TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/8Q/b9/W47TSZK0C41J.PNGScale Computing Hyper-Converged Infrastructure ReviewScale Computing HC3 is currently being used for multiple departments and is planned to be used for the entire organization. It allows near immediate spin-up and provisioning of VMs, hourly fail-over/disaster recovery, and file level backup of all VMs.,Of all the hyper-converged infrastructure I have tried (Microsoft, VMware, and Nutanix), Scale is the least complex and easiest to manage. It requires very little training to utilize efficiently Support is top notch It is a powerful tool that requires very little external management infrastructure,Is not BYOD compatible,9,10,I have a File Server, Accounting Software, RDP Infrastructure, EMR, Accounting, PBX, and Access Control all running on Scale. Everything is snapshotted hourly giving a very granular level backup if needed. All roles get their own VM, giving flexibility when dealing with restores, troubleshooting, and testing. Since spinning up clones and new VMs are a click away, it makes scaling up very easy.,We haven't had this system long enough to provide hard numbers. But the purchase cost of an equal system that uses VM ware or Hyper-V would be double the cost of Scale for the same performance and capabilities.,NutanixGreat solution!We use the HC3 for server deployment across our entire organization to increase fault tolerance and our disaster recovery.,Support is responsive and helpful. Set up of the system itself and VMs is as easy as it can be.,I have not run into anything yet that I dislike.,10,9,Our tax collection system is currently installed on the scale cluster and running well.,Time savings is probably the biggest difference so far. It saves a lot of time on setup and maintenance.,HC3 - A Clear Choice For Our City[It's being used for] SANs, and ESX. We replaced our entire data center with Scale HC3. It supports our all locations and departments. Our IT staff required zero training. We have gained valuable time now that we are no longer supporting a complex VMWare system with fiber switches, and ESX boxes.,Support. Support tickets are handled quickly. System updates are fully automated. Small footprint. Simplified backups.,Backups. One to many is a big need for us. SQL, exchange agents would be helpful.,10,10,Our wastewater treatment plant Uses SQL to gather 100s of inputs every 5 seconds to monitor plant SATA. HC3 does this very well.,Ease of budgeting,Nutanix, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube) and VxRailScale HC3 ReviewWe replaced our entire physical server environment for a virtual scale environment. It is more economical to maintain and grow than a physical server environment. It provides many additional features including automated notifications of server issues or outages, visibility of server status and ability to remotely control a server the same as a physical server.,Centralized server management Quick visibility of the health of the server environment. It provides tools to provide a quick glance at the infrastructure Increased backup/redundancy of data without additional products or implementations,More server statistics in the environment window History of CPU usage, disk space/usage/ net traffic. It is currently being monitored but not logged. Ability to customize reports and automate the e-mailing of those reports.,10,10,Primarily it runs our Point of Sale infrastructure.,Server uptime and overall health Immediate availability for growth or increase in server infrastructure without additional hardware costs,Scale Computing HC3, the right fit for SMBWe use Scale Computing HC3 for our Hyper Cluster environment. We have been migrating our VMWare clients to the HC3 environment.,HC3 makes it very easy to set up VM clients. They provide graphical feedback of CPU Utilization and IOPs for each of the running clients. Setting up snapshot schedule is a breeze. With a DR Cluster, the snapshots can be transmitted to a DR Cluster for additional redundancy.,Rolling back to a previous snapshot is not as intuitive as other vendor offerings. You must clone the snapshot and then boot the clone to roll back to a previous snapshot.,10,10,We run all of the servers that host our DB, email, and vertical market applications on the HC3 environment.,We have saved a tremendous amount on maintenance cost, previously paying for maintenance on our servers, SAN and virtualization OS. The maintenance cost for HC3 covers all three categories and is less than what we were paying before.,VMware ESXi
Windows, Linux, Unix
Scale Computing HC3
225 Ratings
Score 9.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Scale Computing HC3
225 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 225 vetted Scale Computing HC3 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (26-50 of 153)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Emanuel Landsman profile photo
March 11, 2019

Scale Computing HC3: "Scale Computing Hyper-Converged Infrastructure Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 is currently being used for multiple departments and is planned to be used for the entire organization. It allows near immediate spin-up and provisioning of VMs, hourly fail-over/disaster recovery, and file level backup of all VMs.
  • Of all the hyper-converged infrastructure I have tried (Microsoft, VMware, and Nutanix), Scale is the least complex and easiest to manage. It requires very little training to utilize efficiently
  • Support is top notch
  • It is a powerful tool that requires very little external management infrastructure
  • Is not BYOD compatible
Scale is well suited for anyone that needs a virtualization platform but doesn't want to spend a fortune and doesn't have time to learn a complicated system.
I have a File Server, Accounting Software, RDP Infrastructure, EMR, Accounting, PBX, and Access Control all running on Scale. Everything is snapshotted hourly giving a very granular level backup if needed. All roles get their own VM, giving flexibility when dealing with restores, troubleshooting, and testing. Since spinning up clones and new VMs are a click away, it makes scaling up very easy.
Read Emanuel Landsman's full review
Josh Meredith profile photo
March 07, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Great solution!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the HC3 for server deployment across our entire organization to increase fault tolerance and our disaster recovery.
  • Support is responsive and helpful.
  • Set up of the system itself and VMs is as easy as it can be.
  • I have not run into anything yet that I dislike.
The set up for replication to a DR is terribly easy and is one of the reasons we went with Scale.
Our tax collection system is currently installed on the scale cluster and running well.
Read Josh Meredith's full review
Jerry Gerlach profile photo
February 21, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "HC3 - A Clear Choice For Our City"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] SANs, and ESX.

We replaced our entire data center with Scale HC3. It supports our all locations and departments. Our IT staff required zero training. We have gained valuable time now that we are no longer supporting a complex VMWare system with fiber switches, and ESX boxes.
  • Support. Support tickets are handled quickly.
  • System updates are fully automated.
  • Small footprint.
  • Simplified backups.
  • Backups. One to many is a big need for us. SQL, exchange agents would be helpful.
Scale is well suited for a company with a small IT staff. It is not suited if you have operating systems that are not supported on KVM.
Our wastewater treatment plant Uses SQL to gather 100s of inputs every 5 seconds to monitor plant SATA. HC3 does this very well.
Read Jerry Gerlach's full review
Jon Brantner profile photo
September 24, 2018

Scale Computing HC3: "Scale HC3 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced our entire physical server environment for a virtual scale environment. It is more economical to maintain and grow than a physical server environment. It provides many additional features including automated notifications of server issues or outages, visibility of server status and ability to remotely control a server the same as a physical server.
  • Centralized server management
  • Quick visibility of the health of the server environment. It provides tools to provide a quick glance at the infrastructure
  • Increased backup/redundancy of data without additional products or implementations
  • More server statistics in the environment window
  • History of CPU usage, disk space/usage/ net traffic. It is currently being monitored but not logged.
  • Ability to customize reports and automate the e-mailing of those reports.
It is a great virtualization product for the small to mid-sized market space.
Primarily it runs our Point of Sale infrastructure.
Read Jon Brantner's full review
Sam Paulissian profile photo
September 24, 2018

Review: "Scale Computing HC3, the right fit for SMB"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale Computing HC3 for our Hyper Cluster environment. We have been migrating our VMWare clients to the HC3 environment.
  • HC3 makes it very easy to set up VM clients. They provide graphical feedback of CPU Utilization and IOPs for each of the running clients.
  • Setting up snapshot schedule is a breeze.
  • With a DR Cluster, the snapshots can be transmitted to a DR Cluster for additional redundancy.
  • Rolling back to a previous snapshot is not as intuitive as other vendor offerings. You must clone the snapshot and then boot the clone to roll back to a previous snapshot.
For the small/medium business that needs a virtualized environment, I found HC3 to be more cost-effective. I no longer need to have a vendor for my SAN, a vendor for my servers and a vendor for my virtualization environment.
We run all of the servers that host our DB, email, and vertical market applications on the HC3 environment.
Read Sam Paulissian's full review
Tyler Johnson profile photo
September 24, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "The small business best asset - Scale"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Scale Computing this year and it is being used as our production environment. We chose Scale due to its affordability and it being a hyper-converged solution. We were on old hardware storing all data locally on Hyper-V servers. The move to Scale gave us redundancy and flexibility at a lower price point than the competition.
  • Their customer support is the best I have ever experienced. On your first email or call you get a service tech that is ready to answer your question right away.
  • The implementation was fairly simple and converting VMs seemed like a breeze. It took some time, but it worked well.
  • My Microsoft licenses sometimes wouldn't pull over in the migrate process and I would have to re-enter my license code. I'm not sure if it depended upon the OS or why it didn't work 100% of the time.
For the typical small business, Scale is the perfect solution. Great customer service and help along the way.
We have a ERP software for manufacturing tracking built on an SQL back end and it runs smoothly on Scale. All accounts payable software along with the sales team CRM also successfully striving on this setup.
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
Josh Cope profile photo
September 24, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 - a great hyper-converged solution for SMB"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale to run all the virtual servers in our environment, including Windows file servers, active directory, DNS, and Exchange. We also have a DR cluster attached where we replicate all of those servers. This allows us, as a smaller company, to save on the cost of physical servers and have a reliable virtual environment.
  • Ease of use - initial setup is very simple, and setting up and using virtual machines through their GUI is even simpler.
  • Customer Support - super fast response times, and very knowledgeable staff. I wish all support teams I deal with were as good as Scale.
  • Scaleability - adding new nodes is a breeze.
  • Difficult to resize virtual hard drives.
With a combination of great pricing, ease of use, top-notch support, and scalability, Scale Computing really hits the mark for the small and medium business market. They really make things a lot easier for companies with minimal IT staff.
The most important business-critical application we run on HC3 is Exchange. Everyone knows how important e-mail is in today's business environment. I fully trust in our HC3 environment to keep it, along with our other critical applications running 100% of the time.
Read Josh Cope's full review
Justin Hall profile photo
September 24, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "More Scale Please"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Scale Computing at our headquarters to host roughly 25 servers that range from application servers to file servers to domain controllers. Scale gave us simplicity to manage our infrastructure. It's also saving us on the bottom line.
  • The replication of VMs betweens nodes is incredibly fast. We can recover servers from snapshots very quickly.
  • We are saving on VMWare costs by not having to renew licenses for VMWare.
  • With Scale's next update, we'll have the capability to do file level restoration.
  • When migrating to Scale, it seemed like we we're basically 'tricking' the virtual machine into being a Scale file. So the ability to more easily migrate to Scale would be recommended.
  • As of right now, to restore a file, we basically restore an entire VM from a snapshot rather than restoring just that file.
  • A lesser option should be available for smaller offices that only have 2 virtual servers.
Cost alone, we no longer have VMware licenses, we could possibly move away from Veeam in the near future. Managing snapshots is much easier than VMWare. A non-technical person could learn Scale in less than a day.
We currently run all of our domain environment in Scale and several application servers. It's mostly file sharing and print services. We haven't noticed any decline in performance since moving to Scale.
Read Justin Hall's full review
Brad Jurgensen profile photo
October 05, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Best HCI solution? Look no farther than Scale Computing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 node cluster allowed our company to go from a rack of 10 servers to a 3 node redundant 100% virtualized server environment that is used for our entire organization. With an IT staff of one, the simplicity of setup and use and having 1 management console to administer all our virtualized servers has allowed our business to focus on process improvements.
  • Ease of management- 1 console to manage all virtualized servers. Console gives you detailed information regarding your virtualized environment which includes disk use, CPU usage, IOPS, and latency
  • Built-in replication- no additional cost to replicate to a similar scale cluster at a remote DR site. Also, availability to replicate to Google cloud for DR now as well.
  • Zero downtime- With a 3-node cluster any node failure automatically replicates any virtualized servers on that node to the remaining two nodes. Rolling upgrades to firmware for nodes means no downtime.
  • Additional resources- If resources (CPU, RAM, DISK) are running low on existing cluster it's really simple to add additional node(s) to increase resources.
  • Support- World class support. Chat functions to reach technicians quickly and most problems are resolved in a relative short amount of time. My average time to reach a support rep is usually less than 5 minutes.
  • Work with more vendors on a desktop virtualization solution.
Scale Computing is a highly recommended solution for SMB. If you are looking for an ideal solution to migrate to a virtualized environment without all the extra added costs this is what the HC3 is designed for.
We currently run Microsoft Exchange server, Microsoft SQL server and our ERP software on the Scale Cluster.

The ability to manage resources allocated and type of disk used (Flash vs. spinning disk) for volumes assigned to the server has made the applications run as highly efficiently as possible.
Read Brad Jurgensen's full review
No photo available
March 02, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Don't be afraid to Scale your virtual environment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 is being used across the whole organization. The previous virtual hardware and environment were at the end of their lives. The processing power, performance, and storage capability were not adequate to continue production. Multiple vendors, devices and integration caused the prospect of migrating to a newer current virtual system to be overwhelming. Scale computing solved the problem with one vendor, one stackable device, and built-in integration.
  • Initial setup and configuration was simple and straight forward. It was actually less than two hours from unboxing equipment to creating virtual servers in a live environment.
  • Scale's dashboard is intuitive and easy to understand. Management of the system is level one simple. Monitoring performance and capacity of the stack is a single screen, simple and powerful tools.
  • Backup and recovery of the servers and data is a hidden strength of Scale. Replication between the two Scale stacks is "Amazon Easy", a few clicks to select, schedule and submit. Monitoring progress and verifying status are all done from the dashboard, plus email notification of events if there are any issues.
  • Built-in remote support by Scale was very valuable. Being US-based and having knowledgeable engineers, any issue can be quickly diagnosed and corrected. No need to create reports or download and send event logs. Scale support can see exactly what you are seeing on the stack.
  • Scale Product delivery was also impressive. Yes, it's just a box you will eventually throw away, but the Scale Suitcases were easy to handle, unpack and provided secure transport of the stacks. Very nice touch.
  • The only issue was the migration from other virtual environment required third-party software for advanced configurations (multiple partitions). As great as the Scale system is, providing an easier experience of moving off other virtual systems with built-in tools would be a bonus.
Scale is well suited for the 1-10 employee small business to the 1000+ and beyond. The SMB that could benefit from a virtual environment but may think they are too small for it to be feasible, is very well suited for a Scale stack. Large enterprise businesses are well suited as the Scale stacks can grow with a company. The powerful yet simplistic management of the system means fewer man-hours are required to operate and they are freed up for other projects. Scale would be less appropriate in an organization with other virtual certification holders unwilling to discover the powerful system and ease of use until the price and performance are made known to management.
For a financial institution, the core banking system is mission critical. Scale Computing HC3 was loaded with the application, database and production servers to operate the in-house core banking system. As the core required adjustments for storage, memory or performance, the ease to which the Scale system accomplished this was remarkable. Most often these adjustments were completed with no downtime thanks to Scale's capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 20, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Damn good option - I am sold for sure."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use our Scale cluster across all departments. The ease of use really does seem almost too good to be true....but this is one of those rare times that it really is just that easy and that good. While I completely appreciate that the initial investment can cause a bit of sticker shock, the amount of time and money saved in the long run far outweighs the initial costs. Our C-Level people are still impressed that I can have a new fully updated server ready to go in under an hour.....and honestly it is closer to 20 minutes if everyone would leave me alone for a bit.

We have been able to move about 85% of our servers to this solution - with the remainder only being on physical because they are fairly new or awful close to EoL and timing has been an issue.

I still think my favorite thing is being able to reboot a server and only waiting about 2-3 minutes for it to be fully loaded again instead of the normal 15-20 minutes a physical machine takes. My service windows have been able to be escalated since the downtime is so low now.
  • Quick restarts. In our tests with other solutions, a restart could still take 8-12 minutes, which was pretty much on par with physical.
  • Great VM snapshot schedules. I can set it to backup just about any time of day I want....with multiple schedules available (that I get to create).
  • Easy to use management console. It took me a couple of hours to get very comfortable with the interface. Now I can walk people through it over the phone for the times I am not in the office.
  • Sticker Shock. Not the biggest con since you can do so much for that price, but it was probably the biggest hurdle I had in going this way....but it is still so much more affordable that some of the other options.
  • Lack of USB functionality. It can be done, but additional hardware is required to get any sort of USB functionality out of these. The USB ports on the cluster are not for end user use.
We went this route because we needed to move to a more virtual environment - reduce costs - streamline setup of new servers (we were growing quite a bit) - all without adding unnecessarily complicated software and licensing issues. If you are looking to have some of the security and peace of mind that virtual will give you, this should really be your first stop along the way. We have not outgrown our initial setup just yet, but once we do, adding another node (or 2) is a pretty painless prospect.
We have everything from web servers to exchange running on our cluster; about 26 VM's running at any given time. Never had any sort of bottleneck or performance issues. Every test we have done has come back with flying colors. The only thing we have in house that we do not have some sort of VM for is SQL....and that is only because the DBA is old school and wants is physical for now. We have tested it with out DB and performance is not an issue....slowly but surely I will get him converted as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 20, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "HC3 - Truly a breath of fresh air."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In a multi-site, highly secure industrial control environment, we needed a solution that would simplify administration, provide test/development cloning capability, N+1 redundancy, and allow for host replication between sites for disaster recovery. Scale's HC3 delivered everything as promised and the solution truly is easy enough for a non-system administrator to manage on a day-to-day basis. Scale is an absolute home run for SCADA/ICS infrastructure, and offers unprecedented flexibility, especially if upgrading from a non-virtualized infrastructure.
  • The world's simplest host and storage administration, period.
  • Built-in site-to-site replication for one-click DR.
  • Excellent performance, easily surpassing the "big guys" -- a less expensive hardware that gets the job done just as well, if not better, than top-tier systems using typical hypervisors.
  • A support experience that cannot be rivaled. Just open a trouble ticket and see for yourself!
  • At-rest encryption without a 3rd-party product.
  • A user interface or wizard for creating boot media/migrating common hosts to HC3 (maybe options for physical, Hyper-V, VMWare).
Just like any HCI application, if your storage, compute, and memory needs can be quantified and accurately forecasted, comparing HCI to a traditional infrastructure stack is simple and generally easy to architect. In our case, the HCI solution cost even less than a comparable multi-vendor infrastructure solution, but with added benefits: Single vendor/tested solution, no additional software or management tools needed, and it's the easiest to manage/maintain/secure.
Most SCADA vendors are behind the times in terms of utilizing modern infrastructure. If your application runs on common Windows or Linux distributions, you can absolutely run them on HC3. Scale certifies about two dozen operating systems on the HC3 platform, ensuring compatibility and supportability. If the SCADA solution utilizes software replication, there are architectural decisions that should be made regarding how to design for true DR, but the beauty of HC3 is its flexibility -- you can use the built-in software replication, let HC3 replicate guest VMs, or use a combination of those two approaches, like we do.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 20, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Easy Virtualization with Scale"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Scale is the main Server infrastructure at our company. They have two locations, and we have Scale at both. The sites replicate to each other for DR. and it works great!! We decided to move a server from one site to the other, and it was as easy as shutting it down on one side and booting it up at the other.
This has been very reliable. Scale serves as our main infrastructure and DR.
  • Disaster Recovery is excellent.
  • Server provisioning is easy and quick with templates.
  • Server backups are easy.
  • For our purposes, we don't have any cons.
If you are going to virtualize your server infrastructure Scale is an excellent choice. If you only have one server I don't see the need.
They have their main accounting systems on Scale as well as their business process server. They run LaserFiche and have a large database. To recover this used to be a pain, but now it is easy. We have also tested DR with this server and it has been flawless.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 19, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Want time in your day back? Enjoy a coffee for a chance because this is the solution for you!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale Computing HC3 is being used across the whole organization. It is currently delivering our server computing needs for all departments. From file and print to Exchange and SQL. We were looking for a solution that met a number of criteria. A secure, cost-effective, reliable solution that delivers a disaster recovery component. It delivers on all these and more.
  • Disaster Recovery: Ability to pair it with a secondary cluster for snapshot replication offers peace of mind.
  • Ease of Deployment: Plug in a few IP addresses and you're up and running on the platform.
  • Secure: The HC3 platform delivers a secure and robust solution.
  • Easy to use and no licensing fees: No more worrying about Standard, Enterprise, and Enterprise Plus licensing. One price for all.
  • Support: Their support team is knowledgeable and good to work with should you have issues or simple questions.
  • Could use some polishing in some of the functionality. Example being the ability to power on a virtual server on a specific Host. Currently not able to do that as it picks the server with the most available resources. We have one server in our cluster that has less RAM than the other 2 units so we would like the ability to utilize that more.
  • Pricing on components after the fact. Was a bit of a sticker shock when I asked for pricing to increase the Ram in one of our hosts so it would match the other hosts in our production cluster. We could buy a new server with that cost.
  • Deployments and pre-sales. When we deployed, there was a grey area on how this was done. Using Move licenses that cost extra dollars that weren't part of the original quotation. We thought we were getting more than we received.
It is a fantastic solution. Well suited for any sort of workload depending on the type of hardware you require. The snapshot replication to a DR cluster was a great feature.
We run our entire environment on HC3 platform. From simple File and Print to SQL and Exchange. Experience so far has been great, the ability to scale out will assist us when adding future workloads. We currently run 35 virtual servers off a 3 host production cluster.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 15, 2019

Review: "Why I bought Scale Computing HC3 as my total solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale to replace our previous storage hardware AND virtualization software. Our HP storage array had reached its end of life (EOL) and was no longer able to be extended under warranty services. Additionally, the physical nodes we used for our VM's and its management were also reaching EOL. With our Scale solution, we are able to migrate all of our VM's and are now beginning to visualizer more of our physical servers.
  • Eliminates the need for a dedicated storage engineer or long planning sessions to lay out drives to get the best performance. E3 does a great job on its own deciding how best to use the drives available to it.
  • Reduces the number of management consoles I have to look at daily.
  • Simplifies the management of my virtual environment.
  • Creates a simplified environment for me to create a sandbox environment for testing in minutes, not hours or days.
  • Needs to be a better dashboard for performance.
  • Would like to be able to color code my different groups.
In small to medium-sized business solutions, it is ideal. However, I am not sure how well it scales out and what the maximum storage size is for this solution so it may not fit well into an a large enterprise solution.
Currently, we are running Active Directory DC's, file servers, print servers, terminal servers, SQL server, ERM solution, telephone system server, and many others. In fact, the only server I have not been able to move to Scale is my fax server that requires a phone card to be installed into the server itself. Other than that, I have not had anything that has not worked on Scale.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 11, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "True Hyperconvergence with Support that will WOW you!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3's hyper-converged platform is the heart and soul of our on-premise infrastructure. With it we are able to run numerous virtual servers on a small cluster of hardware and manage it all from a single pane of glass. Furthermore, the builtin snapshot and replication functions allow us to easily setup offsite backups.
  • The HC3 platform is very stable. In 5 years our Scale Computing HC3 cluster has never gone down.
  • The HC3 management console is straightforward and extremely easy to use. Plus, network, server, and storage resources are all managed from that single pane of glass.
  • Scale Computing's support is, hands down, the best I have ever experienced in 19 years in IT. They are proactive, responsive, and very thorough. They go above and beyond the call of duty every single time.
  • While it is not extremely important to me, their VDI integration solutions are lacking. However I know from conversations with them that they are working on it.
  • Advanced management of virtual networking inside the solution is not as robust as other solutions.
Scale Computing HC3 would be a great solution for small/medium-sized organizations that have typical to moderately advanced computing needs. On the other hand, organizations which are extremely large and/or have highly advanced networking/system needs would likely not be able to achieve their goals with Scale Computing HC3 on its own.
We have run all of the following systems on HC3:


  • Active Directory
  • Oracle Database
  • File Server
  • Print Server
  • Unidata Database
  • Universe Database
  • Document Imaging
  • IIS
  • Apache

All of these systems have run as well as, or better than on our former VMware vSphere platform which required us to manage a separate storage system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Some pros and Cons to scale computing"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is being used as the primary server structure at our company.
Everything from our Domain Controller, to DNS, to File servers, are hosted on Scale.
This addresses our concerns for redundancy, easy backups, and scalability.
  • Fast Support.
  • Easy to use, deploy and manage.
  • Great pricing.
  • Individual nodes are not upgradable. I'd like to see us be able to swap out drives for larger volume drives, rather than need to purchase new nodes to increase capacity.
  • Not enough control. If we choose to stop using Scale Support, we have no access to manage the back end of the servers in case of a failed node.
Scale is well suited to a medium-sized business needing easy to use server clusters for their organization.
Large Enterprise users will find that the system is too rigid to help with providing an easier administrator for the customer.
DNS Services, in house ticketing systems, and pretty much any memory or CPU intensive products that require fast failover in case of a node failure.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 vs. VMware"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale has been used in our environment to replace VMware. We decided to go with Scale because of the cost and the ease of use. All of our Server Infrastructure sits in Scale, and we also use a Secondary cluster at an offsite location for DR. This allows us to no longer have to support a Data Center full of physical servers or to pay obscene licensing fees for VMware, NetApp, and our Cisco UCS cluster.
  • Snapshots between clusters is fast, and functions without notice.
  • Management of all VMs through a single pane of glass in a web browser is very convenient.
  • Cloning machines from a "Golden" template is extremely quick and easy.
  • Scale could improve when it comes to increasing Virtual Disk size. Instead of having to create a second disk and then convert them into dynamic disks in Windows applications.
  • Allowing more than 4 HDDs to be assigned to a machine is also a pain point, as we have some DB servers that require at least 4 HDDs to function properly.
  • Making migration from a standard vmdk file easier than the current method would also be a good way to improve. Paying for Carbonite licensing is not something feasible for all organizations, and the other method is not guaranteed to work and can be quite tricky also.
Scale is well suited if you are looking to slim down a NOC or data center environment with large numbers of physical machines, to decrease the need for manually updating or upgrading machines on a regular basis. It also is well suited if you're looking for a way to escape the licensing costs associated with products like VMware. Also, if you cannot afford the ingress/egress fees of a Cloud solution, this also provides a reasonable alternative.
We run many web applications, file servers, and database servers using Scale HC3. All of them perform just as well if not better than in VMware. Scale HC3 allows us to determine how much of the machine is run off of Flash storage vs. Spinning Disk storage, which increases performance on mission-critical machines. We have several massive DB servers that run almost exclusively off of Flash storage now, and the performance increase on the Web Apps associated with these DBs has been remarkable compared to what it used to be when we were using VMware.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing: extreme value for to medium/large enterprise"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale Virtualization to host our core on-premises infrastructure. We have significantly reduced our physical server footprint.
  • Thorough and knowledgeable support staff.
  • Great pre/post support from sales/engineers.
  • Significant cost savings.
  • Further VM categorization options.
  • On-demand reporting.
  • Additional integration with cloud providers like Azure, AWS, Google.
Excellent for mid/large enterprises where virtualization is beneficial and costs savings is scrutinized. Ease of use and implementation allows for various IT staff to use the product.
Basic high demand applications: Print Server, File Server, Voicemail Server, Domain controller. Complex High Demand applications: IBM Cognos, Field Sales tool (CIS), MS-SQL.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 08, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale: good basic hyperconverged system. DO NOT expect any support."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing has replaced our aging VMware datacenter environment. The HyperConverged, 10GB backend connectivity was attractive.
  • Ease of integration and management.
  • Lower cost compared to comparable HyperConverged systems.
  • Support is extremely lacking. We ran into an issue where migration from the old system into Scale Computing corrupted the existing server environment. They were unresponsive and the manager of support stated, "it wasn't our problem."
  • Misleading with regards to migration from old system to new. Time to migrate is much longer and more involved than indicated at the sales meeting.
  • Training is basic and scripted.
Great for small scale environments or remote locations needing localized datacenters. Less appropriate for large scale deployments or environments that have more robust data applications.
Financial systems and back end database servers perform well. The active directory, once migrated into the system, is fine. Migration of AD machines and emails systems are tricky. The new deployments become out of sync and are isolated from the domain. Fresh installs are a better fit for this system
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 08, 2019

Scale Computing HC3: "Scale HC3 review by small business."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale is currently being used across our whole organization. Scale has helped address the problem of backup, server deployment, and virtualization. The Scale systems are easy to deploy in our current environment and have helped us reduce our demand for multiple individual pieces of hardware that are used for servers. We have taken 8-10 stand-alone machines and put them on the Scale system.
  • Scale has helped us automate our IT department and reduced the number of people required to manage the servers and hardware.
  • Scale protection of fail-over to other nodes is great protection for server failures.
  • Scales snapshot is a great tool to restore a server or computer quickly and efficiently.
  • I would like to see Scale offer file-level backup and restore as part of their package.
  • Scale can improve on their cloud backup system. It's still not perfected and needs some work. However, when it does work, it's a great tool.
  • Scales support has always been great but lately, I have seen a drop off in customer service.
Scale is a great option for small to mid-size businesses. The HC3 architect allows a company to combine servers and computers to one platform and maintain them easily. Scale is a great option for those needing the ability to restore backups quickly to reduce downtime. Scale is not a great option currently if you need to be able to restore just a one or a few files.
We run our critical inventor Cad software on the HC3 system. By doing this we are able to increase memory, if needed, for our servers and SQL servers. We run our critical ERP system on the HC3 system. By doing this we are able to increase memory if needed for our servers and SQL servers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 06, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing's HC3: Hyper-converged Computing for Everyone!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 replaced our entire VMware stack of 3 host servers and 2 storage arrays. It hosts our Windows AD structural component servers (DHCP, DNS, AD Services) as well as a number of admin servers (security system, phone system, etc.). We went this route as a more cost-effective means, compared to a complete stack refresh.
  • Ease of setup: OOB setup was minimal and could be done by following the supplied Quick Start, although support was available.
  • Ease of use: deploying new resources or repurposing/cloning resources is super simple, with a clear GUI that is very intuitive.
  • Peace of mind: having a 3-node system with distributed compute and storage means more redundancy in case of any single component failure. Having all that run as part of the "OS" of the system is even better, as it's baked in: there's no set up like with a multi-home VMware implementation.
  • Great ROI: compared to a stack refresh, the HC3 came in at more than 50% less.
  • It could have been a bit easier to migrate existing VMs or physical machines into the cluster. Using Double Take was OK, but a bit expensive and somewhat tricky.
As a simpler, more cost-effective way to virtualize your infrastructure, I don't see a place this couldn't fit in well. While we aren't running any dedicated database-based applications (and so can't really speak to I/O contention or speed issues), several of our admin machines are running MS SQL Server and have not experienced any performance issues. Because of its expandability, I could see this in a smaller shop like ours, or as a niche in a larger infrastructure, or, if scaled properly, as a replacement for a large infrastructure VM host.
As mentioned, we run our entire company's Active Directory servers, including DNS, DHCP, AD on VMS inside the HC3. These form the backbone of all PC usage in the company, so they are critical. Migrating using the Double-Take methodology proved to be extremely smooth, allow a "clone" of a running AD server to migrate, then it cleanly shut down the existing server and startup on the HC3 exactly like the original machines.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 19, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 in K-12"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 is used as our primary means of virtualization/server hosting. We are a small environment of approximately 50 servers and have been running Scale HC3 for 2 years without issue.
  • The UI/UX is neat, well organized, and easy-to-use.
  • VM performance is on par with the other big name virtualization technologies in the market.
  • ROI is perfect for our size!
  • The UI/UX, though easy to use, could be enhanced to provide additional metrics for VMs.
  • 3rd party support for backup, or VM containers.
For a K-12 environment of very few employees, this solution is perfect for ease-of-use, and low-overhead management. Also, the solution has been solid performer over the past 2 years.
All of our mission-critical machines are hosted within the HC3 infrastructure. Without these machines, our environment would come to a complete stop.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 20, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing - Magnificent"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale Computing in our North America location. It addresses the problems and limitations of using VMware. Scale Computing allows for a better set up of virtual server environments.
  • It has the best platform for virtual server management.
  • Upgrading memory and disk space was a breeze.
  • Customer support is fantastic.
  • The setup is still a bit new to some people, so offsite data centers are a bit unfamiliar with it.
It is perfect if you don't have a large staff of administrators on site. One person can manage a good sized cluster of virtual servers with ease.
One of the many applications we run on Scale is our companies' ERP system. It requires a lot of memory and disk space to run, but it handles it with no problems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 19, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale will scale with us."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 is being used as our main datacenter server equipment and we have started rolling out throughout our fleet of vessels. The simplicity of the system means we need fewer employees to tend the IT systems.
  • Simplicity
  • Backup
  • Remote Management
  • Hyperconvergence
  • Adding international date format
  • Shrink option for HDD
  • Scheduling of backup to SMB path
Anywhere IT servers are required and cloud is not an option. This is the future.
Our ERP Suite
Our vessel management database
Our main fileserver
Scale computing runs everything at our company.
Read this authenticated review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English