TrustRadius
Rubrik in Palo Alto, California offers their appliances for "converged data managed" via a hyper-converged scale-out appliance specially purposed for data backup and recovery.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/rv/1m/IHMDCR65KNT1.PNGRubrik - easy to integrate and automate backup/restore/DR/archiving solutionRubrik is used across the enterprise to provide data integrity protection, data recovery, and compliance archiving services.,Simplified backup. Rubrik integrates well with modern data-center technologies. Rubrik backups are SLA-based, and you can apply SLAs to different levels of your infrastructure, e.g. from granular VM-based assignments to covering whole site with few clicks. Simplified restore. Easy to use interface allows for delegation of restores to any user group. Simplified backup to cloud makes replacing outdated backup targets, such as tape libraries, an easy task. Simplified DR to cloud. In addition to the ability to mount restored virtual machines from the Rubrik appliances itself, Rubrik allows you to spin up backed up to the cloud instances in Azure cloud.,Working with legacy systems. Rubrik is a forward-thinking company, so check if you have systems that pre-date Rubrik if they are supported. Alerting. Currently, in order to be notified of a Rubrik event, target alert contact must be a user in the Rubrik system, which is not the case for some of our own use-case scenarios.,9,Rubrik has eliminated backup worries from the IT organization radar. With great integration with virtualization software and recovery testing automation options Rubrik has significantly reduced time required to maintain business backup and archiving objectives. By providing reliable backup service to reliable archive destinations, Rubrik allowed to speed up systems retirement and shortened systems lifecycle, reducing systems TCO.,Veritas NetBackup, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance and Veeam ONE,VMware ESXi, VCE Vblock, Cisco ASA,10,No,On our first interaction with the support I actually missed that the case resolution was provided as it came so fast, that I, used to the previous provider's speed, disregarded the email believing it was simply an acknowledgement that someone was working on the case.Finally a backup product that doesn't suck! This needs to be the standard that all backups products live by.We are an MSP who take our backups seriously. It's an additional line of defense for ransomware, improves our position on recovery in times of disaster and just a good thing to have when that one user make a big mistake and deletes all his work. Rubrik has taken all the overhead and management out of our backup routines. We used to have major remediation problems with our old backup solution when it came to large servers, exchange and application level items. Upon implementation of Rubrik our weekly management of backups went from 20 hours to 2. It's easy to use from start to finish.,Image and file level backups. Granular and quick file recovery. Archive and restore to cloud.,The initial investment price is too high but they can command that due to its success. Image level support for HyperV 2012. Additional Reporting capabilities.,10,Rubrik gave me back 1/2 my day. Backups always work and I rarely have to login to the appliance. I get two reports a day to make sure everything is good.,Veeam Availability Suite, Acronis Backup Cloud and CommVault,IT Glue, SolarWinds N-centralSimplicity, fast, reliable - a great productRubrik is used across the whole University to backup all production services. Initially all data will be stored on-site within the Rubrik appliances, then a secondary copy will be sent to the cloud. Our Rubrik system currently backs-up all our Windows Linux Operating Systems, which are physical, VMWare environment, and SQL Services. The Rubrik agent that is required to install locally on physical servers and SQL is very lightweight: the agent installation file size is only 14MB. After the Rubrik appliances were racked and connected, it only took less than 2 hours to deploy Rubrik and also to configure the environment ready to start backing up data. The Rubrik appliances use Erasure Encoding for redundancy, and it also maintains itself, self heals, and optimises. Rubrik encrypts data at rest, in-flight and in archive. The Rubik interface does not require any fancy software installed or Java, it uses a standard browser that supports HTML. Rubrik fully supports APIs, there is a repository available for Rubrik customers to share their code.,Rapid Recovery of VMs and SQL services -- recover a second and have it up and running within 30 seconds. Simplicity Reduced TCO costs over a 5 year period Reduction of maintenance - a previous backup system had several was installed on Windows Server which needed to be maintained and patched as well as the backup software. No tape library and no tapes. Uses HTML5 Searching for data is an ease with Rubrik,Currently does not backup active directory objects,10,Due to the amount of maintaining less hardware and media for the previous backup system, we will see a positive TCO and ROI in the next 5 years.,CommVaultA Breath of Fresh Air for Enterprise BackupsRubrik is used for our enterprise systems providing protection for all of our internal systems. It provides protection and the ability to recover our systems in a DR scenario. It protects all of our VMWare, physical windows/Linux, AIX, and NAS shares. The product provides us the ability to instantly recover VMS reducing impact in scenarios when recovery is needed.,Easy to use and manage Fast VM recovery times Great technical support when issues arise,Pricing. Instead of sticking with an "all in one bundle", they recently have started putting prices on new features in the product. While some are understandable to add additional charges, expansion of the base functionality is not one of those that should require an additional cost Global Pane of Glass for Management. Its available but does not yet give provide full multisite management (plus this is an additional cost) Supportability of applications are limited but are growing. Its new so its understood but they seem to be pumping out new functionality with every release,9,OpEx reduction comparison to previous backup products used Able to scale with ease for additional growth,Veeam Backup & Replication, CommVault, Avamar, Data Domain, Veritas NetBackup and Actifio Enterprise,Pure Storage FlashArray, NetApp All Flash FAS, Data DomainRock solid and simpleRubrik is currently our primary Backup and Archiving solution. We use it to backup our entire IT infrastructure. It is connected to our vmware environment to backup VMs. We use it to protect our file shares and SQL database as well. We archive to AWS for long term protection. It gives us company wide protection for our server infrastructure,Setup and connection to our systems was incredibly easy. Configuring protection was intuitive and simple. We had it protecting our environment in about 2 hours from opening the box. Restoring using live mount is absolutely amazing.,I would like to have a specific Active Directory protection option.,10,I spend much less time verifying protection now.,Barracuda Backup,VMware vCenter Server, Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, Sophos Endpoint Protection
Windows, Linux, Mac
Rubrik
49 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Rubrik Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Rubrik
49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 49 vetted Rubrik reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 40)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Paul Lerner profile photo
September 24, 2018

"Rubrik - easy to integrate and automate backup/restore/DR/archiving solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used across the enterprise to provide data integrity protection, data recovery, and compliance archiving services.
  • Simplified backup. Rubrik integrates well with modern data-center technologies. Rubrik backups are SLA-based, and you can apply SLAs to different levels of your infrastructure, e.g. from granular VM-based assignments to covering whole site with few clicks.
  • Simplified restore. Easy to use interface allows for delegation of restores to any user group.
  • Simplified backup to cloud makes replacing outdated backup targets, such as tape libraries, an easy task.
  • Simplified DR to cloud. In addition to the ability to mount restored virtual machines from the Rubrik appliances itself, Rubrik allows you to spin up backed up to the cloud instances in Azure cloud.
  • Working with legacy systems. Rubrik is a forward-thinking company, so check if you have systems that pre-date Rubrik if they are supported.
  • Alerting. Currently, in order to be notified of a Rubrik event, target alert contact must be a user in the Rubrik system, which is not the case for some of our own use-case scenarios.
Rubrik is a superb solution for virtualized infrastructure, as it provides great integration and automation tools for virtual machines/cloud backups.
Supporting heterogeneous physical infrastructure with legacy components requires a good deal of research with Rubrik.
Read Paul Lerner's full review
Sam Kemp profile photo
September 17, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Finally a backup product that doesn't suck! This needs to be the standard that all backups products live by."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are an MSP who take our backups seriously. It's an additional line of defense for ransomware, improves our position on recovery in times of disaster and just a good thing to have when that one user make a big mistake and deletes all his work. Rubrik has taken all the overhead and management out of our backup routines. We used to have major remediation problems with our old backup solution when it came to large servers, exchange and application level items. Upon implementation of Rubrik our weekly management of backups went from 20 hours to 2. It's easy to use from start to finish.
  • Image and file level backups.
  • Granular and quick file recovery.
  • Archive and restore to cloud.
  • The initial investment price is too high but they can command that due to its success.
  • Image level support for HyperV 2012.
  • Additional Reporting capabilities.
If anyone is spending more than 20 hours a week managing their backups this will eliminate that.
Read Sam Kemp's full review
Darryl Wilson profile photo
November 09, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Simplicity, fast, reliable - a great product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used across the whole University to backup all production services. Initially all data will be stored on-site within the Rubrik appliances, then a secondary copy will be sent to the cloud.

Our Rubrik system currently backs-up all our Windows Linux Operating Systems, which are physical, VMWare environment, and SQL Services. The Rubrik agent that is required to install locally on physical servers and SQL is very lightweight: the agent installation file size is only 14MB.

After the Rubrik appliances were racked and connected, it only took less than 2 hours to deploy Rubrik and also to configure the environment ready to start backing up data. The Rubrik appliances use Erasure Encoding for redundancy, and it also maintains itself, self heals, and optimises. Rubrik encrypts data at rest, in-flight and in archive. The Rubik interface does not require any fancy software installed or Java, it uses a standard browser that supports HTML. Rubrik fully supports APIs, there is a repository available for Rubrik customers to share their code.
  • Rapid Recovery of VMs and SQL services -- recover a second and have it up and running within 30 seconds.
  • Simplicity
  • Reduced TCO costs over a 5 year period
  • Reduction of maintenance - a previous backup system had several was installed on Windows Server which needed to be maintained and patched as well as the backup software. No tape library and no tapes.
  • Uses HTML5
  • Searching for data is an ease with Rubrik
  • Currently does not backup active directory objects
Contacting support has been a great experience, Rubrik upgraded our software remotely via a Support Tunnel which can be enabled within the HTML5 interface.
Read Darryl Wilson's full review
Sean Wolfe profile photo
October 19, 2018

Rubrik Review: "A Breath of Fresh Air for Enterprise Backups"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used for our enterprise systems providing protection for all of our internal systems. It provides protection and the ability to recover our systems in a DR scenario. It protects all of our VMWare, physical windows/Linux, AIX, and NAS shares. The product provides us the ability to instantly recover VMS reducing impact in scenarios when recovery is needed.
  • Easy to use and manage
  • Fast VM recovery times
  • Great technical support when issues arise
  • Pricing. Instead of sticking with an "all in one bundle", they recently have started putting prices on new features in the product. While some are understandable to add additional charges, expansion of the base functionality is not one of those that should require an additional cost
  • Global Pane of Glass for Management. Its available but does not yet give provide full multisite management (plus this is an additional cost)
  • Supportability of applications are limited but are growing. Its new so its understood but they seem to be pumping out new functionality with every release
For most smaller to medium environments, it fits perfectly and provides a great solution for backup/recovery. It is easy to use/manage and reduces man-hours while improving protection. For larger environments, it will possibly be a hit or miss for a complete solution and provide closer to 80% coverage so two products would have to be run for backups and recovery.
Read Sean Wolfe's full review
ian cornwall profile photo
October 16, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Rock solid and simple"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is currently our primary Backup and Archiving solution. We use it to backup our entire IT infrastructure. It is connected to our vmware environment to backup VMs. We use it to protect our file shares and SQL database as well. We archive to AWS for long term protection. It gives us company wide protection for our server infrastructure
  • Setup and connection to our systems was incredibly easy.
  • Configuring protection was intuitive and simple. We had it protecting our environment in about 2 hours from opening the box.
  • Restoring using live mount is absolutely amazing.
  • I would like to have a specific Active Directory protection option.
Rubrik is a bit pricey but it is well worth it if you can afford it. The ease of use is amazing and I expect that I'll save enough time on this appliance to make up for that extra cost. It also has encryption baked in where other options did not have that option.
Read ian cornwall's full review
Craig Goodspeed profile photo
September 27, 2018

User Review: "Rubrik makes data protection easy!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used to consolidate the multiple data protection software application that each required a fair amount of interactions to keep things working properly. Putting Rubrik in place has already cut the amount of regular troubleshooting tasks of the previous software platforms in half, and we have only been able to retire one of the platforms that were using.
  • The Rubrik appliance is easy and a joy to setup.
  • Configuring protection is very intuitive.
  • Restoring files, VMs, or databases is very simple.
  • When they added the VLAN functionality the management interface responds on all IPs, we should be able to lock management to specific interfaces.
Rubrik is well suited for most serious where the business wants to take data protection seriously. A less appropriate scenario is a business that doesn't have the knowledge or money to properly protect their data and instead rely on personnel to "come up with something".
Read Craig Goodspeed's full review
Michael Alesi profile photo
November 19, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Impressed With The Easiness Of Use And Features Of This Product!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Rubrik to backup our virtual environment across the entire organization.
  • From box to full setup: From the unboxing of the appliance to my first backup was about 1 hour!
  • Easiness of use: We no longer need a "backup master" with the company, Rubrik makes it extremely easy to backup and restore your environment.
  • "DR Like" - We have used Rubrik to mount copies of VMs for testing. So not only is Rubrik a great backup utility, but it also works great for DR testing.
  • Active Directory Object backup
  • The way the space consumption is shown in the console
  • Be able to create multiple SLA policies for one VM
  • Well suited for a virtual environment.
  • Less appropriate if your environment is not virtual.
Read Michael Alesi's full review
Brian Forst profile photo
November 06, 2018

Review: "Rubrik: modern take on backup with common sense results. Crazy right?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Rubrik for enterprise backups and DR. We use Backup with offsite Replication, and archival abilities, to allow us to be versatile with our data and provide assurance that we can can recover our data both quickly and confidently. This is managed by our IT departments for Virtual\Physical\Application (SQL, Oracle, Exchange) environments. This product addresses a lot of issues we have faced over the years. With previous backup solutions, we'd spend a good amount of time trying to keep our backup solutions running so that we could have consistent backups. However since we have switched to Rubrik, we no longer have that issue, so we can focus on the company data rather than the backup application reliability. With its ability to have multiple destinations to comply with company SLA's in regards to backups and DR, we can move forward with an improved DR plan. With previous backup solutions, we could not have multiple targets or had to rely on tape backups, and we had to hire another company to take them every day and store them.
  • Performance: with its ingest speeds, as well as its block level dedupe and compression, we can store a large amount of data with a small footprint in our data centers.
  • One Console to rule them all provides convenience and simplicity without sacrificing its abilities.
  • Easy to use and manage
  • I would like to see a little more improvement on the user management (though currently it's not bad.) Just so we could get a little more granular with specific users.
Virtual Environments are where it shines; SQL and Oracle also work very well. This is not an appropriate product if you are running a lot of physical machines on older Operating Systems, however this is normal for most newer backup solutions.
Read Brian Forst's full review
Matias Migone profile photo
October 22, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Next gen. data management solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using Rubrik to backup and replicate our environment. We also offer our customers services based on Rubrik technology, like dev/test environment, cloud migrations, DRaaS , etc. Basically, the whole organization is using Rubrik, some as final users and others as sellers. Since we started working with Rubrik, our experience has been amazing.
  • Recovery. Granular file recovery, index searches ,SQL database and VM recovery, in seconds and regardless of database or VM size
  • Flexibility. Rubrik offers more than backups, it covers a lot of use cases and gives customers flexible solutions
  • Simplicity. It's very easy to deploy and extremely easy to use, no need for extensive courses
  • Add object recovery
  • Multi-tenancy across replicas
  • Data validation reports
I believe that Rubrik covers all kind scenarios. It is an enterprise solution that can be delivered to small and medium businesses through Rubrik service providers' parents. Also, since Rubirk is a data management solution, it covers lot of use cases such as backup recovery, archive, data copies analysis, and more.
Read Matias Migone's full review
George Pickersgill profile photo
September 28, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Data Integrity Simplified"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used as the primary data protection solution.
  • Rubrik simplifies protection of assets and data across the estate, making it easy to protect VMs, SAN, database and OS/file level information.
  • The search function from the very front page makes it very easy to identify data for restore. That ease of use becomes the standard across the entirety of the restoration process - quick and pain free.
  • RBAC access is industry standard in data protection application and it's not different here - again very easy to set up with depth and granularity for those that require it.
  • Automation of restores should be available from the GUI - at present one must configure scripts to interface with the APIs
Especially suited to medium size companies with large end users on virtual desktop environments - the ease of restoration makes accidental deletions almost impact free.
Read George Pickersgill's full review
Toby Tapp profile photo
September 28, 2018

User Review: "Rubrik - Next Gen Backup"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Protecting Tier 1 applications so we can achieve less than our required 1 hour RTO.
  • Protects SQL databases well. Gives our DBA's a lot of flexibility. Can live mount a SQL database directly off the Rubrik.
  • Really shines protecting virtual machines. Gives the ability to Instantly mount a previous backup and run it. Reduces the time to getting a server up to minutes.
  • Ease of use. The UI is very easy to use. Servers, folders or files can be easily searched and restored.
  • Customer can upgrade cluster. The upgrade process is very easy and straight forward.
  • Needs to have the ability to retain a single or multiple backups for longer than defined in SLA.
  • Needs to have the ability to restore multiple items at once.
  • Would like to see a way to live mount a backup of a physical server. Kind of like P2V.
Rubrik is well suited for any backup scenario.
Read Toby Tapp's full review
Shawn Constable profile photo
September 14, 2018

User Review: "Rubrik CDM - You cant go wrong."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are transitioning off of a competitor's backup product to Rubrik. We chose Rubrik due to the ease of use and the support for multiple cloud options for backup and Archiving and long-term retention.
  • Use a Cloud Installation to backup cloud data.
  • Multi-cloud support for Archiving
  • No Need for tapes
  • Very easy to use
  • API Driven
  • More granular policies
  • Cloud-based data lifecycle management.
  • Multi-system management (In beta now)
Small to Medium Businesses. Anyone with backup needs should look at Rubrik.
Read Shawn Constable's full review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Review: "Rubrik is expensive, but well worth the price!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik in our department to run backups on all systems hospital wide. Access to it is limited to our group only.
  • Live mount restores minimizes downtime.
  • Ability to get as granular as restoring specific files from previous snapshots.
  • Setting up backups on new servers takes less than a minute, increasing productivity.
  • Price is a little high, but you get what you pay for.
  • Needs better integration with VSphere.
  • User interface can be a little complex.
It's great in an enterprise environment where VM's are plentiful, getting built all the time, but not the best choice for a small shop with few servers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 10, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Not just a box .. it's a great package"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is our main backup solution (for my customer where I have a role as manager for datacenter operations.)
  • Ease of use
  • Speed
  • Great support organisation
  • Better/simpler reporting
  • Simpler upgrade/expand solution (think one-click)
  • More tools for analysis of the data passing true the system.
No other backup solution has been this simple to install and use.
Read this authenticated review
Raffaello Poltronieri profile photo
January 30, 2018

Rubrik Review: "The rackable Backup solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The bricks are used all across our 2 DCs, either for customers' environments and for internal purposes. Rubrik gave us a touchable advantage over competitors offering backup services to our customers, mainly because of fast restore. Furthermore, the high automation freed up human resources from building policies per single VM.
  • Restore. It mounts directly HD
  • Management: automates all the process
  • Boarding: once racked, the system scans the whole environment listing all the available VMs to back up
  • It's a valuable service, so it's not cheap. I can't say that it's a weak point, but it could retain many users from adopting it directly
The best scenario is a 3-points back up, where a customer backs up on premises with his own brick, paired to a provider's brick where it's replicated, and from here, archived on an S3 bucket. Less appropriate is a small business, due to the costs involved. But for these cases, providers come in help, and Rubrik created a specific program with a pay per use plan.
Read Raffaello Poltronieri's full review
Kevin Mortimer profile photo
March 29, 2018

User Review: "Backup is the new cool with Rubrik"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We’re using Rubrik to eradicate tapes from our environment backing up NAS, VMware, HyperV, and Nutanix. It’s a central IT service for all infrastructure provided to our business. It brings a rapid restore capability compared to tape which took days to get back and that’s just the tape let alone the restore process.
  • Instant recovery
  • Cloud out technology
  • Backs up everything we have needed to!
  • Some of the policy could be more fine grained
  • RBAC is not advanced
  • It’s perfect for hypervisor backups of VMs.
  • Limitations exist around lack of AD backup or bare metal.
Read Kevin Mortimer's full review
Jon Heese profile photo
March 26, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Amazing Managed Backups for Managed Services Providers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a Managed Services Provider and we use Rubrik as the centerpiece of our Managed Backup product set. We currently use it in 3 of our 30 sites, with plans to roll it out to our other sites in the next couple years. We have approximately 2800 objects (VMs, databases, servers) currently being protected by Rubrik. It replaced our legacy homegrown backup platform which was fragmented, decentralized, and aging.
  • The Rubrik API is central to the product
  • Rubrik backs up VMware-based VM very well
  • Rubrik is a growing company, which makes the personal interaction we have with their folks very rewarding and productive
  • The Rubrik product is still young (only a few years old), so it has some room to mature, specifically in the non-VMware backup space
  • Rubrik is a growing company, so sometimes it's difficult to build a relationship with tech support staff when you get a new person every time
Rubrik is great for anyone who is looking for a backup product to plug into an existing automation system, as its API is very full-featured (by design). Rubrik is not so great if you're looking for a drop-in replacement for a monolithic legacy backup platform like CommVault or NetBackup, because it doesn't yet have all of the rarely-used, esoteric features of those products.
Read Jon Heese's full review
Brandon Morris profile photo
March 22, 2018

Rubrik Review: "A backup platform that just works."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik automatically schedules and backs up our entire IT infrastructure, from VMWare virtual machines to physical servers and appliances. It is used in Information Technology by most of the IT users. It addresses specifically the need to backup platforms like SQL very frequently, but also hold long term and legal hold data as well.
  • Just works
  • Automatically balanced schedule
  • Instant live mounts of virtual machines
  • Lack of native AD/Sharepoint/Exchange tools
  • No batch recovery without using API calls
Rubrik covers a VM environment perfectly, but does lack some support for edge use cases such as SQL Filestreams, Postgres, or other lesser used technologies. Their approach was to get the majority of data in those features first, then work their way down to lesser used workloads. It works great as a backup platform you do not wish to babysit.
Read Brandon Morris's full review
Eric Lambert profile photo
March 22, 2018

User Review: "Rubrik - Converged Backup Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik to backup and archive all our virtual servers across the whole company.
  • Management is very simple and intuitive
  • Compression and deduplication is incredible
  • It ingests data really fast, reducing the amount of time for backups
  • Archiving is made very simple through the cloud storage integration
  • The restore of application items like emails from Exchange or tables within databases has to be done with a 3rd party software, it's not integrated inside Rubrik
Suited for a virtualized environment where there's over 50VMs because the solution isn't cheap, it's not meant for small business.
Read Eric Lambert's full review
René van den Bedem profile photo
March 21, 2018

Rubrik: "Brik the holes in your data protection strategy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Rubrik is being used by our Engineering Department and we sell, design, implement and support it with our customers.
  • Fastest time to Market - literally takes minutes to install and setup (assuming your prerequisites are met)
  • A high rate of innovation - Rubrik has a very fast release cycle, new features come out regularly
  • Amazing support - very high NPS score, these guys care about their customers
  • New to the market - but these guys are just getting started
  • No support for non-x86 workloads
Perfect for x86 bare-metal, virtualized and cloud use-cases.
Read René van den Bedem's full review
Cory Holmes profile photo
March 14, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Best Backup Appliance"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Rubrik is being used by the entire organization and managed by the IT department. We are also a reseller of Rubrik. It addresses our needs to backup our own data center and office locations as well as provide us a platform to provide Backup services to our customers.
  • Very simple platform that is easy to use and can be learned in a few hours.
  • The installation process takes approximately 1-2 hours and is very easy to add an additional brik to the cluster.
  • The recovery time and the ability to search through the cataloged data is extremely fast and efficient to use.
  • Only drawback I have noticed is the ability to backup tape backups to the appliance requires a third party software and support contract.
Rubrik is a great next-generation backup appliance. It allows the ability to dedupe and compress the data to maximize storage efficiency while providing a cataloged index of all files within a backup. This allows the ease of restoring a particular file from a full backup.

Read Cory Holmes's full review
Paul Sheard profile photo
March 06, 2018

User Review: "one Rubrik to rule them all"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used to backup the virtual infrastructure of our large IT department. It is not used across the whole organization yet, however other departments have paid us a visit to see Rubrik in real world use.Rubrik address's our previous backup sprawl, reliance on tapes, replication and rapid access to our test and development resources.
  • Unlimited, nondisruptive replication that is asynchronous, deduplicated, WAN-efficient, with zero impact on our production environments.
  • Disaster Recovery: With near-zero RTOs
  • The Rubrik appliance can handle multiple VM "live"mounts without any noticeable performance degradation
  • The UI is built on a REST API framework with a cool HTML5 web user interface
  • More customizable detail on ingestion and backup rates.
  • More reporting options.
  • More company blogging on cool ideas for Rubrik API use and Interaction. Also Automation ideas.
Rubrik is more than well suited to an IT department which may have previously used a product such as Veeam. Oracle backup is doable but not perfect. And support for legacy OS's such as Solaris would be welcome.
Read Paul Sheard's full review
Miguel Martinez profile photo
March 23, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Backup, Simplified"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We utilize Rubrik both Internally and as our BaaS solution offering. Its robust API interface allows us to easily create customer facing dashboards and automated most of the operational tasks. Rubrik's SLA based backup policies take the headache out of backups.

Would really recommend the platform to anyone looking for a simplified backups solutions that just works.
  • Cloud Archival - Rubrik allows you to easily archive backups to any Objects based storage (AWS S3, Azure Blob, etc.)
  • File level restore - Rubrik allows you to download individual files from snapshot based backups. Without needing to mount or restore the entire VM.
  • Access Control - user roles and access could be a bit more granular.
Rubrik is well suited for environment with a large percentage of systems are virtualized.
Read Miguel Martinez's full review
Stefaan Dewulf profile photo
March 20, 2018

Rubrik Review: "Great DR solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik as a backup and DR solution in our network. Before we constantly had issues with failed backups, Rubrik solved all of that and was set up in minutes.
  • Backup made easy. Connect a policy to your server and done.
  • Connecting to several types of servers. vmware hyper-v but databases as well.
  • Restore in minutes from easy to use interface.
  • Was expensive, had to persuade the management. But paid off when we restored from cryptolocker in minutes
A great and easy solution for small teams. When you have to know each and every solution, being simple and reliable is a necessity.
Read Stefaan Dewulf's full review
Jeff Hassig profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Rubrik the Brik Layer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used to back up our entire VM footprint, minus Hyper-V. VMware, OVM, and Physical datacenter servers are backed up.
  • Automation and powershell integration.
  • Hands off administration once its set up.
  • Ease of use for restores - especially the live mount feature.
  • More agile SLAs. I want to be able to select different time frames than what is baked in.
  • Currently has no multicluster management feature but this IS IN THE WORKS.
Backup, restores, and administration is all very simple. Automation and powershell integration is great.
Read Jeff Hassig's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (34)
9.2
Live recovery (40)
9.4
Recovery verification (32)
8.0
Business application protection (34)
8.1
Multiple backup destinations (38)
9.0
Incremental backup identification (33)
8.3
Backup to the cloud (35)
9.4
Deduplication and file compression (40)
9.5
Snapshots (39)
8.5
Flexible deployment (35)
9.3
Management dashboard (40)
8.6
Platform support (39)
7.7
Retention options (40)
9.0
Encryption (35)
8.8

About Rubrik

Rubrik is a cloud data management platform that aims to deliver instant application availability to hybrid cloud enterprises for recovery, search, cloud, and development. According to the vendor, customers use Rubrik to mobilize applications, automate protection policies, recover from Ransomware, search and analyze application data at scale.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features
Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Rubrik Competitors

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Rubrik Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:NA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported Languages: English