Redis™*

Redis™*

Score 9.2 out of 10
Redis™*

Overview

What is Redis™*?

Redis is an open source in-memory data structure server and NoSQL database.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Set up & forget

7 out of 10
May 08, 2021
We use it to manage & control user sessions in a Tomcat based web application programmed with Java. It's used in both production and …
Continue reading

Redis Review

9 out of 10
February 03, 2020
Redis has been a vital component in our design, it's usage is mainly for caching API requests, but it also extends to other applications …
Continue reading

Redis is awesome!

9 out of 10
November 23, 2019
We're using Redis in many ways and across different departments in the organization. The most simple use case is to store locks so the …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 7 features
  • Performance (69)
    10.0
    100%
  • Scalability (69)
    9.3
    93%
  • Availability (69)
    9.0
    90%
  • Concurrency (68)
    9.0
    90%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Redis™*, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Cloud

$388.00

On Premise
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://redislabs.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Why Redis?
02:46
Return to navigation

Features

NoSQL Databases

NoSQL databases are designed to be used across large distrusted systems. They are notably much more scalable and much faster and handling very large data loads than traditional relational databases.

9.2Avg 8.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Redis™*?

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

*Redis is a trademark of Redis Ltd. Any rights therein are reserved to Redis Ltd. Any use by TrustRadius is for referential purposes only and does not indicate any sponsorship, endorsement or affiliation between Redis and TrustRadius.

Redis™* Features

NoSQL Databases Features

  • Supported: Performance
  • Supported: Availability
  • Supported: Concurrency
  • Supported: Security
  • Supported: Scalability
  • Supported: Data model flexibility
  • Supported: Deployment model flexibility

Additional Features

  • Supported: Integrated modules
  • Supported: Active-Passive Geo Distribution
  • Supported: Cluster Architecture
  • Supported: Linear Scaling
  • Supported: Durability
  • Supported: Backup and Disaster Recovery
  • Supported: Reliability

Redis™* Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Redis™* Video

Why Redis?

Redis™* Integrations

Redis™* Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported Languageshttps://redis.io/clients

Frequently Asked Questions

Redis is an open source in-memory data structure server and NoSQL database.

MongoDB, Amazon ElastiCache, and Couchbase are common alternatives for Redis™*.

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Redis™* are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 75)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis has been a great investment for our organization as we needed a solution for high speed data caching.
The ramp up and integration was quite easy.
Redis handles automatic failover internally, so no crashes provides high availability.
On the fly scaling scale to more/less cores and memory as and when needed.
May 08, 2021

Set up & forget

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is well suited when a web application needs to store any kind of user sessions. It works both for storing logged in user sessions but also for non authenticated users. User sessions are temporary; however, for storing permanent data that needs to be retained across sessions it is not appropriate because Redis is an in-memory database.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Perfect solution for caching needs. If you have a bottleneck due to frequent data access to your database, then Redis can really help you by diverting those traffic away from your database. Its key/value pair structure also makes data lookup very efficient, providing excellent performance.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Session manager - With in-built expires it's the perfect solution for that scenario.
Data binding as we can use its key value architecture to store data from different sources under the same key so they will be automatically matched. And with now previous data structure we can extend for example hashes horizontally.
It may be costly to use it as persistent data storage.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis works great in our data services applications. Very easy to spin off and configure Redis and link it with our services. We have saved a lot of database downtime as we started using Redis. We now access the information directly from Redis cache instead of hitting the database for every information. We had to write a caching mechanism that suites our needs. We refresh the cache on a timely basis to make sure it has the latest data from the database.
February 18, 2020

REDIS great as K/V cache

Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
If you're doing caching, it's perfect. Especially when doing key-value store lookups. However, if you have a hardware load balancer, then setting up multiple slaves would be good. One slave is not so great for 1 million reads per sec. Transactions to the master can be slow at times depending on how much written to it Not as afast as say cassandra for writes.
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I think Redis is a great product. Our problem was we were using too many different products when we could have been just using one. We had Redis for application data caching, we were using Xtreme Scale to cache session data, when in fact Redis could have handled both. The decision was made to stick with Xtreme Scale but honestly I would have preferred to stay with Redis. Redis handles application data caching well. We had some issues with cache misses, but I think that was more of what we did and less of what Redis did (or didn't do). That being said, after some recoding, we had no issues. I think that the Redis product could be little easier to use there but again, it was probably a learning curve item for us and not so much the product.
Esteban Ignacio Masoero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Everywhere speed and scalability is a must, Redis is the way to go. On the other hand, if you want to store huge amounts of data and do not need an extremely low latency, Redis might be too expensive for you. Also, if you are looking for some transactionality and consistency in your data, remember that Redis is a NoSQL database.
November 23, 2019

Redis is awesome!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is a tool when you want to get a key-value store up and running in production quick without a lot of constraints. And it will keep the customer happy for a considerably long time. However, if the scaling is critical, Redis might not be the best choice available in the market.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is great at at reducing your reliance on SQL and the cost associated with running a SQL infrastructure.We have been able to scale out and improve performance on database requests. Reliability has also great improved over running a SQL infrastructure.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is great for any organization that requires data-intensive tasks that quire records or require large sets of data. Redis has greatly improved our messaging EMR performance at reduced costs compared to if we built our own solutions. If you require fast response speeds then Redis is your provider. Great for back end data base processing.
October 08, 2019

Gets the job done!

Emiliano Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is fast, super simple and reliable. You need minimum security measures like having your data replicated and (at least daily) backups for emergencies. If you want to have all this done automatically by a simple UI, then Redis Enterprise is a must We have been working with Redis for over 5 years and we couldn't be happier.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is a great tool for distributed caching and synchronization/locking in systems with multiple instances. It also works well for non-persistent data that doesn't grow over time, for instance, you might want to use Redis to manage a queue. It's a particularly good choice for pieces of data that are frequently updated.

Conversely, due to price/data I wouldn't recommend Redis for persisted or infrequently accessed data.
September 21, 2019

Redis is Awesome

David Sommers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is great for queues (push/pop) and pub/sub. It can also be used for caching though take care of managing those expire settings and don't mix permanent keys with expired keys on the same hosts unless you want to spend some time troubleshooting unplanned evictions. When looking at open source solutions to messaging, queuing, background jobs, etc. - you'll find many solutions work with Redis out-of-the-box.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is good for caching and helps you to avoid hitting the DB. It offers a key-value store where you can put references to objects or temporary values (counters) that will later go to the DB.

Redis isn't as suited for complex objects or serialized data that takes a lot of space. With the milions of users, costs would go way up.
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is great for any cache service with data persistence implementation. If you need a super-fast cache, you can always use the in-memory cache (without persistence) to improve performance and still get all the benefits of the service.
It's usually compared to Memcached, and in terms of performance I think they're very similar, and for some critical applications, Memcached may be a better option. But the feature-rich characteristics of Redis will position it in a more competitive place against many applications.
September 14, 2019

Redis Rocks

Ryan Hiebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is well suited for caching, as well as distributed coordination between workers. It doesn't work extremely well for cases where the data is highly interconnected, though RedisGraph may be a good solution to that (I'm not able to review it, because I haven't used it). Its variety of data types makes it possible to do some rather advanced things easily, and when combined with scripting, there are very few hard limitations on what is possible.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Redis is well suited for front end caching of websites and apps. We also use it successfully to manage our web/app cookies and sessions. Everything in Redis is in your RAM, so if you need anything stored permanently you'll need to turn on the persistence options, which will slow down Redis a bunch since it has to write to disk.
Return to navigation