SonicWall TZ Reviews

30 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

João Mauricio | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2020

Complete protection for the corporate network.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is a type of equipment used at the branch where I work as an edge firewall. TZ Series is recommended for small and medium environments, but rich in security features, web content filter, antimalware and application visibility. Another important function that this equipment provides us is VPN access to work in the home office.
  • Visibility and identification of traffic in real time.
  • Web content filter.
  • Anti-malware.
  • Licenses must be purchased annually.
In our scenario, we use it as an edge firewall, in order to filter, identify and block undue traffic and virtual threats. VPN functionality is very required and functional due to the number of employees working in the home office and this allows access to the organization's intranet. Web content filters also help us to block prohibited and inappropriate web pages.
Read João Mauricio's full review
Joshua Webster | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Secure, reliable, and fast - SonicWall is the one you can trust!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The SonicWall TZ series is being utilized throughout our entire organization. We have been using it for the past 6 years. Initially, we had the TZ 215 and then did a security upgrade to a TZ 400. It protects our environment from cyber threats/zero-day attacks and provides us with visibility into our network.
  • Protection against cyber threats/zero day attacks.
  • Bandwidth management/application control.
  • Increased flexibility of logs and enhanced alert functionality required.
The SonicWall TZ series is well suited for small to
mid-size organizations and distributed
enterprises. It has fantastic scalability and can easily be upgraded to a higher model depending on the organization's size and room for growth. The NSA series is better suited for the larger-size organizations which require more processing power to process the required amount of traffic.
Read Joshua Webster's full review
Kevin Meredith | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2020

SonicWall, a brand we trust in building our business on.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We make use of SonicWall internally, as well as implementing and supporting SonicWall for our clients. SonicWall is our primary solution for managing network security, and the TZ range offers great performance and management with a good ROI. Security is the primary requirement, and SonicWall has delivered consistently well. Management and reporting on users, along with application control, is crucial in improving network efficiency and productivity with our clients' users.
  • Great ROI with all features required in a top Firewall.
  • Management and support is made simple through SonicWall's CSC.
  • Reporting is always an area where more detail is better.
The SonicWall TZ range is a great solution for SMB businesses. We have had good success creating multiple site to site VPN networks over different connectivity solutions with failover links, all working well with minimal problems and management required.
Student residences and other similar sites, where a secure and safe environment is required, but with the added benefit of application control to reduce abuse, has been an area where SonicWall has excelled.
Read Kevin Meredith's full review
Rafael Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Control and visibility of applications with a cost effective NGFW

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sonicwall is a next-generation layer 7 focused application firewall. Our TZ 250 is a great firewall used at a branch office to do network access porting, web content filtering, application viewing, and anti-virus and anti-spam. It filters all content that users of our internal network access. And it does it all very well.
  • Low price.
  • Easy access and configuration through graphical interface.
  • Warranty and optimal support.
  • Manual not available in Portuguese.
  • Licenses are a bit expensive.
Sonicwall's Tz 250 is perfect for branch scenarios with up to 150 employees. The appliance is small, portable, lightweight and very efficient. It meets the needs very well. We have been licensing Sonicwall as needed. In addition to the licenses I said earlier, we use a lot of global VPN and site-to-site VPN as well.
Read Rafael Silva's full review
Wayne Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2020

Why SonicWall TZ

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SonicWall TZ is the hedge of protection to the entire company. As well as what we supply and install for all our customers wanting Firewall security. This is the core focus for us for implementation
  • Fail-over & Load balance smoothness
  • GAV protection
  • New layout understanding
Fantastic in Student Res areas, small business, and guest accommodations with the guest function enabled.
Read Wayne Anderson's full review
John Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

A market leader that you should consider.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
In the word of security, there are many manufacturers to consider when selecting such a critical component such as a firewall. The choice for us was obvious once we looked into SonicWall's offerings. Not only does it address real-world concerns in a user-friendly interface, but the feature set and price compared to competition sets it way apart.
  • Threat detection and prevention.
  • VPN setup and configuration.
  • Policy management.
  • None that I have needed so far.
SonicWall has offerings that support not only the SMB market but the enterprise market as well. We deploy offerings across small businesses with 1-10 users, and at our larger multi-site officers with several thousand employees; no matter what, SonicWall has stood the test of time for us
Read John Lewis's full review
Valery Mezentsau | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

SonicWall TZ: probably the best security solution for small and mid-size companies

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have made the decision to deploy Dell SonicWall TZ 400 firewall as our primary outside firewall. We are using it as the main Internet security solution, content web filtering engine, and a VPN gateway. The device is responsible for managing all WAN and LAN traffic. Sonicwall TZ 400 gives us opportunities to use LT2P and SSL VPN connections for our employees and IPSec VPN connections to our AWS infrastructure and remote IT services.
  • Great security services package under Comprehensive Gateway Security Suite (GW AV, anti-spyware, intrusion prevention, app control, etc.).
  • Flexible customization of access rules, NAT policies, objects, etc.
  • Geo-location filtering cut a lot of bad and just suspicious traffic.
  • Ease of management and administration.
  • Good hardware and firmware performance (after an upgrade to the most recent version).
  • Low or competitive cost compared to other vendors.
  • Had issues with performance (CPU) until we upgraded the firmware to the most recent.
  • Would like to have more flexibility on logs sending and alerting.
  • Routing is a little bit over-complicated.
SonicWall TZ (400) is a well-suited solution for small and mid-size companies. Very flexible and easy to configure and manage (at least for IT specialists). A lot of documentation on the Internet. A very good solution for quick VPN configuration for employees and VPN tunnels between branches or networks. For large companies, I would recommend having several devices to split roles or get a more suitable solution.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Reliable NGFW with excellent management, support and reliability.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Sonicwall TZ300 Series is a next-generation firewalls that works very well in my company. We bought it for a branch. This firewall integrates the traditional firewall, IPS, Application Control, Web Filtering, anti-virus, and VPN. I also really like the management of this equipment. It was easy to install and configure all the features mentioned.
  • Easy configuration
  • Nice graphical interface
  • Great Support
  • A bit expensive.
  • the licenses of the main features need to be renewed.
Sonicwall TZ series is ideal for branch offices or companies with few users and does not require as much processing. Good for performing content filtering web, control application and VPN.
Read this authenticated review
Benjamin Hale | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

SonicWall TZ for speed and support

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I installed a SonicWall TZ as the main firewall for my client, a creative agency. This is their main internet security device within their environment and supports users using VPN, VoIP, and web servers. In addition, there are internal devices including a high capacity and speed file server for large image and video work. They currently have the TZ400 installed.
  • Documentation is clear and to the point.
  • The SonicWall keeps up with all the traffic in and out of the agency.
  • Good licensing options and some free services.
  • Without documentation, the interface and locations of features and settings can be confusing and not intuitive.
  • Would have liked a rack mount option for lower priced devices.
  • Would have liked to have some visualization options included without licensing fees.
Based on my experience, this is a solid platform for a small to mid sized company, especially when there is someone who has IT experience, or can get outsourced IT help. I would not recommend for someone who is a technology novice. Also, this is a competent device for someone who is looking to add VPN services for remote workers.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
Jhoneis Milano | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

Dell SonicWall The Best Firewall

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, the series of Firewalls Sonicwall is used throughout the organization; we have several WAN links that go directly to the Sonicwall devices. It is responsible for filtering the entry and exit traffic, managing the LAN of the corporation and creating the VPN tunnels against other venues. Also through NETEXTENDER we are able to provide support while outside the network. In terms of the problems that have been solved, there are many. Before, employees spent a lot of time in social networks and entertainment and lost focus on the work activities. Now with this team you have shorter response times to requests.
  • Fault tolerance
  • scalability and growth
  • integration of services
  • Manufacturer's support 24 Hours
  • management is confusing has many items that could be improved to facilitate the work to the network administrator
  • in the diagnostic tool I would improve the response times, that is, if a ping test is required, it should be quick, since in cases of failures it is sought to minimize the impact as much as possible.
  • each function has a different license item, I would place a single license package for all team functions
It is good for performing VPN tunnels and content filtering; on the other hand, I do not recommend it for establishing several subnets in a company.
Read Jhoneis Milano's full review
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2017

SonicWall - industry-grade power and security for your network.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I have numerous clients with SonicWall TZ firewalls. I have set them up from scratch and maintained them for years. They are an industry leader for business-grade firewall appliances with numerous security features to protect companies and their networks.
  • Very good security features including hardware-level AntiVirus and Intrusion Prevention.
  • Customizable firewall rules and NAT policies that will match any network's needs.
  • GEO-Locational filtering helps close off unnecessary countries from seeing the company network.
  • Have not had a significant change in code for several years. Features are somewhat stagnant.
  • Global monitoring and management system is not as efficient as competitors.
  • Firmware upgrades can sometimes go awry and brick boxes requiring on-site intervention.
SonicWall appliances have numerous models for the size and thought of a company and its needs. It is one of the industry leaders and often comes down to what an MSP prefers to use. Barracuda NG and WatchGuard are direct competitors.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Ramon Vazquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2017

Is SonicWall TZ the right purchase?

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SonicWall TZ was being used as the main firewall for all the organization. It was used to solve our firewall needs and securing our network.
  • Easy to administrate
  • Outstanding uptime
  • Easy to manage rules
  • No application based controls
  • User based rules were hard to setup
  • Routing can be complex
I believe it is well suited for small to medium companies where they don't have that many users and need basic firewall functionality. That way some of the controls it is missing will not affect security as much and it will be able to handle everything else well.
Read Ramon Vazquez's full review
Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2016

The best SMB firewall UI in the market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I recently used SonicWALL TZ firewalls for small to medium businesses for UTM (Unified Threat Management) protection and easy to create site to site VPN tunnels. The SonicOS is a very easy to use firewall platform that makes setting up and using the product very efficient and quick. One of the best features of the SonicWALL TZ firewalls is the built in debugging such as running packet captures from the GUI and opening them right up to Wireshark.
  • Easy to use.
  • Fast setup wizards.
  • Low cost compared to other models/vendors in same range.
  • Some of the security features may be lacking such as content filter.
  • Way too many licenses needed for features.
SonicWall TZ is well suited for the small to medium business market and branch offices where quick setup and easy management are needed. It would not be so well suited for a large office or an office that wanted robust security features.
Read Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (7)
9.6
Visualization Tools (6)
9.3
Content Inspection (7)
9.6
Policy-based Controls (7)
9.9
Active Directory and LDAP (7)
9.4
Firewall Management Console (7)
9.7
Reporting and Logging (7)
9.0
VPN (7)
10.0
High Availability (7)
9.4
Stateful Inspection (7)
9.7
Proxy Server (5)
9.0

About SonicWall TZ

SonicWall TZ is a Unified Threat Management solution. It provides the core firewall services for small to mid-sized businesses, including anti-malware, anti-spyware, intrusion prevention, and firewall-native traffic decryption. It also supports deep-packet inspection at high traffic loads, network segmentation, and load-balancing, as well as granular traffic reporting for some performance monitoring capabilities.
Categories:  Firewall

SonicWall TZ Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No