TrustRadius
WebTrends provides an enterprise web analytics platform and, according to Forrester, has a strong focus on support for mobile and social channels and a very open platform. Webtrends competes directly with Adobe Site Catalyst, IBM Coremetrics. and comScore DigitalAnalytix.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/wH/pt/7E8ZZ9I1DXMU.PNGWebTrends Analytics On Premises - A Workhorse, Not a FerrariMy company uses WebTrends on premises, and has ever since I started work here. During my tenure we have added Google Analytics to our website, but we continue to use WebTrends as well.,Custom Reports Reanalysis of old data Can analyze raw log files,Complexity Cost of ownership Adding new report parameters requires full reanalysis,7,WebTrends on-premise has a heavy initial investment for licensing, maintenance, and hardware. But once it is running, it just keeps going. Annual maintenance renewals have been our only cost for several years now. Up until the last year, WebTrends gave us a good return for our costs -- it allowed us to create the reports that our users requested, and allowed us to reanalyze old data for new information. WebTrends suffers in comparison to Google Analytics simply because it is not "free". But I But the experience I have in WebTrends allows it to produce many more benefits for our company.,Google AnalyticsWishing I could go back to WebtrendsI used Webtrends at a previous position, and boy do I miss it. We used it for complete weblog analytics to discover trends between purchases, site visitation patterns and our own forecasting. We used two feeds of Webtrends, a data dump and the UI. Webtrends allowed us to quickly and easily determine new demographics and merge important data with our other reports.,Having used two competitors, the company I am with now uses Omniture, I can honestly say that Webtrends is the best web analytics software I have used. Its UI is very intuitive and easily customized. The back-end data is fairly easy to get to, and it's no hassle getting IP or log level data, unlike competitors. I work with a team of web analysts now and talk about Webtrends to them like the munchkins talked about the Wizard of Oz. It's just a more superior software than most to data mine. Webtrends has great customer service support. They were able to allow us to build out custom reporting and dumps for our specific industry without price gouging us.,I would like to see stronger SQL integration into the UI program and software. Better tutorials for people More user groups in our area.,9,We provided analysis that increased our sales 10 percent for our web-based products. We were able to create better products dependent on customer searches. We managed vendor participation better. We had a few companies referring people to us, and we were able to track their results and cut the ones that weren't performing. We were able to do stronger forecasting by looking into where and how people engaged with our site.,Omniture and Google analytics,Domo, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft BIWebtrends - Competing with GA is a tough sellWebtrends analytics is your run of the mill web analytics software that is being used within our digital marketing dept. It is able to track and provide insights for our e-commerce website and goals set via trackers. It is primarily used by manager level associates to produce reporting and feedback to c-level execs within our company.,Custom built reports Huge customer support which is particularly useful for newbies Interface and UX is very intuitive,Plugins are not easy to use or implement There need to be more reports and template dashboards to present you with actionable data instead of having to build it out yourself Takes time and effort to fully implement into your site,6,Time needed to implement and create dashboards that are useful There are limitations on data export based on the range (think sampling) Needs more commonly used export formats for their reports,Google Analytics, Google Analytics Premium, FollowAnalytics, SEMRush, Moz and Ahrefs Site Explorer,Google Analytics, Google Analytics Premium, MozendaWebtrends Analytics ReviewsWe use Webtrends across the whole organization, for analyzing each of our platforms both independently and globally. All of the tools available compliment each other.,Powerful creation of reports. Different categories, globally seen by all platforms, platform specific and personal seen by only me Intuitive drag and drop interface Action center allows for events to trigger near real-time activities,API interface could be more intuitive,9,It has had a positive impact, scale yet to be determined,Google Analytics, Kissmetrics and ClickTale,Microsoft Power BI, Alteryx Analytics, Qlik SenseWebtrends Infinity Analytics - an honest reviewFor several years, we've used Google Analytics as the primary data-gathering tool for our websites. GA has several frustrations, and the larger our membership grew, the more inaccurate the data became. We considered several 'paid for' analytics suppliers, and we decided to work with Webtrends - using their Infinity product. The Webtrends team were super helpful at introducing us to the tool and demonstrating how it could help our particular needs, as this isn't a 'one size fits all 'product' - it can be customised. The team contacted us regularly with additions they made that would help us solve the data problems we were looking for and this doubled as demo sessions to also showed us what Webtrends Infinity was capable of - things that we hadn't considered that have since been ultimately useful. And, since choosing to go ahead with Webtrends Infinity, we've been very satisfied with the standard of customer service - guiding us in using the product, producing dashboards for us, readily accepting feedback, and being available for questions whenever we need them. These guys really know their stuff, and I have no doubt whatsoever that we made the right decision. Having accurate data that we can really dig into has been a huge boost to us and has had an immediate effect on decision making within the company.,Webtrends Infinity tracks our websites accurately - so we know the data we're getting is correct. Webtrends also tracks SPA's. Webtrends is customisable, so you can create and save your own reports, dimensions and metrics. You can really dig into the data with Webtrends Infinity to get many more insights that you could ever find using Google Analytics. The Webtrends team have helped us to produce dashboards for our regular reporting - literally saving us days of reporting time. The Webtrends team really know their stuff, and are on-hand to answer queries and questions, no problem at all.,There are a few tweaks to do on the new Infinity system (and the team are really pro-active with feedback), but there's nothing I'd say would need a major overhaul. In fact, new areas are appearing every week.,10,Since we started using Webtrends - knowing that the reporting is accurate - this has had an impact on the reliability of our data analysis where stakeholders are concerned, giving them more confidence in making decisions based on the data. This is only negative in terms of workload, but now that more people in the business are aware of what Webtrends is capable of, there are now many more requests for detailed analysis and I'm now finding myself training other colleagues in using it!,
Unspecified
Webtrends Analytics
62 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Webtrends Analytics Reviews

Webtrends Analytics
62 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 62 vetted Webtrends Analytics reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 30)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Mary Kay Scott profile photo
April 19, 2018

Review: "WebTrends Analytics On Premises - A Workhorse, Not a Ferrari"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses WebTrends on premises, and has ever since I started work here. During my tenure we have added Google Analytics to our website, but we continue to use WebTrends as well.
  • Custom Reports
  • Reanalysis of old data
  • Can analyze raw log files
  • Complexity
  • Cost of ownership
  • Adding new report parameters requires full reanalysis

I am more familiar with WebTrends than with Google Analytics, and I prefer its custom report creation capabilities. We still need to analyze raw log files occasionally, and having WebTrends on premises allows us to do that. With WebTrends, we own our data, and keep it onsite, unlike with Google Analytics.

Google Analytics is capable of showing live site visits, which our end users love. It is also easier for the users to do basic tasks in -- they find the WebTrends interface too confusing. User management is easier in Google Analytics than it is in WebTrends.

Read Mary Kay Scott's full review
Nathan Collins profile photo
March 29, 2018

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Wishing I could go back to Webtrends"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Webtrends at a previous position, and boy do I miss it. We used it for complete weblog analytics to discover trends between purchases, site visitation patterns and our own forecasting. We used two feeds of Webtrends, a data dump and the UI. Webtrends allowed us to quickly and easily determine new demographics and merge important data with our other reports.
  • Having used two competitors, the company I am with now uses Omniture, I can honestly say that Webtrends is the best web analytics software I have used. Its UI is very intuitive and easily customized.
  • The back-end data is fairly easy to get to, and it's no hassle getting IP or log level data, unlike competitors. I work with a team of web analysts now and talk about Webtrends to them like the munchkins talked about the Wizard of Oz. It's just a more superior software than most to data mine.
  • Webtrends has great customer service support. They were able to allow us to build out custom reporting and dumps for our specific industry without price gouging us.
  • I would like to see stronger SQL integration into the UI program and software.
  • Better tutorials for people
  • More user groups in our area.
Webtrends is great if you are looking for IP analyst web data without heavy levels of UI glut to interfere with your exploration of the data. We used Webtrends extensively to mine user behavior for our various webpages and to track referrals from the many clubs we manage. Tying this data back to other reports was very easy.
Read Nathan Collins's full review
No photo available
May 21, 2018

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends - Competing with GA is a tough sell"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Webtrends analytics is your run of the mill web analytics software that is being used within our digital marketing dept. It is able to track and provide insights for our e-commerce website and goals set via trackers. It is primarily used by manager level associates to produce reporting and feedback to c-level execs within our company.
  • Custom built reports
  • Huge customer support which is particularly useful for newbies
  • Interface and UX is very intuitive
  • Plugins are not easy to use or implement
  • There need to be more reports and template dashboards to present you with actionable data instead of having to build it out yourself
  • Takes time and effort to fully implement into your site
Webtrends analytics is an analytical tool I would strongly recommend to companies that are at the enterprise level as there are more affordable and robust solutions such as Google Analytics that does not charge a fee. (That is until your website receives an amount of traffic that exceeds their free version).
Read this authenticated review
David Cox profile photo
January 26, 2017

"Webtrends Analytics Reviews"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Webtrends across the whole organization, for analyzing each of our platforms both independently and globally. All of the tools available compliment each other.
  • Powerful creation of reports. Different categories, globally seen by all platforms, platform specific and personal seen by only me
  • Intuitive drag and drop interface
  • Action center allows for events to trigger near real-time activities
  • API interface could be more intuitive
It's well suited for analysing many sites across many locations.
Read David Cox's full review
No photo available
January 25, 2017

Webtrends Analytics: "Webtrends Infinity Analytics - an honest review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For several years, we've used Google Analytics as the primary data-gathering tool for our websites. GA has several frustrations, and the larger our membership grew, the more inaccurate the data became. We considered several 'paid for' analytics suppliers, and we decided to work with Webtrends - using their Infinity product. The Webtrends team were super helpful at introducing us to the tool and demonstrating how it could help our particular needs, as this isn't a 'one size fits all 'product' - it can be customised. The team contacted us regularly with additions they made that would help us solve the data problems we were looking for and this doubled as demo sessions to also showed us what Webtrends Infinity was capable of - things that we hadn't considered that have since been ultimately useful. And, since choosing to go ahead with Webtrends Infinity, we've been very satisfied with the standard of customer service - guiding us in using the product, producing dashboards for us, readily accepting feedback, and being available for questions whenever we need them. These guys really know their stuff, and I have no doubt whatsoever that we made the right decision. Having accurate data that we can really dig into has been a huge boost to us and has had an immediate effect on decision making within the company.
  • Webtrends Infinity tracks our websites accurately - so we know the data we're getting is correct.
  • Webtrends also tracks SPA's.
  • Webtrends is customisable, so you can create and save your own reports, dimensions and metrics.
  • You can really dig into the data with Webtrends Infinity to get many more insights that you could ever find using Google Analytics.
  • The Webtrends team have helped us to produce dashboards for our regular reporting - literally saving us days of reporting time.
  • The Webtrends team really know their stuff, and are on-hand to answer queries and questions, no problem at all.
  • There are a few tweaks to do on the new Infinity system (and the team are really pro-active with feedback), but there's nothing I'd say would need a major overhaul. In fact, new areas are appearing every week.
It's well suited for most types of reporting that we do, whether that's ad-hoc reports, campaign reports, email reports, right up to monthly and quarterly reports that require dashboards. It also integrates with many other systems, including social media analytics. We are also customers of Webtrends Optimise (for A/B testing), and the segments and data from this also integrate with Webtrends Infinity - which is really handy. The only thing Webtrends can't do at the moment is to integrate with Hotjar.
Read this authenticated review
Charles Wade profile photo
September 30, 2015

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends Streams to Success for your Organization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The javascript tagging of our website provides better metrics over traditional weblogs in tracking unique visits and visitor
  • The pushing of reporting to mobile devices like iPhone and iPad has been useful to the user community
  • By adding scheduled tasks I was able to get web logs from SDC to run metrics hourly. Which comes in hand on heavy traffic days to demographics and for capacity planning for load balancing and adding additional servers into the server farm.
  • Path analysis helps to track are visitors to the site going to the pages you want to direct them to. It also shows conversion rates and where the visitor left or abandoned the site before converting
  • Metrics can be extracted easily to pass to web services to support other services. For example, passing website metrics to the CIO dashboard.
  • Webtrends comes with a compliment of reports with the feature of creating custom reports for a particular client's needs, and to track particular metrics for a specific incident or interest
  • The addition in Insight of social media tracking was a huge help to my Facebook and Twitter metric tracking
  • No complaints it had all of the functionality that I needed.
Webtrends Streams has been huge to see visitor data almost instantly.
Read Charles Wade's full review
Chris Grant profile photo
April 08, 2015

Webtrends Analytics: "Webtrends Review from long experience"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our use case is as an interactive agency. Some of our clients come to us as Webtrends customers, and we provide implementation and/or support as part of our overall web site development and maintenance practice. The Webtrends consumers at our clients' organizations tend to be in the marketing area, as the tool is used for one or more of the following: 1) assess the performance/value of the web site itself, 2) assess the performance of the marketing that brings people to the web site, or 3) for diagnostics, i.e. what parts of the content, navigation, etc seem to be causing site visitor successes or problems. The audience for the first is execs, for the second is marketers, and for the third is site managers and strategists.
  • More than some of its competitors, most Webtrends' configurations (reports, dimensions, filters, content groups, measures) can be done in the admin UI, rather than in the tagging and site code. The tag itself is smart - it can sense offsite links, clicks on pdf downloads, form button clicks, and so on, which eliminates a lot of extra coding or tag modification that has to be done with other products.
  • There are so many levers and buttons in the configuration that nearly anything can be turned into a report, or a report dimension, filter, or measure.
  • It allows re-analysis of past data as far back as 90 days. Usually, you do this if you have created new custom reports, content groups, change the filters, and so on.
  • There is a software version, called On Premises. (The SaaS version is called On Demand.)
  • It has real path analysis ... it does not daisy-chain individual steps as others do. The paths it displays are what happens in actual visits, up to 20 steps long. It has forward and backward paths (one visit can appear several times depending on how many times the node was hit), paths-from-entry (one visit, one path), content group paths as well as page paths. Its one lack (that I care about) is SiteCatalyst's Pathfinder report which allows you to identify wildcard pages in a 3-step hypothetical path.
  • This isn't going to ring a bell for a lot of people, but it handles list variables much better than its competitors (basically, parameters that hold multiple values such as "choose as many as apply" kinds of variables.
  • It handles the tabulations of parameters really well. It deals with three kinds of parameters: those in the pages' URL, those placed in the WT.meta's (I don't think any competitors use this approach and it is fantastic for easily keeping URLs clean for SEO purposes), and those collected automatically by the standard tag. When tabulating parameters, its competitors require more up-front work, lots more configuration time, or severe limits on the quantity.
  • Having recently tried out Google Analytics' new Content Groups feature, I was reminded of how powerful it is in Webtrends. There's really no comparison. Furthermore, the content groups can be configured p in the UI as well as hard-coded into the page. Content Group paths can be up to 20 steps long, and are not daisy-chained.
  • The big downside, the elephant in the room, is that it does not (as of right now) have on-demand segmenting, drilldowns, etc. You have to think of what you want in advance and create those reports then analyze some data. This is huge. You can, of course, re-analyze old data after creating new reports but you still have to wait. (This deficiency may become obsolete with the release of Webtrends Explore later this month (May 2014).)
  • It has fewer mature integrations with other products and databases than competitors do, although I'm told it works with SharePoint better than anything else does.
  • Its attribution modeling capability is behind Google Analytics'. In my humble opinion, this could be changed quickly if Webtrends would make some tweaks to its standard visitor history files (i.e. preserve the order in which past visits were sourced beyond the single most recent one, rather than storing all those past sources as a randomized list).
  • It doesn't incorporate statistical tests, confidence intervals, or statistical associations. However, this same criticism can be applied to its competitors (other than A/B Testing products). It's a tabulation program, as they all are. In this respect, web analytics tools as a group are relatively primitive. Sorry to bring this up as a criticism of Webtrends but it's my pet peeve about the whole industry and I just have to say it. (p.s. take advantage of the heavy-duty Webtrends Scheduled Export functionality to get really granular data that you can feed to a stats program to get significances.)
  • Although the documentation, help screens, phone support and the knowledge base have improved tremendously in recent years, there is still a pretty steep learning curve because it is different from the tools that entry-level users may have already been exposed to. This can be a shock and many users are alienated at first because they just don't get some of the fundamentals at first. I'd like to see much better help screens that are thoroughly interlinked with the KB and documentation. Having superb online support would make a world of difference with the adoption of this basically powerful tool.
The drawback of not having on-the-fly segmenting and drill-downs makes the difference between a 7 and a 10 here. In another month, after I've worked with the new Webtrends Explore product, I'll come back and re-score this.

Other than that ....

The ability of the standard product to re-analyze back to 90 days is a huge differentiator.

If you want some really finely-honed filters, content groups, etc Webtrends probably has the flexibility to set them up exactly as you want, by configuring them in the UI. This is really Webtrends' strength - once you know what you want, you can almost always get it out of Webtrends, fix it in place, and get great insights.

Over time, Webtrends has added a lot of parameters to the data that its tag collects and you can do a lot with them. Webtrends' weakness, at this point, is that you have to do some thinking ahead for those finely focused reports. Of course, there are zillions of out of the box reports that area ready to go.

Also, if you won't accept the usual SaaS model where your data is held elsewhere, Webtrends Analytics On Premises is just about the only thing out there that has any power. Ditto for needing to re-analyze data going really far back, or analyzing server log data.

If you don't have a lot of IS support, meaning the ability to create code changes in the site when you want to change some of the configurations, Webtrends' smart tag and the many options in the admin UI can save you. (Don't let tag management vendors make you think that you won't still need IS all the time. You may not need IS per se, but you will need a technically savvy person to run the tag management!)
Read Chris Grant's full review
Matthieu Dejardins profile photo
March 18, 2015

Webtrends Analytics Review: "The promise of a powerful analytics tool which was deceiving"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Webtrends on 9 (with the promise of taking advantage of the version 10 release) on our 8 top website domains out of 32.

It was used in addition to other existing Analytics tools: Google Analytics and Tealeaf.

Our goal was to solve the following business problems:
  1. Campaign tracking supporting our redirecting structure
  2. Multiple currency handling under the same domain name
  3. Absence of data sampling 50,000 URLs/day or 500,000
    visits/month
  4. Acceptable reporting performance speed
  5. Funnel analysis options
  6. Data import and 3rd
    party integration (ESP)
  7. Data export capabilities to other BI solutions (EDW)
  8. Visitor segmentation (personalization)
  9. Data ownership (client vs. vendor)
  10. Service Level Agreement (SLA)
  • Don't ask you to pay for both collected and analyzed data
  • Custom reporting: ability to leverage tracking and create meaningful reports for Business users
  • The product itself was very slow (9) or buggy (10)
  • The ability to create new custom reports complex (consultant needed and can not apply historical data without replay)
  • The possibility to drill-down data limited and not dynamic (segments, funnels, goals)
  • The UI is rudimentary (9) or visually overwhelming (10) without thinking about functionality (advanced segmentation)
The analytics only includes a single depth of visits (you need Visitor Data Mart for multiple visits). Also, the depth of action analysis is limited to single action (you need Visitor Data Mart for multi-actions). Moreover, the depth of visitor knowledge is limited (you need Visitor Data Mart for deep and/or lifetime). Lastly the visitor segmentation has to be predefined (you need Visitor Data Mart so it's dynamic and real-time). In the end, you only have a basic site measurement with a view on key metrics and custom reports.
Read Matthieu Dejardins's full review
Seth Garske profile photo
February 27, 2015

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends - Falling behind the curve"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very flexible when there is a need to set up custom reports.
  • Doesn't provide enough out of the box reporting/metrics.
  • Dashboards and UI are difficult to navigate, but getting better.
  • Excel plug-ins are not intuitive and hard to use vs. Omniture's Report Builder.
Webtrends has quickly fallen behind the clear leader (Adobe's SiteCatalyst), and I would even place them behind the free version of Google Analytics at this point.
Read Seth Garske's full review
Chaim (Daniel) Arnstein profile photo
June 03, 2014

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends - The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Webtrends is used on a department by department basis. In most cases, the requirement is simply to gauge the effectiveness of the web site by measuring the number of visitors visiting the web site, and comparing usage month over month. Some of the newer implementations use Smart Tags rather than log files, and drill down deeper into how the web site is being used.
  • In terms of simple web site usage, Webtrends is excellent at showing increasing or decreasing usage month over month.
  • Webtrends is very good at showing what pages of the web site are getting the most usage, what are the most successful downloads
  • Webtrends is also very good at showing the geographic location of the clients. It is pretty good at showing what organizations the clients belong to as well.
  • For Webtrends on Premises, Memory usage is a big problem. And even powerful servers with copious amounts of physical memory - does not help for Webtrends
  • There doesn't seem to be an upgrade path for Webtrends on Premises. It is stuck at version 9.2b, and there are currently no plans to upgrade. Companies that want the latest features must instead use the hosted version, Webtrends on Demand. Companies may save on salaries, but they will need to pay Webtrends lots of money, if they are big users of the software.
  • Webtrends for SharePoint requires a Professional Services contract to do properly - Webtrends does not share the documentation. Some of the other add-ons have the same, or similar, issue.
Scenarios
1. If you want to use web server log files as input to your web analytics, then Webtrends will provides a good product, with great ease of implementation. Don't even think about being cheap on hardware, and make sure Webtrends runs on real servers, not in a VM environment.
2. If you want to use Data Tagging, similar to Google Analytics or Site Catalyst, Webtrends has a powerful product, just be prepared to pay.
3. If you are new to Web Analytics, but it is the strategic direction, start with Webtrends on Premises.
Questions to Ask
1. What are you trying to accomplish?
2. Can you place a dollar value on the benefit that you expect/need from Webtrends?
3.Can you live with Webtrends running SaaS?
Read Chaim (Daniel) Arnstein's full review
Mitchell Teixeira profile photo
May 15, 2014

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Respect the web analytics pioneer, Webtrends delivers!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Webtrends On Premises with SDC and Tag Builder to analyze B2B, B2C and local government websites. Typically it is used by a several departments to determine the effectiveness of their outreach. It provides an alternative to 'free' web analytics tools and other paid hosted WA tools.
  • Control privacy, data sharing and competitive industrial knowledge using Webtrends on premises
  • Great control over custom reports, custom dimensions and metrics
  • Flexible tool which allows multiple methods of data capture. To my knowledge it was the first tool with a Tag Builder / Tag Management function built in via a supporting website.
  • Requires careful setup and planning during implementation
  • If using web server logs, you're able to re-analyze historical data - but it takes time and careful planning/execution.
  • It would be great to have a fully implemented public test profile to send potential clients to see all the product's features
  • Wish it supported Microsoft HyperV virtualization. Last time I checked, only VMWare was supported for virtualization of on premises installations.
The On Premises product requires dedicated hardware and software resources. All versions require careful planning, setup and implementation to get reports which go beyond hits and visits.
Read Mitchell Teixeira's full review
Brian Mackintosh profile photo
July 11, 2014

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends in Big Distribution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Webtrends was the primary web analytics used in our North American eCommerce operations. It was used to measure overall traffic levels on our site as well as to look at specific customer usage (logged-in versus non-logged-in) and to provide deeper reviews of customer site search. This data was used to help manage our overall site search and SEO efforts.
  • Gives complete data. This is critical if you want to look at all of the data in a particular set of analysis -- all of the specific search data or customer data. WebTrends was not a sample based product so we could get full data as needed.
  • System availability. The tools were always available and had great up-time.
  • Customization. With the proper Analyst support we could configure Webtrends to provide the specific data sets we needed to make report decisions.
  • Customizing reports requires significant system knowledge. As a regular user, I found it very difficult to modify reports or metrics (compared to a product like Google Analytics). This required my organization to find and hire a WebTrends specialist to full utilize the power of the tool.
At the time Webtrends was an enterprise product that had a strong team behind it but cost would be an issue for small and medium-sized organizations.
Read Brian Mackintosh's full review
Adam Waddington profile photo
May 08, 2014

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends: Falling behind in analytics world"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Webtrends was being used by our clients for analytics purposes, primarily marketing professionals. Typically, users were interested in tracking interaction-level data such as user paths and marketing channels, and in some cases for data visualization and report-building.
  • Ability to customize variables, values, structure
  • Ease of access to customer support
  • Good price point compared to competition
  • User interface changes to allow for non-power users.
  • More out-of-the-box variable possibilities (plug and play)
  • Access to the deeper data (think data warehouse)
It all depends on the users. For power users who know how to implement and tweak the tool to work for their needs, it is a great option because you save time and money by building something truly to suite your needs. However, for general users (like marketing analysts), other tools may be easier to learn.
Read Adam Waddington's full review
Jaclyn Wallace profile photo
May 06, 2014

"Webtrends Analytics Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to track website engagement (ie. ad performance, overall webpage traffic, referring pages/sites)

Used by marketing departments within the organization.

Address areas of improvement for site performance. For example, one ad space performing better than another, certain webpages within a site that are getting more traction, etc.
  • Detailed traffic tracking - You are able to drill down within the profiles to get to a specific webpage you are looking for rather than it providing the "total" numbers (you are able to see which pages contributed to the total)
  • Time period selection - You are able to select a single day, group of days, week, months, years, and see the available metrics for what you have selected. This is useful for comparing monthly, quarterly, or annually.
  • Scheduling exports - The process of scheduling a report is not as simple as I believe it should be. The data arrives sometimes a day later than you indicated, sometimes a few days.
  • Deleting scheduled exports - As I am not the administrator of the tool I am not able to delete scheduled exports. This included exports that I have set up and are being sent to my email/stored in a location I have indicated. Have the capability to delete scheduled exports that you have created would assist in keeping only the necessary functions running and assisting in eliminating the delay of enabled reporting.
It would depend on what type of information they are looking for. If they are looking for webpage/site metrics my likelihood of recommending the tool would be an 8.
Read Jaclyn Wallace's full review
Lindsay Buescher profile photo
December 10, 2013

Review: "Webtrends Analytics 10 - Don't Rush into It...Weigh All Options First"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The Webtrends user interface is fairly easy to navigate and the reporting is pretty intuitive to figure out on your own.
  • The level of data that Webtrends provides is very helpful as an analyst to make appropriate optimizations for both the website as well as the paid advertising campaigns driving to the site.
  • For the most part, I trust the data that is collected by Webtrends since the site is being tagged and managed by a team of professionals at the company
  • In the past 2 years that I have been using Webtrends there was very little support and services/faq available online, which I've just noticed that they have started to address, which is great to see. For example, when I had a question on how Webtrends defines a certain site metric, they didn't even have a dictionary or reference guide online to help.
  • Customer service in general has been in issue for our agency in regards to response time to questions/troubleshooting and following through on client requests.
  • We have found that local market reporting can be limiting when you want to segment the data a lot further.
I would ask who their client is, what their objectives are and what type of data they are most interested in analyzing. Also, how tight of turnarounds do you have? Webtrends needs a LONG time to turn complex projects around, especially if you are thinking about multi-touch attribution -> forget about it if you need anything less than 6 months.
Read Lindsay Buescher's full review
Matthew Koppel profile photo
December 10, 2013

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Great Customer Service and an Okay Product"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • First and foremost, the customer service for Webtrends is excellent. Even if my name is not on the account, they will go out of their way to make sure everything is coded properly. Plus, they have a very active social media team that looks to answer small questions quickly that pop up on Twitter.
  • Implementation of Webtrends is a rather easy process for the basics. Compared to Omniture, I would say it takes about half the time.
  • I'm a big fan of the URL generator. When trafficking digital media, generating URLs can be a real pain and the generator is far better than anything for Google Analytics or Omniture.
  • Over the years, they have greatly improved the UX and UI of the system. It used to look more like an IT tool than a Business Intelligence tool. Now, I feel that it can operate as both.
  • Functionality is dependent upon implementation. If an IT department is in charge of implementation, then they will not be looking for the same things that a marketer needs.
  • Certain clients have required that I and my staff have to be on their network in order to access Webtrends. Accessing via a VPN connection can slow down the data download process.
  • Like all web analytics platforms, generating custom reports with multiple variables can effect the data output. I have found that the limit on Webtrends for a good pull is three dimensions. (I then have to go back and merge the data sets on my own.)
  • I would love for greater level of integration with adservers like DART or Atlas. If I could line up cookie level logs on the analytics and adserver, I could execute much deeper attribution and better QA.
It all depends on the colleague's function.

If the colleague is in marketing like me: I do most of my reporting through Tableau now, and Google Analytics allows me to pull the data directly into the program without downloading to an Excel file first. This is a big issue for me. If Webtrends can get themselves included on Tableau, I would be more apt to recommend it.

If the colleague is in IT, I would recommend with the caveat that they have to be flexible and talk to the other portions of their organization to ensure that reporting is optimized for all departments.

If the colleague is in finance, I would say that it's a good investment from the customer service standpoint. Omniture tends to be more expensive (Google Analytics Premium is definitely more expensive) so you need to see how your organization is going to use the information. Sometimes a business only needs the free version of Google Analytics, the work is not data intensive at that point and it's not worth the money.
Read Matthew Koppel's full review
Adam Krause profile photo
October 24, 2013

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends - A Flexible and Nimble Open Platform for Enterprise Data Analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Webtrends provides a platform that can accept any number of custom variables and can be adapted to fulfill a variety of business needs. Segmentation, purchase funnel, scenarios, dropoff and bounce rate are effective.
  • Webtrends 10 integrates analytics data with 3rd party data including app stores, Facebook, Twitter and YouTube. This provides a compelling case for programs that require insight into these data.
  • Webtrends is not great at providing statistical data for analysis. You need to enable Log File Delivery or create an analysis export to perform this. This could theoretically be done with Streams.
  • Webtrends has difficulty identifying multi-visit users due to the inherent fragility of cookie-based tracking.
  • Webtrends Analytics does not provide Pathing capabilities for segments, only for the aggregate. However, this can be worked around with Scenario functionality selectively fired by a tag management system.
  • Segmentation by high-cardinality parameters tends to cause issues with table limits. Even after scrubbing and scrutinizing data, we commonly see up of 10K rows per dimension. Due to this, we use Webtrends Analytics to roll up data into larger segments and export all of our log data into our database for heavy duty number crunching.
Read Adam Krause's full review
Kevin Ornduff profile photo
May 02, 2014

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by our analytics department to assess the viability of our websites that we produce. If there are usability issues or technical problems with a site, Webtrends helps us address those.
  • Data is well organized
  • Standardized setup
  • Has a clickmap, other software doesn't seem to have this feature
  • Not very customizable
  • "Clunky" or inflexible in some areas
  • Limited access to segment building/modification
It's inferior to Adobe Omniture in almost every way, but is better than Google Analytics and is fairly easy to implement.
Read Kevin Ornduff's full review
No photo available
April 29, 2015

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Webtrends 8.5"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Provides website traffic analytics.
  • Allows people to generate customized reports for particular time ranges or areas of site.
  • Allows you to filter out what Web content should not be included in analytics results.
  • Makes it easy to track downloads of documents such as PDFs, Word, Excel, etc.
  • The product has an unnecessarily complicated licensing for limits on page index limits.
  • Expensive compared to Google Analytics, hard to justify to IT management.
  • Could be more flexible in exporting custom searches into other formats such as PDF, Excel, Word, etc.
Our organization implemented Webtrends as software that we ran on our own servers, rather than as a service. This made the maintenance more cumbersome than necessary. I feel as though Webtrends has not been able to keep up with other web analytics services.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2015

Webtrends Analytics Review: "On-premise version not as strong as SaaS product."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It effectively measures transactions on the site. Currently, we measure primarily basic metrics such as visitors and site visits. We haven’t formalized a reporting/call to action for the data yet: It’s one of our biggest initiatives this year. Once the proper KPIs are established, it will provide the metrics to support the KPIs
  • It does not provide real time monitoring. We typically can look at data about 48 hours after it has occurred. This matters specifically for campaigns and for troubleshooting the site.
  • The On Premises solution is not as robust as the On Demand solution which our security department is hesitant to use. The On Premise version has fewer of the innovations than On Demand, including integration with Sharepoint, Spaces, and social media.
  • We are a health insurance company, so we are always cautious about releasing Protected Health Information (PHI). Since we are highly regulated, the consequences of a privacy breach are pretty severe, so we tend to be very conservative when sending data outside of our data environment. Being On Demand means are sending log files through the cloud which may or may not include PHI.
I highly recommend WebTrends, but would suggest the On Demand version.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 25, 2014

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Not recommended"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Webtrends until last month but we decided to move to to Google Analytics since we found a lot of restrictions with this product.
  • Friendly Heatmaps
  • Webtrends explore (tried) to make things look more user friendly ....(tried)
  • There are a lot of areas for improvements for this tool. It's a powerful tool however it has so many restrictions such as running historic data for the past 3 months only
  • Integration of Webtrends10 and WT9 did not work, you can see that since most of the time you still need to use WT9 in order to get results in WT 10 this is very confusing and frustrating
Compared to Coremetrics or Google Analytics, I definitely would not recommend as Webtrends is much more complicated to use and less flexible.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 31, 2014

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Choose a different solution"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Webtrends for over 6 years, but we are not renewing our contract. The Webtrends user interface and the fundamental way they do analytics is behind the times. While it was used Globally, we have had many issues getting the business to get into the tool to really use it.
  • Content groupings were a nice way to see groups of content (all cart pages, all product detail pages, etc); but this is available on most analytics systems
  • Historical reporting -- if you don't know exactly what you want to measure, you are out of luck. So, for example, if sales suddenly go up and you need to understand why, but you didn't have a report set up for sales by geography/sales by campaign/sales by promo code/sales by whatever (IP address for fraud, etc) you are out of luck. You can do a look back of 30-60 days, but it takes a significant amount of time to pull those reports. This is especially important when you're trying to trouble shoot issues -- maybe sales by browser (because of a cart issue in a browser, for example) is something you need, but you don't know.
  • Consistency of account managers -- turnover at Webtrends is very high. Our company went through 8 account managers in 2 years. Every new account manager, you have to start over.
  • Time to load data -- refreshes only every 12 hours. I need at least near-real time data. They do have Streams now which gives you real time data, but not on everything.
Adobe Analytics (formerly Omniture) is by far best in class. Even their Marketing Summit goes above and beyond. Google Analytics is actually a solid choice as well -- the free version is fine if you have less than 10,000,000 "hits" a month, otherwise sampling hits. Premium allows for many other tools too -- Big Query being a huge benefit. You also don't have sampled data with the Premium version.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 09, 2014

Webtrends Analytics: "WebTrends 9 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WebTrends is used by approximately 400 people across the organization who are trained as Web Authors. Web Authors are responsible for content management on the internal web pages for their department. We use WebTrends to gather data (visits, views, etc) and transform it into actionable information that we use to optimize web traffic.
  • Story mode presents data in an easy to read narrative format. This is important for people who are not necessarily the most computer savvy but still have the responsibility in their job description of managing webpages.
  • File exporting. This is convenient for whenever someone needs to report information to management.
  • Product support. This is a must when dealing with a complex software and I know that users appreciate it.
  • Outages. There have been a few times where the system was not able to provide information on the dates requested, which makes reporting to management difficult.
Not sure what is meant by selection process.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 02, 2014

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Sufficient but perhaps needs updating to compete"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used by our eCommerce team, as well as our Analytics team to get a deeper look into our website traffic, performance, and usability. The data received from WebTrends helps us to make critical business decisions that impact revenue.
  • Provides accurate traffic data and information
  • Includes heat maps to see where visitors are going on your website
  • I feel WebTrends is a bit outdated, not quite up to par with Omniture or Google Analytics
If you're going to make the decision to implement this type of tool into your company, I'd recommend checking out Omniture and Google Analytics as well before making your decision. WebTrends seems to have had their heyday.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 10, 2013

Webtrends Analytics Review: "Powerful Software...Weak User Support and Assistance."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Webtrends Analytics makes complex situations understandable to a non-technical audience. The vast capabilities and ways to slice data is both a great tool, but can also cause a user/users many hours of frustration.
  • Visual data display is clean, to the point, and not overly convoluted with unneeded variables and standard (defualt) settings. Everything the end user sees is customizeable.
  • Exports of raw data collections was easy and accurate. Once the parameters of data collection are finally set up and working, its easy to get what you want from the UI and is delievered in a variety of options.
  • The weakness of this software by far is the staff that support it. My company and I had some of the most frustrating conversations with people supporting our account. They would continually re-route us to other support staff. Their deadlines for solutions/answers were continually pushed back, and their answers of "Why" things were happening the way they were happening was most of the time just a ploy and cover up in hopes we would eventually stop asking the questions.
  • Although simple campaigns can be easily set up, I would say the set up for larger campaigns (as ours was) was extremely difficult and confusing. Webtrends offered many, many ways to see the same data, but unfortunately alot of the time the data was inconsistent when you knew it should be. An example of this would be our team trying to track the number of visits for Page A and where they were previously before coming to that page. Now, if on one view Page A visits returned 10,000 and on another view with different parameters showed 20,000 visits we knew something was not right. The issue would always be sent back to support staff who never really provided a logical answer as to why this was happening.
Make sure your end goals can be accomplished with this software. If it doesn't do what you need it to do, it isn't worth trying. Ask for previous examples from Webtrends and ask that the parameters be duplicated for your needs so you don't go through the headache of starting from scratch. I would also recommend that users of new accounts with Webtrends ask more questions up front than they feel are needed to complete the job. You would rather start out knowing as much as you can about what needs to happen before you commence using it and not get into unanswerable questions later down the process.
Read this authenticated review

About Webtrends Analytics

Webtrends Analytics provides a combination of features that are designed to provide an accurate and intuitive view into an organization’s multi-channel customer journey. According to the vendor, the key features enable not only sophisticated analysis techniques but also make key insights accessible to everyone in an organization.

Webtrends Analytics Features

Has featureMulti-Channel Measurement across social, mobile, web and SharePoint
Has featureConfigurable digital dashboards
Has featureReports
Has featureMetrics and Dimensions
Has featureAdministration
Has featurePath and Scenario Analysis
Has featureUnlimited Data Collection
Has featureAd-Hoc Data Exploration
Has featureExtensive data export
Has featureStandard and customized analytics reporting

Webtrends Analytics Screenshots

Webtrends Analytics Integrations

Webtrends Analytics Competitors

Webtrends Analytics Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry