New Relic Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
153 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2020

New Relic Provides Visibility Across our Entire Fleet of Applications and Cloud Resources

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is being used by many teams within my organization and other departments in the company. We use it as a centralized monitoring and reporting application across our web application fleet. In particular, we use New Relic for Application Performance Monitoring (APM), Synthetics monitoring, Infrastructure monitoring, and alerting across all of these.
  • Monitoring and alerting.
  • Application Performance Monitoring (APM).
  • Synthetics monitoring for web applications.
  • Charts and displays.
  • Data aggregation.
  • I appreciate New Relic's push to get all products into their new interface, New Relic One. As I'm writing this though, many of the products span the legacy interface and the next generation interface. This can be frustrating at times.
  • When alerts are triggered, it sometimes takes several clicks to drill down from the notification to the root of the issue.
  • This may not be a New Relic problem but, we use the Slack integration for notifications. In the past, we've been able to acknowledge alerts from Slack. This functionality seems to have been removed. Now it takes a couple more clicks to get from the alert to the acknowledgement. This is not critical but sometimes every second counts in terms of meeting SLAs.
I appreciate that New Relic is easily integrated into applications for APM and infrastructure for monitoring.

Our applications are Ruby on Rails apps and getting them reporting into New Relic is easy to implement. In most cases, it just requires adding the "newrelic" gem and updating the "newrelic.yml" configuration file. Just this simple addition to a project gives us an entrypoint to analyzing performance.

We use the New Relic Infrastructure agent by default on all of our cloud based servers. We have this set up with Chef so we don't even think about it; we just spin servers up and go. Minutes later they're reporting into New Relic. We use Terraform to automatically create monitors so we can keep track of the essentials like core processes, disk, CPU, and memory.
The full stack view is great for determining exactly where bottlenecks are when it comes to improving performance in our applications. This is particularly true of our applications that connect to multiple sources to retrieve and store data; this includes outside APIs as well as our own APIs and databases. If there are application slow-downs, we can quickly see where the problems are. If it's us, we're empowered to fix the problem.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

New Relic: Good tool for APM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The New Relic monitoring tool is used by 3 departments: Monitoring, Dev, and Product team. For each team, the tool delivers necessary information about product, release performance, and user experience. From the business perspective, we can see how the product works, analyze it if the last release was the one they expected. It helps the team to work around one source of data, which accelerates the whole process.
  • Real user monitoring module data is best part of this tool
  • NRQL is simple and useful part of tool
  • Using New Relic API, integration can be done with everything
  • Insight basic package saves only 9 days' data. I think it should be more, considering the price.
  • APM module needs some improvement--code-level visibility and advanced root cause analysis should be the next steps.
New Relic has great results if using the RUM module. Data delivered by that module is simple to understand and can be analyzed by using NRQL. Alerts channels are easy to integrate into any chat ops software. APM module is rich with useful data and the performance of staging is good. The production environment can be seen by APM. I would like to have more detailed info when some degradation or errors can be seen by the module.
Tool has good visibility of application performance, alerts can be configured for each department to have fast feedback from relevant people involved in fixing process. Before New Relic, the team wasted time trying to find out where to start to check and fix issues. Integration with already-in-use tools gives us the possibility to decrease the time for analyzing. Automation of the incident management process with New Relic data was a good case we started from.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Great APM tool to help you to understand your application

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use New Relic for both our internal systems as well as our cloud product offerings to monitor the health and performance data of our systems. If there is an issue such as outage, New Relic alerts the team of the issue so they can respond to it as soon as possible. Performance data gathered is also sent to the engineering team to help them better understand how the systems are running under various situations, highlighting potential hotspots, and compare results before and after changes.
  • Excellent support for many different technologies such as Java and Node.js.
  • Good support for many cloud platform vendors, making integrating with New Relic straightforward.
  • Excellent in-depth reporting on how the system internal is working.
  • Excellent support for many popular frameworks, provides insights for things that are specific to each framework.
  • Integration with alert tools so team can be notified in real time.
  • Sometimes its agent can cause side effects to your application, such as memory leak, so need to stay on top of releases and bug reports.
  • Can be expensive, and most of its key features require a paid plan.
Very good monitoring solution if you want to understand the ins and outs of your application running in production. Our applications are mostly JVM based, and New Relic is able to tell us about almost everything we need to know about the applications, such as CPU and memory consumption, threads, process stack traces, and more. Truly invaluable as it has helped us to find hotspots in our applications and areas that need improvements.
Our cloud product is primarily a public cloud offering (with private cloud as an option), New Relic is able to monitor our product end to end, from database to application server to front-end UI. This provides us with a single holistic picture of how our application is running. All the monitoring statistics it captures is updated in real time (or close to it) and can also go back in time. This lets both our operations and engineering teams to get a good understanding of the application's performance from few months back to the present.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Very helpful, powerful and cost effective tool to make your applications faster and stable

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is configured at our main company website. It is used to view traffic load, CPU load, memory load, response time, latencies and errors. Since the website uses a very heavy back end, New Relic gives us detailed information regarding all processes that cause the most latency. We can then drill down to the heaviest processes and perform tweaks with surgical precision. This helped us to make the website at least 80% faster which we couldn't have done otherwise. After this period of tweaking, we did not use New Relic very often. In fact, I don't think it's very relevant for us right now.
  • Drilling down into processes to code level.
  • Detailed information regarding unhandled errors.
  • Drilling down into code sometimes stops once you get to a point where you can't go any further.
  • Client side load profiling is not always helpful.
Well suited to find the processes that cause the bulk of CPU load, network load, memory load etc., etc. Find very detailed logging on unhandled errors that you wouldn't have found out without New Relic. You can drill down into the function tree to get to that single database call that caused the website 6 seconds to load.
New Relic is quite powerful when it comes to "private" app performance. It is quite effortless in detecting problem is about any code library no mater how secured. Even with confuscated external party DLL's it can give a meaningful pointer to troublesome function calls. Same goes for database problems, I couldn't believe the detail it gives on database calls that I thought were securely hidden beyond access.
Read this authenticated review
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

Help understand your application and also allocate better your infrastructure resources

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by the developers working on the application. New Relic helps the team to find bottlenecks and performance problems introduced with the changes. It also helps to break the request flow into several steps so we can understand how the application works under the hood and how we have to tackle problems.
  • Performance metrics are great.
  • Connection between systems is fantastic, especially when you're working with microservices.
  • The breakdown of pieces in the application is very nice.
  • The price is still high compared with competitors.
  • If you want to stay on the free plan, there's not much to compare since you will lose the history.
I would use New Relic on every new Rails application I build. I can see how useful it is and I've been doing that for years now. When you have multiple applications and want to understand what is going all between all of them, New Relic is also a great choice. You can "tag" the request and New Relic will create a map for you.
It's helpful for developers and managers to easily see how much resources we have in the infrastructure and how much is being used. The interface is intuitive enough that the engineering manager can understand what is going on and generate his own reports.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

New Relic is a solid performer for broad environments

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is used for application performance evaluation as well as monitoring of current web application performance. We also used it for monitoring the hardware and virtual machines that the software was running on. The most valuable feature is application insights in being able to look at performance run time of database queries and execution of sections of code.
  • Database query performance.
  • Stability of agents installed in a wide variety of environments.
  • Poor ability to provide deep insight into code and applications that are not the top 2-3 languages/apps.
  • Pricing is very high, and you feel like you are nickel and dimed on additional features.
New Relic is appropriate for large enterprise organizations with large teams and in house data centers. For smaller businesses, or where cloud computing is heavily used, or where you have a specific language that is your sole focus, I believe there are more modern tools that will give better insights into specific platforms. New Relic, in my opinion, is the HP Openview of app performance. It covers a broad spectrum, but depth is lacking.
It’s provided insights into the systems and sped triage processes for determining what the cause of the problem is. Generally, there were two events a year where is provided strong valuable information. However, it was generally not useful on a day to day basis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

New Relic to solve all your monitoring needs!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using New Relic for monitoring purposes. Since we are operating an IT infrastructure made of tens of thousands of servers we have to monitor the CPUs, memory usage and hard drives. On the other hand, we have applications that process millions of customers' requests - we use New Relic to monitor their processing times, request and response sizes, etc. as well.
  • It supports custom-built plugins to process arbitrary types of data.
  • It is delivered using a software as a service model.
  • It is prone to metric grouping issues.
  • It is possible that injection of Javascript may cause problems with your websites.
New Relic is a perfect choice if your use case allows for sending metrics from your servers or consumer end-devices. It will enable you to monitor your databases, queues, virtual machines or virtually any other infrastructure components. It will not work well if your customers restrict their data from being transferred to the cloud service providers.
Keeping track of all applications decreased downtime therefore it keeps our business up and running. Problems no longer need to be found manually, so it takes shorter to find the problem and backtrack to the source and as a result, our business no longer goes without critical functions. Since we started using New Relic solution the issues are immediately detected and resolved much faster meaning there are fewer man-hours used and fewer fees are paid.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

Effective, simple monitoring

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most teams at my company are using New Relic to monitor applications. We use it to keep track of performance over time, identify abnormal spikes, and dig into the specifics of performance problems so we know where to look when things go wrong. It's a huge time-saver and helps developers debug production issues more quickly.
  • Great graphs and charts
  • Out-of-the-box Rails integration
  • Integration with alerting tools
  • It would be great to be able to drill down even further to line numbers in the Rails plugin.
  • Since our whole company uses New Relic, there are hundreds of apps in our account. It would be nice to be able to "pin" apps for quick access.
New Relic gets you 80% of the way there when it comes to application monitoring and performance tooling. It is easy to set up with a simple gem install, and gives you actionable information right out of the box. For application platforms where their integration is robust and widely used (like Rails), this is especially true.
New Relic is the first place I go as a developer when our team gets notified of any production issues. It is easy to identify when the problem started and get a general idea for what area to start looking at for a fix. This decreases the time that customer-impacting issues persist in production.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

Much better than New Coke, you need to try New Relic today!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Implemented across the entire organization, New Relic has been the platform that enabled our migration to Cloud IaaS and PaaS over the past 2 years. We use it with AWS, GCP, and Azure and across a wide variety of Linux and Windows OS flavors. We needed a way to empower teams with granular visibility into their infrastructure, applications, and the components that made it all work. With a goal to implement a Digital Experience Monitoring strategy aligned with the Gartner AIOps model (Algorithmic IT Operations), we found New Relic's suite of products delivered the best cost/benefit ratio.
  • Granular visibility into time-series data.
  • API allowing data to be written to a common dataset (Insights) and then visualized.
  • Almost captures the unicorn of a "single pane of glass" view.
  • Cloud-centric / OS-centric. There is no/limited ability to query metrics with an agent installed.
  • Insights-based queries (dashboards and alerts) are limited to 1000 (soon to be 2000) records and that doesn't work for enterprise scale.
  • NRQL is awesome -- except when it isn't. The replacement QL is more robust but is significantly more complex to learn.
  • No agent management tools in the platform. And, yes, you will want agent management tools after the first dozen or so deployments.
Do you need to monitor OS-based workloads? Do you have a mix of on-prem and Cloud instances? Do you need to have a converged view to see your OS, application, real-user monitoring (REUM), Synthetics, and other time-series data? New Relic is the platform that can deliver on those requirements.

Their technical support one of the best engagements we have had with a vendor. Exemplary in every way!
This is really where New Relic shines. As long as you can install an agent, or if your platform has a supported/open API, then New Relic brings together a medley of monitoring and alerting functionality that is hard to find. Blending APM, Infrastructure, web performance, and a (reasonably) robust method of logging time-series data in a common database is really the beauty of the platform. A few other vendors do this as well (SolarWinds Orion does it, but more hardware focused) and it really is a massive differentiation between the various vendors.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Acquia site monitoring tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use New Relic to get stats on page hits and performance metrics of our website, hosted on Acquia. We use it to monitor slow SQL queries and also page load times and get statistics on browser types as well as what device is accessing our site's pages. It is also the default performance monitoring tool for Acquia sites.
  • Integrated tightly in Acquia environment
  • Easy to setup
  • Granular reports and statistics
  • Easy to forget about it as the integration is seamless
  • Interface can be very confusing as there are many parameters being monitored
Well suited for monitoring our Acquia website. We have not tried it on any other internet-facing service.

Probably overkill for any internal sites or servers as it monitors too many parameters and may be cumbersome to manage. The management interface is too cluttered and cannot be customized to only monitor deployed agents. Maybe I do not know how to do that.
Easy to pinpoint performance bottlenecks as the application is monitored in layers and individual components can be appraised separately. We have used NewRelic to analyse the time spent in PHP and average web transaction times. We are thinking of migrating to the Pro level to take advantage of the full array of performance counters.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

NewRelic great for tech companies both small and large

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used NewRelic across all departments in the organization. It allowed us to give visibility into different metrics of the backing database. Also allows for easy construction of dashboards for accurate graphic representation of data across the organizations relevant to the different departments; whether it is tracking usage of a new feature, installs, or unique events.
  • Charting of data.
  • Easy SQL query backed reporting.
  • Easier navigation.
  • More guidance for those that don't know SQL.
Great dashboarding capabilities. Can build out reports of any level of complexity.
We have been able to live track new features as we launched them to see how many clicks something received, and also how many crashes may or may not have been generated from that area. Depending on how much usage a particular beta feature would receive, it could bump or reduce the priority of the next iteration(s).
Read this authenticated review
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2019

One of the best surveillance (Monitoring) systems for your application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic gives us the performances of our application. Monitoring the application becomes a very crucial part, it gives us whether the servers are running, from where the runtime errors are coming, it even provides the database query performances. We are using New Relic in the Monitory and software testing department.
We are using it for the basic server monitoring also, we have layers in the application, data layer, orchestration layer etc. So each layer has its functions. Using New Relic we are monitoring each layer and web server in order to sort out the errors easily and effortlessly.
  • It is very easy to use and implement in your application.
  • Basic Monitoring service will tell you about your application's performance and whether it is working well or not.
  • Visualisation is what I like the most. Gives you the graphs.
  • Database-related errors also can be monitored using New Relic.
  • For small companies the price is very high.
  • Sometimes I feel the response time is too much. There are some times where I have to wait for minutes to load the software.
  • The dashboard they provided can be simplified, and can be made more user-friendly.
If you have full-fledged web application such as a website then New Relic is very good. But for small companies the price might be high. If you have backend servers which are connected to the Android and IOS apps then New Relic might not be good, there are some other alternatives such as Mixpanels.
In my organisation it helps to reduce the time for debugging. Monitoring the application constantly gives you the power to sort out errors in runtime. The performance of the application increases. Also, it helps our customers in several ways, which helped us to improve and get more profit for our company.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Superb Monitoring and Details with Little Setup Time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using New Relic to monitor a growing number of microservices and infrastructure for a major project we are building. New Relic allows us to easily keep an eye on what services are up, what services are down, and what services are having problems. Thanks to the altering and integration features of New Relic, we are notified immediately when a service is having issues and can attend to it right away.
  • Performance Monitoring
  • Detailed Reports
  • Management Interface
  • Configuration through code - Basic items can be configured through code, but being able to set advanced features, like Apdex would be nice.
For detailed performance monitoring, as well as quick setup of services, New Relic does an amazing job. It also does a great job of easily "guiding" you into problematic database calls. If you're looking for specific event tracking, such as how many times a page is viewed, or how many times a user clicks a certain button, New Relic is less suited for that even though there are ways of implementing it.
Being able to see the full stack picture of our application layers, microservices, and databases has allowed us to better configure our architecture to maximize performance without spending too much money. Additionally, we have been able to get more detailed diagnostic details when debugging performance issues, because we are able to more accurately track the client side event all the way down to the database calls.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Powerful application performance monitoring, and tight integration

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using New Relic on almost all of our websites and our clients' websites in order to drill down into the performance of individual functions and help to troubleshoot issues that come up and debug our sites during development. Since it integrates with Pantheon and many other hosting providers and server technologies, we're able to easily pull everything in.
  • New Relic lets you drill down into the nitty-gritty of your application, breaking down requests however far you want in order to inspect the performance of your application throughout the request lifecycle.
  • New Relic offers many integrations with other services and technologies, making it easy to get it set up and start using it.
  • New Relic offers many views and types of visualizations to help you understand what's going on in as much detail as you want to know.
  • The way that New Relic integrates with certain third parties leaves room for improvement. With Pantheon and Cloudways, for example, the websites aren't associated with my NewRelic account, so if I'm already logged in when I click a link for one of those sites, I often run into session issues and have to log out and then click the link again.
  • New Relic can be pricey if it's not included with another service you subscribe to, and if you can't get by with the free features.
  • New Relic is so powerful that it can be hard to understand some levels of what's going on unless you're already familiar with all the concepts it's referencing. Some more contextual help for new users could aid in adoption I think.
If you're concerned about the performance of your application, or you'd like a powerful tool to assist with debugging certain issues and analyzing your function calls, this is one of the best tools available anywhere. If you just need general application monitoring or uptime monitoring, this is overkill.
We mainly use New Relic in the context of single applications and mostly use it in the context of public websites. Nonetheless, New Relic's ability to bring together related services and aspects of an application is powerful and makes it easy to correlate events and analyze the full picture of what's happening.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Excellent comprehensive Application Monitoring

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is used by our engineering department to track application performance, specifically response times, error rates and unhandled exceptions. It gives a great view as to what is going on under the hood of our web application as well as providing the ability to send alerts to notify our on call engineers as to when something is going wrong.
  • Good support for profiling the main web application frameworks including Microsoft ASP.NET.
  • Provides good insight into database queries that may be causing performance problems.
  • Tracks historical application response times to give a good idea of any outliers in performance.
  • The thread profiling feature is handy however the usability could be improved, it can be hard to setup and determine the results.
  • The configuration of alerts and who is to receive them can be time consuming to set up.
  • The pricing model could be improved, it's pay per connected agent and if you are operating in an environment where machines are transient it's hard to get a grasp as to what you will be charged.
New Relic is great for profiling most web applications and determining what is wrong with them and if they are performing well. It is less appropriate for desktop applications, technically you could integrate with New Relic but there are most likely better options out there for that use case. New Relic also has support for profiling mobile apps but it is not as comprehensive as their web support.
Overall the ability to get a good view of what is going on in our application stack has improved customer satisfaction with quicker response times as well as fewer bugs over time. By providing insight into what application errors we are running into in production, we have been able to resolve them before they get out of hand.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
Jayson E. Conry | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

New Relic APM is Quick and Easy!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic APM is currently being used as a consolidation tool. As our organization is shifting focus into the cloud, utilization of native SaaS is of specific value. We had initially started by monitoring our external websites and have now begun expanding into our internal sites as well as mobile applications. This gives us a better understanding of end-user customer experience and quickly allows us to improve customer experience.
  • Ease of configuration makes it quick to apply and begin receiving and reviewing of data.
  • Dashboarding is intuitive and easy to understand.
  • The depth of data collected allows for more details application development.
  • From an end user stand point only seeing the "Top" isn't as helpful as it could be if multiple sources are associated to the same JVM.
  • From an administrative standpoint, the inability to take default dashboards and dissect them within insights makes it less intuitive to recreate for other processes.
Step transactions and Web URL sequence monitoring is more difficult than it could be. Having a recorder process would take this tool to the next level. That said, the console is so easy to use that there is hardly any training required to access data you need to find or view.
Unfortunately as a whole, they have not as we have certain options that we cannot use due to the sensitivity of the data we have that cannot be touched via SaaS solutions.

that said, there are certain DevOps teams that have been able to use the tool to test out processes that were then able to be traced as they were able to scrub sensitive data.
There are times I feel that the initial support is lacking. And in some cases the automated responses of not hearing anything are annoying if the reason why there has been no movement is because we are still waiting to hear back from NR support. So, i think they should loose the automation as it can seem disingenuous.
It really is so easy to use and if you are stuck, the how to video's are spot on!!!
It's easy to scale. However, it isn't as easy to keep track of costs and who own's what/
Read Jayson E. Conry's full review
Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2019

New Relic for real-time alerts

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used a couple of different tiers of New Relic. Our Dev Ops manager first used it to track all bugs, issues, and uptime, giving us alerts and warnings to help us proactively manage our applications. Now we use it more as a traffic monitoring tool, helping us know how our server is performing against traffic and demand.
  • Very thorough with alerts and emails.
  • Immediate responses to issues.
  • Provided a great weekly summary for traffic and issues.
  • Alert management was difficult at first -- you really get too many if you don't curate them.
  • The setup and fine-tuning took us a bit to figure out, but settled down after we normalized.
When you need automated alerts and good traffic data, New Relic is a great tool. You definitely get what you pay for, and while New Relic is priced competitively, it gives a lot more than the free or cheaper solutions.
We mostly use private virtual servers, but New Relic has performed well on that platform, giving us real-time results and alerts.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
Eugene Bos | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2019

The best application and server monitoring tool I ever found

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using New Relic to monitor the performance of our applications. This is much better than just tracking CPU and memory usage or response time of a web-server as it really shows how quick it works for end users. Plus, I like the interface, on one screen you see the app score, web transaction time, requests per minute, as well I may quickly check for errors and many other small things.
  • Measuring Application performance score (instead of just CPU or memory usage)
  • All important information about an application's server on one screen
  • Has a free plan
  • Easy to set up
  • Price is too expensive for small virtual servers (like the ones for $10-20 a month)
If some issue happens with an application I go directly to New Relic's dashboard where I can see immediately what happened and therefore quickly fix the problem. You can see how different layers of your application perform there and immediately identify in some cases where the problem arises from.
It helps to save time when some problem with applications arises as well as saving time while trying to improve the performance of applications (as you can see weak points pretty easily). It is very useful to have all the data in the same place, especially if you are managing a lot of servers.
Read Eugene Bos's full review
Matthew Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2019

New Relic, The Ultimate Application Performance Monitoring Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NewRelic primarily for application performance management (APM), though have enabled a few of the optional extras (infrastructure, as an example). The software makes it easy for us to find performance bottlenecks in code while making system up-time monitoring simplistic and efficient.

Insights allow us to create useful dashboards to keep a close eye on web server errors, CPU usage, transaction deviation and more.
  • Simplifies bottleneck diagnostics
  • Create alerts easily for system events (errors, traffic, 404-ing etc) and integrate easily with third parties
  • Monitor web page performance & site usage
  • Steep learning curve
  • No Apple Watch app, though the NewRelic iOS app can flag alerts on your watch, if you have them configured
New Relic is very well suited to identify performance bottlenecks and identify areas where there's room for improvement in your application. It narrows down the time and resource consumption to a method-level which makes it much simpler for developers to implement performance enhancements and apply fixes more practically than out in the wild.
Read Matthew Berry's full review
Angus Bagchee | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

New Relic is not new, but it certainly is a leading APM solution.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is being used for application performance monitoring as well as for outage root cause analyses. It is used company-wide. New Relic mainly addresses business continuity and performance requirements for business.
  • Presentation of APM data in a concise and easy to visualize format in dashboards.
  • Ability to drill down into details.
  • Recent thrust into making better AI-based dynamic baselining offers has great potential.
  • Dashboards are somewhat cluttered and can use a sharper look and feel. I would prefer a more minimalistic approach.
  • Ability to discover processes is not always without errors.
  • The pricing model can be a bit more flexible (and affordable).
Well suited for bootstrapping an APM program.
Read Angus Bagchee's full review
John Grosjean | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

World Class Application Monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our SaaS platform is used for healthcare, so uptime is absolutely critical. Almost everyone uses New Relic or the data from New Relic. Our engineering department gets paged if there's a problem, Software QA uses it to benchmark website performance, and the customer support and sales teams use it to measure how we're doing with our SLAs. Without it, we'd be almost totally in the dark as to how our application was behaving.
  • A single tool to rule them all! New Relic can give you almost any kind of performance data you'd like to see. I wouldn't quite say it's single-pane of glass since their modules are discrete with minimal cross-links, but having several views into your application with a single tool is pretty powerful!
  • Their APM module is first class. I think AppDynamics and DataDog might be about their closest competitors, but most everyone else just doesn't compete. I even had a hardware monitoring vendor tell me they had an APM offering that was far cheaper than New Relic, but by his own admission, was not worth considering if put next to New Relic's APM.
  • Plugins. This is a pro and a con, as it's nice that you can extend their monitoring sets, but we would like some of this to be part of their standard offering. It is possible to set up your own data channels though, and monitor pretty much any customer metric you'd like to!
  • Price. This is the biggest issue for us. It's far from cheap. But every time we look at other options, it seems pretty clear that you get what you pay for.
  • Plugins again. While it's nice that you can feed your own custom data into New Relic, there are some things that seem really odd considering that they aren't working by default. Some examples: Monitoring AWS infrastructure via CloudWatch, db performance (APM is application side only, isn't clear about what's going on at the DB layer), etc.
  • API keys are really, really confusing. While this is such a small little thing, the moment you start integrating New Relic with other tools such as Dashboards, it'll drive you bonkers. There are three different types of API keys, the documentation isn't overly clear about which one gets you the data you want, and it doesn't follow user ACLs at all. For certain data, the user must be a full admin just to get read access. They really ought to overhaul this, allow service accounts, allow each API key to access all data based on the associated account's ACL, and have all API keys tied directly to an account/ACL.
I think the biggest factor here is price. If you can get by with something cheaper, then great. Other people do basic up/down monitoring, and New Relic's biggest strength seems to be APM. But if downtime is money lost, reputation, etc, then you really need to consider two factors. One, of course, is the application's status, but it's also quite valuable to have historical data and the right tools to identify the issue and get the application healthy again. A cheaper tool might tell you the health of the application, but if it doesn't help you quickly fix any problems, it's only half of what you need. New Relic is worth the extra cost for us, as it gives us much more data to work with so we can address issues quickly.
Read John Grosjean's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2019

Comprehensive Application Performance Monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering team at my company uses New Relic to monitor our application's performance. We use it to trace errors and track the latency of our back-end services. New Relic helps us to detect defects and performance problems before our customers do. We also use New Relic to prioritize improvements to the performance of our services and databases.
  • New Relic's PagerDuty integration is essential. It helps the right people know when there are problems.
  • Error monitoring is great. Traces help us understand defects quickly.
  • New Relic is great for measuring the throughput and latency of different transactions. It helps us understand what proportion of the time is spent in different layers of the application.
  • New Relic can instrument many web frameworks out-of-the-box, but some of the less-popular frameworks require development.
  • It can be hard to express that some 400-series responses are acceptable and expected, but that an unusual volume of them could be a defect.
  • New Relic is very expensive, particularly if you have many QA environments.
New Relic is a great choice for monitoring the performance of your back-end. New Relic integrates with PagerDuty and supports many common web frameworks out-of-the-box. Error traces and transaction monitoring are valuable tools for detecting problems and prioritizing improvements. The thread profiler has helped us to understand some defects that were tricky to reproduce. The service maps it generates are useful.
We use New Relic primarily to measure the performance of our application back-end. Tracking the frequencies of different types of errors allows us to detect problems before they affect our customers. Tracking the latency of transactions helps us to understand how to prioritize improvements. It also helps us understand how to scale our back-end infrastructure as we grow.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

New Relic helps you keep a critical online service up and running.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using New Relic in a Django project, a site with high traffic and a subscription service, that's why it is important for us to have a solid monitoring system for our clients. In this particular case we are using New Relic to be sure that our site remains fast, reliable, and lets us react quickly to any major or minor error. New Relic also helps us monitoring the application to know if every part in the stack is working properly.
  • Show detailed information about the performance of code functions and SQL queries.
  • Monitor the CPU, memory, and I/O usage of a Linux server.
  • Manage and send alerts about critical issues in your project.
  • The web dashboard frontend is sometimes slow.
  • Pricing model is too big business oriented, it is expensive for startups.
After my experience, I found New Relic well suited if you have a critical online service or product and also a dedicated team to mantain and improve it over time. New Relic gives you a lot of interesting data to help you make technical and customer related decisions. One of our services is a web application where users can buy services between them, and it's critical for us to keep all services up and running without errors.
We have a considerable number of web and eCommerce websites for our clients. All these apps are deployed in different kind of servers, and we need to have a full picture of the overall performance of our infrastructure. Commerce websites need to be blazing fast and constantly optimized. If something goes wrong, we want to be notified. We can not be alerted when a project goes down, we need to know it before it happens, and this is what we can achieve with New Relic thanks to its precise real time vision of the entire performance of our server farm.

The number of monthly issues that we have in all our projects and the total time we spend fixing them have been reduced.
New Relic has online and 24/7 fast and great support, also with deep technical knowledge to help you solve all your setup issues.
New Relic interface can be tricky to setup sometimes, especially on dashboards, but the overall usability is great. We also find particularly interesting the chart creation tools. There are no major issues that prevented us using any of their services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

New Relic Insights is must-have for small technology teams running their website in-house

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic Insights is used by my organization's technology and web development team. It is used to monitor website uptime, troubleshoot site outages, and track code deployments. New Relic also monitors website and database speeds and provides an "Apdex" score, which tells the team how many users are having a smooth experience on our website.
  • Monitoring of web transaction times -- New Relic does a great job of showing us how quickly our site is loading and what processes are slowing it down. It breaks site speed into several categories, such as querying, back-end code, caching, etc., which allows us to more easily improve site speed.
  • Alerts -- New Relic sends alerts whenever the site goes down or site speed drops below a particular threshold. This is very helpful in minimizing downtime.
  • Error analytics -- with the New Relic pro plan, you can quickly and graphically identify any site errors that may cause lags or downtime.
  • User interface -- the interface is too complicated for non-technical users to operate. Only those experienced in server management and code will benefit from the product.
  • Pricing -- there's a free plan, but to get most of the features, it will cost you.
New Relic Insights is well suited for smaller web development teams who do not have the resources to hire a dedicated web server manager. It is also great for teams who deploy code often and need a debugging and monitoring tool. New Relic can save valuable troubleshooting time and frustration by providing excellent insights at all times.
In our organization, we use New Relic to monitor website app performance. It has impacted the organization by providing real-time analytics and metrics for new website features, allowing us to measure success and failure after development rollout.

New Relic has also allowed us to more quickly identify website bugs by showing the method calls and dependencies that may be slowing the website down. These features work on desktop, tablet, and mobile.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

New Relic is the Standard in App Monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
New Relic is used in the IT department to monitor servers and our e-commerce website. It provides server-level metrics, JavaScript error monitoring, and uptime monitoring for servers and the website.
  • Server Monitoring
  • App Debugging
  • Uptime Alerts
  • Can get pricey
  • Infrastructure monitoring used to be better (and free)
New Relic works great if you are doing any sort of custom development and run a production web app. I’m not sure however how good the Docker support is because I haven’t used New Relic for that. I have also found that if you use almost exclusively SaaS providers and don’t do custom development there may be more economical options.
New Relic does a nice job monitoring and has a nice alert system. We integrate ours with Pager Duty. It falls short with predictions and database monitoring which we just data dog for.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (38)
9.2
Database monitoring (34)
8.1
Threshold alerts (34)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (23)
6.4
Application performance management console (35)
8.1
Collaboration tools (23)
6.4
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (27)
7.5
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (26)
7.4
Virtualization monitoring (19)
7.8
Server availability and performance monitoring (31)
8.5
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (22)
7.9
IT Asset Discovery (10)
6.6

About New Relic

New Relic is an all-in-one web and mobile application performance management provider for the cloud and the datacenter. They provide 24x7 user monitoring and code-level diagnostics for production apps deployed on dedicated infrastructures, the cloud, or hybrid environments and real time end-to-end monitoring for your iOS and Android app’s.

New Relic provides support for applications written in Ruby, Python, PHP, Java, .NET, Node.js and related frameworks. New Relic also partners with leading cloud management, platform, and hosting vendors to provide their customers with instant visibility into the performance of deployed applications.

New Relic also has an open SaaS platform that enables its community of developers, partners and customers to build plugins using open API’s to monitor any technology of their choice, from databases, networks, caching layers and more.

New Relic provides SaaS Application Monitoring for Ruby, PHP, .Net, Java, Python, iOS, and Android Apps.

New Relic Integrations

New Relic Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

New Relic Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No