of Brain, But Not Much Beauty"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Digital Analytics has been used specifically by my company to analyze and report the status of our website. It is used specifically in our Marketing department by myself and one other employee who I train throughout my own usage. IBM DA is used to help us analyze where our website is proficient, where it is lacking, and how we can maximize the potential of our site to keep potential clients engaged. Along with this, IBM is great at looking at specifics in our usage, demographics, and exactly where people are clicking and visiting.
  • Analytic reports are provided in all sorts of chart forms to your liking with a plethora of variables to use.
  • The amount of variables to choose from are vast.
  • There is a wonderful support team to help you if lost or can't think of what exactly you need to get out of a situation.
  • The page can feel very unorganized at times. There are lots of different tabs to open and close and the website response can be slow at times.
  • There aren't many useful ways to access the charts that are really aesthetically appealing.
I tend to stand neutral when discussing IBM with other employees or professionals. It can be a great tool to utilize, but it can be very difficult to navigate and sometimes feels a bit overloaded with bells and whistles. I feel it could be more beneficial to highlight the most used buttons, instead of having to dig and dig for what you really want.
Read Nathaniel Guralski's full review
Gina Perez profile photo
May 09, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Very powerful, pricey, be prepared to add staff to take full advantage"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cm is being used as the reporting source for our Web Consumers data. We also use the Recommendations module for on-site recommendations.
  • Tracks data
  • Consistent report interface for multiple sites
  • Data is turned into information that provides action items
  • Since being purchased by IBM the large corp non-personal feel has taken over
  • rolling up data for all sites we manage is not easily done, and where you can it is missing the data from all reports
  • new products are never rolled out to be included for current customers...always an additional fee.
I don't think product is affordable to small businesses. Large corporations do better with large corporations. Speed and being nimble are not apparent in their company processes.
Read Gina Perez's full review
Gus Brito profile photo
June 17, 2014

"In my opinion: IBM Digital Analytics, aka Coremetrics review."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used by the web marketing department for web traffic analytics.
  • Website traffic analysis.
  • Website traffic tracking tools.
  • Website traffic reporting, benchmarking, etc.
  • Referring URL identification.
  • Customer Path Attribution.
  • Properly Identify traffic coming from Affiliate Networks.
It is well suited for all web traffic, except for affiliate traffic and/or traffic coming from server redirects.
Read Gus Brito's full review
Timothy Ponce profile photo
August 27, 2013

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Solid web analysis product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Unlike Google Analytics, which provides generic/multi-purpose tags for any kind of implementation you can imagine, Coremetrics provides a set of single-purpose tags along with an implementation strategy to help businesses get the right data in the right format. For example, there are tags specifically for adding an item of merchandise to a cart. Since this is a fundamental action for most e-commerce sites, the straightforwardness of this tagging (and the subsequent e-commerce reports it populates) is very convenient (and in some cases, where customization is required, very limiting).
  • As mentioned above, the use case-specific tags populate very specific reports, such as cart abandonment, checkout conversion for e-commerce, etc. These out-of-the-box reports can be very useful if you have a generic implementation that matches Coremetric's expected usage.
  • Explore reports are powerful because they allow you to create custom reports on practically any data point, enabling you to answer very specific questions.
  • The Coremetrics implementation guide is a thorough document that explains every aspect of how Coremetrics works and the technology should or could be implemented on your site. For an engineer responsible for implementation, it is immensely helpful.
  • Compared to Google Analytics, the reporting interface is slower and less user-friendly.
  • There is no way to easily manage different sites in a single enterprise (though I think this may have been addressed in a newer version).
  • The Impression Attribution add-on module is quite rudimentary and, compared to an ad-serving platform, very costly per impression. (But if you need impression data populated within Explore and not some other third-party, then it's for you.)
Read Timothy Ponce's full review
No photo available
February 25, 2015

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Unless you're looking for a complex site 'cash register,' don't waste your time"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Digital Analytics was used to monitor on-site user behavior, highlight areas of drop-off across key lead capture pathways, provide direction, and historical aggregation of digital marketing initiatives and set performance benchmarks for an ecommerce acquisition channel. Away from the 'out of box' options we leveraged Digital Analytics registrationIDs to capture multi-channel attribution data, which was warehoused and frequently mined to determine the digital marketing mix, that brought successful customers to the business.
  • Click pathways provided a robust way to analyze visitor pathways
  • TruePath Funnels were essential to learn day over day changes through key lead capture paths
  • Ability to accept and table a variety of user & registration IDs allowed us to perform off-UI multichannel analysis
  • The JavaScript library sitting at the back-end of IBM Digital Analytics is extremely cumbersome for non-developer, marketing users. While the JS library does provides endless customization, the complexity and ramp-up time to understand the basics can be a barrier when trouble-shooting basic re-configurations.
  • IBM Digital Analytics is HEAVILY geared towards online retailers, acting more as a website's cash register as opposed to a tried-and-true web diagnostic and analytics tool
  • The support for IBM Digital Analytics was lackluster, we found ourselves often tangled in the bureaucracy that is IBM, when REAL problems occurred.
It's better suited for sites where retail is the core of the site, but with that said, don't expect the tool to provide a holistic view on your multi-channel attribution pathways --- for this time of purview of your digital marketing blend we chose to develop our own, off-UI solution rather than paying IBM for additional modules to answer our mutli-channel questions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 04, 2015

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Reliable, Marketing oriented & efficient Digital Analytics Solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use IBM DA as our main Digital Analytics solution for our clients. We implement the solution on the CMS platform and we have built an ecosystem that allows us to act on all data collected by IBM DA (via Exact Target for example). Once the implementation is over, we permanently audit the tagging and provide recommendations for our clients.
In terms of business consultancy, we use IBM DA to produce regular dashboards and deep dive analysis for our E-commerce clients.
  • Marketing attribution models - capable to deliver an holistic view of the marketing channels performance
  • Multisite capabilities : allows to have a Cie view as well as individual site's view
  • Unique customer view and Live Profile: we are able to go to the visitor level and therefore use the behavioural data for marketing actions
  • Reliability of the data: we have full confidence in the data collected and the rules are clear for us
  • Support: available support 24h/7.
  • Limit in Explore Credits that are too costly
  • Segmentation on the fly (like GA) in DA - segmentation in IBM DA are poor and too restricted
  • Benchmark module that is a real strengh but under exploited
  • DDX : not performant enough - better to use 3rd party solution such as Tealium
  • R&D : no major next feature or project over the past year
I think the solution is appropriate for all types of businesses, even though it is better suited for Retail.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 09, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "E-commerce is real strong point."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • E-commerce is Coremetrics' strong point. The solution is very good at reporting for ecomerce sites. For example, it gives excellent data on products purchased and abandoned cart value and other E-commerce statistics. Omniture is perhaps better for more general content browsing statistics, but Coremetrics is the clear leader for E-commerce sites.
  • Easy and well documented implementation
  • Fast, easy and customizable reporting UI
  • Data mining or AdHoc visit-based analysis: All packages provide a way to do a deep dive on data. Usually you will need a custom report to cover something that is not covered out-of-the-box. For example, you might want to know whether more purchases are coming from people using one browser over another. Coremetrics does provide access to the database to build relationships between objects to construct custom reports. though it is possible to build these ad-hoc reports in Coremetrics, it's not that easy. Once you stray outside the standard templated reports, it's not the best solution for creating custom reports.
  • Since it's a flat, table-based analytics solution, there are potential table limits which can be reached on large datasets
As mentioned previously, I believe Explore should be bundled with the basic Coremetrics package. So, please negotiate this module as part of your global contract.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2014

"Honest Review of IBM Digital Analytics"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Digital Analytics as a 3rd party analytics tool for many of our clients. The tool is able to provide a holistic view of performance across a variety of marketing channels.
  • Simple interface
  • Easy implementation
  • Easy for Media teams to tag URL's
  • The tagging is quite limited
  • Difficult to get to deep areas of analysis within interface
  • Difficult to export raw data for import to a database
What is the planned use for the tool - high level information and direction or granular reporting to C-level? The tool struggles at times to provide granular reporting to meet the needs of C-level executives.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 28, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "DA vs GA - Which Tech Giant has the edge on Analytics?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company resells IBM Digital Analytics for our clients and provides reporting and strategy services along with the tool. The tool addresses our need to provide reporting and analysis on ongoing and one time marketing campaigns as well as overall website performance.
  • eCommerce Reporting - unlike GA, Digital Analytics has built in product and ecommerce reporting that is fairly advanced enough to answer most business questions around product performance, basket analysis, etc.
  • Marketing Attribution - Digital Analytics has out of the box marketing attribution capabilities including first, last and average click.
  • Ad Hoc Reporting - Through the Explore tool, nearly any business questions can be answered through a completely customized report set up functionality.
  • User Interface - is lacking. Still flash based so if you want to copy a number or a table, you have to download it to excel first.
  • Down time - there have been selective occasions when the platform has been inaccessible for up to an hour, during peak business hours. There have also been delays in year end reporting as well as standard reporting during peak holiday times as the data bases are overloaded, making data unavailable.
  • Segmentation - no out of the box segments, and you are limited to 10 one-time segments that can be active at one time and for only 35 days.
It is more suited for the enterprise than start ups or medium level companies. If you are going to invest in an analytics solution (rather than use free GA), make sure you and your organization are willing to take action off of the data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 19, 2014

Review: "IBM Digital Analytics - it costs, but it is worth the investment."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Digital Analytics to share and visualize the performance of the website. IBM Digital Analytics allows us to report on the behavior of the visitors at an individual level - what has been clicked and how it helped our customers buy what they came for. Moreover it allows us to compare different strategies and have the data to help make strategic decisions. Marketing is no longer a 'like/dislike' decision, it is an actual analysis on the performance of the different decisions. The data is shared across all departments of the company to help make predictions across a wide variety of services: in the sales department to see what items are wanted, in the finance department to see what payment methods are most favored, and also in the marketing department to see what promotions are performing best.
  • Digital Analtyics works best at analyzing on individual level. Each visitor can be targeted to improve its journey step by step.
  • The ability to include many parameters in the tags helps create reporting that totally reflects company challenges. It helps with analyzing all aspects that we come across.
  • Most of the reports are defaults and can be easily customizable. The fact that the interface allows the customized views to be placed in the interface next to the default views makes it easy to find them.
  • The export functionality helps with exporting raw data to make off line analysis across all departments. This is really helpful when some very specific analysis needs to be made.
  • The API is easily accessible and does not need an implementation language to create reports.
  • IBM Digital Analytics allows for custom values in the tags, but they can only be accessed by creating Explore reports and there is a charge for each new report created. If the values could be accessed freely that would make a huge difference.
  • Segments sometimes take a long time to process, and this slows the analysis quite a bit. Moreover the limit that is imposed is sometimes very restrictive (10 maximum)
  • The interface is not very user friendly.
IBM Digital Analytics is very suited for large companies that need a lot of detailed information about the visitor journey and that need support. The price of the solution usually makes the difference compared to other solutions like Google Analytics. The fact that IBM offers support is one of the main strengths. Thus if the analytics solution is a key for the organization, I recommend IBM Digital Analytics as it is supported and if there is a problem, IBM has a SLA and a complete team to take over if there is a problem.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 01, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Pricy Analytics tool but..."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used this analytics tools to take data-driven decisions through the organization
  • Reporting process is quick
  • Chat support is available most of the time
  • Availability of resource and sw updates is always on time and keep customers informed
  • Support Tickets response time (definitely a HUGE item to improve)
  • Ad-hoc report - remove restriction of historic data for the past 12 motnhs only
  • More User friendly interface and improve content and documentation
Support, Implementation, How does this tool compare to other Web analytics tools ( what does this tool offers that other like GA (free) doesn't.
Read this authenticated review

About IBM Digital Analytics

IBM acquired Coremetrics in 2010, and has since re-branded the platform to the IBM Digital Marketing Optimization Solution. This cloud-based solution includes IBM Digital Analytics, the core analytical product, as well as several add-on modules, including Benchmark, Product Recommendations, Lifecycle, Multisite, and more. IBM has integrated the Digital Marketing Optimization platform with other solutions, like WebSphere Commerce and Portal for ecommerce, IBM Campaign and Interact (acquired from Unica in 2010) for cross-channel campaign management, IBM Tealeaf (acquired in 2012) for customer experience management, and much more. IBM continues to integrate the Digital Marketing Optimization platform into many other solutions as well, from business intelligence tools, to social media analytics, and more.

IBM Digital Marketing Optimization primarily competes with other enterprise-level digital analytics solutions like Adobe Omniture, Google Analytics, WebTrends, and more.

IBM Digital Analytics Integrations

IBM Digital Analytics Competitors

IBM Digital Analytics Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No