New Relic Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
146 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 46)

Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2020

New Relic Provides Visibility Across our Entire Fleet of Applications and Cloud Resources

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is being used by many teams within my organization and other departments in the company. We use it as a centralized monitoring and reporting application across our web application fleet. In particular, we use New Relic for Application Performance Monitoring (APM), Synthetics monitoring, Infrastructure monitoring, and alerting across all of these.
  • Monitoring and alerting.
  • Application Performance Monitoring (APM).
  • Synthetics monitoring for web applications.
  • Charts and displays.
  • Data aggregation.
  • I appreciate New Relic's push to get all products into their new interface, New Relic One. As I'm writing this though, many of the products span the legacy interface and the next generation interface. This can be frustrating at times.
  • When alerts are triggered, it sometimes takes several clicks to drill down from the notification to the root of the issue.
  • This may not be a New Relic problem but, we use the Slack integration for notifications. In the past, we've been able to acknowledge alerts from Slack. This functionality seems to have been removed. Now it takes a couple more clicks to get from the alert to the acknowledgement. This is not critical but sometimes every second counts in terms of meeting SLAs.
I appreciate that New Relic is easily integrated into applications for APM and infrastructure for monitoring.

Our applications are Ruby on Rails apps and getting them reporting into New Relic is easy to implement. In most cases, it just requires adding the "newrelic" gem and updating the "newrelic.yml" configuration file. Just this simple addition to a project gives us an entrypoint to analyzing performance.

We use the New Relic Infrastructure agent by default on all of our cloud based servers. We have this set up with Chef so we don't even think about it; we just spin servers up and go. Minutes later they're reporting into New Relic. We use Terraform to automatically create monitors so we can keep track of the essentials like core processes, disk, CPU, and memory.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

New Relic: Good tool for APM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The New Relic monitoring tool is used by 3 departments: Monitoring, Dev, and Product team. For each team, the tool delivers necessary information about product, release performance, and user experience. From the business perspective, we can see how the product works, analyze it if the last release was the one they expected. It helps the team to work around one source of data, which accelerates the whole process.
  • Real user monitoring module data is best part of this tool
  • NRQL is simple and useful part of tool
  • Using New Relic API, integration can be done with everything
  • Insight basic package saves only 9 days' data. I think it should be more, considering the price.
  • APM module needs some improvement--code-level visibility and advanced root cause analysis should be the next steps.
New Relic has great results if using the RUM module. Data delivered by that module is simple to understand and can be analyzed by using NRQL. Alerts channels are easy to integrate into any chat ops software. APM module is rich with useful data and the performance of staging is good. The production environment can be seen by APM. I would like to have more detailed info when some degradation or errors can be seen by the module.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

Help understand your application and also allocate better your infrastructure resources

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by the developers working on the application. New Relic helps the team to find bottlenecks and performance problems introduced with the changes. It also helps to break the request flow into several steps so we can understand how the application works under the hood and how we have to tackle problems.
  • Performance metrics are great.
  • Connection between systems is fantastic, especially when you're working with microservices.
  • The breakdown of pieces in the application is very nice.
  • The price is still high compared with competitors.
  • If you want to stay on the free plan, there's not much to compare since you will lose the history.
I would use New Relic on every new Rails application I build. I can see how useful it is and I've been doing that for years now. When you have multiple applications and want to understand what is going all between all of them, New Relic is also a great choice. You can "tag" the request and New Relic will create a map for you.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Very helpful, powerful and cost effective tool to make your applications faster and stable

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is configured at our main company website. It is used to view traffic load, CPU load, memory load, response time, latencies and errors. Since the website uses a very heavy back end, New Relic gives us detailed information regarding all processes that cause the most latency. We can then drill down to the heaviest processes and perform tweaks with surgical precision. This helped us to make the website at least 80% faster which we couldn't have done otherwise. After this period of tweaking, we did not use New Relic very often. In fact, I don't think it's very relevant for us right now.
  • Drilling down into processes to code level.
  • Detailed information regarding unhandled errors.
  • Drilling down into code sometimes stops once you get to a point where you can't go any further.
  • Client side load profiling is not always helpful.
Well suited to find the processes that cause the bulk of CPU load, network load, memory load etc., etc. Find very detailed logging on unhandled errors that you wouldn't have found out without New Relic. You can drill down into the function tree to get to that single database call that caused the website 6 seconds to load.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

New Relic is a solid performer for broad environments

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is used for application performance evaluation as well as monitoring of current web application performance. We also used it for monitoring the hardware and virtual machines that the software was running on. The most valuable feature is application insights in being able to look at performance run time of database queries and execution of sections of code.
  • Database query performance.
  • Stability of agents installed in a wide variety of environments.
  • Poor ability to provide deep insight into code and applications that are not the top 2-3 languages/apps.
  • Pricing is very high, and you feel like you are nickel and dimed on additional features.
New Relic is appropriate for large enterprise organizations with large teams and in house data centers. For smaller businesses, or where cloud computing is heavily used, or where you have a specific language that is your sole focus, I believe there are more modern tools that will give better insights into specific platforms. New Relic, in my opinion, is the HP Openview of app performance. It covers a broad spectrum, but depth is lacking.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

New Relic to solve all your monitoring needs!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using New Relic for monitoring purposes. Since we are operating an IT infrastructure made of tens of thousands of servers we have to monitor the CPUs, memory usage and hard drives. On the other hand, we have applications that process millions of customers' requests - we use New Relic to monitor their processing times, request and response sizes, etc. as well.
  • It supports custom-built plugins to process arbitrary types of data.
  • It is delivered using a software as a service model.
  • It is prone to metric grouping issues.
  • It is possible that injection of Javascript may cause problems with your websites.
New Relic is a perfect choice if your use case allows for sending metrics from your servers or consumer end-devices. It will enable you to monitor your databases, queues, virtual machines or virtually any other infrastructure components. It will not work well if your customers restrict their data from being transferred to the cloud service providers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

Effective, simple monitoring

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most teams at my company are using New Relic to monitor applications. We use it to keep track of performance over time, identify abnormal spikes, and dig into the specifics of performance problems so we know where to look when things go wrong. It's a huge time-saver and helps developers debug production issues more quickly.
  • Great graphs and charts
  • Out-of-the-box Rails integration
  • Integration with alerting tools
  • It would be great to be able to drill down even further to line numbers in the Rails plugin.
  • Since our whole company uses New Relic, there are hundreds of apps in our account. It would be nice to be able to "pin" apps for quick access.
New Relic gets you 80% of the way there when it comes to application monitoring and performance tooling. It is easy to set up with a simple gem install, and gives you actionable information right out of the box. For application platforms where their integration is robust and widely used (like Rails), this is especially true.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Acquia site monitoring tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use New Relic to get stats on page hits and performance metrics of our website, hosted on Acquia. We use it to monitor slow SQL queries and also page load times and get statistics on browser types as well as what device is accessing our site's pages. It is also the default performance monitoring tool for Acquia sites.
  • Integrated tightly in Acquia environment
  • Easy to setup
  • Granular reports and statistics
  • Easy to forget about it as the integration is seamless
  • Interface can be very confusing as there are many parameters being monitored
Well suited for monitoring our Acquia website. We have not tried it on any other internet-facing service.

Probably overkill for any internal sites or servers as it monitors too many parameters and may be cumbersome to manage. The management interface is too cluttered and cannot be customized to only monitor deployed agents. Maybe I do not know how to do that.
Read this authenticated review
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2019

One of the best surveillance (Monitoring) systems for your application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic gives us the performances of our application. Monitoring the application becomes a very crucial part, it gives us whether the servers are running, from where the runtime errors are coming, it even provides the database query performances. We are using New Relic in the Monitory and software testing department.
We are using it for the basic server monitoring also, we have layers in the application, data layer, orchestration layer etc. So each layer has its functions. Using New Relic we are monitoring each layer and web server in order to sort out the errors easily and effortlessly.
  • It is very easy to use and implement in your application.
  • Basic Monitoring service will tell you about your application's performance and whether it is working well or not.
  • Visualisation is what I like the most. Gives you the graphs.
  • Database-related errors also can be monitored using New Relic.
  • For small companies the price is very high.
  • Sometimes I feel the response time is too much. There are some times where I have to wait for minutes to load the software.
  • The dashboard they provided can be simplified, and can be made more user-friendly.
If you have full-fledged web application such as a website then New Relic is very good. But for small companies the price might be high. If you have backend servers which are connected to the Android and IOS apps then New Relic might not be good, there are some other alternatives such as Mixpanels.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Superb Monitoring and Details with Little Setup Time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using New Relic to monitor a growing number of microservices and infrastructure for a major project we are building. New Relic allows us to easily keep an eye on what services are up, what services are down, and what services are having problems. Thanks to the altering and integration features of New Relic, we are notified immediately when a service is having issues and can attend to it right away.
  • Performance Monitoring
  • Detailed Reports
  • Management Interface
  • Configuration through code - Basic items can be configured through code, but being able to set advanced features, like Apdex would be nice.
For detailed performance monitoring, as well as quick setup of services, New Relic does an amazing job. It also does a great job of easily "guiding" you into problematic database calls. If you're looking for specific event tracking, such as how many times a page is viewed, or how many times a user clicks a certain button, New Relic is less suited for that even though there are ways of implementing it.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Powerful application performance monitoring, and tight integration

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using New Relic on almost all of our websites and our clients' websites in order to drill down into the performance of individual functions and help to troubleshoot issues that come up and debug our sites during development. Since it integrates with Pantheon and many other hosting providers and server technologies, we're able to easily pull everything in.
  • New Relic lets you drill down into the nitty-gritty of your application, breaking down requests however far you want in order to inspect the performance of your application throughout the request lifecycle.
  • New Relic offers many integrations with other services and technologies, making it easy to get it set up and start using it.
  • New Relic offers many views and types of visualizations to help you understand what's going on in as much detail as you want to know.
  • The way that New Relic integrates with certain third parties leaves room for improvement. With Pantheon and Cloudways, for example, the websites aren't associated with my NewRelic account, so if I'm already logged in when I click a link for one of those sites, I often run into session issues and have to log out and then click the link again.
  • New Relic can be pricey if it's not included with another service you subscribe to, and if you can't get by with the free features.
  • New Relic is so powerful that it can be hard to understand some levels of what's going on unless you're already familiar with all the concepts it's referencing. Some more contextual help for new users could aid in adoption I think.
If you're concerned about the performance of your application, or you'd like a powerful tool to assist with debugging certain issues and analyzing your function calls, this is one of the best tools available anywhere. If you just need general application monitoring or uptime monitoring, this is overkill.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Jayson E. Conry | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

New Relic APM is Quick and Easy!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic APM is currently being used as a consolidation tool. As our organization is shifting focus into the cloud, utilization of native SaaS is of specific value. We had initially started by monitoring our external websites and have now begun expanding into our internal sites as well as mobile applications. This gives us a better understanding of end-user customer experience and quickly allows us to improve customer experience.
  • Ease of configuration makes it quick to apply and begin receiving and reviewing of data.
  • Dashboarding is intuitive and easy to understand.
  • The depth of data collected allows for more details application development.
  • From an end user stand point only seeing the "Top" isn't as helpful as it could be if multiple sources are associated to the same JVM.
  • From an administrative standpoint, the inability to take default dashboards and dissect them within insights makes it less intuitive to recreate for other processes.
Step transactions and Web URL sequence monitoring is more difficult than it could be. Having a recorder process would take this tool to the next level. That said, the console is so easy to use that there is hardly any training required to access data you need to find or view.
Read Jayson E. Conry's full review
Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2019

New Relic for real-time alerts

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used a couple of different tiers of New Relic. Our Dev Ops manager first used it to track all bugs, issues, and uptime, giving us alerts and warnings to help us proactively manage our applications. Now we use it more as a traffic monitoring tool, helping us know how our server is performing against traffic and demand.
  • Very thorough with alerts and emails.
  • Immediate responses to issues.
  • Provided a great weekly summary for traffic and issues.
  • Alert management was difficult at first -- you really get too many if you don't curate them.
  • The setup and fine-tuning took us a bit to figure out, but settled down after we normalized.
When you need automated alerts and good traffic data, New Relic is a great tool. You definitely get what you pay for, and while New Relic is priced competitively, it gives a lot more than the free or cheaper solutions.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
Eugene Bos | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2019

The best application and server monitoring tool I ever found

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using New Relic to monitor the performance of our applications. This is much better than just tracking CPU and memory usage or response time of a web-server as it really shows how quick it works for end users. Plus, I like the interface, on one screen you see the app score, web transaction time, requests per minute, as well I may quickly check for errors and many other small things.
  • Measuring Application performance score (instead of just CPU or memory usage)
  • All important information about an application's server on one screen
  • Has a free plan
  • Easy to set up
  • Price is too expensive for small virtual servers (like the ones for $10-20 a month)
If some issue happens with an application I go directly to New Relic's dashboard where I can see immediately what happened and therefore quickly fix the problem. You can see how different layers of your application perform there and immediately identify in some cases where the problem arises from.
Read Eugene Bos's full review
Matthew Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2019

New Relic, The Ultimate Application Performance Monitoring Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NewRelic primarily for application performance management (APM), though have enabled a few of the optional extras (infrastructure, as an example). The software makes it easy for us to find performance bottlenecks in code while making system up-time monitoring simplistic and efficient.

Insights allow us to create useful dashboards to keep a close eye on web server errors, CPU usage, transaction deviation and more.
  • Simplifies bottleneck diagnostics
  • Create alerts easily for system events (errors, traffic, 404-ing etc) and integrate easily with third parties
  • Monitor web page performance & site usage
  • Steep learning curve
  • No Apple Watch app, though the NewRelic iOS app can flag alerts on your watch, if you have them configured
New Relic is very well suited to identify performance bottlenecks and identify areas where there's room for improvement in your application. It narrows down the time and resource consumption to a method-level which makes it much simpler for developers to implement performance enhancements and apply fixes more practically than out in the wild.
Read Matthew Berry's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

Much better than New Coke, you need to try New Relic today!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Implemented across the entire organization, New Relic has been the platform that enabled our migration to Cloud IaaS and PaaS over the past 2 years. We use it with AWS, GCP, and Azure and across a wide variety of Linux and Windows OS flavors. We needed a way to empower teams with granular visibility into their infrastructure, applications, and the components that made it all work. With a goal to implement a Digital Experience Monitoring strategy aligned with the Gartner AIOps model (Algorithmic IT Operations), we found New Relic's suite of products delivered the best cost/benefit ratio.
  • Granular visibility into time-series data.
  • API allowing data to be written to a common dataset (Insights) and then visualized.
  • Almost captures the unicorn of a "single pane of glass" view.
  • Cloud-centric / OS-centric. There is no/limited ability to query metrics with an agent installed.
  • Insights-based queries (dashboards and alerts) are limited to 1000 (soon to be 2000) records and that doesn't work for enterprise scale.
  • NRQL is awesome -- except when it isn't. The replacement QL is more robust but is significantly more complex to learn.
  • No agent management tools in the platform. And, yes, you will want agent management tools after the first dozen or so deployments.
Do you need to monitor OS-based workloads? Do you have a mix of on-prem and Cloud instances? Do you need to have a converged view to see your OS, application, real-user monitoring (REUM), Synthetics, and other time-series data? New Relic is the platform that can deliver on those requirements.

Their technical support one of the best engagements we have had with a vendor. Exemplary in every way!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2019

Comprehensive Application Performance Monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering team at my company uses New Relic to monitor our application's performance. We use it to trace errors and track the latency of our back-end services. New Relic helps us to detect defects and performance problems before our customers do. We also use New Relic to prioritize improvements to the performance of our services and databases.
  • New Relic's PagerDuty integration is essential. It helps the right people know when there are problems.
  • Error monitoring is great. Traces help us understand defects quickly.
  • New Relic is great for measuring the throughput and latency of different transactions. It helps us understand what proportion of the time is spent in different layers of the application.
  • New Relic can instrument many web frameworks out-of-the-box, but some of the less-popular frameworks require development.
  • It can be hard to express that some 400-series responses are acceptable and expected, but that an unusual volume of them could be a defect.
  • New Relic is very expensive, particularly if you have many QA environments.
New Relic is a great choice for monitoring the performance of your back-end. New Relic integrates with PagerDuty and supports many common web frameworks out-of-the-box. Error traces and transaction monitoring are valuable tools for detecting problems and prioritizing improvements. The thread profiler has helped us to understand some defects that were tricky to reproduce. The service maps it generates are useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

NewRelic great for tech companies both small and large

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used NewRelic across all departments in the organization. It allowed us to give visibility into different metrics of the backing database. Also allows for easy construction of dashboards for accurate graphic representation of data across the organizations relevant to the different departments; whether it is tracking usage of a new feature, installs, or unique events.
  • Charting of data.
  • Easy SQL query backed reporting.
  • Easier navigation.
  • More guidance for those that don't know SQL.
Great dashboarding capabilities. Can build out reports of any level of complexity.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

New Relic helps you keep a critical online service up and running.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using New Relic in a Django project, a site with high traffic and a subscription service, that's why it is important for us to have a solid monitoring system for our clients. In this particular case we are using New Relic to be sure that our site remains fast, reliable, and lets us react quickly to any major or minor error. New Relic also helps us monitoring the application to know if every part in the stack is working properly.
  • Show detailed information about the performance of code functions and SQL queries.
  • Monitor the CPU, memory, and I/O usage of a Linux server.
  • Manage and send alerts about critical issues in your project.
  • The web dashboard frontend is sometimes slow.
  • Pricing model is too big business oriented, it is expensive for startups.
After my experience, I found New Relic well suited if you have a critical online service or product and also a dedicated team to mantain and improve it over time. New Relic gives you a lot of interesting data to help you make technical and customer related decisions. One of our services is a web application where users can buy services between them, and it's critical for us to keep all services up and running without errors.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

New Relic Insights is must-have for small technology teams running their website in-house

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic Insights is used by my organization's technology and web development team. It is used to monitor website uptime, troubleshoot site outages, and track code deployments. New Relic also monitors website and database speeds and provides an "Apdex" score, which tells the team how many users are having a smooth experience on our website.
  • Monitoring of web transaction times -- New Relic does a great job of showing us how quickly our site is loading and what processes are slowing it down. It breaks site speed into several categories, such as querying, back-end code, caching, etc., which allows us to more easily improve site speed.
  • Alerts -- New Relic sends alerts whenever the site goes down or site speed drops below a particular threshold. This is very helpful in minimizing downtime.
  • Error analytics -- with the New Relic pro plan, you can quickly and graphically identify any site errors that may cause lags or downtime.
  • User interface -- the interface is too complicated for non-technical users to operate. Only those experienced in server management and code will benefit from the product.
  • Pricing -- there's a free plan, but to get most of the features, it will cost you.
New Relic Insights is well suited for smaller web development teams who do not have the resources to hire a dedicated web server manager. It is also great for teams who deploy code often and need a debugging and monitoring tool. New Relic can save valuable troubleshooting time and frustration by providing excellent insights at all times.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

New Relic is the Standard in App Monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is used in the IT department to monitor servers and our e-commerce website. It provides server-level metrics, JavaScript error monitoring, and uptime monitoring for servers and the website.
  • Server Monitoring
  • App Debugging
  • Uptime Alerts
  • Can get pricey
  • Infrastructure monitoring used to be better (and free)
New Relic works great if you are doing any sort of custom development and run a production web app. I’m not sure however how good the Docker support is because I haven’t used New Relic for that. I have also found that if you use almost exclusively SaaS providers and don’t do custom development there may be more economical options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2019

Greate APM tool option for monitoring and continous improvement

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is used for all our customer environments. We use it for monitoring and improvement purposes. I am a developer who is also started to play a role as DevOps day by day (thinking in DevOps concept is being mandatory each passing day as you most of you could notice). I really observe benefits on many topics in the context of monitoring and innovation especially for the improvement occassions.
  • It is a great tool to discover which processes are most consuming and improve your products.
  • It finds out bottlenecks easily with sufficient visualized graphs. For example, you can quickly get answers of where a received http request did come from and by which method / section (a remote call, db query, a calculation etc).
  • It is also possible to profile your JVM easily (if your app runs on JVM for sure).
  • It can feed your ES data, therefore link to for instance pager duty.
  • Display overall KPIs like rendering time and page load time of a web page. It can be also useful if your app also contains HTML UI.
  • It is not so easy to investigate data by filtering in a specific time window. I hope that UX will be improved. IMO, time picker is not user-friendly.
  • The learning curve might be plaguesome for an ordinal tech guy at first.
  • Don't know pricing terms /strategy or other suff, however our managers' complain about the highness :)
If you have a product which is used by at least 1 customer or you plan to sell more you have to improve. That's why you are going to fix and improve each day. But where to start or in which order / priority? This means you need an APM tool for it. That tool is one of the best and probably what it is cut out for!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2019

Excellent APM tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is used as an APM (application monitoring tool) across our organization. It's SaaS based.

New Relic provides a centralized place to monitor app our applications. Alerts in New Relic are very helpful and help us in the analysis and monitoring of production issues.
  • New Relic provides enough detail to monitor and analyze issues. We have a java based microservice application. New Relic provides all transactions details, time, slow running transaction, JVM, database query details etc. It's easy to analyze issues with New Relic.
  • New Relic provides various key metrics and a dashboard. Metric explorer and dashboard helps in monitoring of applications. Dashboards are easy enough to build.
  • The alerts feature is easy to configure. Email or other alerts can be set up. Alerts have helped us to prevent production issues.
  • Another great feature is the ping service. We use ping on our application URL on regular interval to ensure that app is up and running.
  • It's a little costly. Configuring a mobile app requires a license key which is more costly.
New Relic is well suited to monitor production and non production applications. I use New Relic frequently and it's well suited to analyze issues. It provides so many details that issues are easy to identify and it saves a lot of time. I used to struggle to go through logs before using New Relic. Insights, APM, alerts, ping etc., are great features.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2019

New Relic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use New Relic for application performance monitoring, availability monitoring, logging of historical performance data, infrastructure monitoring, and alerting. Our New Relic dashboards are crucial for troubleshooting and for triaging site incidents. It's always loaded on all support engineer's machines.
  • New Relic's historical APM is one of the best in-class. It's simple to implement and use and provides a very flexible query language for creating monitors.
  • New Relic's UI is simple and elegant. Even our thickest support engineers have an easy time with it.
  • New Relic's infrastructure monitoring is cake to implement and provides tremendous value.
  • I hear New Relic is developing a log aggregation service. That would be a great improvement to the platform.
  • New Relic's agents are a bit greedy with system resources.
New Relic is relevant to all web properties. They have a robust, flexible platform.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Excellent comprehensive Application Monitoring

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is used by our engineering department to track application performance, specifically response times, error rates and unhandled exceptions. It gives a great view as to what is going on under the hood of our web application as well as providing the ability to send alerts to notify our on call engineers as to when something is going wrong.
  • Good support for profiling the main web application frameworks including Microsoft ASP.NET.
  • Provides good insight into database queries that may be causing performance problems.
  • Tracks historical application response times to give a good idea of any outliers in performance.
  • The thread profiling feature is handy however the usability could be improved, it can be hard to setup and determine the results.
  • The configuration of alerts and who is to receive them can be time consuming to set up.
  • The pricing model could be improved, it's pay per connected agent and if you are operating in an environment where machines are transient it's hard to get a grasp as to what you will be charged.
New Relic is great for profiling most web applications and determining what is wrong with them and if they are performing well. It is less appropriate for desktop applications, technically you could integrate with New Relic but there are most likely better options out there for that use case. New Relic also has support for profiling mobile apps but it is not as comprehensive as their web support.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (37)
9.2
Database monitoring (33)
8.0
Threshold alerts (33)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (23)
6.5
Application performance management console (34)
8.1
Collaboration tools (23)
6.4
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (26)
7.5
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (26)
7.4
Virtualization monitoring (19)
7.9
Server availability and performance monitoring (30)
8.5
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (21)
7.8
IT Asset Discovery (10)
6.5

About New Relic

New Relic is an all-in-one web and mobile application performance management provider for the cloud and the datacenter. They provide 24x7 user monitoring and code-level diagnostics for production apps deployed on dedicated infrastructures, the cloud, or hybrid environments and real time end-to-end monitoring for your iOS and Android app’s.

New Relic provides support for applications written in Ruby, Python, PHP, Java, .NET, Node.js and related frameworks. New Relic also partners with leading cloud management, platform, and hosting vendors to provide their customers with instant visibility into the performance of deployed applications.

New Relic also has an open SaaS platform that enables its community of developers, partners and customers to build plugins using open API’s to monitor any technology of their choice, from databases, networks, caching layers and more.

New Relic provides SaaS Application Monitoring for Ruby, PHP, .Net, Java, Python, iOS, and Android Apps.

New Relic Integrations

New Relic Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

New Relic Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No