Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

249 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 172)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Scale Computing HC3 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale Computing HC3 to host almost all of our servers.
  • Hosts virtual machines with excellent performance
  • Creates snapshots easily
  • Creates duplicate VMs quickly and easily
  • Provides a clean, easy-to-use interface
  • UI customizability, especially for large screens
  • Unity DR is "fickle" regarding bandwidth and latency
  • Unity default DR disk space is a little low
Scale Computing HC3 is an excellent hyper-converged solution that works very well for VM hosting. It performs well, and the snapshot feature is excellent. That said, it doesn't yet support containers.
Every time I've had an issue, through onboarding and into production, support has been fast, efficient, and highly skilled.
Our entire unstructured file system and authentication system runs on Scale Computing HC3. We are able to add terabytes of storage at the drop of a hat, spin up new controllers quickly and easily, and when it comes time to expand beyond the hardware capacity, adding new nodes is a snap.
Read Joe Foran's full review
Thomas Martini | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

High-powered hyperconverged environment without the high cost!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Scale Computing HC3 virtual environment for our entire organization. It provides us with an efficient and inexpensive solution for us to run our 12 virtual servers and 100Tb+ of storage. It was easy to set up and implement and their assistance along the way was incredible!
  • Performance increase over previous virtual environment
  • Easy setup and configuration
  • Easy migration from previous virtual environment
  • Support from Scale Computing was fantastic.
  • VLAN setup was a bit tricky due to our current LAN environment and limitations on the number of Scale network interface cards.
Scale Computing HC3 is well suited for companies that need a lot of storage and performance, but don't have a large budget, or even for ones that do.
Support staff explain things well, are very friendly, and respond to issues extremely fast.
We are running file storage servers, SQL Servers, Reporting Service Servers, RDS Servers, and Web Servers. All have shown increased performance over the previous environment.
Read Thomas Martini's full review
Collin Coe | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Happy HC3 Customer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While performing a DRP process review in 2018 we identified a need to obtain more compute and storage resources for our secondary datacenter to lower our RTO deliverables to the organization. We were a strictly VMware shop, utilizing a traditional architecture of compute nodes and storage nodes connected over the network.

When right-sizing the expansion of our compute resources we performed a review of our Hypervisor needs and determined that we were not using a majority of features in the VMware suite, and did not see a compelling reason to continue paying a premium for those features.

We discovered Scale Computing and the HC3 on a recommendation from a colleague, and their simple hyper-converged design coupled with an intuitive interface was perfect for a team of our size. Once we did a site tour of a current customer and after lengthy conversations with Scale we knew this solution would simplify our daily operations for our hypervisor infrastructure, at nearly half the cost of a comparable VMware solution.

The relationship with Scale since then has been great. We are now running all of our production servers on the Scale Computing HC3 solution, and the support and upgrades have been seamless.
  • Simple Interface
  • Little Upkeep
  • Additional features (i.e., see the IP on the tile of the VM; allow hot swapping of VLAN on NIC)
  • Better partnership for non-approved solution providers--Mitel, in particular, has been a difficult transition for us.
If you have a small team, or even a large team, that does not use the advanced features of VMware, or may not be able to dedicate a resource to managing the VMware environment Scale Computing HC3 is great for you.

This is by far the greatest bang for our buck we could find. The prices we were presented with during the purchasing process (Comparing VMware, Hyper-V, and Scale) placed Scale at just over HALF the cost of a VMware solution, and significantly cheaper than a Hyper-V solution.
The support for day to day operations is phenomenal. The support specialists will also help in understanding how to move VMware solutions that do not have clear Scale or Linux documentation to Scale in most cases.
Being able to quickly scale up virtualized solutions has and continues to be critical to our daily operations. Coupling that with the automatic backups of VMs to a paired cluster and we have seen a dramatic improvement in our RTO and RPO deliverables to the organization.
Read Collin Coe's full review
Brad Fulmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

SCALE: Affordable HCI for the Masses.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale for our primary and DR compute, storage and backup needs. It has helped to greatly reduce the overhead that the previous VMware system it replaced created.
  • Simplicity, everything in one interface.
  • Backup and restore.
  • The main interface is somewhat basic, missing details about each VM and the system as a whole that other solutions provide. Disk throughput and the ability to see a detailed breakdown of each VM on a host, to name a couple.
  • The ability to clone install media(ISO files) between clusters would be nice.
For small and medium businesses it's hard to beat. It's very simple to install, move you're VMs to, and manage. You have computing, storage, and backups/replication all in 1 blade/cluster. I can see it being a bit of a challenge in larger corporations due to the lack of some advanced features provided by VMware and others.
Their Support team is excellent. They were a big help during the install and it is easy to reach them by phone or email if you have a problem. They are all based in the US and respond quickly. This is a rarity today. You will certainly not get this kind of service from the likes of DELL, HP, or VMware without paying a great deal of money to buy one of their premium tier products like vxRail.
We run all of our production DBs, case management, document management, Exchange, and most other primary systems on Scale. Performance has never been an issue. We have a 4 node cluster in production and a 3 node cluster in DR. Auto load balancing works well.
Read Brad Fulmer's full review
Andrew Werner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Scale Computing HC3 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Scale Computing HC3/Lenovo solution last year across our entire firm replacing our aging VMWare and Cisco UCS. This was deployed in our Primary Datacenter, our DR site, as well as smaller remote clusters at each office. We have the primary datacenter replicating and backing up to our DR site, with the DR site having the ability to completely take over the full workload should the primary datacenter ever go down. The smaller remote clusters are being used in each office as some combination of domain controllers, file servers, and/or print servers. Our servers and back end systems are now 100% on Scale Computing HC3.
  • Ease of management. With the smaller size of our company, the ability to have nearly everyone in the IT department able to manage our clusters and VMs with ease is a huge bonus. This also makes staffing easier, as we do not have to rely on at least one position being a VMWare specialist.
  • Single pane of glass. The ability to manage all our clusters (primary, DR, remote) through a single HTML interface makes our lives that much easier.
  • Simple scaling. The ease of adding additional servers or remote clusters is fantastic. Also, being able to scale our environment with different hardware makes future upgrades easier to plan, and easier on the budget.
  • Ability to see more detailed information on server/cluster performance (CPU/RAM usage, less IOP-centric)
  • More advanced options for replications and backups (more scheduling options)
Given the ease of management and cost, I would 100% recommend Scale Computing HC3 to all colleagues. For smaller businesses, I think it fits nearly all implementations. For very large companies, I can see where more advanced features are a higher priority than cost so Scale Computing HC3 may not work for them. That being said, I believe Scale Computing is catching up quickly and will be on par with the advanced/complex features of some of the competitors soon.
Starting at the initial interest shown in the product and lasting all the way through purchasing, implementation, and now standard support, Scale Computing has been providing personalized and phenomenal support. We always receive responses in a timely manner, and from US-based support teams.
We've also found that feature requests are regularly making their way into software/firmware updates, making the products ROI grow by the day.
We have transitioned our company (~90 VMs) to 100% HCI on Scale Computing HC3. We run everything from file/print servers to Exchange servers, to full server compute-intensive database/accounting software. Previously we were an 80/20 split between VMWare and physical servers.
Read Andrew Werner's full review
Tomislav Ilic | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2020

Scale Computing HC3 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 is being used by all vessels in our fleet. Every vessel (Pipelayer) is equipped with 2 servers. They are connected for replication purposes. On each server, there are few services running: MS 2016 DNS, DHCP, SharePoint, mail server, company-specific software for maintenance, and some similar bits and pieces of software. Scale Computing HC3 is very convenient to use because of easy deployment and resource monitoring.
  • Resource monitoring (Excellent GUI)
  • Easy to install new instance of virtual machine
  • Dynamic disk allocation
  • Ability to have real-time replication with easy configuration steps
  • Cluster connection directly from one server to another without another piece of equipment
  • Better support for GPU offloading
Scale Computing HC3 is excellent for every scenario when fast fail-over is a must! For the Oil and Gas industry or Marine applications, it is excellent because everything is redundant. This feature allows for equipment to be repaired or just maintained. In my opinion, I would implement some features for Fiber channel support for disk array expansion.
I was communicating with the Scale support team. I had a difficult time making a decision about some features. I contacted the team, and in less than 24 hours they gave step by step instructions on what to do. This is very important especially in an environment that needs things to be set up correctly from initial configuration.
MS Server 2016 and MS Server 2019 were running with several features added on. The server had at least 10 virtualized instances of OS running at the same time and never had any issues. And there is something very important to be considered in this case. All of these services were running on one server, while the other one was running only for snapshots and backup purposes.
Read Tomislav Ilic's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

Skip the rest, join the best, do it for less!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale is being used for our primary private cloud infrastructure and at branch offices. It addresses loaded costs of a hypervisor, dense storage, live migration and overall resiliency. It simplifies the management and doesn't require specialized resources from an engineering perspective, allowing our IT to be a jack of all trades vs a SME. This ultimately enables us to focus on our core business alignment services.
  • Live migration.
  • Simplifies management of VMs.
  • Dense storage with great resiliency.
  • Dense storage with optional hybrid caching or full SSD.
  • Simple, worry-free upgrades.
  • In-depth monitoring and control of the VM host/cluster.
  • Single pane of glass management (not in public cloud, i.e. not the upcoming edge service).
  • In-depth configuration and monitoring of vmhost for security and other aspects.
Simplifying the stack, reducing TCO, reducing or redirecting engineer areas of focus.
They have been responsive, see it through to completion and take ownership.
BI, System of Record, MS AD, SIEM, IAM, DB, data warehouse. Seemless transition from a functionality perspective. Found it was easier and less business impact to rebuild systems than migrate when size was exceeding 1TB for overall storage. Experienced licensing issues when trying to change MS licenses from retail to VLSC. This is more of a MS issue, but is good to be aware of during your transition.
Read this authenticated review
Brandon L | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Simple and high performing solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using the hybrid (part flash, part HDD) version of the HC3 appliance in a 3 node cluster. We replaced 5 physical HP Proliant servers running Hyper-V. We are now running most of our business-critical servers on a high performing hyper-converged appliance at a fraction of the cost of some of the other vendors we looked at. While cost was a big reason we purchased, the biggest reason was that we didn't feel like we were being oversold on features that we didn't need or that didn't matter to us. We felt that Scale Computing really catered to the SMB, and we were the customers that mattered. The feature set provided us everything we need, and very little we don't. The sales team encouraged us to plan for the future, but not overbuy. What a refreshing sales process. We ended up purchasing what we need, not what a Fortune 500 company needs.
  • Incredibly simple deployment and cloning of VM's. Makes managing a very high-tech architecture simple.
  • Auto negotiates SSD disk usage based on requirements and prioritization, maximizing utilization of the faster I/O for disks that need it.
  • Customer Service is great. I think everyone says this (and it was preached to us before and during the sales process) but they really have been great.
  • Simple, simple, simple. We kept asking ourselves "Is it really this easy". Some people need more advanced and complicated feature sets, but for us "simplicity that performs at a high level" is very important for our small IT dept. Managing is a 30mins per week job vs 20 hrs.
  • Offsite backup configuration options are lacking. There is room for improvement here. Full replication to another HC3 is easy, but customized snapshot and full VM export is lacking. We are confident this will be addressed.
If you have extra staff and want to assign someone to manage your scale infrastructure full-time, then Scale Computing is probably not the right solution for you. They will be bored as they learn that there is very little to manage, everything is automated and it "just works". This is perfect for our small IT shop where we all wear various hats and don't have time to babysit an expensive appliance.
Support has been excellent. Sales staff, sales engineers, and actual support reps have all been excellent. Getting support staff securely connected to your cluster for troubleshooting or questions couldn't be easier because it only takes one click.
We run multiple SQL and other database servers on the scale and have been able to easily provision additional hardware as required. We run nearly all of our business-critical application servers on the HC3 as well. Performance and uptime have improved significantly.
Read Brandon L's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Scale Computing - Magnificent

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale Computing in our North America location. It addresses the problems and limitations of using VMware. Scale Computing allows for a better set up of virtual server environments.
  • It has the best platform for virtual server management.
  • Upgrading memory and disk space was a breeze.
  • Customer support is fantastic.
  • The setup is still a bit new to some people, so offsite data centers are a bit unfamiliar with it.
It is perfect if you don't have a large staff of administrators on site. One person can manage a good sized cluster of virtual servers with ease.
Tech support and customer service are fantastic. They are very good at what they do. They are quick to help you out.
One of the many applications we run on Scale is our companies' ERP system. It requires a lot of memory and disk space to run, but it handles it with no problems.
The whole look and feel of Scale Computing is easy to navigate and easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

Scale Computing - Hyper-Convergence

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale is being used as the primary virtualization platform running all production VMs as well as a replication endpoint for DR in a data center. We run all server VMs on the Scale platform and then have a snapshot schedule that replicates them offsite to a datacenter for disaster recovery purposes.
  • Scale offers a great dashboard for viewing VM details.
  • Installation of clusters is much simpler than other VM platforms.
  • Console view of VMs is in web browser and clientless, which makes administration from any machine simpler.
  • I would like to see the ability to mount snapshot points in time rather than having to clone a full machine in order to access older data. I believe this is being released in the latest version, but we had a difficult time restoring data without creating a Linux machine and mounting a disk.
  • Import and export of VMs isn't as easy as other platforms. Third party tools had to be used to import VMs. Exporting VMs would require the same time and expense.
  • I would like to see more access to back end disk data rather than relying on support. I know Scale is targeted to shops with smaller IT departments and the support is great, but I had to go through support in order to get a disk list on the cluster when I could have just done that myself.
I think in a smaller environment, Scale provides a great way to get into a virtualized environment. The setup is very simple and it doesn't require significant knowledge of IT infrastructure in order to get up and running. Scale doesn't offer the advanced insight into storage and application resource groups as their competitors do, however it is not designed for advanced users. It is more of a closed box and support handles most requests or issues quickly, but there is not a way for administrators to easily see advanced details of the cluster.
The support team is wonderful. They are quick to answer and you don't have to spend a lot of time authenticating your account before speaking with an engineer. They generally have quick solutions to issues and are very knowledgable about the product. This makes sense since they are basically there to administer most back end functions of the system.
We currently run an Inventory Management system for a manufacturing company on the Scale platform. It is literally the life blood of the company as everyone in the company uses it to track their product from start to finish. This particular application releases monthly updates and Scale has been an excellent way for use to test deployment of updates and move them into production.
Read Jeremy Robinson's full review
Jeff Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2019

Scale Computing, the right systems for the right time.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale devices will replace our internal VMWARE/SAN/HPE environment at corporate and our DR site. Additionally, we will be using it to power 25 (50%) of our bigger retail stores. If this is successful and we see enough ROI we will implement a smaller version of the solution Scale is working on in the rest of the 25 retail stores. I expect this will increase up-time to almost 100% and allow upgrades and changes without issue. Additionally, these units will assist during power events as they have great redundancy.
  • Redundancy
  • Simple interface
  • 24/7/365 support (onshore)
  • Relatively inexpensive compared to VMware/SAN solutions.
  • Needs a much more robust multi-site management suite
  • Hardware choices need to be expanded. I know they are working on this actively.
  • More detailed backup instructions. The interface is too simple.
It's well suited for big video/security installations that need redundancy and any kind of redundant situation. If IT resources are scarce or lacking (like can't afford a VMware Jockey) buy Scale instead. If you need less storage and smaller edge redundancy, Scale is not there yet but they are within this year of having it happen.
Support has been perfect so far. Always available. The remote control and assistance help is bar none amazing and so much easier than the competition, making everyone else look like a joke. It's not inexpensive support, but amazingly great value for what you get. I cannot buy similar support for any of the devices we have except maybe Cisco and Verizon. Scale matches or exceeds support offered anywhere.
  • Human Resources
  • SQL Databases
  • Accounting software (ERP)
  • Point of sale servers
  • Video Security
  • Email
  • Messaging/Chat
  • Sharepoint
Read Jeff Miller's full review
Mark Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Hidden Gem For Education CTOs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially purchased Scale H3 to shrink our physical footprint on servers and allow for affordable expansion across the entire district. This has allowed us to to lower maintenance costs as well as increase our server count to more evenly disperse services resulting in faster operations. We have also been able to create a reliable and ultra fast disaster recovery plan will little to no data loss.
  • Customer Support - A level of service that all vendors should strive to reach. Their customer service is equally fast and reliable as the product. In the two years of having the HC3, we experienced one hard drive failure. The support team was assisting us within minutes, had the drive replaced in less than 24 hours, and had our node fully functional with no disruption in service nor any data loss.
  • Migration - One of the quickest and easiest among all VM solutions. Older Windows operating systems had compatibility issues, but all servers running Windows Server 2003 and higher migrated within minutes with two simply clicks.
  • Reliability - The HC3 manages to work seamlessly in real-time with no indication from the end user during maintenance, recovery, or making changes to the VMs. In two years, we have had only one hard drive issue and no software issues.
  • Simplicity - The HC3 has the best of both worlds. It's simpler than the free Hyper-V and includes most tools one needs within VMware, yet the installation, operation, and recovery is leaps and bounds easier to manipulate.
  • The only negative is the maintenance support costs. What a dilemma Scale has as they produced a robust and reliable product yet the support costs for a 3 node system is almost $6000. After paying this for 2 years and only having one hard drive failure, I have spent $12,000 on one support ticket and three software updates. It defeats the maintenance cost savings.
I believe Scale is a solution for small to mid organizations who need VM solutions above the free realm but not the large scale solutions that are not feasible nor utilized to their full potential. Scale is perfect specifically for education as it addresses all of our needs in tools, disaster recovery, reliability, and cost.
One of if not the best support with any vendor I have dealt with in the last 20 years.
Scale allowed us to load balance our services. Rather than have one application server supplying antivirus protection, print services, and windows updates I now have three separate VMs that run more efficient resulting in faster service.
  • Online training
Outstanding product that lives up to all of its claims.
HC3 is one of the best products I have purchased for our district. It is unbelievably reliable to the point that they shoot themselves in the foot on support contracts.
Yes - No downtime, upgrades go quickly, and never had a failed upgrade.
Read Mark Simmons's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Scale is the best solution for small to medium size businesses.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have replaced most of our physical servers with virtual machines running on 2 Scale systems in two locations. We will be adding a third in the next year. We run domain controllers, file servers, email server and application servers virtually. We have a DR solution by using the remote connections. Additionally we use the snapshots to protect against malware/ransomware attacks.
  • Redundancy
  • Maximum uptime
  • Scalability
  • Dependability
  • Multiple Remote connections options for the same virtual machine
  • Online storage of snapshots for DR purposes
  • Allow higher speed transfer of snapshots between remote connections
Scale is the best solution for small to medium size businesses that want to protect their data and increase their uptime. The only real flaw I see is with the limitation to only have a VM backup to one remote location. With larger businesses, it would be critical to have more than one location to protect your data. Even in our situation, our two locations a fairly close to each other so a natural disaster could possibly take out both locations.
The few times I have needed help, the support staff is quick to respond and very knowledgeable. Opening a connection for the support staff to get into your system is very quick and easy. I have even had the support staff call me a day or so after just to make sure the issue was fully fixed before they close it out on their end.
The first systems that I created on the HC3 clusters was a backup server and a file server. We were able to quickly get the data transferred and now have several layers of protection from lost, corrupted or maliciously attacked files. Since then we have added several domain controllers at each location and other business critical application servers. Eventually I plan to have 90% of my servers running as VMs on the Scale systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Big Impact on a Small Organization - Scale Computer HC3

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 replaced our organization's single server allowing for multiple servers to be built and maintained for separate uses. Going from a single server to nine has allowed Intervine to grow while protecting resources, increasing security, and streamlining processes. With ease of duplication, server buildout, and scaling, Scale has been instrumental in our organization.
  • The ability to duplicate a server or spin up a server from an existing snapshot within minutes has saved our organization and the IT department countless hours when we have had a server failure. Simply starting up a snapshot, most users do not even realize there has been an issue and it makes support seamless.
  • Updating is a breeze, you are notified when there is an issue and you follow the directions. The downtime is limited and it doesn't take hours to complete.
  • Customer support is top notch!
  • I am very happy with the product. I wish I could tell you I had cons, but I truly don't. I am very happy with the product, its ease of deployment and the overall experience. I would purchase again.
As a small organization, Scale has been a no brainer. Easy to install and maintain. Easy to add servers and move servers. I can't imagine its scalability wouldn't fit in any organization. If you are in a single server environment and aren't looking to break out functionality into multiple servers or need redundancy and disaster recovery options than this may not be for you.
Quick to answer support tickets, helpful and patient, the Scale support team is top notch. I haven't had any issues with support, they can dial in and are willing to help in any way possible. I haven't had anyone get flustered with me yet! On support alone I would recommend this product.
For security reasons I rather not list applications we are running but rest assured our entire organization is on Scale. From AD, DNS, Fileservers, to security software we use Scale for everything and without issue. I was worried that some of our applications would not work on Scale but I have never had an issue and look forward to a long partnership.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

HC3 - Truly a breath of fresh air.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In a multi-site, highly secure industrial control environment, we needed a solution that would simplify administration, provide test/development cloning capability, N+1 redundancy, and allow for host replication between sites for disaster recovery. Scale's HC3 delivered everything as promised and the solution truly is easy enough for a non-system administrator to manage on a day-to-day basis. Scale is an absolute home run for SCADA/ICS infrastructure, and offers unprecedented flexibility, especially if upgrading from a non-virtualized infrastructure.
  • The world's simplest host and storage administration, period.
  • Built-in site-to-site replication for one-click DR.
  • Excellent performance, easily surpassing the "big guys" -- more cost-conscious hardware solutions get the job done just as well, if not better, than top-tier systems using much more expensive hardware.
  • A support experience that cannot be rivaled. Just open a trouble ticket and see for yourself!
  • At-rest encryption currently requires a 3rd-party product.
  • Would really benefit from a user interface or wizard for creating boot media/migrating common hosts to HC3 (maybe options for physical, Hyper-V, VMWare).
Just like any HCI application, if your storage, compute, and memory needs can be quantified and accurately forecasted, comparing HCI to a traditional infrastructure stack is simple and generally easy to architect. In our case, the HCI solution cost even less than a comparable multi-vendor infrastructure solution, but with added benefits: Single vendor/tested solution, no additional software or management tools needed, and it's the easiest to manage/maintain/secure.
Scale's support simply cannot be beat. No exaggeration: We have not experienced better support anywhere.
Most SCADA vendors are behind the times in terms of utilizing modern infrastructure. If your application runs on common Windows or Linux distributions, you can absolutely run them on HC3. Scale certifies about two dozen operating systems on the HC3 platform, ensuring compatibility and supportability. If the SCADA solution utilizes software replication, there are architectural decisions that should be made regarding how to design for true DR, but the beauty of HC3 is its flexibility -- you can use the built-in software replication, let HC3 replicate guest VMs, or use a combination of those two approaches, like we do.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Scale Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are moving all possible units to Scale (except for phone system, and legacy systems).
  • Hyper-converged systems mean everything is redundant
  • Excellent support
  • Warranty services are quick and easy
  • Integration with a backup vendor, Unitrends, was noted in a press release but still waiting
  • Support for legacy operating systems to keep legacy apps running
  • Update/upgrade process needs some work for high IOPS usage
  • Afterhours support goes to an answering service
All workloads can be moved into Scale on operating systems from 2008 and later. It also handles Linux distros as well. The interface is great, easy to use, and now has role-based permissions to have multiple accounts with different access. Maximum of 8 nodes per cluster. We haven't reached the limit yet but would like to see that expand in the future.
Support is knowledgeable and helpful. They can escalate easily if required.
Exchange and our business-critical applications on SQL. One of our domain controllers resides within the Scale cluster for extra redundancy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 offers a fast, stable, and cost-effective hyper-converged solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated our VMs to Scale from SimpliVity. The VMs on our Scale clusters are used across our whole organization.
  • Simple to manage
  • No VMWare complexity or licensing costs
  • Fast and stable
  • More statistics and analytics
  • When using a VM console in a web browser, you cannot copy and paste information to and from the VM in the console
We found Scale to be suitable for all of our computing needs including Active Directory, SQL Server, File Servers, and various app servers.
Support has always been great! Fast response time and very knowledgeable.
Active Directory, SQL Server, File Servers, Kronos, MySQL, and various application servers have all been running great on our Scale clusters.
Read this authenticated review
Durgesh Kalya | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Top Hyperconverged Solution with great support and simplicity.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale Computing's HC3 servers for running our entire IT and OT Operations. We are always looking for improvements in the IT Infrastructure and to efficiently use our IT Resources. Scale computing provides us with a ton of great benefits. We reduced our foot print in the server room by half which helped in reduced power consumption. We were using a virtualization solution from a big name company and we found ourselves inundated with managing performance, licensing, and increasing maintenance. As we had three different vendors to deal with every time we had an issue on the system, it made it very difficult to troubleshoot and resolve problems. Scale computing was our answer to consolidate services, run servers more efficiently and reduced or eliminated daily maintenance tasks.
  • Simple solution to managing storage, virtualization and snapshots on one page with not more than 3 clicks
  • Excellent technical support with support built into the suite for quick access when required by the Scale Computing Technicians.
  • High performance out of the Flash and Spinning Disks through HyperCore Enhanced Automated Tiering (HEAT)
  • High availability feature helps in ensuring that there is no single point of failure
  • Enhanced Networking Stack for implementing more complex networking architectures. The current networking piece that is built in is very advanced but more customization and options would help with better implementation of the solution.
  • Snapshots are flawless and effortless, however I would like to see more integration for Backup on to the cloud similar to the other virtualization provider.
Scale Computing is a great replacement solution for small to mid-size businesses which use other virtualization platforms. It is also a great solution for backup and replication. Companies looking to get more out of their investment into hyper-converged / virtualization platform will find Scale Computing's offering of Hardware, Virtualization Software, and a single Support agreement to be full and consolidated for overall efficiency in running and managing the IT Infrastructure. Scale computing also provides for future expansion and scaling of the infrastructure with minimal effort and cost. Scale's solutions offerings may be less relevant in very large scale data centers and companies that have adopted very specific virtualization solutions and built their own ecosystems. However, I would not be surprised if Scale is adopted in such large environments.
Support is very responsive and thorough. They provide every customer with a portal that provides up to date case history, knowledge bases and hands-on support unlike other solutions, when you call Scale, you will hear a human answer your technical questions and provide the right guidance. Scale systems support is built into the solution which provides for seamless access to the systems by the technicians.
We run applications which range from Identity Management, Physical Security, Databases and resource intense servers. We have run every type of scenario and Scale has so far handled them very well. We use a backup replication host which is replicating a 3 node solution and we have not seen any degradation of performance. The critical application that run on the solutions are SCM, ERP Systems, HR Systems to name a few. On the Operational Technology side, we run some of the reporting and monitoring servers for utilities etc.
Read Durgesh Kalya's full review
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Scale is a great solution with second to none support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale HC3 is being used across the entire organization for all our server needs. It is housing all our VMs as well as all of our network storage. It has solved the issues with VMWare licensing, an outdated SAN as well as multiple host servers required to properly run a VMWare environment.
  • The best thing about Scale is its simplicity. I used a VMWare solution for the past 5 years and never really felt like I had a grip on how to fully use it. I've had Scale in place for less than 6 months and am so confident in it, I feel as though I could almost train someone else on how to use it.
  • Scale's technical support is second to none. I've had a couple of issues with it and everyone I've spoken with is knowledgeable, friendly and eager to help resolve any issue.
  • With previous solutions, updating firmware is a large endeavor compared to Scale. Scale actually recommends doing it during production time instead of scheduling downtime during evenings or weekends. It makes managing everything easier without me having to come into work on my off time.
  • As with everything, I wish the price was a bit cheaper but by comparison to others but it's not bad when compared to similar solutions.
  • Not that it was needed in my case but the option to have a Scale engineer on site for setup might be nice for some instances.
  • The scheduling of the setup calls and training could be explained a little better and even possibly a quick overview of how to use the scheduling portion of the customer portal.
Scale definitely has a market where it fits and is a great solution (small to medium-sized businesses). Very large organizations may be better suited to a different solution. For the market that Scale fits into, it really is a perfect solution. I had compared Scale to Nutanix and while Nutanix had some additional features, I couldn't justify the additional costs. However, a large organization may find that additional feature set very useful and worth the additional costs.
They are second to none in terms of technical support. In all my time in IT, I've used a lot of different vendors' technical support and I've never had one that I would rate higher than Scale. Responsiveness, knowledge, and willingness to help until they know the issue is resolved are all aspects that Scale has demonstrated on every instance.
We run everything on our Scale solution. This includes a SQL server for our ERP software, multiple licensing applications as well as file servers and domain controllers. I even have some desktops set up for VPN purposes. Everything works flawlessly. I can't imagine a scenario where Scale wouldn't meet our needs.
Read Tracy Burton's full review
Kyle Legg | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Scale HC3, Hyper-Convergeance the Easy Way!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced our physical servers with the Scale HC3 solution at all three plants in the US. We host everything from file and print services to our ERP system and database on them. We also host a terminal server and a variety of other server infrastructure on the HC3 Cluster. Disaster recovery and business continuity are also completely managed on three clusters around our organization reducing the need for expensive and hard to manage DR solutions. Management and cost of operation of all these resources have been drastically simplified by this technology. The web management interface is simple and easy to use, yet extremely powerful and comprehensive. Because the Scale nodes have such a small 1-U footprint, we've found cooling and energy consumption has also been minimized.
  • Simplicity - Scale HC3 takes the guesswork and time investment out of managing a virtualized server environment and you don't need to go to expensive classes to become an expert.
  • Performance has been stellar and reliability is unmatched. Our Scale nodes have been up and online since installation three years ago.
  • The support staff is there to help if you ever need it and they'll look into your system at any time to make sure everything is running as designed.
  • The virtualized environment is robust and scale-able and there's no need to do a server refresh ever again. If a node fails, the VMs migrate over to another node and no one except the IT staff knows about it. You can keep your old nodes in place until the disks fall out of them and you'll be covered.
  • It would be nice if we could add a storage only node with very little or no processing power. This would be nice because we wouldn't have to acquire server CALs every time we add storage.
If you have more than one physical server in your environment, and you want unmatched redundancy and performance, virtualize with Scale HC3. You'll wonder how you lived without it for so long. Each node is about the same cost as a physical server depending on how you spec it.
They answer the phone and get to work very quickly. We've not had to use support much at all, but the couple times we had were pleasant and effective.
Our ERP system runs on our Scale environment and it's flawless. Scale's data prioritization algorithm allows us to assign solid-state storage to that application so it performs with lightning-like speed.

Our AutoDesk Vault application has synchronized instances across two of our locations allowing local copies of our design models for our drafting and engineering teams to have instant access to.

We replicate our VMs to the nodes at the other plants so we get offsite backups which can be instantly stood up to verify their content or recover files.
Read Kyle Legg's full review
Dominique Joseph Chung | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 saved our IT Infrastructure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Scale Computing HC3 solution is used across the entire organization. It replaced over 50U of traditional hardware down to 3U. Saving us a lot of aggravation dealing with multiple third party vendors for support and maintenance agreements, while simplifying our own internal support and maintenance of over 50 Virtual machines. The savings was so significant, that we realized an 18 month ROI and saved tremendously on energy costs. Additionally, a battery backup unit now provides us with over 7 hours of backup power vs. 45 minutes previously.
  • One point of contact for everything infrastructure, namely storage, compute and hypervisor.
  • Updates can be applied with very little downtime if any, and no longer needs weeks/months of preparation.
  • Recovering data is as easy as booting up snapshots, which we are now using as a backup tool.
  • Can't wait to roll out Scale Computing at our disaster recovery site for painless failover and failback.
  • Wish there was flash drive when we purchased it, but they have it now, and actually have a retrofit for our existing units which we will consider implementing shortly.
If cost is not prohibitive, many small business would benefit from the redundancy and cost savings through the simplicity of managing this system. Scale Computing has addressed this issue by creating a 1U standalone system thus taking advantage of their storage and hypervisor technology, but the downside is less redundancy. I understand that with the new flash drive units, the IOPS performance is stellar, which would make it suitable for much larger business than what was previously available. I think this solution is way better than anything out there if only people knew.
In the two years since deploying the Scale Computing HC3 solution, we called support once to ask if we could change the way we configured our redundant SFP+ switches. That is a testament to how awesome the product works if support is barely needed for the multiple migration, updates, management, etc that we've done in that time.
We run a SQL based document management system from OpenText that manages close to 30TB of documents. Moving to Scale Computing HC3 gave users much faster search and fetch times by a factor of 5. We run 4 Exchange Servers along with 40 other application servers, which have all run seamlessly in the last two years. The hypervisor (KVM) allowed us to import old and new servers that are critical to our business. We converted many standalone servers to consolidate our physical footprint, for better management and performance.
Read Dominique Joseph Chung's full review
David Roden | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Scale: Smart, Simple, Effective, Reliable, and so much more...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Scale clusters in both of our offices as a replacement for the prior HyperV-Based VM infrastructure. We utilize Scale's built-in snapshot and replication technology to provide VM-level backup & DR protection. All of our primary storage is now managed as part of the Scale environment. Scale integrates VM operations, management, and protection into a unified system that provides more capability at lower cost than the multi-vendor collection of products we used previously.
  • Scale's hyperconverged environment presents a single pool of resources that support our VMs. It intelligently handles decisions related to storage provisioning and load balancing across nodes.
  • Snapshots and replicas are created in a few clicks within a simple to use web interface. Gone are layers of settings found in some other products we've used.
  • The 'at-a-glance' dashboard tells me everything I need to know about the current status and utilization of the Scale cluster.
  • The ability to cut, copy, and paste into a console in a browser tab would be wonderful.
  • I appreciate the ability to click on the storage gauge on the dashboard and drill down into detail. Shouldn't that be available on every gauge?
  • The ability to schedule exports, restarts, etc from the management interface would be useful.
Scale is obviously well-suited for SMB / SME environments. Larger environments will likely find a reduced need for dedicated storage admins or VM specialists in-house. Environments that rely on SDN or very complex VLANs may find Scale's networking to be somewhat limited.
We had a lot of interaction with Scale support when we were getting started. Since then, we have only had a few (mostly routine) support issues. Every time, no matter which tech we speak to, we always feel like we are Scale's most important customer. The help we receive is excellent and well-informed. We never get the sense that someone is guessing, and most of the time we receive additional help or insight that increases our knowledge of, and appreciation for, the product. The people at Scale love their product.
Our environment is 100% virtualized and entirely on Scale Computing. This includes Main file servers; Active Directory domain controllers, SQL servers; speech processing systems; print servers; security management servers; e-discovery hosts; RDS server farms; legal application servers. Our experience is that, no matter what we ask Scale to do, it does it very well. We P2V moved our primary file server on to the Scale cluster with zero issues.
Read David Roden's full review
Marshall Curtis | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

HC3: Flexibility AND Performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale HC3 has replaced our traditional stack of servers, storage, and networking for our entire organization. We have two clusters, a one node, and a three node. Implementation of HC3 reduced our server refresh cost by 40% and provided a flexible architecture where, going forward, we can add or replace nodes on a planned periodic basis rather than monolithic refreshes every four years. The ease of deployment and maintenance are a significant benefit to our small organization.
  • Simplified management. Management of the cluster is via a single web interface, it is simple and does not require extensive training to navigate or operate making it accessible to mid-level staff.
  • The flexibility of the hardware mix within a cluster. Allowing a variety of hardware levels and ages within a cluster and the system's ability to assigned loads to best leverage this mix of hardware allows us to manage cost by not "over buying" hardware capacity to meet a few high demand workloads.
  • Support by Scale. We have had few needs to contact support which is the first plus, but secondly, when we have had needs or questions responses have been prompt and accurate with first contact resolution.
  • The tools for migrating to the HC3 platform have a few issues and caused issues with some security keys and certificates. After a couple issues we ended up migrating key servers by using a fresh build and migrating data with was more disruptive but more successful.
The Scale Computing HC3 platform is incredibly flexible making it an excellent fit for most small to mid-sized organizations. It also allows for effective cost management and scaling as the organization's needs change.
Support calls have been few but all have been answered by US-based technicians that were knowledgable and in most cases resulted in first call resolution of the issue.
Primary loads in our environment are databases (MS SQL and Postgress) as well as file and document management. These all have high demand and IO activity and the platform has responded well to these demands.
Read Marshall Curtis's full review
Chris Waddilove | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 - First Time User Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale across the whole organization - a trend started by our head office in Germany to fully virtualize our entire server-based network.
  • Snapshots - CoW makes things very quick and painless.
  • Replication to another cluster - Painlessly simple and reliable.
  • Replication to the cloud - Similarly simple with added peace of mind.
  • Ease of use - Even for someone highly technical, it is nice to "take a break" from the crazy options of VMWare and others to just have a basic-controlled hypervisor.
  • Cost - While I understand support/maintenance makes up a large part of it, the cost for expanding RAM, for example, in an existing cluster is several times more than if you were maintaining hardware yourself.
  • Licensing (Microsoft) - Could use assistance from Scale in determining/calculating the best Microsoft license layout (how many cores? how many CPUs? datacenter vs standard?).
  • USB - While not a complete necessity, it would be nice to have a feature to map a USB port/device to a virtual machine. The hardware itself has several USB ports but none are really usable. Digi USB Anywhere worked well for our case, but still, it would be nice to do the odd data dump/backup/restore via USB drive (ex. really old project reference from the 1990s stored on external USB).
I think it's well suited to all but the most critical workloads - VMWare may benefit from added speed using proper drive controllers and SSDs, but I find Scale Computing HC3 to be the best "run of the mill" software available.
Support has always been awesome - quick resolution times, quick call back times, generally short wait queue. Staff regularly follow-up on tickets even if generally unnecessary (i.e. we know this is the solution to your problem, but would you like us to follow-up tomorrow to make sure it did indeed work and nothing else is outstanding?). Have had to deal with them both during business hours as well as after hours. After hours support was just as awesome as business hours - really nice when you call back and someone remembers who you are/what problem you had and you don't have to completely re-explain it from scratch. Techs are also very technical, I "click" with most of them almost right away.
The biggest change for us (on the engineering side) was the consolidation of our Siemens TeamCenter servers. We were able to go from 4 physical machines down to a Scale HC3 cluster of 3 nodes (3 physical machines), and on top of that, I am able to run several other servers from this cluster all without affecting the overall performance of TeamCenter. This has allowed us to ultimately turn off 11 old single-host hardware servers in place of our overall two clusters of 3 nodes each (totaling 6 physical machines). The cost savings in power alone has been pretty massive.
Read Chris Waddilove's full review
Zac Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2019

Scale Review Like No Other

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at the City of Havre de Grace we have recently made the switch to Scale and couldn't be happier. This change was made from a performance need and so far Scale has passed that with flying colors. The speed has significantly improved and from a manager of the software, it is extremely user-friendly. When we made the change we made sure that Scale was going to take over our entire organization and it's done that and then some. Finally, I will say that for whatever problems we may have ran into with other brands we have yet to have any issues with Scale and could not be happier.
  • User-Friendly
  • Fast
  • Plenty of Storage
  • Amazing customer Service
  • Training
  • Price may be an issue to smaller business
  • Have to shut down for updates
I feel as if it'd be better suited in larger businesses or work environments. If you were running an establishment with less than 50 employees you could find something that would work about the same for possibly less of the price that the Scale name brings due to performance.
The Scale support since day one has been very reliable just from the standpoint of getting the product here and getting the product out of its box and getting it set up in a rack. From there, we talked to a few reps from Scale which were extremely knowledgeable and helped steer us in the right direction with the installation.
At the City of Havre de Grace our cluster on Scale host many of our servers/VMs. These servers that were running on our previous server seemed to be a bit slow even laggy on some days. After the switch to Scale, our active directory pops up in a second whereas before it would buffer and take some time.
Read Zac Patterson's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix AOS, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Scale Computing HC3 Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English