AWS Lambda Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
234 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

AWS Lambda Provides Function-based Compute On Demand

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have simplified log fiie ingestion using Lambda functions. The return has been less time worrying about getting logs from source to ingestion; one the process is in place the team is nearly 100% hands off.
  • We have begun taking a more API focused approach by using API Gateway as the interface to business processes and Lambda as the back end compute. Moving away from server based back ends places us on a path to reducing overall spend in compute costs.
  • Lambda functions allow us to easily interface with third party services through APIs. This simplifies access management since the function can be granted permissions and access to the function can be gated with API keys and other authentication methods.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

Going Serverless Without Being Rudderless: AWS Lambda

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • AWS Lambda has allowed us to decommission several legacy API gateway application servers as we moved our synchronization processes into the cloud, reducing our management time and equipment spend.
  • Using AWS Lambda instead of a dedicated EC2 instance has helped us save hundreds of cloud hosting dollars every month.
  • The flexibility of AWS Lambda's wide range of supported programming languages has enabled our entire development team to take advantage of serverless infrastructure without the need to invest in learning a platform-specific language, saving time and increasing productivity.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
Barry Burd | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

AWS Lambda for Education

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • AWS Lambda is a necessary tool for teaching students how to create Alexa skills.
  • For students' low-volume use, AWS Lambda is free. That's good.
  • There are several ways to misstep when creating an AWS Lambda function. Students have trouble with that, and it requires time and effort to diagnose their errors.
Read Barry Burd's full review
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Any language, fast and simple

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We see a positive impact on actually developer moral because they are given language freedom.
  • We have also seen a positive impact in reducing the time needed to deploy Rest APIs within a project schedule. Our deployments are quicker and it helps shorten our critical paths.
  • We have seen a small negative impact on monitoring and S3 triggers. They do not always seem to work so you have to pay a little closer attention then we would wish to ensure smooth operation.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

The most efficient way to create Serverless Applications.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It is a tool in constant optimization. Amazon recently added new features to development environments in Linux, so it is very versatile to be multiplatform, so it is always useful, makes the development time faster and more orderly.
  • It allows you to save money, since you only pay for what you use, and the projects scale up correctly without generating unexpected expenses.
  • It helps to modularize projects because it seeks to execute small functions to make a project more orderly, efficient, and maintainable.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

AWS Lambda - The Unseen, Low-Cost Workhorse of the Cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The cost savings of Lambda usage (when done right) can't be overstated
  • Decentralizing architecture and logic can come at a higher development cost or learning curve
  • Working with Lambdas is pretty fun when you think about all the things you don't have to deal with server-wise
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Most popular for a reason

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has made our services very cheap to run.
  • It has made our services more predictable and easier for our developers to manage.
  • It has empowered our developers to focus on business logic.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Using AWS Lambda for Data ETL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • AWS Lambda allows us to migrate off our 3rd Party ETL platform, reducing costs by 80% (no longer paying for licensing fee and server cost).
  • It allows us to outsource independent functions to contractors and easily integrate this back into our core process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

AWS Lambda can be game changer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Maintenance costs are low.
  • No need to worry about availability and scalability.
  • It may be pricey if you use it for very high traffic.
Read this authenticated review
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Very developed cost-saving product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive - Only paying for when code is run, unlike virtual machines where you pay always regardless of processing power usage.
  • Positive - Scalability and accommodating larger amounts of demand is much cheaper. Instead of scaling up virtual machines and increasing the prices you pay for that, you are just increasing the number of times your lambda function is run.
  • Negative - Debugging/troubleshooting, and developing for lambda functions take a bit more time to get used to, and migrating code from virtual machines and normal processes to Lambda functions can take a bit of time.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Best Cloud Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Debugging - Debugging using the Lambda functions has become easier.
  • Easy to set up and run.
  • Scalability is automatic and does not need too much mind-boggling work.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

The Serverless Standard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • AWS Lambda has allowed our data science team to rapidly deliver RESTful APIs for machine learning features without engineering support
  • AWS Lambda and API Gateway allow our developers to rapidly develop background jobs and services without configuring and maintaining infrastructure, application servers, reverse proxies, etc.
  • Lambda integrates well with other AWS products; we don't have to implement as much "glue" code.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (17)
8.1
Scalability (37)
9.3
Platform management overhead (34)
8.4
Workflow engine capability (29)
8.3
Platform access control (34)
8.7
Services-enabled integration (36)
8.9
Development environment creation (31)
7.8
Development environment replication (30)
7.5
Issue monitoring and notification (33)
7.9
Issue recovery (28)
8.1
Upgrades and platform fixes (28)
8.2

About AWS Lambda

AWS Lambda is a serverless computing platform that lets developers run code without provisioning or managing servers. With Lambda, users can run code for virtually any type of app or backend service—all with zero administration. It takes care of requirements to run and scale code with high availability. Users pay only for the compute time they consume—there is no charge when their code is not running.

Developers uploading to Lambda don’t have to deal with their code’s environment. It’s a “serverless” service which lets outside code or events invoke functions. Lambda doesn’t store data, but it allows access to other services which do. Users can set up their code to automatically trigger from other AWS services or call it directly from any web or mobile app.

AWS Lambda Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No