Google Analytics

Google Analytics

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.6 out of 100
Top Rated
Google Analytics

Overview

Recent Reviews

Best package.

8 out of 10
April 22, 2022
My firm was user-centric, and we needed to know where consumers were leaving and what features were popular, as well as what changes in …
Continue reading

Simply and Easy to Use!

10 out of 10
March 28, 2022
Google Analytics helps me and my team track trends in traffic to our website and landing pages. It gives us a deeper dive into the …
Continue reading

Google Analytics - Love It

8 out of 10
September 03, 2021
Google Analytics is currently being used to track the number of users and multiple conversion points across our site, across various …
Continue reading

Google Analytics review

10 out of 10
August 23, 2021
Google Analytics was used only by my department in my previous company. My department was digital marketing. We used Google Analytics to …
Continue reading

Google Analytics

9 out of 10
August 02, 2021
My team and I try to guide and implement the end customers to answer business questions regularly to the Marketing team and sometimes IT. …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Relationship 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Value 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2022

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews (3)

Record

Pricing

View all pricing

Google Analytics 360

150,000

Cloud
per year

Google Analytics

Free

Cloud

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google Analytics?

Google Analytics is perhaps the best-known web analytics product and, as a free product, it has massive adoption. Although it lacks some enterprise-level features compared to its competitors in the space, the launch of the paid Google Analytics Premium edition seems likely to close the gap.

How much does Google Analytics cost?

Google Analytics starts at $0.

What is Google Analytics's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Google Analytics?

The most common users of Google Analytics are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Marketing & Advertising industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 184)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
May 04, 2022

A must product.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our brand, as well as our web team, use Google Analytics. Several business partners also have Google Analytics access to assess campaign results. We use GA to analyze traffic to the website and transfer rates to our website and particular shopping sites at a high level. We also use the software to go through our Acquisition and Channel Reports, which include email, social networking sites, promotional events, and sponsored searches.
  • Identification of basic goals.
  • Increasing web and edge conduct.
  • The performance graphs are quite nice.
  • Observing behavior across the funnel.
  • Customer satisfaction and long-term performance are factors to consider.
Google Analytics is best suited for businesses that want to know more about where bookings are occurring from and the demographics of the people who are converting. However, for problems that involve exporting and merging data sets that should be doable within the platform, Google Analytics may have an early ceiling. Overall, it's a fantastic platform, but it needs specialized development to reach its full potential.
The support team is very much helpful. They helped in the part of implementation.
April 22, 2022

Best package.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My firm was user-centric, and we needed to know where consumers were leaving and what features were popular, as well as what changes in workflow were pushing users away from subscriptions. The features that come with Google Analytics allow us to take a more in-depth look at how users behave.
  • The type of link that people click on a website is one of the most significant aspects.
  • Assist you in slicing and dicing data based on user personality.
  • Provides useful reporting information.
  • I wish the user interface was a little less crowded.
  • This tool necessitates a large number of manual adjustments.
Google Analytics is a fantastic free tool that everyone should be aware of! Although the reporting isn't as detailed as a marketer may desire, it still gives fundamental information that can help you make important decisions about your company's future. It's merely another tool that aids marketers in determining ROI.
Yes, the team is very responsive. We go help in the initial part.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company was user-centric and wanted to understand where customers dropped off and wanted to understand what all features are popular or what all changes in workflow driving users away from the subscriptions. Features that come with Google Analytics give us a more insightful approach to understanding the user's behavior.
  • Content performance
  • Conversion rate strategy finalization
  • Pricing
  • Cookie handling
  • Steep learning curve
Our application was having a workflow, therefore, it was mandatory for us to know where the users are dropping off, and also a user can go from a different path in the workflow so it's important to know which feature or path is a problematic area for the user. Also in a subscription kind of model, it is important to know till what stage before subscribing user used the feature. So these are some areas where Google Analytics is highly helpful.
Martha McNeil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps me to further analyze which product of our company, it also helps me a lot to understand the behavior of the users, the traffic from different channels, the acquisition on different devices and locations, it has helped us to identify which keywords we should focus on every time. we do our blogs it's important to know and recognize the benefits this tool offers live onsite analytics help you see where people are clicking on your website in real time also when a new page is launched it's important see if it is working as well as the previous page.
  • On-site live analytics help you see where people are clicking on your website in real time.
  • One of the most important features is which link users click on a site.
  • Help you slice and dice data based on the personality of users.
  • I wish the UI was less cluttered.
  • Many manual settings are required in this tool.
Tracking cities has helped us add new locations and reach new people, it helps with SEO purposes and allows us to better serve our customers and reach their customers, it also helps us to know what they do while they browse our websites. , is simply one of the most reliable, accurate and affordable solutions for audience outreach and strategy.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics helps me and my team track trends in traffic to our website and landing pages. It gives us a deeper dive into the behaviors of our target market and has allowed us to pivot and make changes to better serve customers. We use other BI tools alongside Google Analytics, but it is by far the truest source of information.
  • Track visitor behaviors on our website
  • Identify trends in traffic
  • Provides valuable reporting insight
  • No major concerns or rooms for improvement
It is an amazing tool to help monitor website and landing page traffic. We currently use it to see where the majority of our visitors are coming from. We can then adjust ads and landing pages based on the information gathered.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used to track the success of our company websites. It's easy to use and filled with data to help you better understand your audience/customers. However, it is pretty general demographic data which makes it hard to really understand user experience/how the consumer navigates the website pages. We really enjoy the real-time traffic data!
  • Reporting on where traffic is exactly coming from (location, device, etc.)
  • Custom reports/exporting to excel
  • Real-time Data
  • Dashboard Organization
  • Training/Implementation of Insights
  • Detail of reporting - very high level
Google Analytics is a great free resource everyone should at least be aware of! Although the reporting isn't as in depth as a marketer may want, it still provides basic data that allows you to make valuable insights for the future of your business. It is just another tool that helps marketer connect ROI.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics to track and monitor use of external websites, internal websites and recruitment marketing efforts. It allows us to see what content is most successful, channels we should focus on and what’s actually being used on our sites. Without the data from Google Analytics we wouldn’t know what impact our efforts have on bringing new people to the company.
  • Tracks and gathers data
  • Provides insight on user/customer behavior
  • Is customizable for reporting and tracking
  • One of the most powerful features is using RegEx, which takes some time to learn and is not always intuitive
  • It is a complex and large system and can take time to learn
I think that Google Analytics is a great tool and don’t know why everyone wouldn’t use it on their websites, apps, etc. It’s free; just takes the time and effort to learn how to find the information you want once it is set up. I especially like how you can set up custom goals and reports for anything you are interested in seeing. I often find that I track the pages on my websites that are visited the list often and what marketing campaigns are bringing people to my site.
September 24, 2021

Web Analytics made easy

Rafael Grandizoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everybody from the company have to use Google Analytics at least once a week. Some of them should use it on a daily basis, others in real-time. Undertanding the traffic from our website and from our clients is crucial for the business.
  • Measure anything from your website
  • Reports ready to use
  • Dashboards with main metrics quickly
  • Complexity on implementing custom metrics
  • Some UI could be more intuitive
  • Exporting data could be better
It is a standard in the market and every company should use it (at least the free version), even if there are other analytics tools available to complement its data and reports. All professionals should know the basics of Google Analytics and be able to get some outputs from its reports.
September 03, 2021

Google Analytics - Love It

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is currently being used to track the number of users and multiple conversion points across our site, across various channels, including but not limited to PPC, Paid Social and Organic. It helps to bring all the conversion and revenue numbers together for all the channels as a total, which helps the client see how their business is performing as a whole.
  • Google Analytics allows for very detailed remarketing lists that can be pushed in AdWords.
  • Tracking of the traffic and various conversions through each channel.
  • Google Analytics tracks users that are not only in your country but across the world. This helps when you are building a strategy that has an international component.
  • Great attribution section, which shows the user journey for each conversion.
  • It would be good to see labels from AdWords to be visible in Google Analytics.
  • The dashboard and unique features can be a bit cumbersome and difficult to use if you are using it for the first time.
The reason I'd recommend Google Analytics is because, firstly, it can track the traffic from multiple channels, such as email, paid social, as mentioned earlier this helps when planning strategy or deducing reasons for lower traffic or conversions for a particular channel. Secondly, the remarketing lists and custom reports section works very well when it comes to creating and reporting on campaigns.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics was used only by my department in my previous company. My department was digital marketing. We used Google Analytics to do website analytics like, monitoring traffic by sources/medium, monitoring conversions on landing pages, etc.
  • Traffic analytics
  • Goal conversions/Landing page conversions
  • User Behavior Analytics
  • Google Analytics is for technical people, some help in creating the expressions would be helpful
  • Drag and drop graphs will be helpful too
  • User behavior analytics could be simplified
A Marketing analyst or paid media analyst is the right person to use Google Analytics. An analyst needs to be technical enough to write the right expressions to fetch correct data. Suppose they are Google Analytics certified, then great. Consumers of this data will be digital marketing managers. The main use case of Google Analytics, as I see it, is web analytics. They can't be used to do campaign analytics or attribution. Though Google Analytics offers these features, I don't find them easy to set up.
Thomas (TC) Riley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics for marketing and website tracking both internally and across hundreds of our clients. Google Analytics is the free, gold standard of website reporting that every company should have. It provides critical data on on-site visitors, interactions, and visitor behavior in an easy-to-use platform that integrates with nearly every platform out there.
  • Website Visitor Tracking
  • User Behavior
  • Website Funnels
  • Website Conversion Tracking
  • Integrates with everything
  • Custom event tracking on website
  • Detailed visitor information
  • Almost too robust of an interface that can be challenging for new users
Honesty, there is no reason that a company wouldn’t want to implement Google Analytics. The regular version is completely free, is very easy to configure, and provides immense volumes of website data. There are also tangible benefits to the other Google tools it can connect to, and it integrates with any BI/data platform that you might use.
The only time I’d advise not using standard Google Analytics is if you’ve purchased Google Analytics 360.
Ellen Moon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is definitely one of the top analytics software in the market for digital advertising. It has a lower barrier to entry for clients because it builds in and syncs with google ads and GSP automatically. There is a decently robust free version that a lot of advertising accounts lean on as the source of truth.
  • Cookie cutter features
  • Robust set of free tools
  • Auto tagging for google properties
  • For anything custom, it is difficult to build
  • Free version does not have accurate cookie reporting (only sampling)
  • Cookies can display up to 10% variance compared to other tags
Google Analytics is really great for small to medium business with a small team. If you have a smaller, straight forward set of conversion events and/or are an ecommerce client where there is no complexity to data that is passed back, Google Analytics will work great out of the box[.]
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics to manage our websites, drive content decisions, and determine which areas we should focus on with website redesigns. I have Google Analytics on over 40 different program and department websites and we track behavior and see which of our resources work for our audiences and which need to be redesigned.
  • Multiple reports to see website use and behavior
  • Allows you to customize reports with days, weeks, months, and years
  • You can build out a dashboard to easily view stats from multiple websites in one place
  • You can share analytics reports via the dashboard, automatically emailed PDFs or in other formats
  • Changes to Google Analytics mean that the trainings they offer really are necessary if you're going to make the best use out of the software
  • There are two different ways to set up analytics on a website and it's confusing
  • I use a third-party software to link analytics to some of my websites and it stopped syncing randomly before and needs to be reconnected so we watch it closely
Google Analytics is the industry leader for websites and really needs to be used to remain competitive and have the best overall picture of what your websites are doing. Because it's used so widely, everyone understands it and reports are easy to read. You can also sync multiple accounts/pages into one dashboard, making the admin job easier.
August 02, 2021

Google Analytics

Víctor Garnica | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team and I try to guide and implement the end customers to answer business questions regularly to the Marketing team and sometimes IT. The typical problems between organizations are related to bringing more clients and increasing the LTV of current clients.
The business problems that Google Analytics helps us regularly are demographic and technographic knowledge of users. Also, the behavior with interactions on different products on the sites, increasing revenue up to 400% compared to previous periods. In some cases, we have managed to reduce expenses by around 25% during the campaign with optimizations on sites that allow navigators to have a better experience around them.
  • Simple to use. The clarity of its reports allows rapid adoption of users without knowledge of Marketing as with experts.
  • A large percentage of the metrics and dimensions appear only with the snippet. It is simple, either with direct code or with Google Tag Manager (recommended). If you have access to the code of your site, it is a process that you can carry out in less than an hour to know a large number of insights for the first steps, including the measurement Advanced in Universal Analytics is not that complex (possibly with GA4 this changes slightly at the event level)
  • Connect with your infrastructure. As well as universal analytics, google analytics 360, and now with GA4. Every version looks for a way for their tools to connecting with their ecosystem: Ads, Google BigQuery, and other services.
  • Connection with offline sources. Apart from making adaptations in the data sources, they also need to be handled with care because it is easy to make mistakes, and the result is not always what is expect. They need to work more like a CDP.
  • With GA4, many things will change, but in the Universal Analytics version, the event fields were limited. If you need detail, you had to make some adjustments around that. With the standard version, sometimes you cannot reach the next level in non-eCommerce topics with the limitations of custom dimensions.
I would recommend it in the following cases:
1. If you are a small or medium company with a site used to generate a business objective, you must use it. If not, you should also use it to improve your site and achieve business objectives.
2. If you are a company adopting the digital culture, it is an excellent way to understand the concepts necessary to give a better customer experience.
Daniel Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is the standard for accurate and in-depth website data tracking. Everyone in an SEO role should use it, as should any company interested in improving organic results. Since it's an arm of the world's biggest search engine, Google Analytics gives you data from the source, assuming you know how to find it.
  • Customizability (reporting, saved views, module adjustments, etc.)
  • Accuracy (all info is directly from Google)
  • Brand recognition (most companies are aware of it)
  • Security/sharing (difficult for agencies unless you have a password management tool; verifying devices multiple times is a huge pain)
  • Customer service (difficult to get in touch with someone about your particular problem)
Google Analytics is well suited for ANY company (of any size) that wants to improve online marketing results. It not only helps with SEO but with content, UX/UI, and conversions as well. Only the smallest of startups and companies might not find value in it initially, but everyone does with time.
Jasmeet S Babra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GA is being used to track analytics for our support site. The teams using GA are customer support and business support.
We use GA data to report on and identify who visits our website and what content they consume. This helps us in making decisions on how can we improve the experience of our users who consume our content.
  • reporting
  • scheduling reports
  • trends identification
  • Analytics
  • NA
Google Analytics works great when trying to discover trends on who, from where, what articles, what content etc are being consumed on your website. GA has great reports and charts which are easy to understand and comprehend. Any domain or subdomain is easy to set up to use Google Analytics and within hours, you start to receive data. If you need to find who uses your website and how to improve on technical aspects like page load speed, errors etc, it is a great tool
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used mainly in the sales and marketing department of the company. It's used in the software development department to get feedback from the user behavior and make necessary tweaks accordingly. It helps in channelizing the focus and energy toward the goal by giving data insights in the most useful and meaningful way possible.
  • Strong data tracking
  • Easy to use and integrate
  • Good documentation and videos by experts
  • The metrics and dimension parts are quite confusing at times
  • UI can be improved
  • New features
  • To know the result and the current user behavior based the marketing campaign
  • To track the traffic on website and to know how users behave
  • How well the site is engaging the users in terms of content
  • The website responsiveness and user friendliness can be found out using the tools in the Google Analytics, and that helps the developers to make necessary changes with regard to UX
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used as one of the main reporting engines for our company. It quickly gives us insight into where are traffic is coming from, breakdowns of who is purchasing, and detailed, itemized sales history. We also use Google Analytics to track individual marketing campaign performance, like ad hoc emails or social campaigns.
  • Gives detailed demographics
  • Allows you to segment out traffic to analyze
  • Shows where your traffic is coming from
  • Can't accurately track returns / fraud orders
  • Can be difficult to set up correctly sometimes (especially in the new interface)
  • Mainly uses last click attribution
Google Analytics is free, which is one of the best parts about it. Once set up, it provides access to a large portion of the information you would need to optimize marketing campaigns and your website overall. Knowing who is visiting your site is the first step to optimizing your marketing efforts and GA does exactly that.
  • no training
It mostly falls on us to correctly set up and support Google Analytics. That said, it is not a particularly daunting task to get it set up correctly, and once it is, there is little to no extra work to maintain that connection. Google does have some help offerings but we haven't had to use them.
No
John Kobel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used by our company to track the website traffic and conversions for our clients' websites. We also use it to track the effectiveness of our clients' ad spend in Google Ads to maintain a high level of ROI for our clients. Additionally, Google Analytics allows us to optimize our clients' digital advertising dollars so they can effectively spend money in the right places across today's complex digital universe.
  • Tracks website traffic and measures that traffic to the source of the traffic.
  • also measures audience activity once they arrive on a client's website.
  • can track conversions in whatever that measurement might be and the source of those conversions.
  • Training is on your own unless you want to pay a third party vendor for training.
  • although they do offer certification classes, they are not a good reflection of real-world situations.
  • Communication has decreased considerably since Google has gone public. The Help Desk is now outsourced to another country where English is not the first language spoken and the support team is not that well versed in the details of Google Analytics.
If you run a website for your business, you absolutely need Google Analytics to track the activity on your website. You need to know where traffic is coming from so you can make timely corrective actions to improve your marketing efforts for your website. You cannot effectively manage a website in today's complex digital environment without the detailed level of information that Google Analytics can provide. But, be prepared for the steep learning curve you will encounter once you begin using GA.
the Help files are extensive for Google Analytics, but the amount of information also makes it cumbersome to find the answer to the specific question you need answered. As I mentioned before, Phone Support used to be American based and the support staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. But ever since Google went public, their focus has been on the bottom line and customer service and phone support has diminished in quality.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics to track goals and events. We have different domains that we need to track within the same account and each with different currencies. With [Google Analytics] we can use sophisticated cross-domain tracking to accurately measure conversions for each of our marketing channels and figure out what is working on what is not and revise our marketing dollars accordingly.
  • You can figure out conversions rate for each of your marketing efforts
  • You can review content engagement and see which piece of content your viewers like the best
  • You can track the impact of mobile users to your online business
  • Google Analytics can't guarantee that robot visits will not pollute your reports
  • Google cannot track everything that happens on a web site
  • Some of the tracking in not easy to implement and requires additional training
We use Google Analytics all the time as it is critical (in my opinion) for any online business. For larger online business then there is the Premium version of [Google Analytics] which comes with a price tag of about $150,000. In that case there are different options like Adobe Analytics.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics Premium was used across 11 different portals that we had. I had taken the decision to upgrade Google Analytics Basic to Premium. The data from Google Analytics was used across the Product, Marketing, Business, and Analytics team.

Business problems solved were:
- How are users engaging across the websites
- Which pages are helping users to convert
- Which pages are not performing and has a high bounce rate
- How are new vs returning users behaving
- Which Marketing channels are the best and worst-performing
- How is page loading impacting the conversions
- How are users loading on a particular page type are converting
  • It can help you segment your users into various buckets based on their attributes
  • It can help you create your custom reports based on any chosen filters
  • It can help you compare 2 periods side by side
  • The analysis can be done based on Users or Sessions as needed
  • It can help understand page performance based on Landing or overall visit
  • It can help you create different views based on particular conditions
  • Through GA you can test a few numbers on Real time basis too
  • It gives flexibility to add custom dimensions and metrics to various events
  • Google Analytics can provide funnel numbers but not the trends of the same thus you need to download it repeatedly
  • You can create custom reports but not charts so you have to download the data and create it separately
  • Sometimes creating segments and running the same reports with the same filters give you different results
By just adding one code, you can get dozens of data of your website. This data helps you understand so much about how your website is being consumed by the users and how they navigating across the pages.

It also helps you understand which sub-goals, goals users are achieving or exiting from.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Analytics for websites, for HTML5 games hosted on web platforms, for mobile apps and games. It is essential to measure Key Performance Indicators for your site or app. Google Analytics can show your basic stuff like page views, sessions, etc and also more complicated configurable indicators like funnels, events, etc.
  • shows basic indicators like page views, sessions.
  • provides breakdown by country, city, languages.
  • real time data
  • retention data display is not very convenient
  • it is relatively hard to organize events
  • it is relatively hard to switch from one property to another
Google Analytics is well suited for websites, web applications, and games. Google Analytics is less appropriate for the scenarios involving mobile native applications and games even though it is usable - there is just room for improvement. It is less suited when a lot of events are submitted and it is relatively hard to organize events.
Travis Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Not only do we utilize Google Analytics for our company, we use it for several clients as well. Google Analytics is the industry standard for a reason, making it easy to track web traffic and behavior across your site or sites and using the information to make better content decisions.
  • Track site traffic
  • Track audience acquisition
  • Track conversions on your site
  • Track behavior across your site(s)
  • Can be a challenge to learn as a beginner
If you have a website and aren't using Google Analytics, you are missing out. Google Analytics is a wonderful tool that can be valuable in making your site more engaging and understanding if your other marketing efforts are working. If you are doing any advertising and driving people to your site, Google Analytics can tell you whether those efforts are successful.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company used the free version of Google Analytics to monitor and report on website visitors and e-commerce conversions. We would regularly generate reports based on the data contained within the platform, and use it to inform website development, issues and tracking of various KPIs. For this reason, it was crucial to our commercial performance measurement and a major contributor to future planning for different business functions. We also made some of the data available to third parties for the purposes of retargeting and advertising.
  • Clearly segmented dashboard for visits, commerce, performance metrics etc.
  • Relatively simple user and property management.
  • Useful exporting options for external integrations and analysis.
  • A variety of viewing options for different data, so that it can be understood better or drilled down into.
  • Intuitive UI for navigating historical data.
  • Data sampling is somewhat inaccurate on the free tier - this is addressed in premium but is expensive.
  • Some of the UI is very similar in naming when presenting different data, some in-situ information might be useful.
  • Gotchas around filtering and data validation.
  • Implementation can be tricky, it can take a lot of time and expertise to get a full, accurate picture of your metrics.
For a free product, [Google Analytics] is an excellent offering that is difficult to compete with out of the box. Simple integration is very quick and easy with gtag as a website snippet, or even via Google's tag manager. A more complex, detailed integration can be more costly and time-consuming, but it is always possible to opt in to various bits of data over time, so it is quite extensible in that sense. This makes it suitable for small sites and businesses starting out, and when you get to a scale where GA may no longer be fit for purpose in this state you can then evaluate versus other platforms and possibly upgrade to premium if desired.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Google Analytics within the Marketing department. It was decided on and implemented by the web development group, and is used by the whole department in various forms. It has proven to be an effective and integrated tool for our web performance analysis work across multiple web products.
  • Basic performance measurements
  • Traffic sources
  • Demographic data
  • Data Studio integration
  • Optimization
  • Multi-site setups
  • Connection to non-Google products
Google Analytics is a free option that keeps up with much more expensive and difficult to use competitors, so it's hard to argue with that. If you are using other Google products or have limited technical capabilities on staff, it is absolutely the way to go. If you have a more complicated optimization or tracking program, it probably can't keep up with your needs.