Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
265 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 182)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Marvin Hartsfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Workday Adaptive Planning is used] as the primary tool for budgeting and forecasting for the Finance department. Also used to track KPIs across the organization. All comparisons vs a budget are done with Adaptive.

Reporting is done using the office connect tool in both Excel and PowerPoint. Reporting is done from the board level to the individual department level.
  • Organizes a large amount of data in a very accessible way.
  • Easy to change or modify formulas
  • Easy to learn and implement.
  • Formatting and display options for dashboards are limited.
  • Scenario planning is hard to carry from one version to the next.
  • Reporting has limited formatting options.
Workday Adaptive Planning is extremely well suited to the typical finance budget, forecast, actual reporting cycle and makes it easy to do every monthly forecast at the same level of detail as an annual plan. It takes a lot of pain out of the reconciliation of headcount variances and that type of thing.
I have had minimal need to interact with the support team.
Read Marvin Hartsfield's full review
April 16, 2021
Brad MacDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a growing company, we needed to shift from Excel-based budgeting/reporting models to a much more capable (and sophisticated) model. We selected Adaptive based on the tool's capabilities, the fact that it's cloud-based (SaaS), and easily scalable. We deployed Adaptive for all budget owners within 3 months of making our decision.

Using Adaptive, our budget owners and executives now have a much better (and faster) view of our financials, as well as allowing the finance team to spend time on analysis/insight.
  • Overall structure of the model is both powerful and simple. Accounts and levels (legal entities/cost centers) drive the overall data structure. Once this principle is firmly understood, the tool is quite easy to understand from an implementation and administrative perspective.
  • Customer support is outstanding. Even though we're a small company, Adaptive doesn't recognize that (or care). I've had conversations with a variety of their team members on a number of different topics, and they are very good at supporting our company.
  • Reporting tools are world-class. It's nice that you can have a best-in-class planning system, but without equally strong reporting tools, it really doesn't mean much. Adaptive's easy-to-build reports are both flexible and powerful.
  • Administration is easy. Helpful tools to make your system secure.
  • Our biggest challenge is that more people want the tool than we (originally) budgeted for. (This really isn't a con, but be aware that if you're moving from an Excel-based manual model, people will be really hungry for this type of tool/application.)
I am completely satisfied that this tool can be used with either the smallest or largest organizations (yes, it's that good).
Their support infrastructure is world-class. Of course, they have a team that responds directly to issues/questions, but they also have an ecosystem of support (blogs, user forums) and training (in fact, they're training modules are some of the best I've seen).
Read Brad MacDonald's full review
April 01, 2021
Warren Sampson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday Adaptive Planning to create a detailed financial plan for our entire company. The userbase includes Sales, Operations, Finance, and HR. In addition to using Adaptive to develop a bottoms-up financial plan, starting with sales volume/revenue, detailed labor planning, cost of goods sold modeling, we use Adaptive to pull financial results from our ERP system (SAP) and report on Plan vs Actual performance.
  • Version Management. Adaptive lets us manage many versions/scenarios all in one platform with the robust ability to compare them to each other.
  • Processing Performance. With the Elastic Hypercube technology that was implemented a few years back, we can watch changes flow through a complex web of formulas and arrive at an answer within seconds.
  • Audit Trail. Our administrators love the ability to see and report on who made what changes when, which leads to real accountability within the organization.
  • Variable Time Roll-ups. Different entities within our company look at "years" differently, but we're only able to specify one global time roll-up for aggregating data quickly, which can lead to some confusion.
  • Administrative UI. Management of Access Rules and ordering sheets from an administrative point of view can be a bit tedious and have received less attention than other features recently.
  • List Sheet Reporting. Any sheet that is a variable list of things (like People, Capital Projects, Marketing Programs) is somewhat constrained in how it can be reported on. Adaptive provides two kinds of reports but both leave something to be desired when reporting on this kind of data.
Workday Adaptive Planning is an extremely flexible foundation to model almost anything. We've found ways to build detailed models that give the planners and management at the company valuable insights into how each department is planning for the future, thus providing management the information they need to shift course if necessary. Generally its reporting is robust but it's not a substitute for Business Intelligence tool.
We get strong and timely support when a ticket arises. The team that helps us is friendly and responsive.
Read Warren Sampson's full review
May 02, 2021
Krishna Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday Adaptive Planning was implemented for our organization 3 years back, and we support this now to help user adapt new upgrade and enhancement and much more. I worked and implemented many other planning systems for other client but I would say Workday planning is to implement if you have good knowledge on Adaptive and F,P & A process, its really helpful, easy, cost effective, and save lot of time.
  • I like the flexibility to create different sheets
  • I like the flexibility to create different dashboards
  • I like the flexibility to create reports
  • You can connect any system using integration
  • Easy to adapt and learn
  • cost effective
  • More you can focus on process then tool
  • I am completely satisfied that this tool can be used with either the smallest or largest organizations (yes, it's that good). as I worked on many other tool
  • the tree structure makes it very difficult to scroll through report
  • integrations between other system need to be streamline
Customisation of web pages and products - the Robust option enables us to manage many iterations, which we can then compare across multiple platforms with an ability to grow and differentiate, resulting in an expanded feature set of future scenarios.
Computer processing speed - With the Elastic Hypercube technology that was implemented a few years back, we can watch changes flow through a complex web of formulas and arrive at an answer within seconds.
continuous audit trail - One of the primary advantages of using Change Tracker is the real accountability that is displayed when seeing who has modified which files, which allows for an easy internal controls and auditing.
Read Krishna Singh's full review
March 24, 2021
Beth Higgins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the company for budgets/forecasts. The department owner is responsible for entering their own budgets, aside from personnel, into the model. It replaced a system that did not work.
  • New hires.
  • Personnel planning.
  • Detailed expense planning.
  • Integrated balance sheet, income statement and cashflow.
  • Allocation functionality is cumbersome since every time you want to make a change you have to recreate the allocation (i.e. if you need to add or delete a dept in the allocation).
  • Whenever we go into a saved locked version, instead of being at the top level, the system opens the next time at the dept level, even if you have never opened any sheets at that dept.
It is working well for us so far. We implemented expenses in detail in the beginning and are now working through revenue/booking integration with NetSuite along with the integration with Workday for personnel.
We use outside consultants (Carlson Management Group) and they have been terrific business partners. June 2021 will be 2 yrs since we signed with them and we are still actively engaged with them.
Read Beth Higgins's full review
April 20, 2021
Tony Phan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday is used as the backbone of HR management in my organization. It is used from the day employee is hired till the day that employee resigns. Request for salary payment details are also being done here. In addition, development module is integrated with workday making it easy to set goals & achieve your goals through your career.
  • All in one portal related to HR details that you need to know in your organization.
  • Integrated goal/development feature that will help you in your career.
  • Requesting annual leave is extremely easy, no more emails requesting leaves.
  • Sometimes a lot of functions causing confusion, might need to set guide/help card for new employees to get used to.
I would absolutely recommend this to any of my colleagues. In fact, many of them are already using it. It is making HR related things in your organization so easy. From the stage that you are applying for the job (through Workday) to the day that you are onboarding and Workday will keep helping you throughout your journey in the organization that is using it.
If you get locked out of your account, it is easy to reset your password and get access to your account again. I have not encountered any major issue that needs take support to do live support on it. However, everything can be found in FAQ section and topics discussing on How-To are widely available.
Read Tony Phan's full review
March 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Workday] Adaptive Planning for our yearly budget process and our monthly forecasting process. It allows our team great flexibility with both of these processes and has moved us out of the age of Excel and into a online Platform that helps eliminate data entry or formula errors. Not only can we report/forecast on GL balances we also have many custom accounts we do this process for as well. The ability to load detailed historical data is a great feature of this product as well.
  • Quick ability to update formulas and see the updated outcomes
  • Very nice to have ability to have multiple versions and compare them against each other
  • Love Office Connect, total game changer for Excel users
  • Need the ability to move items within Dashboards from tabs or even other Dashboards
  • More graphing abilities within Dashboard
  • Enhance Matrix Reporting
[Workday Adaptive Planning is] great for forecasting OPEX items in the banking industry but not so good for ALM items
Enjoy using sheets, could have more training available for planning ideas
Read this authenticated review
March 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workday Adaptive Planning is mostly used by our finance team. However we expanded it to accounting, the data BI team, investor relations, and budget owners. Finance uses it for its typical duties: balance sheet and income statement forecast, OPEX variances, headcount and req tracking, close and board meeting dashboards etc. Accounting uses it to view financial statements on the fly from different angles (by function, by location, department, etc.). The BI team pulls data to create advanced dashboards on their end. Budget owners can view their vendor forecast and spend, view their headcount, reqs, etc.
  • Ease of administration (one or two people can handle it versus a whole team plus IT)
  • Keep adding really cool features every quarter
  • Integration with Workday HCM
  • Integration and customization with ERPs, data warehouses, CRMs
  • Great customer support--very knowledgeable, efficient, friendly, and fast
  • Approachable staff--you can reach out easily to PMs and provide and get feedback
  • Office Connect became dynamic (updates of structure, drills, grouping, exclusions, etc.)
  • Data mapping feature to overlay or fix mappings from feeding sources
  • Small bugs after new releases (but always solved very fast)
  • Could use some enhancement on UI side (but they have great improvements on the roadmap)
  • Copy to or from sandbox is done via request to support; it would be great to have an automated, on-demand way by admins
I have been a user, then an admin, and then implementor of Workday Adaptive Planning. Some people are still stuck in an Excel mindset and can find it cumbersome in the beginning, but once they grasp the logic of Workday Adaptive Planning, they start to appreciate the ease of adding new data, adding new dimensions to slice and dice data better, and generating reports and dashboards super fast. It will make headcount and OPEX variance analysis way easier. You can create all kinds of dashboards for all kinds of audiences (non-finance people, budget owners, board, execs, HR, accounting, etc.). You can even set up separate instances for advanced revenue forecasting and advanced sales commissions planning. Integration with Workday HCM makes the whole headcount recon process a breeze (from a budgeted request to a hired employee). I'd conclude by saying that to get optimal results, advanced training of users and admins is the key.
Amazing support. I love them. They are super efficient, very knowledgeable, fast, and friendly.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive as our main reporting tool to create reports for senior management and the board of directors (Finance). Our budgeting tool to create the annual budget. Last year, we rolled out user licenses and budget managers were able to sign in to enter their own budgets and review reports (whole organization). Used for our quarterly and ongoing forecast updates, scenario analysis, GM analysis, and any ad-hoc reporting (finance).
  • Reports: Makes beautiful, reliable, and easy to run and customize reports in Office Connect.
  • Ability to run multiple complex scenarios and then easily produce reports comparing those scenarios.
  • Salary and headcount forecasting.
  • Foreign exchange: Works ok for the income statement, but the balance sheet has been a huge challenge and still has many issues.
  • Usability for end-users: Input sections are not clear and the only way to see roll-up is by running a report in a separate section.
A great budgeting tool. Once everything is up and running we really only need to add in any incremental changes from the previous year. The reporting tool Office Connect is the best I have ever used. Less appropriate for multi-currency, multi-entity organizations and there needs to be an easier way to receive user inputs.
Customer support is great. They have always been very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
March 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Planning is used by FP&A for financial planning for the whole organization. It addresses the core business problem of having a single point of truth for financial and operational plans. It is dynamic and enables scalability as you refine the model to include more drivers. The real value comes from linking connecting models so a change in one part of the business automatically updates financial projections for a different function (i.e. hiring impacts tech costs).
  • Forecasting
  • Version control
  • Ease of use
  • API
  • Transactional models (i.e. performance limitations with mass data forecast models +1MM rows).
  • Management reporting allocations.
Adaptive is a fantastic tool for any company still in spreadsheets. The transition to the cloud is made easy by Adaptive and the time to value is relatively low. The real value becomes apparent once the foundational model is set and you build incremental, linked models in the cloud. Real-time updates will impact various parts of your financial forecast and the forecast cycle is greatly shortened. Adaptive is not as suited for big data models at this time but is making progress in supporting this type of forecasting.
Support response time is always within 1 day which compares well with other cloud vendors we interact with daily. Support is facilitated via email/form, an upgrade would be a chat option within the tool for more real-time troubleshooting.
Read this authenticated review
October 29, 2020
Dmitry Zaichenko, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Columbia Helicopters utilizes Workday Adaptive Planning in all budgeting, forecasting, reporting, dashboarding, and financial analysis processes. We conduct monthly cost center reviews [and] quarterly reforecasts with department heads responsible for entering all changes. [The] system is easy to use and organization-wide adoption has been really smooth. Quarterly software updates have kept the software running while introducing new features both visual and technical.
  • Report creation and sharing is easy and quick.
  • Planning with multiple different dimensions, attributes and timeframes can be set up and compared seamlessly.
  • Automated actuals import is well developed and allows for more analytical work and not data input.
  • It is not a true BI solution.
  • Workflow feature needs improvement.
Workday Adaptive Planning is great for both top down and bottoms up planning. We are also able to set the time level granularity as well as GL account level to which we plan and roll up actuals for comparison. We use Workday Adaptive Planning for headcount, P&L, Cash Flow, BS and Dashboards along with all monthly, quarterly and yearly reporting.
Whenever we have had any questions, issues, or concerns, the support has been quick and thorough. [This] allow[s] us to be able to fully resolve any issues, or be connected with the right group quickly to attain the result we were after; be it from simple formatting to adding new detailed reporting.
Read Dmitry Zaichenko, MBA's full review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workday Adaptive Planning for budget and forecast planning, reporting (utilizing both web and office connect excel reports), and analytics. The system is primarily used by finance now, until we role it out to other departments in our business; which we’ve already begun to do. With Workday Adaptive Planning we are able to compile large amounts of data from the bottoms up but also have the flexibility of modeling at a high level. The system is versatile and can be used for not only financials, but headcount, and performance data as well.
  • Creation of Versions.
  • Reporting and Dashboarding.
  • Model Flexibility.
  • Web reports within Dashboard would be great.
  • Version to Version referencing within model formulas.
  • Calculations within reports that allow you to add data across different versions.
Workday Adaptive Planning is well suited for building plans from the bottom up and involving other departments within your business. You can set up processes that allow you to track from within the system, the progress of the departments and imputing the data that’s required. The system is less appropriate for static planning, as the system is suited to be used for active planning and forecasting.
The online support for Workday Adaptive Planning is very helpful. I go there at least once a week to find answers to questions and they’re usually very easy to find. If i’m unsuccessful in finding the answer, I email Workday Adaptive Planning support and they’re quick to answer, willing to help, and provide great clarity on the answer if you need it.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Adaptive Planning tool is been used by FP&A department & sales - FP&A use it for budgeting and forecasting purpose - Sales use to for QAM purpose.
It addresses mostly all the problems related to Headcount & other spend - like capacity planning, Allocations, productivity, retention, etc.
  • Versioning/scenario analysis - It is so easy to run scenario analysis and compare live the changes - And one can preserve the data for different scenarios and can compare any number of version against each other in minutes.
  • Formulae creation is so easy - everyone can work on Adaptive as it's more or less Excel - creating new accounts and writing formulas has never been this easy.
  • Very user friendly - It's very straightforward.
  • Actuals - if the company restate the actuals - and if that version is overly in the locked version - it changes the locked version id we updated the new actuals - It would be great if there is some way to preserve the forecast version without creating a new actual version.
  • The audit trail for the forecast changes - if that can be added it will be great.
  • Personnel sheet filters - it's very time consuming that we have to make the change and save it every time- before when we use the filter we use to get to that row/cell and still could see full sheet & were able to save after doing bunch of changes but this new way makes it mandatory to save after every change, very time consuming.
It's very well suited for almost any company - because it's like Excel you can create any model you like - the only caveat is you should know what you want very clearly - it's very dynamic.
The only place I would say it need work is the restatement of actuals - it changes any locked version using actuals as the overlay.
It's been always good - they respond very quick within 24 hours and if something is urgent they respond very quickly.
Read this authenticated review
October 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is currently used in our finance department to help plan, budget, and forecast for our company. Ultimately, it helps us as we work with the business leaders to track expenses as they come in. We review expenses each month and compare our budgeted numbers to actual numbers with our business leaders to identify the reasons behind any variances.
  • It is much nicer than having Excel because you don't have to worry nearly as much about breaking formulas.
  • It enables analysts and business partners to plan together by both having access to the same numbers in the same software thus reducing confusion and helping to keep everyone on the same page.
  • It helps a lot with reporting and doing analyses on budgets vs. actuals.
  • I wish that there were a way to select multiple levels when viewing sheets instead of having to build a report.
  • It would be nice if there were slightly more access controls so that different analysts could see the headcount for their groups without giving them access to the entire company's headcount data.
Adaptive is great if you have been using Excel models as a small company, and you're looking for a software to help build financial models that can more easily grow with your company.

It might not be the best option if you are an extremely large corporation as we've discovered that it can slow down substantially if sheets have too many rows. For example, if you are a company with several thousand employees, I don't think Adaptive is currently robust enough to support all of your data and planning.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2019
Limin Kinsey, CPA, CFE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Phase 1 of our project included our Administrative team and C-Suite only. Adaptive has helped with 'real time' collaboration efforts among our team using Process Tracker for Task Assignments and a communication medium, as well as Workflow for protecting data integrity during the planning process. It helped streamline and gain efficiencies in planning, 'what if' scenarios, and reporting; it's also reduced the inevitable, unintentional Excel workbook errors.
  • The design of the planning sheets, flexible functioning of the assumptions/drivers, and familiar formula creation has great user appeal since it simulates the similarities with the Excel worksheet interface, so buy-in/ownership from a Finance group perspective is easily overcome even for those that have a bit of 'change-phobia'.
  • The Finance group REALLY can run this CPM product. No IT support needed which is critical from a resource standpoint.
  • User collaboration is made simple and easy with the Process Tracker functionality and further supported by offering users the ability to enter cell notes on planning items, sheet notes, line notes in analysis reporting, share reports via email, snapshot reports, and attach documents related to quotes for the planning process - just to name a few little hidden gems that serve us well in the planning process resulting in greater efficiencies.
  • The Adaptive Learning Center provides a wealth of information for users in a how-to-do well-guided format with both written and video learning mediums. In addition, the involvement in the Torchbearers Community provides a community chat portal to pose questions and gain additional information on best practices from other Adaptive users of varying levels of expertise.
  • Being rather new to the Adaptive product and our laser focus on capitalizing on the advantages we were severely lacking in our former budgeting tool, I don't have any solid examples of areas or room for improvement yet. As we continue to gain familiarity and begin our implementation of Phase 2 with our Program areas, I will be able to assess more in-depth whether Adaptive meets our needs fully as more individuals with varying capacities and capabilities will be involved in our Phase 2 roll out, so feedback will be plentiful.
Adaptive Insights is well-suited for accommodating different areas within the organization that have different cost drivers and/or have different allocation needs. The capability to design planning sheets using the lookup values offers flexibility that was difficult to produce with confidence in our other planning tool. Using dimensions and attributes within our organization's design, allows the ability to dissect data in different ways and report in more flexible formats to meet user needs. In addition, the OfficeConnect plug-in with Adaptive offers expanded Board reporting capabilities where Adaptive Reporting may come up short. The Discovery Dashboard provides quick visuals for C-Suite on demand.
Read Limin Kinsey, CPA, CFE's full review
February 07, 2020
Jennifer Bradshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Insights, a Workday company as our budgeting - forecasting and financial reporting tool. Our financial analyst is the primary users of the system - they meet with department heads and enter any budgeting or forecasting information into the system. We use Adaptive Insights, a Workday company across the whole organization. We also use Adaptive Insights, a Workday company, as our financial reporting system. We export our financial results from our financial accounting system into Adaptive Insights, a Workday company, and use it to provide consolidated financial reporting.
  • Budgeting
  • Forecasting
  • Reporting
  • Changing the formatting
I like Adaptive Insights, a workday company as a budgeting and forecasting tool. I think, for the most part, the front-end interface is relatively user-friendly and easy to understand. Reporting seems to take some "advanced" user experience and seems complicated to use as an average day-to-day user. I find that if we need reports created or modified, we end up having to rely on our Adaptive expert.
Read Jennifer Bradshaw's full review
December 30, 2019
Brandon Gappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are working towards Adaptive Insights being the single source of truth for Financial Reporting within the Comcast Technology Solutions by combining Business Data to drive forecasting. We were the first group within Comcast to implement Adaptive. There are other instances that are currently being launched as well.

Right now it is primarily the FP&A team that makes changes, and for revenue, for we have business operations partners that input their customer revenue forecast.

We previously were using Essbase to do all of our planning, but the CTS group operates quite differently compared to the rest of Comcast. Imagine operating a startup inside a cable box. Adaptive gives us the flexibility to make detailed changes to our business units and accounts quickly and have immediate reporting results. As opposed to keeping track of detailed Essbase strings, making changes and then waiting every two hours to make sure they were made correctly.
  • Live Reporting - The ability to constantly see your change impacts, using the Audit Trail to identify the users making the change, and transaction details for actual significantly freed up valuable bandwidth to spend more time on forecast accuracy.
  • Flexibility to change Business Structure and have those changes flow through historically without any effort. Used to have various Xref files everywhere.
  • Corporate Consolidation - Being able to have multiple Organizations roll up into a group that is not managed by us. We still need to use export into Essbase for our HQ partners until Adaptive can fully integrate the two seamlessly.
  • Web Reporting can be inflexible at times, especially when it comes to notes. Office Connect helps to fill that gap, but we would rather use web reporting when we can.
I will never work for an FP&A Organization again if they do not have Adaptive Insights. It's that great of a product. Previously an FP&A Analyst had to be graded based on how quickly they could operate Microsoft Office, and how well they understood how their business works through manual processes. Now with so much of time being taken care of by Adaptive we can really shine and build better relationships with the business and dig deeper into Business questions.

This results in way more value being added to our Partners. Gone are the days of breaking links and passing around multiple templates for input from the business, they know have live information right after it becomes available.

Traning fresh analysts in Adaptive is a much simpler process than going through old excel templates that constantly were changing for business needs. Not to mention if you make a change and want to compare to historical reporting you would need to go and update a file that nobody has touched in months/years.

Read Brandon Gappa's full review
November 14, 2019
Josh Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used company-wide at Goodwill of Central & Southern Indiana. We import and distribute actual figures related to our company's profit & loss statement and balance sheet. In addition, we complete two annual budget planning cycles in the system.

Adaptive Insights has allowed us to complete more accurate and timely forecasts, consolidate our company's financials, and plan dynamically.
  • Adaptive Insights provides excellent customer service. If a user has a question about the product, the employees at Adaptive are quick to respond and are very helpful.
  • The team at Adaptive Insights listens to their customers and are always working to improve the software.
  • N/A
Adaptive Insights is a great planning tool. If an organization has multiple business units, the Adaptive Insights software will eliminate hours of work by eliminating the need to roll up spreadsheets. This will allow FP&A teams to focus more on analysis and adding value to their organization.
Read Josh Cooper's full review
January 30, 2020
Jaynee Tolle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used globally within Finance and within each department. Adaptive Insights addressed the issue of efficiency, user error, real-time data, and the ability to stop being so reliant on Excel spreadsheets.
  • Adaptive is a cloud-based system that allows our users to interact with Finance from anywhere in the world.
  • Office Connect is a great add-on to Excel that allows us to set-up reports and refresh them in an instant for more detailed information needed throughout the company.
  • The report section is great but it doesn't quite give you the flexibility that Office Connect (Excel Add-On) does.
Adaptive Insights is well-suited for companies that operate with budgets that have multiple components and complex calculations.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
The support team responds timely but typically on a pacific time vs. eastern standard time. I would prefer to have a phone number to call vs. email my questions and have issues answered in my time zone.
Yes - I would say for the most part the upgrade of my model went okay. The issue I had was that the implementer was not consistent and didn't test changes before he told me they were done. Testing the logic, once you've made changes in the model goes along way to ensuring validation.
Read Jaynee Tolle's full review
November 26, 2019
Kris Sircar, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive for our financial reporting. One of our many challenges is our multicurrency reporting as we have a presence in both the UK and APAC.
  • Version Control.
  • Ad-hoc Matrix Reporting.
  • Management of Custom Elements/Dimensions.
  • OfficeConnect does not function like Excel in all aspects. Can be a little buggy.
  • I would like to customize the view of the Levels and dimension field to show when the new attribute was added. Basically an audit trail.
It is suited best for generating a basic suite of financial statements. I found it less appropriate for headcount reporting, and integration with ADP would be helpful.
Read Kris Sircar, MBA's full review
November 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are only using the product in our Accounting and Finance department. Mainly, Adaptive Insights has enabled us to perform a plethora of tasks, ranging from month-end reporting, break-even analysis, ad-hoc requests, and as a data warehouse to store multiple systems worth of necessary data that helps with business decisions. We have not fully used every aspect of the system, however, we are driving towards that now. I have only been using the system for the last 4 months and all I can say is, the features, the cleanliness and the organization of Adaptive Insights has given, not only myself, but our overall team a very useful, business tool.
  • The customer support services have been very quick and useful to all my pertinent questions relating to the development and issues associated with the sheets, formulas and any other question I may have.
  • Many of the instructional guides and examples enabled me to ramp up quickly, learning the system. This not only benefited myself, but the team as a whole.
  • The Torchbearer Community has been a wonderful resource. I have been able to explore similar questions other analysts have had, that I had, and examine how they resolved nuances or issues with their associated questions.
  • It would be beneficial to me, as a user, if there was a library of documentation for every type of feature. This could be something regarding formula building, understanding how attributes work, with examples, or a location for basic and advance documentation on Sheet/Model/Cubes.
  • I would like to have the ability to directly assign some dimensions to accounts easier. A drag and drop feature for that would be interesting. This has been a challenge for me when new dimensions are built and I am unable to assign them to new accounts.
  • I would also like to see some more formulas or an easier way to do some basic tasks. For example a simple YTD function instead of running a simple, yet long string of texts for the formulas. Or the option for selecting YTD features, removing the need of the formula all together.
I believe that Adaptive Insights is appropriate for any size organization and industry. This has made an ease of reporting for us in our Accounting and Finance department. Other departments may not be well suited for this, but I do see the application can be used by an HR team. That would be beneficial for keeping up with benefits, costs, training, new/terminated employees, etc., and making the budgeting and forecasting simpler on the finance and accounting side.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Insights for all of our reporting, budgeting, forecasting, and KPI needs. Currently, all of our Operations leaders, CFO, COO, Finance, Accounting, and some of our department heads are users of this tool. Adaptive Insights has allowed us to scale the business efficiently as well as distribute results in a timely and accurate manner. We've also been able to improve our accountability and drive towards our desired results.
  • Implementation through the 3rd party was quick, efficient, and cost-effective.
  • It's a very flexible tool and is very easily customized for our evolving needs.
  • An ability to customize standard sheet views such as fonts/size.
  • Promote and push the training before and during implementation.
I've been most impressed with the ability to customize structures and hierarchies, centrally plan drivers and formulas, make user edits, track progress, and distribute results. I'm a big fan of the built-in customized reporting both in the cloud-based tool and in Excel and PowerPoint. Security can be a little cumbersome especially when there are sensitive personnel data involved.
Read this authenticated review
January 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Adaptive Insights in the finance department, utilizing its capabilities for financial forecasting. We use it for a full P&L, balance sheet and cash flow solution, and use it for all financial reporting when it comes to forecasted numbers. It makes our department much more malleable and quicker, able to turn data around in hours as opposed to the days it might have taken in the past.
  • Full solution to replace Excel in your planning instance.
  • Very versatile, you can suit it to your business needs very well. The sky is the limit.
  • Because it is so open and versatile, sometimes you can get lost on what you are trying to accomplish. There are not as many templates as some might want.
  • It can be difficult to model solutions that aren't necessarily calendar based, but might be time based. Month1, Month2, etc. as opposed to Jan 2020, Feb 2020, etc.
Adaptive Insights revolutionized our financial reporting and board meeting preparation. Whereas before it might take us 7-10 days to prepare for a board meeting, now it takes less than a day. Now we spend more time analyzing and preparing data for decision makers as opposed to logistical time spent loading data into spreadsheets.

The only difficulty we have had with Adaptive is when we wanted to model something with cohorts as opposed to a monthly calendar. That is, Month 1, Month 2, Month 3 as opposed to Jan 2020, Feb 2020, etc. We were able to come up with a solution that has worked for quite a while now, but it took a lot of trial and error.
Read this authenticated review
December 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Adaptive Insights three months ago and are currently still in the implementation phase. We have our PnL currently up and running but it is our intention to build a full three statement model in Adaptive. The very intuitive interface allowed us to progress quickly with the implementation. At this moment all of our users are from the local finance teams but as we progress with the roll-out of our functional budgeting we will give other departments viewing and reporting access as well.
  • A very intuitive solution from a budget contributor point of view. The sheets are clean and the drag and drop functionalities make it easy to get started.
  • The many different custom dimensions and attributes make it easy to slice and dice the data to your liking.
  • The Adaptive logic is different than the Excel logic so it does require you to revise your current Excel models to bring them onto the platform.
  • We are still trying to figure out if, and how easy it is to bring more complex models to Adaptive (predictive modeling, Monte Carlo simulations etc).
I believe Adaptive Insights is a great solution to make your overall budgeting and planning process more structured, efficient, and less error-prone. The sheets are clean and easy to get started. Version control is a big advantage compared to regular excel files. The workflow planning allows you to assign specific tasks to different users to keep track of your overall budgeting cycles. What we have not implemented yet are more sophisticated predictive models like regression models and/or Monte Carlo simulations. We are still trying to figure out what the possibilities withing Adaptive are.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is our primary budgeting, forecasting and reporting tool. It is used by our finance team for projecting P&L's, Balance Sheets and Cash Flows. Adaptive has allowed us to complete our annual Planning cycle more timely and accurately and is great for producing multiple "what-if" scenarios. Best of all, there is no more searching through file after file for the "Final" plan version.
  • Easy to import or export data
  • The levels, dimensions and attributes allow us to slice data in many different ways
  • Building reports in Adaptive is not intuitive to me as a user
  • When exporting reports to Excel, you always have to reformat the report
Whether you have a large or small company, simple or complex organizational structure, Adaptive is well suited for any organization in any industry. It is great for budgeting, planning, multiple-scenario planning, reporting and forecasting.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
9
Customizable dashboards (1)
10
Report Formatting Templates (1)
9
Drill-down analysis (1)
9
Formatting capabilities (1)
7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8
Report sharing and collaboration (1)
8
Publish to PDF (1)
8
Report Versioning (1)
8
Report Delivery Scheduling (1)
8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (1)
8
Predictive Analytics (1)
8
Multi-User Support (named login) (1)
9
Role-Based Security Model (1)
9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (1)
9
Responsive Design for Web Access (1)
8
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
8
Dedicated Android Application (1)
8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (1)
10
Long-term financial planning (141)
7.9
Financial budgeting (151)
9.0
Forecasting (146)
9.0
Scenario modeling (141)
7.5
Management reporting (151)
7.7
Financial data consolidation (87)
8.9
Journal entries and reports (54)
7.0
Multi-currency management (66)
7.9
Intercompany Eliminations (46)
8.0
Minority Ownership (23)
8.0
Local and consolidated reporting (77)
8.8
Detailed Audit Trails (98)
5.9
Financial Statement Reporting (125)
8.5
Management Reporting (137)
8.5
Excel-based Reporting (136)
8.2
Automated board and financial reporting (119)
7.6
XBRL support for regulatory filing (20)
7.9
Personalized dashboards (96)
7.7
Color-coded scorecards (77)
7.4
KPIs (91)
8.3
Cost and profitability analysis (97)
8.2
Key Performance Indicator setting (80)
7.8
Benchmarking with external data (53)
4.1
Flat file integration (101)
8.4
Excel data integration (127)
8.3
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (96)
7.8

What is Workday Adaptive Planning?

Workday Adaptive Planning aims to power a new generation of business planning, and drive business agility in a fast-moving world. The Workday Adaptive Planning Business Planning Cloud offers modeling capabilities for organizations of any size, and helps users to collaborate, gain insights, and make smarter decisions faster.

The vendor states that more than 3,800 organizations across 50-plus countries use Workday Adaptive Planning, and boasting its ease of use, they state that Workday Adaptive Planning ranks #1 in customer satisfaction in independent industry surveys from leading market analysts such as Gartner, Forrester, and BPM Partners.

According to the vendor, Adaptive Planning helps mid-size & enterprise organizations’ leaders better manage their business:
  • Adaptive Planning enables organizations to break free from static planning, to active planning
  • Active planning is collaborative, comprehensive, and continuous
  • Active planning requires a solution that’s easy, powerful, and fast
Capabilities include:
  • Automated Budgeting and Forecasting to increase productivity
  • Self-Service Financial Reporting allowing users to create, share and personalize reports
  • Integration with Salesforce.com, NetSuite, Intacct, & MS Dynamics

Workday Adaptive Planning Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing

Analytics Features

Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data

Integration Features

Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources

Workday Adaptive Planning Screenshots

Workday Adaptive Planning Video

Don’t settle for static plans. Get active planning with Adaptive Insights – your source for business budgeting software that is easy, powerful, and fast.

Workday Adaptive Planning Integrations

Workday Adaptive Planning Competitors

Workday Adaptive Planning Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Workday Adaptive Planning Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Workday Adaptive Planning Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Workday Adaptive Planning Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and many more!
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Polish, Dutch

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Workday Adaptive Planning?

Workday Adaptive Planning(formerly Adaptive Insights) is a financial planning and reporting tool. It includes automated budgeting and forecasting, financial reporting, and other active planning capabilities, including integrations with third-party products like Salesforce.

What are Workday Adaptive Planning's top competitors?

Vena Solutions, Longview, and Prophix are common alternatives for Workday Adaptive Planning.

What is Workday Adaptive Planning's best feature?

Reviewers rate Financial budgeting and Forecasting highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Workday Adaptive Planning?

The most common users of Workday Adaptive Planning are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.