TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/8Q/b9/W47TSZK0C41J.PNGDead Simple to use and Amazing supportScale computing is our primary device handling all of our internal files/databases/applications. The Scale Computing cluster provides all internal services for the whole company. We were looking to internalize services that were not ready to go cloud based that were previously hosted by an MSP. We were on a short time frame so we needed something easy to use, quick to deploy, and that had built in fault tolerance.,Extremely easy to deploy. Once the physical connections are made it is very simply to get your VM's up and running. Support was great to work with during the setup. I had a weird issue that turned out to be my monitor and unrelated to Scale and the technician figured it out over the phone. Redundancy built in with no configuration. I just deploy my VM and it is automatically replicated across nodes. SSD tiering system that moves most used blocks to faster storage providing IOPS where needed. This is fully customizable so I can choose what VM's need priority. Expandability I can easily add additional single nodes to increase my compute and storage capacity.,KVM based so most of the major Backup players can not backup at the Host level. This requires agents for backing up all VM's and also many backup vendors will not license agents at the Host level so you need to pay per VM for most backup solutions. Extended period where it was not compatible with latest Microsoft operating system (Server 2016 compatibility just came this spring) Email alerts are not directly compatible with Office365 (No TLS login support) No All SSD/Flash options are currently available. Requires external switch and configuration of switch for Node communication. Would like to see extended grouping for easier identification of VM's Some way to easily automate certain tasks. (Some kind of API or Scale supported scripting) Console has some quirks such as mouse not working when using a touchscreen laptop.,10,10,All our internal applications run on Scale Computing..We have not experienced in any issues with our business critical applications.These include SQL server, 2 Files servers, Various application servers. All Servers have run quick and haven't experienced any downtime.,We were previously spending 3k a month hosting these services with a local MSP. After Scale that bill went down to zero. We recovered our investment in less then a year. Previously when adding a new server or VM we had to pay additional monthly rate for every VM or service. With Scale we can spin up a new VM at anytime without any additional monthly cost. Because it is easy to use and configure we spend very minimal hours managing or babysitting the cluster this saves on labor costs for all IT staff.,Starwind, Simplivty and Nutanix,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor,Would revisit support of Backup products to make sure I had a solid strategy for backing up the VM's before deciding on a solution. Not that Veeam has agents it is less of a problem.Scale Computing HC3 - A Review from the IT TrenchesScale Computing HC3 (Scale) is used company wide. Scale was selected as our primary hypervisor. Before Scale, we were a pure physical server shop. With the power of Scale we were able to convert our physical servers to virtual servers (P2V) with minimal effort. The tools that were supplied by Scale aided in the P2V process. We were able to convert nearly our entire Information Technology (IT) infrastructure to virtual in under a week. The Scale environment controls 99% of our IT solutions.,Scale offers what is known as hyperconvergence. Hyperconvergence is a combination of hypervisor, storage, and networking all in one appliance. Creating a new virtual machine takes about 40 seconds to complete. In the past, spinning up a new server would take days. Scale offers the ability to create snapshots of virtual machines both manually and automatically. Scale offers the ability to create a development environment with ease. Simply clone the VM that you want to use, change a few setting related to networking and you are set! Scale reduces the TCO because processing power, networking, and storage are all contained in a single appliance.,Replication is one of the areas that could be improved. Please do not get me wrong, replication works well but the interface is missing the ability to throttle bandwidth usage. Setup and configuration could be a bit simpler. However, Scale's support team is way above average and available. The only issue is having to schedule a time for configuration.,10,10,With Scale, we were able to migrate our entire ERP solution, which was hosted on three different physical servers, to Scale's virtual environment in two days! Scale's snapshot functionality allows us to create automatic snapshots of our ERP easily and efficiently. In addition to migrating our ERP solution we were able to migrate our Microsoft SQL servers to Scale which allowed us to reduce the number of physical servers and reduce MS SQL licensing requirements.,Scale allowed our company to move from physical servers to virtual servers which help to position our company for future growth.,Hyper-VScale Computing Customer's ReviewWe use Scale Computing at our data center for cloud services that we host for our clients. It has dramatically simplified the management of our IT infrastructure and lowered the management time that the staff spends at our datacenter. We no longer have to worry about data replication or a single server affecting our ability to deliver the highest uptime.,Scale Computing simplifies the management of the critical components in your IT infrastructure. The interface allows you to understand what's going on with a quick glance, giving you the important and relevant information right in front of you. Scale Computing also gives you the flexibility to add the right kind of performance your company needs as it grows. Whether you need more storage, RAM, or compute, the cluster can accommodate your expansion needs. Scale Computing allows your DR facility to be managed in the same way as your production facility. No complicated setups or configurations, just simple point and click.,Upgrades can be expensive at times. Reporting for individual VM's and their usage could be improved in a few small areas.,10,10,We run everything on our Scale cluster including AD, Exchange, SQL, Remote Desktop, and VoIP. Everything just works the way it's supposed to without a lot of fuss. Snapshots of VM's are a breeze to setup and use when you need to test something out.,We spend less time managing infrastructure and more time taking care of our customers. We are better able to plan for the future and calculate the cost of our growth. We don't have to come up with different configurations for different needs. One solutions meets them all.,Nutanix and Zerto Virtual ReplicationHonest Plainly Worded HC3 vs Cisco review, based on multiple years of experience.We use Scale for not only our own infrastructure but our customers and in our data center. Scale provides the perfect 'pay as you grow' approach with IT for our clients. We also use it to support our clients in the data center as a quick off-site restore platform when disaster strikes.,The true pioneers of hyper-convergence. If you are evaluating H/C, or are planning on deploying H/C, explore all the solutions out there, and you will find that Scale is the only one that is doing H/C at the base level, the way it should be. Products like Cisco's and others are add ons or afterthoughts and are not much different or just re-worded UCS models. The "Pay as you Grow" model afforded by Scale is the future of IT. Why would you EVER buy significantly more computing resources than you need for the very short term? Scale gives you the ability to tighten your capacity planning to meet the fiduciary responsibility modern IT demands.,They push third party migration software, that is nearly 100% useless. In the 5 different cases we have tried to use it, we have needed significant tech support and they have not been able to even get the program to work outside of a lab environment. This is not a reflection on Scale other than they push this expensive software that they KNOW 100% doesn't work. We have experienced significant failure rate from the single node, noncluster servers. One device we have had to replace 2 times (we are on the 3rd one) in a month.,10,8,Solid Works Vault. Efolder.,I would never provide you with this information, however, believe me when I say it's significant.,Cisco UCS C-Series and Cisco UCS B-SeriesScale Computing HC3 - Scales up to meet your needs.We are currently using Scale Computing HC3 across our organization. We chose HC3 due to its simplicity to implement and scale up when necessary. We started with a 3-node system and due to some necessary system upgrades we just added a 4th node to our unit. As a one-person IT department, it made virtualizing our entire environment much easier and without the annual licensing costs of VMWare.,Scale Computing HC3 allows me to spin up a test environment in minutes, not hours. With HC3, it is easy to clone a machine, take a snap shot or backup a system. Literally just a few clicks and you are done. HC3 also provides peace of mind that if one-node goes down, the other can spin up easily without missing a beat. In place upgrades of the interface is great, I don't have to have a maintenance window to do routing updates to the interface.,I have had very few issues with the HC3 system. It did have a glitch which would not allow me to upload files to the system using the Chrome browser but tech support helped me with a work-around. I don't particularly like the way the web-site knowledge base is put together but I am getting used to it. Thankfully, I haven't needed to use it very much.,10,10,We run both VMWare and HC3 virtual servers. We are currently running our SQL Server and two terminal servers on our HC3 system. I was reluctant to move the SQL server to a virtual environment due to lag-time issues, but there hasn't been a noticeable lag in our SQL Server. We run all of our payroll, accounting and production software systems on the HC3 nodes. Next up, we will be moving our Exchange system to our HC3 platform as well.,TCO is way down. We saved a lot not having to have separate SANs, VM Ware licensing, etc. Down time is minimal since we moved to the HC3 platform. Lower costs from lost production time.,
Windows, Linux, Unix
Scale Computing HC3
225 Ratings
Score 9.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Scale Computing HC3
225 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 225 vetted Scale Computing HC3 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (126-150 of 153)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Matthew Beckler profile photo
June 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Dead Simple to use and Amazing support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale computing is our primary device handling all of our internal files/databases/applications. The Scale Computing cluster provides all internal services for the whole company. We were looking to internalize services that were not ready to go cloud based that were previously hosted by an MSP. We were on a short time frame so we needed something easy to use, quick to deploy, and that had built in fault tolerance.
  • Extremely easy to deploy. Once the physical connections are made it is very simply to get your VM's up and running.
  • Support was great to work with during the setup. I had a weird issue that turned out to be my monitor and unrelated to Scale and the technician figured it out over the phone.
  • Redundancy built in with no configuration. I just deploy my VM and it is automatically replicated across nodes.
  • SSD tiering system that moves most used blocks to faster storage providing IOPS where needed. This is fully customizable so I can choose what VM's need priority.
  • Expandability I can easily add additional single nodes to increase my compute and storage capacity.
  • KVM based so most of the major Backup players can not backup at the Host level. This requires agents for backing up all VM's and also many backup vendors will not license agents at the Host level so you need to pay per VM for most backup solutions.
  • Extended period where it was not compatible with latest Microsoft operating system (Server 2016 compatibility just came this spring)
  • Email alerts are not directly compatible with Office365 (No TLS login support)
  • No All SSD/Flash options are currently available.
  • Requires external switch and configuration of switch for Node communication.
  • Would like to see extended grouping for easier identification of VM's
  • Some way to easily automate certain tasks. (Some kind of API or Scale supported scripting)
  • Console has some quirks such as mouse not working when using a touchscreen laptop.
Scale is very appropriate in any Small to Mid-Size enterprises. It is easy to use and get up and running. Pretty much anyone with cursory computer knowledge can install a VM on this system and the VM will be replicated automatically across the nodes. When you a need a system that just works this is it.

Scale Computing without additional integration/automation options and an easier way to use commonly used Backup software may be less appropriate for organization with many VM's where it would be a large effort to add guest backup agents to every VM.
All our internal applications run on Scale Computing..
We have not experienced in any issues with our business critical applications.
These include SQL server, 2 Files servers, Various application servers.
All Servers have run quick and haven't experienced any downtime.
Read Matthew Beckler's full review
Robert Candee profile photo
June 06, 2017

"Scale Computing HC3 - A Review from the IT Trenches"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 (Scale) is used company wide. Scale was selected as our primary hypervisor. Before Scale, we were a pure physical server shop. With the power of Scale we were able to convert our physical servers to virtual servers (P2V) with minimal effort. The tools that were supplied by Scale aided in the P2V process. We were able to convert nearly our entire Information Technology (IT) infrastructure to virtual in under a week. The Scale environment controls 99% of our IT solutions.
  • Scale offers what is known as hyperconvergence. Hyperconvergence is a combination of hypervisor, storage, and networking all in one appliance.
  • Creating a new virtual machine takes about 40 seconds to complete. In the past, spinning up a new server would take days.
  • Scale offers the ability to create snapshots of virtual machines both manually and automatically.
  • Scale offers the ability to create a development environment with ease. Simply clone the VM that you want to use, change a few setting related to networking and you are set!
  • Scale reduces the TCO because processing power, networking, and storage are all contained in a single appliance.
  • Replication is one of the areas that could be improved. Please do not get me wrong, replication works well but the interface is missing the ability to throttle bandwidth usage.
  • Setup and configuration could be a bit simpler. However, Scale's support team is way above average and available. The only issue is having to schedule a time for configuration.
Scale is very well suited for small/medium business (SMB). Companies that have a small number of physical servers could benefit from Scale's hyperconvergence technologies. For example, in my company's environment, we went from over 20 physical servers down to one Scale cluster. The cooling requirements for our data center dropped dramatically.
With Scale, we were able to migrate our entire ERP solution, which was hosted on three different physical servers, to Scale's virtual environment in two days! Scale's snapshot functionality allows us to create automatic snapshots of our ERP easily and efficiently. In addition to migrating our ERP solution we were able to migrate our Microsoft SQL servers to Scale which allowed us to reduce the number of physical servers and reduce MS SQL licensing requirements.
Read Robert Candee's full review
Zac King profile photo
August 11, 2017

Scale Computing HC3: "Scale Computing Customer's Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Scale Computing at our data center for cloud services that we host for our clients. It has dramatically simplified the management of our IT infrastructure and lowered the management time that the staff spends at our datacenter. We no longer have to worry about data replication or a single server affecting our ability to deliver the highest uptime.
  • Scale Computing simplifies the management of the critical components in your IT infrastructure. The interface allows you to understand what's going on with a quick glance, giving you the important and relevant information right in front of you.
  • Scale Computing also gives you the flexibility to add the right kind of performance your company needs as it grows. Whether you need more storage, RAM, or compute, the cluster can accommodate your expansion needs.
  • Scale Computing allows your DR facility to be managed in the same way as your production facility. No complicated setups or configurations, just simple point and click.
  • Upgrades can be expensive at times.
  • Reporting for individual VM's and their usage could be improved in a few small areas.
Scale is great for those who need a simple way to manage their servers without jumping through a lot of hoops or spending weeks or months to get trained on how to use it. It just works and doesn't require you to babysit it to make sure it's doing what it's supposed to.
We run everything on our Scale cluster including AD, Exchange, SQL, Remote Desktop, and VoIP. Everything just works the way it's supposed to without a lot of fuss. Snapshots of VM's are a breeze to setup and use when you need to test something out.
Read Zac King's full review
Yancy Lancaster profile photo
August 11, 2017

Scale Computing HC3: "Honest Plainly Worded HC3 vs Cisco review, based on multiple years of experience."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Scale for not only our own infrastructure but our customers and in our data center. Scale provides the perfect 'pay as you grow' approach with IT for our clients. We also use it to support our clients in the data center as a quick off-site restore platform when disaster strikes.
  • The true pioneers of hyper-convergence. If you are evaluating H/C, or are planning on deploying H/C, explore all the solutions out there, and you will find that Scale is the only one that is doing H/C at the base level, the way it should be. Products like Cisco's and others are add ons or afterthoughts and are not much different or just re-worded UCS models.
  • The "Pay as you Grow" model afforded by Scale is the future of IT. Why would you EVER buy significantly more computing resources than you need for the very short term? Scale gives you the ability to tighten your capacity planning to meet the fiduciary responsibility modern IT demands.
  • They push third party migration software, that is nearly 100% useless. In the 5 different cases we have tried to use it, we have needed significant tech support and they have not been able to even get the program to work outside of a lab environment. This is not a reflection on Scale other than they push this expensive software that they KNOW 100% doesn't work.
  • We have experienced significant failure rate from the single node, noncluster servers. One device we have had to replace 2 times (we are on the 3rd one) in a month.
  • Pay as you grow model.
  • Digital Cloud Transformation of existing IT departments.
Solid Works Vault. Efolder.
Read Yancy Lancaster's full review
Jeffrey Place profile photo
June 23, 2017

Review: "Scale Computing HC3 - Scales up to meet your needs."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Scale Computing HC3 across our organization. We chose HC3 due to its simplicity to implement and scale up when necessary. We started with a 3-node system and due to some necessary system upgrades we just added a 4th node to our unit. As a one-person IT department, it made virtualizing our entire environment much easier and without the annual licensing costs of VMWare.
  • Scale Computing HC3 allows me to spin up a test environment in minutes, not hours.
  • With HC3, it is easy to clone a machine, take a snap shot or backup a system. Literally just a few clicks and you are done.
  • HC3 also provides peace of mind that if one-node goes down, the other can spin up easily without missing a beat.
  • In place upgrades of the interface is great, I don't have to have a maintenance window to do routing updates to the interface.
  • I have had very few issues with the HC3 system. It did have a glitch which would not allow me to upload files to the system using the Chrome browser but tech support helped me with a work-around.
  • I don't particularly like the way the web-site knowledge base is put together but I am getting used to it. Thankfully, I haven't needed to use it very much.
The unit I have is very for small SMBs with few or no full time IT personnel, they can be remotely managed and with the new single node option you can have off-site backup/disaster recovery set up in a very time. I can see how this system can be used with multiple small offices/remote site and can scale up to larger enterprises.

We run both VMWare and HC3 virtual servers. We are currently running our SQL Server and two terminal servers on our HC3 system. I was reluctant to move the SQL server to a virtual environment due to lag-time issues, but there hasn't been a noticeable lag in our SQL Server. We run all of our payroll, accounting and production software systems on the HC3 nodes. Next up, we will be moving our Exchange system to our HC3 platform as well.

Read Jeffrey Place's full review
Nate Abbott profile photo
June 20, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Love Scale Computing. Great company."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our organization has applied this as a solution for a client. The client had a significant hardware/platform obsolescence and reliability issue. The Scale Cluster resolved all platform issues and cleaned up a depressingly neglected data closet. Uptime for this client went from sub 90 percent to a consistent 99.999% uptime with a complete turnaround in employee confidence in the network and their network systems.
  • Scale Computing HC3 reduces virtualized system management to a minimum set of essential controls. The architecture is a fixed configuration that can be optimized for each site, but is best suited for smaller and medium sized businesses where simplicity, reliability and cost are all factors. HC3 excels in all of these areas.
  • Scale Computing HC3 is very quick and easy to implement, easy to migrate in virtual hosts and physical hosts, and easy to expand and re-allocate resources.
  • Scale Computing HC3 has great technical support for implementation and ongoing support of your Scale stack. It takes little time to get to a true expert, and they have crossed over into areas that are not directly their own responsibility, such as Microsoft Operating System faults and network configuration issues that are external to their box.
  • I would like a little more depth in the virtual machine controls. Maybe that sacrifices simplicity, but it would be nice to have an "expert" mode.
  • Better and more evident DR functionality built into the Scale platform. I feel like this is a missed opportunity for Scale.
  • Switch to HP Hardware!
Small to medium sized businesses with mandatory on-prem apps and limited in-house IT is the sweet spot for Scale. Smaller businesses that can live in the cloud, and larger businesses that require advanced virtualization services and extended VMWare functions who can hire specialists are not a good bet for Scale. Anywhere that diverse app platforms and excess hardware exist under a frustrated and under-manned IT department, that is where Scale should be.
My main experience running Scale is in a medical office with a dozen docs and dozens of medical assistants, nurses and staff. Scale runs the legacy practice management platform that is needed every day to look up patient history, but was running on outdated and vulnerable bare-metal. Virtualizing this application and surrounding it with best practice network services running on brand new Windows Server 2012 R2 virtual machines made it easy to optimize the network and end a bad uptime regime.
Read Nate Abbott's full review
Tony Serratore profile photo
June 19, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "I scale'd up will you - best decision I made."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 is being used across the organisation. It has allowed us to refresh operating systems, migrate from 32bit OS to 64Bit operating systems. Snapshotting and cloning is very easy and new server VMs are built in rapid time.
  • Snapshots - very straightforward and can be scheduled
  • Cloning - easy to do from a snapshot
  • Creating VMs - is easy
  • Performance indicators - which VMs are utilising the most IOPs
  • Improved browser support
HC3 does very well in supporting our business needs across the exchange server to SQL databases.
Exchange Server 2010 - HC3 has been integral to running our own Exchange server on-premises than in the cloud and this is more cost effective for us. The service is replicated daily to a DR cluster and provides 24x7 email access to our users. Our ERP application running on SQL is served on the HC3 cluster providing reliable performance and data integrity is maintained.
Read Tony Serratore's full review
Tony Batres profile photo
June 19, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing Built for IT at a price your COO wont loose sleep over"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale Computing HC3 as our core server and storage farm. It houses application servers for accounting and PBO services. Scale's intuitive platform and price point allowed us to save thousands of dollars compared to Nutanix and EVO-RAIL. It also facilitated with our efforts meet the requirements needed to obtain our SOC 1 certification.
  • Implementation is simple no need to go to hours of training first before you start loading your first VM
  • VM will automatically migrate to another Node in case of node failure, no need to configure it its just out of the box
  • Snapshots and Cloning VM's are intuitive and fast
  • Firmware updates do not require you to bring the whole cluster down
  • Migration tools for importing and exporting in VM from other Vendors
  • Ability to create VM and then deploy in AWS and Microsoft cloud and vice versa
Any sSmall to medium size business would benefit from Scale's price point and ease of use. The only area where Scale might not be well suited would be a large server farm that needs high availability across more than 8 nodes. Currently, Scale has an 8 node limit; in a cluster you can always have multiple clusters.
We run our accounting system, our content management system, customer portals, SQL servers, OCR servers, AV and AD on Scale's infrastructure.
Read Tony Batres's full review
Ramon Vazquez profile photo
June 19, 2017

User Review: "Scale Computing HC3 is a no brainer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization and we have migrated most of our servers to run virtually within HC3. We should be finalizing all the movements this year.
  • Ease of use
  • Great support
  • Uptime is great
It is well suited for most companies and scenarios. The only scenario where I may not see it working is when you need space for big data where you might need an extra storage unit. For everything else hyperconvergence is golden.
Right now we run everything from active directory, file and printer servers, HR software, and 4 to 5 different databases without issue.
Read Ramon Vazquez's full review
Jake Fowler profile photo
June 12, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Rocks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We virtualize several servers used by the entire school. Also, we have a replication node in another location for disaster recovery.
  • Their customer service is top notch. When we have issues (rarely) they get back to us immediately, always resolve the issue in a timely manner, and explain everything that happened.
  • The GUI interface is way beyond any other virtual appliance I've ever used. It's super easy to configure. I can ramp up new servers in minutes.
  • I have no complaints whatsoever about their products.
It's great for Windows or Linux virtual servers. It also integrates well with many VDI solutions.
Our main database runs on Scale. When we need to do updates, they are worry free since we can do a quick snapshot and/or clone so that we could recover quickly if need be. We also run several web servers and some other services that we are testing for eventual deployment - it's super easy to ramp up a new server to test anything and then blow it away once we're done.
Read Jake Fowler's full review
Lee Zimmerman profile photo
June 12, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 - The value in hyper-converged computing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale across our entire corporation which includes retail, wholesale and manufacturing entities. We run a mixture of Debian Linux and Windows Server 2012r2 with 27 VMs total. We have appreciated the performance improvements and flexibility of a single large storage pool after migrating from a solution where we had several standalone servers hosting VMs.
  • HC3 makes it dead easy to clone a VM from a snapshot and get it up and running using their simple web interface.
  • The HC3 dashboard allows one to see at a glance the major indicators of server utilization across the cluster.
  • Spinning up a new VM based on a template makes the job of adding a new server easy and quick.
  • HC3 does not offer guaranteed support for Debian Linux, however we have not run into any significant issues despite using it heavily in production.
HC3 may not be well suited for small businesses that are only running a basic server or two. However once a business grows beyond that point Scale will be a competitive option.
One of the business-critical applications we run our our Scale Cluster is Epicor ERP. When transferring our Epicor server from a physical box to a Scale VM we saw marked improvement despite allocating a lot less RAM. This was due to the improved IO of the cluster.
Read Lee Zimmerman's full review
Scott Rosen profile photo
June 12, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Tired of VMWare - Scale up to a better solution!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale is providing 98% of our virtual infrastructure for the entire CU.
  • Ease of Deployment
  • Baked in replication
  • US Based Support that cares about their clients
  • Increased support from software manufacturers
I believe Scale Computing Hc3 is supported from SMB to SME, and possibly even larger. We have 99% of our workloads migrated to the Scale solution but there are a couple that only support VMWare, and mainly because they have no reason to support another solution at this time. That will continue to change. The solution works extremely well.
We run voice and data applications that support our environment, and the built-in replication to another cluster affords us the peace of mind to fail-over and it just works. No third party products to worry about, no crazy changes, just fail-over and you are up and running in minutes. We demand high availability for specific applications that affect tens of thousands of members.
Read Scott Rosen's full review
Joshua Clark profile photo
June 08, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale's cracked it. Here's a quality product that fits just right."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 is running almost the entirety of our server workload. The IT department (2 employees) are really the only direct users.
  • Spooling up a new virtual machine is crazy easy. Our setup for our 4-server infrastructure was done (OS install and configuration included) inside of 2 hours! Granularity, speed, and ease of use make for a very potent combination.
  • Monitoring and managing from the HC3 console is excellent. The intuitive interface has just the right amount of detail. Changes - from changing a backup/replication schedule to adding a new drive to a VM - are done in a snap.
  • Rolling updates are awesome.
  • The snapshot scheduling interface could use a bit of work to become as intuitive as the rest of HC3. The granularity is beautiful, as is the ability to make live changes, but it took a bit of time to understand how to create a nightly *and* hourly schedule for the same machine.
Small-to-medium businesses need Scale. The ability to add compute/storage/everything nodes that are 1 rack unit high is fantastic. We went into our purchase with the intention of 1 3-node cluster. Scale's pricing and features were great enough that we instead purchased 4 nodes (1 3-node cluster and 1 1-node cluster) and have a disaster and recovery solution ready to go. This is alongside our confidence that we can add a new node if we need more capacity/compute or if the machines just need a refresh down the road.

Meanwhile, server administration ticks along in the virtual sphere. Creating, moving, monitoring the VMs is very easy to do. What used to be a remote connection to resource monitor is now a glance at the HC3 console.
Our file server resides on one of the VMs managed by HC3. Soon after firing up the primary file server, we implemented its twin (with real-time replication) as a second file server VM at our disaster recovery site. No issues. Seriously, none.
On the next VM over, we find our company's primary DNS server. Very important. No issues. No interruptions, lack of compute power, nothing.
I would gladly recommend using Scale for business-critical functions.
Read Joshua Clark's full review
Greg Carreon profile photo
June 08, 2017

"My Scale Computing HC3 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale HC3 system has allowed us to consolidate and visualize our current outdated servers. This solution should keep our environment running more efficiently for years to come.
  • We are able to utilize all available within the servers
  • We are able to control every aspect of our VMs from one central control panel.
  • We are able to spin up a new or duplicate VM in seconds.
  • Integrating a front end security control panel or integrate with 3rd party.
  • The ability to export syslog files.
Scale is perfect for our midsize company. I reduced the number of physical servers and if I need more I just add a node and it will automatically balance itself.
Redundancy ....... Reduncancy ......... Redundancy........ This provides a easy simple way to accomplish this objective.
Read Greg Carreon's full review
Clayton Crocker profile photo
June 07, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Tipping the Scale in hyper-convergence for SMB"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated from a pure physical environment to Scale Computing HC3 to host all of our business critical servers and data for our entire organization. The process was pretty easy and it has improved up time, eased maintenance of the servers, and due to granular snapshots, reduced the stress about patching servers.
  • I love the fact that with Scale Computing there truly is a single pane of glass to manage everything. It is very easy to use as anything you need to do is typically just a couple of clicks with the mouse. If you want to spin up a copy of a server for testing off of a snapshot, 4 clicks, and all without leaving the screen that you are on and you are done. Need to move a vm to a different host, click and drag it to the new host with no interruption to the end users, or noticeable impact on performance.
  • Scale Computing HC3 has the best support that I have ever seen. On the rare times I have required them, I have always received a real, easy to understand, person after a couple of rings. They have been quick to respond and after allowing them remote access to the system, have been able to quickly resolve any issue that I have had.
  • One area of improvement would be is to have the ability to resize a hard drive inside a VM.
Scale Computing is very well suited for the SMB market and other markets as well. It is simple and easy to use, and only takes a few minutes to get familiar with the interface and it can scale up to meet more demanding needs by simply adding additional nodes. Need additional storage? Add a storage heavy node. Need more compute? Add a compute heavy node. Need to implement a disaster recovery solution? Simply setup a new cluster in your offsite location and provide a connect between them and you are done.
We run all of our applications such as our financial, exchange, payroll, scheduling, and hr software, as well as our file server and domain controllers without any issues.
Read Clayton Crocker's full review
Bart Strauss profile photo
June 06, 2017

User Review: "Happy with Scale Computing HC3"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Scale Computing HC3 for my entire organization. It's home to several Microsoft virtual services, some of which include Exchange, Internet Information Service, and SQL. We also host Active Directory services and File sharing. I have 5 nodes implemented so it provided great hardware redundancy.
  • Redundancy Failover
  • Easy to use interface
  • Good Customer Support
  • I have nothing to offer in this area
Environments where 3 to 5 virtual servers per hardware device are needed.
  • Proprietary Learning Management System
  • Microsoft SQL services
  • Web Applications
  • Microsoft Exchange
Read Bart Strauss's full review
Kelson Colbo profile photo
June 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing is the bomb"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization used the Scale Computing Solution. Our Scale Solution served 32 locations with all network and application resources from a single data center. This allowed for centralized computing, centralized backup, and a dramatic improvement in the resources and time required to manage IT systems.
  • Very simple, intuitive user interface
  • Very fast application performance over RDS sessions.
  • Very easy to update, maintain, and expand
  • Great customer service from sales to support.
  • I really don't have any suggestions here. i was very pleased and highly recommend the Scale Computing Solution
Coming for a multi-site, multi-state healthcare company that had an MPLS network in place, deploying the Scale Solutions fit perfectly. We used their migration tool to take physical servers to virtual, and reduced our server infrastructure from 35 physical servers to 2 plus a 4 node Scale Computing Solution.
We ran medical billing, scheduling, and electronic medical record applications on the system, which was delivered to clinic and clinician users over an RDS session running on thin clients. All applications were delivered in a busy clinical setting where all applications were used at the point of care.
Read Kelson Colbo's full review
Frank Fratzke, CPA profile photo
June 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Hyperconverged System is a Winner"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale is used across the entire organization as a host for multiple server and workstation VM's. It host DC's, file servers and specialty servers.
  • Their support is spectacular
  • Their business ethics are strong
  • Their products perform very well, are easy to use, and straight forward to setup
  • Cloning a VM requires turning off the virtual NIC to allow an IP reset. Would be nice if this wasn't required
Good for an environment demanding high availability with ease of setup and use. Allows for a single vendor solution for VM's, storage, etc.
We run our domain controller, our ERP system, freight server, antivirus server, file server, and some Win7 workstations on the Scale. It's critical for us to have all systems up and running.
Read Frank Fratzke, CPA's full review
Carl Elton profile photo
June 12, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "My life with Scale Computing."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the HC3 cluster as our main virtual environment for our servers. We also use it to connect to an offsite location for our server backups.
  • You can quickly install OS images to put into production or to test.
  • Technical support has been wonderful in answering my questions.
  • Keeping up to date with firmware updates.
  • An easier way to delete older notifications (conditions).
  • Better scaled console interface in the web browsers.
As I said before, Scale is an easy way to run your virtual servers.
I'm runnig a Domain Controller and a file server. Nothing major.
Read Carl Elton's full review
Jamie Abraham profile photo
June 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale up"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Scale across the entire organization.
It provides us the redundancy and scale-ability that would have cost us much more had we not chosen Scale.
  • Reduces downtime due to hardware issues
  • Allows us to quickly restore VM's to a prior point
  • Allows us to create new Apps as required.
  • I have not yet encountered, sorry.
Excellent in an environment looking to consolidate a large number of servers.
We are running all of our Apps on it. We have migrated from the older Servers to entirely Scale.
Read Jamie Abraham's full review
Gary Grana profile photo
June 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Great for a Small business with a small SQL environment"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 was going to be used to Virtualize our Infrastructure. This was purchased prior to me coming onboard and I did not not purchase this product. We no longer use this infrastructure.
  • Customer Service and Support
  • Full Supported by Scale with little user management
  • Complete virtual hyper converged solution
  • Simplify the Disaster Recovery fail-over and fail back.
  • Provide support for external storage.
This product is great for a small company with no IT or only 1 IT employee.
We tried running SQL Server that had a 750 GB database. The infrastructure was not able to support a database of this size and we had to purchase separate hardware to install Hyper-V.
Read Gary Grana's full review
Zackary Sutton profile photo
June 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "The scalability of Scale HC3"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 replaced our aging server hardware. It is used by the whole organization. It addresses the issue of systems stability, system longevity, disaster recovery, and systems availability.
  • Easy to manage
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to monitor
  • I have had a couple of issue with the email alerts, so I feel like they could improve on that.
Scale is well suited for small - medium sized businesses who are looking to virtualize their server environment. However, the great thing about Scale is how scalable it is. Scale can really be used for any sized business.
I am running my RDP server, FTP server, Email server, file server, and several web servers off of my HC3 infrastructure. The great thing is, if one of the server physically goes down, my users don't see anything happen. The virtual servers will move to a server with available resources.
Read Zackary Sutton's full review
No photo available
August 11, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "ScaleComputing... The mother of all VMs!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is used throughout our entire company. With HC3 simplifying our lives, we are able to maintain 30+ servers, for 5+ companies, and still keep our head on our shoulders! Thank you, Scale.
  • Reliably support large infrastructures
  • Operating in rough environments
  • Creating, managing servers
  • Display RAM usage per Virtual Server from the Scale Dashboard to easily identify Servers that need extra memory
  • Support for Chrome Browser when using the web-based console (So far, I can only get it to work reliably when using IE)
  • Show more information about DR remote clusters from the Production cluster
Being able to create/modify/shut down/etc., all of our servers from one simple view is really handy. Fast and reliable, the cluster never goes down. Great for those who need to be able to create servers on-the-go from any computer, as long as a VPN connection/internet connection is accessible. Really makes the IT life a lot easier.
We have a very large File Server that we heavily rely on. Recently, we've been growing at a rapid rate, and being able to expand the resources on the server on the fly has saved our bacon many of times. Whether it's expanding the CPU, RAM, or most often in our situation, the hard drive space; It's great to know we can always scale our server as needed in a quick fashion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 19, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Ease of Use!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My IT department uses Scale Computing HC3 to host VMs for critical business and service functioning within the organization. We also replicate the VMs to a second remote Scale for DR purposes.
  • Scale is easy to use. Basic functionality and management of Scale is easy to learn and put into practice.
  • The primary con is Scale is not recognized as a 'big player' in the market. As a result, some applications will not assure support for their product running on a VM on something other that VMware or Hyper-V or XenServer. My disappointment lies primarily with these companies who don't recognize Scale.
Scale is will suited for companies who need a stable, easy to use cost effective VM solution.
AD, TermServer, Database applications, File server functionality.
Disaster Recovery as we replicate VMs between two Scale devices.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 19, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale vs. VMware (Scale Wins)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale Computing HC3 to host our VOIP product, this replaced a VMWare setup.
  • Simple interface: The user interface is graphical and easy to navigate. Creating a new VM is quick.
  • Scalable: Easy to add additional nodes to increase capacity, no loss of data and minimal down time.
  • Support: Scale technical support is helpful and responsive. We have had a few drives fail and replacement shipping is usually overnight!
  • Details performance reports: We would like to see detailed performance reports for a specific VM, server and cluster.
  • Better error logs: We have had errors on the GUI that say something like "The system has an error, contact support". This is unsettling as a large portion of our business relays on these servers.
  • Better built in graphics support on VMs. We would like to use a few VM's as remote connection workstations, however the virtual graphics cards make this impossible, we can only get 800x400 display and that carries through to remote connection programs.
It would be great in a hosted server scenario, but for virtual desktops it would not work very well.
We have only run our hosted VoIP product on Scale. It runs well, we have had an issue with cron jobs across the VMs that spike system resources that was difficult to diagnose using the reporting tools provided by Scale.
Read this authenticated review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English