TrustRadius
Google Analytics is perhaps the best-known web analytics product and, as a free product, it has massive adoption. Although it lacks some enterprise-level features compared to its competitors in the space, the launch of the paid Google Analytics Premium edition seems likely to close the gap.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Du/bb/UP417EGQ7C6Z.PNGInvaluable, if you come in with clear focus.We've used Google Analytics to set up and optimize sales channels for customers, we use Google Analytics to optimize our own website, as well we've integrated GA with our ETL & BI solution, OnMetric.,GA tracks user behaviors wonderfully GA provides invaluable insights regarding the geographic dispersal of customers. Paired with embeddable click events, GA is an indispensable solution for website conversion optimization.,The learning curve is steep. There are so many features, you really run the risk of information overload. There is little effort made to provide context, and so one must draw their own conclusions to drive actions.,9,While very little in this world is truly free, the only real cost to using Google Analytics is time, from your PM's, your web admins, your engineers, your email admins, and QA analysts--but it is without a doubt time well spent. Because you run the risk of paralysis by analysis, one must pick their battles with Google Analytics. If you go in with a clear, concise set of objectives, and a competent technical supporting cast, you will succeed. On the reverse side of the same coin, if you come in without a purpose, you run the risk of getting bogged down in all of the information without immediate relevance, and you may just leave behind this treasure trove of invaluable analytics in search of said relevance.,AWS Lambda, Magento, DrupalEssential Tool for the 21st Century MarketerGoogle Analytics is used by the marketing department of my company to determine best SEO practices, drive content and email campaign strategies and boost eCommerce sales. The Analytics platform allows us to get a real-time view of our audiences and make adjustments in our growth and execution of marketing strategy. Additionally, we're able to better grasp where customers are referred to our site, which parts of the sales funnel are most successful, and where we need to improve. We set KPI's through our dashboard and are able to see current updates on when we meet our goals.,Excellent, real-time statistics Great for building a picture of your demographics and buyer persona's. A great tool to see which third party referral websites are giving your site the best traffic.,Can be a bit bulky when you've built a large amount of data up. Can be challenging to learn, even with their online program, unless you use it every day. It would be nice to add a 'test' function for new users to experiment with.,9,Fully measurable KPI's for different parts of our website which has aided our acquisitions and conversions. A large amount of demographic information to drive both content marketing and sales. The re-targeting feature allows us to drive ppc ads toward potential customers, amounting in several thousands of dollars a year.,WordPress,Wrike, Teamwork Projects, SlackGoogle Analytics: The –almost–best analytics toolUse Google Analytics to track views on website and determine the visibility that I gain with my website.,Shows the different regions from which users of your website are from Shows time of day when users access your website Shows what type of device users of your website are using, which is extremely helpful for the design process.,The graphs could use more color variation to show different data points. Currently, Google Analytics uses different hues of blue, which is fine, but this is repeated over different graphs, which could mislead users. The mobile app is very compact. This is understandable given the small screen sizes of most phones, but I wonder if there is a better way to present the information in mobile devices.,10,Helped keep track of page visits Helped focus website design on specific pages that are most frequented by users Helped identify specific failing of website design and thus improve on them.,You get MORE that you pay for!Google Analytics is being used to understand website traffic and content consumption by anonymous site visitors. It allows me to evaluate the site path and most important content for visitors. It also allows me to track visitors form ad campaigns to determine the source of site traffic and promotional effectiveness.,Site content analysis of readership and page bounces as an indicator of poor content/navigation Crating goals for analysis and conversion rate calculations Ad tracking and ROI data,It is very powerful, but can be confusing at time in the UI Changes to the product require a bit of re-training. It is a little tricky to Anonymize IP to improve GDPR compliance.,10,Customer insights are always important. Understanding the content of interest. Seeing the source of traffic and their site behavior helps evaluate Ad investment.,Webtrends Analytics,Wistia, SurveyMonkeyGoogle Analytics has made everything smoother!Google Analytics is a great tool to see how many active users are on our site at that moment. Additionally, it's helpful to see where incoming users are coming from (i.e. Google, Flipboard, Twitter). It is being used across my department, as the business team, but also among other teams such as the marketing team and social team.,Informs you of how many active viewers are on our site in real-time. Allows you to go deeper and see what companies are reading our site -- C-Suite, Fortune 500 etc. Allows you to track which times of the day or which day of the week attracted the most people to our site and qualitatively thinking why this may be.,It would be helpful to have more insight into our audience. If it shows that they're working in government, it would be helpful to see what sector of government they're working in.,10,Postive -- allowing us to keep track of the behind the scene specifics that we're looking out for.,Moat Analytics,DoubleClick, Moat Analytics, Sailthru
Unspecified
Google Analytics
1729 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

Google Analytics Reviews

Google Analytics
1729 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1729 vetted Google Analytics reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 85)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 22, 2018

Google Analytics Review: "Invaluable, if you come in with clear focus."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Google Analytics to set up and optimize sales channels for customers, we use Google Analytics to optimize our own website, as well we've integrated GA with our ETL & BI solution, OnMetric.
  • GA tracks user behaviors wonderfully
  • GA provides invaluable insights regarding the geographic dispersal of customers.
  • Paired with embeddable click events, GA is an indispensable solution for website conversion optimization.
  • The learning curve is steep.
  • There are so many features, you really run the risk of information overload.
  • There is little effort made to provide context, and so one must draw their own conclusions to drive actions.
For optimizations of anonymous tracking, google analytics is second to none--and it's free! Unless you have extremely high traffic... then it get's very expensive very fast. It is well suited for tracking multiple sales channels, across multiple devices, and allows for very granular tracking. GA supports annotations, providing invaluable context when viewing trends.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
July 13, 2018

Google Analytics Review: "Essential Tool for the 21st Century Marketer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used by the marketing department of my company to determine best SEO practices, drive content and email campaign strategies and boost eCommerce sales. The Analytics platform allows us to get a real-time view of our audiences and make adjustments in our growth and execution of marketing strategy. Additionally, we're able to better grasp where customers are referred to our site, which parts of the sales funnel are most successful, and where we need to improve. We set KPI's through our dashboard and are able to see current updates on when we meet our goals.
  • Excellent, real-time statistics
  • Great for building a picture of your demographics and buyer persona's.
  • A great tool to see which third party referral websites are giving your site the best traffic.
  • Can be a bit bulky when you've built a large amount of data up.
  • Can be challenging to learn, even with their online program, unless you use it every day.
  • It would be nice to add a 'test' function for new users to experiment with.
A fantastic tool for eCommerce companies who need accurate measurements and are concerned with converting leads and sales. While Google Analytics is best served for eCommerce, I would argue that its tools can be purposed for anything from a professional service site to a simple online portfolio as the platform allows one to dig deep into the data and market themselves.
Read Fred Lunt's full review
June 25, 2018

Review: "Google Analytics: The –almost–best analytics tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use Google Analytics to track views on website and determine the visibility that I gain with my website.
  • Shows the different regions from which users of your website are from
  • Shows time of day when users access your website
  • Shows what type of device users of your website are using, which is extremely helpful for the design process.
  • The graphs could use more color variation to show different data points. Currently, Google Analytics uses different hues of blue, which is fine, but this is repeated over different graphs, which could mislead users.
  • The mobile app is very compact. This is understandable given the small screen sizes of most phones, but I wonder if there is a better way to present the information in mobile devices.
Perfect for tracking marketing strategies, understanding where visitors of your site are from, what time of day they visit your site, and what pages they frequent.
Critical for user research and understanding where design might fail.
Read Daniel Murage's full review
May 22, 2018

Google Analytics Review: "You get MORE that you pay for!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used to understand website traffic and content consumption by anonymous site visitors. It allows me to evaluate the site path and most important content for visitors. It also allows me to track visitors form ad campaigns to determine the source of site traffic and promotional effectiveness.
  • Site content analysis of readership and page bounces as an indicator of poor content/navigation
  • Crating goals for analysis and conversion rate calculations
  • Ad tracking and ROI data
  • It is very powerful, but can be confusing at time in the UI
  • Changes to the product require a bit of re-training.
  • It is a little tricky to Anonymize IP to improve GDPR compliance.
It is well suited for website analysis. I have not used it for apps, so I cannot speak to that. There are so many integrations with GA that you can find just about any solution you need, such as WordPress plugins.
Read T. Blane McMichen's full review
May 21, 2018

Review: "Google Analytics has made everything smoother!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is a great tool to see how many active users are on our site at that moment. Additionally, it's helpful to see where incoming users are coming from (i.e. Google, Flipboard, Twitter). It is being used across my department, as the business team, but also among other teams such as the marketing team and social team.
  • Informs you of how many active viewers are on our site in real-time.
  • Allows you to go deeper and see what companies are reading our site -- C-Suite, Fortune 500 etc.
  • Allows you to track which times of the day or which day of the week attracted the most people to our site and qualitatively thinking why this may be.
  • It would be helpful to have more insight into our audience. If it shows that they're working in government, it would be helpful to see what sector of government they're working in.
Google Analytics is well suited for scenarios where you want more insight on your active and daily users. Being in ad ops. When we see a spike in our users it helps to figure out why, and what our readers are most interested in.
Read Melanie Singer's full review
January 31, 2018

"Google Analytics...Great way to get the most accurate Data."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google analytics is a great way to measure campaign success along with gathering general trends our customers habits and needs.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Great integration with Google Ads
  • Quickly able to gather various time dates.
  • Variable time rate data should run quicker
  • Ability to add a third dimension on report pages
  • Quicker exporting of data/reports.
Wondering how many users from a University used a campaign.
Read Jonathan Stephan's full review
July 09, 2018

Google Analytics Review: "The best analytics solution for any website."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, we primarily use Google Analytics to measure and analyze our website's performance across digital marketing channels. Google Analytics is the best tool on the market - no other analytics solution can provide the insights into our website visitors and how they behave when they reach our site. Eventually, we plan on implementing Firebase Analytics, which is Google's solution for tracking mobile app analytics. It will be great to see and understand how our customers interact with our app.
  • Reporting is definitely a strong suit of Google Analytics. Data is useless if you can't interpret it, and Google makes data visualization very easy.
  • Google has a built-in Analytics Intelligence feature - what this does is provide actionable insights into your data without you having to do anything. Google can understand what your data means and make suggestions based on that data.
  • Another strength is that Google Analytics seamlessly integrates with all of Google's other products. The big ones for us are Optimize and Google Tag Manager. Being able to connect these services and use them in parallel with each other saves us a lot of time.
  • Google Analytics' integration with Salesforce requires you to be using the Google Analytics 360 suite, which is their paid version. This is surprising considering most GA integrations don't cost anything.
Google Analytics is a tool that anyone with a website or mobile app should be using. Whether it's a public facing site, an internal site, a customer knowledgebase, or an app in the Play Store - Google Analytics is perfect for helping you understand your visitors and users. The best part is that it's free with pretty much every analytic tool you could want.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2018

User Review: "Google Analytics - Love It"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is currently being used to track the number of users and multiple conversion points across our site, across various channels, including but not limited to PPC, Paid Social and Organic. It helps to bring all the conversion and revenue numbers together for all the channels as a total, which helps the client see how their business is performing as a whole.
  • Google Analytics allows for very detailed remarketing lists that can be pushed in AdWords.
  • Tracking of the traffic and various conversions through each channel.
  • Google Analytics tracks users that are not only in your country but across the world. This helps when you are building a strategy that has an international component.
  • Great attribution section, which shows the user journey for each conversion.
  • It would be good to see labels from AdWords to be visible in Google Analytics.
  • The dashboard and unique features can be a bit cumbersome and difficult to use if you are using it for the first time.
The reason I'd recommend Google Analytics is because, firstly, it can track the traffic from multiple channels, such as email, paid social, as mentioned earlier this helps when planning strategy or deducing reasons for lower traffic or conversions for a particular channel. Secondly, the remarketing lists and custom reports section works very well when it comes to creating and reporting on campaigns.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2018

Google Analytics Review: "I highly recommend!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GA is used across the entire organization, but probably most actively in our department. It helps us understand consumer behavior on our website, which is quite expansive and complex. It has proven to be invaluable to our institution, with actionable insights about every part of our business. I could not be more pleased with its ease of use and the accuracy of the information and data within.
  • campaign tracking
  • conversion tracking
  • user path tracking
  • content evaluation
  • training modules for advanced users
  • GUI dashboard walkthroughs, sometimes less experienced members of the organization have a difficult time creating dashboards
  • cross-channel attribution; allowing for 3rd party data like sales call analytics, integration with other analytics platforms, etc
Of the different solutions I have used, Google Analytics is by far the best analytics platform available. Even the free version is worth it.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2018

Google Analytics Review: "GA Premium issues and bugs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GA is used to track paid ads against ROI. In addition, track website performance and CID. It can track online visits to offline purchases .
  • Can track my individual and device.
  • Connection to big query is robust.
  • Data studio is great to visualize the data.
  • Tracking on the dbm and dsm is inaccurate and slow.
  • The dbm and dsm data doesn't work.
  • Many bugs with the Dbm data .
I don't think GA has really solved many of the basics bugs and issues with tracking. Still feels like it's in beta. Audience center doesn't work correctly.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2017

User Review: "Analyzing Google Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While Analytics has a laundry list of really great features involving real-time audience tracking, behavior factors on website visitors, and various event tracking services, I primarily utilize it to find origination points in our client pipelines. It is important that we are able to tell if a recent blog entry is doing exceptionally well, or if a referral source is seeing a traffic spike. Analytics, like most of the offerings in the Google ecosystem, is extremely easy to pick up and use but has a ton of complexity under the hood.
  • Tracks clients along digital pipelines well.
  • Follows client behavior on your website effectively.
  • Excellent support for multiple websites.
  • There are some redundant systems in place.
  • Tracking isn't always consistent, but it's more accurate than competitors.
Google Analytics handles every level of the user experience on your website exceptionally well. It is easy to jump quickly between a macro level view of every visitor currently active on your website, to a micro level view of a user on a specific page from a specific source. I genuinely have no complaints when it comes to Analytics doing the specific job it is built for.
Read Jeffrey Smith's full review
January 03, 2018

Google Analytics Review: "Perfect measuring tool for our sales/marketing team."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics to measure the effect of our sales and marketing campaign and also to track key metrics of visitors to our website.Thereby, serving as a guide towards knowing how best to tailor our sales and marketing efforts for maximized effect.
  • Google Analytics is free.
  • Enable us to set up reports via channels; enhancing our ability to track the efficiency of our sales efforts towards user conversion.
  • Simple integration; Integrating Google analytics on our website took less than five minutes. We simply copied and pasted the Analytics tracking code to our HTML code, and that was all.
  • Steep learning curve; Takes a bit of time to get accustomed to the work environment(dashboard) of this tool. No thanks to the user interface, which is very much clustered.
  • Poor support: I wish there was a go to support team for the free version of this tool. Currently what we have available is just basic documentation.
Google Analytics is perfect for measuring marketing campaign performance, monitoring web traffic sources and is a great tool for monitoring month to month comparison performance.
Read Vikram Balaji's full review
December 22, 2017

Review: "Google analytics gives us precious insights."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use google analytics to get insights into our visitors to our websites behave on a daily basis, and the key characteristics of these visitors. We use this information to analyze steps to improve our service.
  • User insight : Google analytics provides us fantastic data about users who have visited our platform on an average level. Letting us know personal data like what mobile phone they use, their ISP provider, average gender of web visitors, etc.
  • Page testing : Google analytics helps rate each page on our website, putting into perspective things like how fast our page loads, caching capability of each page, etc.
  • Process flow : Google analytics allows us set a process flow from starting from when a user "visits the website" to the goal of successfully "ordering a ride". Thereby allowing us gain insights into the percentile of users who completed this goal, and the ones who didn't.
  • Cluggy dashboard ; The dashboard is way too cumbersome. Can be Herculian finding specific informations.This need be sorted out by the Google team.
Google is suited for every 21st century internet business with a forward looking outlook. It provides businesses with data which can make or mar their business.
Read Abiola Adeniyi's full review
December 20, 2017

Google Analytics Review: "A must have in your marketing mix!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for lead generation, traffic analysis, and visitor research. Only marketing department uses Google Analytics and any agencies that we work with. It is a great tool!
  • Visitors
  • Audience Research
  • Goal Funnels
  • Real-time reports do not respond organically, continued refresh is required
  • Intelligence is terrible! They claim that AI will get better, but it has been declining
Use it everytime for online traffic!
Read Justina Rimkeviciute's full review
August 11, 2017

Google Analytics Review: "GA is Tricky at Time but is the best"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used by the Marketing Team, Its used to track the major source of traffic to the website which then helps the business to track the website performance and to know where users are going when they visit the website, which forms give us the maximum conversion on the website.
It is an essential tool when it comes to figuring out what sections of the site are most popular, and which sections could use some help.
  • It's free!!
  • We can create goals to track, which forms on the website give us maximum number of leads
  • We can enable tracking on the forms to see where are the maximum drop off and hence modify the fields based upon its popularity
  • We have connected the GA account with Ad words and manage the keywords
  • Set up custom reports and enable the subscription to go to all the stakeholders so that everyone in the business is up to date with the number of leads and traffic coming to the business
  • Track specific information depending on the needs and requirements of the business
  • Easy installation of GA on third party software for a holistic view of User behaviour
  • It requires technical knowledge to create goals, events etc in order to do some custom tracking, and people who have less knowledge can go down the rabbit hole find for information as it is quite overwhelming
  • When the traffic is high the data is not accurate
  • You can become certified easily as its open book and then it lasts only for a year
It provides us detailed data which helps us measure the effectiveness of the website (for example, the page, or the form from which we get the maximum conversion, how much time people spend on the website and the website load speed). It less appropriate in giving the right attribution to the visitors for their purchase, as the visitors do not always access the website directly before making a purchase. They generally go to multiple channels before they make a purchase. So its gets hard to give credit to the marketing channel without having a deep understanding.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2017

Google Analytics Review: "The analysis that beats the rest"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is a vital part of our analytics process, helping us uncover our audience and make business decisions regarding who we should be targeting and what campaigns have been successful. From looking at the results every month, we are able to compare our progress and see if current campaigns will work best for the following period. It's a tool predominantly used by marketing, although we do have the occasional sales person have a look too, from all over the globe.
  • Competitor Analysis
  • Audience Research
  • Campaign Research
  • Reporting and Dashboards
  • Comparison
  • Year-by
Google Analytics is well suited when looking at your audience, and finding out which country they're from as well as the most-spoken language, and more. Especially if it's a company looking to progress into different countries, this is a great benchmark to look at where you should be making targets. I wouldn't necessarily use Google Analytics for things such as deciding what value to put on something, as spending money on a project shouldn't be determined just by where it ranks in your analytics, but rather what kind of audience you gained from it - which is hard to specify.
Read this authenticated review
July 25, 2017

"Google Analytics Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is available to the entire company, but only certain teams know how to use it. It addresses the business problem of tracking business decisions and knowing where users are going when they visit the website. It is an essential tool when it comes to figuring out what sections of the site are most popular and which sections could use some help.
  • Excellent user experience
  • Great online tutorials to teach people how to use it
  • Customer support that is easy to access
  • Too many bells and whistles - it can get confusing
  • Beta sections are on the site which can also get confusing
  • Too many reports to chose from
Google Analytics is well suited for tracking how many users are visiting certain areas of the site. It is also well suited for mobile applications and figuring out how many impressions there are. The revenue section under acquisition can be confusing if you are not sure how much money to equate to different decisions.
Read this authenticated review
August 29, 2017

User Review: "Google Analytics for the win!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used both internally, and with our clients. It is essential in showcasing ROI and the success of media campaigns, site launches, SEO and paid search efforts. In Google Analytics you can see user demographics (including language, location and more), and how users get to and interact with your site through event and goal tracking.
  • Google Analytics is incredibly easy to use and navigate. It allows you the flexibility to scale across teams/companies easily.
  • The granularity of the data, and the ability to add dimensions to data is indescribably crucial to gaining insights both internally and externally.
  • Integration with DataStudio (although currently in beta), could be enhanced. The flexibility just isn't there yet, and it makes it difficult to get the specific charts I want and need.
  • I wish GA would add the ability to add even more dimensions to the data.
Google Analytics is a free tool. It's easy to add to a site, so I recommend setting up an account no matter if you use additional analytics platforms or not. GA is a bit tedious to use on larger sites and can easily get complicated if multiple sites are in one property and no one is managing them.
Read this authenticated review
August 28, 2017

User Review: "Google Analytics for the win!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics across the entire organization. It's invaluable for knowing what content is effective. Its integration with Adwords is a little confusing. Particularly as it relates to "Conversions vs. Goals". Other than that it's simple to use and easy to navigate.
  • Visual reportings
  • Easy setup
  • Email reports
  • Adwords conversion tracking and Goal conversions seem inconsistent
For anyone doing content marketing for inbound leads.
Read this authenticated review
June 30, 2017

Google Analytics Review: "GA Is the best!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics for numerous amounts of data gathering, both for our own marketing site, our customers "product" sites that they actively use as part of their service, and we use it for "in-app" tracking to determine how users are using our product. Basically, we use Google Analytics for tracking everything!
  • Google Analytics does the obvious thing really well: tracks user behavior around our website. But more specifically, it allows us to do some very complicated attribution to behavior, traffic sources and even specific campaigns or devices. Depending on the volume of traffic we are trying to analyze and the purpose, we can narrow things down EXTREMELY well and get a great story to use for data mining.
  • The eCommerce tracking with GA (Google Analytics) is hands down the best. Specifically, its attribution to traffic sources and matching with user behavior that is the best. I have yet to find another tool that can let me track traffic sources, split campaigns down to devices and track which inventory was purchased specifically from that campaign--especially if I am looking back at inventory purchased from a campaign (or in our case, people who signed up for Classes) I can tell all of that from GA.
  • You can use GA to track specific user accounts within a product, and differentiate user behavior within the product based on account roles. A lot of people don't know about this, but with the help of a developer you can leverage a TON of data including creating lookalike audiences that you can sync into AdWords and make your display campaigns highly targeted. Most people think this kind of feature is only available on Facebook ads--nope! :)
  • GA can be very confusing if you aren't extremely tech savvy. The interface is intimidating to most people, and without some training the reports are hard to understand.
  • The jargon really trips a lot of people up. Like what's the difference between a session and a user? What are "hits"? Stuff like this is frustrating if you haven't been through any kind of training for GA.
I always recommend Google Analytics. I've never had a site I've worked on that didn't use Google Analytics.
Read Seth Tucker's full review
June 29, 2017

Google Analytics Review: "Hassle Free Way to Monitor Your Website Performance"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used to review our website performance as well as evaluate website design effectiveness. It is also used to evaluate marketing efforts (for example: measuring traffic to a landing page created specifically for a digital marketing campaign). This is used mainly by our marketing department as the purpose of Google Analytics to measure the effectiveness of the website.
  • Website Insight: It provides detailed data to measure the effectiveness of your website (for example, which page your customers visit the most, which page they spend time on reading the most).
  • Customer Data: it also provides some insight on your potential target market since it records the age/gender/location of the website visitors. These data are useful, especially when being used together with digital marketing campaigns to make sure your ads go to the right target market.
  • Multiple Website Data Management: one account can measure different websites so it is convenient, especially when you are running multiple websites for your business.
  • Website Integration: In order for Google Analytics to measure the most accurate data, it requires you to put a code into your website. This could be hard sometimes especially if the user is not a person who is familiar with coding.
  • Accessing Data sometimes takes longer than expected.
  • Mobile Apps are too hard to be used. There are a lot of features that are more effectively shown on the version on browsers.
Google Analytics is best used together with digital marketing tools like AdWords so you can measure the traffic that the ads draw to your website. Also, it is effective in collecting customers' insight to promote your products and services. For example, if Google Analytics shows that most of the visitors of my website are aged from 25 to 35 and most of them are males, I will create content that leans towards males at that age more.
Read Tony Phan's full review
July 06, 2017

User Review: "Google Analytics will save your life"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used only by the marketing department to track website traffic. I am on it every day tracking different statistics. It solves the problem we had before I came to this company-- no tracking of any kind. I have used it in previous companies and found it incredibly useful.
  • Gives good statistics for how long people are on your website.
  • Unearths opportunities you may have missed; pages you didn't expect people to be reading but are more so than others.
  • Able to show you the path people are taking on your website.
  • It can be very complex. If you don't have training beforehand you'll be lost.
  • You can become certified but it only lasts a year.
It is perfect for a marketing department who wants to track website traffic. This is the only scenario where it's used. But it also enables you to set up tracking on other items as well, such as leads that do a specific action on your website and so on. It can also be linked to other applications like HubSpot and Power BI for a more visually pleasing display of results.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2016

Google Analytics Review: "Helpful tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Google Analytics for over two years, and I am still hooked to it. It provides excellent and precise details to each activity on the website. It counts how many times each user has visited, how much amount of time he visited, and also, from where they visit. Google Analytics is ideal in terms of keeping track of your website. Combined with AdSense, it gives insight to what percentage of people have come back and clicked on the adverts. Google Analytics is now the only marketing and research tool I will use.
  • A pool of features.
  • Precise information.
  • Straight-forward.
  • An interactive GUI can attract more people.
  • For a [new] starter, it will require training sessions.
  • Creating custom reports is somewhat limited.
When you are looking for targetted or organic traffic, it is best suggested
Read katherine henz's full review
August 17, 2016

Review: "Google Analytics: Vital to e-Commerce success"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a SaaS company where access to Google Analytics (GA) is given by the client to the marketing rep and the CSM. The CSM team uses GA data for quarterly business reviews (QBR). We also track goals, events and conversions on a daily/weekly basis.
  • Offers a wide range of reports plus the ability to export them in various formats for client presentations.
  • The ability to view a breakdown of traffic, such as, geographic locations and demographics.
  • Ease of use. Everything you need is right in front of you on the dashboard.
  • The failure to differentiate bots from real users, which causes inaccurate traffic counts.
  • Cannot see exact specifics on some metrics. For example, the ability to see which keywords visitors are using to find our clients.
I have been working in eCommerce for over 5 years now and strongly believe Google Analytics is critical for a successful e-commerce business as it helps identify which marketing channels/sources are most valuable at driving revenue.
Read Tania Momin's full review
August 04, 2016

Review: "Google Analytics should be everyone's first web analytics solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business is an online website. We use Google Analytics to track site traffic, overall engagement on the site, key events that happen -- all with an aim toward understanding our user base and what is working and not working on our site and our efforts to increase traffic and engagement (and monetization!)
  • Aggregates statistics along multiple dimensions for quick analysis -- geography, traffic source, campaigns, landing pages, etc.
  • With goal tracking, it allows you to see conversion rate metrics (be they site registration, purchase, or whatever) across various landing pages or audience segments
  • It's very simple to create sets of queries and group them together in dashboards of key metrics and trends and share them with colleagues across the organization
  • Google Analytics does allow you to filter results based on a primary or secondary dimension (e.g. landing page and source) -- but it would be better if the user could pick finer grained segments utilizing more dimensions (e.g. "visitors from Canada who visited Landing Page X via Inbound Referral Link)
  • Comparing results over time (week on week, etc) should have shortcuts for common analyses (vs same day last week, vs same month last year, etc)
  • With Google Analytics (and all their products really), Google will change things by adding functionality or changing the names of concepts (recently they changed "Visits" to "Sessions") without so much as a peep alerting the user base. While most of the changes are for the better, a heads-up would be professional and appreciated.
Google Analytics is a very solid tool. It is appropriate for web sites of zero to moderate size -- after some tens of thousands of events or visitors in a short period they can subject you to sampling. So if you're running a Top 100 website with millions of visitors another larger solution is probably better for you. But if you're just starting out or dealing with tens or a few hundreds of thousands of monthly uniques and a relatively straightforward site structure and set of events [which is 99% of us] then Google Analytics is a great tool. Especially given that it's free!
Read this authenticated review

About Google Analytics

Google Analytics is perhaps the best-known web analytics product and, as a free product, it has massive adoption. Although it lacks some enterprise-level features compared to its competitors in the space, the launch of the paid Google Analytics Premium edition seems likely to close the gap.

Google Analytics Integrations

Google Analytics Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Google Analytics Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No