Microsoft SQL Server Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1253 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2020

Hosting a Microsoft SQL Server for small and enterprise businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
In case we have to tap their support services, we are getting different responses. But, most of the times, they provide urgent and superb services. During an issue with a SQL defect or compatibility issue, the support constantly provides updates and follow-ups to the development so we can stay updated.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2020

Excellent tool for enterprise data management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Whatever the question is that we may have about how to accomplish something, it's not been difficult to find answers in the typical online forums (Stack Overflow, etc). The documentation from Microsoft is pretty thorough, too, and easy to follow. I've had no problems with support for SQL Server, which is not always the case with other products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Review for Microsoft SQL Server

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Since their configuration and usage of the servers are of an easy nature, it is hard for us to contact them when there is a problem. But when we do contact them, they respond in good faith and are kind. They are time conscious and have good customer support service in terms of communicating with clients.
Read this authenticated review
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Solid, affordable and easy to install and use database engine

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
We have not used official support to solve any particular problem, we have used different community resources (like forums) to obtain additional information on specific issues or doubts that did not require escalation to Microsoft support.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
luka horvat | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Easy to use and set up, robust and reliable DBMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
We managed to handle most of our problems by looking into Microsoft's official documentation that has everything explained and almost every function has an example that illustrates in detail how a particular functionality works. Just like PowerShell has the ability to show you an example of how some cmdlet works, that is the case also here, and in my opinion, it is a very good practice and I like it.
Read luka horvat's full review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

A good tool for data exploration.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
This is an area for improvement. Getting support from Microsoft feels too generic and I would like to see it be a little more specific to what we are trying to do. However, there is so much online about Microsoft that we don't really use the support all that much. We normally can figure out our own issues.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

SQL Server -- Enterprise Data and Analytics in a Box

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
While there have been bumps along the road, Microsoft has steadily, and in some cases rapidly, improved the product. There has been a significant improvement in support since Nadella took over as CEO (this is across the board at Microsoft). Support directly from Microsoft has become more streamlined in my experience, with less wading through L1 to get to an answer beyond the basics. Also, the user community is very involved, and there are numerous forums that assist with answers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Hardcore Database For Hardcore Analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Support is a mixed bag. It works so well you really don't need support except for some edge cases. However, you also are going to be hiring experts in databases, specifically with SQL Server experience, in order to setup and maintain your product. Luckily, SQLServer has the largest user group and most responsive out of all technologies. You just need to put in the effort.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

SQL Server Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
While its really convenient to use for me as a web developer, its fairly expensive to use in a production environment. I need to explain or justify the choice of using MS SQL Server against its pricing tier which is pretty expensive. We need to think about how to keep the whole infrastructure cost reasonable while keeping MS SQL Server.
Read this authenticated review
Nicolas Poague | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Industry standard for databases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Microsoft support seems to have really gotten better in recent years. Furthermore, documentation directly from Microsoft had greatly improved, and the prevalence of online support communities continues to grow. I can’t comment on the level of support we have personally received, as our in house team is capable of resolving the majority of our issues.
Read Nicolas Poague's full review
Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Microsoft SQL Server is a Great Enterprise Database Option

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I have only had to use Microsoft SQL Server support one time in my career and it was a situation where they needed to send a support team member on site to fix. They where great with it. There is a lot of great content available for Microsoft SQL Server available online that will solve almost any issue you run into.
Read Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Well Established, Reliable DBMS That is Scalable and Compatible with Many Platforms and Languages

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
While we haven't had to contact customer support, I am confident that we would be able to find support for the tool if it was needed. Microsoft has a large and well established reputation and a large support team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Best DBMS solution for professionals as well as beginners

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
My rating is primarily based on the online community and forum support available for SQL Server. So far, whenever I have been stuck somewhere, I have been able to find help whether on the official SQL Server support forums or public forums such as StackExchange. I think using SQL instead of MySQL also goes in favor of SQL Server in that regard.
Read this authenticated review
Bill Starling | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2016

SQL Server from a mid-level DBA perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Nothing is perfect but Microsoft does fairly well even though they're such a large corporation. SQL server has a large user base and there are a lot of support tools you can find without even calling Microsoft. The internet has a plethora of knowledge and help and Microsoft has also done a great job of making articles on their MSDN website that explain and layout a lot of different things with SQL. With that comes the fact that you still have to go to the internet or on the phone to get help sometimes.
Read Bill Starling's full review
Luca Campanelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2016

The giant RDBMS by Microsoft

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
In my previous work experience I happened to have asked for assistance to the Microsoft support, they are very professional and the service is immediate, if necessary they can intervene remotely or onsite.
Alternatively you can of course refer to the microsoft guides, the forums and of course the now famous msdn.
Read Luca Campanelli's full review

About Microsoft SQL Server

Microsoft SQL Server is a relational database.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Microsoft SQL Server Integrations

Microsoft SQL Server Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No