TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/eh/SB/3T2MZS9UDX5J.JPEGCloud FPA platform of choiceIn my organization, we use DataRails’ cloud financial and analysis platform for budgeting and forecasting all of our financial metrics. Each department continues to rely on Excel as usual for budgets, and then using DataRails finance lets us see real-time updates and compares budgets with actuals. Useful for a variety of processes including workforce management, income statement analysis, forecasting, and reporting.,Seamless integration with GL. User-friendly interface. Has streamlined our budgeting process.,Occasionally there are glitches in our templates.,10,Discover points and perspectives you couldn't before. Work so much faster. Spend time on things that matter. There is no point having analysts spend so much time consolidating data when we can automate it.,10,10,Jedox and BoardThe planning tool to beat all planning toolsThis is how planning should be done. With crisp up-to-date numbers so you can prepare to the best extent as possible. With DataRails my department really feels that we are planning effectively since we are basing conclusions off of all our sources of data. Integrations are phenomenal and let us compare budgets with actuals so we can constantly reassess and make adjustments if need be.,No need to migrate outside Excel Lovely customer support Immediate access to numbers from different departments and branches allows us to stay informed,Waiting for additional updates,10,Improved planning- we can leverage numbers that prior took us ages to get,10,10Smarter, better FP&A with DataRailsDataRails is really great for automating unnecessary work. Using the system has improved work significantly since now we don't have to waste time on bringing info together in order to make sense of it. Makes reporting incredibly easy. Used to take up so much time, and now it takes up no time at all. It has a fast and agile implementation, and once integrated offers great reactivity to any situation. Very flexible.,Insights feature is really useful No more wasting time on something that can be automated Flexible, agile,No cons that I can think of currently as we are quite satisfied with the product,10,Makes the FP&A function easier, better, faster Very good Insights tool Significant value-addStrong tool that keeps on giving. Essential for anyone in FP&A.Trying to manage many different P&Ls can be challenging, but with DataRails the challenge is significantly reduced. DataRails helps us standardize reporting and analysis. It lets us compare plans and forecast reliably. Since we plan at a granular level, with DataRails we can do so accurately, consistently, reliably, etc. If you work in finance this tool will change your life.,The dashboards are great. Informative and help us visualize the data. Saves hours of work every month. Timeliness and accuracy is improved tenfold. Easy to run scenarios. Make changes and adjustments easily.,I'd be happy for there to be more software updates.,10,High ROI With more data to base important decisions on, more accurate data at that, we find ourselves making better financial decisions.,Prophix,Oracle ERP Cloud, Agile CRM,10,NoBest financial tool out there. Dependable and accurate.DataRails has substantially improved the accuracy of our budgeting and forecasting. I love the ease of it, how accessible it makes our numbers, and how simple it is to follow real-time statuses. With DataRails we know our figures are accurate and up to date, which is precisely what we need from the numbers we base important decisions on.,There are many ways to manipulate and look at your data. Easy to connect with our ERP system. Drill downs are amazing. Can look at the smallest of variables.,Sometimes it was buggy when logging out. Other than that I can't think of any other notable cons, it really is a great system.,10,With more accurate numbers we've witnessed fewer mistakes made, resulting in less money spent unnecessarily.,,Microsoft 365 BusinessCPM of choiceDataRails is used on a daily basis by my finance team as we perform analyses and drive insights. We chose to implement this cloud financial and analysis platform since we desperately needed a consolidation planning tool where we could continue using disparate spreadsheets and at the same time control our processes easier and better. DataRails gives us exactly this in addition to flexibility in reporting financial results.,We started using their Insights feature instead of our BI. Really useful. Made data collection easy and organized,Would be nice if it had the option of drag and drop for inputs,10,Reach targets faster Analyze more and easier,10,10Product that DeliversQuite satisfied with this tool. Very useful, really gave my department a boost. We rely on it primarily for planning. It's great since we continue working on Excel and don't have to migrate our information elsewhere in order to use the system. Simplifies budgeting and gives us access to all the numbers we need.,By far the greatest pro - ease of access to Excel-based information. What was once hard to get your hands on is suddenly instantly accessible.,Out of the box worksheets would be nice to have, don't think this is currently available,10,Better reporting to management Streamlines our processes Saves time,10,10DataRails takes FP&A to the next level!It makes FP&A work so much better. Consolidation is a huge part of the job, but with DataRails automating this process we don’t have to spend time on work that is virtually of no value. With DataRails we’re up to speed on all the current numbers and use their Insights feature to look at it in different ways. All in all it’s a really great tool.,Automates consolidation Useful insights feature Reliable databasing,Was a bit disappointed that it doesn’t integrate with HeliumV,10,Takes FP&A to the next level!The Best Tool for Finance Processes- Seriously!We're currently using DataRails to streamline our budgeting and forecasting processes among others. The platform is a great asset to our finance department. We deal with huge amounts of Excel-based information, and prior to integrating the platform, we had a hard time keeping track of everything in an organized and timely manner. With DataRails this is no longer the case.,It saves SO much time-- the automation is great. It smoothly integrates with our ERP. Management is happy with the accurate, quality information.,It doesn't support Excel 2007.,10,DataRails frees up time that we dedicate to learning so much more from our numbers. More time is dedicated to value-add tasks, which is a HUGE plus.,,SAP ERPEasy to implement and significantly enhances our FPA functionWith DataRails, Excel remains as our user interface and there is no change in our daily flow, but the way we work is enhanced significantly. No migrating our data, no moving to a new system or lengthy implementation. It is such an advantage to be able to build reports within Excel as we want to.,No need to migrate data to a new browser. Visualizations are great and incredibly useful.,At times it can be a bit buggy but we can deal with it and it is not a severe issue given the usefulness of this platform.,10,Our data is automatically consolidated which saves time. No time wasted on valueless work.,10,10,Accolent ERP, Microsoft 365 BusinessProduct is best in the businessIt’s an easy tool to use and train on. Very adaptable, can look at our data in many different and useful ways with the Insights feature. Integrates with our ERP flawlessly. Can make changes in real time so decision makers always know exactly what’s happening and base the organizational direction on fresh data. Model building is straightforward, visualizations are enlightening, integrations are easy.,Using DataRails I can visualize data that I previously didn't have access to, this is by far the biggest pro-you can tap into data you've always had but previously couldn't work with. Other than that it's really easy to use, implementation is not lengthy, great customer service.,Occasionally freezes but I figure that happens with any sort of system,10,Accurate reports Access to up to date figures helps us come to crisp, relevant conclusions,10,10,Jedox, Adaptive Insights and a Workday companyBest investment for our finance teamIncreased visibility, access to data. Wonderful tool that has immensely aided our finance team in their work. Allows for standardization of analysis, keeps everyone up to speed and ensures we're working with fresh numbers. Great if you want to leverage everything you've got before you pass on results to management.,Finance is happy with the ease of use and accessibility of data.,Would be happy if there were more frequent updates,10,Improved decision making Easy access to data Keeps our finance team happy
Windows, Mac
DataRails
12 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

DataRails Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
DataRails
12 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 12 vetted DataRails reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Theresa Schmidt, CPA profile photo
August 21, 2019

Cloud FPA platform of choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, we use DataRails’ cloud financial and analysis platform for budgeting and forecasting all of our financial metrics. Each department continues to rely on Excel as usual for budgets, and then using DataRails finance lets us see real-time updates and compares budgets with actuals. Useful for a variety of processes including workforce management, income statement analysis, forecasting, and reporting.
  • Seamless integration with GL.
  • User-friendly interface.
  • Has streamlined our budgeting process.
  • Occasionally there are glitches in our templates.
DataRails is great if you're an Excel lover who doesn't want to migrate away from the software. DataRails takes our Excel-based data and makes something useful of it. The way I see it, our data is like putty and DataRails is our hands and we take the raw material and shape it any which way we want using their Insights feature, which more than once revealed to us points we wouldn't have noticed had it not been for the extra data and visualizations.
Read Theresa Schmidt, CPA's full review
Howard Trussell profile photo
August 20, 2019

The planning tool to beat all planning tools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is how planning should be done. With crisp up-to-date numbers so you can prepare to the best extent as possible. With DataRails my department really feels that we are planning effectively since we are basing conclusions off of all our sources of data. Integrations are phenomenal and let us compare budgets with actuals so we can constantly reassess and make adjustments if need be.
  • No need to migrate outside Excel
  • Lovely customer support
  • Immediate access to numbers from different departments and branches allows us to stay informed
  • Waiting for additional updates
Fantastic tool for financial planning. Up to date numbers let my department leverage all our organizational data to pass on to management so they can make the best decisions. Integrations are phenomenal and let us compare budgets with actuals so we can constantly reassess and make adjustments if need be.
Read Howard Trussell's full review
Eric Norton profile photo
August 16, 2019

Smarter, better FP&A with DataRails

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DataRails is really great for automating unnecessary work. Using the system has improved work significantly since now we don't have to waste time on bringing info together in order to make sense of it. Makes reporting incredibly easy. Used to take up so much time, and now it takes up no time at all. It has a fast and agile implementation, and once integrated offers great reactivity to any situation. Very flexible.
  • Insights feature is really useful
  • No more wasting time on something that can be automated
  • Flexible, agile
  • No cons that I can think of currently as we are quite satisfied with the product
Makes the FP&A (financial planning and analysis) function easier, better, faster. Really takes it up a notch since we no longer expend efforts on bringing together our data, instead we spend that time looking into it, dissecting it, and understanding it. Their Insights tool is great for this.
Read Eric Norton's full review
Neil Nugent profile photo
August 16, 2019

Strong tool that keeps on giving. Essential for anyone in FP&A.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Trying to manage many different P&Ls can be challenging, but with DataRails the challenge is significantly reduced. DataRails helps us standardize reporting and analysis. It lets us compare plans and forecast reliably. Since we plan at a granular level, with DataRails we can do so accurately, consistently, reliably, etc. If you work in finance this tool will change your life.
  • The dashboards are great. Informative and help us visualize the data.
  • Saves hours of work every month.
  • Timeliness and accuracy is improved tenfold.
  • Easy to run scenarios.
  • Make changes and adjustments easily.
  • I'd be happy for there to be more software updates.
Again - if you work in finance, I really do mean it when I say that this tool is life-changing.
Read Neil Nugent's full review
David Shulman profile photo
August 09, 2019

Best financial tool out there. Dependable and accurate.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DataRails has substantially improved the accuracy of our budgeting and forecasting. I love the ease of it, how accessible it makes our numbers, and how simple it is to follow real-time statuses. With DataRails we know our figures are accurate and up to date, which is precisely what we need from the numbers we base important decisions on.
  • There are many ways to manipulate and look at your data.
  • Easy to connect with our ERP system.
  • Drill downs are amazing. Can look at the smallest of variables.
  • Sometimes it was buggy when logging out. Other than that I can't think of any other notable cons, it really is a great system.
Improves the accuracy of budgeting and forecasting. Makes it easy to follow real-time statuses.
Read David Shulman's full review
Jim Alper profile photo
August 20, 2019

CPM of choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DataRails is used on a daily basis by my finance team as we perform analyses and drive insights. We chose to implement this cloud financial and analysis platform since we desperately needed a consolidation planning tool where we could continue using disparate spreadsheets and at the same time control our processes easier and better. DataRails gives us exactly this in addition to flexibility in reporting financial results.
  • We started using their Insights feature instead of our BI. Really useful.
  • Made data collection easy and organized
  • Would be nice if it had the option of drag and drop for inputs
Solid choice for budgeting and forecasting. Pulls actuals alongside budgets instantaneously. We like to work on Excel (you can view all data on Excel and their Insights feature) and work with Insights when we present to management. Also great for workforce management should you choose to use it beyond budget/forecast.
Read Jim Alper's full review
Jacob Kress profile photo
August 20, 2019

Product that Delivers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quite satisfied with this tool. Very useful, really gave my department a boost. We rely on it primarily for planning. It's great since we continue working on Excel and don't have to migrate our information elsewhere in order to use the system. Simplifies budgeting and gives us access to all the numbers we need.
  • By far the greatest pro - ease of access to Excel-based information. What was once hard to get your hands on is suddenly instantly accessible.
  • Out of the box worksheets would be nice to have, don't think this is currently available
Excellent for improving budgeting, reporting, workforce management, maintaining accurate data
Read Jacob Kress's full review
Dennis Lesser profile photo
August 16, 2019

DataRails takes FP&A to the next level!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It makes FP&A work so much better. Consolidation is a huge part of the job, but with DataRails automating this process we don’t have to spend time on work that is virtually of no value. With DataRails we’re up to speed on all the current numbers and use their Insights feature to look at it in different ways. All in all it’s a really great tool.
  • Automates consolidation
  • Useful insights feature
  • Reliable databasing
  • Was a bit disappointed that it doesn’t integrate with HeliumV
Great if you want to improve your reporting. Makes FP&A work so much better. Keeps you up to speed on all your current numbers so you know exactly where things stand, which is so so valuable for reporting. The tool can do almost anything when it comes to analyzing the datasets, just incredible.
Read Dennis Lesser's full review
Catherine Davison profile photo
August 06, 2019

The Best Tool for Finance Processes- Seriously!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using DataRails to streamline our budgeting and forecasting processes among others. The platform is a great asset to our finance department. We deal with huge amounts of Excel-based information, and prior to integrating the platform, we had a hard time keeping track of everything in an organized and timely manner. With DataRails this is no longer the case.
  • It saves SO much time-- the automation is great.
  • It smoothly integrates with our ERP.
  • Management is happy with the accurate, quality information.
  • It doesn't support Excel 2007.
In general, DataRails just meets our needs so well. So many processes that used to take up the bulk of our time are now streamlined and simplified.
Read Catherine Davison's full review
No photo available
August 21, 2019

Easy to implement and significantly enhances our FPA function

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With DataRails, Excel remains as our user interface and there is no change in our daily flow, but the way we work is enhanced significantly. No migrating our data, no moving to a new system or lengthy implementation. It is such an advantage to be able to build reports within Excel as we want to.
  • No need to migrate data to a new browser.
  • Visualizations are great and incredibly useful.
  • At times it can be a bit buggy but we can deal with it and it is not a severe issue given the usefulness of this platform.
This cloud financial planning and analysis platform is a good fit if you are looking to keep using Excel but at the same time are looking for a way to improve your work processes. I knew from the get-go that there was no chance that my department would stop using Excel. So to have a tool that let's us keep using Excel but automates our processes for us is a huge plus.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 20, 2019

Product is best in the business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s an easy tool to use and train on. Very adaptable, can look at our data in many different and useful ways with the Insights feature. Integrates with our ERP flawlessly. Can make changes in real time so decision makers always know exactly what’s happening and base the organizational direction on fresh data. Model building is straightforward, visualizations are enlightening, integrations are easy.
  • Using DataRails I can visualize data that I previously didn't have access to, this is by far the biggest pro-you can tap into data you've always had but previously couldn't work with. Other than that it's really easy to use, implementation is not lengthy, great customer service.
  • Occasionally freezes but I figure that happens with any sort of system
Excellent for examining P&Ls, comparing past and current numbers
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2019

Best investment for our finance team

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Increased visibility, access to data. Wonderful tool that has immensely aided our finance team in their work. Allows for standardization of analysis, keeps everyone up to speed and ensures we're working with fresh numbers. Great if you want to leverage everything you've got before you pass on results to management.
  • Finance is happy with the ease of use and accessibility of data.
  • Would be happy if there were more frequent updates
Great for planning. Our team can make use of data that was once unreachable or difficult to access. Less appropriate if you think it's business intelligence - it's more than that. Can visualize on it but its power lies in the ability to reach your data.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (12)
8.8
Customizable dashboards (12)
9.1
Report Formatting Templates (12)
8.9
Drill-down analysis (12)
9.1
Formatting capabilities (12)
9.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (12)
8.9
Report sharing and collaboration (12)
9.1
Publish to Web (12)
8.6
Publish to PDF (12)
8.9
Report Versioning (12)
9.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (12)
9.1
Role-Based Security Model (12)
9.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (12)
9.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (12)
9.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (12)
8.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (12)
9.0
Long-term financial planning (12)
9.1
Financial budgeting (12)
9.1
Forecasting (12)
9.1
Scenario modeling (12)
9.1
Management reporting (12)
9.1
Financial data consolidation (12)
9.1
Journal entries and reports (12)
9.1
Multi-currency management (12)
8.9
Intercompany Eliminations (12)
8.8
Minority Ownership (12)
8.6
Local and consolidated reporting (12)
9.1
Detailed Audit Trails (12)
9.1
Financial Statement Reporting (12)
9.1
Management Reporting (12)
9.1
Excel-based Reporting (12)
9.1
Automated board and financial reporting (12)
9.1
XBRL support for regulatory filing (12)
8.7
Personalized dashboards (12)
9.0
Color-coded scorecards (12)
8.7
KPIs (12)
9.1
Cost and profitability analysis (12)
9.1
Key Performance Indicator setting (12)
9.0
Benchmarking with external data (12)
8.9
Flat file integration (12)
8.4
Excel data integration (12)
8.9
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (12)
9.1

About DataRails

DataRails' cloud solution enables accurate completion of spreadsheet processes in a fraction of the time without asking users to leave the comfort of Excel. According to the vendor, DataRails' patented technology allows FP&A professionals can easily consolidate and store Excel-based data on a cloud-based centralized database. DataRails optimizes Excel-based processes including budgeting, forecasting, planning, and revenue performance management through automation, all without asking users to change the way they work.

DataRails enables users to:

-Automate tedious consolidation processes, save time, and accelerate work cycles.
-Get the full story behind the figures: inspect a cell-level audit trail, compare any two spreadsheets from any point in time, and enjoy full version control.
-Perform variance, horizontal, and vertical analyses. Utilize drill-downs and slice and dice data to the lowest level line-item to extract previously inaccessible insights.




DataRails Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
FInancial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

DataRails Screenshots

DataRails Integrations

NetSuite, Xero, Infor, Intuit Quickbooks, Microsoft Dynamics, Sage, Oracle, SAP, Epicor

DataRails Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

DataRails Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

DataRails Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Mobile Web