Rubrik Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
125 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 78)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 11, 2021
Bob Short | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is the EASY BUTTON of backup solutions. Our company was drowning in a complicated tape solution. We switched to Rubrik, with its simple offsite cloud archiving, no more tape rotation, offsite storage, and complicated legal holds. Our SQL Admins could not be happier with how easy it is for them to do the on-demand backups and restore to a different server. Not only are full VM backups are quick, but a full VM restore is amazingly fast. Rubrik doesn't just sit on their accomplishment, they are continually working to improve the product and add other features to value add to the existing great product, and now with the addition of MFA to the console, security is even better.
  • Fast Backups
  • Super Fast Full VM Restores
  • Ease of Management
  • Product Support Team is AMZAING
  • Can't think of a con, it's pretty bullet proof
If you're looking for an easy button, this is it. We have used it to restore to test labs, move SQL dbs to other servers, archive to the cloud, it's great.
Read Bob Short's full review
May 18, 2021
Adam Stadnick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Rubrik to defend approximately 100 server VMs and 350 VDI desktops, as well as their supporting infrastructure, several SQL databases of various sizes, and some large file servers. Rubrik is our single-stop backup solution for the entire environment. We have a robust set of SLAs defined to give us precise recovery options from single machines to a full disaster scenario. Rubrik allowed us to defend 100% of our infrastructure while also cutting the overhead needed to manage it down to almost nothing. We use it regularly to recover data, and we also utilize the live mounts to perform quick recovery of machines that have issues. It has transformed the way we handle protection of our systems by letting us act with confidence that we have good, working backups of everything, in some cases down to an hourly or minute-specific window.
  • Ease of setup and operation. Making changes is very easy and the UI is responsive and tends to 'just work' more than most products.
  • Support. Rubrik's support is absolutely fantastic and one of the few where you can get a qualified, educated person on the phone immediately. If anything they typically respond faster than I expect them to. We rely on support frequently for questions about some of the weirder things in our environment and they knock it out of the park each time.
  • Reliability. Unless you are ingesting more data per snapshot than your network can support, Rubrik will always defend your data. It's to the point where it's almost dangerous, because the temptation to lean back and let it handle everything is very strong. The only time we have had an issue was when we were trying to snapshot a 50+TB virtual server every hour, which was a little too much, but everything else is rock solid. Issues so far have all been stemming from our infrastructure, not Rubrik.
  • Rubrik does not "understand" VMWare instant clones. This means we have to manually exclude folders with hundreds of VMs. It's not a problem, but it is a minor gripe that the UI has a big blob of 'manually excluded' VMs in the dashboard.
  • On extremely long recovery operations (e.g. across MPLS/WAN connections or very large servers) it is possible to get 'stuck' where you cannot cancel or move on with a job. This has more to do with vMotion limitations and the recommended use case is to put a Brik at each location, so this is not much of a problem - but if you try to defend multiple sites with a single remote Rubrik cluster you may have issues if you don't have a very fast connection between them.
  • We have had a handful of issues where a failed backup (e.g. due to a storage connectivity issue) caused a VM to get 'stuck' in the Rubrik storage policy. However, this is more of an infrastructure reliability problem than a Rubrik problem, and support is always quick to take care of the issues for us.
The entire experience of Rubrik and Polaris was genuinely enjoyable. If you are looking to defend virtual or physical server, databases, file shares, or data-hosting infrastructure of any kind, Rubrik will provide a lot of peace of mind and let you rest a bit, knowing that your backups are rock solid and reliable. Support and implementation teams are both phenomenal.

The support and ongoing relationship with the company has been so much more than we expected. Lots of companies will tell you "We want to be your partner", but Rubrik actually does it. They value their customers and listen to them, and we very much value having them in our environment.

Rubrik can be expensive, although it is well worth it. Smaller shops may not be able to afford a large implementation, but they do offer various-sized options so most businesses shouldn't be priced out of it.

Rubrik is NOT a file share or NAS solution. It is a backup/data defense solution only. We found plenty of other vendors trying to compete with them but we were very happy to see that Rubrik focuses on one major task and does it extremely well, rather than trying to be your entire environment. However there are some use cases where that may be better suited for your needs.
Read Adam Stadnick's full review
April 12, 2021
Jeffery Holt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two Rubrik clusters installed at 2 locations with multiple edge devices in other states. We use it to back up the majority of our servers as well as SQL systems. The [ease] of use makes recovery very easy and one less thing to really worry about. It's pretty quick and painless. The DBA's also use it to copy prod data as a refresh method which they can then do themselves. There have been some challenges but [it's] still night and day better than what we were using.
  • Backups - it's what they started out doing and still at the core.
  • SLA Domains make life a breeze and can save you from yourself as a general catchall when new servers are introduced into the environment unexpectedly.
  • [The] user interface is very straightforward and helps to identify any issues.
  • We are having a slow GUI response issue right now that has been hard to pin down.
  • Replication times need to be improved. When DBAs take a snap it takes a while for it to be replicated over so they can then pull from there for testing.
  • Support turnover has been an issue. They've let some quality help go and it's hurt us and them.
All issues aside, I'd still recommend Rubrik all day long. The product simply works and does the core function really well. Management is able to get in the interface, look around and have a good general idea that everything is going ahead as planned. On the admin side [it's] really easy to work with and for the most part, everything makes perfect sense.
Read Jeffery Holt's full review
June 07, 2021
David Riberdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is used across our entire enterprise. We were able to consolidate down to this one product and remove a handful of others to deal with just the one vendor. Being able to standardize on Rubrik allowed us to successfully manage a large, geographically diverse company from one location and with less personnel overall.
  • VMware backups are done really well and super efficiently.
  • The general ease of installation of the entire product.
  • The APIs could be a little easier to exploit.
  • The interface could use a little work.
VMware environments would be a great fit for Rubrik. They have now also branched out into Acropolis, Hyper-V, and managing AWS backups as well. This product could be used in a lot of types of environments, from small to Enterprise, as they have a footprint to fit all of those and everything in between.
Read David Riberdy's full review
May 02, 2021
Hector Monroy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Rubrik currently in our environment, with Rubrik we are able to run around 16k backups jobs per day and we are saving a lot of disk space with the high compress and dedup level of the equipment.
The console is frendly and usefull, with Rubrik we use VMware backups, File System, backups, replication between sites and archiving to different destinations.
There is a replication solution that helps to be able to move the workload to another site in case of emergency (some kind of Disaster Recovery).
I strongly recommend Rubrik.
  • Compress and dedup.
  • VMware backups
  • Replication between sites
  • Archiving
  • Support
  • New releases
  • Support more hypervisors
Rubrik is well suited in VMware environments.
Rubrik is less appropriate for Hyper-v environments
In both scenarios Rubrik works well, however, ther are windows version without compatibility and that could be a stopper with some legacy clients that are looking data management solutions. It could be nice if Rubrik in the future support more hypervisors, such as KVM, CITRIX, etc.
Read Hector Monroy's full review
April 29, 2021
Alex Dominguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used across the whole organization to protect our VM environment and to protect our O365 solution.
  • [Infinite] incrementals (meaning one full and incremental backups thereafter).
  • [Fast] [performance], both backups [and] restores.
  • Easy setup and simplified configuration.
  • Amazing support.
  • Support for Calendar [and] Contact restores for O365 (it is on the roadmap though!)
Although we only use it for protecting VMs and O365, Rubrik is well suited for protecting your entire infrastructure (we have tested file shares and DB backups but unfortunately we did not plan for these data sets to be backed up in Rubrik).
Read Alex Dominguez's full review
April 28, 2021
Ben Montgomery | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When we first reached out to Rubrik, we where looking for a three-pronged solution to our aging backup system.
First was on-premises VMware-based virtual machines, second was Azure-based virtual machines, and third, O365 mailboxes. Not only does Rubrik handle all three for us, but also simplified the setup of an Azure tenant as a DR site, allowing us to close down a secondary datacenter that was previously our DR site.
  • VMware backups
  • O365 mailbox archival and backups
  • VMware to Azure Archival
  • VMware to Azure DR
  • Better communication on licensing models
Support is great, as is the product. Has already saved us multiple times.
Read Ben Montgomery's full review
April 24, 2021
Francis Jean-baptiste | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used across the whole organization. It resolves speed of backups, cloud backups, instant offsiting of backups, [and] secure backups.
  • Rubrik is sensitive to client outages, so [it] has been important in letting us know when servers/apps are down.
  • Rubrik is easy to use and technical support is strong.
  • Rubrik has been easy to implement and training has not been required.
  • Sometimes there are too many false positives. Being able to control level of support would be great.
  • More granularity around who gets notified about what would be great.
Suited for most environments where there is a requirement of easy to implement and maintain.
Read Francis Jean-baptiste's full review
April 14, 2021
Justin Cochran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Rubrik to backup VMWare, Hyper-V, and remote office data. We are also using it to replicate our backups offsite to a remote location. It has allowed us to merge our backup products down and still get the same level of data backup.
  • Quick and easy recovery
  • Ease of use and administration
  • Cloud integrations (AWS, Azure)
  • Fantastic support
  • Currently, it has limited Bare Metal restore options.
  • GUI could use a redesign to incorporate some features better.
  • Better reporting functions.
Rubrik is well suited for any business that is running physical or virtual servers and want them backed up in an easy way. It provides features for enterprise customers that can be used in the small/medium business market. They are continuing to evolve the product portfolio with O365 backup, data classification, and more.
Read Justin Cochran's full review
March 07, 2021
Kevin Mortimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We’re using Rubrik to eradicate tapes from our environment backing up NAS, VMware, HyperV, and Nutanix. It’s a central IT service for all infrastructure provided to our business. It brings a rapid restore capability compared to tape which took days to get back and that’s just the tape let alone the restore process.
  • Instant recovery
  • Cloud out technology
  • Backs up everything we have needed to!
  • Ransomware detection
  • Immutable backups
  • Hyper scale
  • Some of the policy could be more fine grained
  • RBAC is not advanced
  • Better integration in AHV
  • It’s perfect for hypervisor backups of VMs.
  • Limitations exist around lack of AD backup or bare metal.
Getting better still takes a while for new versions to get good coverage
You don’t need training
Hyperconverged scamue you and out
Yes - Simple and straight forward
Read Kevin Mortimer's full review
February 24, 2021
Burhan Shakil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is the primary backup product we use. It is currently used to backup our virtual infrastructure running on VMWare. Our backup is stored on Rubrik Briks and also archived to S3 Storage. Overall the product is rock solid with great features. Other than our primary backup solution this is also major part of our DR Recovery plan. In case of disaster we can restore our VMs to AWS using Rubrik Cluster on AWS.

  • Direct Live backup of VMs using Native snapshot technology
  • Cloud Integration for Archiving of Data
  • Instant restore of VM using live mount on Rubrik Flash Storage
  • Application Aware backups for Active Directory
  • 0 day local retention of data when archived to S3
  • Role based access control for specific Backups.
  • Better Reporting options for Disk Usage
  • Alerts for unmanaged objects
It is perfect for taking backups of Virtualized enviroments. While it supports taking file share backups. Its does not support 0 day retention local retention of data when archived to cloud. Also it does not support application aware or granular backups of Active Directory
Product is rock solid and support has been great as well. We have never had any issues that the support could not resolve
Read Burhan Shakil's full review
February 23, 2021
Jewemars Christian Riano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used organization-wide. It helps us with backup deliverables for our critical and major systems. It is also used for disaster recovery for our virtual machine servers. Knowing that we are secure, and have a backup, makes us sleep better at night.

The company is going through a digital transformation. We are transitioning from the typical tape method to doing backups with Rubrik and archiving it to the cloud thru AWS.
  • Fast recovery.
  • Compression algorithms.
  • Backup recovery.
  • Fast mount point for virtual machines.
  • Quick integration with AWS.
  • Monitoring.
  • GUI design and functionality.
  • Solaris backup.
  • Longer SLA retention rather than just 999 days.
It is a well-curated technology that caters to the needs of some industries and companies who are looking for an easy to use, understandable and manageable platform. It is well suited for almost any industry. Support is fast and the customer relationship is great. The level of support and troubleshooting are the best.
Based on my experience and user journey. support is fast based on how you set your priority level of the issue. Support seems to have a right tool to support its customer. In my experience no issues was left unturned from the support.
Because of its superior technology and from experience of using it.
Read Jewemars Christian Riano's full review
February 09, 2021
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used as our Enterprise Data Protection platform to backup and recovery all of our servers at two primary data centers. We have Rubrik "briks" at each site and they replicate Tier 1 servers backups cross-site. Older backup data is archived to the cloud via Rubrik as well.
  • Easy to administer.
  • Easy to install and configure.
  • Great support!
  • Software upgrades occasionally overwrite existing settings.
  • It is a relatively expensive solution.
  • Backing up millions of small files on CIFS shares is not as efficient as other backup products.
Rubrik is a very good enterprise data protection platform. It provides both the software and storage needed to perform backups and recovery across our company. It takes away the need for separate master-slave servers needed in legacy backup solutions like TSM, Netbackups, etc. I'm not sure if it would be a cost-effective solution for smaller businesses, which may be able to get away with native backup tools or a pure SaaS-based solution. Rubrik is good at backing up SQL Server natively.
We have received excellent support for Rubrik. We have run into a few issues and their technical support team has provided a fix for us in each case. We also receive great follow-up support from our sales team as well.
Read Mark McCully's full review
May 03, 2021
Erik Schubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for backup all on-prem environment[s] like Oracle databases or VM workloads based on vmware. The [main] thing while introducing this product is to reduce time to administer backup jobs the whole week. The best thing is that Rubrik is able to rerun backups on itself to fulfill the assigned service level agreement. After one year, we introduced O365 Backup for all our exchange online users. Next step will be to introduce one drive backup and hopefully teams and sharepoint Backups too. A main thing also is to introduce some more automation tasks to give the best offer for all our customers to have the best support for the existing it processes. rubrik is used across all organisations within our company and adresses the main need for our BizDevOps teams. with rubrik, they can do a snapshot or a restore, maybe also an live-mount, on their own, so nobody from operations department is neccessary to help them with their process. while introducing rubrik we saw, that it is really fast to implement and also easy to upgrade, to expand or to shrink. so in my opinion rubrik fits the business needs really good not also in operations so also in process design and process thinking.
  • Self learning mechanism.
  • Integration with itsm tools.
  • Automate everything with REST.
  • No special configuration is needed.
  • self update
  • Backup SAP instances through sap brtools.
  • See polaris results in cdm gui.
  • Easy integrate azure ad with polaris and cdm system.
Best in DR and some things to implement in special things like SAP.
Read Erik Schubert's full review
March 11, 2021
Graham Llewellyn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik to back up VMware virtual machines via snapshots.
  • Ease of backup
  • Ease of Restore
  • We had to restore 20 + VM's due to a storage malfunction. Very fast!
It suits snapshot backups just fine. We are going to get another Brik and user the Cloud Management backups for offsite/DR.
Read Graham Llewellyn's full review
March 01, 2021
George Pickersgill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used as the primary data protection solution.
  • Rubrik simplifies protection of assets and data across the estate, making it easy to protect VMs, SAN, database and OS/file level information.
  • The search function from the very front page makes it very easy to identify data for restore. That ease of use becomes the standard across the entirety of the restoration process - quick and pain free.
  • RBAC access is industry standard in data protection application and it's not different here - again very easy to set up with depth and granularity for those that require it.
  • Automation of restores should be available from the GUI - at present one must configure scripts to interface with the APIs
Especially suited to medium size companies with large end users on virtual desktop environments - the ease of restoration makes accidental deletions almost impact free.
  • in-person training
The Rubrik support team are one of the main reasons I rate this product the way that I do. They're professional, responsive and quite proactive.

All of the people I have dealt with have had great product knowledge of the product and the wider infrastructure that Rubrik interacts with.
Its a very intuitive UI. You can likely figure most things out by just clickign around with no formal training.
Very easy to add new 'briks' (or nodes as everyone else calls them :P)

as long as the network is plugged in and configured, the briks will discuss among themselves and welcome the new comer into the cluster.
Yes - Rubrik support handled it all for us
Read George Pickersgill's full review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik to backup and replicate between several states using 2 physical clusters and 4 virtual devices. It is our go to solution for recovery and business continuity. It is our secondary solution for disaster recovery. We currently use organizations to allow all our DBAs to backup up SQL to Rubrik. We have one Windows Oracle team using managed volumes for backup.
  • Support is competent and very responsive.
  • Restores very easy and quick. The Briks themselves are robust enough to handle a workload while the live mounts are being migrated to permanent storage.
  • Customer feedback and feature implementation.
  • I honestly want Rubrik to focus on what they do best. CDM was introduced and IMO it isn't robust enough for this feature.
  • Lot's of backup/replication activity equals a slow GUI. Their needs to be a better balance of storage and CPU.
  • I'd like to see more granular control of SLA retentions.
I think the organizations work well for SQL backups across our multi-state organization. However, I wish there was more control over notifications.

SQL log backups work well. However they aren't tied to an SLA so they cannot be paused.
There have been some people who didn't seem as knowledgeable. I was always able to escalate and get the problem resolved.
Because you really don't even need the documentation. It is that intuitve.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is our backup system for Microsoft 365 resources. The major use case for Rubrik Polaris so far has been for Exchange Online backups, OneDrive documents and file backup. Our license covers every single user in the organization as we want to ensure everyone in our Microsoft tenant is protected.
  • Setup of Rubrik Polaris was extremely easy.
  • We can easily create backup policies.
  • User interface is fairly straightforward, and easy to navigate.
  • Backup of Microsoft Teams chat is not available yet.
  • Backup of contacts/calendar/notes is not available.
  • There is currently no IDP login for SAML yet.
I would 100% recommend Rubrik a colleague that is looking for a Microsoft 365 backup product. The product is quite solid so far, and there are supposed to be additional features added/ improved upon on. I've used other backup products and Rubrik is so straightforward that it is a no brainer M365 backup.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik for backup, archive, and retention of our entire VMware (Windows and Linux) environment, AIX environment, and limited physical environment. Additionally, we use Rubrik CDM for a few physical devices. We use Rubrik to protect the entire organization and have found it to be powerful and easy to use. Our previous backup solution was powerful but cumbersome and time-consuming to manage. Moving to Rubrik saved us close to a whole FTE's time allowing the IT Operations team to focus more on strategic initiatives that impact end user experiences.
  • Simple - Rubrik CDM centralizes backups around SLA. Objects, like VMs, are assigned to SLAs and the backups happen according to the SLA schedule.
  • Powerful - Rubrik CDM gives us the option to adjust backup frequency, retention, archival location (co-lo or cloud), and allows for legal-hold. Additionally, it supports all the platforms we need to backup.
  • Flexible - The GUI interface gives us access to almost everything we would ever need and their API, and API-first design, allows scripting. Scripting opens up additional use-cases and meets unique requirements.
  • Excellent Support - Rubrik's support is knowledgeable and has been easy to contact and get help from whenever we've need it.
  • Cost - Rubrik is not the cheapest offering in the field. However, we've seen time-savings that more than cover the additional cost.
  • Lack of AD-integration - At least as of yet, Rubrik doesn't support object-level Active Directory restores. Rubrik CMD does integrate with AD for authentication via LDAP, but does not tie-in for granular AD object restores.
  • Some of the reports in Rubrik are difficult to consume. As such, it's cumbersome to see how much space is being consumed by some objects after dedup and compression.
Rubrik CDM is well-suited for our use case, protecting on-prem VMs. Because of the integration with VMware, clients are not required on all of our VMs which simplifies setup. Rubrik has shown much growth over the past 3 years that we have been a customer and has added many valuable features like legal hold and continual data protection.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We brought in Rubrik to solve our backup and DR challenges. We had outgrown our previous solution and could no longer depend on it for backup or DR. We deployed Rubrik across the entire organization for backup and DR and immediately were able to see the benefits. Rubrik [is] being used for all backup services and replicating to the cloud for DR.
  • Immutable backups.
  • Instant recoveries.
  • Easy to deploy and manage.
  • Cloud out technology for cloud DR.
  • World class support!
  • Relatively expensive compared to other solutions, but it's no questions asked worth it!
  • Hyper-V support comes after VMware usually.
Rubrik can backup anything from [a] traditional physical Windows Server to completely virtualized environments. Rubrik SQL and VM backup [are] where Rubrik really shines [through]. Their backups [are] quick and the instant recovery is even faster. It blows any other solution out of the water.
Rubrik support is hands down some of the best product support we have. They know their product and are quick to assist. Submitting support cases is easier and they are very responsive. You don't have to use Rubrik support often but when you do they have your back.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik in order to back up our corporate virtualization platform, Office 365, OneDrive and SharePoint. The immutable Files system adds a layer of protection against ransomware attacks, with Radar changes to all systems are notified to us, so we know of a potential attack.
Sonar allows us to know what data is where, and with either proactively address this or if there were a data breach - understand the risk of the organisation. Live Mount and Cloud on allows us to operate our DR capability in the public cloud. All in all, Rubrik is fantastic.
  • Immutable File System.
  • Early warning for Ransomware.
  • Office 365 backup.
  • Licensing cost could be more transparent.
  • Roadmaps for new features could be clearer.
Rubrik is suited to any VM platform to backup, on encrypted channels, to the immutable file systems, making it suitable for ransomware mitigation. Any destination, either on-premise or in the public cloud can be used. SLA's are put in place to ensure that the Rubrik platform ensures that RPO / RTO are managed via a single pane.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik to protect on-premise data from our revenue platform as well as Polaris to protect native Azure O365 data.
  • Simple to deploy
  • Easy to manage
  • Low operational maintenance
  • Include MongoDB protection in Polaris native.
  • Restore individual files from VMware virtual machines.
  • Reduce the minimum value of frequency of backup jobs.
Well suited for companies that require a single solution to protect on-premise workloads that include VMware, physical Linux systems as well a Oracle or MS SQL databases and also have a cloud presence primarily in Azure O365.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik has been deployed to backup our entire IT infrastructure including all of our cloud-base. We have daily backups held on disk for two weeks and then archived to cloud. We backup entire servers, individual files. as well as SQL Server databases including log backups. It helped us consolidate all of our backups to a single solution for all of our scenarios giving us a much more streamlined process.
  • Server Snapshots
  • SQL Server backup
  • Azure objects and servers
  • Very fast backups and restores
  • Easy UI
  • UI for backing up in Azure is much different that UI for on-prem.
  • I wish we could have a single UI to manage the entire solution
I cannot think of a scenario where it would not fit. All of our requirements were met.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used to backup on premises solutions and cloud solutions used throughout the whole organization.
  • Easy to restore
  • Live mount of backed up VM's from VMware
  • Get better integration with VMware tags. It's only possible with simple queries against TAG.
Rubrik is well suited for taking backup of VMware on premises installations. It is also very easy to restore MS-SQL and Oracle databases running on Windows or Linux.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Rubrik Brik is used on one campus to back up two campuses over a 10 gig pipe and archived to Azure. It solves complicated backup methods, schedules, failing backups, and having a full-time employee for backup only.
  • SLA assignments
  • Beautiful GUI that's easy to use
  • API calls on Isilon
  • Full Vmware and Nutanix support for backups
  • Technical support is top notch
  • No-downtime upgrades within a single Brik among the nodes
If you want a backup solution that is immutable and simply works without all the complicated work, Rubrik is the right choice. It is very easy to manage and set up. Support is excellent and among the best where you get near instant responses or support right away. Backups and searches are fast. You can live mount or restore within a few minutes. The way it backs up on the cloud will help you with some cost in the long run.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (69)
8.4
Live recovery (77)
9.6
Recovery verification (63)
9.4
Business application protection (68)
9.4
Multiple backup destinations (73)
9.5
Incremental backup identification (71)
9.4
Backup to the cloud (70)
9.7
Deduplication and file compression (76)
9.4
Snapshots (77)
9.4
Flexible deployment (70)
9.3
Management dashboard (78)
9.1
Platform support (76)
8.2
Retention options (78)
9.0
Encryption (70)
9.3

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Its software is also designed to be vendor-agnostic, and supports the most commonly used operating systems, databases, hypervisors, clouds, and SaaS applications. And while you can utilize Rubrik’s software completely on the cloud, Rubrik also integrates with on-premises hardware, and even provides their own proprietary Rubrik appliances.

Key Features

Policy-driven
Rubrik functions through a single policy engine that orchestrates service level agreements (SLAs) across the data lifecycle. Management is automated across hybrid and multi-cloud environments with one programmatic interface.

Analytics & Reporting
Rubrik’s software creates customized reports and data visualizations for user’s platforms on operational efficiency, compliance, and capacity utilization.

Security & Compliance
Data stored and backed up through Rubrik is secured in-transit and at-rest throughout its lifecycle, regardless of location. Rubrik delivers granular role-based access control while automating compliance reporting to complete various industry and internal audits. Users can quickly recover from ransomware through immutable backups native to the platform.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features

Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Rubrik Video

All Your Apps. Instantly Available.

Rubrik Competitors

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Rubrik Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:NA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

What is Rubrik's best feature?

Reviewers rate Backup to the cloud highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Rubrik?

The most common users of Rubrik are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.