Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

242 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 165)

Brandon L | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Simple and high performing solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using the hybrid (part flash, part HDD) version of the HC3 appliance in a 3 node cluster. We replaced 5 physical HP Proliant servers running Hyper-V. We are now running most of our business-critical servers on a high performing hyper-converged appliance at a fraction of the cost of some of the other vendors we looked at. While cost was a big reason we purchased, the biggest reason was that we didn't feel like we were being oversold on features that we didn't need or that didn't matter to us. We felt that Scale Computing really catered to the SMB, and we were the customers that mattered. The feature set provided us everything we need, and very little we don't. The sales team encouraged us to plan for the future, but not overbuy. What a refreshing sales process. We ended up purchasing what we need, not what a Fortune 500 company needs.
Read Brandon L's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Scale Computing - Magnificent

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Scale Computing in our North America location. It addresses the problems and limitations of using VMware. Scale Computing allows for a better set up of virtual server environments.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

Scale Computing - Hyper-Convergence

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale is being used as the primary virtualization platform running all production VMs as well as a replication endpoint for DR in a data center. We run all server VMs on the Scale platform and then have a snapshot schedule that replicates them offsite to a datacenter for disaster recovery purposes.
Read Jeremy Robinson's full review
Durgesh Kalya | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Top Hyperconverged Solution with great support and simplicity.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Scale Computing's HC3 servers for running our entire IT and OT Operations. We are always looking for improvements in the IT Infrastructure and to efficiently use our IT Resources. Scale computing provides us with a ton of great benefits. We reduced our foot print in the server room by half which helped in reduced power consumption. We were using a virtualization solution from a big name company and we found ourselves inundated with managing performance, licensing, and increasing maintenance. As we had three different vendors to deal with every time we had an issue on the system, it made it very difficult to troubleshoot and resolve problems. Scale computing was our answer to consolidate services, run servers more efficiently and reduced or eliminated daily maintenance tasks.
Read Durgesh Kalya's full review
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Scale is a great solution with second to none support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale HC3 is being used across the entire organization for all our server needs. It is housing all our VMs as well as all of our network storage. It has solved the issues with VMWare licensing, an outdated SAN as well as multiple host servers required to properly run a VMWare environment.
Read Tracy Burton's full review
Kyle Legg | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Scale HC3, Hyper-Convergeance the Easy Way!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We replaced our physical servers with the Scale HC3 solution at all three plants in the US. We host everything from file and print services to our ERP system and database on them. We also host a terminal server and a variety of other server infrastructure on the HC3 Cluster. Disaster recovery and business continuity are also completely managed on three clusters around our organization reducing the need for expensive and hard to manage DR solutions. Management and cost of operation of all these resources have been drastically simplified by this technology. The web management interface is simple and easy to use, yet extremely powerful and comprehensive. Because the Scale nodes have such a small 1-U footprint, we've found cooling and energy consumption has also been minimized.
Read Kyle Legg's full review
Dominique Joseph Chung | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 saved our IT Infrastructure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Scale Computing HC3 solution is used across the entire organization. It replaced over 50U of traditional hardware down to 3U. Saving us a lot of aggravation dealing with multiple third party vendors for support and maintenance agreements, while simplifying our own internal support and maintenance of over 50 Virtual machines. The savings was so significant, that we realized an 18 month ROI and saved tremendously on energy costs. Additionally, a battery backup unit now provides us with over 7 hours of backup power vs. 45 minutes previously.
Read Dominique Joseph Chung's full review
David Roden | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

Scale: Smart, Simple, Effective, Reliable, and so much more...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented Scale clusters in both of our offices as a replacement for the prior HyperV-Based VM infrastructure. We utilize Scale's built-in snapshot and replication technology to provide VM-level backup & DR protection. All of our primary storage is now managed as part of the Scale environment. Scale integrates VM operations, management, and protection into a unified system that provides more capability at lower cost than the multi-vendor collection of products we used previously.
Read David Roden's full review
Marshall Curtis | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

HC3: Flexibility AND Performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale HC3 has replaced our traditional stack of servers, storage, and networking for our entire organization. We have two clusters, a one node, and a three node. Implementation of HC3 reduced our server refresh cost by 40% and provided a flexible architecture where, going forward, we can add or replace nodes on a planned periodic basis rather than monolithic refreshes every four years. The ease of deployment and maintenance are a significant benefit to our small organization.
Read Marshall Curtis's full review
Jeff Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2019

Scale Computing, the right systems for the right time.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale devices will replace our internal VMWARE/SAN/HPE environment at corporate and our DR site. Additionally, we will be using it to power 25 (50%) of our bigger retail stores. If this is successful and we see enough ROI we will implement a smaller version of the solution Scale is working on in the rest of the 25 retail stores. I expect this will increase up-time to almost 100% and allow upgrades and changes without issue. Additionally, these units will assist during power events as they have great redundancy.
Read Jeff Miller's full review
Mark Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Hidden Gem For Education CTOs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We initially purchased Scale H3 to shrink our physical footprint on servers and allow for affordable expansion across the entire district. This has allowed us to to lower maintenance costs as well as increase our server count to more evenly disperse services resulting in faster operations. We have also been able to create a reliable and ultra fast disaster recovery plan will little to no data loss.
Read Mark Simmons's full review
Zac Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2019

Scale Review Like No Other

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Here at the City of Havre de Grace we have recently made the switch to Scale and couldn't be happier. This change was made from a performance need and so far Scale has passed that with flying colors. The speed has significantly improved and from a manager of the software, it is extremely user-friendly. When we made the change we made sure that Scale was going to take over our entire organization and it's done that and then some. Finally, I will say that for whatever problems we may have ran into with other brands we have yet to have any issues with Scale and could not be happier.
Read Zac Patterson's full review
Zechariah Brinkley | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2019

You won't be sorry!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the whole organization. It has simplified our server/networking strategy by eliminating the need for a SAN and other networking equipment. In doing so, it has also improved our reliability and efficiency. This also led to a reduction in cost and downtime.
Read Zechariah Brinkley's full review
David Boyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2019

Extremely Happy With Scale Computing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our H3 nodes are serving our entire organization running seven Windows servers including domain controllers, exchange, file server, antivirus, network monitoring, systems management and one Linux server hosting our intranet site.
Read David Boyer's full review
Todd Naveau | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

HC3 will change your server world!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the whole company and also being used by a sister company. Each company has their own HC3 system in place, and each company uses the other for Disaster Recovery.
Read Todd Naveau's full review
Jeffrey Wright | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2019

Systems Worth Investing In!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our HC3 System is our network workhorse. Our Domain Controllers, File Servers and Database servers are on this system. One major problem that it solves for our team is backups/restorations. Our staff work 24/7 in some cases and the reliability of HC3 System gives us peace of mind. The second is cost, the VMs we deploy are no longer eating up as much power and use much less rack space, not to mention the cost of hardware upkeep and maintenance has also gone down.
Read Jeffrey Wright's full review
Mike Maner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2019

Scale Computing HC3: the best VM platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the Scale platform across multiple service assets. Initially, we implemented Scale for running virtual servers on our ERP system, we quickly realized we were under using it and added multiple virtual machines for other services with the company.
Read Mike Maner's full review
Bronn Salmon | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2019

Why I bought Scale Computing HC3 as my total solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Scale to replace our previous storage hardware AND virtualization software. Our HP storage array had reached its end of life (EOL) and was no longer able to be extended under warranty services. Additionally, the physical nodes we used for our VM's and its management were also reaching EOL. With our Scale solution, we are able to migrate all of our VM's and are now beginning to visualizer more of our physical servers.
Read Bronn Salmon's full review
Chris Selby | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 has saved my department money and provided countless hours of needed rest!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have replaced our aging physical servers with HC3, and this has allowed us to build servers and desktops to support various workloads. Before Scale, we had a few servers that provided several application functions or services. This did not allow us to perform maintenance in a manner that did not affect several departments at once. Now if one department has an issue, we can work on their problems without affecting any other application or service.

We recently purchased and deployed a cluster to enable replication and DR for the organization. Next, we will deploy a cluster to support virtual desktops and stream applications to our end users enabling better mobility and security.

Scale was a perfect fit for our organization and we can better support our users and their needs easily and efficiently.
Read Chris Selby's full review
Chris Nixon | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Scale Computing HC3 Hyperconverged systems enabled our organisational change

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The primary use case for the Scale Computing HC3 platform was for delivery of VDIs for a specific organisational design activity across two disparate companies. There was little integration at that point and the 2 large organisations had legacy environments that it was/still is hard to integrate (because of scale/cost).

The business team re-organisations were large scale and had been under NDA so minimal preparation could be undertaken. The project had already set a budget in advance.

Therefore we needed a quick to deliver, cost effective way of providing the environments, with DR, within each organisation, for use by employees from the other organisation.

To this end we deployed 16 x Lenovo based Scale HC3 appliances, 4 to each of 4 data centres with each pair of data centres belonging to the individual companies. In this way, we hit the timescales, hit the budget and provided a robust solution hosting, in total, circa 1200 VDIs complete with a replicated DR instance
Read Chris Nixon's full review
Justin Miles | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Electric Cooperative Life Made Easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is our first real virtualization project, and the Scale cluster system makes it super simple. Support has been great to work with during the deployment stages. The few little issues we have had, they have been right there all the way. It really has been a great experience so far, and I see us continuing with them far into the future.
Read Justin Miles's full review
Diego Mármol Martínez | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Suitable for a small data center

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale H3 is being used as the virtualization solution for one of our companies that, due to technical requirements, is needing a local data center in addition to the global one. As Scale H3 is one of the easiest and lower-cost hyper-convergence systems on the market, it fits perfectly to our purposes.
Read Diego Mármol Martínez's full review
Caswell Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Scale HC3 -- Perfect for a business on the move

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Scale Computing HC3 Infrastructure is being used by our organization as our Primary production platform.
It addressed all our needs for a stable, reliable, cost-effective and easily deployed and used solution for our IT Infrastructure.
Read Caswell Allen's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix AOS, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English