Anaplan Reviews

219 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 103)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Sid Powar | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2020

Dish Network leading the way in Supply Chain Planning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently used by supply chain planning for planning repair parts. It helps in transparency and measuring performance which helps maintain desired inventory levels.
  • It allows users to set up complex algorithms which then leads to recommendations made by the tool for the planners to make a decision.
  • Helps in collaboration across multiple users within our department but across Dish and potentially externally with our suppliers in the future.
  • The software is extremely fast and can calculate scenarios fast.
  • Partnership with data visualization software such as Tableau is needed.
  • More supply chain apps to allow users to see the different applications within supply chain.
Anaplan is a useful in aggregating data but powerful as it can use complex calculations to help the user make decisions for multiple variables. It is not a data visualization tool - dashboards are clunky as such users should try to use Anaplan with another tool to dashboard data.
Read Sid Powar's full review
Jacob Edds | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2020

Anaplan - First Use Case

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are in the initial implementation of phase 1 for Unum. This phase includes moving the following processes out of excel and essbase: financial planning process, monthly management reporting, risk based capital management, and expense reporting. Phase 2 will consist of bringing on our capital planning processes.
  • Anaplan's dynamic features make this application a huge win over essbase (no calculating, everything is almost instant).
  • User experience is great and intuitive.
  • Business owned solution
  • Size constraints (130 gigs per workspace is terrible).
  • The blue toast note that stops model building progress is an absolute time killer during development.
Anaplan is great for planning purposes and but not so great for reporting purposes.
Anaplan allows UNUM to make faster Financial planning decisions by allowing the FP&A team to spin through forecasts and budget scenarios quicker. Thus providing leadership with the tools and information needed to set strategic direction.
The customer success team has always gone above and beyond.
Read Jacob Edds's full review
Amarjit Gill | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2020

Anaplan Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work at an Anaplan Implementation partner (Resource Torrent). Most of our implementations have been related to financial planning and analysis for small to mid size companies, most pre IPO. Anaplan is being used by FP&A only in most if not all our implementations and not by the whole organization. The business problems solved by Anaplan is alleviation of the reliance and management of large and complex Excel workbooks which are hard to maintain and even harder to update.
  • Real time updates in the system.
  • Ease of use for Excel users.
  • Ability to do what if analysis.
  • While reporting has been improved via the dashboards, there is some way to go here, graphs etc.
Use should be for analytics and forecasting and not as BI tool. Great tool for real time what if analysis.
Reduced territory and account planning turn around times
Read Amarjit Gill's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2020

Complex modeling with Anaplan

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it for Demand Forecasting, Rebate Forecasting for Gross to Net, and building P&L for inline portfolio of products. We have expanded the use in Supply Chain and Accounting reconciliation. It is isolated into Finance and supply chain for the current usage, but I hope to expand it to other departments. We have developed weekly and daily tracking reports to be used by sales team as well.
  • Modeling capability - It has enough control to be a rigid system. Yet, it has enough flexibility to change with the needs of the business.
  • One version of truth - Same data source is being shared by many groups via dashboard, so there is no confusion on which version is the most recent.
  • Be able to create reports on the fly and provide access to the data set for those who need them.
  • Additional reporting capability, especially with formatting of the tables, charts, and graphs. I wish to be able to label axis, change colors of the graphs, define axis.
  • Dashboard - unable to place a "picture/logo" on a dashboard.
  • No auto e-mail capabilities. Once data is loaded into Anaplan, I would like to send an automatic e-mail that the load has been completed.
  • No mobile app is available. I wish there is a version (for dashboard) to see it on mobile device.
Anaplan is good for data aggregation and being able to slice and dice the information as long as the relationships are defined properly. Once the data is loaded, it is fairly easy to create a dashboard to present the data. However, some analytical models are too complex to do in Anaplan. It can be done, but it takes a master Anaplaner to build it, and it is not as easy to maintain the system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2020

Anaplan: Powerful Modeling Cloud

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is being used by the Finance Team of about 35 professionals for budgeting, forecasting, reporting, and visualizations. It's not yet being used by our Accounting, Investor Relations or any other team at the company. Its primary use case is a single-source-of-truth for budget, actuals and as a forecasting tool. It has really helped us get a handle on our financials.
  • Singe source of truth for actuals and forecast.
  • Robust modeling capabilities.
  • Flexible to change models.
  • Connectivity to other tools/databases.
  • Easy to add new accounts as needed.
  • Better/more intuitive security.
  • Better branding to make the tool feel like your company.
  • Better Excel integration!
  • Self-help guides.
Well suited: forecasting, single source-of-truth, and scenario management. Less suited: Excel plug-ins and visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2020

Anaplan Can

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for our pricing model. Currently being used in only a couple departments. It is used because the large data we have is not easily used in Excel.
  • Handles Large Data
  • Streamlined Model
  • Provides Ability for Quality Reporting
  • Limits of calculation functions
  • Limited Flexibility
It is well suited for large, complicated models that take a lot of time to update in Excel. It would be less appropriate for simple models.
Read this authenticated review
Kris Sircar, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Anaplan: an overview

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the FP&A team. We use it to track headcount and SG&A. In addition to that, we also track technical income that allows business users access to update forecasts and budgets based on changes and trends made to actuals. Actuals are updated on a quarterly basis.
  • Sets up dimensions.
  • Ease of onboarding new users.
  • Lists can get too cumbersome.
  • Formula syntax is not intuitive.
Anaplan is good for headcount reporting. We allow staging tables that allows HR to keep track of new hires and current employees. With access rights, we are certain that other users do not have access to this information as it is sensitive. We have trouble with creating different views of headcount per department, per locale.
Read Kris Sircar, MBA's full review
Matthew Kuo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Using Anaplan at Tableau

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Tableau, we use Anaplan for our Sales Planning function. For our company, this encompasses the functions of Workforce Planning, Territory Assignment, Compensation Plan Administration, and Quota Setting. Sales Planning was Tableau's first Anaplan use case, and since adopting the platform, we've also had use cases in Finance, Marketing, and IT. Anaplan helps us address both collaboration and version control issues. For some use cases, the key benefit is having a primary data source that can be iterated upon several times by a number of different stakeholders. For other use cases, the key benefit is having a significant number of collaborators, who can all rely on one single source of truth. Overall, Anaplan provides our company with the data integrity we need while still remaining flexible enough to update quickly to accommodate our rapidly changing environment.
  • Version Control -- by having one cloud-based source for our primary data, there rarely are questions about which data points to use. Everyone understands this and can reference our single source of truth.
  • Flexibility -- Anaplan is great in maintaining a balance between being a formal system, but being flexible enough to update quickly. We adopted Anaplan shortly after our IPO, when our company was still changing rapidly, and have been able to incorporate all of our business process changes into the tool.
  • Collaboration -- Anaplan allows us to have hundreds of users logged into the tool, updating information all at the same time. This was particularly useful during our account based planning implementation, when we had a number of sales managers and reps contributing their forecasts all at once.
  • Enablement -- Anaplan should invest more in both its training capability and training content. Anaplan is not the most difficult tool to learn, but having more foundation in this area would make the ramp-up process significantly easier
  • Storage -- Anaplan is not a data warehouse. This is understandable given data warehousing is not their primary value proposition, but many times we run close to the storage limits of Anaplan, and it would be great if Anaplan had different storage size options for its workspaces.
  • User Interface -- Anaplan's user interface could be streamlined and improved to become more intuitive and accommodate more shortcut keys.
Well Suited
  • Any process that you expect to change frequently.
  • A process within a dynamic environment, such as high tech / the startup world, where you expect significant business process changes.
  • Any process that requires a significant number of collaborators.
  • Any process where you intend for users to update logic with Excel-like formulas.
  • Any process where using Google Docs has failed to accommodate your needs for data integrity.
Less Appropriate
  • Data visualization - Anaplan has capabilities here, but other tools are more focused on this.
  • Data storage - Anaplan is not a data warehouse and has limits on what you can store.
Read Matthew Kuo's full review
Andrew Paston | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

7 Years with Anaplan

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Anaplan for financial reporting, planning and customer reporting.

Anaplan allows us to spend time on value added instead of spending time consolidating planning results in Excel. We can look at reviewing key trends. Forecasts are broken down into smaller tasks and distributed to the business resulting in less pressure on the FP&A team during forecast/budget rounds.

The reporting timeline is shorter as dashboards can be used for users to login and see their areas results which means we dont have to send out manual reports.

Anaplan allows very complex business modelling but without any of the complex language used in other tools and can be run by the users themselves. Results are recalculated on the fly with no wait time to run the recalc process.
  • Forecast consolidation and recalcuation
  • Dashboards for entry and review
  • Ease of modelling. Its like Excel but simpler to use.
  • Some of the charting is limited
  • Some formatting options could be better
  • Excel Add-in has only just been revamped
Complex business or business with multi dimensional products or services, geographic locations or channels
Read Andrew Paston's full review
Szilvia Havasreti | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

Excel on steroids!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is used across the whole organization, at WW level. The key problem was to remove offline spreadsheets for sales quota planning, deployment, and ensure automatic, real-time coverage analysis for the sales teams.
  • Real - time - the cloud based technology allows all changes & its impact is visible in real time.
  • Performance - in the case of complex business cases, the size of Anaplan is increasing drastically, and even a simple click would take more than it should.
  • UI - The User interface needs to be improved: group/expand hierarchy, "Ctrl " + select option to allow multi selection, Content page clean up, easier "Drag & drop" when customizing or building exports.
  • Review & enhance the type of security user roles.
Sales performance management, various finance scenarios - Anaplan is good for automating calculations. It is less appropriate for very complex business cases.
Read Szilvia Havasreti's full review
Steve Ridgley | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2017

Anaplan for Modeling of Sales Incentives

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I purchased Anaplan to perform complex modeling of potential changes to our sales incentive programs. In addition to our usage, our finance team is beginning to explore the use of the tool for sales forecasting. With a sales organization in excess of 5000 people, it is critical to be able to adjust multiple variables across lines of business and understand the impact on each of our operating areas. Anaplan allows us to model multiple "what if" approaches simultaneously, perform side-by-side scenario analysis, and convey to our executive team what the specific tradeoffs are between options. Our responsiveness has been accelerated by orders of magnitude, and our conclusions are rooted in data.
  • I think the greatest strength of Anaplan is that the entire model is interconnected. The ability to update a single variable and have that change propagated through the entire model is unparalleled.
  • Another strength is the ability to have multiple users working in a given model simultaneously. We have had the experience of actively modeling to meet a deadline and realizing that some of the underlying assumptions and/or layout needed to be changed to support a new approach. While our model-builder made the back-end adjustments in Florida, our analyst continued to work through a new set of variables. We ended up with a completely refreshed approach in less than a half hour. With only two hours before our deadline, we NEVER would have even entertained making the change in Excel.
  • The thing that Anaplan does -- that I haven't seen elsewhere -- is the ability to get to data-driven analysis of the future. BI tools are great for reporting what has already happened, but fall short of predictive analytics and sensitivity analysis. Anaplan handles those with ease.
  • The reporting/dashboarding capability is adequate but could be enhanced.
  • Anaplan is somewhat intuitive ... but it DOES require an investment of time and energy to become proficient in it. The ability to use it for more and more use cases is limited by the number of personnel who truly understand the tool. The corollary is that unless that knowledge is spread to multiple people on the team, there can be substantial risk were a key resource to leave the group.
  • Building a new model does require a fair amount of up-front planning and construction. So there are some things we would rather do in Anaplan than Excel ... but unless they have continuing utility, we find ourselves unlikely to perform quick analyses in Anaplan.
To date, I have used Anaplan for sales comp modeling, territory and quota planning, and sales forecasting. It has been well-suited to all three.
Read Steve Ridgley's full review
Christopher Pope | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2017

Seagate Anaplan Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The corp FP&A team is using it for financial budgets. The revenue planning team is using it for revenue planning. One of our units is using it for demand planning. The customer service org is using it for returns modeling. It's primarily a finance footprint but that footprint is growing outside finance.
  • Hyperbloc architecture -- the ability to see changes to models instantly cascade through all the models.
  • Function agnostic platform - the ability to adapt the platform to many different use cases and integrate those use cases into a connected planning environment.
  • Cloud architecture. Security and product enhancements come automatically.
  • The actions could be improved - make it obvious what the sources and targets of the are so we don't have to guess or put them in the action names. Also get a native scheduler! That's so simple and it's very frustrating and expensive to have to build/buy our own.
  • Reporting and UI still have a long way to go. Simple things like being able to alphabetize/order what you see on the screen, or add a rich color pallet to choose from.
  • User access management could improve. We need to have model level admins that don't have access to everything in the workspace. Also the tenant admin space doesn't work effectively. I can't remove a user from all models simultaneously. I also can't see all models a user has access to from the tenant admin space.
It's great for complex models that require frequent updates and instant feedback. That describes most planning situations I know of. It's great for organizations that want to change plans and models independent of IT support or programming. It's not a great reporting or analytics tool. Ad-hoc analysis is a non-starter in the platform--you have to be a model builder and the process of generating a report is very cumbersome compared with something like Tableau.
Read Christopher Pope's full review
Dan Shuwarger | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2017

SaaS FP&A Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two Anaplan instances. Sales Ops uses it to manage headcount and for capacity planning. They have users and viewers of their headcount reporting.

I manage the FP&A instance which is used to plan headcount, expenses, capex, and COGS. We also use it for reporting for various cuts of the P&L, headcount, and balance sheet. This instance is only being used by FP&A, but we hope to role it out to business partners later in the year.
  • Anaplan is great for headcount reporting. We have reports by dept, office location, and subsidiary that is great for planning and also for full company reporting.
  • Although they can be complicated to set up, Anaplan is also great for setting up complex P&L views. For example, setting up a P&L with a combination of subs/depts., that still needs to consolidate to the total P&L.
  • Systems-wise, I like that it's impossible to #REF the model! Anaplan shows you where everything is referenced, so it's very difficult to break anything.
  • I also like that formulas copy across, so there is no chance of pointing to the wrong cell, like in Excel
  • I'd like to see a back button. While there is restore from backup, it is a long process that only Admins can perform. And all users lose changes of course.
  • As an Admin, my #1 request is: why can't we select multiple list members with check boxes? For example, if I have a list of depts., and want to see HR + Recruiting (two list members). Yes, I can build a line item that does that. But every combination of list members must be custom built.
  • Another one that I get asked for are hierarchies for line items. For example, if I have a List on pages, there will be "+" to group items. For example, I might have Finance, HR, and Recruiting, all in "G&A" which I could then open the "+" to expand and collapse (G&A) to show the detail. If I am pivoted on a Line Item on pages, this isn't possible.
  • Another big one I get asked for, is "why can't I save views?!" Of course Admins can, but I think users would really appreciate it this one. Please consider it!
Anaplan is great for Sales Ops, FP&A, and basically anything that is heavy Excel-based. It's great at summarizing large amounts of data, like pivot tables. It's also great for crunching Salesforce data. I don't have a need for SQL, but I'm sure it would great for any kind of database summarization use case.
Read Dan Shuwarger's full review
Matthew Cantwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2017

Anaplan Review - Gaming

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Anaplan for Planning and Budgeting. We are looking to begin using it for a forecasting and consolidation of data (Data Hub) and performance reporting models. The main business problem it has helped us with is the consolidation and ability to report on multiple dynamic hierarchies across a wide range of businesses. It has also being the driving force for process change within our organization.
  • We really like the Data Hub concept. We are working on multiple projects with regards to aggregating data from multiple sources, and Data Hub has worked well for us thus far.
  • Agility is key for our businesses and we feel that Anaplan gives us the ability to remain flexible and reactive to the changes throughout our businesses.
  • As a administrator I really like the resources provided by Anaplan such as Anapedia. It makes it really simple to ask questions and find answers if we are having difficulty with certain items.
  • I believe user set up within Anaplan is one of the areas that could be improved greatly.
  • Workflow is another area that I believe could be improved. Currently, I do not believe, there is a way to create an action against workflow. This would be a great benefit rather than moving the item to complete or in progress if you could write an action for it.

We are really excited and looking forward to exploring the forecasting, and "What If" scenarios. Our current business structure makes it very difficult to forecast and project at any level, and I think Anaplan will be a great solution for us.

I think for any business that has multiple, or dynamic, hierarchies Anaplan is a great solution. We have reduced the time spent on these dynamic views by using subsets and properties with in the models.

I am looking forward to the increased the communication/connected planning aspect that Anaplan brings to our company. In the past we had thousands of Excel workbooks, some that were too large to email or open. We have seen improved interaction and clear lines of communication for our end users by using Anaplan for our budget process.

Read Matthew Cantwell's full review
Chris Friederich | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

Doing it all with Anaplan

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Anaplan for FP&A - essentially having modeled out entire business on the platform. We use it in most all planning and forecasting discussions. Because of its flexibility, ease of use and ability to scenario test, it allows us to quickly and accurately make decisions that have a financial impact that would otherwise take days or weeks to make.

We are currently in the process of rolling out Anaplan for sales forecasting to increase accuracy and accountability in our sales forecasts.

Lastly, we are in the early stages of planning to use Anaplan for our business intelligence reporting capabilities. It will be used as our one source of truth for business metrics and results - something we desperately need and that Anaplan will work perfectly for.
  • Modeling is next level in Anaplan. With a background deep in Excel modeling and the frustrations that come along with it, Anaplan is a breath of fresh air and is actually fun to build and model in.
  • Dashboarding and synchronization. The synchronization feature in Anaplan is one of the greatest things ever. As its core Anaplan models are built around hierarchical lists and dimensions and using similar dimensions in dashboards allows you to synchronize to different views of the same data with simple clicks around a dashboard. It makes reporting and BI extremely user friendly and flexible.
  • Its fast. If you had the same exact model in Excel and Anaplan. That model in Excel would be like riding and old bike with under-inflated tires, while Anaplan would be like driving a Tesla in Ludicrous mode. The ability to have your entire business modeled on a single platform, potentially across multiple models, where when you make a change the entire model updates within seconds, is invaluable in making decisions.
  • Error handling can be annoying. A single formula error can lock up your model for 2-5 minutes while it reverts back to before you pressed enter, and while its improved a little in the year I've been using Anaplan, there are certain situations where I feel like it could be eliminated or made more efficient.
  • Time subsets would be really nice.
Anaplan is great for modeling processes that are ongoing, and remain relatively the same over time. In other words, if you don't have a solid grasp of your process, or you know there are significant changes that change the way you do things on a not infrequent basis, you may want to wait to build the model in Anaplan until things are more stable or you have a better understanding of the business requirements of what you are trying to build. Wholesale changes to an Anaplan model can be cumbersome and time consuming - though that is not unlike modeling on any other platform.

It's also probably not worth your time to build a model in Anaplan if you're only going to use it once - in this case, if it's not too complicated, Excel is probably a better choice.
There is a dependency in this rating - in that I find Anaplan extremely easy to use, but I've spent the necessary time developing a strong understanding of the platform. Once you understand how to use it, the platform is flexible, easy to use, and fun to use.
Read Chris Friederich's full review
Tara Kirby | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2017

Anaplan - a powerful flexible tool with nearly endless potential

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our road map is to implement Anaplan globally to connect all departments and all levels of the organization for end to end planning, management reporting and analysis. Our initial phases focused on seamlessly connecting orders reporting and forecasting to revenue and gross margin forecasting. Anaplan allows all levels of the organization to have one version of the data and was the catalyst for rolling out consistent forecasting processes across all regions and functions. Anaplan will bring efficiency to our organization by eliminating shadow finance activities, improving data integrity and allowing consistent on demand analytics.
  • It is a very user-friendly platform that allows individuals without IT backgrounds to build models in simple syntax. If you know how to use Excel, you will be able to pick up model building in Anaplan with relative ease using the guided build methodology.
  • Anaplan is a blank slate that allows for multi-dimension models in which we determine the dimensions versus forcing us to adhere to predetermined dimensions.
  • Maintaining our company hierarchies in data hub allows us to change information there and have it automatically pushed out to all spoke models versus changing 10-20 spreadsheets.
  • The dashboard functionality is basic therefore, we have to bring in Tableau to provide a more professional view of the outputs as well as to allow management to more easily slice and dice data.
  • There is an Anaplan learning center however, I have not found it useful when I have questions. We are fortunate to have Aviana Global guiding us through the initial phases of our process. Without our consultants, learning Anaplan would be overwhelming.
  • The Anaplan Connect needs to be improved. We are considering a third party ETL, but we prefer that Anaplan have this capability built into its platform.
Because it is flexible, Anaplan is well suited for complex global organizations. We are a multi-matrix organization therefore, having the ability to establish multiple hierarchies in data hub and use those to slice and dice in the spoke models improves efficiency and accuracy. We are in the early stages of our implementation therefore, we are yet to encounter scenarios where Anaplan is not appropriate. My guess would be that if you have a small company with little complexity, then you might consider a less powerful tool.
Read Tara Kirby's full review
Michael Lauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2017

Anaplan: The "do we still have an IT department?" tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Anaplan as a quota and territory management tool focused around our yearly target process. As of right now we only use it for the US business unit. However we are looking to expand this use case to Canada as well. Our goal is to then add additional use cases such as Compensation and pipeline/forecasting.
  • Allows non-technical business-oriented individuals create functionality in the system.
  • Highly customizable.
  • Excellent business partner from a people perspective. Very focused on customer success, not just the next PO.
  • Larger workspaces.
  • Ongoing support contracts based on LOE.
  • Better formula support and explanation within the model.
Anaplan continues to provide us a platform to solve business problems that would otherwise get overlooked. The ability to create a data hub that can easily integrate with legacy systems and act as a staging ground for manipulating the data for multiple business problems is invaluable. Couple this with the ease of access and decreased reliance on IT makes this a very nimble and effective tool.
Read Michael Lauer's full review
Yang Liu | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2017

Anaplan Modeling on HR

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, we are using Anaplan for workforce planning modeling. We use the historic attrition and internal movement data to forecast future hiring needs. It seems that other functions in my company are exploring Anaplan but as of now only HR has implemented two models using Anaplan.
  • Smart Import Features: When you have data in multiple dimensions, as long as you set up the corresponding fields correctly, it can be loaded into your Anaplan space fairly easily.
  • Interactive Dashboard: As long as you set up hierarchy correctly, you can publish your numbers on the dashboard and just navigate to the level that you are interested in.
  • Productivity: My favorite thing about Anaplan is that you can work on the formulas on a micro level (in my case, individual employee) and you only work on this once and it will apply to the whole and you can have the company view in no time. Doing the same thing in MS Excel could take much longer.
  • Graphical feature: Anaplan should explore more graphical features. In my case, I have to export my data to MS Visio to get an org chart. The conditional formatting options are still very limited right now.
  • Formula for List Properties: It's only allowed to key in the formulas for these list properties. I'm not sure about the design philosophy. But I wish it could be similar to the formulas in modules to avoid mistakes.
  • Training Documentation Version Control: Training documentations have some many mistakes. It seems no version control at all. Since using Anaplan requires to set up time properly, the training documentations need to be updated. Before you publish any document, can you let one of your employees (who are not authors of the documentation) to follow the documentation to see if he can complete tasks based on the directions on the documentation? All the modeler in my company had hard time to teach ourselves by using the documentation so none of us was able to complete the intermediate training.
It makes sense for HR to use Anaplan to adapt to the ever-changing org structures.
Read Yang Liu's full review
Maggie Palumbo | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2017

Easier Territory Planning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Anaplan for account ownership and territory planning. We are about to role out Anaplan for incentive compensation. Our current use saves us tons of time from our Excel planning and allows us to see the impact of proposed changes without trying to manipulate a large Excel file and worry about version control. An additional benefit from our implementation is quick and easy reporting on account ownership. Having incentive compensation in Anaplan will allow us to integrate the two instances and see the impact of account moves to compensation and vice versa see the impact to sales reps pay based on their books of potential compensation changes.
  • Calculate values based on data in other files; we use this for scoring accounts
  • See the impact of new scenarios and potential changes; we do this with proposed territory changes
  • Quick and easy reporting on your current setup
  • Logistics and relationships of data are complicated if you do not have a data background
  • Formulas are difficult without a data background
  • We need more storage, we have large data sets
Anaplan is great for moving large data sets out of Excel for analysis. It is great for scenario planning.
Issues are resolved quickly
Read Maggie Palumbo's full review
Sharon Kam | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2017

Anaplan - Beginning Stages

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Anaplan to sync our data across demand and supply and then layer our financial assumptions to build out our financial forecast. Anaplan addresses business needs of synchronized, timely data tied to one source of truth, as well as scalability within the organization. Also relevant is the fact that it can refresh in seconds what would take Excel days or weeks to complete. The ability to build cube logic is great for financials requiring build outs of multiple SKUs, reorgs, etc.
  • Scalability - ability to build out financials with new SKUs spanning multiple financial assumptions
  • Timely cross functional data access
  • Ability to export data across systems SQL / Tableau
  • Difficulty training up users
  • Hierarchy of units that are used cross functionally that aren't easily translated between orgs
  • Ability to call back parts of models previously built up
  • Elegance in design can be make or break between cost accretion and dilution
  • Inconsistency of quality of consultants
Anaplan is great if you are building out models reliant on large, complex data sets that are refreshed constantly and that expand or contract often.

Oftentimes I've also seen it being used as a place to build out long range planning or similar exercises based on complex functions -- in that case I'd actually recommend Excel. Anaplan is truly used best when scaling large, inconsistently sized data sets across organizations.
Read Sharon Kam's full review
Baehan Babakan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2017

Get your Forecast out of EXCEL!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Anaplan within our FP&A oOrganization. The goal is to get to make this a robust tool and also have our deal desk be linked into the system to help with synergies. Currently, FP&A is the only team using the tool in the organization. The problem that Anaplan helps us address is getting out of Excel and being able to have a single place for our forecast to be held.
  • It allows for us to lock our forecast, which is extremely important for a public company.
  • It's an extremely collaborative tool, allowing multiple users on a team to update the forecast, without fear of breaking the system.
  • It is easy for a finance person to understand the formulas and update them as the business changes.
  • Error Messages. When updating a formula, you may have missed a bracket. Doing something like this can lock up the system for an extensive amount of time, also locking out your peers.
  • Suppressing Zero. Space becomes a real issue as you get more involved in the tool. A lot of times you want to use the system to its full capability, however, run into problems, because of space. It would be great if zero balances did not count against your space.
  • Open source: Because the tool is so open, you can change something in on module, however effect many other things that you never intended too. I would love to see a feature that shows me by changing something a clear picture of all thing i am updating.
I think the tool is well suited for any organization that wants better insight into their finances. I think compared to any other SaaS tool out on the market the clear leader is Anaplan. I have used and implemented Adaptive in prior companies and while the tool is functional, you can see its limitations.
Read Baehan Babakan's full review
Ramandeep Garcha | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2017

First-Time User's Pros and Cons

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is used primarily within finance and strategy for financial planning and analytical purposes. It provides the team with the capability to merge and work with operational data sourced from multiple systems into one world. Thus, not only are we able to dissect data with greater dexterity, we are able to utilize multi-disciplinary data in conjunction with Anaplan's forecasting models to plan with greater precision.
  • Personnel Forecasting models allow more in-depth & precise forecasting.
  • Flexibility allows the creation and use of custom, better focused analytical and planning models.
  • The tool is geared towards mass usability within an organization, thus can be used collaboratively between finance and business partners.
  • Size and pricing limitations inhibit full potential of the tool.
  • Empty cells/cells with 0 value are counted and take up space in models.
  • Models often require sophistication that can be a challenge to implement.
Forecasting with the tool is particularly well-suited if the appropriate model is built and available (i.e. personnel). Scenarios where it is less suited might be those that require custom, sophisticated models. Although flexibility is a key advantage of Anaplan, capitalizing on this advantage isn't always pragmatic. Often, building a model requires the investment of time to build, test, and fine-tune a solution. That time requirement might not be as affordable for a smaller team.
Read Ramandeep Garcha's full review
Changiz Talamroud | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2017

Make your life easier - but have to put in the hard work upfront

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've implemented Anaplan for two different departments in our company:

1. Sales Finance - Anaplan was used for weekly forecast process and I was part of the team that implemented Anaplan.
2. Business Strategy and Marketing Team - I implemented Anaplan for this team for our annual target setting.

Both experiences had positive outcomes and each model was implemented and currently being used.
  • If the model in Anaplan is built well, it allows the user to make one change as part of an input and that one change will be reflected through out the model.
  • Unlike Excel, there is no need for a formula check - it's a very useful feature for a large model for multiple variable and drivers.
  • The key to a successful model is to keep your model simple, don't overcomplicate things.
  • So far, I've been pleased with Anaplan. Where Anaplan, as a company can improve, is the consultants. Different consultants have different styles and Anaplan Consultants should be teaching their customers how to use the tool rather than doing the work on their behalf.
  • Also, most of the consultants I interacted with were from LA so it would be nice to have some local consultants (Bay Area) or at least have some face to face time with our consultants.

For our purposes of weekly forecasts and target setting, Anaplan is well suited.

I took a target setting Excel model, that is about 20 tabs or more, and converted it into Anaplan model. It usually took the team about 2 or 3 days to make a few simple adjustments to the target setting Excel model, whereas I made the same adjustments in Anaplan and it took me about an hour or two. So there is tremendous time saving, but that's if the model has been built well in Anaplan.

Read Changiz Talamroud's full review
Todd Kavanaugh | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2017

Anaplan is Changing business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Anaplan is being used to calculate incentive compensation and workforce management. It is being used to replace slow legacy and Excel systems. It is also being used as a data hub for current and future use cases.
  • It is in the cloud.
  • it is a powerful calculation engine.
  • It allows you to analyze data instead of [just] prepare it.
  • Saving of different user views of dashboards.
  • I wish it would handle custom time frames better.
I think anaplan is perfect for forecasting financial scenarios.
Read Todd Kavanaugh's full review
Meki Garvey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

Anaplanning with confidence

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is currently used as our annual budgeting and monthly forecasting tool. The budget owners are given access to view their respective department budget. We also use the Anaplan Excel add-in function to help with the reporting aspects. Anaplan has reduced the planning/forecasting turn around time; increased efficiency, and most importantly data integrity (vs. previously done in Excel). It also provides visibility of the detail behind the budget/forecast.
  • Flexibility
  • Efficiency
  • Integrated forecast tool with internal systems
  • Excel add-in ... could definitely be improved to be more robust
  • Excel Add Ins ... it needs to be further developed to increase efficiency
  • For FP&A - Anaplan helped streamline the budget and forecast process.
  • Build robust financial model and improve efficiency, accuracy, and reliability.
Read Meki Garvey's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customizable dashboards (4)
6.7
Publish to PDF (4)
6.7
Report Versioning (3)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (3)
7.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (3)
7.7
Long-term financial planning (76)
8.2
Financial budgeting (80)
9.1
Forecasting (90)
9.3
Scenario modeling (92)
8.9
Management reporting (95)
7.7
Financial data consolidation (56)
9.0
Journal entries and reports (33)
5.5
Multi-currency management (11)
6.2
Intercompany Eliminations (8)
6.0
Minority Ownership (7)
6.0
Local and consolidated reporting (48)
8.0
Detailed Audit Trails (51)
7.0
Financial Statement Reporting (60)
9.3
Management Reporting (70)
9.0
Excel-based Reporting (65)
6.8
Automated board and financial reporting (13)
9.0
Personalized dashboards (90)
7.9
Color-coded scorecards (78)
7.0
KPIs (17)
8.0
Cost and profitability analysis (62)
7.9
Key Performance Indicator setting (69)
7.4
Benchmarking with external data (12)
7.0
Flat file integration (91)
8.7
Excel data integration (81)
7.2
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (63)
7.9

About Anaplan

Anaplan, Inc. (NYSE: PLAN) is a cloud-native enterprise SaaS company helping global enterprises orchestrate business performance. Leaders across industries rely on the platform—powered by its proprietary Hyperblock® technology—to connect teams, systems, and insights from across their organizations to continuously adapt to change, transform how they operate, and reinvent value creation. Based in San Francisco, Anaplan has over 20 offices globally, 175 partners and approximately 1,500 customers worldwide. To learn more, visit anaplan.com.

Anaplan Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting

Analytics Features

Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting

Integration Features

Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featureCustomizable dashboards

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureReport-Level Access Control

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Additional Features
Has featureWeb-based administration
Has featureData import and export (formats CSV, etc.)
Has featureMicrosoft Office integration
Has featureUser defined modeling/configuration
Has featurePurpose-built connectors for ETL/ESB tools, reporting and BI systems

Anaplan Screenshots

Anaplan Video

Anaplan Connected Planning

Anaplan Downloadables

Anaplan Integrations

SnapLogic, Dell Boomi, Salesforce, Microsoft Office, Tableau, MuleSoft, Informatica

Anaplan Competitors

Anaplan Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

To request a personal demo, visit: https://www.anaplan.com/request-demo/. For existing customers: request a free trial for any app in the App Hub: https://apphub.anaplan.com/.

Anaplan Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
10%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
90%

Anaplan Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Anaplan Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All countries
Supported Languages: Multi-lingual support