TrustRadius
Citrix NetScaler is an application delivery controller.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/vr/90/P0SEZNUX0AZU.pngUse Citrix NetScaler to improve your environmentWe are using Citrix NetScaler to provide a Citrix environment to deploy apps to users. We can also deploy a desktop and remote access to our users. This app is a mission critical app and Citrix provides fault tolerance. If one app server goes down we have several others to take over.,Load Balancing Fault Tolerance Centralized Administration. It's a lot faster to setup a Citrix account than a whole user. You can deploy that same app across platforms as the Citrix client works on both iOS and Windows. Citrix handles video much better than Microsoft Remote Desktop Services.,Cost. Citrix costs more and you still need to have Microsoft Remote Desktop below it. However the value is there. Citrix does a better job. Client needs to be reconfigured periodically. Keep your config file handy so you can just import it back in. Little harder to troubleshoot issues. It's no longer a single server that could be the problem.,10,Solved the biggest frustration issue for Management - Graphical look of fonts in our Apps. Gave us failover for when a server needs maintenance.,,Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Visio, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup ApplianceCitrix NetScaler ExperiencesWe use Citrix across the organization. It is used for field offices to access client server applications. It is used for remote email and accessing networks files.,Users have their own user profile logging in. Access to network printers remotely. Access to network file that would otherwise be unavailable.,Shutting down the receiver when closing out of Citrix. Compatibility with receiver versions across vendors using different versions of Citrix. Occasional speed issues.,7,Allowed us to have staff work remotely more efficiently. Eliminated necessity to run data lines to remote office.,,TeamViewerNetScaler - Value and RobustnessWe use the NetScaler to deliver published applications from our cloud services to our clients. Our own support team uses it to deliver our services, and we provide the platform to our clients. We, as well as our clients, have appreciated the speed and flexibility in accessing the applications we need particularly when in a mobile/out-of-office setting. It has helped our distributed workforce's efforts.,Provides flexibility in configuration of app delivery. Provides speed in the app delivery. The full desktop environment through the Xen environment is configurable.,There is a lot to configure and know when setting up the first time. Tweaking and fine-tuning during set-up can be time-consuming. Complex Issues with configuration often require Citrix support engagement.,8,More sales referrals; clients impressed with the ease and flexibility of accessing apps have resulted in more clientele. Less time spent on other more time-consuming and less flexible technologies, such as MS RD services. Increasing our cloud services footprint has been achieved because of our use of Citrix technology.,Barracuda Load BalancerGet Scaled to NetScalerCitrix NetScaler is a big player for us. Without it, we would not function. We use it across our whole organization (manufacturing, shipping, sales, etc.) which is international including the Netherlands, China, and the US. We utilize our Citrix environment from anywhere because of this awesome technology. Citrix NetScaler is definitely worth its ROI.,Secure connections for all users. Delivers applications fast. Not overly expensive. Solid customer service.,Web GUI Options more visible More customization,8,Positive - ROI User connectivity Ease of use,A10 Networks AX Series,Made2Manage ERP, Microsoft Dynamics NAV, uniPointA very capable multi-faceted appliance that has improved over the yearsWe provide global site load balancing with high availability pairs for redundancy in three data centers across the globe for our Citrix published applications as well as our virtual desktops to over then thousand users internal and external to our network. Citrix Netscaler helps achieve this as well as SSL VPN access and reverse proxy for secure access to some of our web applications and sites.,Provide secure and easy access to Citrix XenApp applications and XenDesktop VDIs to end users with customizable front-end. Access can be from anywhere in the world from any device and any operating system. Users with low bandwidth and high latency may still access our applications and virtual desktops securely with reasonably fast experience.,SSL VPN difficult to implement as well as manage with lack of fully functional tool to manage users for administrators. Citrix Receiver to access Netscaler can be cumbersome to deploy and version stability and bugs need improvement. Netscaler firmware updates can be difficult to upgrade with some native features not functioning correctly after an update.,8,Positive in replacing our aging IPSEC VPN solution from Checkpoint. Consolidated several network appliances (Checkpoint VPN and F5 load-balancers) as well as Riverbed WAN accelerators. GSLB feature improved high availability globally for all our sites with uniform user experience across the globe.,F5 BIG-IP,XenApp, XenDesktop, OnBase by Hyland,Reverse proxy XenApp and Desktop portals configuration BInding HA to virtual sites and servers applying SSL certificates GUI access and navigation,SSL VPN GSLB setup and confiugration Firmware updates Custom website configurations,No,8
Unspecified
Citrix NetScaler
57 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

Citrix NetScaler Reviews

Citrix NetScaler
57 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 57 vetted Citrix NetScaler reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Andrew Murphy profile photo
August 10, 2018

Review: "Use Citrix NetScaler to improve your environment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Citrix NetScaler to provide a Citrix environment to deploy apps to users. We can also deploy a desktop and remote access to our users. This app is a mission critical app and Citrix provides fault tolerance. If one app server goes down we have several others to take over.
  • Load Balancing
  • Fault Tolerance
  • Centralized Administration. It's a lot faster to setup a Citrix account than a whole user. You can deploy that same app across platforms as the Citrix client works on both iOS and Windows.
  • Citrix handles video much better than Microsoft Remote Desktop Services.
  • Cost. Citrix costs more and you still need to have Microsoft Remote Desktop below it. However the value is there. Citrix does a better job.
  • Client needs to be reconfigured periodically. Keep your config file handy so you can just import it back in.
  • Little harder to troubleshoot issues. It's no longer a single server that could be the problem.
Citrix is well suited for small IT shops where you need to reclaim time. Your time for user administration goes down. Citrix is very stable. Once you have it working you can usually set it and forget it. If you need failover Citrix handles it great. Just add more App Servers.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
Michael Downs profile photo
September 07, 2018

User Review: "Citrix NetScaler Experiences"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Citrix across the organization. It is used for field offices to access client server applications. It is used for remote email and accessing networks files.
  • Users have their own user profile logging in.
  • Access to network printers remotely.
  • Access to network file that would otherwise be unavailable.
  • Shutting down the receiver when closing out of Citrix.
  • Compatibility with receiver versions across vendors using different versions of Citrix.
  • Occasional speed issues.
Works well for remote offices with company held machines but less appropriate for access with public PC as the client needs to be installed.
Read Michael Downs's full review
Ian Hansen profile photo
November 09, 2017

Citrix NetScaler Review: "NetScaler - Value and Robustness"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the NetScaler to deliver published applications from our cloud services to our clients. Our own support team uses it to deliver our services, and we provide the platform to our clients. We, as well as our clients, have appreciated the speed and flexibility in accessing the applications we need particularly when in a mobile/out-of-office setting. It has helped our distributed workforce's efforts.
  • Provides flexibility in configuration of app delivery.
  • Provides speed in the app delivery.
  • The full desktop environment through the Xen environment is configurable.
  • There is a lot to configure and know when setting up the first time.
  • Tweaking and fine-tuning during set-up can be time-consuming.
  • Complex Issues with configuration often require Citrix support engagement.
We have applications that are client-server based but we require access to them outside of our offices. The cumbersome VPN process has been overcome by delivered apps through the Citrix Receiver. It's very useful and practical; all you need now is a fast and reliable Internet connection. If that kind of flexibility is not required or other technology in place where access is given, then this may not be the best fit.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
Brandon Pelinka profile photo
November 06, 2017

Citrix NetScaler Review: "Get Scaled to NetScaler"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Citrix NetScaler is a big player for us. Without it, we would not function. We use it across our whole organization (manufacturing, shipping, sales, etc.) which is international including the Netherlands, China, and the US. We utilize our Citrix environment from anywhere because of this awesome technology. Citrix NetScaler is definitely worth its ROI.
  • Secure connections for all users.
  • Delivers applications fast.
  • Not overly expensive.
  • Solid customer service.
  • Web GUI
  • Options more visible
  • More customization
I think it is well suited for a multitude of different environments/settings/industries. It can deliver on for small, medium or large size companies. If you have a non-existent, small or large IT department in your company, Citrix will work well with all of them and all those environments.
Read Brandon Pelinka's full review
No photo available
October 26, 2017

Citrix NetScaler Review: "A very capable multi-faceted appliance that has improved over the years"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide global site load balancing with high availability pairs for redundancy in three data centers across the globe for our Citrix published applications as well as our virtual desktops to over then thousand users internal and external to our network. Citrix Netscaler helps achieve this as well as SSL VPN access and reverse proxy for secure access to some of our web applications and sites.
  • Provide secure and easy access to Citrix XenApp applications and XenDesktop VDIs to end users with customizable front-end.
  • Access can be from anywhere in the world from any device and any operating system.
  • Users with low bandwidth and high latency may still access our applications and virtual desktops securely with reasonably fast experience.
  • SSL VPN difficult to implement as well as manage with lack of fully functional tool to manage users for administrators.
  • Citrix Receiver to access Netscaler can be cumbersome to deploy and version stability and bugs need improvement.
  • Netscaler firmware updates can be difficult to upgrade with some native features not functioning correctly after an update.
Citrix Netscaler can be a powerful network appliance for environments that are fully committed and open to utilizing a network appliance that isn't made by a traditional network vendor. Administrator user experience has improved over the years and will continue to improve with the flexibility of virtual and physical appliances available for medium and large enterprises.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 24, 2017

Citrix NetScaler: "Citrix review, must read!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used mostly in our accounting department, but other employees have used it as well so we can publish applications such as DST, Argus, shared drives, etc.
  • It is good for publishing apps instead of having to install on each computer.
  • Works pretty well with very little technical issues.
  • Easy for employees to understand and use with very few questions.
  • Sometimes causes issues with apps and compatibility depending on the software.
  • Sessions sometimes stay open and need to be cleared out by an admin.
  • Sometimes slow to open apps when connecting.
Well suited for applications such as Great Plains and Management reporter, a very intense software that you would not want to install on every machine locally. Less appropriate for small software packages or licensing such as Adobe Acrobat, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Phillip Mengel profile photo
March 30, 2017

"Citrix NetScaler Experienced Honest Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a pair of Citrix NetScaler SDXs to deploy virtual NetScaler VPXs to function as a front end (NetScaler Gateway) and as a separation of DMZ and internal network appliances for specific application load balancing concerns. The internal VPX instances load balance printing, email, web, SQL, and other mission-critical concerns. The DMZ VPX instances load balance public web concerns.
  • The NetScaler is a great ADC for load balancing multiple different sets of concerns. Being able to run the virtual appliances in hypervisor from the appliance is an amazing design choice.
  • Being able to effectively run a VPX load balanced pair nested inside and SDX is an infrastructure masterpiece.
  • Ease of setup is a great feature for the NetScaler. Those that are not strong on a command line will be able to setup the SDX, MDX, VPX with little knowledge of the commandline.
  • Some of the menus for the NetScaler Gateway could use more detailed knowledge base articles detailing what each 'switch' does.
  • The refresh rate on the web(GUI) are too slow.
  • Get rid of Java completely, more modular updates to the codebase, e.g. quicker updates to fix critical issues.
The Citrix SDX and MDX models are well suited for large scale deployments with multiple load balancing needs and concurrent Citrix XenApp/XenDesktop environment. Being able to deploy the NetScaler Gateway and load balance multiple pools of specific app loads are the strengths of this platform. The SDX and MDX models would be overkill for a strict XenApp/XenDesktop deployment unless it had a huge concurrent session load with a high throughput need. The VPX model is designed for smaller XenApp/XenDesktop farms and smaller scale load balancing needs.
Read Phillip Mengel's full review
Jacob Corzine profile photo
July 22, 2016

"Citrix NetScaler Review4U"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Citrix NetScaler is being used across the organization, providing load balancing and increased availability of applications and services. Wherever a business critical service exists it becomes paramount to provide end users with the highest available levels of service and reliability. Load-balancing services (such as those provided by Citrix NetScaler) provide this type of reliability and trust.
  • Flexibility. NetScaler assumes its admins know a bit about networking and in-depth details surrounding the applications they are configuring access for/to. This being so, the range of configuration options is very broad allowing various versions' combinations of protocol patterns, expressions, rules etc., all to the benefit of the admin.
  • Granularity. Having such a broad range of configuration options available, while still allowing simple options to be configured simply. The GUI is well-stylized and navigation has a good flow.
  • Ease of control. For load-balancing of simple services right out of the box, NetScaler makes it pretty easy, compared to the range of options available in the surrounding GUI and under the hood.
  • The companion product that is the Command Center, feels like an afterthought/step child. Though recent versions have been better, some of the trigger rules have issues applying (at least with the tests in my environment to VPX & MPX appliances) and there's an overall unease in trust with it.
  • Like most products in this type the CLI will provide the best experience where the GUI fails. An example is stats. A vserver that uses service groups will not show individual stats per server in the GUI (as of v10.5) but will in the CLI. I think things like this are just version deficiencies and will be corrected in future releases.
  • Java applets.
  • Citrix documentation is getting better but hasn't been the greatest in recent years and sometimes tends to be conflicting.
Citrix NetScaler is suited to any environment where hardware load-balancing, application delivery or SSL offloading is a requirement. It's a product that can be used to manipulate traffic flows in a multitude of different ways and its only limit is the protocol, application and imagination of the administrator. It's not a product that includes helpful wizards to guide the admin through each process gracefully. While it is a fairly intuitive product to use, it's not for someone who is not initiated into the ways of networking and network protocols and communication. Nor is this a product that would lend itself solely for the usage of single usage scenarios where small traffic flows would be expected (although if desired the VPX product would probably suffice in that specific scenario depending on the environment).
Read Jacob Corzine's full review
Josh Bugbee profile photo
June 10, 2016

User Review: "Citrix NetScaler - A Must Have!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Citrix NetScaler is being used for multiple purposes; two-factor access gateway, HTTP redirects and rewrites, web application firewall, and load balancing. The NetScaler provides the ability to perform all these functions and still leave room for growth and more features in the future. The access gateway, allows health records to be secured with a two-factor login process and also addresses data loss prevention. The load balancing addresses updates and patches that our server administrators frequently do. This allows them to update or patch one server at a time, without a production downtime.
  • Load Balancing - The ability to monitor servers with almost any method you can think of, makes it a really nice utility.
  • HTTP Redirect/Rewrite - This allows URLs to be protected and rewritten. In the healthcare industry, privacy is very important.
  • Access Gateway - Data loss prevention is a must when it comes to health records. The gateway can be customized and set up with two-factor login, allowing the additional line of security upon authentication.
  • The documentation could use an overhaul with specific examples related to the command line as well as GUI. Explanations in the documentation would also be helpful.
  • Being able to have more than just one routing table would allow the ability to leverage security.
I found the Citrix NetScaler to be a great tool with more features than we were able to get to in the healthcare industry. The reporting was also great and increased the resolution time on troubleshooting any issues.
Read Josh Bugbee's full review
Brandon Rush profile photo
June 13, 2016

Citrix NetScaler Review: "Netscaler VDI Call Center Delivery"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it for our VDI delivery for our work at home agent projects.
  • VDI Delivery compression over ICA protocol
  • User Management via LDAP authentication
  • Uptime
  • Better WebUI for management
Our scenario is/was the defacto reason for using Netscaler.
Read Brandon Rush's full review

Citrix NetScaler Scorecard Summary

About Citrix NetScaler

Citrix NetScaler is an application delivery controller.

Citrix NetScaler Integrations

Citrix NetScaler Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No