Parallels RAS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
92 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 74)

Jorge Acopa Galera | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Parallels RAS made me forget 13 years of XenApp in a heartbeat.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We come from using XenApp Citrix for more than 13 years, then I started testing Parallels RAS to see if we could seamlessly migrate the app delivery service from one product to another with minimum effort and impact on end users. All our tests were successful from Parallels farm setup, published resources, servers configurations to user experience.
  • Easy server setup and configuration.
  • You can use Parallels on Windows, Mac, iOS, Android.
  • User experience is great, from image quality to input response.
  • Printer configuration done easily using Universal Printing.
  • Some improvement can be done managing open sessions.
  • Effectively configure idle disconnection times.
  • Ability to add applications from shared resources.
  • Current and historic RAS license usage.
Parallels is well suited on deploying server/client applications, we use it to deploy 16 ERP modules and easily control and deploy updates to all RAS users. We publish resources and content on parallels so our users can have access 24/7 in case they need it.
I guess RAS may not be well suited on a completely local user scenario when users only need the work content strictly inside office.
Read Jorge Acopa Galera's full review
Bret Benziger | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Parallels RAS, simple, powerful, great value

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Student Health and Counseling Services, a department of Student Affairs at UC Davis, uses Parallels RAS to deliver a wide range of windows applications both to remote users and local users on other platforms. This software seamlessly allows us to provide applications to macOS, iOS, Android, and Windows users with native clients that add functionality.
  • Keyboard input detection is vital on iOS, where users are used to keyboard input bringing the keyboard up automatically.
  • Management of the RAS setup is extremely intuitive and works well.
  • Permission controls in the system are dynamic allowing several different policies to be applied depending on physical location, group membership, etc.
  • Remote install is one of the coolest features, but sometimes doesn't play well with domain policies such as recommended CIS Baselines in different VLAN zones.
  • Would be nice if seamless apps showed up as dock icons in macOS the way Parallels for Desktop does.
It's affordable, but capable. If you are on a budget and can't afford more expensive options, Parallels is great for hosting windows applications and seamlessly integrating them on any platform.
Read Bret Benziger's full review
iain Stephen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Almost a decade of Parallels Remote Application Server and still happy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Parallels Remote Application Server to replace Citrix Servers and deliver a simple yet powerful tool to our end users for running published applications and accessing network resources from either mobile platforms or from other locations that are offsite. We found it simpler to get up and running and much less expensive than Citrix.
  • Printing from published applications.
  • Easy to set up and keep running.
  • We would like to be able to do what we do with Citrix published ICA files—essentially free-standing configurations that once ran function like a local application while they log in (in the background).
It is well suited for providing access to applications behind the firewall, especially legacy ones, while maintaining tight control over access through normal login procedures and protocols. We found it a little more difficult to use on MAC products. However, that may just be a local issue as we are less familiar with them.
Read iain Stephen's full review
Clint Rankin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2020

I love Parallels Remote Application Server & here's why

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Parallels Remote Application Server across our whole organization. Instead of installing certain programs on each person's computer, we direct our employees to a website where they can just log in and all their business applications are right there. This simplifies things. For one, our I.T. Dept doesn't have to ensure our programs are installed on each person's computer. Furthermore, they don't have to worry each application has the latest updates. Security is greatly enhanced. The greatest business problem it addresses is that it allows us to control our employee experience from a single place reducing time, effort and expense.
  • Easy for end users to use.
  • Will eliminate the need for more I.T. employees.
  • Support is great.
  • I have noticed that for no apparent reason some employees notice some slowness when using Remote Apps.
  • Installing the server can be difficult.
  • Although support is great in the sense that you always get someone that knows their product well, sometimes you must wait hours to hear something back.
Parallels Remote Application Server is well suited for both remote and onsite employees. It might be less appropriate for a company on a very strict/modest budget. Plan on spending at least 1 full day implementing it. It should help greatly with reducing Citrix costs if you are currently using that. It also works great from any mobile device.
Read Clint Rankin's full review
Jason Chafin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2020

Parallels RAS review by a healthcare IT Manager

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallels is being used by doctors to work remotely using our local systems and servers. During the COVID-19 pandemic, we are also using Parallels RAS during our telehealth appointments as a tool for telemedicine. Parallels is mainly used to give doctors remote access to read echos and dictate using a mic and Dragon server.
  • Parallels allows us to save on application software licensing costs.
  • RAS enables our doctors to access most local applications remotely.
  • Parallels is easy to use and most people pick up on its' value quickly.
  • When using Parallels to view DICOM images using RadiAnt. Our doctors do not get as clear of an image using RAS as they do from their local desktops.
  • Even after increasing bandwidth at both our office and home, images do not stream as clear as if you have the actual application installed on your desktop or laptop.
  • As a medical facility, it would be nice to have a direct contact for support questions.
Parallels RAS is perfect for our doctors that are going from office to office and hospital to hospital. By installing Parallels on their laptop they are able to read echos and use Dragon dictation software anywhere they go where they have an Internet connection.

Parallels is not appropriate for public networks or areas with low RF signal or Internet bandwidth. It hangs and disconnects.
Read Jason Chafin's full review
Adrian Alessi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Simple application streaming!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We spent 10 years using publishing desktops on the virtualized Citrix XenApp environment. Times changed and a lot of our stuff became web-based. We moved our offices to Mac OSX desktops and needed to stream a couple of legacy windows only applications. I found the Parallels Remote Application Server a lot simpler to setup. No longer needing domain controllers and levels of servers, I was able to get Parallels set up on a single Azure server to stream the applications straight to the Mac desktops.
  • Simple infrastructure.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Good way to deliver Windows app's to Mac desktops.
  • 15 user minimum license is a pain but still good value.
  • Support is decent enough for my small deployment but I wonder what it would be like in a complicated environment.
Well suited for streaming apps to small environments via the cloud.
Read Adrian Alessi's full review
Joe Castle | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2020

Benefits of Parallels

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed Parallels to replace VPN access for our entire organization. Employees are able to access network applications and resources by simply going to our Parallels web portal or using the Parallels client. We protect access with two factor authentication via phone push. Some of the main goals were to provide a simpler experience but also more secure. Employees can now use their own devices when needed.

When COVID-19 sent employees home, we were fortunate to have had Parallels already in production. We transitioned to a remote work environment and it was a totally smooth transition.
  • Ease of access for users.
  • Multiple security options.
  • Affordable.
  • Easy to design and deploy.
  • More options for identity management support (Okta, etc).
Parallels is great when you need a secure way to publish resources inside your network (network drives, internal applications).
Read Joe Castle's full review
Andreas Hermann | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

BMD Cloud with Parallels Remote Application Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We provide our own BMD Software to our customers with Parallels Remote Application Server.

With BMD Cloud Services our goal is to offer more flexibility and mobility using BMD software. BMD offers the possibility to access the entire software package via the Internet directly on a server, secured and maintained by our BMD tech department.

Enable clients to do bookkeeping on your tax office’s IT infrastructure. The need not to exchange data constantly with clients leads to higher customer loyalty and up-to-date data.

With Parallels it is very easy for our costumers to connect to our cloud system.

  • Very good load balancing between session host servers.
  • Universal printing works great.
  • Client for Windows, Mac and mobile devices.
  • Every major upgrade is not so easy to install.
  • Like every other software - wait and don't use the first build of an upgrade.
Very good solution if you want a good load balancing solution for Windows remote desktop services including universal printing.
Read Andreas Hermann's full review
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2020

Parallels Remote Application Server Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide application access over the HTML5 client for users at remote sites, home, etc. We specifically publish the Microsoft Office Suite, Information Technology Administration and Management Tools, and several legacy applications that would otherwise only be available on the corporate LAN or would have significant performance issues over traditional VPN technologies.
  • HTML5 access to traditional non-web enabled software
  • Management of security and access rights to the above software
  • Easy redundancy and clustering
  • The client software is a bit finicky.
Parallels Remote Application Server is well suited for smaller shops with a need for the initial foray into application virtualization, especially those that do not need or want to distribute client software to enable access. Competitively, it is well-suited for organizations looking to replace Citrix XenApp, and in some cases XenDesktop or other application presentation software or virtual desktop infrastructure tools.
Read Joe Foran's full review
Udo Janssen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2020

Cost savings & better availability & manageability with Parallels RAS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We started using Parallels RAS first in our company because we were dissatisfied with our Citrix installations in ours and customers' sites. We were looking for a stable remote desktop environment that was easy to manage, good value for the money, and had a pay-per-use license model for managed service providers to expand our AaaS / IaaS offering. (It is not only since COVID-19 that we know that switching to Parallels RAS was the right decision for us and for our customers.)
  • Central administration for all remote desktop services (RDS, VDI, RemotePC)
  • Compatibility with most 2FA solutions
  • Out-of-the-box free-of-charge high-availability and load-balancing virtual appliances
  • Support of nearly all client OS and devices
  • HTML5 browser-based interface for clientless access where needed
  • Working with local and published applications at the same time can result in window fades.
  • The look and feel of the client Interface is not modern, but functional.
Parallels RAS is a straightforward solution for all application publishing conditions. Implementation scenarios go from public cloud data centers to private clouds to on-premises. Parallels RAS scaled from a single server to multiple farms with combined publications of RDS, VDI, RemotePC, and others as a single entry to an enterprise workspace. A solution for companies of all sizes.
Read Udo Janssen's full review
Mike Memme | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Great Solution For Home Builders

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 10 to 15 remote offices for sales staff and construction staff. We predominantly use Claris Filemaker and Microsoft Outlook at the remote offices. Filemaker is making moves to the cloud but our layouts pull so much data that they require an ethernet connection. We need to use a terminal server until we redesign our Filemaker database to be more efficient. Filemaker uses Outlook to send information from the database to potential clients and to trade partners. We need to use a terminal server to allow the two applications to talk to each other.


  • Every type of client one could ask for.
  • Strong Mac client (the reason we started using it).
  • Easy setup and maintenance of settings.
  • Great printing support.
  • More flexible client when multiple users need to log into the same workstation.
  • Some issues with accessing local drives in unique situations.
Great for easy maintenance of settings.
Read Mike Memme's full review
Stefan Zuban | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

Parallels: the open door to your IT infrastructure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Parallels RAS for application and desktop virtualization. Connection through a heavy client and an HTML client allows us to serve specific user profiles personalizing user experience and accessibility. The RAS GW feature allows us to cope with IT security issues concerning applications confined in special virtual networks, while the VDI feature allows us to prepare desktops on the shelf for developers.
  • HTML 5 client
  • VDI on the shelf
  • Load balancing
  • Heavy client: limit usage of special ports that might be blocked by corporate network policies.
  • RAS: limit usage of special ports that might be blocked by corporate network policies.
  • VDI creation from templates: performances.
Access to a whole IT infrastructure where only a bare https connection is available.
Read Stefan Zuban's full review
Darrin Salt | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

The secure, easy to use, Work Anywhere solution for any sized-business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Parallels RAS organisation-wide; connecting users in different ways. It's ability to delivery applications and desktop services means that it's not just a single solution, even though it's just one product. Whether it's our accounts department using it to run their on-premises accounting software in a remote desktop environment or publishing individual applications and web-links for our engineers to access on non-PC devices like tablets, it now forms a single hub for many of our needs at a really affordable cost.
  • Support for multiple application types (web, local, desktop, files).
  • Security - Delivering everything via a single secure gateway.
  • Integrates incredibly well into existing infrastructure.
  • Delivers a similar experience across multiple client types (PC's, Mac's, Tablets, Browsers).
  • Setting up MFA/2FA can be a little complex - I'd like to see a "security first" approach with guided setup at the time of deployment.
Parallels RAS is incredibly well suited to organizations that already use Remote Desktop Services (RDS), especially if they use multiple RDS servers or are planning on expanding their RDS farm. I'd also highly recommend anyone with legacy applications take a look at it, as it's a wizard at delivery these to modern client devices - effectively turning "Fat client" apps into cloud-ready applications. And if you are considering VDI, whatever the hypervisor, it will save you time, money and frustration.
Read Darrin Salt's full review
Jeff Dyck | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2020

Fills a critical gap for our Mac based organization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We are a mostly Mac (95%) based educational organization, which generally works very well for us. Unfortunately, there are a few areas such as finance where Windows-only applications are required. We use Parallels Remote Application Server to publish these applications needed for use by our users.
  • This includes:
  • A core piece of financial software, which was initially terminal access, then switched to an Internet Explorer only Active-X based solution. We were able to transition our users to an application published by Parallels Server.
  • Our library management software is also PC only. Initially, we deployed standalone Windows machines to run this software, but as they aged out, we migrated them to the Parallels client running the library application. As a positive side effect, the fact that the app was running on a server in the data center right next to the core database server made the app faster for our users.
  • Our psychology team has also dealt with several very custom pieces of software for diagnosing students that were PC only. Once again, we were able to use Parallels Remote Application Server to allow them to run on their Macs.
  • There have been some other pieces of software over the years that we also ran via Parallels, which have, thankfully, either started providing a Mac version or migrated to a standards-compliant web application.
  • We have been delighted with Parallels Remote Application Server as a solution to help us deal with this kind of issue. It has allowed us to provide critical applications as needed without fundamentally having to change our deployments.
  • Allows us to run Windows-only applications on our Macs
  • The administrative console is easy to use and understand
  • Ability to map local folders and printers to the remote server for use
  • On the client-side, it can be challenging to get users to understand what's happening - that they're running their apps on another computer and need to log off when they're done.
  • There is a nice feature to map your Mac printers to the Windows environment - but in successive versions of macOS and Parallels Remote Application Server the features seem to alternate between functional and not; we ended up installing all the printers on the server for users.
  • Parallels Remote Application Server works very well to provide Windows-only applications to our Mac users. In our case, we've used it for finance and library software mainly, but over the years, it has also helped fill in with apps or websites that didn't work on the Mac.
  • One thing to note: since multiple users will be using the server, you need to make sure RAM, hard drive and CPU are adequate. I probably wouldn't recommend running hefty applications like Photoshop or 3D stuff through this solution.
Read Jeff Dyck's full review
Donny McIver | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2020

MSP's review of Parallels RAS - this company is NOT just for Windows on a Mac

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses Parallels Remote Application Server to replace normal terminal server access methods requiring a VPN or publishing through the web.
  • Ease of publishing remote desktop service to PC / Mac / iPad
  • Granular management of user/group permissions to resources
  • Flexible publishing options - RDS farm, individual computers, etc
  • Documentation is overly long - could easily be streamlined
  • Better example of securing deployments against vulnerabilities
Rapid deployment capability, ease of setting up / deploying, and low cost make it a no brainer to embrace Parallels Remote Application Server. Compared to some alternatives out there, it almost seems too easy and too good to be true. Candidly, the first time we rolled it out, we way over thought things and spent too much time in the weeds. Our suggestion now, spin up a sandbox and just go, go, go -- kick the tires and figure out which one of the many deployment scenarios makes sense in your environment. Then re-deploy in production -- don't spend too much time trying to think through it or wade through the endless amounts of documentation.
Read Donny McIver's full review
Chris Tapiolas | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2020

Parallels Remote Application Server

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We use Parallels Remote Application Server to deliver Windows Applications from a cloud-hosted environment to end-user desktops via HTTPS.
  • This solution removes physical hardware from the end-user premises; this gives our clients peace of mind that they don’t have to spend thousands on initial setup, rather a monthly cost to cloud providers.
  • Delivery of Applications
  • Easy setup
  • Support
  • Something built for smaller clients
  • LetsEncrypt integration
  • Option for 1-15 clients
  • Parallels Remote Application Server is well suited for businesses that utilize software that generally utilities terminal services.
  • Parallels Remote Application Server delivers the single application only, not the complete desktop, and can be delivered into a web browser or Parallels Remote Application Server Client Software. Another great feature we are now using is 2FA for users outside the office.
Read Chris Tapiolas's full review
Scott Shorey | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Great product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Parallels Remote Server to deliver applications to users where the application doesn't work well remotely or between sites. It is being used by several departments, remote users, and remote sites.
  • Ease of use
  • Delivers applications as though they were installed on the local computer
If you need to deliver applications that are slow over the WAN, then Parallels Remote Application Server is excellent for that. It's the ease of use, and transparency to the end-user is excellent.
Read Scott Shorey's full review
Brian Medford | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

I'll be your huckleberr.... err, hosted solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have our software on a server and allow customers to connect via Parallels to access it remotely. This allows for an in house hosted solution across a variety of operating systems and hardware and cuts down the costs of our customers for local support and implementation and also facilitates software upgrades and updates.
  • Allows publication of only the apps/folders you want customers to access.
  • Very easy to set-up and maintain.
  • Works well with Active Directory for security and access.
  • Trying to add an additional RAS server pops up error message after error message while the current one is in use, from deployed machines seeing different active RAS servers. Deployment could really use some work to prevent this. We have to shut down the primary RAS and then disable it before another RAS can be put into place.
It works well with our software for hosted solutions for clients that are not wanting to deal with in house IT maintenance.
Read Brian Medford's full review
Joel Menezes | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

A good solution for school districts

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallels RAS is being used for the deployment and access to our district's ERP system. In addition, we are publishing software for our School Psychologists requiring hardware dongles to non-compatible machines, and various home-grown solutions. Clients are using a mix of Mac & Windows devices, with speed that was not possible before when running fat clients on the machines.
  • Administration.
  • Remote Access.
  • Connection errors when clients switch network connections.
Parallels Remote Application Server is well suited for deploying thick client applications that are not well suited for working over a LAN or WAN due to latency or large data utilization. It also is extremely useful when you need to access a Windows application from a non-windows device (such as Mac, ChromeOS, or tablets).
Read Joel Menezes's full review
Jason Stevenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Parallels RAS gets you connected.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Parallels Remote Application Server for a select few employees. We began by using it to replace Citrix for the cost. We leveraged it to provide windows only applications to our macintosh fleet as well as our offsite employees.
  • Ease of application publishing.
  • Ease of desktop publishing.
  • na
  • na
Cross-platform software deployment is a breeze. Providing remote access to offsite employees instead of a VPN is very nice.
Read Jason Stevenson's full review
Jean Huveneers | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Parallels RAS: simple, feature rich, secure.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our office environment is based on Dell Wyse thinclients which and laptops for remote users. With Parallels Remote Application Server, we have 24x7 secure access to our RDS environment which we use for managing and supporting our customers.
We also advise and implement at our customers for facilitating remote works in their IT environments.
And last but not least, we deliver a Managed Hosted Desktop service 'BusinessDesktop' from our data-center via Parallels RAS.
  • Lightweight installation, one server can already do the whole job
  • Provisioning of the Dell Wyse Thinclients
  • Upgrades without downtime in a multi-server setup would be nice
  • Wyse thinclient options configuration from the GUI
Parallels already is very usable in small (5 users) RDS or VDI environments and scales up very well. Although we don't have experience with 500+ users in a farm. The use of Parallels eliminates the use of SSL-VPN solutions and is a perfect match for serving legacy applications to a modern-workspace user.
Read Jean Huveneers's full review
Martin Tuxen Grandeville | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

10 years of Parallels

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the RAS to make our software solutions available for customers all around the globe in an easy way and without further program installation than the Parallels Thin Client. This way we are in full control of the software and back-end modules and the customer launches the software as if it was running on their own PC.
  • Remote launch of software.
  • Easy administration.
  • There may be a delay in the software due to network and distance.
  • If the RAS is down it's potentially down for everyone.
For internal remote software launching, it's a great tool to use things like MS Office. And in our situation, it is a fine product for letting users all around the globe have easy access to our software.
Read Martin Tuxen Grandeville's full review
Mikel Seidl | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Most Cost Effective VDI Solution for Mid-Sized Organizations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved to a newer more modern domain and a new ERP system simultaneously. Our old ERP system was Windows dependent and resided on the old domain. In lieu of migrating the old ERP to use as a reference, we use Parallels RAS to allow users to access a machine on the old domain that grants access to the old ERP system.
  • Virtual desktop infrastructure.
  • Ease of use and management.
  • Multi-domain support.
  • Resilience to network hiccups.
Parallels has been the most cost-effective and user-friendly option for our use. Citrix would have been drastic overkill both in complexity and cost. Parallels gives us the flexibility to easily spin up VDI sessions across domains and for as many users as we need, while also allowing a very easy to stomach license cost that keeps our finance office happy.
Read Mikel Seidl's full review
Craig Cormier | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Parallels takes your users' Remote Desktop Server experience to the next level

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Parallels to improve the performance of terminal Services for our users in our office in the United Kingdom, where they connect back to our office here in Massachusetts. Because of the connection between our offices, using normal Remote Desktop proved to be fairly slow for the users. Once we were able to overlay Parallels, they found their performance improved greatly.
  • Allows Mac users to feel like they are working natively.
  • Better usage on tablets or phones for Windows apps.
  • Documentation is good but sometimes confusing.
  • Installing certificates is difficult.
If you have users that require remote access to applications, it's a great alternative to requiring VPN and standard remote desktop application. You can control the users' experience far better, and a user who has a better experience is a happier and more productive user. I also feel a little more secure opening this to the web than I do just a straight remote desktop portal.
Read Craig Cormier's full review
Granville Gayle | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Application Deployment Across Multiple Locations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to access the core applications for over 400 users at over 50 locations across the country. It is used by several departments across the organization. It solves the problem of (1) being able to manage centrally (2) being able to access the application remotely.
  • Remote application access.
  • Management of the system.
  • Printer issues
  • Training
Remote application access, however, it requires terminal server licenses. Internet-only connections were not reliable.
Read Granville Gayle's full review

About Parallels RAS

Parallels® Remote Application Server (RAS) is an application delivery and VDI solution that helps organizations create digital workspaces, reduce TCO, enhance data security and streamline multi-cloud management. The vendor states that Iis flexible and scalable architecture will allow organizations to quickly adapt to business demands for new applications or desktop types—while providing a rich and consistent user experience from on-premises, hybrid and, public cloud deployments. By leveraging a centralized management console with built-in automation capabilities—such as auto-provisioning, auto-scaling, SAML integration, PowerShell and REST APIs—Parallels RAS enables administrators to automate and simplify complex and repetitive tasks.

Key benefits of Parallels RAS for your business:

  • Superior user experience on any device, anywhere.
  • Enhanced data security
  • IT agility and business readiness
  • Easy to deploy, configure, and maintain
  • Reduce total cost of ownership (TCO)

Embrace digital transformation and grow your business with Parallels RAS. Achieve workforce mobility by leveraging a solution that provides smooth and secure remote application delivery and VDI.

Parallels RAS Features

Additional Features
Has featureMulti-cloud ready - on-premise, hybrid, and public cloud deployments
Has featureSupports RDS on Windows Server and VDI with Microsoft Hyper-V, Citrix Hypervisor, VMware ESXi, Nutanix Acropolis (AHV), KVM and Scale Computing HC3.
Has featureCentralized management from a single pane of glass
Has featureParallels RAS supports FIPS 140-2 encryption and Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) allowing organizations to adhere to data compliance policies.
Has featureBest in class mobile user experience

Parallels RAS Screenshots

Parallels RAS Videos (2)

Parallels RAS Downloadables

Parallels RAS Competitors

Citrix Virtual Apps Essentials, Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops (formerly XenDesktop), VMware Horizon (formerly VMware View), Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Parallels RAS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Windows Servers 2008/R2, 2012/R2, 2016 and 2019
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, German, Japanese, Russian, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean