Udemy for Business Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Jose Colmenero | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Udemy is an awesome tool which I recommend for any business!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Udemy is being used across the company to promote growth and personal development. It's a great tool that allows employees to enroll in courses in a wide range of topics. Whether that's topics on finance or angular development, this tool is an added benefit that goes beyond the standard corporate training that is typically provided.
  • Provides courses in various categories, whether that be soft or technical skills.
  • The platform is easy to use and manage.
  • The lectures are sometimes great, but it is also sometimes hard to stay engaged.
  • The grouping of categories could be refined.
I believe Udemy is useful in any large-scale business where you want to encourage learning and growth. Learning is important in any industry and Udemy does a great job of providing a platform that allows people to grow.
Read Jose Colmenero's full review
Javier Carrion | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

A cost effective tool for learning and a motivational tool for the staff.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as training tool and It severs as an online resource and education. It gives us employees the opportunity to grow professionally and learn new technologies.Udemy has some courses that other platforms don’t have. It also gives opportunities to learn about new skills and technologies that are not yet impactful to our business and might be helpful to the business in the future.
  • Training sessions progress is stored online.
  • Many team members like the ability to use the mobile app.
  • I like the course catalog and variety of courses offered.
  • Some of the courses on Udemy are too slow.
  • Time-commitment required to get through some of the courses.
  • Course cannot be saved to be used for offline training.
It is very nice to train your new/inexperienced employee or if you want your staff to be constantly updated. Udemy for Business is a perfect solution for lower-cost training. Keep in mind that, some of the course is not moderated or curated properly. Also, the training progress can be stored online and if you have different staff members, you do not need to schedule any sessions.
Read Javier Carrion's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Udemy for Business - Single platform for lifelong learners

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Udemy for Business is a SaaS Platform for upskilling. In our organization, every employee has been provided access to Udemy on desktop by logging into SuccessFactors LMS portal and on mobile via the app. It is used across the company in departments like advisory teams (Risk Advisory, Tech Advisory, Cyber Advisory, People Advisory). People use it based on their need across the service lines they belong to.
  • Low cost and latest content.
  • Wide variety of instructors who contribute courses. Learners have options to chose from.
  • Learners can chose courses based on duration and topics and the depth to which they want to learn.
  • Role & Skill Measurement is missing (skill IQ or role IQ tests which are very important). Also, they need to do some partnerships with Datacamp or Kaplan to provide integrations for hands-on or virtual lab types of environments.
  • Udemy should go through a proper screening process for authors to insure better quality of content. Some of the courses look very basic from someone with elementary knowledge who has authored it just to make some money from Udemy. True learner engagement comes from quality content from best authors. Author recruitment process need to improve.
Udemy for Business is suited for quick learning on the job - if it is a functional role. Best suited for freshers who join a company. Udemy can help them get an understanding of what they need to learn before they are deployed on a project - e.g. cyber security fundamentals, data privacy, RPA Introduction etc. It is also good for understanding specifics pertaining to tools like Prezi, Excel, Salesforce.com etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Udemy for Business - Lots of Breadth, Lots of Depth, Minimal Curation.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a software development organization, we have a constant need to ensure our developers have opportunities to keep their skills up to date. Not only do we need to ensure they can expand on their existing skills, but they also need to have opportunities to learn about new skills and technologies that are not yet impactful to our business, but will be. Udemy for Business offers us the opportunity to address these needs by providing such a wide and diverse catalog of learning content.
  • Massive Course Catalog - Udemy has a tremendous selection of courses, enabling my reports to find pretty much any course they might be interested in.
  • Multi-platform streaming - Udemy for Business offers apps across several different platforms, enabling my reports to be able to learn in the way they want to, at a time that is convenient for them.
  • Learning Management - Udemy for Business offers me data and metrics on how my employees are engaging with their learning.
  • Curation - To be honest, I'm not sure to what level of curation Udemy for Business does behind the scenes, and it's rarely a problem, but a little more transparency into how these trainers have been vetted before getting to their "market place" would be good.
  • Guided Learning Plans - Udemy for Business could act as an advisory role to suggest curricula to businesses in a particular domain - enabling exposure to new skills before the company even knows they need them.
  • Course Materials - In the courses I've watched thus far, the trainers often provide additional materials as embedded links in the notes. This "just in time" materials is a good approach, but some of us would like to do a bulk download before beginning the class.
Udemy for Business is a perfect solution for lower-cost training that enables your team to learn and explore new skills without having to pay the literal $10's of thousands of dollars to engage an external trainer for remote or in-person training.

However, Udemy is not as good for situations where your reports may feel that they will have lots of questions to be answered. Udemy for Business's responsiveness to questions is good, but can never be as good as real-time questions and feedback.
Read this authenticated review
Alejandro Matheu, MD, MBA, MSc in Digital Marketing | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

Learning platform for specific skills

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Udemy has been used by specific people of different departments, to learn specific skills and new abilities that our business needed. Udemy has some courses that other platforms don’t have, they have more specific topics that sometimes need to be addressed individually for our workers.
  • It’s cheaper than other platforms. It’s affordable if the worker has to pay part of the course.
  • They have more specific courses than other platforms.
  • The platform is easy to use.
  • One of the biggest problems of this platform is the credibility of their certificates because they are not endorsed and don't have the support of a university as other platforms do.
  • Anyone can upload a course, so sometimes you will have a bunch of options, but you really don’t know which one is the best for you among all of them.
  • Another thing that I don’t like about Udemy is that the platform is not very well organized, everything looks crowded.
If you are looking for a university endorsement or certificate to put in your resumé this is not your learning platform. Sometimes the enterprises need an endorsed certificate from a university to pay for the course for their employees. This doesn’t mean they won’t give you a certificate, they do, but not from a university. This platform is well suited when you or your workers need to learn some very specific skills or topics. And also, when the budget is a problem.
Read Alejandro Matheu, MD, MBA, MSc in Digital Marketing's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Udemy, great for professional growth

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Udemy is used globally throughout the company. It gives us employees the opportunity to grow professionally and learn new technologies. In development, we use it to get familiar with the latest libraries and coding methodologies.
  • Good overall course library.
  • Has incentives to learn in the form of certificates.
  • Instructors can add quizzes to challenge users in the learning process.
  • Does not have some topics, like ColdFusion.
  • Quizzes can tend to be too easy.
Good for pretty much anything pertaining to career growth and/or personal growth.
Read this authenticated review
Dustin Hovey | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2018

The Business Education Solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Udemy for Business across the organization as a tool for employees to strengthen their skills for their current position and/or learn new ones for positions we aspire to have. Udemy for Business serves as an online resource and education hub for a plethora of various topics that are pertinent to our industry.
  • Business relevant content: The tool provides access to numerous online courses.
  • Customization: We can customize the content we offer our employees.
  • Measure engagement: We can track user behavior and leaning patterns.
  • The investment for many courses may exceed what some companies can budget.
  • The app should be in better sync with the website; furthermore, sometimes the UI is slow and sluggish.
Udemy for Business may be best suited for organizations that budget (or are looking to budget) for employee growth. This is tool whereupon the more employees put into it, the more they will get out of it.
Read Dustin Hovey's full review
Tony Phan | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2017

Great Platform to Develop Your Staff

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Udemy for Business is used as a training platform, especially for our marketing department. It is used to continuously train and update our marketing staff with the latest changes in current digital marketing tools as digital marketing nowadays is changing at a fast pace. This updated knowledge is used to achieve our marketing objectives more effectively. In addition, it provides training anytime we need without delays and waiting so a lot of time is saved for us to focus on more important objectives.
  • Provides useful marketing training for new for entry level staff.
  • Training sessions are stored online through the Udemy platform and can be accessed anywhere online so you do not have to rely on the schedule of the trainer like traditional training.
  • Staff can make questions for the trainers through the Udemy platform so it is almost the same as with traditional training with interaction between trainer and trainee.
  • It would be better if the course could be saved to be used for offline training.
  • It would also be even better if the instructor could give live training instead of recorded training sessions.
  • Having a test section where a trainee will be doing a test in the knowledge that they just learned from the course.
Udemy is perfect if you want to train your new/inexperienced staff or if you want your staff to be constantly updated in a specific field. In my case, it was digital marketing since the digital marketing field changes really fast nowadays. Also, the training can be stored online so if you have different staff members, you do not need to schedule any sessions with the trainer. You just have to give them access fo the course on Udemy.
Read Tony Phan's full review

Udemy for Business Scorecard Summary

About Udemy for Business

Udemy for Business is a cloud-deployed elearning course collection offered by Udemy.com.
Categories:  eLearning Content

Udemy for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No