Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
239 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 170)

Jennifer Bradshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Adaptive Insights

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Insights, a Workday company as our budgeting - forecasting and financial reporting tool. Our financial analyst is the primary users of the system - they meet with department heads and enter any budgeting or forecasting information into the system. We use Adaptive Insights, a Workday company across the whole organization. We also use Adaptive Insights, a Workday company, as our financial reporting system. We export our financial results from our financial accounting system into Adaptive Insights, a Workday company, and use it to provide consolidated financial reporting.
  • Budgeting
  • Forecasting
  • Reporting
  • Changing the formatting
I like Adaptive Insights, a workday company as a budgeting and forecasting tool. I think, for the most part, the front-end interface is relatively user-friendly and easy to understand. Reporting seems to take some "advanced" user experience and seems complicated to use as an average day-to-day user. I find that if we need reports created or modified, we end up having to rely on our Adaptive expert.
Read Jennifer Bradshaw's full review
Brandon Gappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Reshaping The Financial Planning Landscape

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are working towards Adaptive Insights being the single source of truth for Financial Reporting within the Comcast Technology Solutions by combining Business Data to drive forecasting. We were the first group within Comcast to implement Adaptive. There are other instances that are currently being launched as well.

Right now it is primarily the FP&A team that makes changes, and for revenue, for we have business operations partners that input their customer revenue forecast.

We previously were using Essbase to do all of our planning, but the CTS group operates quite differently compared to the rest of Comcast. Imagine operating a startup inside a cable box. Adaptive gives us the flexibility to make detailed changes to our business units and accounts quickly and have immediate reporting results. As opposed to keeping track of detailed Essbase strings, making changes and then waiting every two hours to make sure they were made correctly.
  • Live Reporting - The ability to constantly see your change impacts, using the Audit Trail to identify the users making the change, and transaction details for actual significantly freed up valuable bandwidth to spend more time on forecast accuracy.
  • Flexibility to change Business Structure and have those changes flow through historically without any effort. Used to have various Xref files everywhere.
  • Corporate Consolidation - Being able to have multiple Organizations roll up into a group that is not managed by us. We still need to use export into Essbase for our HQ partners until Adaptive can fully integrate the two seamlessly.
  • Web Reporting can be inflexible at times, especially when it comes to notes. Office Connect helps to fill that gap, but we would rather use web reporting when we can.
I will never work for an FP&A Organization again if they do not have Adaptive Insights. It's that great of a product. Previously an FP&A Analyst had to be graded based on how quickly they could operate Microsoft Office, and how well they understood how their business works through manual processes. Now with so much of time being taken care of by Adaptive we can really shine and build better relationships with the business and dig deeper into Business questions.

This results in way more value being added to our Partners. Gone are the days of breaking links and passing around multiple templates for input from the business, they know have live information right after it becomes available.

Traning fresh analysts in Adaptive is a much simpler process than going through old excel templates that constantly were changing for business needs. Not to mention if you make a change and want to compare to historical reporting you would need to go and update a file that nobody has touched in months/years.

Read Brandon Gappa's full review
Jaynee Tolle | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

A must-have planning tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used globally within Finance and within each department. Adaptive Insights addressed the issue of efficiency, user error, real-time data, and the ability to stop being so reliant on Excel spreadsheets.
  • Adaptive is a cloud-based system that allows our users to interact with Finance from anywhere in the world.
  • Office Connect is a great add-on to Excel that allows us to set-up reports and refresh them in an instant for more detailed information needed throughout the company.
  • The report section is great but it doesn't quite give you the flexibility that Office Connect (Excel Add-On) does.
Adaptive Insights is well-suited for companies that operate with budgets that have multiple components and complex calculations.
Read Jaynee Tolle's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Adaptive Insights is fantastic!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Insights for all of our reporting, budgeting, forecasting, and KPI needs. Currently, all of our Operations leaders, CFO, COO, Finance, Accounting, and some of our department heads are users of this tool. Adaptive Insights has allowed us to scale the business efficiently as well as distribute results in a timely and accurate manner. We've also been able to improve our accountability and drive towards our desired results.
  • Implementation through the 3rd party was quick, efficient, and cost-effective.
  • It's a very flexible tool and is very easily customized for our evolving needs.
  • An ability to customize standard sheet views such as fonts/size.
  • Promote and push the training before and during implementation.
I've been most impressed with the ability to customize structures and hierarchies, centrally plan drivers and formulas, make user edits, track progress, and distribute results. I'm a big fan of the built-in customized reporting both in the cloud-based tool and in Excel and PowerPoint. Security can be a little cumbersome especially when there are sensitive personnel data involved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Adaptive Insights is a timesaver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Adaptive Insights in the finance department, utilizing its capabilities for financial forecasting. We use it for a full P&L, balance sheet and cash flow solution, and use it for all financial reporting when it comes to forecasted numbers. It makes our department much more malleable and quicker, able to turn data around in hours as opposed to the days it might have taken in the past.
  • Full solution to replace Excel in your planning instance.
  • Very versatile, you can suit it to your business needs very well. The sky is the limit.
  • Because it is so open and versatile, sometimes you can get lost on what you are trying to accomplish. There are not as many templates as some might want.
  • It can be difficult to model solutions that aren't necessarily calendar based, but might be time based. Month1, Month2, etc. as opposed to Jan 2020, Feb 2020, etc.
Adaptive Insights revolutionized our financial reporting and board meeting preparation. Whereas before it might take us 7-10 days to prepare for a board meeting, now it takes less than a day. Now we spend more time analyzing and preparing data for decision makers as opposed to logistical time spent loading data into spreadsheets.

The only difficulty we have had with Adaptive is when we wanted to model something with cohorts as opposed to a monthly calendar. That is, Month 1, Month 2, Month 3 as opposed to Jan 2020, Feb 2020, etc. We were able to come up with a solution that has worked for quite a while now, but it took a lot of trial and error.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Solid and intuitive planning solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Adaptive Insights three months ago and are currently still in the implementation phase. We have our PnL currently up and running but it is our intention to build a full three statement model in Adaptive. The very intuitive interface allowed us to progress quickly with the implementation. At this moment all of our users are from the local finance teams but as we progress with the roll-out of our functional budgeting we will give other departments viewing and reporting access as well.
  • A very intuitive solution from a budget contributor point of view. The sheets are clean and the drag and drop functionalities make it easy to get started.
  • The many different custom dimensions and attributes make it easy to slice and dice the data to your liking.
  • The Adaptive logic is different than the Excel logic so it does require you to revise your current Excel models to bring them onto the platform.
  • We are still trying to figure out if, and how easy it is to bring more complex models to Adaptive (predictive modeling, Monte Carlo simulations etc).
I believe Adaptive Insights is a great solution to make your overall budgeting and planning process more structured, efficient, and less error-prone. The sheets are clean and easy to get started. Version control is a big advantage compared to regular excel files. The workflow planning allows you to assign specific tasks to different users to keep track of your overall budgeting cycles. What we have not implemented yet are more sophisticated predictive models like regression models and/or Monte Carlo simulations. We are still trying to figure out what the possibilities withing Adaptive are.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Adaptive Insights increases efficiency and is easy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is our primary budgeting, forecasting and reporting tool. It is used by our finance team for projecting P&L's, Balance Sheets and Cash Flows. Adaptive has allowed us to complete our annual Planning cycle more timely and accurately and is great for producing multiple "what-if" scenarios. Best of all, there is no more searching through file after file for the "Final" plan version.
  • Easy to import or export data
  • The levels, dimensions and attributes allow us to slice data in many different ways
  • Building reports in Adaptive is not intuitive to me as a user
  • When exporting reports to Excel, you always have to reformat the report
Whether you have a large or small company, simple or complex organizational structure, Adaptive is well suited for any organization in any industry. It is great for budgeting, planning, multiple-scenario planning, reporting and forecasting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

Adaptive Insights - Great for Budgeting and Planning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is our main budgeting and forecasting software used by the entire organization. Our finance team is responsible for making all updates to our operating model within Adaptive, and budget owners currently use Adaptive for its reporting functionalities so they can see what is currently in their approved budget and any budget versus actuals analysis they need.
  • Dimensions and attributes that allow us to slice up data in many different views depending on what is needed
  • Ease of importing and downloading data
  • Sheets can be slow to load at times
  • There is a relatively steep learning curve for formula syntax/logic (but this applies to most other software)
Adaptive Insights is extremely customizable, so I think it would be a great tool for companies of almost all sizes and in various industries. It's helped streamline our budgeting and forecasting processes tremendously and is the single source of truth for our company. Reporting is also less manual and tedious for the entire finance team.

As it is almost a blank slate when you receive access to your instance, I highly recommend getting a consultant to help with your implementation or to have someone at your company who is adept with systems and has a background in finance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

A good tool for the experienced user.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used as a budgeting, forecasting, and financial statement tool for the Finance and Accounting group. The tool also supports senior leadership for tracking financials and targets that have been approved by management.
  • Adaptive Insights does a good job allowing the user to build in automatic calculations for forecasting. E.g. employee benefit cost by plan type chosen by employees.
  • Another beneficial feature of adaptive is the office connect feature that allows financials to be populated directly into a board deck.
  • It can be difficult to learn how to build the references needed to make sheets and versions connect.
  • The service can be slow to load at times. Many times I'm just waiting on the data to refresh before I can update the next step.
Adaptive Insights is a useful tool once it is completely implemented and you have users in the system that know how it works. There is definitely a learning curve, but once that is hurdled, you can find many benefits to the system. A major user case for Adaptive Insights is when you need users/managers to see the up-to-date financials without giving them access to the financial system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Early user of Adaptive Insights

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is being used to generate reports for quarterly and yearly reporting across many of our clients (external and internal). It helps keep all the data centralized and organized for report building. There are a multitude of features that adaptive insights has that make extraction of data as well as implementation smooth.
  • Organized
  • Many Features
  • Efficient
  • User interface is tricky
  • Steep learning curve
  • Freezes occasionally
Adaptive Insights is definitely appropriate when generating any sort of financial reporting. Perhaps you have to generate a report about clients expenditures over the last two years, then Adaptive would be suited for that. You can set the categories specifically and narrow data down significantly. Adaptive would not be as appropriate for smaller-scale tasks, but can still be used for it. The user just won't get as much from it.
Read this authenticated review
Limin Kinsey, CPA, CFE | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Adaptive Insights - Definitely a Winner ... Easy to Use, Efficiency Gained, and Errors Reduced

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Phase 1 of our project included our Administrative team and C-Suite only. Adaptive has helped with 'real time' collaboration efforts among our team using Process Tracker for Task Assignments and a communication medium, as well as Workflow for protecting data integrity during the planning process. It helped streamline and gain efficiencies in planning, 'what if' scenarios, and reporting; it's also reduced the inevitable, unintentional Excel workbook errors.
  • The design of the planning sheets, flexible functioning of the assumptions/drivers, and familiar formula creation has great user appeal since it simulates the similarities with the Excel worksheet interface, so buy-in/ownership from a Finance group perspective is easily overcome even for those that have a bit of 'change-phobia'.
  • The Finance group REALLY can run this CPM product. No IT support needed which is critical from a resource standpoint.
  • User collaboration is made simple and easy with the Process Tracker functionality and further supported by offering users the ability to enter cell notes on planning items, sheet notes, line notes in analysis reporting, share reports via email, snapshot reports, and attach documents related to quotes for the planning process - just to name a few little hidden gems that serve us well in the planning process resulting in greater efficiencies.
  • The Adaptive Learning Center provides a wealth of information for users in a how-to-do well-guided format with both written and video learning mediums. In addition, the involvement in the Torchbearers Community provides a community chat portal to pose questions and gain additional information on best practices from other Adaptive users of varying levels of expertise.
  • Being rather new to the Adaptive product and our laser focus on capitalizing on the advantages we were severely lacking in our former budgeting tool, I don't have any solid examples of areas or room for improvement yet. As we continue to gain familiarity and begin our implementation of Phase 2 with our Program areas, I will be able to assess more in-depth whether Adaptive meets our needs fully as more individuals with varying capacities and capabilities will be involved in our Phase 2 roll out, so feedback will be plentiful.
Adaptive Insights is well-suited for accommodating different areas within the organization that have different cost drivers and/or have different allocation needs. The capability to design planning sheets using the lookup values offers flexibility that was difficult to produce with confidence in our other planning tool. Using dimensions and attributes within our organization's design, allows the ability to dissect data in different ways and report in more flexible formats to meet user needs. In addition, the OfficeConnect plug-in with Adaptive offers expanded Board reporting capabilities where Adaptive Reporting may come up short. The Discovery Dashboard provides quick visuals for C-Suite on demand.
Read Limin Kinsey, CPA, CFE's full review
Chris Snelling, CFA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

A Great Budgeting Software for those on a Budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses the Adaptive Planning module. Although some of our sales managers and human resources are occasional users, it is mainly used by our Financial Planning and Analysis department. Our financials are in SAP and our company does not have an adequate reporting tool to get useful information from SAP. We use Adaptive to download and populate our profit and cost center structure into Adaptive Planning. We also build our annual budget and forecasts using Adaptive Planning. Perhaps the most used function is the reporting, where we compare actual performance to budget across hundreds of cost centers each month. Using the product we are able to streamline our reporting process and do the work of an army of analysts with just two people.
  • Adaptive Planning is very good at letting you create reports on the fly. We constantly create, modify and run reports to help analyze and find solutions.
  • Although it took a while to setup, the Adaptive Connector makes it super easy to load all of the detailed financial information from SAP into our reporting system.
  • Managing multiple versions of our budget and forecasts is quite easy with Adaptive Planning.
  • We have had some customer service issues in the past but have worked through them with the Adaptive team.
  • The compatibility with javascript has been an issue in the past and has caused some lost productivity, but I think this issue has been resolved with the latest release.
Overall, I would rate Adaptive Insights as a 9. The reason it isn't higher is because I believe there is still some room to improve on the interface and usability of their product. If you are looking for a strong budgeting, planning and reporting capability but don't have a large budget, Adaptive is a great bang for the buck. I would give it a 10 in this category.
Read Chris Snelling, CFA's full review
Josh Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Adaptive Insights improves planning and analysis process

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used company-wide at Goodwill of Central & Southern Indiana. We import and distribute actual figures related to our company's profit & loss statement and balance sheet. In addition, we complete two annual budget planning cycles in the system.

Adaptive Insights has allowed us to complete more accurate and timely forecasts, consolidate our company's financials, and plan dynamically.
  • Adaptive Insights provides excellent customer service. If a user has a question about the product, the employees at Adaptive are quick to respond and are very helpful.
  • The team at Adaptive Insights listens to their customers and are always working to improve the software.
  • N/A
Adaptive Insights is a great planning tool. If an organization has multiple business units, the Adaptive Insights software will eliminate hours of work by eliminating the need to roll up spreadsheets. This will allow FP&A teams to focus more on analysis and adding value to their organization.
Read Josh Cooper's full review
Kris Sircar, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Remarkable Planning Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive for our financial reporting. One of our many challenges is our multicurrency reporting as we have a presence in both the UK and APAC.
  • Version Control.
  • Ad-hoc Matrix Reporting.
  • Management of Custom Elements/Dimensions.
  • OfficeConnect does not function like Excel in all aspects. Can be a little buggy.
  • I would like to customize the view of the Levels and dimension field to show when the new attribute was added. Basically an audit trail.
It is suited best for generating a basic suite of financial statements. I found it less appropriate for headcount reporting, and integration with ADP would be helpful.
Read Kris Sircar, MBA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

The Real-Time data system for all organizations!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are only using the product in our Accounting and Finance department. Mainly, Adaptive Insights has enabled us to perform a plethora of tasks, ranging from month-end reporting, break-even analysis, ad-hoc requests, and as a data warehouse to store multiple systems worth of necessary data that helps with business decisions. We have not fully used every aspect of the system, however, we are driving towards that now. I have only been using the system for the last 4 months and all I can say is, the features, the cleanliness and the organization of Adaptive Insights has given, not only myself, but our overall team a very useful, business tool.
  • The customer support services have been very quick and useful to all my pertinent questions relating to the development and issues associated with the sheets, formulas and any other question I may have.
  • Many of the instructional guides and examples enabled me to ramp up quickly, learning the system. This not only benefited myself, but the team as a whole.
  • The Torchbearer Community has been a wonderful resource. I have been able to explore similar questions other analysts have had, that I had, and examine how they resolved nuances or issues with their associated questions.
  • It would be beneficial to me, as a user, if there was a library of documentation for every type of feature. This could be something regarding formula building, understanding how attributes work, with examples, or a location for basic and advance documentation on Sheet/Model/Cubes.
  • I would like to have the ability to directly assign some dimensions to accounts easier. A drag and drop feature for that would be interesting. This has been a challenge for me when new dimensions are built and I am unable to assign them to new accounts.
  • I would also like to see some more formulas or an easier way to do some basic tasks. For example a simple YTD function instead of running a simple, yet long string of texts for the formulas. Or the option for selecting YTD features, removing the need of the formula all together.
I believe that Adaptive Insights is appropriate for any size organization and industry. This has made an ease of reporting for us in our Accounting and Finance department. Other departments may not be well suited for this, but I do see the application can be used by an HR team. That would be beneficial for keeping up with benefits, costs, training, new/terminated employees, etc., and making the budgeting and forecasting simpler on the finance and accounting side.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Adaptive Insights: Effective and Efficient

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used by select departments in our organization. It addresses our forecasting and budgeting issues by allowing us to customize the sheets that we use. It also reduces our time for reporting as Office Connect is linked to our Adaptive Insights details and can be refreshed with a click of a button.
  • The reporting options within Office Connect are easy to work with as they are similar to working in Excel and Word. They have reduced the time it takes for us to prepare reports because we now have templates built and only need to refresh the data with a click of a button.
  • The sheets are able to be customized to assist our department in budgeting and forecasting at a more meaningful level than we had before with spreadsheets.
  • The support that Adaptive provides is top notch. If we are unable to find answers within the self help area, the email support personnel are able to efficiently and effectively assist with our issues.
  • The reporting within Adaptive does not always print to excel in a nice format. Once exported manual formatting must take place to make the report look nice. This is why we choose to use Office Connect more than the reporting feature within Adaptive.
Adaptive Insights is well suited for departments or organizations that want to be able to see their budgeting and forecasting details in more finite detail. The various sheets that can be built to suit your needs is a definite plus, as it allows you to create the sheets with as much or as little details included as you would like. This customization is really nice and allows us to mimic sheets as our users had previously seen in excel, but without the excel hassles.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Adaptive Insights, Admin Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Consolidates our financial accounting and financial forecasting globally. It is used by the Finance team to support the whole organization. We are able to automate the vast majority of our general ledger and have simple input sheets that non-technical users can use to update the forecast in real-time. Reporting is seamless for a forecast to forecast comparisons and forecast to budget.
  • Reporting is very easy. You can build a report and very easily change the inputs to view the exact data you are looking for.
  • Adaptive's API is quite simple as well. Going from Adaptive to a BI tool or a MySQL server is easy and everything flows quite well.
  • Getting new users onboard is simple as well. It is quite easy to have one or two "experts" and everyone else can just do the data entry and inputs. You can get a lot of information inputted into Adaptive quickly and stored as your forecast evolves.
  • We have had UI issues for Global team members. Adaptive is not customizable to support different date views and such.
  • The formula syntax is hard to pick up. Once you get it, it's great but due to the difficulty, we only have two people able to create efficient and effective formulas.
  • Deleting rows in Modeled sheets can be very inefficient. There is a very small range you are able to select and delete. When you have large rows of data, ie 20,000+, this becomes untenable.
Region-specific flexibility with global consolidation is probably the main benefit. We have customized our Adaptive instance to be able to work for all regions, but still have instantaneous global reporting with accurate currency mapping.

It is less great for very specific vendor mapping and transactional level detail. It can be done, but quite inefficient. There are other providers that specialize in this. It is difficult for us to truly track variances to the most granular level of detail and usually default to other systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Adaptive Insights Drives Finance Team Efficiency!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is being used primarily by the Finance teams—it is not being used across the full company. It's leveraged for forecasting, budgeting, reporting, data visualization, and ad-hoc analysis. It is not being leveraged for Accounting.
  • Clean and approachable user interface
  • Easy to build models, similar to Excel
  • Frequent updates to the product
  • Charting
  • Low maintenance overhead
  • Security
  • More robust/better Excel integration
  • Speed
  • More custom branding to fit your company
Well suited for forecasting, budgeting, planning management, ad-hoc analysis, and data visualization. Not as well suited for users who are extremely reliant/dependent on Excel.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Adaptive Planning is great! Very easy to use!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization. It helps gets everyone on the same page and see where we can spend money in the future.
  • Does active planning really well
  • Efficient
  • Ease of use
  • Better integration with Excel
  • Formula builder
  • Comparing versions
In a finance setting
Read this authenticated review
Brad MacDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

Outsanding Solution!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a growing company, we needed to shift from Excel-based budgeting/reporting models to a much more capable (and sophisticated) model. We selected Adaptive based on the tool's capabilities, the fact that it's cloud-based (SaaS), and easily scalable. We deployed Adaptive for all budget owners within 3 months of making our decision.

Using Adaptive, our budget owners and executives now have a much better (and faster) view of our financials, as well as allowing the finance team to spend time on analysis/insight.
  • Overall structure of the model is both powerful and simple. Accounts and levels (departments/cost centers) drive the overall data structure. Once this principle is firmly understood, the tool is quite easy to understand from an implementation and administrative perspective.
  • Customer support is outstanding. Even though we're a small company, Adaptive doesn't recognize that (or care). I've had conversations with a variety of their team members on a number of different topics, and they are very good at supporting our company.
  • Reporting tools are world-class. It's nice that you can have a best-in-class planning system, but without equally strong reporting tools, it really doesn't mean much. Adaptive's easy-to-build reports are both flexible and powerful.
  • Administration is easy. Helpful tools to make your system secure.
  • Our biggest challenge is that more people want the tool than we (originally) budgeted for. (This really isn't a con, but be aware that if you're moving from an Excel-based manual model, people will be really hungry for this type of tool/application.)
I am completely satisfied that this tool can be used with either the smallest or largest organizations (yes, it's that good).
Read Brad MacDonald's full review
Timothy Bradshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

Great software, great pros, and not significant cons

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used by Finance to assemble all company budgets into one place. Currently, finance is the only one that logs in. It helps us complete the budgeting process, have one source of truth, and report final numbers to the board and executives. It allows for immediate backup, being in the cloud, and you can log in from anywhere.
  • They have a really good Excel tool where you can pull and push data.
  • It does really well at being adaptive and letting you change things.
  • I really like the user interface.
  • I don't love the dashboarding that it has. I feel it's trying to compete with other solutions and doesn't do that well.
  • Sometimes it can be slow.
  • It costs a lot per user.
It is well suited for assembling budgets all in one place. It can also be used well to have all the department heads or budget owners in your company login and input what they need to. That helps roll everything up so we can see how the budget it coming in. It also allows for good reporting.
Read Timothy Bradshaw's full review
Ben Balch | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Adaptive Insights -- a great solution for planning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Adaptive Insights for five years. We started using it for annual expense planning and have expanded to forecasting, scenario planning, and what-if analysis. Adaptive Insights is used by the entire organization. Business managers and finance use the software for budgeting, reporting, forecasting, and scenario planning.
  • It helps to produce a consolidated budget very quickly.
  • Good built-in audit trails.
  • Good reporting for variance analysis.
  • The software allows you to plan at a very granular level, but the reporting at a granular level between plan, actuals, and other versions can be challenging.
Adaptive Insights is very good for:
- Annual Planning.
- Forecasting.
- Scenario Planning.

The user interface is essentially a spreadsheet in the cloud, so there is not much of a learning curve to get business users started. While it feels like a spreadsheet, it's much more powerful, as it provides a real-time consolidated roll-up and built-in audit trail.
Read Ben Balch's full review
Jeri Duncan, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

It just keeps getting better!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive across our whole organization. It helps our program leads see their individual budget data instantly and helps make planning so much easier.
  • Ease of navigation
  • Friendly and helpful support
  • Tools for every problem that needs to be solved!
  • Out of the box worksheets would be nice.
  • There have been some recent issues with log out when tabs are duplicated and that has been frustrating.
I can't think of any business that it would not be helpful for, except if the company was very small and it was not feasible due to budget restrictions.
Read Jeri Duncan, CPA's full review
Alex Humble | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Adapt to the Future: How Adaptive can Save you Time and Money

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Adaptive is used by our entire finance department. In the past, we did all of our budgeting and forecasting in excel. Adaptive has removed the headaches we used to experience and seamlessly brought everything together in a way that facilitates cooperation and communication. The dynamic nature of adaptive makes it a very collaborative experience and it does a wonderful job at satisfying all of our forecasting, budgeting, and reporting needs. Furthermore, Adaptive integrates very well with Domo enabling us to create beautiful visualizations across versions that make storytelling to executives a true delight from the finance end.
  • Modeled Sheets are great.
  • Their formulas are easy to use and questions are easily answered when/if they arise.
  • The reporting capabilities are very nice.
  • Integration with our ERP and other cloud services has been great.
  • Our biggest gripe has to do with the speed. Sometimes pages can take a long time to load, but those long load times are minuscule compared to the ones we had before.
  • The View Dependencies feature does not work and it would be extremely helpful.
  • Accounts used in reports acquire a unique code within the report and fail to show the unique code of the account in your instance. This can make it hard to identify which account you are actually using in large reports with similar accounts.
I think Adaptive is well suited in a lot of different scenarios. As a SaaS company, Adaptive has served us extremely well. Granted, it is a lot easier to keep our instance clean when we only have one product being sold. However, I have been to user groups and listened to companies in a wide array of industries and their finance leaders are very satisfied with Adaptive. It doesn't matter if you have a very complex organization or a simple structure, Adaptive can save you a lot of time!
Read Alex Humble's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Adaptive Insight's provides quick and easy data for all our needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is the core of our financial analysis software. We use this exclusively to consolidate our data from multiple branches across multiple regions throughout the country. Adaptive's suite of software has provided us with the ability to streamline our reporting processes along with maintaining a multitude of historic data across all of our organization. We do this across multiple product lines and departments.
  • Adaptive Office connect allows us to integrate data directly into Excel allowing us to quickly update reports and analysis.
  • Being able to consolidate data quickly across multiple regions helps us to quickly turn around reports and analysis.
  • Adaptive allows us to upload custom data for analysis purposes, helping us during budget season to compare previous versions to the latest.
  • I would love to see more products from Adaptive that could help take us to the next level.
I had a large file made from Excel which required multiple formula's of data just to get a certain KPI structure. Adaptive Office Connect helped to get this same data into Excel quickly without a large amount of formulas. This helped cut down a report that took anywhere from 8 to 12 hours to update, to a simple half hour refresh.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
9
Customizable dashboards (1)
10
Report Formatting Templates (1)
9
Drill-down analysis (1)
9
Formatting capabilities (1)
7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8
Report sharing and collaboration (1)
8
Publish to PDF (1)
8
Report Versioning (1)
8
Report Delivery Scheduling (1)
8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (1)
8
Predictive Analytics (1)
8
Multi-User Support (named login) (1)
9
Role-Based Security Model (1)
9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (1)
9
Responsive Design for Web Access (1)
8
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
8
Dedicated Android Application (1)
8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (1)
10
Long-term financial planning (130)
7.9
Financial budgeting (140)
8.9
Forecasting (135)
9.0
Scenario modeling (130)
7.1
Management reporting (139)
8.9
Financial data consolidation (82)
8.7
Journal entries and reports (48)
6.3
Multi-currency management (58)
7.5
Intercompany Eliminations (42)
7.9
Minority Ownership (20)
7.9
Local and consolidated reporting (71)
8.5
Detailed Audit Trails (89)
8.5
Financial Statement Reporting (115)
8.7
Management Reporting (127)
8.6
Excel-based Reporting (126)
7.3
Automated board and financial reporting (110)
7.4
XBRL support for regulatory filing (17)
7.6
Personalized dashboards (86)
7.5
Color-coded scorecards (68)
6.4
KPIs (81)
7.3
Cost and profitability analysis (88)
8.3
Key Performance Indicator setting (71)
7.9
Benchmarking with external data (49)
4.7
Flat file integration (91)
8.3
Excel data integration (115)
8.3
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (85)
8.2

About Workday Adaptive Planning

Workday Adaptive Planning aims to power a new generation of business planning, and drive business agility in a fast-moving world. The Workday Adaptive Planning Business Planning Cloud offers modeling capabilities for organizations of any size, and helps users to collaborate, gain insights, and make smarter decisions faster.

The vendor states that more than 3,800 organizations across 50-plus countries use Workday Adaptive Planning, and boasting its ease of use, they state that Workday Adaptive Planning ranks #1 in customer satisfaction in independent industry surveys from leading market analysts such as Gartner, Forrester, and BPM Partners.

According to the vendor, Adaptive Planning helps mid-size & enterprise organizations’ leaders better manage their business:
  • Adaptive Planning enables organizations to break free from static planning, to active planning
  • Active planning is collaborative, comprehensive, and continuous
  • Active planning requires a solution that’s easy, powerful, and fast
Capabilities include:
  • Automated Budgeting and Forecasting to increase productivity
  • Self-Service Financial Reporting allowing users to create, share and personalize reports
  • Integration with Salesforce.com, NetSuite, Intacct, & MS Dynamics

Workday Adaptive Planning Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Does not have featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Does not have featureDrill-down analysis
Does not have featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Does not have featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Workday Adaptive Planning Screenshots

Workday Adaptive Planning Video

Don’t settle for static plans. Get active planning with Adaptive Insights – your source for business budgeting software that is easy, powerful, and fast.

Workday Adaptive Planning Integrations

Workday Adaptive Planning Competitors

Vena Solutions, Longview, Prophix, IBM Cognos, Anaplan, CCH Tagetik, Tidemark, Planful (formerly Host Analytics), BusinessObjects SRC (Discontinued), Oracle Hyperion, SAP

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Workday Adaptive Planning Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Workday Adaptive Planning Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Workday Adaptive Planning Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and many more!
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Polish, Dutch