Parallels RAS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
47 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

iain Stephen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Parallels Remote Application Server to replace Citrix Servers and deliver a simple yet powerful tool to our end users for running published applications and accessing network resources from either mobile platforms or from other locations that are offsite. We found it simpler to get up and running and much less expensive than Citrix.
  • Printing from published applications.
  • Easy to set up and keep running.
  • We would like to be able to do what we do with Citrix published ICA files—essentially free-standing configurations that once ran function like a local application while they log in (in the background).
It is well suited for providing access to applications behind the firewall, especially legacy ones, while maintaining tight control over access through normal login procedures and protocols. We found it a little more difficult to use on MAC products. However, that may just be a local issue as we are less familiar with them.
Read iain Stephen's full review
Brian Medford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have our software on a server and allow customers to connect via Parallels to access it remotely. This allows for an in house hosted solution across a variety of operating systems and hardware and cuts down the costs of our customers for local support and implementation and also facilitates software upgrades and updates.
  • Allows publication of only the apps/folders you want customers to access.
  • Very easy to set-up and maintain.
  • Works well with Active Directory for security and access.
  • Trying to add an additional RAS server pops up error message after error message while the current one is in use, from deployed machines seeing different active RAS servers. Deployment could really use some work to prevent this. We have to shut down the primary RAS and then disable it before another RAS can be put into place.
It works well with our software for hosted solutions for clients that are not wanting to deal with in house IT maintenance.
Read Brian Medford's full review
Joel Menezes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallels RAS is being used for the deployment and access to our district's ERP system. In addition, we are publishing software for our School Psychologists requiring hardware dongles to non-compatible machines, and various home-grown solutions. Clients are using a mix of Mac & Windows devices, with speed that was not possible before when running fat clients on the machines.
  • Administration.
  • Remote Access.
  • Connection errors when clients switch network connections.
Parallels Remote Application Server is well suited for deploying thick client applications that are not well suited for working over a LAN or WAN due to latency or large data utilization. It also is extremely useful when you need to access a Windows application from a non-windows device (such as Mac, ChromeOS, or tablets).
Read Joel Menezes's full review
Jason Stevenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Parallels Remote Application Server for a select few employees. We began by using it to replace Citrix for the cost. We leveraged it to provide windows only applications to our macintosh fleet as well as our offsite employees.
  • Ease of application publishing.
  • Ease of desktop publishing.
  • na
  • na
Cross-platform software deployment is a breeze. Providing remote access to offsite employees instead of a VPN is very nice.
Read Jason Stevenson's full review
Jean Huveneers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our office environment is based on Dell Wyse thinclients which and laptops for remote users. With Parallels Remote Application Server, we have 24x7 secure access to our RDS environment which we use for managing and supporting our customers.
We also advise and implement at our customers for facilitating remote works in their IT environments.
And last but not least, we deliver a Managed Hosted Desktop service 'BusinessDesktop' from our data-center via Parallels RAS.
  • Lightweight installation, one server can already do the whole job
  • Provisioning of the Dell Wyse Thinclients
  • Upgrades without downtime in a multi-server setup would be nice
  • Wyse thinclient options configuration from the GUI
Parallels already is very usable in small (5 users) RDS or VDI environments and scales up very well. Although we don't have experience with 500+ users in a farm. The use of Parallels eliminates the use of SSL-VPN solutions and is a perfect match for serving legacy applications to a modern-workspace user.
Read Jean Huveneers's full review
Martin Tuxen Grandeville | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

10 years of Parallels

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the RAS to make our software solutions available for customers all around the globe in an easy way and without further program installation than the Parallels Thin Client. This way we are in full control of the software and back-end modules and the customer launches the software as if it was running on their own PC.
  • Remote launch of software.
  • Easy administration.
  • There may be a delay in the software due to network and distance.
  • If the RAS is down it's potentially down for everyone.
For internal remote software launching, it's a great tool to use things like MS Office. And in our situation, it is a fine product for letting users all around the globe have easy access to our software.
Read Martin Tuxen Grandeville's full review
Mikel Seidl | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved to a newer more modern domain and a new ERP system simultaneously. Our old ERP system was Windows dependent and resided on the old domain. In lieu of migrating the old ERP to use as a reference, we use Parallels RAS to allow users to access a machine on the old domain that grants access to the old ERP system.
  • Virtual desktop infrastructure.
  • Ease of use and management.
  • Multi-domain support.
  • Resilience to network hiccups.
Parallels has been the most cost-effective and user-friendly option for our use. Citrix would have been drastic overkill both in complexity and cost. Parallels gives us the flexibility to easily spin up VDI sessions across domains and for as many users as we need, while also allowing a very easy to stomach license cost that keeps our finance office happy.
Read Mikel Seidl's full review
Craig Cormier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Parallels to improve the performance of terminal Services for our users in our office in the United Kingdom, where they connect back to our office here in Massachusetts. Because of the connection between our offices, using normal Remote Desktop proved to be fairly slow for the users. Once we were able to overlay Parallels, they found their performance improved greatly.
  • Allows Mac users to feel like they are working natively.
  • Better usage on tablets or phones for Windows apps.
  • Documentation is good but sometimes confusing.
  • Installing certificates is difficult.
If you have users that require remote access to applications, it's a great alternative to requiring VPN and standard remote desktop application. You can control the users' experience far better, and a user who has a better experience is a happier and more productive user. I also feel a little more secure opening this to the web than I do just a straight remote desktop portal.
Read Craig Cormier's full review
Granville Gayle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to access the core applications for over 400 users at over 50 locations across the country. It is used by several departments across the organization. It solves the problem of (1) being able to manage centrally (2) being able to access the application remotely.
  • Remote application access.
  • Management of the system.
  • Printer issues
  • Training
Remote application access, however, it requires terminal server licenses. Internet-only connections were not reliable.
Read Granville Gayle's full review
Raj Mehta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Parallels make delivering applications and desktop applications very easy and painless. With other offerings, the external connection is always cumbersome and expensive with gateway licenses. Parallels make the external publishing secure and easy to use. No net scalers that you need to spend days configuring and no ridiculous price points.
  • External access publishing.
  • Ease of configuration.
  • Documentation that’s more specific.
  • Easier multi tenant set-up.
RAS is well suited for small and medium businesses that are looking to secure and easily publish apps. The ease of set up, manageability, and visibility is very simple. Compared to others you don’t have to deal with a lot of complexity. Multi-tenant is also supported for service providers which is great.
Read Raj Mehta's full review
Jeffrey Sabotin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallels is used by the whole organization and by our outside clients that use our services. It solves the problem of already having a Windows application and not having the time or resources to make it into a completely web-based application. This would take us 3-5 years and millions of dollars to make this happen. Parallels Remote Application Server offers us the ability to make our Windows application look like a web application. We especially like the HTML5 portal that allows it to have no client download whatsoever, but this doesn't always help us because we really need an application that supports copy-and-paste between remote and local computers.
  • HTML5 client, ability to push Windows application through a web browser
  • Mobile apps available for iOS and Android so that users can access on mobile device
  • Better RAS console interface with ability to see more about the RAS servers
  • Printing does work well, but there are times where it doesn't pick up any printers and the session has to be restarted.
Parallels Remote Application Server is well suited for smaller organizations where you don't have 5-10 people monitoring and managing multiple servers. Parallels allows for only a few servers, and you don't need a certification to get it up and running quickly enough. It is well suited to organizations where you have a remote workforce or users that work remotely and from multiple devices.

Parallels is less appropriate for businesses where most of their data sits in the cloud or they use web applications that are hosted at other vendors. This is where you really wouldn't need Parallels to solve any business problem.
Read Jeffrey Sabotin's full review
Andy Decker | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Parallels Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Parallels RAS across the organization to deploy applications and remote desktops to teleworkers and non-laptop users when out of office. RAS handles the creation of a secure gateway into network resources from non-domain managed computers and allows us to control that access by users and groups.
  • RAS allows me to easily publish remote desktops.
  • RAS allows me to publish PC only apps to my Mac users.
  • For the size of our deployment, Parallels has had no shortcomings.
I'm not sure how it stacks up against Citrix for large scale deployments. But as an affordable alternative for small to medium environments, I think Parallels is perfect.
Read Andy Decker's full review
Matthias Körner | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Our app store

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Parallels is used by the whole company, as well as to our resale customers.
  • Publishing apps in a browser.
  • Publishing apps and programs to specific people.
  • Publishing apps to multiple platforms.
  • User-profile disks.
  • VDI experience.
Parallels is well-suited if you need to publish apps to people that are working from different devices. It is less well-suited for VDI infrastructures.
Read Matthias Körner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallels Remote Application Server is used to deliver locally hosted applications for Facilities Management, Finance, Advancement, our Nurse, and even several historical applications to users remotely and while on campus. Using a single server we're able to host application environments for a lot of our key personnel. It's additionally used to allow some of our Mac users to access Windows only applications.
  • Advancement is able to look up constituent data from almost any device which is very useful since they are often on the road raising money.
  • When facilities members log in they are able to see all of their applications for monitoring and managing building controls all in one spot. This includes separate applications for lighting, security, and HVAC.
  • Upgrading from a legacy version was very difficult, including when we tried to directly get assistance from Parallels. That is now solved, and keeping on top of it has been easy.
  • Monitoring active users and being able to terminate a session remotely seems difficult.
Parallels Remote Application Server lets us deliver what we need to, balance the load between servers, and is super easy for our users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallels is being leveraged to provision applications internally and externally that do not perform well over low bandwidth links or through Microsoft Direct Access. We have a long history of utilizing Citrix and Citrix Access Gateway. We evaluated Parallels and found it was a viable solution to replace Citrix. Our user base is approx 120 users mostly in our Operational Water/Sewer teams.
  • Major simplification of back end infrastructure - servers and patching.
  • Configuration is straight forward and comprehensive.
I would not hesitate to recommend Parallels. I wish we would have switched from Citrix earlier.
The price is excellent and offers great value. I also interacted with Parallels account managers and support.
Account managers were particularly helpful during the transition phase and offered short term licenses to help us migrate our 120 users.
Our Windows Administration team now has more time to spend on higher-value tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

RAS kicks *SS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallels Remote Application Server is the platform we use to host custom software across different industries. We host a server on AWS and use Parallels to host the custom app to the client. So each client uses RAS to access their hosted app on the server.
  • Hosting remote apps
  • Managing security for those programs
  • RAS Server user login for me has been confusing or difficult in the past.
  • Having to use the AD or computers' user and groups is annoying but I understand its needed for RDP.
I don't know where Parallels Remote Application Server might be less well suited, but it suits me well for hosting remote apps from hosted servers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Simple, safe, efficient!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by our whole organization. Parallels Remote Application Server allows our technicians to manage our services and our commercial agents to access our business systems.
  • Multi-platform: We can use desktops and any kind of mobile devices.
  • Security: It's a simple and secure way to access to our business services.
  • On Windows-based systems, it is not easy to access the application from the systray.
Parallels Remote Application Server is a great solution to give access to services or applications to users that are not IT experts. It's a great product because it is easy for end-users to configure and use on their own devices. We can set up the client in a very easy way, with no IT support required.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

As amazing as remote gets

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were looking for a solution to replace the standard way of using Terminal Services in Windows. We looked at and tested a few programs until we came across RAS. Parallels provides an easy way of providing security. Using RAS as an application server, the setup is extremely easy and deploying to users is as painless as possible.
  • Easy setup
  • Tons of features
  • None so far
Replacing standard Windows Terminal Services, is a start. Parallels Remote Application Server adds the security that Terminal Services lacks. Deploying virtual desktops or applications is easy. I can't say where it would not appropriate to use Parallels Remote Application Server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Amazordinary

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Parallels RAS is used by all organizations. RAS has solved the deployment of client applications on local and remote end-users PCs and reduced the support requests on the IT department.
  • Easy to deploy and manage.
  • Simple licensing model.
  • MSP cloud console to manage multi tenants.
  • Partner with Google Cloud platform.
Virtualization of applications and makes them available on multi-platforms.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Parallels Remote Application Server is being used over the whole company to grant secure and central access to critical business applications for one of my clients. For them, this is the lowest TCO product to not only benefit from the local and remote access to their business applications from almost any device but also keep the user experience, performance and accessibility at the same high level for every user anywhere without being dependent on the state of their individual client device.
  • Universal access from any device
  • Universal access to legacy and modern applications
  • License pricing (and support and maintenance) for SMB could be more adapted to the features actually being used
I think there are many scenarios in which Parallels RAS is well suited. The only disadvantage is the minimum number of users needed to be able to start using the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RAS is being used by about 6 remote users to access a remote application and remote desktops. It allows us to have a secure way, with multi-factor authentication, for users to get into our network and provide adequate logging for what's going on. Previously using RemoteApp, we had to put holes in our firewall and it lacked great logging.
  • Security.
  • Accessibility.
  • Price (minimum 15 client license).
  • Reporting services difficult to install.
RAS would be particularly well-suited for organizations with smaller IT departments who are looking for an easy-to-deploy mechanism for remote users and apps.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to provide all application access for about 2/3 of the users in our company, and also to provide remote application access to an additional set of users. We have deployed thin clients with a custom-developed OS which only connects to Parallels, allowing us to minimize the number of PCs which we have to deploy and manage, as well as giving us more control over application installation, configuration, and user experience.
  • Remote connectivity is simple to set up, maintain, and use, with very few complaints from users.
  • Publishing apps is very straightforward, much more so than other remote application platforms.
  • The client used to connect to the RAS can be problematic when using multiple screens.
  • Updates have introduced issues in the client (and user experience) more than once.
I would suggest Parallels for businesses who are tired of the non-stop issues one frequently encounters with other remote application platforms. The Parallels solution is more cost-effective, easier to maintain, and much less prone to problems than competitors we have used.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The initial booting of a school VDI system stemmed from concerns raised by our finance department. Our accounts people were troubled by thoughts of what to do should adverse weather hamper the ability of staff to access local systems in the event of travel disruption. Following the successful implementation of limited application publishing for mainly admin staff, the new plan is to open the system up to our Chromebook user base and allow Windows apps to run on non-Windows based systems.
  • Provides a simple way to access virtual Windows remote desktop securely
  • Allows the use of Windows applications on non-Windows systems
  • Pricing is expensive
  • The addition of connectivity to cloud-based VMs would help (such as Azure, AWS, etc)
It's almost a struggle to describe just how wonderfully useful Parallels Remote Application Server is. My favourite aspect is the way you can use Windows-specific apps regardless of the client you find yourself on; be it Mac, Linux, ChromeOS, iOS or Android. If you have software that isn't web-based yet you need your traveling staff to access it, Parallels Remote Application Server is the way to go!
The only problem I see is scalability. Things start to get very expensive as you add additional licenses and the infrastructure needed to run the VMs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Parallels RAS to monitor and administer remotely our IT infrastructure. Information Technology uses the software. We are planning to extend its use along the whole organization. We are replacing Citrix Xen App with Parallels RAS. With this new tool, we are better managing around one hundred physical servers remotely, networking components, virtual machines, containers, in an heterogeneous mix of platforms, such as Citrix Xenserver, Proxmox Virtual Environment, Dell and SuperMicro servers, and switches and storage units (SANs and NASs).
  • Better ROI than Citrix Xen App
  • Simple and powerful administrative tools to manage users, groups, and the publishing of environments
  • RAS could be less attached to the Microsoft Windows Server Platform
  • We could love to have a Parallels RAS Server running on Linux
If your organization is multi-platform aware and you have Windows Server knowledge and other platforms, especially if you have implemented the Active Directory functionality of Windows Server, Parallels RAS will make your life much better. It is especially helpful with remote and mobile workers or for off-hours internal technical support.
If your organization runs on the cloud, without on-premises infrastructure, and the users all just use browsers to access the services, RAS is less compelling, I think. But what medium or large organization does not have legacy applications and information systems lurking around?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, selected people who need a stable and fast way to operate internal applications use Parallels Remote Application Server.
  • Fast
  • Easy to set up
  • MFA
  • Buggy versions
People who have bad internet can benefit a lot from Parallels Remote Application Server. Also, consultants can work on a ready made desktop. I would not use it as my primary desktop. Sometimes, copy/paste between the real PC and the Parallels Remote Application Server doesn't work correctly. Sometimes, the screen does not resize correctly.
Read this authenticated review

About Parallels RAS

Parallels® Remote Application Server (RAS) is an application delivery and VDI solution that helps organizations create digital workspaces, reduce TCO, enhance data security and streamline multi-cloud management. The vendor states that Iis flexible and scalable architecture will allow organizations to quickly adapt to business demands for new applications or desktop types—while providing a rich and consistent user experience from on-premises, hybrid and, public cloud deployments. By leveraging a centralized management console with built-in automation capabilities—such as auto-provisioning, auto-scaling, SAML integration, PowerShell and REST APIs—Parallels RAS enables administrators to automate and simplify complex and repetitive tasks.

Key benefits of Parallels RAS for your business:

  • Superior user experience on any device, anywhere.
  • Enhanced data security
  • IT agility and business readiness
  • Easy to deploy, configure, and maintain
  • Reduce total cost of ownership (TCO)

Embrace digital transformation and grow your business with Parallels RAS. Achieve workforce mobility by leveraging a solution that provides smooth and secure remote application delivery and VDI.

Parallels RAS Features

Additional Features
Has featureMulti-cloud ready - on-premise, hybrid, and public cloud deployments
Has featureSupports RDS on Windows Server and VDI with Microsoft Hyper-V, Citrix Hypervisor, VMware ESXi, Nutanix Acropolis (AHV), KVM and Scale Computing HC3.
Has featureCentralized management from a single pane of glass
Has featureParallels RAS supports FIPS 140-2 encryption and Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) allowing organizations to adhere to data compliance policies.
Has featureBest in class mobile user experience

Parallels RAS Screenshots

Parallels RAS Videos (2)

Parallels RAS Downloadables

Parallels RAS Competitors

Citrix Virtual Apps Essentials, Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops (formerly XenDesktop), VMware Horizon (formerly VMware View), Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Parallels RAS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Windows Servers 2008/R2, 2012/R2, 2016 and 2019
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, German, Japanese, Russian, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean