TrustRadius
Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/rv/1m/IHMDCR65KNT1.PNGThe enhanced backup tool you were looking forWe have been using Rubrik for a few years now and it has been a very positive experience. Primarily it has helped us move away from our aging tape backup system and allowed us much more visibility and clarity on our backup strategy here at the university. We use it to capture the following workloads that cover data from all over the university and managed by central IT: Vmware virtual machines, NAS file shares, HyperV virtual machines, Nutanix virtual machines and huge quantities of Microsoft SQL.,Live Mounting SQL for OBDC checks and for restores of tables. The single pane of glass and a single point of management and visibility was a huge win for us - as we moved away from a legacy tape backup solution. Rubrik modernized the whole approach and bought the simplicity to the backup model that we certainly needed! There is now a vast selection of objects that Rubrik can backup - it fitted our needs perfectly for all our workloads.,Error reporting can be hard to interpret and chase out.,9,The laborious task of tape backups has gone - saving a staggering amount of staff time! A single pane of glass that all the technicians can see and use.,9,8,Veritas NetBackup,VMware ESXi, Dell EMC SC Series (Compellent), Nutanix, Hyper-VAutomation of Backup using RubrikI've been using Rubrik for 2 years and the development of Rubrik is fast. I've witnessed the progress of Rubrik from backing up only VMs up to now where they can backup many operating systems and hosts. Rubrik is a user-friendly backup appliance that is easy to install and manage. I've done many implementations of Rubrik on different clients here in the Philippines and they are very happy with their purchase of Rubrik. The usual feedback that I got from the clients is that Rubrik is so easy to manage and the automation, deduplication and compression on their backups were excellent.,Automation of Backups Support for Different Platforms and Operating System Easy to Manage,Real Time Generation of Reports,10,Deduplication and Compression of DataRubrik makes the Backup Blues go awayThis product is used across our entire enterprise. We were able to consolidate down to this one product and remove a handful of others to deal with just the one vendor. Being able to standardize on Rubrik allowed us to successfully manage a large, geographically diverse company from one location and with less personnel overall.,VMware backups are done really well and super efficiently. The general ease of installation of the entire product.,The APIs could be a little easier to exploit. The interface could use a little work.,10,Being able to bring everything into one vendor lowered our overall costs and maintenance. We have been able to do more with less as a direct result of Rubrik.,AvamarRubrik: Apples or OrangesWe are using the Rubrik fabric to backup and restore as needed enterprise-wide and into the cloud. There are limits to the cloud integration but overall nothing works like Rubrik. I set up the product and pretty much do not touch it again until I need to.,Database Backup and Restoration on the Rubik Box Google-like searching no matter where your targets are Calling support is better than calling 911. Help comes much faster and everyone is a native English speaker,Bare Metal Restoration Work within OpenStack Cloud,10,We no longer spend time worrying about backups. Ownership is like have Rubrik Support within our Data Center. Nothing negative, only positive results. Cloud on and Cloud out is a snap to AWS and Google.,Veeam Availability Suite and Veeam Backup & ReplicationGood for larger customersWe ourselves use it for backup, and have multiple customers that use Rubrik Edges / nodes and we replicate the data from them. Replication is pretty easy to set up.,Comprehensive and easy to use New customer setup. It's easy to set up backups and replication.,The v1 API should have more options Reporting by SLA for remote sites,9,Can be easily used on large customers. Not many appliances have this capacity,Arcserve Backup, StorageCraft Cloud Backup and Veeam Backup & ReplicationRubrik is a future focused backup solutionWe use Rubrik in our labs for our support team to learn with. We also have customers that we manage that run Rubrik as well as we support Rubrik with customers we resell to. Our teams are constantly growing and additional members are being trained on it. We currently protect our labs and some production resources and leverage the cloud features and replication.,It is very easy to manage and just does its job well. Very little break-fix. Stable and trustworthy - It just runs and we can feel confident our backups happen. Alerting and reporting with email as well as Polaris are excellent.,Increased support for agent level items such as SharePoint, active directory, and exchange. Simpler recovery of exchange data. Managing multiple clusters through Polaris would be great to have.,9,With the minimal management requirement it has decreased the amount of time spent managing backups. Simple to deploy for our customers. Highly expandable. Growing a cluster is very painless.,9,10,Veritas NetBackup Appliance,Veritas NetBackup Appliance, Veeam Backup & Replication, Dell EMC AvamarNew contender redefines how to think about backupsRubrik is being used as the underlying hyper-converged backup solution for a large scale service provider grade deployment.,Scales out linearly and predictably with no limitations. Management of backups and policies are aligned with service provider requirements. Support of application-aware backups increases exponentially. Fantastic API for integrations with Dynamic Documentation (Swagger). Support team is alert and proactive. Very low administrative overhead. Live mount is very fast and consistent.,Source remote clusters require static IP Addresses (destination pulls data as opposed to push). Exchange DAG is not supported natively! AWS integration is limited.,10,Decreased administrative overhead for managing backup and DR. Increased the scalability of the backup solution to support growing business operations. Decreased the complexity of managing multi-technology environments.,Acronis Backup Cloud, Veeam Backup & Replication and Avamar,Elasticsearch, AnsibleOne backup solution to rule them allRubrik was installed as a replacement to Legacy Backup Exec. Previously we conducted full backups daily/weekly. Rubrik backs up user data/exchange/VMs/SQL. It's quick and performs amazingly. This is a full company backup system, so it backs up all environments from test to production.,Live mounting Speeds backups Uptime Support,Exchange restores,10,It's a backup solution, so we can't quantify the ROI,Veritas Backup ExecRubrik - Simplify Your Data Protection WorldWe are using Rubrik to backup data in a multi-tenant environment. Each of five tenants purchased their own cloud archive location that they manage and send data to. We also are testing cloud instantiation, which converts a VMware or Microsoft virtual machine into either an AWS or Azure virtual machine once a backup on premises has completed. This will satisfy some disaster recovery requirements.,Rubrik greatly simplifies management and usability of backup systems. Configuration is very simple compared to our old system. It makes archiving data to either an offsite cloud or NAS mount point extremely easy. All that is required, is a few configuration items, and away your data goes. Support is outstanding. Maintenance upgrades and trouble cases are handled quickly and professionally.,Cloud cluster has it's limitations as far as performance and resilience. With large data in the environment, it has issues archiving large amounts of data to S3. Multi-tenancy permissions are not fully baked. I had to get creative to give proper permissions to admins of different organizations. I submitted an RFE for this. Notifications are also not fully baked. Anyone that is an admin level of any organization, receives all system notifications.,10,Much less time spent working on the system by various tenant admins. I wouldn't really consider it a negative impact, because all other products we looked at were similarly priced, but it is a very expensive solution. All tasks performed in Rubrik take far less time than other solutions we evaluated or used in the past. Live mounting a VM for recovery takes less than a minute, as it mounts on the cluster itself, which is VMware aware and shows an NFS mount point in vCenter.,Avamar, CommVault, Veeam Backup & Replication and Veritas Backup Exec,VMware ESXi, VMware vCenter Server, Microsoft Office 365Rubrik has simplicity in its complexityRubrik is being used organization-wide. It helps us with backup deliverables for our critical and major systems. It is also used for disaster recovery for our virtual machine servers. Knowing that we are secure, and have a backup, makes us sleep better at night. The company is going through a digital transformation. We are transitioning from the typical tape method to doing backups with Rubrik and archiving it to the cloud thru AWS.,Fast recovery. Compression algorithms. Backup recovery. Fast mount point for virtual machines. Quick integration with AWS.,Monitoring. GUI design and functionality. Solaris backup. Longer SLA retention rather than just 999 days.,10,Provides an archive of business-critical applications within our organization. Fast recovery of corrupted virtual machines. Easy and very understandable platform.,,VMware vCenter Server, Microsoft Power BI, Salesforce App CloudGreat product and improving with every release.Rubrik is the primary backup product we use. It is currently used to backup our virtual infrastructure running on VMWare. Our backup is stored on Rubrik Briks and also archived to S3 Storage. Overall the product is rock solid with great features. Other than our primary backup solution this is also major part of our DR Recovery plan. In case of disaster we can restore our VMs to AWS using Rubrik Cluster on AWS.,Direct Live backup of VMs using Native snapshot technology Cloud Integration for Archiving of Data Instant restore of VM using live mount on Rubrik Flash Storage,Application Aware backups for Active Directory 0 day local retention of data when archived to S3 Role based access control for specific Backups. Better Reporting options for Disk Usage Alerts for unmanaged objects,10,Positive ROI as primary DR Product Negative Impact as our previous backup solutions supported Granular Backup of AD,CommVault and Veeam Backup & ReplicationRubrik - easy to integrate and automate backup/restore/DR/archiving solutionRubrik is used across the enterprise to provide data integrity protection, data recovery, and compliance archiving services.,Simplified backup. Rubrik integrates well with modern data-center technologies. Rubrik backups are SLA-based, and you can apply SLAs to different levels of your infrastructure, e.g. from granular VM-based assignments to covering whole site with few clicks. Simplified restore. Easy to use interface allows for delegation of restores to any user group. Simplified backup to cloud makes replacing outdated backup targets, such as tape libraries, an easy task. Simplified DR to cloud. In addition to the ability to mount restored virtual machines from the Rubrik appliances itself, Rubrik allows you to spin up backed up to the cloud instances in Azure cloud.,Working with legacy systems. Rubrik is a forward-thinking company, so check if you have systems that pre-date Rubrik if they are supported. Alerting. Currently, in order to be notified of a Rubrik event, target alert contact must be a user in the Rubrik system, which is not the case for some of our own use-case scenarios.,9,Rubrik has eliminated backup worries from the IT organization radar. With great integration with virtualization software and recovery testing automation options Rubrik has significantly reduced time required to maintain business backup and archiving objectives. By providing reliable backup service to reliable archive destinations, Rubrik allowed to speed up systems retirement and shortened systems lifecycle, reducing systems TCO.,Veritas NetBackup, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance and Veeam ONE,VMware ESXi, VCE Vblock, Cisco ASA,10,No,On our first interaction with the support I actually missed that the case resolution was provided as it came so fast, that I, used to the previous provider's speed, disregarded the email believing it was simply an acknowledgement that someone was working on the case.Finally a backup product that doesn't suck! This needs to be the standard that all backups products live by.We are an MSP who take our backups seriously. It's an additional line of defense for ransomware, improves our position on recovery in times of disaster and just a good thing to have when that one user make a big mistake and deletes all his work. Rubrik has taken all the overhead and management out of our backup routines. We used to have major remediation problems with our old backup solution when it came to large servers, exchange and application level items. Upon implementation of Rubrik our weekly management of backups went from 20 hours to 2. It's easy to use from start to finish.,Image and file level backups. Granular and quick file recovery. Archive and restore to cloud.,The initial investment price is too high but they can command that due to its success. Image level support for HyperV 2012. Additional Reporting capabilities.,10,Rubrik gave me back 1/2 my day. Backups always work and I rarely have to login to the appliance. I get two reports a day to make sure everything is good.,Veeam Availability Suite, Acronis Backup Cloud and CommVault,IT Glue, SolarWinds N-centralSimplicity, fast, reliable - a great productRubrik is used across the whole University to backup all production services. Initially all data will be stored on-site within the Rubrik appliances, then a secondary copy will be sent to the cloud. Our Rubrik system currently backs-up all our Windows Linux Operating Systems, which are physical, VMWare environment, and SQL Services. The Rubrik agent that is required to install locally on physical servers and SQL is very lightweight: the agent installation file size is only 14MB. After the Rubrik appliances were racked and connected, it only took less than 2 hours to deploy Rubrik and also to configure the environment ready to start backing up data. The Rubrik appliances use Erasure Encoding for redundancy, and it also maintains itself, self heals, and optimises. Rubrik encrypts data at rest, in-flight and in archive. The Rubik interface does not require any fancy software installed or Java, it uses a standard browser that supports HTML. Rubrik fully supports APIs, there is a repository available for Rubrik customers to share their code.,Rapid Recovery of VMs and SQL services -- recover a second and have it up and running within 30 seconds. Simplicity Reduced TCO costs over a 5 year period Reduction of maintenance - a previous backup system had several was installed on Windows Server which needed to be maintained and patched as well as the backup software. No tape library and no tapes. Uses HTML5 Searching for data is an ease with Rubrik,Currently does not backup active directory objects,10,Due to the amount of maintaining less hardware and media for the previous backup system, we will see a positive TCO and ROI in the next 5 years.,CommVaultRubrik - Let your day be a little less hectic!We use Rubrik in our IT Department to perform backups of all of our servers, which we then replicate out to our DR site. With this product, we are able to backup entire VMs. Previously, we were only backing up file level objects on certain VMs and only having a day or two of backups. Now, we are backing up ALL of our VMs and using less space than we were before!,Deduplication Backups Set it and forget it,10,Provides us with more backups in a smaller storage size with more VMs than our previous appliance.,Cohesity, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance and Veeam Backup & Replication,Pure Storage FlashArrayA Breath of Fresh Air for Enterprise BackupsRubrik is used for our enterprise systems providing protection for all of our internal systems. It provides protection and the ability to recover our systems in a DR scenario. It protects all of our VMWare, physical windows/Linux, AIX, and NAS shares. The product provides us the ability to instantly recover VMS reducing impact in scenarios when recovery is needed.,Easy to use and manage Fast VM recovery times Great technical support when issues arise,Pricing. Instead of sticking with an "all in one bundle", they recently have started putting prices on new features in the product. While some are understandable to add additional charges, expansion of the base functionality is not one of those that should require an additional cost Global Pane of Glass for Management. Its available but does not yet give provide full multisite management (plus this is an additional cost) Supportability of applications are limited but are growing. Its new so its understood but they seem to be pumping out new functionality with every release,9,OpEx reduction comparison to previous backup products used Able to scale with ease for additional growth,Veeam Backup & Replication, CommVault, Avamar, Data Domain, Veritas NetBackup and Actifio Enterprise,Pure Storage FlashArray, NetApp All Flash FAS, Data DomainRock solid and simpleRubrik is currently our primary Backup and Archiving solution. We use it to backup our entire IT infrastructure. It is connected to our vmware environment to backup VMs. We use it to protect our file shares and SQL database as well. We archive to AWS for long term protection. It gives us company wide protection for our server infrastructure,Setup and connection to our systems was incredibly easy. Configuring protection was intuitive and simple. We had it protecting our environment in about 2 hours from opening the box. Restoring using live mount is absolutely amazing.,I would like to have a specific Active Directory protection option.,10,I spend much less time verifying protection now.,Barracuda Backup,VMware vCenter Server, Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, Sophos Endpoint ProtectionRubrik makes data protection easy!Rubrik is being used to consolidate the multiple data protection software application that each required a fair amount of interactions to keep things working properly. Putting Rubrik in place has already cut the amount of regular troubleshooting tasks of the previous software platforms in half, and we have only been able to retire one of the platforms that were using.,The Rubrik appliance is easy and a joy to setup. Configuring protection is very intuitive. Restoring files, VMs, or databases is very simple.,When they added the VLAN functionality the management interface responds on all IPs, we should be able to lock management to specific interfaces.,9,The freeing up of time of the personnel responsible for data protection.,Cohesity, Veeam Backup & Replication, Veritas NetBackup and Exagrid EX Series,Veeam Backup & Replication, Veritas NetBackup, VMware vCenter Server, Oracle Database 12c, Microsoft SQL ServerImpressed With The Easiness Of Use And Features Of This Product!We are currently using Rubrik to backup our virtual environment across the entire organization.,From box to full setup: From the unboxing of the appliance to my first backup was about 1 hour! Easiness of use: We no longer need a "backup master" with the company, Rubrik makes it extremely easy to backup and restore your environment. "DR Like" - We have used Rubrik to mount copies of VMs for testing. So not only is Rubrik a great backup utility, but it also works great for DR testing.,Active Directory Object backup The way the space consumption is shown in the console Be able to create multiple SLA policies for one VM,10,We are no longer purchasing tapes Backup speed as overall improved, reducing costs. Able to decomm old backup environment.,CommVaultRubrik: modern take on backup with common sense results. Crazy right?We currently use Rubrik for enterprise backups and DR. We use Backup with offsite Replication, and archival abilities, to allow us to be versatile with our data and provide assurance that we can can recover our data both quickly and confidently. This is managed by our IT departments for Virtual\Physical\Application (SQL, Oracle, Exchange) environments. This product addresses a lot of issues we have faced over the years. With previous backup solutions, we'd spend a good amount of time trying to keep our backup solutions running so that we could have consistent backups. However since we have switched to Rubrik, we no longer have that issue, so we can focus on the company data rather than the backup application reliability. With its ability to have multiple destinations to comply with company SLA's in regards to backups and DR, we can move forward with an improved DR plan. With previous backup solutions, we could not have multiple targets or had to rely on tape backups, and we had to hire another company to take them every day and store them.,Performance: with its ingest speeds, as well as its block level dedupe and compression, we can store a large amount of data with a small footprint in our data centers. One Console to rule them all provides convenience and simplicity without sacrificing its abilities. Easy to use and manage,I would like to see a little more improvement on the user management (though currently it's not bad.) Just so we could get a little more granular with specific users.,10,We were able to save a lot of money by getting away from previous support contracts from a previous vendor. Also it was a cheaper option to purchase Rubrik as opposed to upgrade our existing system, which we hated.,Networker, Veeam Backup & Replication and CohesityNext gen. data management solutionWe are using Rubrik to backup and replicate our environment. We also offer our customers services based on Rubrik technology, like dev/test environment, cloud migrations, DRaaS , etc. Basically, the whole organization is using Rubrik, some as final users and others as sellers. Since we started working with Rubrik, our experience has been amazing.,Recovery. Granular file recovery, index searches ,SQL database and VM recovery, in seconds and regardless of database or VM size Flexibility. Rubrik offers more than backups, it covers a lot of use cases and gives customers flexible solutions Simplicity. It's very easy to deploy and extremely easy to use, no need for extensive courses,Add object recovery Multi-tenancy across replicas Data validation reports,10,Has affected TCO, as you do need expensive storage for archive information Has affected daily operations, since Rubrik has a self service portal and you don't need specialized knowledge to recover objects Has improved automation. APIs help us to integrate Rubrik with different processes across the organization,Data Domain and Avamar,Veeam Availability Suite, CommVault, Arcserve BackupData Integrity SimplifiedRubrik is used as the primary data protection solution.,Rubrik simplifies protection of assets and data across the estate, making it easy to protect VMs, SAN, database and OS/file level information. The search function from the very front page makes it very easy to identify data for restore. That ease of use becomes the standard across the entirety of the restoration process - quick and pain free. RBAC access is industry standard in data protection application and it's not different here - again very easy to set up with depth and granularity for those that require it.,Automation of restores should be available from the GUI - at present one must configure scripts to interface with the APIs,9,This is the least amount of time I have spent managing backups. The efficiency and reliability mean I spend my time looking at other things.,Veritas Backup Exec, CommVault, AppAssure and Veeam Backup & ReplicationRubrik - Next Gen BackupProtecting Tier 1 applications so we can achieve less than our required 1 hour RTO.,Protects SQL databases well. Gives our DBA's a lot of flexibility. Can live mount a SQL database directly off the Rubrik. Really shines protecting virtual machines. Gives the ability to Instantly mount a previous backup and run it. Reduces the time to getting a server up to minutes. Ease of use. The UI is very easy to use. Servers, folders or files can be easily searched and restored. Customer can upgrade cluster. The upgrade process is very easy and straight forward.,Needs to have the ability to retain a single or multiple backups for longer than defined in SLA. Needs to have the ability to restore multiple items at once. Would like to see a way to live mount a backup of a physical server. Kind of like P2V.,10,Rubrik has a better ROI than our previous platform.,Actifio Enterprise and Dell EMC Unity,Zerto Virtual ReplicationRubrik CDM - You cant go wrong.We are transitioning off of a competitor's backup product to Rubrik. We chose Rubrik due to the ease of use and the support for multiple cloud options for backup and Archiving and long-term retention.,Use a Cloud Installation to backup cloud data. Multi-cloud support for Archiving No Need for tapes Very easy to use API Driven,More granular policies Cloud-based data lifecycle management. Multi-system management (In beta now),10,Fast easy deployment Flexible and easy to manage. Many possibilities with API functionality.,Cohesity,CommVault, Avamar, NetworkerRubrik is expensive, but well worth the price!!We use Rubrik in our department to run backups on all systems hospital wide. Access to it is limited to our group only.,Live mount restores minimizes downtime. Ability to get as granular as restoring specific files from previous snapshots. Setting up backups on new servers takes less than a minute, increasing productivity.,Price is a little high, but you get what you pay for. Needs better integration with VSphere. User interface can be a little complex.,8,Our previous backup solution would take hours to restore a server, often ending with another restore, but Rubrik does it in minutes, minimizing downtime. Rarely have to call a coworker to figure out how to do something in it, making it more productive in our environment. It's pricey, but well worth it.,Avamar and Networker,Nutanix, Aruba Networks Wireless, VMware vCenter Server
Windows, Linux, Mac
Rubrik
72 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Rubrik Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Rubrik
72 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 72 vetted Rubrik reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Gareth Jones profile photo
August 22, 2019

The enhanced backup tool you were looking for

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Rubrik for a few years now and it has been a very positive experience. Primarily it has helped us move away from our aging tape backup system and allowed us much more visibility and clarity on our backup strategy here at the university. We use it to capture the following workloads that cover data from all over the university and managed by central IT: Vmware virtual machines, NAS file shares, HyperV virtual machines, Nutanix virtual machines and huge quantities of Microsoft SQL.
  • Live Mounting SQL for OBDC checks and for restores of tables.
  • The single pane of glass and a single point of management and visibility was a huge win for us - as we moved away from a legacy tape backup solution. Rubrik modernized the whole approach and bought the simplicity to the backup model that we certainly needed!
  • There is now a vast selection of objects that Rubrik can backup - it fitted our needs perfectly for all our workloads.
  • Error reporting can be hard to interpret and chase out.
These things often come down to price - so do consider your business case and allow Rubrik to assist in their widest form. Its by no means "just" a backup tool anymore. However if your workloads are small and you are simply backing up a few TB in total Rubrik may be overkill for your needs.
Read Gareth Jones's full review
Alvin Salaver profile photo
May 15, 2019

Automation of Backup using Rubrik

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Rubrik for 2 years and the development of Rubrik is fast. I've witnessed the progress of Rubrik from backing up only VMs up to now where they can backup many operating systems and hosts. Rubrik is a user-friendly backup appliance that is easy to install and manage. I've done many implementations of Rubrik on different clients here in the Philippines and they are very happy with their purchase of Rubrik. The usual feedback that I got from the clients is that Rubrik is so easy to manage and the automation, deduplication and compression on their backups were excellent.
  • Automation of Backups
  • Support for Different Platforms and Operating System
  • Easy to Manage
  • Real Time Generation of Reports
Suited for virtual environments and if you want point-in-time recovery of database
Read Alvin Salaver's full review
David Riberdy profile photo
April 22, 2019

Rubrik makes the Backup Blues go away

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is used across our entire enterprise. We were able to consolidate down to this one product and remove a handful of others to deal with just the one vendor. Being able to standardize on Rubrik allowed us to successfully manage a large, geographically diverse company from one location and with less personnel overall.
  • VMware backups are done really well and super efficiently.
  • The general ease of installation of the entire product.
  • The APIs could be a little easier to exploit.
  • The interface could use a little work.
VMware environments would be a great fit for Rubrik. They have now also branched out into Acropolis, Hyper-V, and managing AWS backups as well. This product could be used in a lot of types of environments, from small to Enterprise, as they have a footprint to fit all of those and everything in between.
Read David Riberdy's full review
Ken Shade profile photo
May 14, 2019

Rubrik: Apples or Oranges

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Rubrik fabric to backup and restore as needed enterprise-wide and into the cloud. There are limits to the cloud integration but overall nothing works like Rubrik. I set up the product and pretty much do not touch it again until I need to.
  • Database Backup and Restoration on the Rubik Box
  • Google-like searching no matter where your targets are
  • Calling support is better than calling 911. Help comes much faster and everyone is a native English speaker
  • Bare Metal Restoration
  • Work within OpenStack Cloud
Any place where a cloud out or cloud on strategy is required. I would replace any current backup solution with this product and in any place data encryption at rest is required. Data compression is second to none.
Read Ken Shade's full review
Arminas Vrubliauskas profile photo
March 27, 2019

Good for larger customers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We ourselves use it for backup, and have multiple customers that use Rubrik Edges / nodes and we replicate the data from them. Replication is pretty easy to set up.
  • Comprehensive and easy to use
  • New customer setup. It's easy to set up backups and replication.
  • The v1 API should have more options
  • Reporting by SLA for remote sites
It's great when setting up a virtualized server backup; unfortunately physical backup is lacking.
Read Arminas Vrubliauskas's full review
No photo available
August 14, 2019

Rubrik is a future focused backup solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Rubrik in our labs for our support team to learn with. We also have customers that we manage that run Rubrik as well as we support Rubrik with customers we resell to. Our teams are constantly growing and additional members are being trained on it. We currently protect our labs and some production resources and leverage the cloud features and replication.
  • It is very easy to manage and just does its job well. Very little break-fix.
  • Stable and trustworthy - It just runs and we can feel confident our backups happen.
  • Alerting and reporting with email as well as Polaris are excellent.
  • Increased support for agent level items such as SharePoint, active directory, and exchange.
  • Simpler recovery of exchange data.
  • Managing multiple clusters through Polaris would be great to have.
Rubrik excels in virtualization backups and recovery. It's simple and reliable. The instant recovery is excellent.
The agent features for physical servers is always improving but still limited in some features. One big weakness is during restores if there is an error while putting files back to their location it is often reported as successful which is slightly misleading. This only occurs when the agent lacks permissions to put files back.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2019

New contender redefines how to think about backups

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used as the underlying hyper-converged backup solution for a large scale service provider grade deployment.
  • Scales out linearly and predictably with no limitations.
  • Management of backups and policies are aligned with service provider requirements.
  • Support of application-aware backups increases exponentially.
  • Fantastic API for integrations with Dynamic Documentation (Swagger).
  • Support team is alert and proactive.
  • Very low administrative overhead.
  • Live mount is very fast and consistent.
  • Source remote clusters require static IP Addresses (destination pulls data as opposed to push).
  • Exchange DAG is not supported natively!
  • AWS integration is limited.
Rubrik is very strong in traditional datacenter topologies due to its low rack footprint and very effective deduplication and compression technology. It may be less suited for SMB as there are software-defined solutions that have fewer dependencies and more flexible deployment architectures.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2019

One backup solution to rule them all

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik was installed as a replacement to Legacy Backup Exec. Previously we conducted full backups daily/weekly. Rubrik backs up user data/exchange/VMs/SQL. It's quick and performs amazingly. This is a full company backup system, so it backs up all environments from test to production.
  • Live mounting
  • Speeds backups
  • Uptime
  • Support
  • Exchange restores
Great for live mounting a VM in an "emergency" scenario. We had an issue recently where an update destroyed a service on a VM. Rather than figuring out which one it was, we live mounted the entire VM in minutes (from a point in time backup). Found it to be working, so restored it and removed the broken one. Simple quick and easy.
Read this authenticated review
Toby Wenzel profile photo
February 12, 2019

Rubrik - Simplify Your Data Protection World

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Rubrik to backup data in a multi-tenant environment. Each of five tenants purchased their own cloud archive location that they manage and send data to. We also are testing cloud instantiation, which converts a VMware or Microsoft virtual machine into either an AWS or Azure virtual machine once a backup on premises has completed. This will satisfy some disaster recovery requirements.
  • Rubrik greatly simplifies management and usability of backup systems. Configuration is very simple compared to our old system.
  • It makes archiving data to either an offsite cloud or NAS mount point extremely easy. All that is required, is a few configuration items, and away your data goes.
  • Support is outstanding. Maintenance upgrades and trouble cases are handled quickly and professionally.
  • Cloud cluster has it's limitations as far as performance and resilience. With large data in the environment, it has issues archiving large amounts of data to S3.
  • Multi-tenancy permissions are not fully baked. I had to get creative to give proper permissions to admins of different organizations. I submitted an RFE for this.
  • Notifications are also not fully baked. Anyone that is an admin level of any organization, receives all system notifications.
It is by far the easiest and well thought out backup solution I've encountered. If you have requirements to archive into AWS, Azure, or GCP, it is extremely easy to configure. You will be up and archiving in minutes. The SLA based job scheduling is very intuitive. The only negative or less appropriate usage I can think of would be the instantiation piece. It takes several hours to instantiate one VM to a cloud environment. This could be our lack of bandwidth, but it is only feasible for a long term DR scenario.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
Jewemars Christian Riano profile photo
February 22, 2019

Rubrik has simplicity in its complexity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used organization-wide. It helps us with backup deliverables for our critical and major systems. It is also used for disaster recovery for our virtual machine servers. Knowing that we are secure, and have a backup, makes us sleep better at night.

The company is going through a digital transformation. We are transitioning from the typical tape method to doing backups with Rubrik and archiving it to the cloud thru AWS.
  • Fast recovery.
  • Compression algorithms.
  • Backup recovery.
  • Fast mount point for virtual machines.
  • Quick integration with AWS.
  • Monitoring.
  • GUI design and functionality.
  • Solaris backup.
  • Longer SLA retention rather than just 999 days.
It is a well-curated technology that caters to the needs of some industries and companies who are looking for an easy to use, understandable and manageable platform. It is well suited for almost any industry. Support is fast and the customer relationship is great. The level of support and troubleshooting are the best.
Read Jewemars Christian Riano's full review
Burhan Shakil profile photo
February 14, 2019

Great product and improving with every release.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is the primary backup product we use. It is currently used to backup our virtual infrastructure running on VMWare. Our backup is stored on Rubrik Briks and also archived to S3 Storage. Overall the product is rock solid with great features. Other than our primary backup solution this is also major part of our DR Recovery plan. In case of disaster we can restore our VMs to AWS using Rubrik Cluster on AWS.

  • Direct Live backup of VMs using Native snapshot technology
  • Cloud Integration for Archiving of Data
  • Instant restore of VM using live mount on Rubrik Flash Storage
  • Application Aware backups for Active Directory
  • 0 day local retention of data when archived to S3
  • Role based access control for specific Backups.
  • Better Reporting options for Disk Usage
  • Alerts for unmanaged objects
It is perfect for taking backups of Virtualized enviroments. While it supports taking file share backups. Its does not support 0 day retention local retention of data when archived to cloud. Also it does not support application aware or granular backups of Active Directory
Read Burhan Shakil's full review
Paul Lerner profile photo
September 24, 2018

Rubrik - easy to integrate and automate backup/restore/DR/archiving solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used across the enterprise to provide data integrity protection, data recovery, and compliance archiving services.
  • Simplified backup. Rubrik integrates well with modern data-center technologies. Rubrik backups are SLA-based, and you can apply SLAs to different levels of your infrastructure, e.g. from granular VM-based assignments to covering whole site with few clicks.
  • Simplified restore. Easy to use interface allows for delegation of restores to any user group.
  • Simplified backup to cloud makes replacing outdated backup targets, such as tape libraries, an easy task.
  • Simplified DR to cloud. In addition to the ability to mount restored virtual machines from the Rubrik appliances itself, Rubrik allows you to spin up backed up to the cloud instances in Azure cloud.
  • Working with legacy systems. Rubrik is a forward-thinking company, so check if you have systems that pre-date Rubrik if they are supported.
  • Alerting. Currently, in order to be notified of a Rubrik event, target alert contact must be a user in the Rubrik system, which is not the case for some of our own use-case scenarios.
Rubrik is a superb solution for virtualized infrastructure, as it provides great integration and automation tools for virtual machines/cloud backups.
Supporting heterogeneous physical infrastructure with legacy components requires a good deal of research with Rubrik.
Read Paul Lerner's full review
Sam Kemp profile photo
September 17, 2018

Finally a backup product that doesn't suck! This needs to be the standard that all backups products live by.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are an MSP who take our backups seriously. It's an additional line of defense for ransomware, improves our position on recovery in times of disaster and just a good thing to have when that one user make a big mistake and deletes all his work. Rubrik has taken all the overhead and management out of our backup routines. We used to have major remediation problems with our old backup solution when it came to large servers, exchange and application level items. Upon implementation of Rubrik our weekly management of backups went from 20 hours to 2. It's easy to use from start to finish.
  • Image and file level backups.
  • Granular and quick file recovery.
  • Archive and restore to cloud.
  • The initial investment price is too high but they can command that due to its success.
  • Image level support for HyperV 2012.
  • Additional Reporting capabilities.
If anyone is spending more than 20 hours a week managing their backups this will eliminate that.
Read Sam Kemp's full review
Darryl Wilson profile photo
November 09, 2018

Simplicity, fast, reliable - a great product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used across the whole University to backup all production services. Initially all data will be stored on-site within the Rubrik appliances, then a secondary copy will be sent to the cloud.

Our Rubrik system currently backs-up all our Windows Linux Operating Systems, which are physical, VMWare environment, and SQL Services. The Rubrik agent that is required to install locally on physical servers and SQL is very lightweight: the agent installation file size is only 14MB.

After the Rubrik appliances were racked and connected, it only took less than 2 hours to deploy Rubrik and also to configure the environment ready to start backing up data. The Rubrik appliances use Erasure Encoding for redundancy, and it also maintains itself, self heals, and optimises. Rubrik encrypts data at rest, in-flight and in archive. The Rubik interface does not require any fancy software installed or Java, it uses a standard browser that supports HTML. Rubrik fully supports APIs, there is a repository available for Rubrik customers to share their code.
  • Rapid Recovery of VMs and SQL services -- recover a second and have it up and running within 30 seconds.
  • Simplicity
  • Reduced TCO costs over a 5 year period
  • Reduction of maintenance - a previous backup system had several was installed on Windows Server which needed to be maintained and patched as well as the backup software. No tape library and no tapes.
  • Uses HTML5
  • Searching for data is an ease with Rubrik
  • Currently does not backup active directory objects
Contacting support has been a great experience, Rubrik upgraded our software remotely via a Support Tunnel which can be enabled within the HTML5 interface.
Read Darryl Wilson's full review
Joshua Jarreau profile photo
February 21, 2019

Rubrik - Let your day be a little less hectic!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik in our IT Department to perform backups of all of our servers, which we then replicate out to our DR site. With this product, we are able to backup entire VMs. Previously, we were only backing up file level objects on certain VMs and only having a day or two of backups. Now, we are backing up ALL of our VMs and using less space than we were before!
  • Deduplication
  • Backups
  • Set it and forget it
We feel that Rubrik was a perfect fit for our company size as far as cost and amount of data. Rubrik might not be the best option for very small companies that are under the 5/10 Terabyte market.
Read Joshua Jarreau's full review
Sean Wolfe profile photo
October 19, 2018

A Breath of Fresh Air for Enterprise Backups

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used for our enterprise systems providing protection for all of our internal systems. It provides protection and the ability to recover our systems in a DR scenario. It protects all of our VMWare, physical windows/Linux, AIX, and NAS shares. The product provides us the ability to instantly recover VMS reducing impact in scenarios when recovery is needed.
  • Easy to use and manage
  • Fast VM recovery times
  • Great technical support when issues arise
  • Pricing. Instead of sticking with an "all in one bundle", they recently have started putting prices on new features in the product. While some are understandable to add additional charges, expansion of the base functionality is not one of those that should require an additional cost
  • Global Pane of Glass for Management. Its available but does not yet give provide full multisite management (plus this is an additional cost)
  • Supportability of applications are limited but are growing. Its new so its understood but they seem to be pumping out new functionality with every release
For most smaller to medium environments, it fits perfectly and provides a great solution for backup/recovery. It is easy to use/manage and reduces man-hours while improving protection. For larger environments, it will possibly be a hit or miss for a complete solution and provide closer to 80% coverage so two products would have to be run for backups and recovery.
Read Sean Wolfe's full review
ian cornwall profile photo
October 16, 2018

Rock solid and simple

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is currently our primary Backup and Archiving solution. We use it to backup our entire IT infrastructure. It is connected to our vmware environment to backup VMs. We use it to protect our file shares and SQL database as well. We archive to AWS for long term protection. It gives us company wide protection for our server infrastructure
  • Setup and connection to our systems was incredibly easy.
  • Configuring protection was intuitive and simple. We had it protecting our environment in about 2 hours from opening the box.
  • Restoring using live mount is absolutely amazing.
  • I would like to have a specific Active Directory protection option.
Rubrik is a bit pricey but it is well worth it if you can afford it. The ease of use is amazing and I expect that I'll save enough time on this appliance to make up for that extra cost. It also has encryption baked in where other options did not have that option.
Read ian cornwall's full review
Craig Goodspeed profile photo
September 27, 2018

Rubrik makes data protection easy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is being used to consolidate the multiple data protection software application that each required a fair amount of interactions to keep things working properly. Putting Rubrik in place has already cut the amount of regular troubleshooting tasks of the previous software platforms in half, and we have only been able to retire one of the platforms that were using.
  • The Rubrik appliance is easy and a joy to setup.
  • Configuring protection is very intuitive.
  • Restoring files, VMs, or databases is very simple.
  • When they added the VLAN functionality the management interface responds on all IPs, we should be able to lock management to specific interfaces.
Rubrik is well suited for most serious where the business wants to take data protection seriously. A less appropriate scenario is a business that doesn't have the knowledge or money to properly protect their data and instead rely on personnel to "come up with something".
Read Craig Goodspeed's full review
Michael Alesi profile photo
November 19, 2018

Impressed With The Easiness Of Use And Features Of This Product!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Rubrik to backup our virtual environment across the entire organization.
  • From box to full setup: From the unboxing of the appliance to my first backup was about 1 hour!
  • Easiness of use: We no longer need a "backup master" with the company, Rubrik makes it extremely easy to backup and restore your environment.
  • "DR Like" - We have used Rubrik to mount copies of VMs for testing. So not only is Rubrik a great backup utility, but it also works great for DR testing.
  • Active Directory Object backup
  • The way the space consumption is shown in the console
  • Be able to create multiple SLA policies for one VM
  • Well suited for a virtual environment.
  • Less appropriate if your environment is not virtual.
Read Michael Alesi's full review
Brian Forst profile photo
November 06, 2018

Rubrik: modern take on backup with common sense results. Crazy right?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Rubrik for enterprise backups and DR. We use Backup with offsite Replication, and archival abilities, to allow us to be versatile with our data and provide assurance that we can can recover our data both quickly and confidently. This is managed by our IT departments for Virtual\Physical\Application (SQL, Oracle, Exchange) environments. This product addresses a lot of issues we have faced over the years. With previous backup solutions, we'd spend a good amount of time trying to keep our backup solutions running so that we could have consistent backups. However since we have switched to Rubrik, we no longer have that issue, so we can focus on the company data rather than the backup application reliability. With its ability to have multiple destinations to comply with company SLA's in regards to backups and DR, we can move forward with an improved DR plan. With previous backup solutions, we could not have multiple targets or had to rely on tape backups, and we had to hire another company to take them every day and store them.
  • Performance: with its ingest speeds, as well as its block level dedupe and compression, we can store a large amount of data with a small footprint in our data centers.
  • One Console to rule them all provides convenience and simplicity without sacrificing its abilities.
  • Easy to use and manage
  • I would like to see a little more improvement on the user management (though currently it's not bad.) Just so we could get a little more granular with specific users.
Virtual Environments are where it shines; SQL and Oracle also work very well. This is not an appropriate product if you are running a lot of physical machines on older Operating Systems, however this is normal for most newer backup solutions.
Read Brian Forst's full review
Matias Migone profile photo
October 22, 2018

Next gen. data management solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using Rubrik to backup and replicate our environment. We also offer our customers services based on Rubrik technology, like dev/test environment, cloud migrations, DRaaS , etc. Basically, the whole organization is using Rubrik, some as final users and others as sellers. Since we started working with Rubrik, our experience has been amazing.
  • Recovery. Granular file recovery, index searches ,SQL database and VM recovery, in seconds and regardless of database or VM size
  • Flexibility. Rubrik offers more than backups, it covers a lot of use cases and gives customers flexible solutions
  • Simplicity. It's very easy to deploy and extremely easy to use, no need for extensive courses
  • Add object recovery
  • Multi-tenancy across replicas
  • Data validation reports
I believe that Rubrik covers all kind scenarios. It is an enterprise solution that can be delivered to small and medium businesses through Rubrik service providers' parents. Also, since Rubirk is a data management solution, it covers lot of use cases such as backup recovery, archive, data copies analysis, and more.
Read Matias Migone's full review
George Pickersgill profile photo
September 28, 2018

Data Integrity Simplified

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rubrik is used as the primary data protection solution.
  • Rubrik simplifies protection of assets and data across the estate, making it easy to protect VMs, SAN, database and OS/file level information.
  • The search function from the very front page makes it very easy to identify data for restore. That ease of use becomes the standard across the entirety of the restoration process - quick and pain free.
  • RBAC access is industry standard in data protection application and it's not different here - again very easy to set up with depth and granularity for those that require it.
  • Automation of restores should be available from the GUI - at present one must configure scripts to interface with the APIs
Especially suited to medium size companies with large end users on virtual desktop environments - the ease of restoration makes accidental deletions almost impact free.
Read George Pickersgill's full review
Toby Tapp profile photo
September 28, 2018

Rubrik - Next Gen Backup

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Protecting Tier 1 applications so we can achieve less than our required 1 hour RTO.
  • Protects SQL databases well. Gives our DBA's a lot of flexibility. Can live mount a SQL database directly off the Rubrik.
  • Really shines protecting virtual machines. Gives the ability to Instantly mount a previous backup and run it. Reduces the time to getting a server up to minutes.
  • Ease of use. The UI is very easy to use. Servers, folders or files can be easily searched and restored.
  • Customer can upgrade cluster. The upgrade process is very easy and straight forward.
  • Needs to have the ability to retain a single or multiple backups for longer than defined in SLA.
  • Needs to have the ability to restore multiple items at once.
  • Would like to see a way to live mount a backup of a physical server. Kind of like P2V.
Rubrik is well suited for any backup scenario.
Read Toby Tapp's full review
Shawn Constable profile photo
September 14, 2018

Rubrik CDM - You cant go wrong.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are transitioning off of a competitor's backup product to Rubrik. We chose Rubrik due to the ease of use and the support for multiple cloud options for backup and Archiving and long-term retention.
  • Use a Cloud Installation to backup cloud data.
  • Multi-cloud support for Archiving
  • No Need for tapes
  • Very easy to use
  • API Driven
  • More granular policies
  • Cloud-based data lifecycle management.
  • Multi-system management (In beta now)
Small to Medium Businesses. Anyone with backup needs should look at Rubrik.
Read Shawn Constable's full review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Rubrik is expensive, but well worth the price!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rubrik in our department to run backups on all systems hospital wide. Access to it is limited to our group only.
  • Live mount restores minimizes downtime.
  • Ability to get as granular as restoring specific files from previous snapshots.
  • Setting up backups on new servers takes less than a minute, increasing productivity.
  • Price is a little high, but you get what you pay for.
  • Needs better integration with VSphere.
  • User interface can be a little complex.
It's great in an enterprise environment where VM's are plentiful, getting built all the time, but not the best choice for a small shop with few servers.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (45)
9.5
Live recovery (52)
9.6
Recovery verification (42)
9.0
Business application protection (46)
8.5
Multiple backup destinations (49)
9.4
Incremental backup identification (45)
8.4
Backup to the cloud (45)
9.6
Deduplication and file compression (52)
9.7
Snapshots (51)
9.1
Flexible deployment (46)
9.5
Management dashboard (52)
9.0
Platform support (50)
8.5
Retention options (52)
9.4
Encryption (47)
9.1

About Rubrik

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Its software is also designed to be vendor-agnostic, and supports the most commonly used operating systems, databases, hypervisors, clouds, and SaaS applications. And while you can utilize Rubrik’s software completely on the cloud, Rubrik also integrates with on-premises hardware, and even provides their own proprietary Rubrik appliances.

Key Features

Policy-driven
Rubrik functions through a single policy engine that orchestrates service level agreements (SLAs) across the data lifecycle. Management is automated across hybrid and multi-cloud environments with one programmatic interface.

Analytics & Reporting
Rubrik’s software creates customized reports and data visualizations for user’s platforms on operational efficiency, compliance, and capacity utilization.

Security & Compliance
Data stored and backed up through Rubrik is secured in-transit and at-rest throughout its lifecycle, regardless of location. Rubrik delivers granular role-based access control while automating compliance reporting to complete various industry and internal audits. Users can quickly recover from ransomware through immutable backups native to the platform.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features
Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Rubrik Competitors

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Rubrik Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:NA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported Languages: English