SAP Master Data Governance Reviews

14 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Jeffrey Dewolf | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2020

Data governance for the SAP heavy enterprise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In 2014 our company decided we needed to modernize our master data governance approach. Part of this included moving to a technology platform that could enable us to implement intelligent automation and very clear global governance. SAP MDG is used throughout the entire company in more than 100 countries and is used for many types of master data objects from finance objects, to suppliers, to customers, and even including materials. Specifically SAP MDG has helped our company standardize our master data workflows thus simplifying our governance model while at the same time automatically catering for local legal differences. It also has enabled us to increase our data quality while at the same time use less resources (both technical as well as business resources). Finally, SAP MDG has enabled us to properly measure our data quality which is an important capability to successfully execute any governance program.
  • SAP MDG is a powerful platform that enables implementation of advance master data automation such as field auto derivation.
  • Like SAP ECC, MDG performs very well throughout all sites around the world.
  • SAP MDG comes equipped with the standard ECC or S/4Hana data models. This greatly simplifies rollout of the governance platform.
  • As with all powerful and complex information platforms, SAP MDG does have a learning curve to it, especially if you plan on doing advanced things such as implementing MDM automation.
  • SAP MDG is capable of replicating data across many platforms (including non-SAP) however, this too, has a learning curve to it and will require some work. Bottom line...it doesn't just happen out of the box!
  • SAP MDG's flexibility can also be a weakness as sometimes you just want to implement a standard governance flow without defining everything from scratch. We have found that usually, you will need to define each workflow yourself in order for it to work properly.
If you are in a large company, spanning many legal entities and are using SAP ERP as your main transactional system, SAP MDG is a great choice with many possibilities. Furthermore, if your landscape includes many products in the SAP family where data synchronization is required, it is also a great choice. If you are looking for a generic platform for data replication among many different non-SAP systems, you should careful study how this would work in practice. Additionally, if you are also looking for a data quality reporting platform, the combination of SAP MDG, Information Steward, and Data Services is very powerful and capable to achieve this.
For straight support of MDG and or how it interacts with the ERP system, the service is great. We use MaxAttention for this and have been very pleased. When looking for help for integration issues with satellite SAP products like Ariba, there is room for improvement here. The service is still available but the amount of iterations needed to get to a full solution are greater.
Read Jeffrey Dewolf's full review
Dishank Vishnoi | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2020

It's All About Data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by one department, but the organization is planning to use it across all departments. It's an enterprise-wide master data management application that is used to govern master data for business partners, products, etc. Constantly monitors the quality of master data and improves it.
  • One place for the whole company to look for master data info
  • Keeps track of missing attributes and provides reporting on data quality
  • Process analytics
  • Consolidates data to use best-matched records
  • If it's not managed properly, the same data could be placed in different places.
  • Hard to integrate with non-SAP systems
  • Hard to customize
SAP Master Data Governance is best suited to manage any master data across any enterprise. The availability to work with product characteristics allows you to define what is needed for each kind of product. Also, it can be used to provide data to third-party systems. In some cases, it is difficult to fit the specific and vertical requirements of certain industries.
SAP MDG is clearly focused on those organizations that have to manage a huge amount of data with several sources. It allows you to consolidate and update the data in one single place. Also, it can be used to provide data to third-party systems.
Read Dishank Vishnoi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2020

Recommended with reservations

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Master Data Governance was implemented to control the master data governance for material, customer, and vendor. It was initially implemented for Brazil and then rolled out to the USA and Mexico. The main problems were inefficient governance process, bad master data quality, and lack of visibility and control. There was also a big challenge for managing MRO and non-MRO material in the United States with a very complex requirement of description generation.
  • Workflow
  • Rules enforcement
  • Data quality
  • User interface
  • Replication
  • Mass creation of master data
  • Load of customizing into SAP Master Data Governance hub
We believe that SAP Master Data Governance fits well in an SAP landscape with SAP systems. If you get a hybrid landscape with different data models, it requires a bit more effort to get the solution configured. All the existent validations and UI are SAP data model focused. The replication is also straightforward with SAP systems. I would say it is less appropriate if you only have non-SAP systems in your landscape.
Usually the customer support takes a very long time to understand what is happening, process your message, and give you a solution, and sometimes you expend a month and you don't get a solution, even with the high priority messages. I believe the customer support in SAP Master Data Governance needs a lot of improvement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2020

SAP for institution-wide use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the product for all data management tasks within the university. We enter grades, we have employee services and even venue bookings. In terms of the departments, academic staff use the system for grading, attendance and employee services but it is also used by the students and the administrative staff to deal with specific tasks.
  • Employee services are great, especially the ability to control every aspect including leaves and feedback.
  • Grading is one of the assets because both instructors and students can easily follow progress thanks to the program.
  • Booking is another pro of the product. We can easily see which venues are available or which ones are taken and book accordingly and publish the bookings.
  • Attendance
  • I would only say being user friendly because it is a bit hard to figure out how to use it at first.
It is great for a university environment because it can be used to standardize the data collection procedures and some tasks.
Whenever I needed training or have a problem I always had someone to talk to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

SAP Master Data Governance review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We don't currently use SAP Master Data Governance (MDG) but we are in discussions to implement it to simplify the master data management. As we work in a retail company, we have to manage hundreds of thousands of products each season. Currently, creating and updating this master data takes too much time to maintain so we need a tool to simplify and speed up the product update process.
  • Consolidates all master data in one single place
  • Simplify the product data management
  • Keep track of missing attributes and provides reporting on data quality
  • Hard to customize
  • Hard to integrate with non-SAP systems
SAP MDG is clearly focused on those organizations that have to manage a huge amount of data with several sources. It allows you to consolidate and update the data in one single place. Also, it can be used to provide data to third-party systems.
We have not raised any note to SAP on this product but, in general, the support provided by SAP in others products has been satisfactory.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Master Data Governance tool: allows you to combine a transversal base with vertical solutions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In today's companies with so many different industries and sales channels under the same ERP, it's very important to govern the master data working as the unique master data provider of the group.
  • Be able to manage so many different industries at one single place.
  • One only place for the whole company to look for Master Data info.
  • Enable a standardization of the processes in the company as all the master data is governed centrally.
  • In some cases, difficult to fit specific and vertical requirements of a concrete industry.
  • If it's not managed properly, the same data could be placed in different places.
The solution has fit perfectly with all the industries I worked in. The availability to work with product characteristics allows you to define what is needed for each kind of product. Providing a strong vertical solution with a transversal base.
It's a good transversal solution, but at the same time it allows you to have vertical and specific details. It's the perfect rules to be able to escalate the solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

SAP MDG

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Master Data Governance is used to centralize and harmonize the master data related to products. we have many SAP instances so it was a must to have software capable of harmonizing it.
  • Central point of information.
  • Completion rules.
  • Not very flexible to customize.
  • Integration problems.
The answer is mainly based on the volume of the data. In case you have a huge amount of objects (product, customers, ...) and every single entity has many entry points is a strong recommendation. The tool allows customizing alerts of completion and data quality that helps a lo having good data in the system,
Support from SAP was as usual, where it is eventually hard to reach a real expert but once you have, problems get solved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

SAP Master Data Governance Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's an enterprise-wide master data management application which is used to govern master data for business partners, products, etc. MDG acts as a central hub that stores enterprise master data in one place. It maintains one source of truth and it replicates master data to all downstream systems as and when needed.
  • A centralized hub for enterprise wide master data.
  • Constantly monitors the quality of master data and improves it.
  • Consolidates data to use best-matched records.
  • No cons that I can think of.
SAP Master Data Governance is best suited to manage any master data across any enterprise.
Support has been very helpful!
Read this authenticated review

About SAP Master Data Governance

The SAP® Master Data Governance application provides ready-to-run, domain-specific master data governance, enabling users to decentrally own and consolidate or to centrally create, change, and distribute master data across the enterprise system landscape.

Tight integration with other SAP solutions supports the reuse of data models, business logic, and validation frameworks with open integration to third-party products and services to support your entire technology stack.

SAP Master Data Governance Features

Has featureData Consolidation
Has featureData Governance
Has featureData Quality Management
Has featureMass Processing
Has featureProcess Analytics

SAP Master Data Governance Screenshots

SAP Master Data Governance Videos (3)

Watch An overview video of SAP Master Data Governance capabilities for master data consolidation and data quality management.

Watch SAP Master Data Governance ensures the quality of your master data - from insight to action.

Watch Learn how SAP Master Data Governance enables operational excellence, trusted enterprise analytics, and compliance with government and industry regulations with data quality rule mining.

SAP Master Data Governance Downloadables

SAP Master Data Governance Competitors

SAP Master Data Governance Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAP Master Data Governance Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SAP Master Data Governance Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, AIX 64, HP-UX ON IA64, FOR ZSERIES, LINUX ON POWER BIG ENDIAN, OS/400, SOLARIS FOR X64, SOLARIS/SPARC 64, Z/OS
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: SAP MDG is provided in 30 languages. Additional localization possible.