TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/8Q/b9/W47TSZK0C41J.PNGGeneral ClusterThe majority of the servers within the client's company have been consolidated and run off of a four-node cluster. This solves concerns with redundancy and overall reliability. Windows Server clusters tend to be less reliable when it comes to load balancing, which can often lead to performance issues. The Scale cluster handles these tasks with ease.,The cluster is easily expandable by adding additional nodes. This can potentially keeps costs down by allowing you to increase the performance potential of your existing cluster. Managing and controlling virtual machines is very straightforward and convenient from the browser-based control panel. Creating and restoring snapshots is very easy, making it much less stressful to make major changes to VMs.,I honestly can't think of any cons off the top of my head. I've been fairly impressed with this product.,9,10,We primarily use the cluster to run the domain controllers, ERP software, Exchange hybrid server, etc. Availability has been great, with very few issues. Overall, it's been a great experience and we know we can count on the Scale cluster to keep everything up and running.,As the cluster is owned by my client, and not myself, I'm unable to answer this question accurately.Scale Support NightmareWhole Organization. Upgrade of physical servers,virtualization ease of use ease of configuration,Sales team should not undersell to sell again at a higher price Lot of improvement is required in support Lot of improvement needed in installation support Quotes not provided to months No information provided once order is placed Delivery too slow - awaiting hardware for last approx. 2 months,4,1,ERP System and its ancillary softwares,It is performing better than our old physical servers Not sure what to expect in case of failure, knowing Scale support capabilities Can't add any more servers as Sales under sold the hardware and now not giving quotes to upgrade RAM. Pushing to buy complete new node.,ScaleWe are using Scale to move past our VMware and iSCSI connections.,Support is great Software industry standard Fast,Network drivers crash often, Need backup API to Veeam, badly. Backup is like a step back in time, and no, snapshots are not backups.,7,10,All workloads. e-mail file server many specialized software packages,Positive so far on saving money Support costs are reasonable Initial sizing was way off so had to buy more before we expected to,NutanixScaling - KISSWe moved from 25% virtual environment to 100% virtual environment with Scale.,Simple UI Reduced complexity,Serial Drivers Recognize USB,8,7,Two different ERPS with 25 users each. One is legacy and the other presently supported. 4 DCs, terminal services, document management, Print/files services.,Set it and forget it Simplified DRHC3, a small business hyper-converged solution.Our Scale HC3 cluster is our main server unit for our company. It hosts almost all of our network services, including AD, FTP, IIS (Website), file sharing and more. The biggest business problems that it addresses are, since we don't have a dedicated IT team, the simplicity to manage everything is great, and offsite replication is a breeze. I don't have to worry about losing any critical data.,Setting up a cluster is very simple. The interface is intuitive and does not require being a system expert to run. Managing VMs and settings is easy. An admin just needs to login to one of the local nodes, and they have access to view status, setting, and even remote into all installed VMs. Redundancy. In the HC3 setup, there are three nodes that connect through a back plane. If one node goes down, it's simple to spin up a lost VM on another node to continue running business.,It does not offer the same level of logical networking, like that of VMware. We have had issues with some software not being able to activate because of the virtual environment. We have to run a separate hardware device for network license dongles.,8,10,Our whole business depends on the HC3 cluster working. Currently, the most critical apps that we run, are a suite of home built modules for interfacing with our ERP system. Just the other day, we started running out of resources with our VM, and in a matter of about 2 minutes, I was able to go in and allocate more resources to eliminate any problems.,Unfortunately, I was not working here when our HC3 system was purchased and installed. I did however assist in the migration of servers. I don't have hard numbers, but I know that support costs have dropped significantly, because the hardware that we are running on reliable, and predictable. Our previous server was a stand alone box, and we had to have an online backup solution. Now, our entire cluster is synchronized to an identical offsite cluster, and we don't have to pay for the monthly costs for the backup.,VMware ESXiScale Computing: when you don't have time for gimmicksScale Computing is used by us for both primary production workloads and mission critical testlab infrastructure workloads. We have a cluster at a co-location facility whose purpose is to host websites, a virtualized file server, some e-mail servers, a few databases and some VDI instances. These are the workloads upon which our small business depends. One of the services we offer our customers is Testlab as a Service. We do everything from reviews for technology magazines to full tear-down beta testing. Accomplishing anything remotely like efficiency and profitability requires that a great deal of the testlab's digital infrastructure be rock solid. This includes domain controllers, e-mail servers, databases, monitoring software and much, much more. We also use a Scale Computing SNAC node (https://virtualizationreview.com/articles/2016/11/30/scale-computing-single-node-appliance-review.as...) to back up our workloads.,Scale is reliable. Drives can fail. Nodes can fail. All sorts of weird things can happen, but data doesn't get lost. Scale support is fantastic. I call them "Datacenter Butlers" because they take a lot of the miserable scut work off of plate. I used to constantly put out fires just to keep things running smoothly. Now, whenever there's a problem, Scale support likely knows about it before I do, and will fix most of it for me. Speed. Scale isn't the fastest on the market, but they also cost a fraction of the highest end gear out there. It doesn't make a lot of sense to compare, for example, a hybrid solution using SAS/SATA to EMC's top-end custom all-flash DSSD. That said, dollar for dollar, I would say Scale manages to be the fastest solution amongst their peers. Scale pay attention to the little things. They have a robust QA program and an extensive beta testing program. They get industry experts to bang on their latest and greatest before it hits the streets and it shows. Scale is the opposite of the current tech trend to push out alpha-level software as generally available and then patch things according to the pyramid of screaming.,Scale needs a new UI to be able to handle more than 500 VMs in a single cluster. Scale needs a multi-cluster management UI. Scale needs a full private cloud offering with a self-service portal, template and recipe marketplace and fully integrated configuration management.,10,10,First off, I'd like to object to the statement that "Hyper-converged Infrastructure products like Scale Computing HC3 are designed to make it easy to run applications in a highly scalable manner" in the prompting question. They're not. They're designed to make running workloads easier. Name me one HCI provider out there that makes it easy to scale workloads. Just one. You won't be able to because that's not the job of HCI. That's the job of the management and orchestration layer that turns virtualization - whether HCI or not - into something most of us would call a "cloud". I think this is an important piece of context for discussion. HCI in general - and Scale's offering very specifically - is based emphatically on ease of use. If what you're looking for are edge cases like high frequency trading or other extreme use case niches, look elsewhere. That's not what HCI is about. Those workloads are the equivalent of commuting to work on a Saturn V. Think of Scale Computing more like the Honda Civic of IT. It is powerful enough to deal with the overwhelming majority of use cases. It will meet the needs of the mass market. It will run all your day-to-day mundane infrastructure workloads from the SMB to the enterprise and fit very nicely in ROBO scenarios. What you're not going to get from a Scale HCI cluster - at least not until an all-flash NVMe version running on top of 25GbE or 100GbE networking comes out - is something that will handle huge databases with ultra low latency requirements and trillions of transactions per second. Nor is Scale going to be the super cheap near-zero-margin $/TB bulk storage solution required for large-scale data warehousing. If you're building a massive radio telescope, maybe look elsewhere. But for the rest of us, for those running a few thousand people in an exchange environment, or a modest use case database for a point of sales application, for some VDI or image rendering or a hundred other workloads I've run on Scale, it just works. That's what hyperconvergence is: It Just Works(TM) in a turnkey appliance for 90% of workloads you could ever want.,Scale frees me up from looking after my infrastructure so that I can engage in revenue generating activities. Pretty hard to argue with that as a net result. I cost $100k/year. I used to have to put at least 40% of my time into keeping the lights on. So right off the bat Scale frees up nearly $40k/year for us, and that's before I factor in things like not having to buy shared storage, or other headline savings. The only negative impact Scale has for us is that unlike previous solutions, we aren't provided with spares of consumables (read: hard drives) to keep on the shelf for when something dies. The time between drive failure and the new drive arriving in the post is a bit nerve wracking.,Hands-Off Simplified Enterprise approach to Server ManagementDue to the success of the first scale cluster installation and the ease of use and administration, we actually have two different dedicated clusters. One runs the business servers and daily operations, the other runs the core of the refinery operation servers. The Scale Platform streamlined how we handled VMs in our company. Previously there was a lot of mismatched hardware, VMWare, Hyper-V, and dedicated hardware servers. The backup solution and redundancy started becoming an issue along with heat load and just sheer hardware management. The stress of having critical 24/7 process servers running on mismatched hardware was a daily stress. Scale has removed all of that and it really does just work. Plain and simple.,Super simplified interface. I like to tinker around like any true IT minded person, but I don't have the time to learn all the details on all new systems we implement. I was up and running and fully knew my system in less than a day. The tech and setup department knowing we are an oil refinery and rarely, if ever, get a chance for a full shutdown. We got that chance unexpectedly and they literally customized and overnighted a cluster system in 2 days. It took us less than 72 hours from initial contact to have all servers migrated and online in the new cluster. Support engineers worked with us all weekend; they were amazing. They are truly their for their customers, not just a 9-5 company.,The only thing I can think of, and its to their service or systems, but the cost of some small upgrades seems excessive. a simple ram upgrade to one node was between $1100 - $1500. The actual hardware cost for that is about 25-30% of that.,10,10,The most critical thing we run here is an actual refinery. We are 24/7/365 staffed and data logging, HMI, and analytics servers MUST be online and safe running. That is what scale provides for us. A low-overhead, secure, robust system that just works.,The biggest thing for us was the time savings in management. There are only two IT personnel onsite and as you can image, running 30-40 servers and the users is a time consuming process. Scale takes literally all the management of hardware and servers away. The system alerts us if there are any issues and we just keep working on the business drivers rather than taking care of hardware and cluster management.,VMware ESXi and Hyper-V,70,2,Running an oil refinery process that never shuts down. Cut down on hardware complication and continual licensing costs Cut down on IT department involvement in management of VM's in different enviroments,I absolutely love the fact that the Scale system can not only take its normal server snapshots, but can automatically send its backup to another NAS onsite all by only adding it to one naming group. Click to add the group, and boom, remote backups occurring along with snapshots.,Virtualize the heavy processor desktop users. Allowing Scale to absorb the process and ram costs of high demand applications will keep future IT users costs to a minimum.,10How we benefited from our Scale HC3 clusterWe are currently using our HC3 cluster as our production environment for the corporation. We have migrated all but a handful of systems to the cluster with excellent results. We migrated from a stand alone Hyper-V system to address the fail over problems we were having. The system has performed better than expected, allowing us to migrate additional systems in to the cluster as well as expanding and adding an additional node.,Fail over and load balancing - Having used a basic Hyper-V system with no clustering and no fail over, this was a selling point to migrate to the HC3. Expansion - The process to add an additional node was seamless. Ordered the node, once it arrived gave support a call. Walked thru the process during production hours and was migrating systems over to it within a couple of hours. Could not ask for a simpler process. Dashboard - The improvements to the dashboard have been great. The ability to monitor is "real time" the IOPs of the system and individual nodes as well as their processor load have helped us track down issues that might have been missed otherwise.,The issues that we had early on have been addressed by their support staff. As we have found something that we wanted the system to do they have been very supportive and worked them into their road map. Such as disk usage display and IOPs. Multiple User Support - This is one feature that would be nice to get implemented. Single account with admin rights has limited who has access to the system to help support end users. The ability to create user accounts with varying level of access would be beneficial.,10,10,We are currently running 2 SQL instances and the results have been great. We have support systems running as well, but the value has been in the database systems running.,System downtime outside of scheduled updates has gone away. We were struggling with our old system as the age of the system caught up we were experiencing more and more down time. Even once age is equivalent on this system I have a comfort level that if we have a node go down the fail over is so smooth that users will not be affected by the outage. We were so happy with the HC3 system and the benefits that it brought that we updated one of our other systems to another scale unit. The remote management and console support has allowed us to keep our lean staffing and still have up time numbers to be proud of.,VMware ESXi, Hyper-V and Kernel-based Virtual Machine,YesHardware that is reliableIt is our primary Virtual Server Center. It is utilized by the entire company. It has resolved issues we where having with our old system in the area of network connectivity bottle-neck and VM Storage management.,Technical Support is probably there biggest strength. There hasn't been a single time as of yet that I haven't been able to get a hold of someone quickly. All of the support personnel at every level are very knowledgeable about the product. Management is always ready to hear any concerns you have. I have to mention Technical support again, because it deserve that much space :) .,Their Hyper-visor is always being improved, and that is the only real area I can think of that needs improvement. But they are constantly adding newer and expanded features to rival the top tier VM software vendors. So not really an area they need to improve, but an area where I am just impatient to see what they come out with next.,10,10,We don't have a lot of applications running from the VMs themselves. Really the only one that works completely off of the server is our financial and project tracking software from Deltek. The majority of my needs lie in scalable storage. Currently HC3 software doesn't have a way to scale storage on the fly like the other major VM sofware manufacturers, but I know it is a feature that they are working on.,Everything has been positive so far with Scale. Our up-time has been the best it's ever been. Out ROI on that alone makes the purchase worth it.,IBM BladeCenter Ethernet SwitchesScale Computing HC3 Reviewssss,Setup was easy with Scale's assistance. Rack, connect, and they walk you through establishing the cluster. Then, it just runs! Upload your OS ISO's and you're off and running. VM creation is a extremely quick and easy. Modification of CPU/RAM/Disk of existing VM's is also easy. High availability. If one node goes down all the VM's on that node automatically migrate to other nodes. (I haven't had any issues with the boxes, so this hasn't occurred. But, firmware upgrades do take individual cluster nodes offline during the upgrade process, so that simulates it.) Performance. We're running 25 VM's on our 4-node Scale HC3 cluster. We have the middle tier platform, HC2000 with SAS drives and 10 Gb NICs, and the performance has been excellent. Reduction of physical servers, power, and heat. We used to have 2 full racks of physical servers, plus several remote servers. All using power and generating heat. Now, we could fit everything in a half rack. Support. Scale's support team is outstanding. Every time I call or open a ticket on their support portal, I get a response immediately. And it's by a team of well-trained professionals, speaking English, based in Indiana! Ability to grow. Just add a node to the cluster. Boom! Extra CPU/RAM/Disk available immediately. And you can add nodes while the cluster is running. Disaster Recovery. We added 2 DR nodes at a remote site and are replicating snapshots of all our servers nightly. This was a huge win for us, as we've been struggling with BCP/DR for years.,Cannot modify CPU/RAM/Disk while a VM is running. Not a huge Con in my book, since I don't have a lot of need for this. Took them a while add support for Windows Server 2016(and Windows 10).,10,10,We run the following on our Scale HC3 cluster: - Active Directory - 4 servers in total. Zero problems. - SQL/Reporting - No issues and it's fast. - Dynamics on SQL - again, no issues and its fast. - SQL database servers for custom order processing applications. Works great. - WSUS for Windows Updates. - Print/Scan-to-email server. - Groups server. - Software/Build server. - Certificate Authority servers. All of these apps/servers run as expected, even when one or more of the SQL servers are doing heavy things. IOPS and CPU are never a problem.,The Scale HC3 cluster has moved us into a high-availability server setup that keeps our servers/apps online. It's hard to quantify this in terms of dollars, but having all of our apps up and running is invaluable to the company. As mentioned in the Pros, we implemented Scale builtin Snapshot/Replication feature to send server snapshots to 2 off-site DR nodes every night. If a catastrophe were to happen at our main site, we could be up and running with all of our servers within minutes to hours at our DR site. Not days/weeks via the old disk/tape restore method. Not having our servers up and running for a week or more could stress the business to the breaking point. Same as the bullet point above, this feature is invaluable to the company. Reduction of power and heat. I didn't calculate the savings, but we reduced our physical server footprint from around 20 to 4. This saves on power, both on the draw by the servers and by less running of the air conditioning units.,Nutanix and SimpliVity OmniCubeScale - Vision - Implementation - Stable - GREAT!Scale Computing is used within our organization as a whole, running all sorts of servers and platforms. It addresses having quick backups (snapshots) to recover from in case of a disaster or a configuration changed that has been botched. It also has stability and quickness within the hardware that makes using it seamless as well as when migrations occur, there is no down time nor slowdown.,Scale Support is second to none. Fast. Timely. Precise. No running around the bush when it comes to calling them for assistance or technical issues. Scale Support has made setup a breeze on new units, as well as adding a unit. Up and running in minutes and ready to use shortly after. Scale is constantly updating and bettering there firmware, adding features, making improvements, and creating one of the best virtual platforms out there today.,On the Summary portion of the VM in questions, I would like to see the % of Memory used (performance). Instead of fixing the problem and saying it's fixed, problem/solution explanation on each ticket/issue and if something can be avoided and addressed to prevent it from happening again. I would love to see a mobile app of some sort or the GUI mobile friendly in the future.,9,10,SQL - running it within the 'These go to 11' setting within the system makes it run smooth, seamless, with no interruptions whatsoever.,The sense of having a backup ready and able to restore. The opportunity to have off-site replication or to a node off property for off-site backups. The ability to create and manage in a stable and easy to use GUI/entire System.,Dead Simple to use and Amazing supportScale computing is our primary device handling all of our internal files/databases/applications. The Scale Computing cluster provides all internal services for the whole company. We were looking to internalize services that were not ready to go cloud based that were previously hosted by an MSP. We were on a short time frame so we needed something easy to use, quick to deploy, and that had built in fault tolerance.,Extremely easy to deploy. Once the physical connections are made it is very simply to get your VM's up and running. Support was great to work with during the setup. I had a weird issue that turned out to be my monitor and unrelated to Scale and the technician figured it out over the phone. Redundancy built in with no configuration. I just deploy my VM and it is automatically replicated across nodes. SSD tiering system that moves most used blocks to faster storage providing IOPS where needed. This is fully customizable so I can choose what VM's need priority. Expandability I can easily add additional single nodes to increase my compute and storage capacity.,KVM based so most of the major Backup players can not backup at the Host level. This requires agents for backing up all VM's and also many backup vendors will not license agents at the Host level so you need to pay per VM for most backup solutions. Extended period where it was not compatible with latest Microsoft operating system (Server 2016 compatibility just came this spring) Email alerts are not directly compatible with Office365 (No TLS login support) No All SSD/Flash options are currently available. Requires external switch and configuration of switch for Node communication. Would like to see extended grouping for easier identification of VM's Some way to easily automate certain tasks. (Some kind of API or Scale supported scripting) Console has some quirks such as mouse not working when using a touchscreen laptop.,10,10,All our internal applications run on Scale Computing..We have not experienced in any issues with our business critical applications.These include SQL server, 2 Files servers, Various application servers. All Servers have run quick and haven't experienced any downtime.,We were previously spending 3k a month hosting these services with a local MSP. After Scale that bill went down to zero. We recovered our investment in less then a year. Previously when adding a new server or VM we had to pay additional monthly rate for every VM or service. With Scale we can spin up a new VM at anytime without any additional monthly cost. Because it is easy to use and configure we spend very minimal hours managing or babysitting the cluster this saves on labor costs for all IT staff.,Starwind, Simplivty and Nutanix,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor,Would revisit support of Backup products to make sure I had a solid strategy for backing up the VM's before deciding on a solution. Not that Veeam has agents it is less of a problem.Scale Computing HC3 - A Review from the IT TrenchesScale Computing HC3 (Scale) is used company wide. Scale was selected as our primary hypervisor. Before Scale, we were a pure physical server shop. With the power of Scale we were able to convert our physical servers to virtual servers (P2V) with minimal effort. The tools that were supplied by Scale aided in the P2V process. We were able to convert nearly our entire Information Technology (IT) infrastructure to virtual in under a week. The Scale environment controls 99% of our IT solutions.,Scale offers what is known as hyperconvergence. Hyperconvergence is a combination of hypervisor, storage, and networking all in one appliance. Creating a new virtual machine takes about 40 seconds to complete. In the past, spinning up a new server would take days. Scale offers the ability to create snapshots of virtual machines both manually and automatically. Scale offers the ability to create a development environment with ease. Simply clone the VM that you want to use, change a few setting related to networking and you are set! Scale reduces the TCO because processing power, networking, and storage are all contained in a single appliance.,Replication is one of the areas that could be improved. Please do not get me wrong, replication works well but the interface is missing the ability to throttle bandwidth usage. Setup and configuration could be a bit simpler. However, Scale's support team is way above average and available. The only issue is having to schedule a time for configuration.,10,10,With Scale, we were able to migrate our entire ERP solution, which was hosted on three different physical servers, to Scale's virtual environment in two days! Scale's snapshot functionality allows us to create automatic snapshots of our ERP easily and efficiently. In addition to migrating our ERP solution we were able to migrate our Microsoft SQL servers to Scale which allowed us to reduce the number of physical servers and reduce MS SQL licensing requirements.,Scale allowed our company to move from physical servers to virtual servers which help to position our company for future growth.,Hyper-VScale Computing Customer's ReviewWe use Scale Computing at our data center for cloud services that we host for our clients. It has dramatically simplified the management of our IT infrastructure and lowered the management time that the staff spends at our datacenter. We no longer have to worry about data replication or a single server affecting our ability to deliver the highest uptime.,Scale Computing simplifies the management of the critical components in your IT infrastructure. The interface allows you to understand what's going on with a quick glance, giving you the important and relevant information right in front of you. Scale Computing also gives you the flexibility to add the right kind of performance your company needs as it grows. Whether you need more storage, RAM, or compute, the cluster can accommodate your expansion needs. Scale Computing allows your DR facility to be managed in the same way as your production facility. No complicated setups or configurations, just simple point and click.,Upgrades can be expensive at times. Reporting for individual VM's and their usage could be improved in a few small areas.,10,10,We run everything on our Scale cluster including AD, Exchange, SQL, Remote Desktop, and VoIP. Everything just works the way it's supposed to without a lot of fuss. Snapshots of VM's are a breeze to setup and use when you need to test something out.,We spend less time managing infrastructure and more time taking care of our customers. We are better able to plan for the future and calculate the cost of our growth. We don't have to come up with different configurations for different needs. One solutions meets them all.,Nutanix and Zerto Virtual ReplicationHonest Plainly Worded HC3 vs Cisco review, based on multiple years of experience.We use Scale for not only our own infrastructure but our customers and in our data center. Scale provides the perfect 'pay as you grow' approach with IT for our clients. We also use it to support our clients in the data center as a quick off-site restore platform when disaster strikes.,The true pioneers of hyper-convergence. If you are evaluating H/C, or are planning on deploying H/C, explore all the solutions out there, and you will find that Scale is the only one that is doing H/C at the base level, the way it should be. Products like Cisco's and others are add ons or afterthoughts and are not much different or just re-worded UCS models. The "Pay as you Grow" model afforded by Scale is the future of IT. Why would you EVER buy significantly more computing resources than you need for the very short term? Scale gives you the ability to tighten your capacity planning to meet the fiduciary responsibility modern IT demands.,They push third party migration software, that is nearly 100% useless. In the 5 different cases we have tried to use it, we have needed significant tech support and they have not been able to even get the program to work outside of a lab environment. This is not a reflection on Scale other than they push this expensive software that they KNOW 100% doesn't work. We have experienced significant failure rate from the single node, noncluster servers. One device we have had to replace 2 times (we are on the 3rd one) in a month.,10,8,Solid Works Vault. Efolder.,I would never provide you with this information, however, believe me when I say it's significant.,Cisco UCS C-Series and Cisco UCS B-SeriesScale Computing HC3 - Scales up to meet your needs.We are currently using Scale Computing HC3 across our organization. We chose HC3 due to its simplicity to implement and scale up when necessary. We started with a 3-node system and due to some necessary system upgrades we just added a 4th node to our unit. As a one-person IT department, it made virtualizing our entire environment much easier and without the annual licensing costs of VMWare.,Scale Computing HC3 allows me to spin up a test environment in minutes, not hours. With HC3, it is easy to clone a machine, take a snap shot or backup a system. Literally just a few clicks and you are done. HC3 also provides peace of mind that if one-node goes down, the other can spin up easily without missing a beat. In place upgrades of the interface is great, I don't have to have a maintenance window to do routing updates to the interface.,I have had very few issues with the HC3 system. It did have a glitch which would not allow me to upload files to the system using the Chrome browser but tech support helped me with a work-around. I don't particularly like the way the web-site knowledge base is put together but I am getting used to it. Thankfully, I haven't needed to use it very much.,10,10,We run both VMWare and HC3 virtual servers. We are currently running our SQL Server and two terminal servers on our HC3 system. I was reluctant to move the SQL server to a virtual environment due to lag-time issues, but there hasn't been a noticeable lag in our SQL Server. We run all of our payroll, accounting and production software systems on the HC3 nodes. Next up, we will be moving our Exchange system to our HC3 platform as well.,TCO is way down. We saved a lot not having to have separate SANs, VM Ware licensing, etc. Down time is minimal since we moved to the HC3 platform. Lower costs from lost production time.,Love Scale Computing. Great company.Our organization has applied this as a solution for a client. The client had a significant hardware/platform obsolescence and reliability issue. The Scale Cluster resolved all platform issues and cleaned up a depressingly neglected data closet. Uptime for this client went from sub 90 percent to a consistent 99.999% uptime with a complete turnaround in employee confidence in the network and their network systems.,Scale Computing HC3 reduces virtualized system management to a minimum set of essential controls. The architecture is a fixed configuration that can be optimized for each site, but is best suited for smaller and medium sized businesses where simplicity, reliability and cost are all factors. HC3 excels in all of these areas. Scale Computing HC3 is very quick and easy to implement, easy to migrate in virtual hosts and physical hosts, and easy to expand and re-allocate resources. Scale Computing HC3 has great technical support for implementation and ongoing support of your Scale stack. It takes little time to get to a true expert, and they have crossed over into areas that are not directly their own responsibility, such as Microsoft Operating System faults and network configuration issues that are external to their box.,I would like a little more depth in the virtual machine controls. Maybe that sacrifices simplicity, but it would be nice to have an "expert" mode. Better and more evident DR functionality built into the Scale platform. I feel like this is a missed opportunity for Scale. Switch to HP Hardware!,10,10,My main experience running Scale is in a medical office with a dozen docs and dozens of medical assistants, nurses and staff. Scale runs the legacy practice management platform that is needed every day to look up patient history, but was running on outdated and vulnerable bare-metal. Virtualizing this application and surrounding it with best practice network services running on brand new Windows Server 2012 R2 virtual machines made it easy to optimize the network and end a bad uptime regime.,Positive: Scale has increased productivity by reducing the exposure to hardware related downtime.I scale'd up will you - best decision I made.HC3 is being used across the organisation. It has allowed us to refresh operating systems, migrate from 32bit OS to 64Bit operating systems. Snapshotting and cloning is very easy and new server VMs are built in rapid time.,Snapshots - very straightforward and can be scheduled Cloning - easy to do from a snapshot Creating VMs - is easy,Performance indicators - which VMs are utilising the most IOPs Improved browser support,10,10,Exchange Server 2010 - HC3 has been integral to running our own Exchange server on-premises than in the cloud and this is more cost effective for us. The service is replicated daily to a DR cluster and provides 24x7 email access to our users. Our ERP application running on SQL is served on the HC3 cluster providing reliable performance and data integrity is maintained.,Our server uptime has increased tenfold RTO and RPO windows have decreased dramatically,Scale Computing Built for IT at a price your COO wont loose sleep overWe are using Scale Computing HC3 as our core server and storage farm. It houses application servers for accounting and PBO services. Scale's intuitive platform and price point allowed us to save thousands of dollars compared to Nutanix and EVO-RAIL. It also facilitated with our efforts meet the requirements needed to obtain our SOC 1 certification.,Implementation is simple no need to go to hours of training first before you start loading your first VM VM will automatically migrate to another Node in case of node failure, no need to configure it its just out of the box Snapshots and Cloning VM's are intuitive and fast Firmware updates do not require you to bring the whole cluster down,Migration tools for importing and exporting in VM from other Vendors Ability to create VM and then deploy in AWS and Microsoft cloud and vice versa,10,10,We run our accounting system, our content management system, customer portals, SQL servers, OCR servers, AV and AD on Scale's infrastructure.,We leveraged the Scale infrastructure to obtain SOC 1 certification Reduced power consumption in the server room Reduce heat generated in server room by installing scale and removing legacy server infrastructure Reduced cost on server OS licenses,Scale Computing HC3 is a no brainerIt is being used across the whole organization and we have migrated most of our servers to run virtually within HC3. We should be finalizing all the movements this year.,Ease of use Great support Uptime is great,10,10,Right now we run everything from active directory, file and printer servers, HR software, and 4 to 5 different databases without issue.,Less hardware to manage Lower energy cost Less time to deployment,Nutanix,Deploying new servers Managing virtual images and moving them from node to node Easy to use and understand dashboard,None,10Scale RocksWe virtualize several servers used by the entire school. Also, we have a replication node in another location for disaster recovery.,Their customer service is top notch. When we have issues (rarely) they get back to us immediately, always resolve the issue in a timely manner, and explain everything that happened. The GUI interface is way beyond any other virtual appliance I've ever used. It's super easy to configure. I can ramp up new servers in minutes.,I have no complaints whatsoever about their products.,10,10,Our main database runs on Scale. When we need to do updates, they are worry free since we can do a quick snapshot and/or clone so that we could recover quickly if need be. We also run several web servers and some other services that we are testing for eventual deployment - it's super easy to ramp up a new server to test anything and then blow it away once we're done.,Less hardware server overhead to maintain. Great support for less downtime.,Scale HC3 - The value in hyper-converged computingWe are using Scale across our entire corporation which includes retail, wholesale and manufacturing entities. We run a mixture of Debian Linux and Windows Server 2012r2 with 27 VMs total. We have appreciated the performance improvements and flexibility of a single large storage pool after migrating from a solution where we had several standalone servers hosting VMs.,HC3 makes it dead easy to clone a VM from a snapshot and get it up and running using their simple web interface. The HC3 dashboard allows one to see at a glance the major indicators of server utilization across the cluster. Spinning up a new VM based on a template makes the job of adding a new server easy and quick.,HC3 does not offer guaranteed support for Debian Linux, however we have not run into any significant issues despite using it heavily in production.,10,10,One of the business-critical applications we run our our Scale Cluster is Epicor ERP. When transferring our Epicor server from a physical box to a Scale VM we saw marked improvement despite allocating a lot less RAM. This was due to the improved IO of the cluster.,Purchasing a Scale Cluster, instead of one off server from Dell, has allowed us to rapidly expand our server base without managing or maintaining a mixture of hardware models. This took a substantial up-front investment but over the life-cycle of the cluster is expected to result in reduced cost.,Tired of VMWare - Scale up to a better solution!Scale is providing 98% of our virtual infrastructure for the entire CU.,Ease of Deployment Baked in replication US Based Support that cares about their clients,Increased support from software manufacturers,10,10,We run voice and data applications that support our environment, and the built-in replication to another cluster affords us the peace of mind to fail-over and it just works. No third party products to worry about, no crazy changes, just fail-over and you are up and running in minutes. We demand high availability for specific applications that affect tens of thousands of members.,VMWare Licensing in itself along with NOT using VEEAM has provided huge savings to our bottom line,VxRail, SimpliVity OmniCube and Nutanix AcropolisScale's cracked it. Here's a quality product that fits just right.HC3 is running almost the entirety of our server workload. The IT department (2 employees) are really the only direct users.,Spooling up a new virtual machine is crazy easy. Our setup for our 4-server infrastructure was done (OS install and configuration included) inside of 2 hours! Granularity, speed, and ease of use make for a very potent combination. Monitoring and managing from the HC3 console is excellent. The intuitive interface has just the right amount of detail. Changes - from changing a backup/replication schedule to adding a new drive to a VM - are done in a snap. Rolling updates are awesome.,The snapshot scheduling interface could use a bit of work to become as intuitive as the rest of HC3. The granularity is beautiful, as is the ability to make live changes, but it took a bit of time to understand how to create a nightly *and* hourly schedule for the same machine.,10,10,Our file server resides on one of the VMs managed by HC3. Soon after firing up the primary file server, we implemented its twin (with real-time replication) as a second file server VM at our disaster recovery site. No issues. Seriously, none. On the next VM over, we find our company's primary DNS server. Very important. No issues. No interruptions, lack of compute power, nothing. I would gladly recommend using Scale for business-critical functions.,With our hyperconverged, node-based solution, we don't see a need to examine hardware or hypervisors at any time in the foreseeable future. Nor do we find ourselves worrying about imminent hardware deterioration. These are massive weights off the server administrator's mind. Our Senior Sys Analyst has the objective of "leaving this place in such good shape that you could run it all by yourself." HC3 has been a measurable and significant step toward that end.,VMware ESXi and Hyper-VMy Scale Computing HC3 ReviewOur Scale HC3 system has allowed us to consolidate and visualize our current outdated servers. This solution should keep our environment running more efficiently for years to come.,We are able to utilize all available within the servers We are able to control every aspect of our VMs from one central control panel. We are able to spin up a new or duplicate VM in seconds.,Integrating a front end security control panel or integrate with 3rd party. The ability to export syslog files.,10,10,Redundancy ....... Reduncancy ......... Redundancy........ This provides a easy simple way to accomplish this objective.,Moving to a new location and to a new network was easy and required less setup and configuration. The management of all the Carepacks, licensing and service agreements for all of the servers we use to have has been eliminated.,
Windows, Linux, Unix
Scale Computing HC3
241 Ratings
Score 9.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>

Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Scale Computing HC3
241 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 241 vetted Scale Computing HC3 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (126-150 of 165)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
No photo available
December 06, 2017

General Cluster

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The majority of the servers within the client's company have been consolidated and run off of a four-node cluster. This solves concerns with redundancy and overall reliability. Windows Server clusters tend to be less reliable when it comes to load balancing, which can often lead to performance issues. The Scale cluster handles these tasks with ease.
  • The cluster is easily expandable by adding additional nodes. This can potentially keeps costs down by allowing you to increase the performance potential of your existing cluster.
  • Managing and controlling virtual machines is very straightforward and convenient from the browser-based control panel.
  • Creating and restoring snapshots is very easy, making it much less stressful to make major changes to VMs.
  • I honestly can't think of any cons off the top of my head. I've been fairly impressed with this product.
The Scale cluster is well suited to businesses looking to consolidate servers and decrease the space required to run multiple machines, while also increasing overall reliability and availability. I don't know that it would be a good fit for a data center or other large high-volume setup but it works great for the day to day needs of many businesses.
We primarily use the cluster to run the domain controllers, ERP software, Exchange hybrid server, etc. Availability has been great, with very few issues. Overall, it's been a great experience and we know we can count on the Scale cluster to keep everything up and running.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2018

Scale Support Nightmare

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole Organization.
Upgrade of physical servers
  • virtualization
  • ease of use
  • ease of configuration
  • Sales team should not undersell to sell again at a higher price
  • Lot of improvement is required in support
  • Lot of improvement needed in installation support
  • Quotes not provided to months
  • No information provided once order is placed
  • Delivery too slow - awaiting hardware for last approx. 2 months
Maybe suitable for small organizations, it is not appropriate for an organization requiring IT availability 24 x 7 at least with the kind of support currently provided.
ERP System and its ancillary softwares
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 12, 2018

Scale

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale to move past our VMware and iSCSI connections.
  • Support is great
  • Software industry standard
  • Fast
  • Network drivers crash often,
  • Need backup API to Veeam, badly. Backup is like a step back in time, and no, snapshots are not backups.
Not suited for highend workloads or large companies
All workloads. e-mail file server many specialized software packages
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

Scaling - KISS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved from 25% virtual environment to 100% virtual environment with Scale.
  • Simple UI
  • Reduced complexity
  • Serial Drivers
  • Recognize USB
These setups are ideal for SMBs with limited staff knowledge.
Two different ERPS with 25 users each. One is legacy and the other presently supported. 4 DCs, terminal services, document management, Print/files services.
Read this authenticated review
Tyler Bucy profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale HC3 cluster is our main server unit for our company. It hosts almost all of our network services, including AD, FTP, IIS (Website), file sharing and more. The biggest business problems that it addresses are, since we don't have a dedicated IT team, the simplicity to manage everything is great, and offsite replication is a breeze. I don't have to worry about losing any critical data.
  • Setting up a cluster is very simple. The interface is intuitive and does not require being a system expert to run.
  • Managing VMs and settings is easy. An admin just needs to login to one of the local nodes, and they have access to view status, setting, and even remote into all installed VMs.
  • Redundancy. In the HC3 setup, there are three nodes that connect through a back plane. If one node goes down, it's simple to spin up a lost VM on another node to continue running business.
  • It does not offer the same level of logical networking, like that of VMware.
  • We have had issues with some software not being able to activate because of the virtual environment.
  • We have to run a separate hardware device for network license dongles.
HC3 is best utilized in a small to medium business. It may not have all the necessary features for a large enterprise environment. Specifically, it is a good option for companies that don't have a large team of technicians to manage their network.
Our whole business depends on the HC3 cluster working. Currently, the most critical apps that we run, are a suite of home built modules for interfacing with our ERP system. Just the other day, we started running out of resources with our VM, and in a matter of about 2 minutes, I was able to go in and allocate more resources to eliminate any problems.
Read Tyler Bucy's full review
Trevor Pott profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Scale Computing is used by us for both primary production workloads and mission critical testlab infrastructure workloads. We have a cluster at a co-location facility whose purpose is to host websites, a virtualized file server, some e-mail servers, a few databases and some VDI instances. These are the workloads upon which our small business depends.

One of the services we offer our customers is Testlab as a Service. We do everything from reviews for technology magazines to full tear-down beta testing. Accomplishing anything remotely like efficiency and profitability requires that a great deal of the testlab's digital infrastructure be rock solid. This includes domain controllers, e-mail servers, databases, monitoring software and much, much more.

We also use a Scale Computing SNAC node (https://virtualizationreview.com/articles/2016/11/30/scale-computing-single-node-appliance-review.as...) to back up our workloads.
  • Scale is reliable. Drives can fail. Nodes can fail. All sorts of weird things can happen, but data doesn't get lost.
  • Scale support is fantastic. I call them "Datacenter Butlers" because they take a lot of the miserable scut work off of plate. I used to constantly put out fires just to keep things running smoothly. Now, whenever there's a problem, Scale support likely knows about it before I do, and will fix most of it for me.
  • Speed. Scale isn't the fastest on the market, but they also cost a fraction of the highest end gear out there. It doesn't make a lot of sense to compare, for example, a hybrid solution using SAS/SATA to EMC's top-end custom all-flash DSSD. That said, dollar for dollar, I would say Scale manages to be the fastest solution amongst their peers.
  • Scale pay attention to the little things. They have a robust QA program and an extensive beta testing program. They get industry experts to bang on their latest and greatest before it hits the streets and it shows. Scale is the opposite of the current tech trend to push out alpha-level software as generally available and then patch things according to the pyramid of screaming.
  • Scale needs a new UI to be able to handle more than 500 VMs in a single cluster.
  • Scale needs a multi-cluster management UI.
  • Scale needs a full private cloud offering with a self-service portal, template and recipe marketplace and fully integrated configuration management.
Talking about the suitability of Scale is best done by looking at how we, ourselves, implement it. We have at our disposal hundreds of thousands of dollars worth IT equipment and software from across the industry. We could host both our production solutions and our testlab on anything, using any solution or combination thereof. We choose to use Scale.

When it absolutely has to work, and we cannot afford to worry about it going boom, when we need our infrastructure to be easy to use and not require fussing, that calls for Scale. It isn't as feature rich. It doesn't have as many nerd knobs. But it Just [Censored] Works. Some times, that's the only thing that really matters.

First off, I'd like to object to the statement that "Hyper-converged Infrastructure products like Scale Computing HC3 are designed to make it easy to run applications in a highly scalable manner" in the prompting question. They're not. They're designed to make running workloads easier. Name me one HCI provider out there that makes it easy to scale workloads. Just one. You won't be able to because that's not the job of HCI. That's the job of the management and orchestration layer that turns virtualization - whether HCI or not - into something most of us would call a "cloud".

I think this is an important piece of context for discussion. HCI in general - and Scale's offering very specifically - is based emphatically on ease of use. If what you're looking for are edge cases like high frequency trading or other extreme use case niches, look elsewhere. That's not what HCI is about.

Those workloads are the equivalent of commuting to work on a Saturn V. Think of Scale Computing more like the Honda Civic of IT. It is powerful enough to deal with the overwhelming majority of use cases. It will meet the needs of the mass market. It will run all your day-to-day mundane infrastructure workloads from the SMB to the enterprise and fit very nicely in ROBO scenarios.

What you're not going to get from a Scale HCI cluster - at least not until an all-flash NVMe version running on top of 25GbE or 100GbE networking comes out - is something that will handle huge databases with ultra low latency requirements and trillions of transactions per second. Nor is Scale going to be the super cheap near-zero-margin $/TB bulk storage solution required for large-scale data warehousing. If you're building a massive radio telescope, maybe look elsewhere.

But for the rest of us, for those running a few thousand people in an exchange environment, or a modest use case database for a point of sales application, for some VDI or image rendering or a hundred other workloads I've run on Scale, it just works. That's what hyperconvergence is: It Just Works(TM) in a turnkey appliance for 90% of workloads you could ever want.
Read Trevor Pott's full review
John Brainard profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Due to the success of the first scale cluster installation and the ease of use and administration, we actually have two different dedicated clusters. One runs the business servers and daily operations, the other runs the core of the refinery operation servers. The Scale Platform streamlined how we handled VMs in our company. Previously there was a lot of mismatched hardware, VMWare, Hyper-V, and dedicated hardware servers. The backup solution and redundancy started becoming an issue along with heat load and just sheer hardware management. The stress of having critical 24/7 process servers running on mismatched hardware was a daily stress. Scale has removed all of that and it really does just work. Plain and simple.
  • Super simplified interface. I like to tinker around like any true IT minded person, but I don't have the time to learn all the details on all new systems we implement. I was up and running and fully knew my system in less than a day.
  • The tech and setup department knowing we are an oil refinery and rarely, if ever, get a chance for a full shutdown. We got that chance unexpectedly and they literally customized and overnighted a cluster system in 2 days. It took us less than 72 hours from initial contact to have all servers migrated and online in the new cluster. Support engineers worked with us all weekend; they were amazing. They are truly their for their customers, not just a 9-5 company.
  • The only thing I can think of, and its to their service or systems, but the cost of some small upgrades seems excessive. a simple ram upgrade to one node was between $1100 - $1500. The actual hardware cost for that is about 25-30% of that.
For anyone looking to virtualize or organize their virtual environment, Scale has been amazing. The only thing we have found that we couldn't use Scale for was with VMWare specific machines. An example is a scenario we ran into during our implementation. Cisco Prime and WIFI servers run either on really expensive Cisco hardware or a VMWare based machine. I couldn't migrate that machine to scale and thus have to keep a VMWare cluster just for that. Now, that isn't Scale's fault by any means, but having the ability to have a VMWare virtual environment in Scale would open it to the world. Even if it was a Scale virtual server that hosted VMWare on it. At this time and my understanding, that isn't possible...yet!
The most critical thing we run here is an actual refinery. We are 24/7/365 staffed and data logging, HMI, and analytics servers MUST be online and safe running. That is what scale provides for us. A low-overhead, secure, robust system that just works.
Read John Brainard's full review
Nick Bertram profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using our HC3 cluster as our production environment for the corporation. We have migrated all but a handful of systems to the cluster with excellent results. We migrated from a stand alone Hyper-V system to address the fail over problems we were having. The system has performed better than expected, allowing us to migrate additional systems in to the cluster as well as expanding and adding an additional node.
  • Fail over and load balancing - Having used a basic Hyper-V system with no clustering and no fail over, this was a selling point to migrate to the HC3.
  • Expansion - The process to add an additional node was seamless. Ordered the node, once it arrived gave support a call. Walked thru the process during production hours and was migrating systems over to it within a couple of hours. Could not ask for a simpler process.
  • Dashboard - The improvements to the dashboard have been great. The ability to monitor is "real time" the IOPs of the system and individual nodes as well as their processor load have helped us track down issues that might have been missed otherwise.
  • The issues that we had early on have been addressed by their support staff. As we have found something that we wanted the system to do they have been very supportive and worked them into their road map. Such as disk usage display and IOPs.
  • Multiple User Support - This is one feature that would be nice to get implemented. Single account with admin rights has limited who has access to the system to help support end users. The ability to create user accounts with varying level of access would be beneficial.
If you a running an environment with your systems spread out to the role they are performing (each server has a role and not stacking roles) the HC3 system has been great for us.

If you are stacking multiple roles into a single system, you may not benefit as much from this setup. Not really a fault of the system, but the design is not virtual friendly from my experience.
We are currently running 2 SQL instances and the results have been great. We have support systems running as well, but the value has been in the database systems running.
Read Nick Bertram's full review
Jonah Fulmer profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our primary Virtual Server Center. It is utilized by the entire company. It has resolved issues we where having with our old system in the area of network connectivity bottle-neck and VM Storage management.
  • Technical Support is probably there biggest strength. There hasn't been a single time as of yet that I haven't been able to get a hold of someone quickly. All of the support personnel at every level are very knowledgeable about the product.
  • Management is always ready to hear any concerns you have.
  • I have to mention Technical support again, because it deserve that much space :) .
  • Their Hyper-visor is always being improved, and that is the only real area I can think of that needs improvement. But they are constantly adding newer and expanded features to rival the top tier VM software vendors. So not really an area they need to improve, but an area where I am just impatient to see what they come out with next.
Scale HC3 is definitely best suited for IT environments with 2 to 0 IT employees where the company has upwards of 100 employees. In that kind of scenario, the IT personnel doesn't have a lot of time to sit and monitor the server environment. And HC3 provides the reliability the IT Admin's need in that kind of scenario.
However, the reverse is true. If you have a large IT environment, HC3 is still a good option, it would just create a scenario where a few of the IT staff might be left with nothing much to do :) .
We don't have a lot of applications running from the VMs themselves. Really the only one that works completely off of the server is our financial and project tracking software from Deltek. The majority of my needs lie in scalable storage. Currently HC3 software doesn't have a way to scale storage on the fly like the other major VM sofware manufacturers, but I know it is a feature that they are working on.
Read Jonah Fulmer's full review
Mike Slates profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Setup was easy with Scale's assistance. Rack, connect, and they walk you through establishing the cluster. Then, it just runs! Upload your OS ISO's and you're off and running.
  • VM creation is a extremely quick and easy. Modification of CPU/RAM/Disk of existing VM's is also easy.
  • High availability. If one node goes down all the VM's on that node automatically migrate to other nodes. (I haven't had any issues with the boxes, so this hasn't occurred. But, firmware upgrades do take individual cluster nodes offline during the upgrade process, so that simulates it.)
  • Performance. We're running 25 VM's on our 4-node Scale HC3 cluster. We have the middle tier platform, HC2000 with SAS drives and 10 Gb NICs, and the performance has been excellent.
  • Reduction of physical servers, power, and heat. We used to have 2 full racks of physical servers, plus several remote servers. All using power and generating heat. Now, we could fit everything in a half rack.
  • Support. Scale's support team is outstanding. Every time I call or open a ticket on their support portal, I get a response immediately. And it's by a team of well-trained professionals, speaking English, based in Indiana!
  • Ability to grow. Just add a node to the cluster. Boom! Extra CPU/RAM/Disk available immediately. And you can add nodes while the cluster is running.
  • Disaster Recovery. We added 2 DR nodes at a remote site and are replicating snapshots of all our servers nightly. This was a huge win for us, as we've been struggling with BCP/DR for years.
  • Cannot modify CPU/RAM/Disk while a VM is running. Not a huge Con in my book, since I don't have a lot of need for this.
  • Took them a while add support for Windows Server 2016(and Windows 10).
If you're a small/medium sized business and looking to do a server refresh, I would definitely look at Scale. They have simplified my server setup substantially, and made everything a lot easier and more reliable.
If you're looking at implementing a SAN backend with Hyper-V or VMWare, look at a Hyper-Converged vendor like Scale. You'll probably save money and have a much simpler setup.
We run the following on our Scale HC3 cluster:
- Active Directory - 4 servers in total. Zero problems.
- SQL/Reporting - No issues and it's fast.
- Dynamics on SQL - again, no issues and its fast.
- SQL database servers for custom order processing applications. Works great.
- WSUS for Windows Updates.
- Print/Scan-to-email server.
- Groups server.
- Software/Build server.
- Certificate Authority servers.

All of these apps/servers run as expected, even when one or more of the SQL servers are doing heavy things. IOPS and CPU are never a problem.

Read Mike Slates's full review
Tyler Rother profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is used within our organization as a whole, running all sorts of servers and platforms. It addresses having quick backups (snapshots) to recover from in case of a disaster or a configuration changed that has been botched. It also has stability and quickness within the hardware that makes using it seamless as well as when migrations occur, there is no down time nor slowdown.
  • Scale Support is second to none. Fast. Timely. Precise. No running around the bush when it comes to calling them for assistance or technical issues.
  • Scale Support has made setup a breeze on new units, as well as adding a unit. Up and running in minutes and ready to use shortly after.
  • Scale is constantly updating and bettering there firmware, adding features, making improvements, and creating one of the best virtual platforms out there today.
  • On the Summary portion of the VM in questions, I would like to see the % of Memory used (performance).
  • Instead of fixing the problem and saying it's fixed, problem/solution explanation on each ticket/issue and if something can be avoided and addressed to prevent it from happening again.
  • I would love to see a mobile app of some sort or the GUI mobile friendly in the future.
Scale Computing's support, hardware, firmware, and even their Sales team are again, second to none. They go above and beyond making sure that you as a customer are taken care of whether it be from the administrative/sales side of things to the back end on the technical side making sure everything is running at 100% and functioning as intended.
SQL - running it within the 'These go to 11' setting within the system makes it run smooth, seamless, with no interruptions whatsoever.
Read Tyler Rother's full review
Matthew Beckler profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale computing is our primary device handling all of our internal files/databases/applications. The Scale Computing cluster provides all internal services for the whole company. We were looking to internalize services that were not ready to go cloud based that were previously hosted by an MSP. We were on a short time frame so we needed something easy to use, quick to deploy, and that had built in fault tolerance.
  • Extremely easy to deploy. Once the physical connections are made it is very simply to get your VM's up and running.
  • Support was great to work with during the setup. I had a weird issue that turned out to be my monitor and unrelated to Scale and the technician figured it out over the phone.
  • Redundancy built in with no configuration. I just deploy my VM and it is automatically replicated across nodes.
  • SSD tiering system that moves most used blocks to faster storage providing IOPS where needed. This is fully customizable so I can choose what VM's need priority.
  • Expandability I can easily add additional single nodes to increase my compute and storage capacity.
  • KVM based so most of the major Backup players can not backup at the Host level. This requires agents for backing up all VM's and also many backup vendors will not license agents at the Host level so you need to pay per VM for most backup solutions.
  • Extended period where it was not compatible with latest Microsoft operating system (Server 2016 compatibility just came this spring)
  • Email alerts are not directly compatible with Office365 (No TLS login support)
  • No All SSD/Flash options are currently available.
  • Requires external switch and configuration of switch for Node communication.
  • Would like to see extended grouping for easier identification of VM's
  • Some way to easily automate certain tasks. (Some kind of API or Scale supported scripting)
  • Console has some quirks such as mouse not working when using a touchscreen laptop.
Scale is very appropriate in any Small to Mid-Size enterprises. It is easy to use and get up and running. Pretty much anyone with cursory computer knowledge can install a VM on this system and the VM will be replicated automatically across the nodes. When you a need a system that just works this is it.

Scale Computing without additional integration/automation options and an easier way to use commonly used Backup software may be less appropriate for organization with many VM's where it would be a large effort to add guest backup agents to every VM.
All our internal applications run on Scale Computing..
We have not experienced in any issues with our business critical applications.
These include SQL server, 2 Files servers, Various application servers.
All Servers have run quick and haven't experienced any downtime.
Read Matthew Beckler's full review
Robert Candee profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 (Scale) is used company wide. Scale was selected as our primary hypervisor. Before Scale, we were a pure physical server shop. With the power of Scale we were able to convert our physical servers to virtual servers (P2V) with minimal effort. The tools that were supplied by Scale aided in the P2V process. We were able to convert nearly our entire Information Technology (IT) infrastructure to virtual in under a week. The Scale environment controls 99% of our IT solutions.
  • Scale offers what is known as hyperconvergence. Hyperconvergence is a combination of hypervisor, storage, and networking all in one appliance.
  • Creating a new virtual machine takes about 40 seconds to complete. In the past, spinning up a new server would take days.
  • Scale offers the ability to create snapshots of virtual machines both manually and automatically.
  • Scale offers the ability to create a development environment with ease. Simply clone the VM that you want to use, change a few setting related to networking and you are set!
  • Scale reduces the TCO because processing power, networking, and storage are all contained in a single appliance.
  • Replication is one of the areas that could be improved. Please do not get me wrong, replication works well but the interface is missing the ability to throttle bandwidth usage.
  • Setup and configuration could be a bit simpler. However, Scale's support team is way above average and available. The only issue is having to schedule a time for configuration.
Scale is very well suited for small/medium business (SMB). Companies that have a small number of physical servers could benefit from Scale's hyperconvergence technologies. For example, in my company's environment, we went from over 20 physical servers down to one Scale cluster. The cooling requirements for our data center dropped dramatically.
With Scale, we were able to migrate our entire ERP solution, which was hosted on three different physical servers, to Scale's virtual environment in two days! Scale's snapshot functionality allows us to create automatic snapshots of our ERP easily and efficiently. In addition to migrating our ERP solution we were able to migrate our Microsoft SQL servers to Scale which allowed us to reduce the number of physical servers and reduce MS SQL licensing requirements.
Read Robert Candee's full review
Zac King profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Scale Computing at our data center for cloud services that we host for our clients. It has dramatically simplified the management of our IT infrastructure and lowered the management time that the staff spends at our datacenter. We no longer have to worry about data replication or a single server affecting our ability to deliver the highest uptime.
  • Scale Computing simplifies the management of the critical components in your IT infrastructure. The interface allows you to understand what's going on with a quick glance, giving you the important and relevant information right in front of you.
  • Scale Computing also gives you the flexibility to add the right kind of performance your company needs as it grows. Whether you need more storage, RAM, or compute, the cluster can accommodate your expansion needs.
  • Scale Computing allows your DR facility to be managed in the same way as your production facility. No complicated setups or configurations, just simple point and click.
  • Upgrades can be expensive at times.
  • Reporting for individual VM's and their usage could be improved in a few small areas.
Scale is great for those who need a simple way to manage their servers without jumping through a lot of hoops or spending weeks or months to get trained on how to use it. It just works and doesn't require you to babysit it to make sure it's doing what it's supposed to.
We run everything on our Scale cluster including AD, Exchange, SQL, Remote Desktop, and VoIP. Everything just works the way it's supposed to without a lot of fuss. Snapshots of VM's are a breeze to setup and use when you need to test something out.
Read Zac King's full review
Yancy Lancaster profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Scale for not only our own infrastructure but our customers and in our data center. Scale provides the perfect 'pay as you grow' approach with IT for our clients. We also use it to support our clients in the data center as a quick off-site restore platform when disaster strikes.
  • The true pioneers of hyper-convergence. If you are evaluating H/C, or are planning on deploying H/C, explore all the solutions out there, and you will find that Scale is the only one that is doing H/C at the base level, the way it should be. Products like Cisco's and others are add ons or afterthoughts and are not much different or just re-worded UCS models.
  • The "Pay as you Grow" model afforded by Scale is the future of IT. Why would you EVER buy significantly more computing resources than you need for the very short term? Scale gives you the ability to tighten your capacity planning to meet the fiduciary responsibility modern IT demands.
  • They push third party migration software, that is nearly 100% useless. In the 5 different cases we have tried to use it, we have needed significant tech support and they have not been able to even get the program to work outside of a lab environment. This is not a reflection on Scale other than they push this expensive software that they KNOW 100% doesn't work.
  • We have experienced significant failure rate from the single node, noncluster servers. One device we have had to replace 2 times (we are on the 3rd one) in a month.
  • Pay as you grow model.
  • Digital Cloud Transformation of existing IT departments.
Solid Works Vault. Efolder.
Read Yancy Lancaster's full review
Jeffrey Place profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Scale Computing HC3 across our organization. We chose HC3 due to its simplicity to implement and scale up when necessary. We started with a 3-node system and due to some necessary system upgrades we just added a 4th node to our unit. As a one-person IT department, it made virtualizing our entire environment much easier and without the annual licensing costs of VMWare.
  • Scale Computing HC3 allows me to spin up a test environment in minutes, not hours.
  • With HC3, it is easy to clone a machine, take a snap shot or backup a system. Literally just a few clicks and you are done.
  • HC3 also provides peace of mind that if one-node goes down, the other can spin up easily without missing a beat.
  • In place upgrades of the interface is great, I don't have to have a maintenance window to do routing updates to the interface.
  • I have had very few issues with the HC3 system. It did have a glitch which would not allow me to upload files to the system using the Chrome browser but tech support helped me with a work-around.
  • I don't particularly like the way the web-site knowledge base is put together but I am getting used to it. Thankfully, I haven't needed to use it very much.
The unit I have is very for small SMBs with few or no full time IT personnel, they can be remotely managed and with the new single node option you can have off-site backup/disaster recovery set up in a very time. I can see how this system can be used with multiple small offices/remote site and can scale up to larger enterprises.

We run both VMWare and HC3 virtual servers. We are currently running our SQL Server and two terminal servers on our HC3 system. I was reluctant to move the SQL server to a virtual environment due to lag-time issues, but there hasn't been a noticeable lag in our SQL Server. We run all of our payroll, accounting and production software systems on the HC3 nodes. Next up, we will be moving our Exchange system to our HC3 platform as well.

Read Jeffrey Place's full review
Nate Abbott profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our organization has applied this as a solution for a client. The client had a significant hardware/platform obsolescence and reliability issue. The Scale Cluster resolved all platform issues and cleaned up a depressingly neglected data closet. Uptime for this client went from sub 90 percent to a consistent 99.999% uptime with a complete turnaround in employee confidence in the network and their network systems.
  • Scale Computing HC3 reduces virtualized system management to a minimum set of essential controls. The architecture is a fixed configuration that can be optimized for each site, but is best suited for smaller and medium sized businesses where simplicity, reliability and cost are all factors. HC3 excels in all of these areas.
  • Scale Computing HC3 is very quick and easy to implement, easy to migrate in virtual hosts and physical hosts, and easy to expand and re-allocate resources.
  • Scale Computing HC3 has great technical support for implementation and ongoing support of your Scale stack. It takes little time to get to a true expert, and they have crossed over into areas that are not directly their own responsibility, such as Microsoft Operating System faults and network configuration issues that are external to their box.
  • I would like a little more depth in the virtual machine controls. Maybe that sacrifices simplicity, but it would be nice to have an "expert" mode.
  • Better and more evident DR functionality built into the Scale platform. I feel like this is a missed opportunity for Scale.
  • Switch to HP Hardware!
Small to medium sized businesses with mandatory on-prem apps and limited in-house IT is the sweet spot for Scale. Smaller businesses that can live in the cloud, and larger businesses that require advanced virtualization services and extended VMWare functions who can hire specialists are not a good bet for Scale. Anywhere that diverse app platforms and excess hardware exist under a frustrated and under-manned IT department, that is where Scale should be.
My main experience running Scale is in a medical office with a dozen docs and dozens of medical assistants, nurses and staff. Scale runs the legacy practice management platform that is needed every day to look up patient history, but was running on outdated and vulnerable bare-metal. Virtualizing this application and surrounding it with best practice network services running on brand new Windows Server 2012 R2 virtual machines made it easy to optimize the network and end a bad uptime regime.
Read Nate Abbott's full review
Tony Serratore profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 is being used across the organisation. It has allowed us to refresh operating systems, migrate from 32bit OS to 64Bit operating systems. Snapshotting and cloning is very easy and new server VMs are built in rapid time.
  • Snapshots - very straightforward and can be scheduled
  • Cloning - easy to do from a snapshot
  • Creating VMs - is easy
  • Performance indicators - which VMs are utilising the most IOPs
  • Improved browser support
HC3 does very well in supporting our business needs across the exchange server to SQL databases.
Exchange Server 2010 - HC3 has been integral to running our own Exchange server on-premises than in the cloud and this is more cost effective for us. The service is replicated daily to a DR cluster and provides 24x7 email access to our users. Our ERP application running on SQL is served on the HC3 cluster providing reliable performance and data integrity is maintained.
Read Tony Serratore's full review
Tony Batres profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale Computing HC3 as our core server and storage farm. It houses application servers for accounting and PBO services. Scale's intuitive platform and price point allowed us to save thousands of dollars compared to Nutanix and EVO-RAIL. It also facilitated with our efforts meet the requirements needed to obtain our SOC 1 certification.
  • Implementation is simple no need to go to hours of training first before you start loading your first VM
  • VM will automatically migrate to another Node in case of node failure, no need to configure it its just out of the box
  • Snapshots and Cloning VM's are intuitive and fast
  • Firmware updates do not require you to bring the whole cluster down
  • Migration tools for importing and exporting in VM from other Vendors
  • Ability to create VM and then deploy in AWS and Microsoft cloud and vice versa
Any sSmall to medium size business would benefit from Scale's price point and ease of use. The only area where Scale might not be well suited would be a large server farm that needs high availability across more than 8 nodes. Currently, Scale has an 8 node limit; in a cluster you can always have multiple clusters.
We run our accounting system, our content management system, customer portals, SQL servers, OCR servers, AV and AD on Scale's infrastructure.
Read Tony Batres's full review
Ramon Vazquez profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization and we have migrated most of our servers to run virtually within HC3. We should be finalizing all the movements this year.
  • Ease of use
  • Great support
  • Uptime is great
It is well suited for most companies and scenarios. The only scenario where I may not see it working is when you need space for big data where you might need an extra storage unit. For everything else hyperconvergence is golden.
Right now we run everything from active directory, file and printer servers, HR software, and 4 to 5 different databases without issue.
Read Ramon Vazquez's full review
Jake Fowler profile photo
June 12, 2017

Scale Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We virtualize several servers used by the entire school. Also, we have a replication node in another location for disaster recovery.
  • Their customer service is top notch. When we have issues (rarely) they get back to us immediately, always resolve the issue in a timely manner, and explain everything that happened.
  • The GUI interface is way beyond any other virtual appliance I've ever used. It's super easy to configure. I can ramp up new servers in minutes.
  • I have no complaints whatsoever about their products.
It's great for Windows or Linux virtual servers. It also integrates well with many VDI solutions.
Our main database runs on Scale. When we need to do updates, they are worry free since we can do a quick snapshot and/or clone so that we could recover quickly if need be. We also run several web servers and some other services that we are testing for eventual deployment - it's super easy to ramp up a new server to test anything and then blow it away once we're done.
Read Jake Fowler's full review
Lee Zimmerman profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale across our entire corporation which includes retail, wholesale and manufacturing entities. We run a mixture of Debian Linux and Windows Server 2012r2 with 27 VMs total. We have appreciated the performance improvements and flexibility of a single large storage pool after migrating from a solution where we had several standalone servers hosting VMs.
  • HC3 makes it dead easy to clone a VM from a snapshot and get it up and running using their simple web interface.
  • The HC3 dashboard allows one to see at a glance the major indicators of server utilization across the cluster.
  • Spinning up a new VM based on a template makes the job of adding a new server easy and quick.
  • HC3 does not offer guaranteed support for Debian Linux, however we have not run into any significant issues despite using it heavily in production.
HC3 may not be well suited for small businesses that are only running a basic server or two. However once a business grows beyond that point Scale will be a competitive option.
One of the business-critical applications we run our our Scale Cluster is Epicor ERP. When transferring our Epicor server from a physical box to a Scale VM we saw marked improvement despite allocating a lot less RAM. This was due to the improved IO of the cluster.
Read Lee Zimmerman's full review
Scott Rosen profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale is providing 98% of our virtual infrastructure for the entire CU.
  • Ease of Deployment
  • Baked in replication
  • US Based Support that cares about their clients
  • Increased support from software manufacturers
I believe Scale Computing Hc3 is supported from SMB to SME, and possibly even larger. We have 99% of our workloads migrated to the Scale solution but there are a couple that only support VMWare, and mainly because they have no reason to support another solution at this time. That will continue to change. The solution works extremely well.
We run voice and data applications that support our environment, and the built-in replication to another cluster affords us the peace of mind to fail-over and it just works. No third party products to worry about, no crazy changes, just fail-over and you are up and running in minutes. We demand high availability for specific applications that affect tens of thousands of members.
Read Scott Rosen's full review
Joshua Clark profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 is running almost the entirety of our server workload. The IT department (2 employees) are really the only direct users.
  • Spooling up a new virtual machine is crazy easy. Our setup for our 4-server infrastructure was done (OS install and configuration included) inside of 2 hours! Granularity, speed, and ease of use make for a very potent combination.
  • Monitoring and managing from the HC3 console is excellent. The intuitive interface has just the right amount of detail. Changes - from changing a backup/replication schedule to adding a new drive to a VM - are done in a snap.
  • Rolling updates are awesome.
  • The snapshot scheduling interface could use a bit of work to become as intuitive as the rest of HC3. The granularity is beautiful, as is the ability to make live changes, but it took a bit of time to understand how to create a nightly *and* hourly schedule for the same machine.
Small-to-medium businesses need Scale. The ability to add compute/storage/everything nodes that are 1 rack unit high is fantastic. We went into our purchase with the intention of 1 3-node cluster. Scale's pricing and features were great enough that we instead purchased 4 nodes (1 3-node cluster and 1 1-node cluster) and have a disaster and recovery solution ready to go. This is alongside our confidence that we can add a new node if we need more capacity/compute or if the machines just need a refresh down the road.

Meanwhile, server administration ticks along in the virtual sphere. Creating, moving, monitoring the VMs is very easy to do. What used to be a remote connection to resource monitor is now a glance at the HC3 console.
Our file server resides on one of the VMs managed by HC3. Soon after firing up the primary file server, we implemented its twin (with real-time replication) as a second file server VM at our disaster recovery site. No issues. Seriously, none.
On the next VM over, we find our company's primary DNS server. Very important. No issues. No interruptions, lack of compute power, nothing.
I would gladly recommend using Scale for business-critical functions.
Read Joshua Clark's full review
Greg Carreon profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale HC3 system has allowed us to consolidate and visualize our current outdated servers. This solution should keep our environment running more efficiently for years to come.
  • We are able to utilize all available within the servers
  • We are able to control every aspect of our VMs from one central control panel.
  • We are able to spin up a new or duplicate VM in seconds.
  • Integrating a front end security control panel or integrate with 3rd party.
  • The ability to export syslog files.
Scale is perfect for our midsize company. I reduced the number of physical servers and if I need more I just add a node and it will automatically balance itself.
Redundancy ....... Reduncancy ......... Redundancy........ This provides a easy simple way to accomplish this objective.
Read Greg Carreon's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English