TrustRadius
Nginx from the company of the same name in San Francisco, California, supports an application infrastructure.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uZ/Gw/32GN4B930X4U.PNGNginx - Best Web Server for High-Traffic WebsitesWe use Nginx to serve static content for a few of our applications. Nginx is very effective for us because it's free, scales very well, and can handle millions of requests a second. It has made several of our websites noticeably faster. In addition, its ability to act as a Proxy/Reverse Proxy has been instrumental in fulfilling our specific web hosting needs.,Very low memory usage. Can handle many more connections than alternatives (like Apache HTTPD) due to low overhead. (event-based architecture). Great at serving static content. Scales very well. Easy to host multiple Nginx servers to promote high availability. Open-Source (no cost)!,Less community support compared to Apache Less extensive list of modules compared to Apache,10,Our websites are noticeably faster, causing an increase in customer satisfaction. Nginx has such a low memory/resource footprint that we save money from not needing multiple large, expensive servers. Ability to load balance traffic, have server-redundancy, and have high-availability allows for 100% uptime and provides cost-effective solutions to alternatives that can cost a lot.,Apache Web ServerNginx is the best way to proxy for most cases today on commodity hardwareWe use Nginx widely as our primary way of proxying and SSL termination. Specifically, our highly-available architecture used for both a bidding environment and serving ads are designed with Nginx. We have had success building out some applications with deeper Nginx integration as well, our own home-built CDN.,SSL handling Configuration is very unique, and has a learning curve, but powerful and generally clear Very active user groups Decent customer support,Customer support can be strangely condescending, perhaps it's a language issue? I find it a little weird how the release versions used for Nginx+ aren't the same as for open source version. It can be very confusing to determine the cross-compatibility of modules, etc., because of this. It seems like some (most?) modules on their own site are ancient and no longer supported, so their documentation in this area needs work. It's difficult to navigate between nginx.com commercial site and customer support. They need to be integrated together. I'd love to see more work done on nginx+ monitoring without requiring logging every request. I understand that many statistics can only be derived from logs, but plenty should work without that. Logging is not an option in many environments.,9,When we first migrated our primary bidding environment architecture to Nginx, it was under duress due to Apache's inability to keep up when we consolidated away from an HAproxy model to a central HTTP proxy. So we even when we did not know what we were doing, we were able to make it work in a bad situation, and everyone was quite happy. The biggest complaint I have is that I find the module compilation requirements for nginx+ rather burdensome. If we pay for Nginx+, I'd love to see then have pre-built modules for ready for each release of more modules. We are spending our own time engineering an in-house solution for module testing for nginx+ releases, which is disappointing. I've also, as the primary Nginx person at my organization, inserted my expertise into other projects, and have saved our company lots of money getting rid of big $$$ appliances for general SSL proxying. Speaking of Nginx replacing SSL appliances, we had an instance where we had to suddenly enable elliptic-curve SSL ciphers and our big $$$ appliances (you know who they are), were falling over. Even their SSL accelerator cards, after all, are just a few extra cores to process SSL. But in an environment of our size, we use DNS to spread the load to hundreds of frontend proxies with dozens of cores each to spread this load out, all at a lower price than ONE of the appliance pairs running Nginx. We couldn't even tell the change in load in our Nginx architecture when we enabled the ciphers.,Apache Web Server and NetApp FAS series,HAProxy, NetApp SnapMirror, NetApp V-Series, Couchbase Data Platform, Oracle Java SEFast and configurableEver since discovering Nginx as an alternative to Apache, it has been my web server of choice for a variety of purposes, whether it be creating a versatile development server accommodating a variety of platforms across many different sites, or setting up a high-speed scalable server with integration with a popular content management system for a client. The powerful yet flexible configuration options of Nginx makes it straightforward to configure a server for a multitude of different tasks, and a clear choice for almost any situation.,Powerful and flexible configuration Low resource usage with low overhead Well-supported on major operating systems,Less well-known in communities than Apache, making it more difficult to find documentation and support Requires manual configuration for integration with some popular CMS,9,Easy to write configuration from the ground-up and fine-tune to suit the needs of each site. Able to make use of several features and integrations to drastically reduce site load time. Reduces cost of resources needed to run servers.,Apache Web Server,PhpStormOnly possible choice to serve our businessWe use Nginx as a load balancer and as a reverse proxy for all of our web services. We use it to serve NodeJs applications, REST APIs and Angular front.,Great community A lot of documentation available High-performing Easy to configure Cache static assets Multi-threaded support,A user-friendly UI console to test some configurations in a test server,10,Our web servers are more efficient in memory Finely configured, latency is very low. Unlike Apache server, few manual restarts are required,Apache Web Server,Node, Ubuntu Linux, Microsoft Visual Studio CodeNginx - great alternative for Apache ServerNginx is an excellent choice for any size company, be it a startup or mid to large scale. iI delivers a well-supported server architecture without much fuss involved. I loved the customer support I received whenever I sought help for several different client projects. Nginx is a great choice for use with AWS EC2 instances as well as I've personally used and configured it without any bottleneck. So I can say that it is a good choice for AWS and similar cloud hosting solutions.,Reliable load balancing capabilities Caching of static assets is great SSL handling is good Relatively simple configurable proxy solution Open source hence accessibility is easy to larger audience,Nginx plus is a bit on higher end on pricing for small organisations Automatic Nginx configuration & services update for open source version is something which would be a welcoming step. Currently everything needs to be done manually Web GUI console could be a slight better and some configurations from there itself would be highly appreciated,10,Nginx has helped with solving the quick loading issue for static assets to a great extent for us. Nginx helped us with distributing loads effectively which eventually helped us with converting visitors into customers. Nginx can be a good solution for eCommerce websites whenever there is a sudden spike in traffic which could be handled more effectively using the Nginx solution.,Apache Web Server and Microsoft IIS,Apache Web Server, Microsoft IIS
Windows, Linux, Mac, https://www.nginx.com/products/technical-specs/
Nginx
50 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Nginx Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Nginx
50 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 50 vetted Nginx reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Gabriel Samaroo profile photo
February 04, 2019

Review: "Nginx - Best Web Server for High-Traffic Websites"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx to serve static content for a few of our applications. Nginx is very effective for us because it's free, scales very well, and can handle millions of requests a second. It has made several of our websites noticeably faster. In addition, its ability to act as a Proxy/Reverse Proxy has been instrumental in fulfilling our specific web hosting needs.
  • Very low memory usage. Can handle many more connections than alternatives (like Apache HTTPD) due to low overhead. (event-based architecture).
  • Great at serving static content.
  • Scales very well. Easy to host multiple Nginx servers to promote high availability.
  • Open-Source (no cost)!
  • Less community support compared to Apache
  • Less extensive list of modules compared to Apache
Nginx is well suited for serving any static content - whether that be images, JS files, HTML files, CSS files, videos, etc. If you have a high-traffic website, Nginx will be a great fit because it handles large number of requests extremely efficiently. Nginx has full support on Unix systems, but only has limited support on Microsoft Windows machines.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
L Matthew Blancett profile photo
January 23, 2019

Review: "Nginx is the best way to proxy for most cases today on commodity hardware"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx widely as our primary way of proxying and SSL termination. Specifically, our highly-available architecture used for both a bidding environment and serving ads are designed with Nginx. We have had success building out some applications with deeper Nginx integration as well, our own home-built CDN.
  • SSL handling
  • Configuration is very unique, and has a learning curve, but powerful and generally clear
  • Very active user groups
  • Decent customer support
  • Customer support can be strangely condescending, perhaps it's a language issue?
  • I find it a little weird how the release versions used for Nginx+ aren't the same as for open source version. It can be very confusing to determine the cross-compatibility of modules, etc., because of this.
  • It seems like some (most?) modules on their own site are ancient and no longer supported, so their documentation in this area needs work.
  • It's difficult to navigate between nginx.com commercial site and customer support. They need to be integrated together.
  • I'd love to see more work done on nginx+ monitoring without requiring logging every request. I understand that many statistics can only be derived from logs, but plenty should work without that. Logging is not an option in many environments.
Well Suited:
If you need simple SSL termination to another proxy
If you are proxying from internet to an app with a real web server built-in
If you are proxying from the internet to FastCGI

Not so hot for Python proxying, at least from what I've seen, compared to the competition, but I don't do much of that.
Read L Matthew Blancett's full review
Shea Bunge profile photo
February 08, 2019

Nginx Review: "Fast and configurable"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ever since discovering Nginx as an alternative to Apache, it has been my web server of choice for a variety of purposes, whether it be creating a versatile development server accommodating a variety of platforms across many different sites, or setting up a high-speed scalable server with integration with a popular content management system for a client. The powerful yet flexible configuration options of Nginx makes it straightforward to configure a server for a multitude of different tasks, and a clear choice for almost any situation.
  • Powerful and flexible configuration
  • Low resource usage with low overhead
  • Well-supported on major operating systems
  • Less well-known in communities than Apache, making it more difficult to find documentation and support
  • Requires manual configuration for integration with some popular CMS
Nginx is well suited for many different sorts of websites, whether they be for serving static content or making use of a back-end scripting language. As Nginx is not as well supported as some alternatives, support for integration with some software platforms may be lacking and require manual configuration. For this reason, Nginx may be a little more difficult to use for those unfamiliar with server administration.
Read Shea Bunge's full review
Gregory Pecqueur profile photo
February 08, 2019

Nginx Review: "Only possible choice to serve our business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx as a load balancer and as a reverse proxy for all of our web services. We use it to serve NodeJs applications, REST APIs and Angular front.
  • Great community
  • A lot of documentation available
  • High-performing
  • Easy to configure
  • Cache static assets
  • Multi-threaded support
  • A user-friendly UI console to test some configurations in a test server
Nginx is a very good web server and proxy. To serve NodeJs applications, Nginx + pm2 is very efficient. Coupled with Passenger, it allows MEAN Stacks applications to be deployed very easily.
Read Gregory Pecqueur's full review
Rahul Dhangar profile photo
February 08, 2019

Review: "Nginx - great alternative for Apache Server"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is an excellent choice for any size company, be it a startup or mid to large scale. iI delivers a well-supported server architecture without much fuss involved. I loved the customer support I received whenever I sought help for several different client projects. Nginx is a great choice for use with AWS EC2 instances as well as I've personally used and configured it without any bottleneck. So I can say that it is a good choice for AWS and similar cloud hosting solutions.
  • Reliable load balancing capabilities
  • Caching of static assets is great
  • SSL handling is good
  • Relatively simple configurable proxy solution
  • Open source hence accessibility is easy to larger audience
  • Nginx plus is a bit on higher end on pricing for small organisations
  • Automatic Nginx configuration & services update for open source version is something which would be a welcoming step. Currently everything needs to be done manually
  • Web GUI console could be a slight better and some configurations from there itself would be highly appreciated
It is well suited for creating your custom CDN without much payload on the server and a proxy solution is also very effective using Nginx. Great for websites having high traffic demands but could be a bit heavy for smaller projects where traffic is low. Overall effectiveness of the Nginx solution is great when compared to competitive solutions provided by Apache Server.
Read Rahul Dhangar's full review
Nitin Bhadauria profile photo
February 08, 2019

User Review: "Nginx as a DevOps Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is the DEFAULT web server for our organization and projects that we work on. I don't think Nginx as a simple web server but a micro service that is part of the whole application. As a DevOps [solution], it has made us more independent rather than relying on developers for every small requirement. Now we can just write a few lines of code in Lua or js and get our solution ready as a hotfix rather than going back and forth and trying to make developers understand what is needed. In some cases, our few lines of code prove to be a better solution than an application :)

I would suggest having one layer of Nginx on top of your JAVA or Node application. If you never use it as we do it will still handle the web connections better.
  • Handles HTTP connections very well. The way it uses your OS features and don't try to reinvent the wheel is awesome.
  • Things you can do with your POST requests are countless. You can rewrite your request and responses entirely.
  • Supporting Lua, Js, etc. If you know a bit of scripting also, there is no limit to what you can achieve.
  • I don't really have any cons, because I recommend people switch to Nginx.
I really can't think of a scenario where I would recommend anything but Nginx.
Read Nitin Bhadauria's full review
Ilya Popovich profile photo
November 18, 2018

Nginx Review: "The most reliable load balancer I've ever used"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx as load balancing for our complex web applications and proxying requests to different applications across the company. It has a small footprint and memory usage, so it's the best choice solution for us.
  • Static assets caching
  • Extremely simply configurable proxy solution
  • Load balancing is awesome
  • The robustness is on the top
  • Steep learning curve: you'll spend lots of time to read all manuals and specs before you can configure it correctly
  • SSL handling is poor
For high-load projects it's a must-have solution, so I definitely would recommend to anyone.
Read Ilya Popovich's full review
No photo available
February 15, 2019

Nginx Review: "Great lightweight web server."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is the main competitor to Apache. It provides stable service. I have been using Nginx for the last four years and it has never gone down even once, which is critical for a web server. I also like the flexibility and compatibility Nginx has with other components in web development. I switched from LAMP to LEMP, which works great as an environment for WordPress and other PHP software. Overall, it is a great choice for a web server.
  • Stability. It runs quietly and never goes down.
  • Flexibility. It can run in all the Linux distro.
  • Compatibility. It works with PHP and MYSQL well.
  • It's free.
  • Community. Compare to Apache, Nginx has much smaller community support. You do not have lots of resources you can use when you encounter a problem accept digging into it and trying to figure it out yourself.
  • Lacks Large Scale Experience. Nginx is not the first choice for enterprise level architecture. Most large companies will use Apache instead of Nginx when it comes to large scale architecture. Here is where Nginx's lightweight advantage becomes their con.
  • Lack of multiple modules compatibility. Because Nginx is a lightweight focused server, it cannot be used with some other modules. That also makes Nginx favorable for people with small websites.
If you want to start learning web application architecture, Nginx is a great start. It is one of the easiest web servers to deploy and use. The configuration file is easy to use and understand. You will not feel overwhelmed learning it. If your company needs a lightweight web server or even simply just a static host, you can choose Nginx. It is super reliable and easy to use. It is also pretty much carefree. Just deploy it and you are done. When thinking about choosing servers, the best start point is the needs of your company. Nginx fits in the same category as other flexible, consistent, lightweight servers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 18, 2019

Review: "Create a service Mesh inside your network using Nginx nodes."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is present at different levels across my projects. Sometimes is just a Web Server, others a Load Balancer or an API proxy with SSL/TLS management, it's just great that's so lightweight that you can deploy as many instances as you want, for different purposes and create a services mesh inside your organization's network.
  • Low memory footprint, high performance, low maintenance.
  • Modular, configurable, flexible. You can create totally different nodes from the same Nginx version. I.e. you can use 1 instance to run a Web Server and another to run a gRPC rate limiter.
  • Nginx Plus suite is awesome! and has really nice features for high end users as well. It complements really well with the core, open source products.
  • Great ecosystem for API and Microservices management and governance
  • Excellent Web Server, of course!
  • Some parts or modules form Nginx Plus suite would be really useful in the Open Source world. But it's just about paying the fee or implement it yourself though.
  • No .htaccess support (https://www.nginx.com/resources/wiki/start/topics/examples/likeapache-htaccess/)
  • Low diversity and extension of modules.
When deploying API services, we need to take care of many aspects of the network where they work. Infrastructure is also a factor when limited, so you also need to limit and manage it according to its use. Nginx is great to construct these network nodes (HTTP, API Proxy) that connects everything and can add extra capabilities like security (ModSecurity, SSL/TLS) and availability (Load Balancer, Rate Limit).

Read this authenticated review
Tyler Johnson profile photo
June 14, 2018

Nginx Review: "The Most Reliable Load Balancer You'll Ever Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx as the primary reverse proxy for all of our web services. We manage several dozen web applications, for many different clients, and Nginx allows us to quickly route requests to the correct service. Since we use Kubernetes to manage services, it is fast and simple for us to add new routes to our Nginx service. Nginx also manages our SSL, allowing us to deliver content securely.
  • Straight-forward configuration format that users of all skill levels can learn, and yet is powerful enough for the huge breadth of features that Nginx provides.
  • Massive scale right out the box. We've never had a Nginx instance overwhelmed by requests, and if we did it would be trivial to spin up more Nginx instances to handle the load.
  • SSL termination means that we can deliver content over HTTPS without needing our individual services to require TLS support. This saves us a lot of time and headache while keeping us secure.
  • Nginx is open-source and free, meaning that anyone can use it to power their services, from individual projects to billion-dollar websites.
  • The open-source flavor of Nginx does not support automatic service discovery. In the time of Docker containers, Kubernetes and other managed cloud services, it can be difficult to manually update Nginx configurations as services change.
  • Nginx is quite heavy for smaller projects and low-traffic scenarios. It requires knowledge of operating and configuring, which is separate from operating the main web server. There are managed alternatives that will get web services up faster and be more reliable.
  • Nginx-plus has some very valuable tools that projects of any size could take advantage of. Unfortunately, it is very expensive as it includes SLA and support, putting it out of reach of all but the most well-funded projects.
Nginx is a fantastic service for managing several web services together under the same platform. Between SSL termination and basic reverse proxy, you can maintain a single static IP address and host several services and domains. Nginx will route to all the services with ease and you can keep costs lower by sharing server infrastructure. Nginx is also great for high-impact web services. We have several services that during peak hours will see several thousand requests every second. Nginx never breaks a sweat and is one of the most reliable parts of our stack under load.

Nginx is less appropriate for small projects as it takes time to configure and operate successfully. If you looking to get a small web service up quickly and securely, it is often better to go with one of the managed cloud services available.
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
Ben McClure profile photo
March 03, 2018

Nginx Review: "Hail to the king of of the lightweight web!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is powering the serving of web content across our entire organization. We used to host over a hundred web servers with Rackspace Cloud all with nginx sitting in front of backend server processes. Now, we host the majority of our sites on Pantheon, who also utilize nginx in their app server layer. We also host a number of custom servers on AWS EC2 which serve web content over nginx. It allows us to squeeze more performance from our web servers much more easily than using Apache.
  • Nginx is typically blazing fast. It's hard for other web servers to touch it in terms of raw speed and efficiency.
  • Nginx has a simple and intuitive configuration language which is easier for me to keep in my head than the more verbose Apache syntax.
  • Nginx is very powerful as a web server, offering the ability to utilize many of the same features as Apache, sometimes in even better ways.
  • Nginx works great as a reverse proxy, too! It can sit in front of a separate server, or even a cluster of servers, and intelligently handle serving requests to and responses from those servers, including a highly-configurable caching layer.
  • Nginx often requires some initial configuration. It's worth doing, because you'll end up with great results, but it can be slightly daunting for someone to get started using it. Apache might have a leg up in that regard--When you install Apache, typically it's just about ready to do what you want already. But the issue with Apache is that most people skip the extensive tuning phase required after that, and with nginx it becomes more just a part of the configuration process.
  • Sometimes, the configuration syntax, even though it's powerful and terse, isn't the most intuitive. Luckily there's plenty of documentation about what things mean and how to accomplish certain things. There may not be much that can be done about this--to have a powerful web server, you need a powerful-enough configuration language.
  • The nginx brand is somewhat fragmented, and it can be confusing. There's the open source nginx web server, which I've primarily been referring to. But then there's NGINX Plus, a premium subscription-based service which works with a range of other NGINX products (NGINX WAF, NGINX Amplify, NGINX Controller). I've met a number of people who weren't very familiar with nginx, and instinctively went to nginx.com first, and from there it seems like everything costs money. It's only when they realize there's a different site, nginx.org, that they find what they went looking for.
More often than not, if someone is looking to me for a web server recommendation, I'm going to recommend nginx. If your needs are within the 90+% majority of web server needs I've encountered out there, then in many cases nginx makes for a wonderful solution. Certain software, however, was designed to work with Apache and .htaccess files and may take substantially more effort to "convert" over to work with Nginx. In those cases, it might make sense to stay with Apache or with something else that is compatible with Apache's .htaccess files.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Rene Enriquez profile photo
April 20, 2018

Review: "Deploy web apps in the lightweight Nginx server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to deploy web applications built using popular JavaScript frameworks such as Angular and React.
  • Lightweight
  • Great community
  • A lot of documentation available
  • Regular webinars where you can ask the experts questions
  • A user-friendly web console to add some configurations would be appreciated
Nginx is awesome to deploy web applications built using different technology stacks; we used it to deploy JavaScript and PHP apps.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica profile photo
August 06, 2018

Review: "Our first million of requests per second with Nginx"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx Plus Professional as a load balancer and as a reverse proxy with its ModSecurity component - WAF (Web Application Firewall). Nginx supports all the web traffic of the whole organization and some of our clients.
  • Nginx supports millions of requests per second
  • Nginx supports our high availability schemes
  • Nginx ensures that our information and resources are available and secure
  • The Nginx team has been very proactive when we need help, support and in the renew of licenses process
  • In five years we only have had 10 minutes of unavailability because of Nginx. However, Nginx support was very helpful for us.
Nginx is excellent working as a load balancer, reverse proxy - WAF (Web Application Firewall), Web server, and high availability and high performance scenarios.
Read Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica's full review
Anatoly Geyfman profile photo
October 24, 2017

Review: "Nginx is best when used with a good dose of services and APIs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NGINX as our web-facing server, behind which we have a collection of services serving various parts of our application. NGINX helps us map a single API over a variety of services, and make our API endpoints consistent across the various services. Nginx also helps with uptime, by helping us switch between various instances of the services in near real-time.
  • Extremely high-performing -- NGINX is never a bottleneck.
  • Easy to configure -- the configuration language is easy to learn, and allows very flexible scenarios.
  • Lightweight -- it's a very small service, which is never a memory or CPU hog.
  • Management tools -- Nginx has good errors, but it would be nice if it plugged into our cloud hosting infrastructure a little easier.
  • Configuration error detection -- for more complex configurations, sometimes Nginx isn't overly helpful when telling us what's wrong.
Ngnix is best suited as a public-facing proxy for everything that you might want to host. From WordPress to APIs, Ngnix does an extremely great job passing requests to those services, logging these requests in flexible ways, throttling requests when necessary, and even simplifying the downstream services by taking on some of the path extraction responsibilities (like extracting variables from paths and passing them in as headers).

It's not an application server, although they're working on it.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Anand Chhatpar profile photo
March 28, 2017

Review: "Nginx is one of the most efficient and reliable web servers available in 2017."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is used as the main web server and load balancer in front of our Rails apps. We use Nginx + Passenger together as part of our stack for production deployments of our Rails apps.

We currently have 5 different deployments of Nginx, and everyone in the company that deploys production apps uses them.

The main business problem addressed by Nginx was definitely speed and load balancing. Before using Nginx + Passenger, we had Apache servers in front of Mongrel for our rails apps, and they not only were slow and memory intensive, the only load balancing strategy available with that setup was round-robin allocation of incoming web requests to different app servers. With Nginx, it acts as a load balancing proxy as well and keeps track of which app servers are free to receive new requests. This resolves bottlenecks in our server's performance.
  • Nginx works really well for serving static files. You can let requests for static files and assets pass directly through to the file system and Nginx will serve them really fast, without touching your web app processes.
  • Nginx does a great job with load balancing. You can set up different load balancing strategies, but the default load balancer it comes with out of the box works very well already -- better than any round-robin approach because it checks for availability of the resource before handing off the incoming request.
  • Nginx is more memory efficient and generally faster than Apache. It has a small footprint, which can be very helpful, especially if you're running on a VPS.
  • Nginx has not crashed on me even once. The robustness of Nginx overall is very impressive.
  • You can apply configuration changes to Nginx without needing to restart the server. You can also do reloads of the config without dropping any web requests because Nginx provides a global queue where requests can be held while it reloads the config.
  • There's no configuration wizard. I had to read their docs every time I make a change to the Nginx config files.
  • Deploying rails apps with Nginx + Passenger requires a recompilation of Nginx. It would have been better if Nginx supported a plugin system that would allow you to plug in some rails app servers into it.
  • There's no easy way to tell which incoming request was sent to which back-end app server. You have to do advanced tricks to keep track of those things, in case you need to see what's happening behind the scenes for debugging.
Nginx is great as a web server. For serving Rails apps, Nginx + Puma seems to have become the norm, but has memory leakage issues because of Puma. Nginx itself is quite robust and we find Nginx + Passenger as the right production-ready setup for deploying Ruby on Rails apps. I cannot think of any specific scenarios where I would recommend against using Nginx.
Read Anand Chhatpar's full review
Craig Nash profile photo
February 24, 2017

Review: "NginX is a blazing fast web server with native load balancing .. considering it yet?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is my default go-to web server for all Linux web servers (LEMP Stacks) that I currently deploy. I use NginX primarily as one of several pieces of a custom-designed web-server stack in conjunction with Ubuntu or CentOS, Percona XtraDB, and HHVM with PHP7-FPM failover, which is used to power PHP based websites (such as WordPress) which I deploy on entry-level compute packages provided by industry standard cloud services (AWS, Google, BlueMix, Digital Ocean) for our web-design clients. My primary goal with these servers is to provide our clients with their own managed, in-house hosting solution with more power than a standard hosting company can provide, but at a similar recurring cost bracket. Nginx was my choice, as it was designed specifically to win the C10k challenge, which was a challenge to create a web server capable of handling 10,000 simultaneous connections on a single server (which was successful). The biggest challenge I face is designing a stack that can handle a potentially heavy connection load while deployed on low-spec, shared-resource, sub-$20 virtual servers, while avoiding the expensive, constant need for computing resource increases. These challenges require a web server than can handle 1 or 1,000 connections on the initial specs, without an increase in resources, which Nginx was able to accomplish beyond my expectations, allowing me to provide similar and sometimes equal performance on virtual servers as that of higher-cost, WordPress specific hosts, such as WP Engine.
  • Nginx's best feature is what it was designed for in the first place, providing a high amount of simultaneous connections with less hardware resources. NginX is at minimum, twice as fast as Apache with static requests, and equal to Apache with PHP requests.
  • Nginx was created appr. 5 years after Apache, giving it the benefit of Apache's hind-sight, which has allowed NginX to be designed to better handle, or simply bypass and hand-off processes to better equipped software.
  • NginX includes quite a few very useful performance enhancing tools built in, such as advanced caching techniques (converting proxied dynamic content to static content for faster caching), native reverse proxy support, and best of all, built-in load balancing that is very easy to use.
  • The NginX setup and deployment is very easy, as the entire configuration is located in 2 files, consisting of a general server config, and a site-specific config for virtual hosts, allowing the greenest of Linux admins to easily deploy a web server.
  • Even though Nginx is the 2nd most used web server, it is rarely recognized by anyone outside of an IT field that uses it directly. This makes it a very hard sell, especially within start-up companies (a great place for NginX) relying upon VC funding, where brand recognition of the providers/manufacturers used in your IT environment can be a factor in funding.
  • Due to being less known, NginX does lack on advanced community support along with modules and add-ons when compared to Apache, luckily the community support available is generally more than enough. The same goes for locating experienced NginX administrators, but again, the learning curve is very small. allowing staff to be adequately trained in a short amount of time.
  • Due to the first point I made, a lot of software does not come with pre-configs for NginX
Nginx, like all server systems, is not always the perfect option for every task, though it is definitely high on the list. Nginx works best with static content, such as images, text, HTML code, etc., but has little to no native support for dynamic content, and relies on sending the content to third party processors, such as HHVM or PHP-FPM in the case of PHP. The hand-off of the process to a different server results in a longer processing time, bringing NginX to an "even" score compared to Apache, in terms of performance as it pertains to dynamic content. Nginx is, in my opinion, the obvious choice, having a performance increase of 2-3 times over Apache when serving static content, and comparable performance to Apache when serving dynamic content, while having native support for additional performance tools, such as caching, proxies, and load balancing. However, each server does have different ways of serving information (E.G. NginX does not use .htacces for directory specific configs) and should always be thoroughly researched as it pertains to your individual project prior to making a final decision.
Read Craig Nash's full review
Jonah Dempcy profile photo
May 17, 2017

Nginx Review: "Your Go-To Frontend Server for Scalability and Load-Balancing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Nginx for years to serve Ruby on Rails applications for a number of clients and with various integrations including Passenger and, more recently, Unicorn. I have found Nginx to be a wonderful choice for both standalone server and layer in front of Unicorn. Nginx excels at serving static files, load-balancing, security (preventing certain exploit attempts) and simply acting as a front end for full-featured application server back-ends.
  • Nginx excels at serving static assets (images, cached files).
  • Nginx is fantastic for load-balancing and routing requests to back-end application servers.
  • Nginx is built for scaling and is an excellent solution for high-traffic websites.
  • Nginx has good features for protecting against certain security exploits.
  • Nginx has some peculiarities or "gotchas" that take getting used to.
  • Nginx could improve at SSL handling.
  • Nginx is the best asynchronous server but I could see using Apache for process-based (threaded) serving of dynamic assets as a back-end behind Nginx. So I don't think Nginx should necessarily improve in this regard as much as it's choosing the right tool for the job—Nginx for static serving, other, process-based servers for dynamic serving.
Nginx is perfect as a front layer handling all inbound requests to a website. I would use it just about anywhere as a first line of defense against client requests for its load-balancing, security features and ability to rapidly serve static assets. Nginx is great for websites of all sizes although it is especially helpful for websites getting very high traffic.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
Will Stern profile photo
September 20, 2016

Review: "Nginx - Simple, Reliable, Featureful, Enjoyable"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Nginx in several capacities.
- dynamic routing of ingress traffic to Docker containers
- load balancing web applications
- proxying requests to different applications
  • Load Balancing: nginx EXCELS at load balancing. In comparison to HAProxy, which is difficult to configure, Nginx is extremely simple to configure and read. Also, nginx reloads with zero downtime while HAProxy might drop a few requests when reloading during high traffic times.
  • Proxy: an extremely simple proxy solution. And again, easy to write and read configuration.
  • Cache: cache static assets.
  • Dynamic Routing of Ingress Traffic: Using tools like confd, you can dynamically rewrite nginx rules and route traffic to Docker containers.
  • I've yet to run into a pain point with nginx.
I'll use it as a replacement for HAProxy any time, in that it does what HAProxy does well, but can add additional functionality should you need it. It's also my go-to solution for a front-end for web app servers.
Read Will Stern's full review
Chris Coppenbarger profile photo
September 09, 2016

Review: "Nginx Will Speed Your Websites to your Customer's Browsers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is a http server software used to serve up websites across the web, similar to Apache httpd. The main difference being that Nginx offers multi-threaded support to serve up websites faster and more efficiently. I implement and use it as often as possible for my websites I build in order to provide the speed and efficiency that is required. It is easy to use one config file to serve up both the http and https versions of the site.
  • Multi-threaded support is great in that it isolates each hit to the web server to cut down on crashes and deliver speed.
  • Easy configuration files for both http and https support.
  • Small footprint and memory usage.
  • Not as many configuration options as Apache httpd.
  • Can be confusing to set up if used to Apache's config options.
  • Confusing to figure out how to set up mods.
Nginx is well suited for most areas where you are using an Apache httpd server. If you need a vast array of configuration options, Apache might be more well suited, but over all I would recommend switching to Nginx for serving up websites.
Read Chris Coppenbarger's full review

Nginx Scorecard Summary

About Nginx

According to the vendor, NGINX powers over 65% of the world's busiest websites and web applications. NGINX started out as an open source web server and reverse proxy, built to be faster and more efficient than Apache. Over the years, NGINX has built a suite of infrastructure software products, the NGINX Application Platform, to tackle some of the biggest challenges in managing high-load applications.

The NGINX Application Platform is a suite of products that together form the core of what organizations need to create applications with performance, reliability, security, and scale. The NGINX Application Platform includes NGINX Plus for load balancing and application delivery, the NGINX WAF for security, and NGINX Unit to run the application code, all monitored and managed by the NGINX Controller.

NGINX Plus: An all‑in‑one load balancer, web server, and content cache.

NGINX Controller: Centralized monitoring and management for NGINX Plus.

NGINX WAF: Web application firewall, powered by ModSecurity

NGINX Unit: Lightweight application server, with support for multiple languages and a dynamic REST API‑driven configuration.




Nginx Features

Has featureNGINX: Fast, light web server and reverse proxy
Has featureNGINX Plus: All‑in‑one Load Balancer, Web Server, and Content Cache
Has featureNGINX Plus: Security controls, High Availability, Dynamic Modules
Has featureNGINX WAF: Layer 7 Attack Protection
Has featureNGINX WAF: IP reputation and Audit Logging
Has featureNGINX Controller: Centralized Traffic Management and Monitoring
Has featureNGINX Controller: Role-based Access Controls
Has featureNGINX Unit: Multi-language Application Server
Has featureNGINX Amplify: Cloud-based NGINX Monitoring

Nginx Screenshots

Nginx Integrations

Microsoft Azure, Docker, Kubernetes, ForgeRock OpenIDM, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), Google Cloud Platform, OpenStack, Red Hat OpenShift, Cedexis, ModSecurity, DeviceAtlas, IDFConnect, PingIdentity, Phusion Passenger, Stealth Security

Nginx Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
NGINX Plus - Basic$2,500per instance
NGINX Plus - Professional$3,500per instance
NGINX Plus - Enterprise$5,000per instance
NGINX WAF - Add-on$2,000per instance

Nginx Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

Nginx Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Nginx Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, https://www.nginx.com/products/technical-specs/
Mobile Application:No