Druva Phoenix Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
44 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Ben Coppard profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being utilized across our whole organization and is a key part of our BCP. Having a cloud-based backup is essential to our risk management and information security. Our IT infrastructure is completely backed up and ready to restore at a moments notice, and Druva Phoenix's exceptional uptime means access to files we'd rather store in a cloud backup is quick and simple.
  • Quick and efficient backup restores
  • Simple and easy to use interface
  • Virtual machine backup and restoration
  • Disaster recovery/cloud based serverhosting is an additional cost, would like to see this feature included at a basic level
  • More dashboard options
  • Less client updates
Very well suited for a small company looking to host their backups off-site and have instant restores available. Sites with branch sites would also be a good fit.

Big companies requiring a more robust backup and disaster recovery solution (cloud-based server hosting in disaster situations) may find cheaper options elsewhere, as the disaster recovery options add on a significant price.
Read Ben Coppard's full review
Tyler Cook profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Druva Phoenix as our on prem backup solution. The IT Infrastructure team is the primary users of this software. We use this as our file level and VM Level backup and recovery tool.
  • Cloud Storage On Prem Backups
  • Recovery
  • Ease of use
  • Limited in some advanced features like pre and post scripting
Druva is an awesome product for your on prem backups. We currently backup 250 systems with a mix of physical (less than 15) and virtual. We've used this in both VMware and HyperV environments. We're able to acquire new companies and add them into our backup environment without needing to purchase new hardware. Some locations we can simple install the backup agent on the Windows hosts and get file level backups. Other companies if they have a virtualized environment we're able to deploy a new backup proxy and have backups running in less than a day.
Read Tyler Cook's full review
Willard Stark profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva Phoenix is currently being used to back-up all of our company's servers and important information. I work for a holdings company that shares IT assets between 5 affiliated companies. All of the companies are able to benefit from our server back-ups. It solves our need to constantly maintain an off-site backup as well as gives us additional options and peace of mine in case of a disaster. Having Druva Phoenix means I know our data is backed up and safe, and we no longer have to worry about data loss.
  • Back-up policies with complete clarity of what is being backed up and how often.
  • File-level restores.
  • Deduplication of data to provide fair and effective usage of Druva's credit-based billing system.
  • Support. Once when I had an open case during set-up, I heard more from the support team than I did their salesmen which really shows their dedication to solving issues.
  • Their pricing and credit usage structure can use some refinement. We had a hard time knowing and learning how much space our data was going to take up which made billing/pricing a hard question.
  • More Hyper-V support, particularly with their Disaster Recovery options which is still currently VMWare only.
  • There error self-help page. Some times a back-up for a day will fail. Most of the time they will have an error attached explaining why. I have noticed sometimes not only will it not show an error at all, but not all of their errors are also documented.
Druva Phoenix is a well-suited cloud back-up application that provides a lot of mental security knowing that back-ups are not an issue. Their solution is easy to set-up and use. I would say they are a great solution for a medium-large company that needs a large scale back-up solution. Just make sure to check on your back-ups status every day.
Read Willard Stark's full review
Paul Sevick profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are current Druva inSync users, and were invited by Druva to try a trial of Phoenix, which we did in the past year. We fully implemented Phoenix to back up our collection of 25 VMware servers, as well as 4 physical servers located in our branch offices. We were using CommVault at the time, and were looking for a cloud-based solution to shore up our disaster recovery efforts.
  • It's easy to implement and manage.
  • Versioning.
  • Very small overhead, just a simple agent install.
  • Data transfer speed.
  • Minor administration flaws.
  • VMware thick thin disk space is unclear in the admin console.
Druva Phoenix is an excellent cloud-based product that extremely is well suited for virtual and physical environments. Due to pricing structures, it would probably be more suited for medium to large data environments to realize a positive return on investment. In our case, we were backing up 25 virtual servers and 4 physical servers. When comparing costs against our current CommVault solution, it was substantially more expensive.
Read Paul Sevick's full review
James Carberry profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva Phoenix helped us phase out our on-premise backup infrastructure and facilitate a migration away from our legacy on-premise backup software.
  • Eliminates on-premise backup infrastructure
  • Increases restore resiliency
  • Incredibly easy to implement and use
  • Would be helpful if custom roles could be built with a least user privilege model (zero trust) and ability to granularly select every access permission, instead of based on an immutable template
  • Would be good if option to feed logs directly to our enterprise Splunk (or a Splunk app that we could load into our Splunk to fetch the data from Phoenix)
Optimal if your organization has significant internet bandwidth
Read James Carberry's full review
Naoto Asai profile photo
September 19, 2019

Let's use Druva Phoenix!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Druva Phoenix across the whole organization. The scope of application is 3 of our file servers. It has been operating without any major problems so far, and backup and restore can be operated without any problems.

We operated many servers on-premises. The backup also used on-premises storage and backup tape. By changing to Druva Phoenix, our work cost for backup and restore can be reduced.
  • Everything is completed in the cloud. I can operate all the things from my desk, and I don't need to go to the server room anymore. I can do it even I go outside or at home if needed.
  • Operation is very simple, both the setup agent and backup schedule and restore.
  • Admin console is only in English, and I'd like to use my local language (Japanese).
  • We need to purchase backup storage in advance, but it is little complicated currently around how many volumes we used before and how many we can use in the future.
If cloud backup is acceptable per corporate IT policy, I think it is the best solution for backup and restore.
Read Naoto Asai's full review
Leon Cuevas profile photo
September 26, 2019

Druva Phoenix Rising

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] backing up VMs and NetApp shares.
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to set up
  • Logs need to be more transparent
  • There should be an option to see ALL backup jobs
It's well suited for almost everything you want to backup. I wish it could do bare metal backups.
Read Leon Cuevas's full review
Carlos Eduardo Barbosa profile photo
September 23, 2019

Druva is worth having

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva is actually being used for key associates such as managers and directors.
  • Fast backup data.
  • Daily backup data.
  • Fast and easy restores based on domain user accounts.
  • None that I can think of.
Druva substantially improves end-user data backup and allows the IT team to be involved with other decisions and tasks. With Druva PC Backup, restoring and backing up data is made easy!
Read Carlos Eduardo Barbosa's full review
Ratnodeep Roy profile photo
September 23, 2019

Druva Phoenix Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are managing a US client who has Druva Phoenix configured for VM's, and physical and MS-SQL servers.
  • Handling of snapshots using hot snapshot method.
  • Support for backups and restores of MS-SQL servers.
  • Logs can be downloaded at will for details troubleshoot purpose.
  • Reports configuration.
  • Alerting.
  • Access management for non-admin users.
  • Support for exchange.
  • Support for other DB's.
  • Extended support for Linux based servers/VM's.
Druva is well suited for smaller environments. It is not for those who have huge servers as the entire process depends upon the proxy pool.
Read Ratnodeep Roy's full review
Teik Leng Ang profile photo
September 19, 2019

My Druva Phoenix Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva Phoenix DR is recommended by InfoFabrica, who we've had a very bad experience with on implementation. Due to their poor knowledge and skills, the project has been dragging for more than half a year due to errors and issues. We had a very bad experience, which was very painful, and we feel we want to drop the project. After we use and figure Druva Phoenix out, we'll have a solution for backups to cloud and do DR when needed.
  • Dedupe of data. Pending to double confirm.
  • Technical support is very poor, especially with a recent case we logged. No one seems able to check and they need us to troubleshoot and report back to them. Not very helpful.
On and off, we are facing some errors with backups to the cloud. Most of the time, we troubleshoot and get the thing done instead of logging a case with tech support since sometimes they have not been helpful at all.
Read Teik Leng Ang's full review
Amin Ansari profile photo
September 18, 2019

Awesome

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Phoenix agents are installed on servers, and backup server data according to the schedule defined in the backup policy. At the scheduled time, Phoenix Cloud initiates backups from servers on which Phoenix agents are installed.
  • If you or another administrator initiates the first backup, Phoenix performs a full backup. All subsequent backups triggered by administrators are incremental backups.
  • Druva Cloud Platform Console is the starting point from where you administer data backed up from the configured data sources. It is the first page you see when you log in.
The Druva Cloud Platform Console displays the services, summary, and utilization only applicable to the product which you selected at the time of login.
Read Amin Ansari's full review
Jagdish Joshi profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for senior management Data Security
  • Bachup of end user devices
  • Data security
  • Very easy to access
  • We have been using it for the last 7 years for senior management data backup
  • It is safe to use
  • Cost is high
  • Integration with more applications
When it comes to data safety it is very useful and go to software


cloud model is not suitable because of GDPR
Read Jagdish Joshi's full review
TJ Hurt profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as our exclusive DR and cloud based recovery solution with AWS
  • Web Mangement
  • Faster Recovery Times
  • Security and Compliance
  • Firewall integration
If you are looking to sunset your off-site physical DR, this is the solution. Faster recovery time, less overall cost and upkeep
Read TJ Hurt's full review
No photo available
September 28, 2019

Druva Phoenix Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Druva Phoenix is used across the whole organization. Currently, it addresses the business problems related to Backups across the following categories:

  • VM Backups [VMWARE].
  • SQL Database Backups.
  • File Server Backups.
  • Cloud-based, easy to set up, configure backup policies, and administer.
  • Upgrade Backup Proxies on the fly from the Cloud as soon as a new agent version is available.
  • It's easy to scale by installing additional backup proxies when there is an increase in workloads.
  • Optimal use of Internet Bandwidth.
  • It needs functionality related to popular use case scenarios, such as application-aware backups related to SharePoint Backups and SAP HANA backups.
It's well suited for backups of VMs hosted on VMWARE and Hyper-V, SQL Database Backups, and File System Backups.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2019

Druva

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for backing up users' info, desktops, and documents for safekeeping. The issue that we have seen come up in a few instances is that some of the computers with a lot of information constantly freezes and causes the computer to not back up. This program fixes that issue for us, and it makes the customers happy.
  • Backups.
  • Restore.
  • Refresh.
  • They could make the program run a bit faster.
  • Make the program a bit easier for customers to use.
  • Work better with smartphones.
Druva works well when you are in a large company and have a fear of computers crashing. Using it has saved a lot of people at my place of employment whenever they run into a blue screen issue or something has been deleted. It has saved all of the work and documentation needed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 27, 2019

Druva Phoenix POC

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
During a proof of concept (POC) evaluation, we found Druva Phoenix to possibly be a usable candidate for backing up the guests in our VMware infrastructure that uses a stretched vSAN cluster as storage over 2+1 data centers and segregate multiple departments by VM folders (multi-tenancy with daily automatic detection of new guests).
  • Cloud-based solution for off-site storage with possible local (cloud) cache to increase performance.
  • Easy to use interface, Active Directory Single Sign-On (AD SSO) for authentication and relatively simple deployment of virtual proxy servers.
  • Good support structure. We had an issue where our third data center with just vSAN witness hosts that have no storage attached prevented automatic discovery. After increasing the logging level with support, engineering was quick to find the problem and provide a patch that could be installed on the proxy servers.
  • The reports and analytics are rather primitive and bare, and cannot sort columns. New data/duration (throughput) would be nice for instance. CSV exports combine date and time (harder to use in a spreadsheet).
  • Cannot create an API token within just the Druva Phoenix (as Phoenix Cloud Administrator, let alone multi-tenancy scope).
Possibly good for a relatively small environment with a large backup window. More is needed in a larger environment. Especially the reporting is very basic, and better insight is needed in performance metrics and potential bottlenecks. Multi-tenancy can probably be improved (though we did not explore this completely during the POC).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 20, 2019

Best product on the market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Druva Phoenix to backup our entire VMWare environment, NAS, some physical servers and SQL DBs.
  • VMware backups - no client needed, just needs to be able to take a snapshot
  • NAS backups, ease of configuring files/folder to exclude.
  • Full system restores take just seconds to set up
  • Cloud cache is not the easiest to set up
  • Does not dedup SQL data very well
  • Random failures when Druva is doing maintenance
Any production environment where you want to trust your data is safe
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have 13 servers backing up our servers as we add more servers we add more licenses. This is a great product that is easy to set up and use. And the reports work great giving me the details I need for our backups. The fast restore even on a single file is great when end-users accidentally delete files. This software is used as a backup and part of disaster recovery across our whole organization.
  • Easy to configure an update. As an network system Administrator the faster and easier it is on this the more time we have for taking care of other issues. Set it an forget it .... well besides the getting detailed notifications.
  • great simple email notifications about the backup jobs. Simple but if more details are needed they re there.
  • Updates to system client are a breeze!!! just select the servers that show they need update and BAM ITS DONE!!!!
  • No complaints so far
I just think it is great even for standard non tech end users. Even if you've never used the software before, I believe it is straightforward on the menu selections which makes it really easy to navigate through and get what you need backed up or restored. I just like that it's easy to use and I don't have to over train the end user.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Phoenix across 20 different sites (remote offices with datacenters). The goal was to get rid of tape backups, leverage the cloud, and use global deduplication to control cost.
  • Deduplication.
  • Customer support.
  • Enterprise-scale management interface (no patch/update management, alerting is per site, no global control options).
  • Long term backup imports (what do we do with our 10 years of data we have on tape?).
  • Vcenter migrations.
Great tool if you're on standard virtualization technology (Vmware or HyperV) or use Bare Metal Intel servers. Good global dedupe and good management interface

If you are not in the Intel world (AIX / Iseries etc.), this is not going to work for you.

The biggest downside is that migrating to Druva Phoenix will not allow you to totally get rid of your tapes, tape drive, tape-library, offsite tape storage provider, backup software if you have long term retention requirements.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2019

Druva Phoenix Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Druva Phoenix is used for enterprise server data protection. Includes cloud servers, on-prem virtual servers, and on-prem physical servers.
  • VMWare virtual server backups via hypervisor.
  • Clean intuitive admin portal.
  • Support for most server OS flavors.
  • System state server backup is not supported. This is not an OS configuration backup tool. Need to run system state dump on Windows which Druva will then backup.
  • Druva Phoenix is not tightly integrated into Druva inSync.
Great for small shops with relatively simple server and NAS data protection requirements. Good options for scheduling and retention. If speedy disaster recovery RPOs are required, then consider a tool supporting full bare-metal restores.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Druva to backup all our VMWare Host and Virtual Machines. Druva is primarily being used in the Information Technology department for backing all departmental data and restoring files as required. By adopting cloud backup from Druva, our backup time window decreased dramatically and reduced costs by not renewing our existing backup software from Veritas and Microsoft OS. We also retired our tape backup solution.
  • You set up the backup configuration once and you no longer have to monitor it. I get regular email status for any missed or failed backup jobs.
  • Easy to set up and configure
  • Great technical support team
  • Druva Portal is very intuitive
  • Druva does not have a solution yet for a Microsoft Exchange brick level restore.
  • Ability to backup and restore Microsoft Information Store and individual mailboxes
  • Touch base with customers on new features and upgrades. This is lacking or I don't get calls on how to improve their product.
The product works well if you are migrating to cloud backup. Very cost effective solution. If you are running Microsoft Exchange on-premise, you may want to check with Druva's technical team as they may not have the offering at this time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across whole org to backup VMs, NFS, CIFS shares.

We want to reduce backup budget because tapes is costly and we have a complex on-prem setup. Annual support renewals and hardware renewals add to cost.

Main objective was to move backup to the cloud and reduce cost.
  • Cloud storage
  • Disaster recovery service
  • Vmware proxy.
  • Maybe a single proxy for NAS, CIFS, NFS, vCenter.
  • better error logs, not getting the info I need based on current logs.
  • Ability to do multiple schedules on a single policy?
Easy setup and implementation, deducing to save storage.
easy management helps lean IT Dept to implement backup without too much outside help.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Druva Phoenix as our backup solution for our entire company in the VM environment and any On-Prem servers.
  • User interface is very simple yet detailed to use
  • Install is very easy
  • Agent install in the VM environment is VERY easy
  • Installing the agent into Windows servers should be able to be pushed out from the interface, instead of running the exe locally.
  • Very well suited for a VM environment. Simple to push an agent to other virtual servers.
  • Windows on-prem servers still need to run an exe file locally to install agent.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Druva Phoenix as our Disaster Recovery vendor, as well as our off-site backup provider. Their tools allows us to safely recover any file we need for immediate recovery. Their Disaster Recovery service will allow us to bring up our environment in AWS within an hour or two.
  • It just works well. After the setup and configuration, the backups work as they are intended to work.
  • We run DR tests once or twice a quarter and the test has always been successful.
  • Their support has been very helpful with any issue we have encounter.
  • Not much to report for needed improvement. We have been very happy with their current offering.
It met the criteria we were looking for in a DR/Backup vendor. It does backups of our VMWare VMs and allows us to use them in AWS in a Disaster Recovery scenario. Those two main points were what we were looking for in our new vendor.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 23, 2019

Druva Phoenix Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using the product at the beginning of 2019 when we migrated from a different company. We use the product to back up many of our Virtual machines and some data folders from our user home folder. We do not have to worry about storing tape backup on-site or have to worry about securing them.
  • Easy user interface.
  • All in one dashboard.
  • Cloud-based.
  • Dashboard app.
  • Still figuring this out!
We start using Druva Phonix less than a year ago when we migrated from a competitor and we really like how easy is to use Druva in comparison to the old software. We are a school with 7 sites, 3500 students, and 400 staff members. Our server farm is in all the buildings, so this cloud-based system helps us a lot. We also like the price option where you only pay for you need. if you are a smaller school that is great. Pay as you go!
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (20)
8.1
Live recovery (21)
7.9
Recovery verification (19)
7.9
Business application protection (15)
8.1
Multiple backup destinations (20)
8.2
Incremental backup identification (25)
8.1
Backup to the cloud (27)
8.7
Deduplication and file compression (24)
8.3
Snapshots (22)
8.4
Flexible deployment (23)
7.8
Management dashboard (26)
7.7
Platform support (25)
7.7
Retention options (24)
7.9
Encryption (20)
8.1

About Druva Phoenix

As businesses are adopting a “cloud-first” strategy, data protection is one of the first IT functions to migrate to the cloud. However, it can lead to a number of challenges. With a thoughtful cloud strategy, businesses can achieve the best results.

According to the vendor, with Druva PhoenixTM, businesses can achieve data protection and management for their data center workloads with a unique cloud-native approach. Delivered as-a-service, Druva Phoenix combines scalable all-in-one backup, disaster recovery (DR), archival. and analytics to simplify data protection. Druva PhoenixTM is also designed to support keeping up with business continuity SLAs (RTO and RPO), and reducing TCO . The software requires no hardware and no additional software. The vendor's value proposition is that this helps to reduce costs associated with data protection, and improve data visibility for today’s complex information environments.

Druva Phoenix Features

Data Center Backup Features
Does not have featureUniversal recovery
Does not have featureLive recovery
Does not have featureRecovery verification
Does not have featureBusiness application protection
Does not have featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Does not have featureSnapshots
Does not have featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Does not have featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Druva Phoenix Screenshots

Druva Phoenix Videos (3)

Watch Learn more about Build Group's journey to the cloud.

Watch Meet Druva - Data Protection for the Cloud Era

Watch Moving to SaaS - Better Data Protection at 50% of the TCO

Druva Phoenix Downloadables

Druva Phoenix Integrations

Hyper-V, Microsoft Teams, Slack, AWS, VMware, NAS, Linux, MS-SQL, Oracle, Windows, Splunk, Okta, Service Now

Druva Phoenix Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Druva Phoenix Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat
Forum/Community

Druva Phoenix Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:NA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported Languages: English