A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 11, 2021
Gerardo Aldecua | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use A Cloud Guru in several departments, on the IT Group. We use it to review our infrastructure on AWS and get ready to obtain the certification on architecture. At the same time, we are lowering our costs on the cloud.
  • The instructors are really good at explaining from a beginner lever to advanced.
  • The courses are really well structured, and the labs really show you step by step the resources on the cloud.
  • The business level gives well structured use reports of the ACG users.
ACG really works well with a certification scenario. We got the certification with barely 1 1/2 weeks of use (at the middle level of architecture). The high level will need more time but the introduction reminds you that.
Read Gerardo Aldecua's full review
May 10, 2021
Abdulrazzaq Alkhateeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across all technology departments. It is helping us upskilling the technology teams to be ready for our future cloud transformation.
  • Short lessons, less than 20 min each.
  • Learning paths & tracks.
  • Cloud playground & labs.
  • The landing dashboard can be improved.
  • Completed courses & certificates can move out of the dashboard to something like completed courses tab.
  • Learning paths visualization can be improved.
  • ACG is very good to assign, track and complete learning.
  • The learning & certifications paths are great.
  • The learning schedule with suggested daily topics is very useful.
Read Abdulrazzaq Alkhateeb's full review
May 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using it for both individual self-guided studying as well as for structured study groups where a number of people are working towards a common certification. As far as I am aware, most people use it for working towards a certification rather than bite-sized learning. We have been using it in just our department however it is used in other pockets of the organisation. We find that it reduces the need for supervised or organisation led learning when individuals are new to the cloud.
  • Clear content
  • Wide variety of topics
  • Content is fun in places
  • Cloud playground reduces the need to manage training accounts
  • Hands on labs help to reinforce learning
  • The pace that instructors speak at can be quite variable
  • Quite often, bad practice is taught so that topics can be covered quickly
  • The exam questions are not as hard as the AWS exams or other online platforms
I wouldn’t say there are many scenarios where A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) is inappropriate. It has a wide variety of content at different levels of complexity. One area that could be not perfect is if training is required on a service that isn’t supported in the cloud playground. A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) is perfect for those individuals who want to work towards gaining a certification, however, I think that sometimes it is lacking deep dive courses in some areas.
Read this authenticated review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using A Cloud Guru to skill up our staff because we are moving our applications to the AWS cloud. We are also looking at other cloud providers and would be using the A Cloud Guru platform for its learning paths and sandboxes. We are also making use of the platform for certification preparation as well.
  • The team at A Cloud Guru is excellent at responding to user feedback that is submitted through their website.
  • The content created is well organized and aligns to certification paths.
  • The content is accessible on mobile and web platforms, which is great for learning on the go.
  • Not all content has closed captioning.
  • There are technical issues at times that require me to log back into the platform to continue learning.
  • I would have like more labs for the Azure based content.
  • I feel that the Azure content could have gone deeper in learning. There are many areas that were glossed over such as the data warehousing section in AZ-304.
A Cloud Guru is well suited to get started on a cloud platform. It is not so well suited for experienced cloud engineers. The best way to obtain deeper experience is to have more hands-on labs. A Cloud Guru is also for certification prep. It allows you to figure out which areas you need more concentration on while going through the course.
Read this authenticated review
May 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used by multiple teams. We use it to train our consultants in cloud to deliver a proper solution to our clients. It also provides a great way to test it with sandboxes. I'm using it for testing some cloud infrastructure for proving to our clients that we are able to deliver a real solution with real examples.
  • Sandbox of each cloud provider
  • Good explanation
  • Good instructor
  • Content
  • Not agile for fixing error in the training.
  • Old courses from Linux Academy are not easy to copy/paste.
  • Not consistent format video format from Linux Academy and ACG.
This is a very good platform for practicing cloud services with the sandbox feature. For example, I'm using it to create a full network and security infrastructure with Terraform on my computer for easy building all the stack from the previous test. If you do not use Terraform (or a tool like that), it's difficult to create over and over the same test because of the 4 hour limit.
Read this authenticated review
May 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A Cloud Guru is used by our company in several ways. It is a great foundational learning platform for new users and also a great spot for more expeirenced professionals to learn about new services/releases. New users can explore intro topics at their own pace and use Sandboxes to get hands on experience. There is so much in-depth content in the lectures I didn't feel the need for studying directly from AWS training. I've used the coursework and the practice quizzes to prepare for and pass an AWS certificate exam.
  • Sandboxes
  • Thorough Lectures
  • Self-Paced
  • Frequent Updates
  • Site can feel a bit busy
I feel A Cloud Guru is well suited for anyone looking to learn about cloud related topics (on any of the main platforms). There is a lot of breadth and depth available. There are even study groups that can be used for getting individuals from your team together to study in a self-organized 'class'. Due to licensing limits, the only use case where A Cloud Guru would not be ideal is for company wide learning.
Read this authenticated review
May 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for learning at our company and find it very easy to use and a fun way of helping our people learn as quickly as possible, as we are very time poor here. That is why we love A Cloud Guru and Linux Academy's merger decision, as it helps us consolidate.
  • Demo
  • Sandbox environments
  • Structure
  • The UI is very busy
Suited to companies that want a fast-paced environment for their employees to learn and find topics they are interested in and provides a great simple and direct pathway to certification exams with major cloud providers like AWS, Azure, GCP, and even more specific topics like Linux and databases.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in my department primarily used for AWS training and support. This forms part of their CPD.
  • Content is relevant.
  • Up to date with cloud platform features and development.
  • Great to track staff engagement and activity.
  • Sales process was a bit of a faff at the start.
It's great where users can do as much or as little as they want. The learning paths work well and can be tailored to the needs of the user.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use A Cloud Guru in our IT department to help teammates improve their knowledge and skills in technology.
  • Practice labs.
  • Videos.
  • Search bar for courses.
A Cloud Guru is perfect to:
  • Help you pass a certification that is recognized by global tech community.
  • Help someone with no experience to learn about a tool and to start working with it in the real life.
It is less appropriate for working on employees' soft skills I think.
Read this authenticated review
March 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently ACG is being used by individuals who chose to use the training to expand skills or develop new ones. It is available to the whole company and helps address a multitude of problems from sales to engineering solutions.
  • Robust
  • User Friendly
  • Knowledgeable
  • Up to date
  • Streamlining
  • Less Faye
A Cloud Guru (ACG) offers great training, for all skillsets from beginner to professional. They are a great resource for anyone looking to break into the ever expanding cloud space, or for current professionals to hone in on skills in niche areas in the cloud area.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2020
Anthony Tutrone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There's always a need for continuing education in the IT world. Technology changed on a daily basis and it we didn't have a training solution in place, then our team would become stagnant and set in their ways. This can kill IT teams in many ways, certainly, but the two most important is passion and drive to continue innovating. By not fostering those, you'll more than likely lose good employees because they'll become bored and seek more interesting work elsewhere. With that, we tried a lot of training platforms but found Linux Academy to be the most robust and updated with the latest training programs to keep our employees on technology's cutting edge.
  • The videos are short and easy to ingest. This is super important! Long videos get boring and people lose interest quickly
  • New training videos for new technology are always being added regularly
  • In addition to new videos, existing training videos are updated when software or technology changes, ensure that you always have current information while you're learning
  • The merger with A Cloud Guru has confused things a bit. They're slowly replacing the Linux academy branded training with ACG training (which is fine) but if we found ourselves losing access to training videos while we were in the midst of watching them
  • A more robust community would be nice. There's the Slack channel, but I wish there was more robust community features
  • It would be nice to be able to download videos locally on desktops and laptops. This helps greatly with rewinding the video to reiterate key learning points
Where it's strong: Linux, open source technologies, web development administration, virtualization and automation, cloud platforms like AWS and Azure, CI/CD training

Where it's lacking: The more traditional aspects of IT -- Windows, Active Directory, IT Service Management. storage administration and networking basics... advanced networking also, like CCNA, would be nice.
The site can have some issues. It can be difficult to return to the training module you were viewing after some time away from the site and you have to relogin. We've also had issues where the session will time out at random points, which makes it frustrating to move on to the next videos in the module when you have to re-login and try and find which one you left off on.
I've never had to communicate with Linux Academy's customer support aside from some minor billing issues, which were easily ironed out in a very quick manner.
Read Anthony Tutrone's full review

What is A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy)?

A Cloud Guru (ACG) is a cloud learning provider that states they have helped 2,000,000+ people and more than 4,000 organizations level up their cloud skills.

Founded in 2015, ACG was started by brothers Sam and Ryan Kroonenburg who recognized cloud learning through traditional training providers was expensive, outdated, and a pain to consume. With the acquisition of Linux Academy in 2019, ACG combined the strengths and benefits of both companies to create A Cloud Guru platform for modern tech skills.

ACG's approach to learning modern technologies includes access to updated courses, labs, and learning paths, instructors that aim to keep learners motivated, hands-on learning in real cloud environments, and bite-sized lessons to fit into a busy workday.

With its hands-on multi-cloud content library, ACG aims to give businesses the edge by scaling cloud expertise across their organizations and charting an accelerated course to cloud maturity.

A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) Features

Has featureUnlimited Courses, Quizzes & Certification Practice Exams
Has featureUnlimited Hands-On Labs
Has featureCloud Playground (Servers & Sandboxes)
Has featureCertification Accelerator Program
Has featureWeekly Cloud Roundups
Has featureCommunity Forums
Has featureACG Mobile Apps
Has featureRecords of Completion
Has featureLearning Paths
Has featureSkills Assessment
Has featureStudy Groups
Has featureManagement Portal

A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) Videos (3)

Watch A Cloud Guru for Business Features

Watch ACG for Business Overview

Watch ACG Hands-On Labs

A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) Downloadables

A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) Competitors

A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0.00per month
Personal Basic$31.59 ($379.00)per month (per year)
Personal Plus$41.59 ($499.00)per month (per year)
Business Basic$41.59 ($499.00)per month (per year)
Business Plus$58.25 ($699.00)per month (per year)

Contact Sales for Enterprise Pricing. https://acloudguru.com/solutions/business

A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email

A Cloud Guru (Linux Academy) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English