TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/49/Zd/UP65M1T0VSQ6.pngUstream is a blessing to the House of Worship marketOur house of worship uses IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) every week, multiple times a week, to stream our services and events around the world. We have a viewership of several thousand every week across 20+ countries. Ustream gives us the ability to directly track our viewership and respond to issues that may arise in the broadcast and distribution of our content. We also host a conference once a year that increases our viewership into the tens of thousands across 70+ countries. During this time, previous streaming methods have completely failed due to the pressure on our servers. Ustream has always remained rock solid due to it's multiple CDN locations. The immediate feedback of the distribution numbers and locations allow us to inform the conference attendees of the size and breadth of the conference, adding value to their conference experience.,The Ustream view ship tracking gives us detailed information of how many people are watching and from where. This helps my organization recognize trends in our international viewership and respond accordingly. Ustream allows us to monitor and maintain multiple channels and streams at the same time. This important to my organization as we often translate our main broadcasts into multiple languages. Ustream has maintained a 99% percent uptime during the length of our contract. This is comforting considering we stream at odd hours and over the weekend.,Our viewership often requests an audio only option of the livestream. This helps them remain connected while traveling but not eat up their data plans. Recent bugs in the tracking tools have caused a disparity in the concurrent viewership graph versus the current viewer live counter. I'm not sure which is accurate, but I need to know the correct number. Recent increase in their customer base has caused increased wait time in receiving downloads of our broadcasts. This can range from a few minutes to a few hours. This is more of minor annoyance that a deal breaker.,10,9,10,Ustream has stretched the influence of our organization out across the globe. While we already had an international influence, we re now able to maintain and even grow that influence via international broadcasts every week. We are also able to offer this features to outside clients that come to our campus and utilize our facilities. This flexibility is, honestly, expected in this day and age. Ustream helps achieve this quickly, efficiently, and as affordably as possible at our scale.24/7 IBM YMMDI use IBM Video Ustream to provide 24/7 live streams of CTV Channel 11 video broadcasts and KCSU audio broadcasts. CTV also relies on Ustream on demand video features and storage to deliver show content and other videos to online audiences.,Ustream is easy to deploy and manage in 24/7 video streaming scenarios. The analytics module has been helpful to provide feedback to sales and marketing teams about the success of event campaigns. The live content works everywhere with no interruptions and we have received a lot of positive feedback from viewers about there hight quality of the video playback. Offline playlists are a powerful and unique feature of the Ustream platform. When our headend is down, we love the fact that Ustream continues playback of programmed content to keep viewers engaged until while we work on returning service. This workflow also works well to support one-time live events such as pre-game shows. Channel management is easy and offers a lot of powerful options. After the success of the 24/7 CTV live video broadcast, the station manager for KCSU wanted to set up a live video broadcast DJ channel. I was able to set up a new channel and configure a camera encoder in the booth in less than a day. Live chat and social stream interactions are also a helpful feature. I have worked with our academic program managers to provide live feedback from online students during lesson events. Providing support for both broadcast and classroom needs speaks to the flexibility of the platform.,Ustream is simple to manage, but I would like to see improved user data management. It would be great to allow users to sign up for premium features (such as chat or other services) so we can get a better idea of who's watching. It would also be handy to manage analytics as "event data sets." For example, a live event would include a data set. Then when the event is used for on demand purposes, a separate data set would be created. This way, I can isolate data sets without concerns over deleting anything or including erroneous outliers. Another feature I'd like to see is an option for adding "content resources" that can be included with the video player embed. This would help in situations where I want to deliver an audio version of the content, expand a description of the content (in the form of a simple paragraph or mini-blog entry), or just add additional files that users can download and print to use along with the video. I would also like see poll and quizzing options. This would probably work best with a registration system to keep track of specific interaction. Interacting with the audience is key to building better viewing habits and understanding who's watching and why.,10,6,9,In broadcasting, a reliable and high quality 24/7 video stream is essential. We have experienced zero downtime as a result of platform errors or complications. We also get a lot of great feedback from viewer about the high quality of live streams. In the next few years we are working on audience profile and engagement initiatives to improve how we plan and prioritize live event and series project resources. The flexibility and analytics capabilities of Ustream will be a critical backbone of these initiatives.You-stream, I-stream, we all love USTREAM!We produce competitive dance events all over America, and we have used Ustream since 2012 to broadcast our events to family and friends of the students performing on stage. We have had up to 6 concurrent events at the same time, and are known in the industry for our free andhigh-qualityy event broadcasts (usually 2-3 days over the weekend, but as many as 5 for very large events - many from 7AM to 11PM per day).,Excellent reliability - as long as you have a good upstream bandwidth, Ustream is exceptionally stable and glitch-free. The service works with a wide array of software and encoding methods. We use Telestream Wirecast with excellent results. We worked with Ustream engineers to develop a custom fall-back solution when the events were over, so live content was playing even when we were off air from the shows.,Price - we are not a huge organization and only broadcast for 6-7 months out of the year. The annual plan with quarterly payments is helpful, but a plan that offered a more granular fee structure would be beneficial for us. Better embed options for social media.,10,9,9,We have attracted new clients over the 5 years we have broadcasted with Ustream - no commercials and being able to brand our stream has helped us look more attractive in the market compared to our competitors. People are thrilled to see their family/friends perform live, especially with the adaptive bit-rates and mobile video implementation - people have a great experience viewing our events.Appreciate the present but looking forward to the future.We use IBM Cloud Video (UStream) as a reliable CDN to reach audiences globally. Our team streams content to the CDN and then embeds their custom player into webpages for delivery of our webcast programs.,The platform delivers high quality video and quickly transitions the resolution in cases where ABR may be needed. We are pleased with the custom support available to us. We ask for functionality and the engineering team provides. The ease of use of the interface on the IBM Cloud Video (UStream) website is great. I enjoy the simple approach they have taken.,Selectable multiple audio tracks. More in depth metrics for analytics. Selectable multi-language caption support. Polling, and chat overlay ability. The current setup takes up space on a webpage and does not give you the option to overlay the chat and polling on the video.,10,10,7,We were among the very first and few to offer Live streaming Closed Captions. It is difficult to achieve with any degree of high accuracy. With Ustream's customized player we were able to achieve this.A very good option in streaming service.In Universidad Iberoamericana A.C. we use IBM Cloud Video for our conferences, some classes and some important events that must be streamed. Our experience using this system has been very good. The service is commonly used in our auditoriums and classrooms but we're looking to bring this service to mobile schemes. The easy use and excellent quality of video are the stronger points of the service.,Easy use. Video quality. Customization.,The ability to secure a specific published video with a password. Not all channels.,10,10,9,Our university has achieved the purpose of giving easy and technological solutions to our community. We offer other channels of communication for our academic programs or conferences live. With the support of having this content for future access.
Unspecified
IBM Cloud Video
69 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Reviews

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream)
69 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 69 vetted IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 55)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
November 20, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Ustream is a blessing to the House of Worship market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our house of worship uses IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) every week, multiple times a week, to stream our services and events around the world. We have a viewership of several thousand every week across 20+ countries. Ustream gives us the ability to directly track our viewership and respond to issues that may arise in the broadcast and distribution of our content. We also host a conference once a year that increases our viewership into the tens of thousands across 70+ countries. During this time, previous streaming methods have completely failed due to the pressure on our servers. Ustream has always remained rock solid due to it's multiple CDN locations. The immediate feedback of the distribution numbers and locations allow us to inform the conference attendees of the size and breadth of the conference, adding value to their conference experience.
  • The Ustream view ship tracking gives us detailed information of how many people are watching and from where. This helps my organization recognize trends in our international viewership and respond accordingly.
  • Ustream allows us to monitor and maintain multiple channels and streams at the same time. This important to my organization as we often translate our main broadcasts into multiple languages.
  • Ustream has maintained a 99% percent uptime during the length of our contract. This is comforting considering we stream at odd hours and over the weekend.
  • Our viewership often requests an audio only option of the livestream. This helps them remain connected while traveling but not eat up their data plans.
  • Recent bugs in the tracking tools have caused a disparity in the concurrent viewership graph versus the current viewer live counter. I'm not sure which is accurate, but I need to know the correct number.
  • Recent increase in their customer base has caused increased wait time in receiving downloads of our broadcasts. This can range from a few minutes to a few hours. This is more of minor annoyance that a deal breaker.
Any organization that needs to distribute and interact with live internet broadcasts will find that Ustream meets a majority of their needs. Their level of customer support and quality has been second to none for our needs. Also, their interface can be very simple to use, resulting in volunteers being able to use the system. The only setback, specifically for house of worship markets, is that this power and ease of use comes at a price. Ustream, at the enterprise level, can be very expensive. This price made sense for our organizations, but I can understand if it is far outside of the reach for many in the house of worship market.
Ustream has stretched the influence of our organization out across the globe. While we already had an international influence, we re now able to maintain and even grow that influence via international broadcasts every week. We are also able to offer this features to outside clients that come to our campus and utilize our facilities. This flexibility is, honestly, expected in this day and age. Ustream helps achieve this quickly, efficiently, and as affordably as possible at our scale.
Read Kevin Ford's full review
November 13, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "24/7 IBM YMMD"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use IBM Video Ustream to provide 24/7 live streams of CTV Channel 11 video broadcasts and KCSU audio broadcasts. CTV also relies on Ustream on demand video features and storage to deliver show content and other videos to online audiences.
  • Ustream is easy to deploy and manage in 24/7 video streaming scenarios. The analytics module has been helpful to provide feedback to sales and marketing teams about the success of event campaigns. The live content works everywhere with no interruptions and we have received a lot of positive feedback from viewers about there hight quality of the video playback.
  • Offline playlists are a powerful and unique feature of the Ustream platform. When our headend is down, we love the fact that Ustream continues playback of programmed content to keep viewers engaged until while we work on returning service. This workflow also works well to support one-time live events such as pre-game shows.
  • Channel management is easy and offers a lot of powerful options. After the success of the 24/7 CTV live video broadcast, the station manager for KCSU wanted to set up a live video broadcast DJ channel. I was able to set up a new channel and configure a camera encoder in the booth in less than a day.
  • Live chat and social stream interactions are also a helpful feature. I have worked with our academic program managers to provide live feedback from online students during lesson events. Providing support for both broadcast and classroom needs speaks to the flexibility of the platform.
  • Ustream is simple to manage, but I would like to see improved user data management. It would be great to allow users to sign up for premium features (such as chat or other services) so we can get a better idea of who's watching. It would also be handy to manage analytics as "event data sets." For example, a live event would include a data set. Then when the event is used for on demand purposes, a separate data set would be created. This way, I can isolate data sets without concerns over deleting anything or including erroneous outliers.
  • Another feature I'd like to see is an option for adding "content resources" that can be included with the video player embed. This would help in situations where I want to deliver an audio version of the content, expand a description of the content (in the form of a simple paragraph or mini-blog entry), or just add additional files that users can download and print to use along with the video.
  • I would also like see poll and quizzing options. This would probably work best with a registration system to keep track of specific interaction. Interacting with the audience is key to building better viewing habits and understanding who's watching and why.
IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) is a highly versatile and easy to manage cloud video platform. It's well designed to support live event programs and 24/7 video broadcasting in a channel format. The platform is also a robust video-on-demand tool, especially in post-live situations. It's also well suited for multi-user environments in which some clients only require a handful of features and others need all the bells and whistles.
In broadcasting, a reliable and high quality 24/7 video stream is essential. We have experienced zero downtime as a result of platform errors or complications. We also get a lot of great feedback from viewer about the high quality of live streams. In the next few years we are working on audience profile and engagement initiatives to improve how we plan and prioritize live event and series project resources. The flexibility and analytics capabilities of Ustream will be a critical backbone of these initiatives.
Read Cale J. Rogers's full review
November 20, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "You-stream, I-stream, we all love USTREAM!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We produce competitive dance events all over America, and we have used Ustream since 2012 to broadcast our events to family and friends of the students performing on stage. We have had up to 6 concurrent events at the same time, and are known in the industry for our free andhigh-qualityy event broadcasts (usually 2-3 days over the weekend, but as many as 5 for very large events - many from 7AM to 11PM per day).
  • Excellent reliability - as long as you have a good upstream bandwidth, Ustream is exceptionally stable and glitch-free.
  • The service works with a wide array of software and encoding methods. We use Telestream Wirecast with excellent results.
  • We worked with Ustream engineers to develop a custom fall-back solution when the events were over, so live content was playing even when we were off air from the shows.
  • Price - we are not a huge organization and only broadcast for 6-7 months out of the year. The annual plan with quarterly payments is helpful, but a plan that offered a more granular fee structure would be beneficial for us.
  • Better embed options for social media.
Ustream works exceptionally well for our use case - live, long-form events. I could even see it as a base for a small "network" for niche audiences. I think it would also work well for conferences, seminars, etc.

I do not see it as a good alternative to Skype, Zoom, GoTo Meeting, etc.
We have attracted new clients over the 5 years we have broadcasted with Ustream - no commercials and being able to brand our stream has helped us look more attractive in the market compared to our competitors. People are thrilled to see their family/friends perform live, especially with the adaptive bit-rates and mobile video implementation - people have a great experience viewing our events.
Read Chris McBride's full review
November 17, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Appreciate the present but looking forward to the future."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Video (UStream) as a reliable CDN to reach audiences globally. Our team streams content to the CDN and then embeds their custom player into webpages for delivery of our webcast programs.
  • The platform delivers high quality video and quickly transitions the resolution in cases where ABR may be needed.
  • We are pleased with the custom support available to us. We ask for functionality and the engineering team provides.
  • The ease of use of the interface on the IBM Cloud Video (UStream) website is great. I enjoy the simple approach they have taken.
  • Selectable multiple audio tracks.
  • More in depth metrics for analytics.
  • Selectable multi-language caption support.
  • Polling, and chat overlay ability. The current setup takes up space on a webpage and does not give you the option to overlay the chat and polling on the video.
IBM Cloud Video (UStream) is very well suited to our needs as a CDN and player provider. We enjoy the quality of service, video and speed that is provided. Our unique case of needing to reach audiences world wide and scale the video seamlessly is what Ustream excels in. We are able to control what content goes where and who accesses it.

We were among the very first and few to offer Live streaming Closed Captions. It is difficult to achieve with any degree of high accuracy. With Ustream's customized player we were able to achieve this.
Read Michael Cunningham's full review
November 13, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "A very good option in streaming service."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In Universidad Iberoamericana A.C. we use IBM Cloud Video for our conferences, some classes and some important events that must be streamed. Our experience using this system has been very good. The service is commonly used in our auditoriums and classrooms but we're looking to bring this service to mobile schemes. The easy use and excellent quality of video are the stronger points of the service.
  • Easy use.
  • Video quality.
  • Customization.
  • The ability to secure a specific published video with a password. Not all channels.
I think that the scenarios where IBM Cloud Video is well suited are for example:
  • Medium / large or massive conferences.
  • Medium / large classes.
  • Important events that need performance and quality.
The scenarios where it is less appropriate:
  • Customized security for published videos that must be private.
  • Very small events, classes or conferences that don't have a lot of public [audiences].
Our university has achieved the purpose of giving easy and technological solutions to our community. We offer other channels of communication for our academic programs or conferences live. With the support of having this content for future access.
Read Eugenio Fajardo's full review
November 09, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Looking for a high quality broadcast? Ustream works great!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I am using Ustream to provide high quality live streaming to world wide audiences from multiple locations across the globe. I have had trouble in the past (with other stream companies) with attendees viewing webcasts at different bandwidth rates. Obviously, if we're broadcasting in HD, but a viewer is capable of viewing in only 240p, problems will occur! Ustream's built-in multiple bit rates make my life easier, and our final product is much more effective.
  • Tech support.
  • Ease of use.
  • Multiple methods of streaming. you don't have to use just a single method. There are plenty of options for getting your content up and online.
  • Metrics. Ustream has good general metrics. But to get deep, very precise metrics is unavailable.
  • More control of Q&A and chat functions. Currently you can turn them on and off. But, there are no ways of configuring these to make them look exactly as you'd like. There are a couple templates, but it would be nice to have full control of the view in order that it fits perfectly into your theme.
I think Ustream is great. I have had wonderful success with our products and the quality. As I stated earlier, we were required to build some custom code for in-depth metrics, and Q&A functionality. But, for high level video streaming, Ustream is perfect straight out of the box.
We broadcast live interviews for multiple clients. This question really doesn't really apply to us, as we don't utilize Ustream for any of the examples. However, maybe I should look into it a bit more.
Read Bill Hetzel's full review
November 09, 2017

Review: "IBM Cloud Video as Convention Viewing/Library experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a video library and a live stream/chat platform to supplement our convention efforts. It is currently being used by our Field/Events department and Technology. This platform is for our field and customers. It is not for employee training. This platform solves how we share the viral R+F culture without having to be in person and makes that experience evergreen.
  • Uptime, load and performance robustness.
  • Fast development team and detailed understanding of business requirements/user needs.
  • Great user experience and digital product. Our customers loved it.
  • Not many. Some features had to be custom built. Some should have been native to the platform.
Video streaming and video libraries. Great applications of the platform.
We achieved the ability to deliver a high quality, highly usable, very robust convention experience for those that could not appear.in person. They were able to chat with each other and feel like they were in person. We also sold the platform to our consultants and achieved our sales targets.
Read Jahan Shafizadeh's full review
November 08, 2017

Review: "IBM Cloud Video is great with a few exceptions for those looking for internal streaming."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Video for corporate town hall presentations and internal video streaming.
  • Multiple channel pages
  • Password protection
  • 1080p streaming on mobile and desktop
  • eCDN is too expensive.
  • Allow file upload larger than 4GB. This is particularly applicable when I need to re-upload videos longer than 1 hour.
uStream is great for live streams that need password protection. It's not so great for internal streams where lots of people are watching; eCDN would apply here but it's way too expensive. It's cheaper for us to burst bandwidth with our ISP once every 2 months than it is to set up eCDN.
Greatly enhanced our townhall presentations. Executive management have been thrilled at the way our hip/trendy office gets presented to investors and remote offices. When you call yourself a "unicorn", it goes a long way to deliver crisp HD livestreams to everyone in the organization. Our global and remote US offices now get a multi-angle presentation in 1080p that is easily streamed with a simple password. The enterprise option is sexy as hell with the SSO and eCDN features, but ultimately is cost prohibitive.
Read William Miller's full review
November 08, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Ustream - Reliability with normal price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a modern radio broadcaster with visions of the inevitable future, we had a need to have a video streaming tool to stream our videos to listeners on the internet. We have bought cameras, production devices like ATEM Switchers, converters etc., and started using Ustream with Adobe Flash Encoder and/or OBS Player. It works very well, and for now - it can be widely used across the whole organization (not only in production and media departments).

We also stream video with this configuration as an outside broadcast from any localization which has an internet connection (ethernet or mobile).

I think I can say that we are forerunners here in Poland in using this type of service...other companies call me to get a review.
  • Reliability - it is very high. We didn't observe any problems with this field.
  • Parametrization capabilities - we can configure basically anything that we need.
  • Price - actually the price is lower than Wowza or Nadaje.com here in Poland.
  • Storage space - it is a very good functionality because when our video hardware crashes with a recording, we have an online copy from the provided storage space in our Ustream account.
  • Storage space could have a quota limit exceed notification send via e-mail or SMS even.
There isn't any scenario that IBM Cloud Video Manager cannot be used as a less appropriate [solution] in my opinion.
We had increased employee productivity and trained them using new tools. We had increased the range to reach our listeners giving them new type of media (which is a normal use in modern broadcast company like radio).
Read Tomek Turba's full review
November 09, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Streaming events live"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] used as the platform to deliver our HawCam content; used to live-stream/record NYU DC events.
  • Easy to access recordings
  • Easy to publish recorded content
  • Ease of use in connecting outside platforms to receive streams
  • Ease of use of admin interface
  • Higher bandwidth recordings
  • Easier downloads--say over FTP
  • Increased viewing metrics
[It] fits our situations nicely-- live streaming.
Read Christopher James's full review
November 09, 2017

Review: "IBM Cloud Video for Enterprise is Awesome!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud Video to bring the entire company together for all hands meetings, trainings and quarterly business updates. It is used by all business units within our company. On average we have 5-6 live stream a week with anywhere from 50 to 5000 active viewers. With the eCDN we are able to safely stream to all of our employees with sacrificing our ISP bandwidth.
  • Simplicity
  • Quality
  • Innovative
  • Backend User Management
  • Slow To Deliver Important Features
IBM Cloud Video is perfect for companies large or small. It allows an easy outlet for leaders to share their vision with employees. It's easy to get setup and even easier for the end user to use.
We've used IBM Cloud Video to bring the entire company together to learn about our customers and how to better think like them. That in return has increased employee productivity and morale.
Read this authenticated review
November 08, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Love this product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using IBM Cloud Video to broadcast company meetings to all our locations across the globe. It has always worked flawlessly regardless of the location of the viewers, or the platform the view it on. The available metrics and tracking are super useful too. I can't recommend this product highly enough, to be honest.
  • SSO integration
  • Audio and Video Quality
  • Cross Platform compatibility
  • Sometimes the delay becomes an issue, but this is not unique to Ustream.
  • Service is somewhat expensive.
  • Is it Ustream or is it IBM Cloud Video? This can be a little confusing for some people.
IBM Cloud Video really fit the bill for us on a secure channel where we could hold meetings with confidence that no unauthorized viewers were able to see the broadcast. The ability to upload videos and have data on who watched the video and the percentage of the video they watched is also awesome.
We have been able to ensure that each employee is able to view company-wide meetings and broadcasts with certainty. We have also been able to point out to people who are remote that tend to complain about not being able to see the broadcast that we know exactly how much of the broadcast they actually watched, which has been hilarious because the never view the whole thing.
Read this authenticated review
November 09, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "IBM is awesome for internal broadcasts even a novice can get to an amazing standard with their platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for internal communication broadcasts, e.g. town halls etc.
  • Ease of use ; continually improving user platform
  • One easy upload when streaming rather than sending a multi-version up like some people have to, IBM has taken the hard work out of the streaming element leaving me to concentrate on the quality of the audio and video, the experience for the viewers and satisfaction.
  • Scott Grizzle is a legend. Also Jose Velenquez without both of whom, when we were first looking at IBM Cloud made it possible for us to trial before we bought this was instrumental in getting it signed off.
  • Get the UK support team set up ASAP, I know you are getting one set up but this should be done. What's already a big selling point for your competitors is tech support in GMT hours or local to the country of the account holders' territory.
  • You should be offering suggestions for redundancy of network. So offer an encoder that has let our 4g bundled to negate fears of upload issues for users.
  • Recommend suppliers for a kit not just recommended hardware. If I could I'd set up a training facility and travel around to your new customers and teach them how to stream.
[It's] great for my internal broadcasts.
I've tried to use it to increase the engagement factor of live events.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2017

User Review: "IBM Cloud Video aka Ustream"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
IBM Cloud Video (Ustream) has been a solid content delivery network and platform. Within our organization, we use IBM Cloud Video services to support our corporate and governmental clients to allow them an extremely reliable streaming platform. Because IBM Cloud Video is so stable and has the capacity to quickly scale to any size job, it is the ideal platform to be used by both large and small clients.
  • IBM Cloud Video has an extremely reliable platform.
  • The service scales well for larger clients.
  • The customer service support is outstanding.
  • Better closed captioning support
  • Detailed noticed on change of player functions and/or features
IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) is well suited for special events, product launches, speeches, conferences, seminars, concerts. It works well for most any live event. The IBM Cloud Video service is less appropriate in situations normal suited to real time teleconferencing and any services requiring to the millisecond bi or multidirectional communication.
IBM Cloud Video helped us to land contracts and increase revenue.
Read Colin Sandy's full review
February 09, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Ustream and eCDN"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the product for the first of our quarterly town hall meetings. The 30,000-viewer hour option met our needs in that we are broadcasting to a global audience and can do so with a password-protected URL. Streaming quality was as high as our ingest rate; note that this can be variable, depending on bandwidth.

We also used the Ustream eCDN product to consolidate streams to two of our remote offices .. this ensured multiple, individual streams wouldn't clog the top of our router and impact network performance and user experience at our offices.
  • Consolidated interface: ability to manage the entire event from a single pane of glass.
  • Role-based capabilities: enabled us to assign our video capture/producer a role so he could manage his aspects of the event without my intervention.
  • Reliable network: no issues in performance with our global broadcast.
  • Mobile interface: worked like a charm as I prowled the office to ensure viewers were seeing a satisfactory experience.
  • More granular pricing; we didn't come near the 30,000-viewer hour limit. However, compared to other providers, their pricing is in line .. just not for a single event.
  • eCDN setup documentation: needs work .. did a fair bit of troubleshooting with Tier 2 support before realizing there were aspects with which only Ustream could configure (missing in the documentation).
Event broadcast: one-to-many viewers. Sporting, meetings, shows and so on.

Mobile consumption: nice mobile experience of a broadcast.

Archive capabilities: content is available for as long as a subscription is maintained.
Read Michael Coates's full review
January 20, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Industry Standard for Streaming"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is primarily using utilizing Ustream as our primary CDN for all our live webcasts. We stream content live from around the world and this platform works well (if not best) anywhere. The host side is extremely reliable and we are a huge fan at the multi bit rate streams that seem to work on any low-to-high bandwidth connection.
  • Multi Bitrate streaming is my favorite feature. Encoders can be configured to send RTMP at a variety of resolutions/bitrates to Ustream or send a single resolution stream and Ustream will handle all the heavy processing on their end. The end result is a great quality stream on low-bandwidth connections and high-bandwidth on any desktop or mobile device.
  • Multiple channels can be configured within the UI that can be accessed online through a Browser. This is a great way to keep your content organized.
  • Multiple user functionality and collaboration is built into the Pro level of Ustream and I recommend using this if you are working with a team or multiple managers and technicians.
  • Some of the online UI needs to be updated. When creating a high volume of channels, it becomes convoluted to navigate through all channels in the small sidebar. Long titles will run off the sidebar and be able to be unread.
  • No swapping out videos and keeping views.
  • Some of the Pro features should be free.
Ustream is best for public facing content and content that will be shared with large audiences. There are limited features for customizing your content other than streaming and hosting the then streamed videos online for future playback. This makes particular use-cases for internal streaming and collaboration impossible to achieve until more features are added.
Our business has had a long history of successful live streams to the web watched by millions worldwide; chances are you've watched one! Successful streams have been broadcast from Europe, America, Australia, Asia, South America, and in multiple languages. Whenever there is any issue, there is great customer support available by phone and Ustream will make arrangements to have technician on stand-by for particularly large events. We will continue to use the platform for all future web streams.
Read Zachary Smith's full review
March 28, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "5 Years and Still Satisfied with this Product!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization hosts life enriching conferences and training classes. We broadcast all of them so our worldwide partners can participate with the live event or enjoy the archive. We have used this platform for five years and enjoyed every part of it. The consistency and quality is amazing. Our team enjoys the ease of use with its features and automated saving until published or deleted.
  • It always works.
  • As our event starts trending, it helps share that we are live - and helps us gain new followers.
  • I love that we can post the video to our YouTube channel with a click of a button!
  • As this is an online product with virtually no need for customer service (at least for us) the pro-broadcasting could be less expensive.
  • When you trim a video on Ustream then post it to YouTube, it uploads the entire session, not just the desired trimmed portion (frustrating).
  • Bonuses or coupon codes for faithful clients - we spend nearly $1k a month for live streaming that we use for 3-5 days/month. There are less expensive options and my tech team would prefer to use a different platform just so our budget would have $12K to put to a new sound board, computers, cameras... etc.
It is great if you don't have a big team. You need one person to hit start and end the broadcast. The same person can monitor the sound. The dashboard is very easy to learn. The metrics are great to see. A smaller company can use it and use a package geared to their budget. Larger companies would also benefit from its use. Overall, there is not a place where I would consider it "less appropriate". The cost and the ability to afford the cost is going to be the greatest factor in someone using Ustream versus YouTube, Facebook, WebinarJam, or GoToMeeting for their services. It all depends on the individual needs of the company looking to live broadcast or stream events, seminars, or create their own online TV show.
We use this product to broadcast to our partners around the world. I love that we can see what countries are watching, how many viewers, etc. It increases our connection and participation with those who could not come to Houston, TX for the event we are broadcasting. It makes it possible to do what we do on a small scale and take it around the world.
Read Melody Barker's full review
March 28, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "UStream in the Enterprise"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] primarily used for streaming large corporate events to customers, the public and for internal event broadcasts. It's also used by a few departments for delivery of pre-recorded VoD content.
  • Easy integration with existing encoders like Wowza
  • Simple, adaptive player
  • Simple to publish to a large audience
  • Hard to secure videos.
  • Channel-based architecture and cost structure make it difficult to implement corporate-wide; limited ability to create customized channels for each department without incurring significant cost.
  • Lacking webinar-type features like integrated desktop sharing and input from SIP and H.323 endpoints.
Very good for large, public (or semi-private) broadcasts. Easily implemented from off-site locations like conference centers with limited bandwidth demand (~2Mbps for 1080p). Not so good for webinars or anything that demands some interactivity from the audience.
Extend event reach to customers, partners and prospects who wouldn't have been able to Attend.
Read Geof Newton's full review
January 25, 2017

Review: "IBM Cloud Video as a secure platform for delivering live content"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ustream is used across the organization to connect to entire teams or globally across the company for all hands meetings. The platform provides a consistent place where users can go to easily view recurring meets and events. Over VC platforms, links are not torn down at the ends of meetings, the UI is clear and easy to understand, the encoding of the audio and video can be fine tuned by our team to deliver high-quality content.
  • Integrate well with single sign on solutions.
  • Recurring meetings and events are easy to access at the same URL.
  • The reliability of the live component is exceptional (up time).
  • The QA functionality allows viewers to easily engage with presenters.
  • There is limited CMS functionality for recorded content.
  • While Ustream is responsive in communicating, sometimes platform issues require multiple communications to fully resolve.
  • There are limited ways that all of the available live programming can be laid out and presented to the company.
IBM Cloud Video is incredibly well suited to deliver content when delivering content that is confidential and secure, in mission critical scenarios and where ease of use is required. Ustream has the ability to easily accept a backup ingest for the primary stream. If the primary encoder or connection to Ustream fails, Ustream starts pulling from the backup stream and pushing it out to viewers almost instantaneously. Frequently our team is engaged because of the quality and ease of use of the service. Over VC products, Ustream is a much easier way for viewers to have a quality viewing experience. This is due to the fact that that there are far fewer settings the user needs to be familiar with.
The ability to chapter mark VODs allows viewers to easily return to a specific part of a recording. This saves company time. The main outcome has been having content be more secure within the organization. Content that needs to be shared throughout the company (all hands, product updates, open enrollment information, etc.) is easy with Ustream. As an organization grows, the platform will be utilized more and more.
Read Steven Janak's full review
January 25, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Ustream . . . for all seasons."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ustream across our entire college to video stream all of our major ensemble concerts (orchestra, choir, bands); all of our major sporting events (e.g., basketball; hockey; volleyball); some educational lectures; and all of our recitals. It is an essential way of maintaining relationships with our families and alums across the world.
  • Capacity for unlimited viewers . . . we've never had a problem with bandwidth in spite of having literally 1000s of views for some events.
  • Ease of use for our technical staff and for our students who often 'man' the streaming equipment.
  • Technical support is available as needed . . . although, honestly, we've rarely needed to contact support.
  • Sorry, but we've had no issues worthy of highlighting.
As I noted earlier, streaming of concerts, recitals, sporting events, and academic lectures from on campus and from remote sites are possible. We do not have to worry about bandwidth as long as we have an adequate [connection] to create a single stream.
We have greatly expanded views from our initial use to today. Many of our families and alumni live hundreds or thousands of miles away and Ustream provides them with a connection that permits them to 'feel a part' of the action, even though they are not present. We have seen viewers from Europe, from Africa, and from just about every state in the union. Ustream helps us sustain relationships.
Read Bruce Vieweg's full review
January 20, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Ustream Align is a great tool for webcasts."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ustream Align to educate and recertify licensed healthcare providers on the use of ART (Active Release Techniques) our patented soft tissue treatment techniques and to help our elite providers who treat employees in corporate settings with complex cases in order to decrease the number of treatments and increase our protocol efficacy.
  • High throughput webcasts
  • Instantaneous streaming
  • Reliable recordings
  • Plenty of storage
  • Excellent technical support
  • Bulk edit, management and download of recorded videos
  • Align specific ipad app

Ustream is very well suited for a large audience and extended length webcasting, storage of vast quantities and amounts of videos, protection from the public downloading videos that we don't want them to, and control of access to those videos.

Not very well suited for collaboration, learning management, or making me a sammich.

The outcomes we have achieved are that we are able to use Ustream Align to educate and recertify licensed healthcare providers on the use of ART (Active Release Techniques) our patented soft tissue treatment techniques and to help our elite providers who treat employees in corporate settings with complex cases in order to decrease the number of treatments and increase our protocol efficacy.
Read Christian Fleischhacker's full review
January 20, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Ustream is a lifesaver! Before Ustream we were using WebEx conference calls and the experience was horrible!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ustream to live stream all of our technology group's all hands meetings. We also use it for our annual district meetings and annual stockholder's meeting. We store the videos on the Ustream website for Later viewing as well. This allows folks that are scattered around the globe to view the information live, and lets people watch it after the fact in case they missed it.
  • We frequently have over 150 concurrent users streaming the content during the meeting without bandwidth issues.
  • The Ustream producer tool is awesome.
  • The customer support we've received when we've had questions has always been fantastic.
  • We had some issues finding equipment and hardware that works well with the producer, but we've been able to find hardware now that works well for what we need.
  • There were a few times when audio wouldn't work or was choppy, and we would have to restart the streaming laptop to resolve the issue.
  • We've had some issues presenting content coming directly from a presentation PC instead of the camera, it took some time to figure that out.
  • Getting multiple cameras to work was a challenge since the bus would get overloaded with multiple HDMI/USB inputs. We ended up buying a switcher and that solved all of our problems. I wish Ustream had recommended that setup from day one.
It is perfect for streaming 1-way content live, and for viewing recorded meetings after the fact. It is not suited for 2-way video, or situations where you want to hear or talk to people that are remote. There is about a 30 second to 1 minute delay between Live and what they are seeing remotely.
We've saved thousands of dollars in travel costs for our meetings and that savings will continue to increase the more we use it. More people are able to view the meeting content so our message is getting out to a wider audience.
Read JD Larsen's full review
January 16, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Use video e-learning, save time and money on M&As"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

We implement video e-learning systems and creating educational content for corporate entities, and use IBM's Ustream Align when security and viewership reporting/analytics are required. Once deployed, multiple departments take advantage of the system as we create department-level educational content - M&A onboards new groups, HR trains new employees, Compliance keeps staff up-to-date on regulatory and education requirements, and senior leadership and executives communicate quarterly meetings.

Clients save tremendous time and money by reducing education, onboarding, and compliance costs, while freeing up management's time to focus on more strategic decisions. Ultimately, the organization is able to grow faster and more efficiently, especially during M&A or new-hire pushes.

  • Reliable Platform - there is no down-time, so your employees are always free to train, managers to manage, etc.
  • Desktop and Mobile - your teams can use this platform in office, at home, or during travel, so e-learning is convenient and easy.
  • Reporting and Analytics - managers and senior leadership can see who's progressing, how many are watching, and what questions are asked.
  • Live Q&A - during a video stream, viewers can message questions right in the player and get prompt answers, keeping everyone engaged and learning.
  • Watch Anytime - all videos are hosted in the cloud and can be watched at any time, and still have the option of asking questions to moderators
  • Report Exports - reports are exported as csv/excel, which is helpful, but the data needs to be massaged to be useful
  • Back-end Admin Limits - there are only a few users that can have admin and moderator privileges, which at times can make things difficult when creating educational content for multiple departments/subjects
  • First-time User issue - for some less tech savvy individuals, first time use can be difficult as you're required to validate your email and enter a provided code.
Ustream Align is excellent when security and reporting is needed. If you don't need these features, we recommend other Ustream products.
What our clients have seen is a marked improvement in the M&A teams ability to onboard new practices/entities using far less resources. For one industry-leader, they were able to cut their M&A training costs by over %60, increase their training attendance by over %50, and decrease onboard timeline by weeks.
Read Erik Woodard's full review
January 16, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Extend your stage to an unlimited audience size"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our main use has been to extend our live audience to remote viewers; both nationally and internationally, depending on case use. Our use is primarily utilizing our video engineers' and our clients' broadcast both within Ustream site as well as driving traffic through their own website.
  • We are fans of the ability to customize the viewer's UI and brand according to their needs.
  • We like the features and details of the metrics available in both real time and after the broadcast. It enables us to give our clients a complete picture of viewer demographics, device types reached and details on viewing time averages.
  • The backend management and interface is well designed; allowing our on-site engineers to quickly access features and monitor during our live program feeds.
  • Bring some of the details onto the main page interface from quicklinks instead of further down the heirarchy of the page flow; such as stream specs, etc.
Well suited for on-site event streaming - it integrates nicely within a typical Backstage environment production setup and requires very little beyond the hardware to operate.
We've been able to deliver additional views to a live program that due to location or limited access would be prohibitive otherwise.
Read Matthew Stone's full review
April 12, 2017

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Review: "Ustream is a great live video plattform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For us Ustream saves hundreds of thousands of dollars in an implementation of a complex on premise infrastructure. We also save a lot of money in support. Now the streaming service runs very smoothly. We are able to stream conferences around the world with just a couple of clicks.
  • When in a mooc course we need to stream, Ustream is our solution.
  • To keep and publish the events.
  • Until now the only way to pay is using credit card.
[Ustream is well suited for] Conferences, live video on mooc courses.
Thousands of hours of video.
Read Andres Holguin's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Lead generation (9)
6.4
Video personalization (17)
6.8
eCommerce (7)
6.5
Support for advertisements (3)
6.2
Video SEO (9)
7.1
Integration to Marketing Automation (6)
5.6
Integration to Salesforce.com (2)
6.4
Integration to LMS (2)
7.2
Video access controls (23)
7.0
User management (22)
7.4
Video link sharing (25)
8.1
Internal video (22)
6.9
External video (23)
8.1
Player customization (23)
6.7
Embedded videos (23)
8.0
Video quality / Bandwidth controls (25)
7.8
Mobile compatibility (24)
7.6
A/B testing (9)
6.1
Streaming quality reports (17)
6.0
Per viewer tracking (21)
6.5
Per video tracking (21)
6.7
Video analytics dashboard (21)
6.6
On-Demand video (21)
7.7
Live streaming (25)
8.5
Impact of streaming on network (22)
7.6
Video upload & format support (20)
6.8
Video library / File management (22)
6.5
Video portal (18)
6.5
Audience polling (7)
8.3
Audience Q&A / Live chat (13)
7.3
Video comments (10)
7.3

About IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream)

Ustream, now part of IBM Cloud Video, provides an enterprise video platform for creating, storing, managing, broadcasting and measuring the impact of live and recorded streaming video.

There are two enterprise editions:

  • IBM Cloud Video Streaming Manager (Ustream Pro Broadcast)
  • IBM Cloud Video Streaming Manager for Enterprise (Ustream Align)

Both enterprise editions include storage, event support, custom branding, content management, multi-user accounts, and real-time analytics.

Streaming Manager, an external video solution, powers video content for large audiences. It offers scalability for massive viewership using the SD-CDN, a software defined content delivery network built with QoS (Quality of Service) in mind to reliably deliver video. Lead generation and individual prospect tracking help build lead funnels, while chat and social platform integrations greatly expand the reach of your content. The optional LiveAd offering enables you to reach your prospective audience by placing live video ad units on the websites they frequent, driving increased visibility and views.

Streaming Manager for Enterprise, an internal video solution, secures video assets for employee use. It can restrict content access through Single Sign-On (SSO) and using existing corporate directories. Individual viewer tracking measures engagement on a per video or viewer basis to determine asset ROI and records viewing time and completions for compliance training.

Categories:  Video

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Features

Has featureScalability
Has featureEnterprise Security
Has featureQuality of Service
Has featureIntegrated Content Management
Has featureMulti-CDN Delivery via SD-CDN
Has featureCloud-based Transcoding
Has featureSocial Sharing with Facebook and Twitter Integration
Has featureIntegrated Chat
Has featureLive Analytics Dashboard
Has featureAuto-Recording
Has featureCustom Branding
Has featureLead Capture
Has featureLive Playlists
Has featureSupport for Professional Encoding/Production Gear
Has featureEnterprise Support Plans
Has featureManaged Event and Production Services
Has featureEnterprise Content Delivery Network (eCDN)

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Integrations

SDKs and APIs are available.

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Competitors

Kaltura, Ooyala, Vidyard, Akamai, Brightcove, Livestream, Qumu, Ramp, vBrick, Kontiki, Onstream, DaCast, Wowza

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Managed Event Support
Production Services

IBM Cloud Video (including Ustream) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web