Kubernetes Reviews

82 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Kubernetes offers safety and speed to your application at the cost of potential complexity.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Kubernetes currently in production, and are in the process of transitioning our entire department to using it. It has simplified and sped up our development process due to the ability to model in miniature our entire environment. It has improved the stability and safety of deployments due to the faster deployment and rollback time permitted using images. Also, we are transitioning to using ExternalNames for our external dependencies, which provides a level of safety that QC deployments will not communicate with prod resources.
  • Deployments
  • Scaling
  • Safety
  • Steep learning curve
  • Safe defaults for resource consumption
  • Extra dependencies for templating day two operations
  • Monitoring is necessarily complex.
Kubernetes is an excellent solution for shops that are using or looking to use microservices. The use of containers makes it simple and fast to deploy and roll back individual applications, and Kubernetes deployments make scaling a microservice simple. Furthermore, Kubernetes allows you to make the most of your resources, allocating pods between nodes to best use the available CPU/memory. Finally, Kubernetes makes moving applications between cloud providers relatively painless. However, for single monolithic applications, Kubernetes can bring an overhead of resources, and most of its benefits are missed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Great way to deploy/manage your servers.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am working in a company that is currently working on moving everything to the cloud. We want to leverage as many as cloud managed services as we can. Kubernetes came to our sight when we thinking of containerizing our on-premises servers for fast and easy deployment to cloud. We are still experimenting with Kubernetes but based on what we've got now, it works perfectly for our department.
  • Kubernetes is a great tool for managing Docker images. It has great features for managing your containers.
  • It is supported almost in every cloud platform. AWS, GCP, Azure. We are mainly using GCP for our products and Kubernetes works great in it.
  • It is not hard to learn. Although you can learn and deploy your Kubernetes in a hard way, you do not have to.
  • I know Kubernetes was designed to be stateless and it has a lot of reasons to do it. But working to make stateful can be hard sometimes.
  • Like any other cloud migration projects, using Kubernetes can be a hard thing to bring to the team. I would not see that as a con of Kubernetes', just a fact.
  • Kubernetes is very easy to deploy in the cloud but not easy for platforms other than AWS, GCP, Azure.
If your company is 1) looking into moving to cloud, 2) thinking of designing a CI/CD pipeline, and 3) comfortable with taking the time and effort to deploy clusters, then Kubernetes is definitely worth the resources. It will bring much more benefits with almost no tradeoffs. But for small size companies who have few servers, Kubernetes might not be the best choice.
Read this authenticated review
Nitin Pasumarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Kubernetes, a good cluster management system to place bets on

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kubernetes is currently used as an experimental product for building and managing Machine Learning pipelines (ML) at LinkedIn. It is currently used by very few teams to access GPU clusters. Kubernetes makes it easy to deploy training and monitoring workloads on clusters really simple with a robust CLI. It has a very small learning curve as is mainly driven by config files.
  • Complex cluster management can be done with simple commands with strong authentication and authorization schemes
  • Exhaustive documentation and open community smoothens the learning process
  • As a user a few concepts like pod, deployment and service are sufficient to go a long way
  • We had several problems with its NFS, which is responsible for syncing the code across the cluster
  • On several instances the pods go into UNKNOWN state in which case restarting the entire node is the only solution
  • As a user of the existing setup given to me, I wasn't able to allocate only some CPU cores on a single host. It was either all or zero making cluster utilization sub-optimal
  1. Kubernetes is very easy to get started and to set up
  2. It has various deployment options, file systems and service types making it suitable for several use cases besides Machine Learning
  3. Extends the functionality of Docker's rich functionality making it a deadly combination
  4. The rough edges in file system, utilization and resource management should be fixed to be adopted as a standard in a company
  5. Its extremely vast Python library makes it easy to build services on top of kubernetes. However the API is quite complex and documentation is quite poor
Read Nitin Pasumarthy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Kubernetes, managing the future

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kubernetes at a department level and across the whole organization. At a department level, we use Kubernetes to manage our developer environments. These environments are made up of 30 containers containing compilers, single sign-on managers, and various other linting tools. We selected Kubernetes to manage these containers because it's quick to deploy and immensely customizable. Across the organization, we use Kubernetes to manage our customer environments. These environments are made up of ~8 containers running various managed web services. Kubernetes was selected for this because it is open source, scalable, and reliable. This allows us to cost-effectively deploy a solution and be confident that it will perform as needed.
  • Cost-effectiveness, Kubernetes is free and open source.
  • Scalability, Kubernetes works regardless of how many pods it's managing; be it ten or a thousand.
  • Low overhead, Kubernetes adds very little performance cost per developer per machine. The benefits of having a managed system vastly outweigh the minor performance cost.
  • Large market share, Kubernetes is one of the top container orchestration tools used by developers today. This has been immensely helpful when finding new talent who are familiar with Kubernetes.
  • Local development, Kubernetes does tend to be a bit complicated and unnecessary in environments where all development is done locally.
  • The need for add-ons, Helm is almost required when running Kubernetes. This brings a whole new tool to manage and learn before a developer can really start to use Kubernetes effectively.
  • Finicy configmap schemes. Kubernetes configmaps often have environment breaking hangups. The fail safes surrounding configmaps are sadly lacking.
Kubernetes is well suited for environments where products are hosted on AWS or another managed server, and where multiple software products need to all work together. When working with a managed server Kubernetes gives us a single point that allows us to control the entire environment. This has proved to be immensely helpful when working on large systems because it keeps track of nodes at no extra cost.

Kubernetes is less suited for environments where all development is done locally, the cost of getting all the nodes running often outweighs the potential benefits when a developer can access all the containers locally.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2018

Kubernetes - the App Deployment Platform of the Future Today!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kubernetes has become the microservice container orchestration platform of choice. All our software deployed into Kubernetes - including public websites.
  • Scales extremely well
  • Handles proper rolling updates of microservices
  • Makes it super easy to establish a proper CI/CD pipeline
  • Makes it easy for developers to adopt and therefore use
  • Could improve user access. Currently uses RBAC - but depending on your implementation (i.e. Amazon EKS) - setting up permissions and adding users to the cluster that are to use the cluster only is sometimes challenging.
  • Security can always be improved
  • Hooks for identity management; there are open source projects (i.e. Dex) - would be nice to see these adopted to the mainline
  • UI Dashboard needs some major improvments
Kubernetes is well suited for deployment of container based applications and microservices. Anything that doesn’t require a lot of disk space (i.e. a database) works really well with this system.
Read this authenticated review
Adam Eivy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2017

Worth the Learning Curve

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kubernetes has massively simplified and sped up the management of microservices deployed within my team. If we need to spin up a new service, even if it doesn't relate to the other services in the cluster, we can simply deploy the docker container to the cluster, complete with service discovery, configuration management, autoscale and fault tolerance. This is invaluable.
  • Fault tolerance - the things it does under the hood to handle failure is near magical.
  • Configuration management - the ease of managing configs and secrets in kubernetes makes it a snap for integrating services.
  • Service discovery - getting services to talk to each other with automated internal DNS and service-discovery makes shipping service dependencies easy.
  • Speed of error detection - many times, in attempting to fix a problem, I found that kubernetes just had a delay in handling an automated fix. By changing the system, I was playing a cat and mouse game with kubernetes' attempts to auto-fix the error.
  • Sensible logging - many of the logs are difficult to decipher and too verbose to be useful.
  • The learning curve is high - it took many months of working with Google, in which both I and Google Support Engineers learned a lot about how Kubernetes works. The learning curve is not for people looking for quick and easy out of the box.
If you are managing microservices, need service-discovery, autoscale and config management, kubernetes provides everything you need right out of the gate with simple YAML config files, allowing you to store your infrastructure as code within your repos. Kubernetes works best with non-homogenous loads, so putting multiple types of services into the cluster that utilize different components (memory, CPU, network) will provide better results than a single service that takes up one type of resource.
Read Adam Eivy's full review
Jake Luby | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2017

Easiest containerized deploy, bar none!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across many departments, with more being added every day. My team was one of the first teams to use Kubernetes 8 for our microservice deployments. It addresses the problem of HDHA applications, agile development, rolling deployments with no downtime. We are also utilizing its service discovery with spring boot admin to provide node level details for all nodes in the cluster.
  • Single process microservice containerization that can be scaled up and down at a moments notice.
  • Rolling deployments with zero downtime.
  • Artifactory/DockerHub integration for deploying from an artifact repo.
  • Spring Boot integration with configmaps & secret managment.
  • Ingress is HTTP only, so something that is TCP only must be in the cluster.
  • Multi-process containers don't behave well.
  • Sizing constraints cause slow startups for Spring Boot apps.
  • Ingress' are slow to start up.
It is well suited for stateless microservices (single APIs that perform a single function, message consumers/producers, single session UIs, etc.). It is also great for teams that are deploying a lot since they are fast and rolling with no pods being down. It is not well suited for things that require a state or any kind of persistence layer in the app or cluster.
Read Jake Luby's full review
Manish Rajkarnikar | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2017

Poor man's review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Whole organization.
  • Used as a PaaS.
  • Used to deploy mostly stateless and cloud-ready apps.
  • Solves the problem of immutable infrastructure. No need for Chef, Puppet or Ansible.
  • Low learning curve for users.
  • Apps start on failure, can auto scale; burst into cloud;
  • Infra is cloud agnostic; works in an in-house datacenter too. Gives leverage to mangement for negotiations with cloud providers
  • Container orchestration
  • Application scale up and down
  • Good PaaS with fluentd, service discovery, secrets etc.
  • Huge community support
  • Free kubeconfig video, which is awesome
  • Quick releases (every quarter)
  • Extensive documentation. Design discussion and decisions are all documented.
  • Huge ecosystem and a lot of tools built around it. A lot of companies are behind it (Google, Microsoft, Coreos etc.). This project is not going anywhere.
  • Better documentation; no document versioning. Stuff is all over. It's difficult to find the right stuff sometimes.
  • Easy installation. kubeadm is partly there but not fully HA; minikube is awesome but does not work for multi-node installation; other installation such as kops, kargo are Anisible based, not fully immutable.
[Kubernetes is] suited for running docker containers in scale. I would not use it for running stuff like Cassandra, Hadoop, or a stateful application. Although they have stateful sets/pvc/pv. It's not there yet.
Read Manish Rajkarnikar's full review
David Long, SPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2017

The best way to run your containers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For managing containers across a cluster of servers, I won't use anything but Kubernetes. It makes scheduling containers extremely easy. Bundling applications that we develop into Docker images has made deployment a really simple process for us. It's made it so that we don't have to think too much about the clash that comes of running multiple applications on the same set of hosts. It's also helped our engineers to write idempotent applications better because we scale up and down often.
  • Container Scheduling
  • Deployments
  • Extensibility
  • SSL Management
  • Cluster Installation
  • Ingress Management
Kubernetes handles web applications wrapped into containers really well. Essentially, if it's something that you can containerize, Kubernetes will run it well. You can allocate resources towards specific containers if you have some that need more resources than others. Putting a service in front of containers makes it easy to communicate between pods of containers or the outside world.
Read David Long, SPA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2018

Kubernetes is "the" tool for Docker orchestration

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We as an organization have very diverse hardware infrastructure. We have our own data centers and multiple cloud providers. The technologies we use are also again very diverse, we use VMs, containers as well as server-less technologies. When it comes to container technologies we are using Docker and orchestrate it with Kubernetes. In most of the cases, each Business unit have their own Kubernetes clusters for application hosting, and categorize it separately for preproduction and production environments.
  • Kubernetes can run anywhere, i.e in in-house datacenters as well as in Public cloud
  • Very efficient management of containers and self healing.
  • Out of the box Automated deployment and rollbacks. And support for many deployment strategies like blue-green, rolling update and recreate.
  • Efficient secret and configuration management
  • Understanding Kubernetes is little hard and has a steep learning curve.
  • Kubernetes is complex, it has its own concepts called pods, services and deployments.
  • Debugging and troubleshooting in Kubernetes is quite hard and requires experience.
Kubernetes is a container-centric platform which can be run on in house data centers as well as public cloud. It is not only a platform run Docker containers, but also a very efficient network and application orchestrator. It has very powerful robust and extensible APIs. It is mostly declarative.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2017

Kubernetes, a perfect home-grown container infrastructure management solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kubernetes was used in my organization by a specific department. The business problem it attempted to address was resource allocation and scheduling. Creating and tearing down containers at will dependant on resource demand. These resources provided API services to the front-end website.
  • Resource allocation and scheduling.
  • Managing container instances and run-files.
  • Allowing for infrastructure as code.
  • Usability and user friendliness.
  • There is no front end and anything attempting to provide a self-service model must be created currently.
  • It uses pretty new technologies so there is a relatively steep learning curve.
Any sort of stateless service that is under heavy utilization or demand is a great candidate for containers in general and therefore kubernetes. Kubernetes should not be implemented in a specific department or for specific purposes. It is a general solution to a large problem and should be put to use accordingly.
Read this authenticated review

About Kubernetes

Kubernetes is an open-source container cluster manager.
Categories:  Container Management

Kubernetes Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No