Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Scale Computing Platform

Scale Computing Platform

Overview

What is Scale Computing Platform?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HyperCore software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Love SCP

10 out of 10
December 07, 2023
Incentivized
We utilize the Scale Computing Platform as a central element of our IT infrastructure. SCP provides us with a highly scalable and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

HE151

$3,300

On Premise
per node

HE501

$6,800

On Premise
per node

HC1300

$11,900

On Premise
per node

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.scalecomputing.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $3,300 per node
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Scale Computing Platform?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HyperCore software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the SC//HyperCore self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, its key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing Platform Screenshots

Screenshot of Scale Computing Fleet Management Dashboard - 
At-a-glance summary of the health of the fleet upon login.Screenshot of Cluster Details -
Details of a particular cluster, including health, fleet manager connectivity, nodes, and VMsScreenshot of Scale Computing Fleet Manager -
Manages an organization’s fleet of Clusters.Screenshot of Hypercore UI -
Simple Web Interface for Local Management of the Cluster and its Workloads

Scale Computing Platform Videos

SC//Platform Success Story - Detroit Symphony Orchestra
SC//Platform Success Story - American Foundry Group
SC//Platform Success Story - Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township

Scale Computing Platform Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Unix
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesGlobally
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Scale Computing Platform starts at $3300.

VMware vCenter, VMware ESXi, and Nutanix Cloud Infrastructure are common alternatives for Scale Computing Platform.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of Scale Computing Platform are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).

Scale Computing Platform Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)70%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)10%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(338)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 234)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently, we have a 3-node Scale Cluster running the servers at our Police Department. We had a VMWare solution, but for the local tech staff, it was too cumbersome and expensive. Scale is very simple for the Police Dept to manage.
  • Updates - Almost a single button to push and then Scale completes all updates.
  • Cloning - Again a single button and done.
  • Setup - The setup of all 3 nodes took approx 1 hour.
  • We have used Scale for just under a year and have not yet noticed any area that needs improvement.
  • I actually joked with my Scale rep that the system is so easy to manage and foolproof that we don't login to the console often enough and can never remember the password
I would recommend it to anyone who has three or more servers. We just received another quote as I am about to deploy Scale at City Hall as well. This will replace my 8-year-old VMware cluster that hosts 20 servers.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Scale Computing Platform servers to run our online platform. These servers are easy to update, have reliable performance, and work in high availability, which means that if one node in the cluster fails, the system will remain online. These were the 3 main concerns that were improved when compared with the previous set of servers we had.
  • Reliable performance
  • High availability
  • Easy firmware updates
  • Management interface
  • Hardware upgrades on the current servers
  • Longer server/system support/lifespan
I believe that for any scenario where you need a virtualization platform with decent performance and high availability, Scale Computing Platform servers would be a good fit. To be honest, I'm not sure which scenarios it would be less appropriate.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Scale Computing for our school corporation to have quick, trustworthy, reliable, and easy to use virtual machines for all of our server needs. We don't have a lot of time for setting up or maintaining and Scale Computing makes this extremely easy. This platform already existed when I joined the corporation nearly a year ago and was simple enough to use that I was able to spin up new servers within about 5 minutes without needing to ask anyone how and having no training. Everything was done with just a few clicks and all the tools were put on the server with the Scale Tools they provide to make setting up the new server even easier. Adding storage space or memory is no problem at all. I also love that I don't have to worry about any physical machines breaking down, as Scale will automatically move the VMs to the other physical machines so there is no downtime at all while we can replace broken equipment. I can't say enough about the ease of use and reliability of this platform.
  • Reliable
  • Great and helpful support for any questions I have had
  • Easy to use
  • The UI could be a little "prettier"
It is perfectly suited for sysadmins who don't have a lot of time, but want to be able to have on-prem servers with the same ease of creating a new server as AWS. With just a few clicks it is done. Setting up snapshot backups is extremely easy. You can close, export, and import servers with a single button.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We purchased our first Scale HC3 to eliminate a number of hardware servers in our Middle School campus. With a very limited staff we found it cumbersome and time consuming to keep servers up to date as hardware fell out of support and could no longer be upgraded.<br><br>The results were so positive and beneficial we purchased a second system for another campus and plan to add a third cluster in 2024.<br><br>
  • Deploying new servers is ridiculously easy and fast. New servers require zero additional space or power.
  • Scale Computing Platform affords a powerful and convenient backup capability. Not only by snapshots of whole VMs, we can fetch individual files out of those snapshots.
  • Updates to the Scale Computing Platform itself are beautifully self-contained. The backend software moves VMs and processes between running nodes as they update and reboot. There are no user interruptions and no notifications of same are needed.
  • In my experience, we use Active Directory and Scale Computing Platform has yet to implement robust support for domain controller snapshots. This Microsoft feature (VM-Generation ID) allows a restored domain controller to properly re-integrate with AD.
I can heartily recommend Scale Computing Platform for anyone looking into virtualization. If you've been in IT very long you'll appreciate the benefits and the pain points Scale Computing Platform can address with its elegant design. But the reason I have chosen the maximum 10 for my rating is my experience with the Scale Computing Platform support team. I'll describe two incidents in some detail: 1) A long term power outage caused a need to shut down VMs on the backend, under time pressure. We reached support via cellphone and they stayed with us throughout the process. We accessed the backend directly on the nodes while support recited the required command line statements. In the end we were able to shut down all the VMs, and then the nodes, gracefully. Bravo Scale! 2) We had an unsupported VM requirement (an old Red Hat Linux v5 server) which was a very tough nut to crack. Scale Computing Platform support rendered a herculean, and successful, effort to get this ancient hardware and software virtualized. I can honestly say that, without their assistance I would never have gotten this server virtualized.
December 07, 2023

Love SCP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize the Scale Computing Platform as a central element of our IT infrastructure. SCP provides us with a highly scalable and flexible solution. By consolidating servers and efficiently utilizing resources, we have reduced complexity while lowering operating costs. Furthermore, the platform's high scalability has enabled us to quickly grow into upcoming demands without compromising performance. Additionally, we have successfully integrated SCP into our disaster recovery strategy, leading to highly improved resilience and data security.
  • VMs transitioning from one host to another without any sort of hiccup or service interruption
  • all in all very thoughtful and strategic usefull GUI
  • Automated and transparent replication of VMs towards DR nodes
  • Shell access for experienced and SCALE certified users
Very good for linux and windows guests, also VDI is working hillarious. But I'd rather not use it for Docker or Portainer scenarios
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The Scale platform is currently running 15 servers for us. Before we had several physical systems that were dedicated to specific applications. We often need to test a system configuration before it is deployed into our production environment. Scale makes this really simple and efficient process. The backup and restore capabilities of Scale system is quick and reliable.
  • Backup, Cloning.
  • Distributing the computing resources across the nodes
  • support access from Scale
  • user interface is clean and simple
  • Remote to servers from the management consol.
  • Ability to have backups more like a Veeame solution
Scale's price point makes it an attractive option for smaller companies.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the Scale HC3 Hypervisor as primary hypervisor for Windows and Linux servers as well as virtual appliances. We also use it as extension to our backup strategy, which allows us to create as many application consistent snapshots as we like, to go back in time whenever needed.
  • Customer support and service is outstanding.
  • Updates and upgrades are hassle-free with no downtime.
  • No need to worry about hardware, BIOS, drivers, firmware.
  • Outstanding handling of snapshots with thousands of snapshots possible with almost no disk cost and no IO costs. We snapshot each VM every hour and keep snapshots for 48 hours and 2 weeks.
  • REST API can be used to create your own reports and scripts.
  • The Hypervisor just runs. No downtimes since it was integrated 2 years ago.
  • Replication to another cluster is very easy
  • It exposes no backup API. You have to treat VMs as physical machines, with all the drawbacks. This is a huge problem, since the official partner Acronis can't deliver. If you ever worked with Veeam you want it back very very badly.
  • Assigned RAM is used RAM. The hypervisor can't share memory or only allocate what is used etc. It's wasted RAM most of the time.
  • No logging and auditing. (There is, but not visible to the customer).
  • The GUI is quite bad. It looks like done by a designer instead of an IT expert. But it's improving constantly.
  • The company relies heavily on KVM, but seems to have no developer in the open source community. This leads to answers like "we can't do anything about QEMU drivers". Yes, you can. Have delevopers working on it.
  • You can't do basic things like list all of your VMs and see how much RAM/disk, etc. they are using (e.g. in a list view).
  • No rules on which VMs start on which nodes, which VMs to prioritize, etc.
Well suited: Companies with smaller IT teams and standard Windows/Linux VMs. If you need a solution out of the box that is just working with almost no admin overhead. If you like the idea that you can extend your hypervisor cluster with a new server, 2 cables and 4 commands. If you want to enhance your backup strategy with hourly/daily/weekly real-time snapshots that produce almost no disk or IO cost. If you don't want to care about hardware, drivers, firmware, updates etc. If you want one of the best customer support in industry. Not well suited: Companies with big IT teams with many roles or more exotic needs. If you need granular user rights. When you have very dynamic RAM or CPU needs, that benefit from Hot Add or dynamic memory allocation. When you need to virtualize more exotic OSes. When you have big hypervisor farms where hosts need to go offline for power savings, etc.
December 07, 2023

... we did it !

Alois Höller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The existing VMware virtualization was replaced with the Scale environment
  • Snapshot handling
  • Failover handling on the nodes
  • easy to use dashboard
  • Support
  • with Acronis there is only one backup solution partner, there are still topics to solve
  • only real time performance parameters as CPU, RAM, networking, to chance to analyze
In principle, Scale fits into every company, big advantages with distributed locations.
December 06, 2023

Can't Beat Their Support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have a small Scale deployment of three nodes in our production cluster and one node at a DR site. Our main site will run about 15 virtual machines and our DR site will run one virtual machine. We run a file server, mail server, domain controllers and other servers as well.
  • Tech support.
  • Loading ISOs.
  • Updating firmware.
  • Migrating VMs into Scale is not as easy as it was with VMware.
  • Our nodes are Lenovo, not a fan of Lenovo.
  • Would like to see more historical performance metrics in the UI.
Scale seems like a good fit for us with 15 virtual machines. I can't really say about a larger environment, but the nice thing about HCI is that if you need more CPU, RAM, or storage you just need to add a node. That is really nice as far as I'm concerned.
Syed Fahad Hussain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Managing a large IT infrastructure of data storage and hardware is not hassle-free. Scale Computing Platform allows our organization to manage infrastructure in the cloud and reduce IT resource time and as well as cost to the organization. Scale up the future-proof environment which meets organization needs and makes it simple to handle daily maintenance of IT infrastructure.
  • Infrastructure Deployment
  • Reduce Cost of hardware system
  • Centralized cloud with local automations
  • Come up with ERP solution on cloud
  • Infrastructure Security area need to be improved
  • Support Third-party applications
Hardware and infrastructure very basic administration for an IT guys', all the time they're busy for schedule maintenance. Scale Computing Platform give us a platform where we effectively manage our hardware needs, cloud infrastructure and best part is a fully integrated platform that runs our business apps, visualization computing platform that's easy to deploy and easy to manage.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Internally we use Scale HCI to run proof of concept solutions (software) for our clients. We also use it to show our clients what it can do, and how easy it is to use.
  • Ease of deployment
  • Ease of operations
  • Ease of updates
  • VM Encryption
My company has deployed Scale for small to med sized work loads. It is perfect for the SMB market running 30 or less VM's with site to site replication. The management interface is super simple, and flexible. It is also more cost effective to deploy than some single host solutions. I would be hesitant to deploy Scale in a high compliance environment because it can not native support KMS for drive encryption. This is one of the only issues I have seen so far.
September 28, 2023

Great Hyperconverged Option

Sheldon Reid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Business continuity, have a DR site setup for replication of primary site. Hardware refresh and Migration. Migration from one Scale cluster to another is super simple, up and running reliably well. Simple interface and everything is efficient UI wise with just a few clicks. Regular updates which doesn't interrupt server services.
  • UI Design
  • Ease of Deployment
  • Great customer support
  • Scheduling
  • Knowledge Base
  • Server update frequency
Ease of use and, installation and deployment
September 28, 2023

Simplicity delivered

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We needed to update our internal IT infrastructure. We were looking in the market for a hyper-converged solution that was easy to install and operate, and that offered security and high availability features. Scale Computing Platform delivered all the required requirements with a product containing all the necessary functionalities for our daily operations and excellent support service. Our daily operation is intuitive, allowing you to perform tasks such as creating and protecting VMs with just a few clicks using the graphical interface.
  • Easy to set up and install, you can get a clust up and running in undar an hour
  • Great costumer support
  • Snapshot capabilitys helps with cloning for testing
  • It doesn't have an area where you can view the cluster's resource consumption over time, only the current consumption.
  • It does not have integration with the leading backup players in the market, requiring the installation of agents on individual VMs.
Scale Computing Platform proves to be excellent in environments that require a hyper-converged infrastructure with daily functionalities, and for organizations with remote locations that want to implement on-premises resources without the need to set up a data center. The HC3 software has all the functionalities for the operation and management of its resources, with easy-to-follow and operate workflows, and it has a low learning curve.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Actually, we are distributor of Scale Computing Platform, and we do product promotions to the Philippine Market in terms of proposing solutions in the business of the customers pertaining to migrating in Hyperconverge setup. Scale Computing Platform as a solution to the requirement and the scope for this solution are in telcos, government agencies, hospitality segment, etc.
  • In terms of relations between the distributor and partners
  • support and TAT for concerns and technicalities
  • Product highlights and technology that fits customers' requirements.
  • easy access to reconfiguration of the nodes
  • 24/7 technical support (online)
  • built-in firewall since another brand has this feature.
When we have a customer in the Philippines that is looking for a hyperconverge solution to their existing network setup. The customer has traditional topology/network that uses vms. Hence, Scale Computing Platform fits the requirements that is needed by the customer. The features and specifications were address properly and the sizing of the nodes were perfectly addressed.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Scale is our number one recommended hypervisor platform and becomes the backbone of our clients IT infrastructure. When selecting scale for clients we look at overall cost savings, ease of use and scalability. (No pun intended) We implement Scale for clients that have as little as 5 users to clients that have over 8000 users! With the ease of use it takes the burden off of the IT department for both the hypervisor and backups. Our clients can sleep better at night and can "Set it and forget it".
  • Snapshots are lean and fast, so restore time is simply amazing. When you don't have time to wait after a crypto attack to restore, I have found nothing faster!
  • Clients can never fully know their growth for years to come, and sometimes it is only a year after the original install. This is no problem we can build on to the system like Lego blocks. Just simply adding a node or two and there is no downtime!
  • There are many functions that can be done while servers are running that help to maintain the most uptime, as an example disk size on the primary disk can be expanded without shutting down the server.
  • Currently there is nothing I would change.
Scale has worked perfectly for all of our clients with no issues to date.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We are resellers of the Scale Computing platform. The platform offers simplicity, scalability and manageability, allowing our customers to replace existing infrastructure, providing high availability for running VMs on an easy-to-manage platform. It also allows them to run their applications on a fully integrated platform. Regardless of your hardware requirements, the same innovative software and simple user interface gives you the ability to run infrastructure efficiently at the edge.
  • Simplifies the customer environment
  • Delivery Scalability
  • High manageability
  • Scale Computing delivers an excellent product. I have no points for improvement to mention
If you have an outdated environment and want to upgrade, choose the Scale Computing platform, it delivers the best in the cutting-edge technology market. The simplicity of the SC// Platform directly impacts IT with greater productivity and lower costs. Simply mix and match old and new hardware and applications on the same infrastructure for a future-proof environment that can be scaled up or down as needed. Combining centralized management with on-premises and cloud automation enables infrastructure and applications to achieve and maintain the desired state throughout the life of the environment.
Chad Mayton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use it at our two primary locations, and it is an upgrade to our existing on-prem infrastructure. We were not happy with Hyper-V and didn't have the business justification for buying intricate VMWare licenses, and the ESXi with the free license is limited. We are currently replacing aging hardware but wanted availability, redundancy, and replication.
  • Customer Service is top notch and they have real concern for customer needs.
  • Technical assistance/setup is excellent and knowledge base is thorough.
  • Ultra-responsive sales and support team that can get through highly improbable challenges.
  • Possibly more engineers/techs due to scheduling being very tight timeframes.
  • There were features I wasn't aware of till a year after (example some API capabilities).
It is easy for small or large environments, we have an IT and OT split and they can work in both arenas easily. They build their product with high availability in mind so even small setups are able to have a backup if something happens. Can't think of a scenario they can't fit into.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
After attending SpiceWorld last year 2022 and speaking with the Scale Sales Team, I decided to look into Scale to repalce the Dell Server running Hyper-V that was out of warranty. I was sold on switching after the demo, plus the cost of a Scale Cluster was much less than buying new servers. Running a 3 node cluseter has greatly improved performance, that my end users have even noticed, and now I also have in the event one server fails they virtual machines will failover to the other 2 servers.
  • Server Redundancy
  • Cost
  • Virtualization
  • Customer Support
  • At this time I can't think of anything
Onboarding with Scale was such a breeze. I worried about how difficult it would be to migrate my servers from Hyper-V over to Scale, it was the easiest migration I've ever had.
Rob Honma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to host primarily our Windows Server environment along with some Unix/Linux based systems. It provides a host infrastructure for roughly 2 dozen Vm's. We were looking for a cheaper, US-based support virtual host platform that wasn't overly complex and easily administered
  • Price Performance
  • Easy Administration
  • US-Based Support
  • Migration Tools - Uses Third Party software to implement
  • Lack of third-party backup tools that are industry standard
  • Reduce the friction from migrating from Vmware to Scale
If you're using some of the latest Windows OS's, you'll be fine. If you're looking to upgrade those while in the process of migrating - consider building a new image and migrating the data/services manually. There doesn't seem to be an easy way to upgrade an VM's OS. Scale Computing Platform does well with almost all Operating Systems. We haven't run into any hardware or software incompatibilities moving from Vmware. We wanted to do VDI for a lot less money but the jury is out on whether Scale Computing Platform + GPU cards are going to be enough for things like Adobe Creative cloud in a lab of 30 terminals.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Scale Computing Platform to virtualize 12+ production Servers on premise. It is a simple way to manage a large number of virtual machines and because there are 3 nodes with automatic failover, we significantly reduce our risk of downtime and data loss.
  • Virtualization
  • Managment
  • Failover
  • Redundancy
  • Automation
  • Interface could improve
  • VM import via Virtual Drive support
  • Veeam Support
Very simple to implement in our case. I believe they can provide a solution that fits any environment looking for a simple way to virtualize and provide failover for server nodes and virtual machines.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used Scale to host our district servers at our Administrative Center. The Scale Platform gives us a simple and intuitive way to manage multiple servers and to obtain the best possible performance from those servers. Our Scale Platforms hosts a multitude of different servers from web servers to file servers that are accessed daily by multiple users. It also provides us the ease of mind with a backup and DR solution that we did not previously have.
  • Back up and DR
  • Server performance
  • Single pane of glass for easy server management and creation
  • Support for Cisco OVAs and servers
  • Better explanation of snapshot usage
  • Better explanation of data usage
The Scale Platform is perfectly suited to run multiple Windows and Linux servers and run them at peak performance. The Scale Platform is also really excellent at data recovery with the intuitive way to mount a snapshot's drive and retrieve any potentially missing data.

The single scenario where we have found Scale to not be great at was when we needed to migrate some existing Cisco-based servers and were unable to do so since they were not supported on a Scale platform.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We needed to maintain an on-premises presence for our current business processes. Our aging hardware was starting to show issues, and we were looking for an inexpensive solution while we considered our long-term goals and evaluated our processes accordingly.
  • Inexpensive hardware and footprint.
  • Easy to spin up and get running.
  • Very little downtime migrating guests.
  • Needs better breakdown of resources used.
  • Needs better logging.
Scale Computing seems to be a good solution for small to medium size organizations. I can't speak to large organizations and how well it supports scaling with their resources. For our case, we considered VMWare, HyperV, Scale, and others. We were initially going to choose Hyper-V; however, with the rumors of it being discontinued, we with Scale due to its price and ease of management.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We switched to Scale Computing last year when we were due to replace our VMware virtual infrastructure. Switching to Scale has made everything so much more straightforward; it is really user-friendly, and working with it over the last year has saved us countless hours on both maintenance and deployment times. We use it to host our virtual server environment; converting over from VM was seamless, and the Scale team was a great help along the way.
  • Simplifies maintenance and upgrade times.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Robust backup solutions available.
  • Compatible with leading backup vendors such as Acronis and Wasabi.
  • Better support for legacy OS's.
  • Better support for legacy hardware.
  • 3rd party implementation documentation.
Scale is a perfect solution for schools looking to switch over from a clunkier system such as VMware. They simplify how virtual computing is handled and, over the year, has been nothing but stable. We are able to roll out the newest updates and patches over three nodes with zero downtime and offer a backup node that is easy to set up and use, and make restoring VMs on the fly a walk in the park.
August 17, 2022

Scale Computing rocks.

Gord Hynes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We are an MSP - so personally we aren't using it, but are actively rolling it out to clients, and we are looking to add DRaaS for our clients.
  • management
  • support
  • creation
  • replication
  • graphics drivers. though KVM based, adding KVM drivers doesn't allow screen resolution changes.
  • UI improvements (list vs cards)
Anywhere that requires highly available, highly scalable setups. As optics on the client are required prior to quoting, it's difficult to undersell, which is a huge bonus.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Scale to virtualize our core systems. Our VMware system with Nimble was at end of life, and It was a better option monetarily. It is also fairly simple to use and manage.
  • Ease of use
  • Setup was not complicated
  • Support has been good to work with
  • The node devices have fans that are fairly loud when they spin up. We had to insolate our network room door to keep the noise level down.
I believe that they function well in what they do.
Return to navigation