Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
292 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 206)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Tom Blazek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale Computing is being used as our primary server cluster across the whole organization. We have it hosting 20+ servers. It's very easy to use and virtually maintenance free. It has freed up a lot of my time, to be honest, I don't even think about it anymore because it just works.
Read Tom Blazek's full review
December 11, 2020
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale HC3 is being used across the entire organization for all our server needs. It is housing all our VMs as well as all of our network storage. It has solved the issues with VMWare licensing, an outdated SAN as well as multiple host servers required to properly run a VMWare environment.
Read Tracy Burton's full review
November 30, 2020
Jon Rich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a one person IT shop the Scale HC3 system made it easy for me to manage storage and it reduced the number of physical servers I had to maintain. It is used for all departments in our organization from a file server to a mapping server.
Read Jon Rich's full review
November 25, 2020
David Roden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented Scale clusters in both of our offices as a replacement for the prior HyperV-Based VM infrastructure. We utilize Scale's built-in snapshot and replication technology to provide VM-level backup & DR protection. All of our primary storage is now managed as part of the Scale environment. Scale integrates VM operations, management, and protection into a unified system that provides more capability at lower cost than the multi-vendor collection of products we used previously.
Read David Roden's full review
November 03, 2020
Jim Bittel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale Computing HC3 (taking up 3U of server rack space) has replaced 14U of hardware that we had previously used. It replaced 2 dedicated storage arrays, 2 VM hosts, and several physical file and backup servers. It runs all of the virtual servers that our organization uses, as well as snapshots and backups. It simplifies our infrastructure, making it easy for this one-man shop to manage and maintain.
Read Jim Bittel's full review
October 28, 2020
Rex Knepp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Scale Computing HC3 as our core for hosting our in-house web-based insurance policy and claims management system as well as supporting our users with their general office computing requirements. We have hundreds of independent insurance agents that access our system and we warehouse millions of documents.
Read Rex Knepp's full review
October 21, 2020
Wesley Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Scale Computing HC3 nodes at each plant to decrease our physical server count and increase our efficiency of hardware use. We are using Scale nodes at all locations throughout our company. The clusters make it much easier for our small IT department to handle hardware downtime and maintenance.
Read Wesley Johnson's full review
October 07, 2020
Michael Rials | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using HC3 as our full stack infrastructure housing all servers, virtual desktops, and sandbox projects. The entire organization utilizes and benefits from it from individual user experience to the technical staff managing servers. As we maintain as lightweight an IT staff as possible this avoids having multiple interfaces or licenses for us to maintain desktops and servers. We don’t experience the complexity or cost that plagues companies utilizing other platforms viewed as “industry standard.” The simplicity of the Scale HC3 infrastructure puts us in a position to focus on more business critical matters than managing servers and desktops.
Read Michael Rials's full review
October 02, 2020
Anthony Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Scale HC3 is utilized as part of our core infrastructure and is deployed across our whole organization. It replaced a storage area network built around a NetApp storage appliance. One of the great things about Scale HC3 is that it consolidates equipment, technologies and vendors. This equates to purchasing from 1 place, getting support from 1 place, and having a product with fewer independent parts. For industries that require it, you also minimize your vendor management/assessment footprint.
Read Anthony Martin's full review
October 02, 2020
Raymond Bilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Scale HC3 is being used for our whole organization and is running various VM machines, including Active Directory, File server and some smaller machines. The two biggest things we wanted were fast recovery (having experienced our file server being down due to an bad update) and a reliable DRP solution.
The Scale HC3 solution checked these boxes very easily, providing us hourly backups on our file server and by using an HC3 node in a remote location with an extremely easy interface!
Read Raymond Bilton's full review
December 18, 2020
Jon Brantner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We replaced our entire physical server environment for a virtual scale environment. It is more economical to maintain and grow than a physical server environment. It provides many additional features including automated notifications of server issues or outages, visibility of server status and ability to remotely control a server the same as a physical server.
Read Jon Brantner's full review
December 01, 2020
Ryan Elsenheimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our HC3 implementation is a 3-unit cluster servicing 31 active virtual machines of varying architecture (Windows Server 2012 R2>Server 2019, and custom Linux distributions). It has provided nearly 100% uptime servicing of the VMs excluding severe power outages, and has eliminated the need for 8 former virtual host servers.
Read Ryan Elsenheimer's full review
December 01, 2020
Greg Starnes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it across the whole company. It is our virtual host for all of our servers. It also helps us manage such a large group of servers (12), and there are only two of us in the I.T. department. Management of this solutions is very easy and intuitive. We also have two cluster at a different location as our DR site.
Read Greg Starnes's full review
December 01, 2020
Jeffrey Place | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Scale Computing HC3 across our organization. We chose HC3 due to its simplicity to implement and scale up when necessary. We started with a 3-node system and due to some necessary system upgrades we just added a 4th node to our unit. As a one-person IT department, it made virtualizing our entire environment much easier and without the annual licensing costs of VMWare.
Read Jeffrey Place's full review
November 30, 2020
Zach Hightower | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our Scale Computing HC3 cluster is used to provide a virtual host farm for the majority of our storage and services across our small college campus. Ultimately, it is utilized by every single faculty, staff, and student with services ranging from department share folders, LDAP connections, SQL databases, and remote desktops.
Read Zach Hightower's full review
November 30, 2020
Josh Cope | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Scale to run all the virtual servers in our environment, including Windows file servers, active directory, DNS, and Exchange. We also have a DR cluster attached where we replicate all of those servers. This allows us, as a smaller company, to save on the cost of physical servers and have a reliable virtual environment.
Read Josh Cope's full review
November 28, 2020
Don Agnew | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We purchased our Scale Solution to replace all our physical servers that were lost due to a flood. The cluster provides all the server access needed for our entire organization. As well as it helps supply step one in our backup plan.
Read Don Agnew's full review
November 27, 2020
james buckey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently utilizing an HC3 cluster for district wide applications including ADDS, DHCP, DNS, wireless controller, door access controller, VOIP, HVAC, perfSONAR, freeNAS. Previously I utilized in-house built servers running XCP-NG. This system worked well, however it was time to host more critical applications as well as a hardware refresh. Scale HC3 provided a few items I didn't have before including high availability, redundancy, an excellent support framework, all of which provide peace of mind. I did not have any support with my previous system as I built it and maintained the software with backups but no true redundancy or HA. All of these were my criteria when sourcing my new solution and in the end Scale provided exactly what I needed and with the lowest TCO.
Read james buckey's full review
November 27, 2020
Greg Madden, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used across the whole organization. We use it as our core VM platform. It is a major component of our Disaster Recovery policy as well with live snapshot replication. The capability to live migrate between nodes and to instantly spin up snapshots made this an easy decision for my organization
Read Greg Madden, CISSP's full review
November 27, 2020
Todd Naveau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the whole company and also being used by a sister company. Each company has their own HC3 system in place, and each company uses the other for Disaster Recovery.
Read Todd Naveau's full review
November 25, 2020
Richard Hardcastle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the Scale servers as our main production servers for our entire organization. We also use it for our offsite disaster recovery use. It helped our organization to quickly move to an all virtual environment and allows for future processing and storage growth. It also gives us a better disaster recovery plan with offsite storage.
Read Richard Hardcastle's full review
November 25, 2020
Thomas Martini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the Scale Computing HC3 virtual environment for our entire organization. It provides us with an efficient and inexpensive solution for us to run our 12 virtual servers and 100Tb+ of storage. It was easy to set up and implement and their assistance along the way was incredible!
Read Thomas Martini's full review
November 25, 2020
Blaine Derek Cappel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We first engaged with Scale several years ago as our first dive into server virtualization. We were so impressed we expanded our first cluster within a few months. We have since completed a hardware refresh and to this day we continue to be extremely impressed with Scale Computing HC3! I highly recommend Scale!
Read Blaine Derek Cappel's full review
November 25, 2020
Chris Nixon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The primary use case for the Scale Computing HC3 platform was for delivery of VDIs for a specific organisational design activity across two disparate companies. There was little integration at that point and the 2 large organisations had legacy environments that it was/still is hard to integrate (because of scale/cost).

The business team re-organisations were large scale and had been under NDA so minimal preparation could be undertaken. The project had already set a budget in advance.

Therefore we needed a quick to deliver, cost effective way of providing the environments, with DR, within each organisation, for use by employees from the other organisation.

To this end we deployed 16 x Lenovo based Scale HC3 appliances, 4 to each of 4 data centres with each pair of data centres belonging to the individual companies. In this way, we hit the timescales, hit the budget and provided a robust solution hosting, in total, circa 1200 VDIs complete with a replicated DR instance
Read Chris Nixon's full review
November 24, 2020
Ryan Janzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Previously we had nine physical servers in our environment that were out of warranty and had no room for expansion. Since upgrading to the new three node HC3 solution, we now have the ability to assign more system resources to business critical systems. This new solution gives us redundancy, room for expansion and is incredibly easy to use.
Read Ryan Janzen's full review

What is Scale Computing HC3?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Watch HC3 Success Story - American Foundry Group

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

Scale Computing HC3 Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC1200$8,500Per Node
HC1250D$15,170Per Node
HC1250$9,665Per Node
HC1250DF$16,750Per Node
HC5250D$25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Scale Computing HC3's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability and Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Scale Computing HC3?

The most common users of Scale Computing HC3 are from Mid-size Companies and the Government Administration industry.