TrustRadius
Nginx from the company of the same name in San Francisco, California, supports an application infrastructure.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uZ/Gw/32GN4B930X4U.PNGThe Most Reliable Load Balancer You'll Ever UseWe use Nginx as the primary reverse proxy for all of our web services. We manage several dozen web applications, for many different clients, and Nginx allows us to quickly route requests to the correct service. Since we use Kubernetes to manage services, it is fast and simple for us to add new routes to our Nginx service. Nginx also manages our SSL, allowing us to deliver content securely.,Straight-forward configuration format that users of all skill levels can learn, and yet is powerful enough for the huge breadth of features that Nginx provides. Massive scale right out the box. We've never had a Nginx instance overwhelmed by requests, and if we did it would be trivial to spin up more Nginx instances to handle the load. SSL termination means that we can deliver content over HTTPS without needing our individual services to require TLS support. This saves us a lot of time and headache while keeping us secure. Nginx is open-source and free, meaning that anyone can use it to power their services, from individual projects to billion-dollar websites.,The open-source flavor of Nginx does not support automatic service discovery. In the time of Docker containers, Kubernetes and other managed cloud services, it can be difficult to manually update Nginx configurations as services change. Nginx is quite heavy for smaller projects and low-traffic scenarios. It requires knowledge of operating and configuring, which is separate from operating the main web server. There are managed alternatives that will get web services up faster and be more reliable. Nginx-plus has some very valuable tools that projects of any size could take advantage of. Unfortunately, it is very expensive as it includes SLA and support, putting it out of reach of all but the most well-funded projects.,8,By using Nginx, we can host multiple web services on a single server, keeping our infrastructure costs lower. Nginx maintains our HTTPS connections, allowing us to keep our promise to our customers that their data is safe in transit. Due to Nginx's extremely low failure rate, our web addresses always return something meaningful, even when individual services go down. In sense, this means we are "always online" and allows us to maintain brand and support our customers even in the face of catastrophe.,Apache Web Server,Kubernetes, Google Compute Engine, DockerThe most reliable load balancer I've ever usedWe use Nginx as load balancing for our complex web applications and proxying requests to different applications across the company. It has a small footprint and memory usage, so it's the best choice solution for us.,Static assets caching Extremely simply configurable proxy solution Load balancing is awesome The robustness is on the top,Steep learning curve: you'll spend lots of time to read all manuals and specs before you can configure it correctly SSL handling is poor,9,We can serve more clients than ever Services became reliable Security increased,Apache Web Server and Microsoft IIS,Apache Web Server, Apache Kafka, Apache LuceneOur first million of requests per second with NginxWe use Nginx Plus Professional as a load balancer and as a reverse proxy with its ModSecurity component - WAF (Web Application Firewall). Nginx supports all the web traffic of the whole organization and some of our clients.,Nginx supports millions of requests per second Nginx supports our high availability schemes Nginx ensures that our information and resources are available and secure The Nginx team has been very proactive when we need help, support and in the renew of licenses process,In five years we only have had 10 minutes of unavailability because of Nginx. However, Nginx support was very helpful for us.,10,First, the high availability of our operation, in terms of money would be dollars per second. We can make changes in configuration without restart the servers or stop Nginx service. This favors availability.,Microsoft IIS and Apache Web Server,TIBCO Jaspersoft, Microsoft IIS, Oracle Database 12c, Oracle Database as a ServiceHail to the king of of the lightweight web!Nginx is powering the serving of web content across our entire organization. We used to host over a hundred web servers with Rackspace Cloud all with nginx sitting in front of backend server processes. Now, we host the majority of our sites on Pantheon, who also utilize nginx in their app server layer. We also host a number of custom servers on AWS EC2 which serve web content over nginx. It allows us to squeeze more performance from our web servers much more easily than using Apache.,Nginx is typically blazing fast. It's hard for other web servers to touch it in terms of raw speed and efficiency. Nginx has a simple and intuitive configuration language which is easier for me to keep in my head than the more verbose Apache syntax. Nginx is very powerful as a web server, offering the ability to utilize many of the same features as Apache, sometimes in even better ways. Nginx works great as a reverse proxy, too! It can sit in front of a separate server, or even a cluster of servers, and intelligently handle serving requests to and responses from those servers, including a highly-configurable caching layer.,Nginx often requires some initial configuration. It's worth doing, because you'll end up with great results, but it can be slightly daunting for someone to get started using it. Apache might have a leg up in that regard--When you install Apache, typically it's just about ready to do what you want already. But the issue with Apache is that most people skip the extensive tuning phase required after that, and with nginx it becomes more just a part of the configuration process. Sometimes, the configuration syntax, even though it's powerful and terse, isn't the most intuitive. Luckily there's plenty of documentation about what things mean and how to accomplish certain things. There may not be much that can be done about this--to have a powerful web server, you need a powerful-enough configuration language. The nginx brand is somewhat fragmented, and it can be confusing. There's the open source nginx web server, which I've primarily been referring to. But then there's NGINX Plus, a premium subscription-based service which works with a range of other NGINX products (NGINX WAF, NGINX Amplify, NGINX Controller). I've met a number of people who weren't very familiar with nginx, and instinctively went to nginx.com first, and from there it seems like everything costs money. It's only when they realize there's a different site, nginx.org, that they find what they went looking for.,10,Nginx has decreased the burden of web server administration and maintenance, and we are spending less time on server issues than when we were using Apache. Nginx has allowed more people in our company to get involved with configuring things on the web server, so there's no longer a single point of failure ("the Apache guy"). Nginx has given us the ability to handle a larger number of requests without scaling up in hardware quite so quickly.,Apache and Microsoft IIS,Symfony, Pantheon, Drupal, Trello, Slack, G SuiteDeploy web apps in the lightweight Nginx serverWe used it to deploy web applications built using popular JavaScript frameworks such as Angular and React.,Lightweight Great community A lot of documentation available Regular webinars where you can ask the experts questions,A user-friendly web console to add some configurations would be appreciated,9,It's easy to learn so it does not require some specific training to use it Ability to deploy web apps written in different programming languages which is appreciated,Apache Tomcat and Oracle GlassFish Server,Google Drive, Apple iCloud, Microsoft IIS
Windows, Linux, Mac, https://www.nginx.com/products/technical-specs/
Nginx
41 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Nginx Reviews

Nginx
41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 41 vetted Nginx reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Tyler Johnson profile photo
June 14, 2018

Nginx Review: "The Most Reliable Load Balancer You'll Ever Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx as the primary reverse proxy for all of our web services. We manage several dozen web applications, for many different clients, and Nginx allows us to quickly route requests to the correct service. Since we use Kubernetes to manage services, it is fast and simple for us to add new routes to our Nginx service. Nginx also manages our SSL, allowing us to deliver content securely.
  • Straight-forward configuration format that users of all skill levels can learn, and yet is powerful enough for the huge breadth of features that Nginx provides.
  • Massive scale right out the box. We've never had a Nginx instance overwhelmed by requests, and if we did it would be trivial to spin up more Nginx instances to handle the load.
  • SSL termination means that we can deliver content over HTTPS without needing our individual services to require TLS support. This saves us a lot of time and headache while keeping us secure.
  • Nginx is open-source and free, meaning that anyone can use it to power their services, from individual projects to billion-dollar websites.
  • The open-source flavor of Nginx does not support automatic service discovery. In the time of Docker containers, Kubernetes and other managed cloud services, it can be difficult to manually update Nginx configurations as services change.
  • Nginx is quite heavy for smaller projects and low-traffic scenarios. It requires knowledge of operating and configuring, which is separate from operating the main web server. There are managed alternatives that will get web services up faster and be more reliable.
  • Nginx-plus has some very valuable tools that projects of any size could take advantage of. Unfortunately, it is very expensive as it includes SLA and support, putting it out of reach of all but the most well-funded projects.
Nginx is a fantastic service for managing several web services together under the same platform. Between SSL termination and basic reverse proxy, you can maintain a single static IP address and host several services and domains. Nginx will route to all the services with ease and you can keep costs lower by sharing server infrastructure. Nginx is also great for high-impact web services. We have several services that during peak hours will see several thousand requests every second. Nginx never breaks a sweat and is one of the most reliable parts of our stack under load.

Nginx is less appropriate for small projects as it takes time to configure and operate successfully. If you looking to get a small web service up quickly and securely, it is often better to go with one of the managed cloud services available.
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
Ilya Popovich profile photo
November 18, 2018

Nginx Review: "The most reliable load balancer I've ever used"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx as load balancing for our complex web applications and proxying requests to different applications across the company. It has a small footprint and memory usage, so it's the best choice solution for us.
  • Static assets caching
  • Extremely simply configurable proxy solution
  • Load balancing is awesome
  • The robustness is on the top
  • Steep learning curve: you'll spend lots of time to read all manuals and specs before you can configure it correctly
  • SSL handling is poor
For high-load projects it's a must-have solution, so I definitely would recommend to anyone.
Read Ilya Popovich's full review
Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica profile photo
August 06, 2018

Review: "Our first million of requests per second with Nginx"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nginx Plus Professional as a load balancer and as a reverse proxy with its ModSecurity component - WAF (Web Application Firewall). Nginx supports all the web traffic of the whole organization and some of our clients.
  • Nginx supports millions of requests per second
  • Nginx supports our high availability schemes
  • Nginx ensures that our information and resources are available and secure
  • The Nginx team has been very proactive when we need help, support and in the renew of licenses process
  • In five years we only have had 10 minutes of unavailability because of Nginx. However, Nginx support was very helpful for us.
Nginx is excellent working as a load balancer, reverse proxy - WAF (Web Application Firewall), Web server, and high availability and high performance scenarios.
Read Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica's full review
Ben McClure profile photo
March 03, 2018

Nginx Review: "Hail to the king of of the lightweight web!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is powering the serving of web content across our entire organization. We used to host over a hundred web servers with Rackspace Cloud all with nginx sitting in front of backend server processes. Now, we host the majority of our sites on Pantheon, who also utilize nginx in their app server layer. We also host a number of custom servers on AWS EC2 which serve web content over nginx. It allows us to squeeze more performance from our web servers much more easily than using Apache.
  • Nginx is typically blazing fast. It's hard for other web servers to touch it in terms of raw speed and efficiency.
  • Nginx has a simple and intuitive configuration language which is easier for me to keep in my head than the more verbose Apache syntax.
  • Nginx is very powerful as a web server, offering the ability to utilize many of the same features as Apache, sometimes in even better ways.
  • Nginx works great as a reverse proxy, too! It can sit in front of a separate server, or even a cluster of servers, and intelligently handle serving requests to and responses from those servers, including a highly-configurable caching layer.
  • Nginx often requires some initial configuration. It's worth doing, because you'll end up with great results, but it can be slightly daunting for someone to get started using it. Apache might have a leg up in that regard--When you install Apache, typically it's just about ready to do what you want already. But the issue with Apache is that most people skip the extensive tuning phase required after that, and with nginx it becomes more just a part of the configuration process.
  • Sometimes, the configuration syntax, even though it's powerful and terse, isn't the most intuitive. Luckily there's plenty of documentation about what things mean and how to accomplish certain things. There may not be much that can be done about this--to have a powerful web server, you need a powerful-enough configuration language.
  • The nginx brand is somewhat fragmented, and it can be confusing. There's the open source nginx web server, which I've primarily been referring to. But then there's NGINX Plus, a premium subscription-based service which works with a range of other NGINX products (NGINX WAF, NGINX Amplify, NGINX Controller). I've met a number of people who weren't very familiar with nginx, and instinctively went to nginx.com first, and from there it seems like everything costs money. It's only when they realize there's a different site, nginx.org, that they find what they went looking for.
More often than not, if someone is looking to me for a web server recommendation, I'm going to recommend nginx. If your needs are within the 90+% majority of web server needs I've encountered out there, then in many cases nginx makes for a wonderful solution. Certain software, however, was designed to work with Apache and .htaccess files and may take substantially more effort to "convert" over to work with Nginx. In those cases, it might make sense to stay with Apache or with something else that is compatible with Apache's .htaccess files.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Rene Enriquez profile photo
April 20, 2018

Review: "Deploy web apps in the lightweight Nginx server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to deploy web applications built using popular JavaScript frameworks such as Angular and React.
  • Lightweight
  • Great community
  • A lot of documentation available
  • Regular webinars where you can ask the experts questions
  • A user-friendly web console to add some configurations would be appreciated
Nginx is awesome to deploy web applications built using different technology stacks; we used it to deploy JavaScript and PHP apps.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
Anatoly Geyfman profile photo
October 24, 2017

Review: "Nginx is best when used with a good dose of services and APIs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NGINX as our web-facing server, behind which we have a collection of services serving various parts of our application. NGINX helps us map a single API over a variety of services, and make our API endpoints consistent across the various services. Nginx also helps with uptime, by helping us switch between various instances of the services in near real-time.
  • Extremely high-performing -- NGINX is never a bottleneck.
  • Easy to configure -- the configuration language is easy to learn, and allows very flexible scenarios.
  • Lightweight -- it's a very small service, which is never a memory or CPU hog.
  • Management tools -- Nginx has good errors, but it would be nice if it plugged into our cloud hosting infrastructure a little easier.
  • Configuration error detection -- for more complex configurations, sometimes Nginx isn't overly helpful when telling us what's wrong.
Ngnix is best suited as a public-facing proxy for everything that you might want to host. From WordPress to APIs, Ngnix does an extremely great job passing requests to those services, logging these requests in flexible ways, throttling requests when necessary, and even simplifying the downstream services by taking on some of the path extraction responsibilities (like extracting variables from paths and passing them in as headers).

It's not an application server, although they're working on it.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Anand Chhatpar profile photo
March 28, 2017

Review: "Nginx is one of the most efficient and reliable web servers available in 2017."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is used as the main web server and load balancer in front of our Rails apps. We use Nginx + Passenger together as part of our stack for production deployments of our Rails apps.

We currently have 5 different deployments of Nginx, and everyone in the company that deploys production apps uses them.

The main business problem addressed by Nginx was definitely speed and load balancing. Before using Nginx + Passenger, we had Apache servers in front of Mongrel for our rails apps, and they not only were slow and memory intensive, the only load balancing strategy available with that setup was round-robin allocation of incoming web requests to different app servers. With Nginx, it acts as a load balancing proxy as well and keeps track of which app servers are free to receive new requests. This resolves bottlenecks in our server's performance.
  • Nginx works really well for serving static files. You can let requests for static files and assets pass directly through to the file system and Nginx will serve them really fast, without touching your web app processes.
  • Nginx does a great job with load balancing. You can set up different load balancing strategies, but the default load balancer it comes with out of the box works very well already -- better than any round-robin approach because it checks for availability of the resource before handing off the incoming request.
  • Nginx is more memory efficient and generally faster than Apache. It has a small footprint, which can be very helpful, especially if you're running on a VPS.
  • Nginx has not crashed on me even once. The robustness of Nginx overall is very impressive.
  • You can apply configuration changes to Nginx without needing to restart the server. You can also do reloads of the config without dropping any web requests because Nginx provides a global queue where requests can be held while it reloads the config.
  • There's no configuration wizard. I had to read their docs every time I make a change to the Nginx config files.
  • Deploying rails apps with Nginx + Passenger requires a recompilation of Nginx. It would have been better if Nginx supported a plugin system that would allow you to plug in some rails app servers into it.
  • There's no easy way to tell which incoming request was sent to which back-end app server. You have to do advanced tricks to keep track of those things, in case you need to see what's happening behind the scenes for debugging.
Nginx is great as a web server. For serving Rails apps, Nginx + Puma seems to have become the norm, but has memory leakage issues because of Puma. Nginx itself is quite robust and we find Nginx + Passenger as the right production-ready setup for deploying Ruby on Rails apps. I cannot think of any specific scenarios where I would recommend against using Nginx.
Read Anand Chhatpar's full review
Craig Nash profile photo
February 24, 2017

Review: "NginX is a blazing fast web server with native load balancing .. considering it yet?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is my default go-to web server for all Linux web servers (LEMP Stacks) that I currently deploy. I use NginX primarily as one of several pieces of a custom-designed web-server stack in conjunction with Ubuntu or CentOS, Percona XtraDB, and HHVM with PHP7-FPM failover, which is used to power PHP based websites (such as WordPress) which I deploy on entry-level compute packages provided by industry standard cloud services (AWS, Google, BlueMix, Digital Ocean) for our web-design clients. My primary goal with these servers is to provide our clients with their own managed, in-house hosting solution with more power than a standard hosting company can provide, but at a similar recurring cost bracket. Nginx was my choice, as it was designed specifically to win the C10k challenge, which was a challenge to create a web server capable of handling 10,000 simultaneous connections on a single server (which was successful). The biggest challenge I face is designing a stack that can handle a potentially heavy connection load while deployed on low-spec, shared-resource, sub-$20 virtual servers, while avoiding the expensive, constant need for computing resource increases. These challenges require a web server than can handle 1 or 1,000 connections on the initial specs, without an increase in resources, which Nginx was able to accomplish beyond my expectations, allowing me to provide similar and sometimes equal performance on virtual servers as that of higher-cost, WordPress specific hosts, such as WP Engine.
  • Nginx's best feature is what it was designed for in the first place, providing a high amount of simultaneous connections with less hardware resources. NginX is at minimum, twice as fast as Apache with static requests, and equal to Apache with PHP requests.
  • Nginx was created appr. 5 years after Apache, giving it the benefit of Apache's hind-sight, which has allowed NginX to be designed to better handle, or simply bypass and hand-off processes to better equipped software.
  • NginX includes quite a few very useful performance enhancing tools built in, such as advanced caching techniques (converting proxied dynamic content to static content for faster caching), native reverse proxy support, and best of all, built-in load balancing that is very easy to use.
  • The NginX setup and deployment is very easy, as the entire configuration is located in 2 files, consisting of a general server config, and a site-specific config for virtual hosts, allowing the greenest of Linux admins to easily deploy a web server.
  • Even though Nginx is the 2nd most used web server, it is rarely recognized by anyone outside of an IT field that uses it directly. This makes it a very hard sell, especially within start-up companies (a great place for NginX) relying upon VC funding, where brand recognition of the providers/manufacturers used in your IT environment can be a factor in funding.
  • Due to being less known, NginX does lack on advanced community support along with modules and add-ons when compared to Apache, luckily the community support available is generally more than enough. The same goes for locating experienced NginX administrators, but again, the learning curve is very small. allowing staff to be adequately trained in a short amount of time.
  • Due to the first point I made, a lot of software does not come with pre-configs for NginX
Nginx, like all server systems, is not always the perfect option for every task, though it is definitely high on the list. Nginx works best with static content, such as images, text, HTML code, etc., but has little to no native support for dynamic content, and relies on sending the content to third party processors, such as HHVM or PHP-FPM in the case of PHP. The hand-off of the process to a different server results in a longer processing time, bringing NginX to an "even" score compared to Apache, in terms of performance as it pertains to dynamic content. Nginx is, in my opinion, the obvious choice, having a performance increase of 2-3 times over Apache when serving static content, and comparable performance to Apache when serving dynamic content, while having native support for additional performance tools, such as caching, proxies, and load balancing. However, each server does have different ways of serving information (E.G. NginX does not use .htacces for directory specific configs) and should always be thoroughly researched as it pertains to your individual project prior to making a final decision.
Read Craig Nash's full review
Jonah Dempcy profile photo
May 17, 2017

Nginx Review: "Your Go-To Frontend Server for Scalability and Load-Balancing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Nginx for years to serve Ruby on Rails applications for a number of clients and with various integrations including Passenger and, more recently, Unicorn. I have found Nginx to be a wonderful choice for both standalone server and layer in front of Unicorn. Nginx excels at serving static files, load-balancing, security (preventing certain exploit attempts) and simply acting as a front end for full-featured application server back-ends.
  • Nginx excels at serving static assets (images, cached files).
  • Nginx is fantastic for load-balancing and routing requests to back-end application servers.
  • Nginx is built for scaling and is an excellent solution for high-traffic websites.
  • Nginx has good features for protecting against certain security exploits.
  • Nginx has some peculiarities or "gotchas" that take getting used to.
  • Nginx could improve at SSL handling.
  • Nginx is the best asynchronous server but I could see using Apache for process-based (threaded) serving of dynamic assets as a back-end behind Nginx. So I don't think Nginx should necessarily improve in this regard as much as it's choosing the right tool for the job—Nginx for static serving, other, process-based servers for dynamic serving.
Nginx is perfect as a front layer handling all inbound requests to a website. I would use it just about anywhere as a first line of defense against client requests for its load-balancing, security features and ability to rapidly serve static assets. Nginx is great for websites of all sizes although it is especially helpful for websites getting very high traffic.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
Will Stern profile photo
September 20, 2016

Review: "Nginx - Simple, Reliable, Featureful, Enjoyable"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Nginx in several capacities.
- dynamic routing of ingress traffic to Docker containers
- load balancing web applications
- proxying requests to different applications
  • Load Balancing: nginx EXCELS at load balancing. In comparison to HAProxy, which is difficult to configure, Nginx is extremely simple to configure and read. Also, nginx reloads with zero downtime while HAProxy might drop a few requests when reloading during high traffic times.
  • Proxy: an extremely simple proxy solution. And again, easy to write and read configuration.
  • Cache: cache static assets.
  • Dynamic Routing of Ingress Traffic: Using tools like confd, you can dynamically rewrite nginx rules and route traffic to Docker containers.
  • I've yet to run into a pain point with nginx.
I'll use it as a replacement for HAProxy any time, in that it does what HAProxy does well, but can add additional functionality should you need it. It's also my go-to solution for a front-end for web app servers.
Read Will Stern's full review
Chris Coppenbarger profile photo
September 09, 2016

Review: "Nginx Will Speed Your Websites to your Customer's Browsers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nginx is a http server software used to serve up websites across the web, similar to Apache httpd. The main difference being that Nginx offers multi-threaded support to serve up websites faster and more efficiently. I implement and use it as often as possible for my websites I build in order to provide the speed and efficiency that is required. It is easy to use one config file to serve up both the http and https versions of the site.
  • Multi-threaded support is great in that it isolates each hit to the web server to cut down on crashes and deliver speed.
  • Easy configuration files for both http and https support.
  • Small footprint and memory usage.
  • Not as many configuration options as Apache httpd.
  • Can be confusing to set up if used to Apache's config options.
  • Confusing to figure out how to set up mods.
Nginx is well suited for most areas where you are using an Apache httpd server. If you need a vast array of configuration options, Apache might be more well suited, but over all I would recommend switching to Nginx for serving up websites.
Read Chris Coppenbarger's full review

Nginx Scorecard Summary

About Nginx

According to the vendor, NGINX powers over 65% of the world's busiest websites and web applications. NGINX started out as an open source web server and reverse proxy, built to be faster and more efficient than Apache. Over the years, NGINX has built a suite of infrastructure software products, the NGINX Application Platform, to tackle some of the biggest challenges in managing high-load applications.

The NGINX Application Platform is a suite of products that together form the core of what organizations need to create applications with performance, reliability, security, and scale. The NGINX Application Platform includes NGINX Plus for load balancing and application delivery, the NGINX WAF for security, and NGINX Unit to run the application code, all monitored and managed by the NGINX Controller.

NGINX Plus: An all‑in‑one load balancer, web server, and content cache.

NGINX Controller: Centralized monitoring and management for NGINX Plus.

NGINX WAF: Web application firewall, powered by ModSecurity

NGINX Unit: Lightweight application server, with support for multiple languages and a dynamic REST API‑driven configuration.




Nginx Features

Has featureNGINX: Fast, light web server and reverse proxy
Has featureNGINX Plus: All‑in‑one Load Balancer, Web Server, and Content Cache
Has featureNGINX Plus: Security controls, High Availability, Dynamic Modules
Has featureNGINX WAF: Layer 7 Attack Protection
Has featureNGINX WAF: IP reputation and Audit Logging
Has featureNGINX Controller: Centralized Traffic Management and Monitoring
Has featureNGINX Controller: Role-based Access Controls
Has featureNGINX Unit: Multi-language Application Server
Has featureNGINX Amplify: Cloud-based NGINX Monitoring

Nginx Screenshots

Nginx Integrations

Microsoft Azure, Docker, Kubernetes, ForgeRock OpenIDM, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), Google Cloud Platform, OpenStack, Red Hat OpenShift, Cedexis, ModSecurity, DeviceAtlas, IDFConnect, PingIdentity, Phusion Passenger, Stealth Security

Nginx Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
NGINX Plus - Basic$2,500per instance
NGINX Plus - Professional$3,500per instance
NGINX Plus - Enterprise$5,000per instance
NGINX WAF - Add-on$2,000per instance

Nginx Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

Nginx Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Nginx Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, https://www.nginx.com/products/technical-specs/
Mobile Application:No