Citrix Hypervisor Reviews

53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Jean Franco | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

The Enterprise Hypervisor: Citrix Hypervisor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Citrix Hypervisor to host several of our virtual environments. We use it on several departments reducing costs, providing easy backups, motion (moving virtual hosts from one physical hardware to another) and reducing electrical usage by reducing the number of physical servers required to run all the services we need.
  • Manage all the resources of the hosting server really well.
  • Provides the ability to move virtual server from one physical server to another.
  • A better web interface to manage all the services.
  • Provide client platform to Linux and MacOS to manage the platform.
Citrix Hypervisor handles filesystems really well, better than any other system on the market today. The interface of the application is really easy to use and provides easy ways to handle all the guest OS's (including FreeBSD, which are hard to handle by other virtual services). The Citrix Hypervisor can be implemented in any scenario, small to enterprise.
Read Jean Franco's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

A Decent Choice

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Citrix Hypervisor as one of our virtualization tools. The ability to run multiple VMs on each physical server has been beneficial. As one of the leading virtualization management platforms, it offers many great features out of the box. The ability to quickly set up and configure and easily managed environment are among a few of the positives. It's not the most robust and feature packed, but it's cheap and relatively simple to use.
  • Creating VMS - virtualizing physical or already virtual images is a snap
  • Configuration - in a smaller environment, configuration is simple and easy to understand
  • Templates and Clones - the ability to create these on the fly make it great for a dev environment
  • Support - if free is what you need, great support is not what you'll get, keep in mind if support is necessary
  • Upgrades - the upgrade process is buggy and problematic at best
  • Partner Support - if you're looking for a product with multiple parters rolled in, I'd look elsewhere
Citrix Hypervisor is well suited for quickly standing up a virtualized environment. As the environment scales, there is less efficiency within the platform, however. The partnership with Microsoft seems strong, but that also limits the product in the end. If other partnerships were as in depth as Citrix with MS products, it would greatly enhance the overall score. I would not recommend this product if you need to virtualize a large, complex system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2019

Virtualization is easy with Citrix

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Citrix Hypervisor is a perfect virtualization solution which allows many functions, among which scalability has the main function. The architecture offers a combination of remote desktop services and web interface servers. Implementation and change management are complex. The cost is very good. The project requires long term vision and lots of planning. Also, you need a good team to implement such a big project.
  • Good scalability.
  • The ease of setup.
  • Very good integration with other tools.
  • The support from the vendor is very good.
  • The interface can be more user-friendly.
  • Model the management of clustering.
  • Use DDK to compile drivers.
Virtualization of all infrastructures helps us to manage well our resources. Load balancing helps us to assure great availability and be compliant with business continuity indicators. Also, the solution offers great security and allows for rapid provisioning and flexible hardware utilization. It solves our problem by allowing users to connect to their machine at work no matter where they are currently.
Read this authenticated review
Scott McGee | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2019

Citrix Hypervisor was built for Citrix VDI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Citrix Hypervisor as our sole hypervisor in our entire Citrix environment. This has helped us reduce our hardware expenses by over 75% with virtualizing all of our production servers. We were on a 3 year replacement plan when we had physical production servers but now we get 5-7 years on our hypervisor servers. Because it's an existing Citrix product we do not have to work with multiple vendors if there is ever a software issue.
  • The install is incredibly easy. Even version upgrades require minimal effort to accomplish.
  • The dynamic storage capabilities are great. If a server runs low on disk space we can increase the drive space in minutes instead of waiting days for new drives to arrive and the time to physically shut down the server to add them.
  • A lot of software vendors only support VMWare and Hyper-V as acceptable hypervisors for their products.
  • It lacks the ability to truly upscale memory in a live environment.
It's extremely easy to install, use, and maintain. They offer a free hypervisor that has a lot of great features that are only found with paid versions of competitors products. If you are using Citrix for your VDI solution you can compliment things with a Citrix hypervisor.
Read Scott McGee's full review
Kristopher Leslie | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2017

XenServer and modern virtualization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization utilized XenServer to replace VMware ESXi. We have consolidated all physical servers to just 3 hypervisors and manage the environment with XoA. We currently have 30 VMs running in our infrastructure. We utilize Windows 2016 and 2012 R2 along with a few instances of Linux. Each department uses an individual server which has improved the speed and delivery of IT services to our staff.
  • Resource Monitoring is a good and I am able to monitor my entire infrastructure whether I'm using my iPhone remotely or while on any company-issued laptop to ensure our services run at peak efficiency.
  • CLI - the command line is not hard to use. It can take a little time to get used to the commands but once you have them down managing the environment from the GUI or CLI is pretty easy.
  • Backups are very easy to start and manage with XenCenter or XoA. Keeping business DR scenarios achievable.
  • Better support for USB devices (which is a weak point of most Hypervisors)
  • More native iPhone/Android apps to monitor the environment
  • Better reports for an insight of how healthy the environment is
XenServer is well suited for all scenarios for deployment for a modern infrastructure. The weak link it has is of course for classic physical hardware that has key fobs or other telephony cards which aren't properly supported in a virtualized environment. Even if you have one physical server, virtualizing is the best practice to do.
Read Kristopher Leslie's full review
Evelyn Nakibuuka | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2017

XenServer is Awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenServer is used for the whole organisation and hosts all the companies VM's. It is very helpful to manage and troubleshoot all existing servers. It provides capabilities to monitor all servers. Creating new VM's using XenServer is seemingly very easy for the process is straight forward and one can easily follow through.
  • Provides visibility of all the VM's and one can tell when any of the server's are offline.
  • The functionality to re-boot a VM is easy and quick
  • It is secure and can be accessed remotely.
  • Disaster recovery is difficult to use
For a company that has multiple servers with limited technical support. Xenserver can easily be supported remotely.
Read Evelyn Nakibuuka's full review
Stênio Pereira Filho | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2016

Open source hypervisor, free license and advanced features

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Xenserver as the principal hypervisor of our private cloud that offers infrastructure as a service to the academic community of the University of Sao Paulo and other public institutes of Brazil. This private cloud has 480 servers (9800 CPUs, 5TB RAM, 15PB storage) and it is used for scientific processing and many other services like web services, email systems, a social collaboration systems.
  • Free advanced resources: Live migration, live storage migration, snapshots, open switch/vxlan. Others hypervisors offer the same but are paid.
  • It is fully compatible with CloudStack and OpenStack.
  • Supports paravirtualization (PVM) and hardware virtual machines (HVM).
  • It is open-source and easy to troubleshoot.
  • The snapshots management still presents problems, especially in environments with several virtual machines.
  • The virtual memory management is still weak if compared with other hypervisors.
  • There isn't a central server for the management of physical hosts. XenCenter is a client that is not good because it demands so much memory and CPU to execute simple tasks in environments with several VMs.
Xenserver is a great hypervisor, with advanced features, open-source and free. This is possible by support from Citrix. It works perfectly in cloud environments and standalone systems. If you need to create an environment to execute virtual machines to scientific processing, XenServer is well suited. However, we are having difficulty managing environments that demand high disk I/O and net I/O too. In this case, Hyper-V and ESxi work better.
Read Stênio Pereira Filho's full review
Greg DePratt | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2015

XenServer Vs ?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using XenServer for all our virtualization of servers company-wide. It allows us to leverage our hardware and run multiple VMs on each physical server.
  • Low cost. Support is much cheaper than the alternatives.
  • Much simpler to implement and manage than other hypervisors.
  • Good performance on all the VMs.
  • Front line support form off shore has been challenging lately. Need a better escalation path for issues.
  • Upgrades can be difficult at times. Not always super smooth.
If you have the money to throw at the best-of-breed it may be better to go with VMWare. Its more widely used.
Read Greg DePratt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2016

XenServer reviewed by an avid Citrix and VDI engineer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The XenServer workloads I have set up and currently provide are primarily for clients. These workloads cover anything from an IT lab, VDI and Server workloads for the entire data center. It is a mixed use hypervisor in most environments where it is placed for a purpose (such as VDI) at a cost savings and management supplement due to its ease of use.
  • Manages upgrades to the pool of hypervisor hosts with relative ease through a console (if licensed).
  • Makes it easy to create machine templates and clones and move them around within the pool of hosts.
  • Handles failures reasonably well through the use of the pool database copied on each host
  • Adding or presenting additional storage to the host can often be a task that is far more involved than competitive products.
  • The product can require reboots more frequently than competitors due to the DOM kernel getting "hung up".
  • Sometimes when a virtual machine is deleted it still leaves behind orphaned vdisks.
  • Recovering from the loss of a host can sometimes cause virtual machines to require lengthy command prompt scripting to fix so they can be powered back on from another host.
I feel XenServer is well suited for VDI based workloads at least within the Citrix product portfolio as it is extremely easy to set up and manage. It is also a reasonably well suited platform for smaller data centers which require less complexity and monitoring. Workloads requiring the usage of shared GPU are well suited for XenServer.

The product is less well suited for large enterprise data centers. However, new versions are bringing features to allow the hypervisor to contend. Complex virtual networking environments may not be well suited for XenServer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2016

XenServer: room for improvement

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XenServer is one of the products used for teaching a virtualization class.
  • Create virtual machine
  • Xenmotion
  • Config/installation of XenServer
  • Lacks management tool equivalent to vCenter server. XenCenter is a client-side app only.
  • Lack official support for work load balancing (the support has been dropped)
XenServer is suited for simple, introduction to virtualization or virtual machines.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (9)
9.0
Management console (10)
7.9
Live virtual machine backup (9)
9.0
Live virtual machine migration (10)
9.2
Hypervisor-level security (9)
9.0

About Citrix Hypervisor

Citrix Hypervisor (formerly XenServer) is a virtualization management platform optimized for application, desktop and server virtualization infrastructures.
Categories:  Server Virtualization

Citrix Hypervisor Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Citrix Hypervisor Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No