Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Scale Computing Platform

Scale Computing Platform

Overview

What is Scale Computing Platform?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HyperCore software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Scale computing.

9 out of 10
June 11, 2024
Incentivized
Scale is the best VMware alternative in the industry right now. Due to recent changes in the VMware pricing model, the renewal cost for …
Continue reading

Love SCP

10 out of 10
December 07, 2023
Incentivized
We utilize the Scale Computing Platform as a central element of our IT infrastructure. SCP provides us with a highly scalable and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

HE151

$3,300

On Premise
per node

HE501

$6,800

On Premise
per node

HC1300

$11,900

On Premise
per node

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.scalecomputing.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $3,300 per node
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Scale Computing Platform?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HyperCore software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the SC//HyperCore self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, its key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing Platform Screenshots

Screenshot of Scale Computing Fleet Management Dashboard - 
At-a-glance summary of the health of the fleet upon login.Screenshot of Cluster Details -
Details of a particular cluster, including health, fleet manager connectivity, nodes, and VMsScreenshot of Scale Computing Fleet Manager -
Manages an organization’s fleet of Clusters.Screenshot of Hypercore UI -
Simple Web Interface for Local Management of the Cluster and its Workloads

Scale Computing Platform Videos

SC//Platform Success Story - Detroit Symphony Orchestra
SC//Platform Success Story - American Foundry Group
SC//Platform Success Story - Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township

Scale Computing Platform Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Unix
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesGlobally
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Scale Computing Platform starts at $3300.

VMware vCenter, VMware ESXi, and Nutanix Cloud Infrastructure are common alternatives for Scale Computing Platform.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Scale Computing Platform are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).

Scale Computing Platform Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)70%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)10%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(337)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 235)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
June 11, 2024

Scale computing.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Scale is the best VMware alternative in the industry right now. Due to recent changes in the VMware pricing model, the renewal cost for customers has skyrocketed. With Scale, you get more features and failover options with way less cost, and it works best for small-to-medium businesses, not just big brands.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Scale Computing Platform servers to run our online web application. These servers are easy to update, have reliable performance, and work in high availability, which means that if one node in the cluster fails, the system will remain online. They also have copies of our data in multiple drives, which means that if a single drive fails no impact is noticed. Scale support is quick and competent as well and that is an asset when you have trouble and need to react quickly. These were the main concerns that were improved when compared with the previous set of servers we had.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently, we have a 3-node Scale Cluster running the servers at our Police Department. We had a VMWare solution, but for the local tech staff, it was too cumbersome and expensive. Scale is very simple for the Police Dept to manage.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Scale Computing for our school corporation to have quick, trustworthy, reliable, and easy to use virtual machines for all of our server needs. We don't have a lot of time for setting up or maintaining and Scale Computing makes this extremely easy. This platform already existed when I joined the corporation nearly a year ago and was simple enough to use that I was able to spin up new servers within about 5 minutes without needing to ask anyone how and having no training. Everything was done with just a few clicks and all the tools were put on the server with the Scale Tools they provide to make setting up the new server even easier. Adding storage space or memory is no problem at all. I also love that I don't have to worry about any physical machines breaking down, as Scale will automatically move the VMs to the other physical machines so there is no downtime at all while we can replace broken equipment. I can't say enough about the ease of use and reliability of this platform.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We purchased our first Scale HC3 to eliminate a number of hardware servers in our Middle School campus. With a very limited staff we found it cumbersome and time consuming to keep servers up to date as hardware fell out of support and could no longer be upgraded.<br><br>The results were so positive and beneficial we purchased a second system for another campus and plan to add a third cluster in 2024.<br><br>
December 07, 2023

Love SCP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize the Scale Computing Platform as a central element of our IT infrastructure. SCP provides us with a highly scalable and flexible solution. By consolidating servers and efficiently utilizing resources, we have reduced complexity while lowering operating costs. Furthermore, the platform's high scalability has enabled us to quickly grow into upcoming demands without compromising performance. Additionally, we have successfully integrated SCP into our disaster recovery strategy, leading to highly improved resilience and data security.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The Scale platform is currently running 15 servers for us. Before we had several physical systems that were dedicated to specific applications. We often need to test a system configuration before it is deployed into our production environment. Scale makes this really simple and efficient process. The backup and restore capabilities of Scale system is quick and reliable.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the Scale HC3 Hypervisor as primary hypervisor for Windows and Linux servers as well as virtual appliances. We also use it as extension to our backup strategy, which allows us to create as many application consistent snapshots as we like, to go back in time whenever needed.
December 06, 2023

Can't Beat Their Support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have a small Scale deployment of three nodes in our production cluster and one node at a DR site. Our main site will run about 15 virtual machines and our DR site will run one virtual machine. We run a file server, mail server, domain controllers and other servers as well.
Syed Fahad Hussain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Managing a large IT infrastructure of data storage and hardware is not hassle-free. Scale Computing Platform allows our organization to manage infrastructure in the cloud and reduce IT resource time and as well as cost to the organization. Scale up the future-proof environment which meets organization needs and makes it simple to handle daily maintenance of IT infrastructure.
September 28, 2023

Great Hyperconverged Option

Sheldon Reid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Business continuity, have a DR site setup for replication of primary site. Hardware refresh and Migration. Migration from one Scale cluster to another is super simple, up and running reliably well. Simple interface and everything is efficient UI wise with just a few clicks. Regular updates which doesn't interrupt server services.
September 28, 2023

Simplicity delivered

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We needed to update our internal IT infrastructure. We were looking in the market for a hyper-converged solution that was easy to install and operate, and that offered security and high availability features. Scale Computing Platform delivered all the required requirements with a product containing all the necessary functionalities for our daily operations and excellent support service. Our daily operation is intuitive, allowing you to perform tasks such as creating and protecting VMs with just a few clicks using the graphical interface.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Actually, we are distributor of Scale Computing Platform, and we do product promotions to the Philippine Market in terms of proposing solutions in the business of the customers pertaining to migrating in Hyperconverge setup. Scale Computing Platform as a solution to the requirement and the scope for this solution are in telcos, government agencies, hospitality segment, etc.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Scale is our number one recommended hypervisor platform and becomes the backbone of our clients IT infrastructure. When selecting scale for clients we look at overall cost savings, ease of use and scalability. (No pun intended) We implement Scale for clients that have as little as 5 users to clients that have over 8000 users! With the ease of use it takes the burden off of the IT department for both the hypervisor and backups. Our clients can sleep better at night and can "Set it and forget it".
Chad Mayton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use it at our two primary locations, and it is an upgrade to our existing on-prem infrastructure. We were not happy with Hyper-V and didn't have the business justification for buying intricate VMWare licenses, and the ESXi with the free license is limited. We are currently replacing aging hardware but wanted availability, redundancy, and replication.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
After attending SpiceWorld last year 2022 and speaking with the Scale Sales Team, I decided to look into Scale to repalce the Dell Server running Hyper-V that was out of warranty. I was sold on switching after the demo, plus the cost of a Scale Cluster was much less than buying new servers. Running a 3 node cluseter has greatly improved performance, that my end users have even noticed, and now I also have in the event one server fails they virtual machines will failover to the other 2 servers.
Rob Honma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to host primarily our Windows Server environment along with some Unix/Linux based systems. It provides a host infrastructure for roughly 2 dozen Vm's. We were looking for a cheaper, US-based support virtual host platform that wasn't overly complex and easily administered
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Scale Computing Platform to virtualize 12+ production Servers on premise. It is a simple way to manage a large number of virtual machines and because there are 3 nodes with automatic failover, we significantly reduce our risk of downtime and data loss.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used Scale to host our district servers at our Administrative Center. The Scale Platform gives us a simple and intuitive way to manage multiple servers and to obtain the best possible performance from those servers. Our Scale Platforms hosts a multitude of different servers from web servers to file servers that are accessed daily by multiple users. It also provides us the ease of mind with a backup and DR solution that we did not previously have.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We needed to maintain an on-premises presence for our current business processes. Our aging hardware was starting to show issues, and we were looking for an inexpensive solution while we considered our long-term goals and evaluated our processes accordingly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We switched to Scale Computing last year when we were due to replace our VMware virtual infrastructure. Switching to Scale has made everything so much more straightforward; it is really user-friendly, and working with it over the last year has saved us countless hours on both maintenance and deployment times. We use it to host our virtual server environment; converting over from VM was seamless, and the Scale team was a great help along the way.
Return to navigation