Anaplan Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
238 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 116)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 03, 2021
Rama Narravula | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is being used by the FP&A and Demand Planning teams for budgeting, forecasting, modeling and reporting. Having a primary data source that can be iterated upon several times by a different stakeholders for various business scenarios helps speedup the planning process. Anaplan provides the collaborative, flexible and secure workspace to update the financial business plans quickly to accommodate our rapidly changing environment, while addressing the data integrity issues. We replaced all Hyperion planning process and many homegrown & Excel based planning and modelling applications with Anaplan
  • Multiple business users from world wide working on similar tasks simultaneously & collaboratively. No need for shared spreadsheets
  • Collaboration & Connected Planning capabilities keep the models in sync
  • Rapid development, deployment & enhancement capabilities attracts quick business adoption across the company
  • Lack of native scheduling capabilities creates a dependence on / need for third party system, even for automatic data sync between Anaplan Models. Limited native integration capabilities also creates another need for a third party integration system
  • Data Extraction & Reporting - Limited capabilities in Data Extraction & lack of Data Formatting and lack of Template Based Reporting frustrates business users
Anaplan is great for collaborative planning and complex business models that require frequent updates and quick feedback. Ease of use, ease of development, deployment & maintenance accelerates business adoption

It's not a great reporting or analytics tool. Limited model sizes limit the capability to capture large data sets and need for Data Warehouse for plan over plan & historic analysis and reporting
Informed decision making and consensus among the organization as we trust in the numbers.
Read Rama Narravula's full review
June 13, 2021
Fabian Ciba | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work as a consultant implementing Anaplan [for] customers. I come across a wide range of different problems and different industries. I have been implementing Anaplan [for] recruiting companies, consultants, Media house, ferry companies, E-commerce FMCG and more...
  • Consolidation.
  • Connects departments.
  • Create transparency.
  • Management reporting.
  • Design.
  • Adhoc structure.
For any complex company Anaplan is great! But it does not need to be complex, I have implemented several cases [where] the data collection has been an issue in itself and by letting the end user do the input a lot of time has been saved. This however is only a starting point if the implementation shall remain successful. Any company needs to continue develop and include more parts of the company.
Anaplan creates more quality in the numbers. Better quality better decision and money save[d] and money earned. Before we had 4 different forecast on sales no[w] we have one common that we all use and that is presented to the market. The time to update is decreased with days.
Read Fabian Ciba's full review
June 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is used across all of finance at our organization to change how we budget, forecast, and consolidate our numbers. It addresses business problems of lack of auditability, lengthened planning cycles, siloed planning, and long review cycles. Being cloud based and decentralized, it helps us as a multinational organization to collaborate effectively across the globe and enables quick reviews and changes to our plan.
  • Anaplan continues to innovate and does a great job of incorporating Anaplan customer and partner feedback into their roadmap.
  • Anaplan offers a flexible and agile product that allows plans to be agile and adapt quickly to changing business needs.
  • Anaplan continues to champion their community and hosts great events to promote knowledge transfers that benefit the entire Anaplan ecosystem.
  • Anaplan account executives champion their accounts and want to help them succeed.
  • Management reporting in Anaplan has come a long way, but there is still room to grow here. Already leaps and bounds above where it was even the last year, but still not as flexible reporting as other tool built specifically for reporting.
  • Anaplan support is not always the most responsive.
For any sort of planning, Anaplan is a must. Cannot recommend the product or company enough. Great product, fantastic organization. The first Anaplan implementation is the most challenging, but after that, when multiple models and use cases are achieved, the benefits continue to roll in. Anaplan is especially well suited for areas that are currently driven by disparate planning, and drives tremendous growth by giving end users a greater chance to plan together.
Quicker scenario modeling and analysis.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Alec Wainberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My firm has successfully implemented Anaplan across many industries and use cases. Personally, I have implemented Anaplan for retailers to help facilitate project planning, financial planning, and assortment planning. Most implementations that I have worked on for Anaplan were assisting clients get out of unscalable planning processes conducted in Excel and helping them to transition to Anaplan's cloud platform.
  • Cloud-based platform (can be easily accessed via a web browser and on mobile).
  • Secure.
  • Scalable (can handle an immense amount of data).
  • Easy to learn.
  • Limited resources as Anaplan is still new.
Anaplan should be implemented for just about any planning solution. Currently, it is mostly used for Financial Planning but there have been in increase in other use cases such as Supply Chain Planning, Project Planning, Workforce Planning, and Assortment Planning.
If team's are starting to outgrow Excel, Anaplan is the best option.
Anaplan helps provide a centralized view of data that enables teams to more efficiently conduct their planning activities. Anaplan can also directly connect with the company's data sources and can integrate with 3rd party BI reporting platforms such as Tableau. There is also role based user access, which enables leadership to input targets that are then visible to the rest of the planning team making the planning process more streamlined.
Read Alec Wainberg's full review
October 20, 2020
Scott Eckman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is currently being used by certain departments but has been expanding rapidly across the business. It is primarily used for Sales Territory Management, Account Scoring, OpEx Planning, HC Planning, and hierarchical metadata management.
  • Allows the business to link different planning streams into one place
  • Gives users a single source to view data, no more comparing offline templates in excel
  • Intuitive new UX that allows us to be more customizable when tailoring to needs of end-users
  • Integration with other platforms could be expanded/more effective. I.E excel connectors, powerpoint connectors, and others for presentation of data
  • Visualization still lacks behind other software
Its speed and customizability allow Anaplan to be adapted to most scenarios a business could need it for. Viewing end financial reports and making adjustments to forecast being a very common use-case, but it can also be adapted for cases like Clinical Trials. The reporting still requires you to exist in the realm of dimensionality. You lose some of the flexibility that you may have in excel where you can simply pivot the full data set and view data quickly. It can be limited by the constraints of what you build. With that said if the report is already known in advance it can easily be manufactured to fit the need, however ad-hoc reporting is a bit more difficult.
Since planning and data is available in real-time, all end-users are able to quickly see changes in the data. This allows for more informed decision making and consensus among the organization as everyone is using the same dataset.
Read Scott Eckman's full review
November 07, 2020
Ryan Stevens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is used across the entire organization. It has addressed a wide range of use cases, including but not limited to financial reporting, data integration between systems, forecasting, and budgeting. It has eliminated the need of a lot of large slow excel files and has allowed users from around the world to share and view data seamlessly.
  • Robust calculation engine.
  • Collaboration between many users at once.
  • Real time reporting and updates.
  • Visualizations are lacking.
  • If a mistake is made it can lock out many users.
Anaplan is well suited to handle scenarios that require a lot of standardized calculations or scenario planning. For example we want to forecast multiple scenarios to plan for multiple outcomes. Anaplan can quickly generate reports for all the scenarios and allow decision makers to quickly assess their data. It is less appropriate as a large data warehouse. If there are millions of records that change frequently and need to be stored somewhere, Anaplan may not be the best solution for this.
It has allowed users to view data changes in real time and instead of waiting for an excel file to be emailed across multiple teams to have all the data in one single source of truth. This has allowed for quicker decisions, as well as quickly identifying any pain points or inconsistencies.
Read Ryan Stevens's full review
November 05, 2020
Wenwei Liu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I helped Aesop for their FP&A using Anaplan. It's been used by financial department mainly. It helps the client to build a very flexible planning tool which collaborates historical data, revenue & COGS planning and expense planning including an independent model for workforce. It provides various views for management reporting and easily for end users to follow the process in their own area to complete the financial planning process.
  • End user friendly dashboarding.
  • Easy to import/export flat files.
  • Easy to maintain.
  • Integration with other databases can be improved.
  • The dashboarding customisation is not enough.
  • Excel add-on for importing/reporting.
It's very recommended to use Anaplan when the company wants to have an integrated planning tool for planning, reporting and analysis across different department. It's easy in Anaplan to set up dynamic access or user roles to secure data visibility. Also, Anaplan provides good self training path to client to educate themselves.
Anaplan provides a very dynamic reporting system that people can focus on their own area.
People can easily review the data by different levels and different dimensions with scenario analysis, or even created the personal view for constant use.
It also provides the commentary function that users can review the feedback in app.
Read Wenwei Liu's full review
October 30, 2020
Judee Dimapilis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented Anaplan at one of the biggest telecom [companies] in the Philippines. Their Finance Department are now using Anaplan on their 18-months Rolling Forecast. The model is a driver-based forecasting with lower granularity of data. It also has data integrations from and to other models. It is now very easy for the team to manage and maintain different versions of their forecast which is their pain-point before when they are using spreadsheets.
  • Ideal handling for large data.
  • Can manage low granularity of data.
  • Real time reports.
  • Presentation of reports can be more flexible on formats.
It is very well-suited for processes with different versions like scenario planning. There's some space for improvement on end-to-end approval processes.
It is indeed a solution to many pain-points of business processes.
Read Judee Dimapilis's full review
September 29, 2020
Belinda Ha | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My clients use Anaplan across many different industries (retail, architecture, tech, PE, real estate) for a wide breadth of use cases. Anaplan is flexible and robust as a calculation engine which I've personally implemented for FP&A reporting, revenue forecasting, recruiting, WFP and comp planning, as well as distribution waterfalls.
  • Robust and reliable calculations
  • Hierarchy changes are immediately reflected throughout model (calculations, reports, etc).
  • Single source of truth
  • Easy for Excel users to pick up modeling and formula syntax
  • Data visualization
  • No formula syntax helper built in
Anaplan is great in many different use cases. The jumping off point for a lot of companies tends to by financial reporting, forecasting, and budgeting. However, Anaplan's benefits are quickly understood by organizations and I've seen it implemented as ab HR management/recruiting models as well as distribution waterfall.
Anaplan allows financial analysts to move away from processing data each month and during forecasting/budgeting which can be extremely time consuming, cumbersome, and prone to human error, depending on the business'es process. With Anaplan, users are able to load data in or have the data automatically connected, trust that the calculations are reliable and standardized, so that the reporting and outputs are produced almost instantly, if not at a fraction of the time manual excel processes would take.
Read Belinda Ha's full review
July 28, 2020
Sid Powar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently used by supply chain planning for planning repair parts. It helps in transparency and measuring performance which helps maintain desired inventory levels.
  • It allows users to set up complex algorithms which then leads to recommendations made by the tool for the planners to make a decision.
  • Helps in collaboration across multiple users within our department but across Dish and potentially externally with our suppliers in the future.
  • The software is extremely fast and can calculate scenarios fast.
  • Partnership with data visualization software such as Tableau is needed.
  • More supply chain apps to allow users to see the different applications within supply chain.
Anaplan is a useful in aggregating data but powerful as it can use complex calculations to help the user make decisions for multiple variables. It is not a data visualization tool - dashboards are clunky as such users should try to use Anaplan with another tool to dashboard data.
Read Sid Powar's full review
October 06, 2020
Lauren Levine | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a consulting firm that is an Anaplan partner. I have implemented Anaplan to companies for use cases ranging from Supply Chain to finance to even education. Most of my experience has been in the finance space setting up FP&A systems and predictive models.
  • Flexibility of updates
  • Business able to maintain
  • Simple to integrate
  • Charts
  • License understanding for clients
Most well suited for companies who struggle with utilizing their IT and need to be updated by the business. Struggles when system needs to utilize real-time dates and isocalendars from other systems like SAP.
It make real time updates so everyone can see the changes ASAP.
Read Lauren Levine's full review
July 31, 2020
Jacob Edds | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are in the initial implementation of phase 1 for Unum. This phase includes moving the following processes out of excel and essbase: financial planning process, monthly management reporting, risk based capital management, and expense reporting. Phase 2 will consist of bringing on our capital planning processes.
  • Anaplan's dynamic features make this application a huge win over essbase (no calculating, everything is almost instant).
  • User experience is great and intuitive.
  • Business owned solution
  • Size constraints (130 gigs per workspace is terrible).
  • The blue toast note that stops model building progress is an absolute time killer during development.
Anaplan is great for planning purposes and but not so great for reporting purposes.
Anaplan allows UNUM to make faster Financial planning decisions by allowing the FP&A team to spin through forecasts and budget scenarios quicker. Thus providing leadership with the tools and information needed to set strategic direction.
The customer success team has always gone above and beyond.
Read Jacob Edds's full review
July 28, 2020
Amarjit Gill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work at an Anaplan Implementation partner (Resource Torrent). Most of our implementations have been related to financial planning and analysis for small to mid size companies, most pre IPO. Anaplan is being used by FP&A only in most if not all our implementations and not by the whole organization. The business problems solved by Anaplan is alleviation of the reliance and management of large and complex Excel workbooks which are hard to maintain and even harder to update.
  • Real time updates in the system.
  • Ease of use for Excel users.
  • Ability to do what if analysis.
  • While reporting has been improved via the dashboards, there is some way to go here, graphs etc.
Use should be for analytics and forecasting and not as BI tool. Great tool for real time what if analysis.
Reduced territory and account planning turn around times
Read Amarjit Gill's full review
November 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At this organization, Anaplan is being used by the FP&A and Sales Ops departments. My experience is with FP&A. This organization was using Microsoft Excel for forecasting and Microsoft Access for consolidations. It was a very slow process to update the forecast. Anaplan allowed us to have all forecasts in one model (rather than multiple Excel spreadsheets) that can be accessed by everyone at once, and where the updates are flowed live to the financial statements.
  • User access controls that are easy to maintain
  • Models are maintained by end users, not IT
  • Easy Scenario/What-if Analysis and forecast adjustments
  • Automation of data integration
  • Hierarchy changes are easy and quick and flow through entire model
  • Improved dashboarding views
Anaplan is ideal for forecasting/planning whether it be for Finance or Supply Chain. It is also well suited for Sales Performance Management. It is less appropriate for scheduling, iterative calculations, optimizing production.
Anaplan has helped us turnaround results and KPI reporting quicker which has resulted in quicker decision making with more trust in the numbers.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Anaplan across Supply Chain, Sales, Marketing, and Finance. We use Anaplan to help forecast sales from gross dollars all the way down to the standard margin. Anaplan helps us operationalize these forecasts in Supply Chain, and then realize these forecasts with our finance team. It is an extremely helpful tool for collaborative planning.
  • Forecasting
  • Collaboration
  • Automation
  • Integration
  • Easy to over-engineer.
  • Marketing materials always promise more than can be delivered.
  • CloudWorks limited to external sources.
It is simple to build (point and click instead of writing code). It is fully customizable. It can be architected to build any train of logic. Therefore, it forces the business to truly understand itself when building models. So not only does Anaplan helps teams plan more effectively because it puts structure around their process, but it also allows businesses to think thru, collaborate on, and develop the logic of their business in more detailed terms.
Before we used Anaplan, we stored data in spreadsheets. Each teammate had their own version of the spreadsheet and it was extremely difficult to know who's data was "correct." Now, all users have the same data in one cloud-based solution. This enables all of our business decisions to be data-driven and informed because we can actually trust the numbers in our forecasts.
Read this authenticated review
August 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it for Demand Forecasting, Rebate Forecasting for Gross to Net, and building P&L for inline portfolio of products. We have expanded the use in Supply Chain and Accounting reconciliation. It is isolated into Finance and supply chain for the current usage, but I hope to expand it to other departments. We have developed weekly and daily tracking reports to be used by sales team as well.
  • Modeling capability - It has enough control to be a rigid system. Yet, it has enough flexibility to change with the needs of the business.
  • One version of truth - Same data source is being shared by many groups via dashboard, so there is no confusion on which version is the most recent.
  • Be able to create reports on the fly and provide access to the data set for those who need them.
  • Additional reporting capability, especially with formatting of the tables, charts, and graphs. I wish to be able to label axis, change colors of the graphs, define axis.
  • Dashboard - unable to place a "picture/logo" on a dashboard.
  • No auto e-mail capabilities. Once data is loaded into Anaplan, I would like to send an automatic e-mail that the load has been completed.
  • No mobile app is available. I wish there is a version (for dashboard) to see it on mobile device.
Anaplan is good for data aggregation and being able to slice and dice the information as long as the relationships are defined properly. Once the data is loaded, it is fairly easy to create a dashboard to present the data. However, some analytical models are too complex to do in Anaplan. It can be done, but it takes a master Anaplaner to build it, and it is not as easy to maintain the system.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company moved completely from the standard locally stored data into Anaplan Cloud solution. It improved a lot the whole process of transforming source data into financial results. Many aspects of the daily job were enhanced - security, managing ability, accuracy, scalability, efficiency. I'd like to recommend Anaplan to all those people that need a solution having a database + calculation functions on big sets of data.
  • Flexibility.
  • Scalability.
  • Cloud experience.
  • Hearing community.
Anaplan is well suited for all the cases where the data sets need to be fully compatible without losing any numbers in between. If somebody had a database where numbers and master data are stored and wanted to use this data for calculations in many different aspects, then Anaplan would definitely be for him.
We have moved into Anaplan almost completely leaving behind Excel sheets and similar local solutions. It improved a lot in the company. What we are waiting for is to have more opportunities to connect Anaplan with other systems and solutions that would make it a great tandem solving many different issues.
Read this authenticated review
July 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is being used by the Finance Team of about 35 professionals for budgeting, forecasting, reporting, and visualizations. It's not yet being used by our Accounting, Investor Relations or any other team at the company. Its primary use case is a single-source-of-truth for budget, actuals and as a forecasting tool. It has really helped us get a handle on our financials.
  • Singe source of truth for actuals and forecast.
  • Robust modeling capabilities.
  • Flexible to change models.
  • Connectivity to other tools/databases.
  • Easy to add new accounts as needed.
  • Better/more intuitive security.
  • Better branding to make the tool feel like your company.
  • Better Excel integration!
  • Self-help guides.
Well suited: forecasting, single source-of-truth, and scenario management. Less suited: Excel plug-ins and visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
July 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for our pricing model. Currently being used in only a couple departments. It is used because the large data we have is not easily used in Excel.
  • Handles Large Data
  • Streamlined Model
  • Provides Ability for Quality Reporting
  • Limits of calculation functions
  • Limited Flexibility
It is well suited for large, complicated models that take a lot of time to update in Excel. It would be less appropriate for simple models.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2019
Kris Sircar, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the FP&A team. We use it to track headcount and SG&A. In addition to that, we also track technical income that allows business users access to update forecasts and budgets based on changes and trends made to actuals. Actuals are updated on a quarterly basis.
  • Sets up dimensions.
  • Ease of onboarding new users.
  • Lists can get too cumbersome.
  • Formula syntax is not intuitive.
Anaplan is good for headcount reporting. We allow staging tables that allows HR to keep track of new hires and current employees. With access rights, we are certain that other users do not have access to this information as it is sensitive. We have trouble with creating different views of headcount per department, per locale.
Read Kris Sircar, MBA's full review
February 22, 2019
Matthew Kuo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Tableau, we use Anaplan for our Sales Planning function. For our company, this encompasses the functions of Workforce Planning, Territory Assignment, Compensation Plan Administration, and Quota Setting. Sales Planning was Tableau's first Anaplan use case, and since adopting the platform, we've also had use cases in Finance, Marketing, and IT. Anaplan helps us address both collaboration and version control issues. For some use cases, the key benefit is having a primary data source that can be iterated upon several times by a number of different stakeholders. For other use cases, the key benefit is having a significant number of collaborators, who can all rely on one single source of truth. Overall, Anaplan provides our company with the data integrity we need while still remaining flexible enough to update quickly to accommodate our rapidly changing environment.
  • Version Control -- by having one cloud-based source for our primary data, there rarely are questions about which data points to use. Everyone understands this and can reference our single source of truth.
  • Flexibility -- Anaplan is great in maintaining a balance between being a formal system, but being flexible enough to update quickly. We adopted Anaplan shortly after our IPO, when our company was still changing rapidly, and have been able to incorporate all of our business process changes into the tool.
  • Collaboration -- Anaplan allows us to have hundreds of users logged into the tool, updating information all at the same time. This was particularly useful during our account based planning implementation, when we had a number of sales managers and reps contributing their forecasts all at once.
  • Enablement -- Anaplan should invest more in both its training capability and training content. Anaplan is not the most difficult tool to learn, but having more foundation in this area would make the ramp-up process significantly easier
  • Storage -- Anaplan is not a data warehouse. This is understandable given data warehousing is not their primary value proposition, but many times we run close to the storage limits of Anaplan, and it would be great if Anaplan had different storage size options for its workspaces.
  • User Interface -- Anaplan's user interface could be streamlined and improved to become more intuitive and accommodate more shortcut keys.
Well Suited
  • Any process that you expect to change frequently.
  • A process within a dynamic environment, such as high tech / the startup world, where you expect significant business process changes.
  • Any process that requires a significant number of collaborators.
  • Any process where you intend for users to update logic with Excel-like formulas.
  • Any process where using Google Docs has failed to accommodate your needs for data integrity.
Less Appropriate
  • Data visualization - Anaplan has capabilities here, but other tools are more focused on this.
  • Data storage - Anaplan is not a data warehouse and has limits on what you can store.
Read Matthew Kuo's full review
September 05, 2018
Andrew Paston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Anaplan for financial reporting, planning and customer reporting.

Anaplan allows us to spend time on value added instead of spending time consolidating planning results in Excel. We can look at reviewing key trends. Forecasts are broken down into smaller tasks and distributed to the business resulting in less pressure on the FP&A team during forecast/budget rounds.

The reporting timeline is shorter as dashboards can be used for users to login and see their areas results which means we dont have to send out manual reports.

Anaplan allows very complex business modelling but without any of the complex language used in other tools and can be run by the users themselves. Results are recalculated on the fly with no wait time to run the recalc process.
  • Forecast consolidation and recalcuation
  • Dashboards for entry and review
  • Ease of modelling. Its like Excel but simpler to use.
  • Some of the charting is limited
  • Some formatting options could be better
  • Excel Add-in has only just been revamped
Complex business or business with multi dimensional products or services, geographic locations or channels
Read Andrew Paston's full review
November 10, 2017
Szilvia Havasreti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Anaplan is used across the whole organization, at WW level. The key problem was to remove offline spreadsheets for sales quota planning, deployment, and ensure automatic, real-time coverage analysis for the sales teams.
  • Real - time - the cloud based technology allows all changes & its impact is visible in real time.
  • Performance - in the case of complex business cases, the size of Anaplan is increasing drastically, and even a simple click would take more than it should.
  • UI - The User interface needs to be improved: group/expand hierarchy, "Ctrl " + select option to allow multi selection, Content page clean up, easier "Drag & drop" when customizing or building exports.
  • Review & enhance the type of security user roles.
Sales performance management, various finance scenarios - Anaplan is good for automating calculations. It is less appropriate for very complex business cases.
Read Szilvia Havasreti's full review
July 17, 2017
Steve Ridgley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I purchased Anaplan to perform complex modeling of potential changes to our sales incentive programs. In addition to our usage, our finance team is beginning to explore the use of the tool for sales forecasting. With a sales organization in excess of 5000 people, it is critical to be able to adjust multiple variables across lines of business and understand the impact on each of our operating areas. Anaplan allows us to model multiple "what if" approaches simultaneously, perform side-by-side scenario analysis, and convey to our executive team what the specific tradeoffs are between options. Our responsiveness has been accelerated by orders of magnitude, and our conclusions are rooted in data.
  • I think the greatest strength of Anaplan is that the entire model is interconnected. The ability to update a single variable and have that change propagated through the entire model is unparalleled.
  • Another strength is the ability to have multiple users working in a given model simultaneously. We have had the experience of actively modeling to meet a deadline and realizing that some of the underlying assumptions and/or layout needed to be changed to support a new approach. While our model-builder made the back-end adjustments in Florida, our analyst continued to work through a new set of variables. We ended up with a completely refreshed approach in less than a half hour. With only two hours before our deadline, we NEVER would have even entertained making the change in Excel.
  • The thing that Anaplan does -- that I haven't seen elsewhere -- is the ability to get to data-driven analysis of the future. BI tools are great for reporting what has already happened, but fall short of predictive analytics and sensitivity analysis. Anaplan handles those with ease.
  • The reporting/dashboarding capability is adequate but could be enhanced.
  • Anaplan is somewhat intuitive ... but it DOES require an investment of time and energy to become proficient in it. The ability to use it for more and more use cases is limited by the number of personnel who truly understand the tool. The corollary is that unless that knowledge is spread to multiple people on the team, there can be substantial risk were a key resource to leave the group.
  • Building a new model does require a fair amount of up-front planning and construction. So there are some things we would rather do in Anaplan than Excel ... but unless they have continuing utility, we find ourselves unlikely to perform quick analyses in Anaplan.
To date, I have used Anaplan for sales comp modeling, territory and quota planning, and sales forecasting. It has been well-suited to all three.
Read Steve Ridgley's full review
July 10, 2017
Christopher Pope | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The corp FP&A team is using it for financial budgets. The revenue planning team is using it for revenue planning. One of our units is using it for demand planning. The customer service org is using it for returns modeling. It's primarily a finance footprint but that footprint is growing outside finance.
  • Hyperbloc architecture -- the ability to see changes to models instantly cascade through all the models.
  • Function agnostic platform - the ability to adapt the platform to many different use cases and integrate those use cases into a connected planning environment.
  • Cloud architecture. Security and product enhancements come automatically.
  • The actions could be improved - make it obvious what the sources and targets of the are so we don't have to guess or put them in the action names. Also get a native scheduler! That's so simple and it's very frustrating and expensive to have to build/buy our own.
  • Reporting and UI still have a long way to go. Simple things like being able to alphabetize/order what you see on the screen, or add a rich color pallet to choose from.
  • User access management could improve. We need to have model level admins that don't have access to everything in the workspace. Also the tenant admin space doesn't work effectively. I can't remove a user from all models simultaneously. I also can't see all models a user has access to from the tenant admin space.
It's great for complex models that require frequent updates and instant feedback. That describes most planning situations I know of. It's great for organizations that want to change plans and models independent of IT support or programming. It's not a great reporting or analytics tool. Ad-hoc analysis is a non-starter in the platform--you have to be a model builder and the process of generating a report is very cumbersome compared with something like Tableau.
Read Christopher Pope's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customizable dashboards (16)
7.8
Publish to PDF (16)
8.5
Report Versioning (16)
7.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (3)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (13)
9.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (15)
8.3
Dedicated iOS Application (11)
6.5
Dedicated Android Application (9)
6.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (12)
6.6
Long-term financial planning (89)
8.5
Financial budgeting (93)
9.0
Forecasting (103)
8.8
Scenario modeling (105)
9.1
Management reporting (108)
8.0
Financial data consolidation (69)
8.8
Journal entries and reports (44)
7.1
Multi-currency management (11)
6.2
Intercompany Eliminations (8)
6.0
Minority Ownership (7)
6.0
Local and consolidated reporting (60)
8.0
Detailed Audit Trails (63)
6.5
Financial Statement Reporting (73)
8.8
Management Reporting (83)
8.1
Excel-based Reporting (75)
7.0
Automated board and financial reporting (13)
9.0
Personalized dashboards (103)
9.0
Color-coded scorecards (91)
8.1
KPIs (17)
8.0
Cost and profitability analysis (74)
8.7
Key Performance Indicator setting (81)
8.8
Benchmarking with external data (12)
7.0
Flat file integration (104)
8.6
Excel data integration (94)
7.8
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (75)
8.4

What is Anaplan?

Anaplan, Inc. (NYSE: PLAN) is a cloud-native enterprise SaaS company helping global enterprises orchestrate business performance. Leaders across industries rely on the platform—powered by its proprietary Hyperblock® technology - to connect teams, systems, and insights from across their organizations to continuously adapt to change, transform how they operate, and reinvent value creation. Based in San Francisco, Anaplan has over 20 offices globally, 175 partners and approximately 1,500 customers worldwide.

Anaplan Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting

Analytics Features

Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting

Integration Features

Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featureCustomizable dashboards

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureReport-Level Access Control

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Additional Features
Has featureWorkforce Analytics: Tools designed to help analyze employee data and develop baselines for evaluating and optimizing workforce management.

Anaplan Screenshots

Anaplan Video

Anaplan Connected Planning

Anaplan Downloadables

Anaplan Integrations

SnapLogic, Dell Boomi, Salesforce, Microsoft Office, Tableau, MuleSoft, Informatica

Anaplan Competitors

Anaplan Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Anaplan Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
10%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
90%

Anaplan Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Anaplan Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All countries
Supported Languages: Multi-lingual support

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Anaplan's best feature?

Reviewers rate Scenario modeling highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Anaplan?

The most common users of Anaplan are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.