Redis Reviews

188 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 75)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 18, 2020
Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're doing caching, it's perfect. Especially when doing key-value store lookups. However, if you have a hardware load balancer, then setting up multiple slaves would be good. One slave is not so great for 1 million reads per sec. Transactions to the master can be slow at times depending on how much written to it Not as afast as say cassandra for writes.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
April 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis works great in our data services applications. Very easy to spin off and configure Redis and link it with our services. We have saved a lot of database downtime as we started using Redis. We now access the information directly from Redis cache instead of hitting the database for every information. We had to write a caching mechanism that suites our needs. We refresh the cache on a timely basis to make sure it has the latest data from the database.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Session manager - With in-built expires it's the perfect solution for that scenario.
Data binding as we can use its key value architecture to store data from different sources under the same key so they will be automatically matched. And with now previous data structure we can extend for example hashes horizontally.
It may be costly to use it as persistent data storage.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is well suited for in-memory caching, API caching, and rate-limiting.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2019
Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is a great tool for distributed caching and synchronization/locking in systems with multiple instances. It also works well for non-persistent data that doesn't grow over time, for instance, you might want to use Redis to manage a queue. It's a particularly good choice for pieces of data that are frequently updated.

Conversely, due to price/data I wouldn't recommend Redis for persisted or infrequently accessed data.
Read Eric Mason's full review
September 21, 2019
David Sommers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is great for queues (push/pop) and pub/sub. It can also be used for caching though take care of managing those expire settings and don't mix permanent keys with expired keys on the same hosts unless you want to spend some time troubleshooting unplanned evictions. When looking at open source solutions to messaging, queuing, background jobs, etc. - you'll find many solutions work with Redis out-of-the-box.
Read David Sommers's full review
January 07, 2020
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Redis is a great product. Our problem was we were using too many different products when we could have been just using one. We had Redis for application data caching, we were using Xtreme Scale to cache session data, when in fact Redis could have handled both. The decision was made to stick with Xtreme Scale but honestly I would have preferred to stay with Redis. Redis handles application data caching well. We had some issues with cache misses, but I think that was more of what we did and less of what Redis did (or didn't do). That being said, after some recoding, we had no issues. I think that the Redis product could be little easier to use there but again, it was probably a learning curve item for us and not so much the product.
Read Gene Baker's full review
November 26, 2019
Esteban Ignacio Masoero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Everywhere speed and scalability is a must, Redis is the way to go. On the other hand, if you want to store huge amounts of data and do not need an extremely low latency, Redis might be too expensive for you. Also, if you are looking for some transactionality and consistency in your data, remember that Redis is a NoSQL database.
Read Esteban Ignacio Masoero's full review
October 08, 2019
Emiliano Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is fast, super simple and reliable. You need minimum security measures like having your data replicated and (at least daily) backups for emergencies. If you want to have all this done automatically by a simple UI, then Redis Enterprise is a must We have been working with Redis for over 5 years and we couldn't be happier.
Read Emiliano Perez's full review
September 16, 2019
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is great for any cache service with data persistence implementation. If you need a super-fast cache, you can always use the in-memory cache (without persistence) to improve performance and still get all the benefits of the service.
It's usually compared to Memcached, and in terms of performance I think they're very similar, and for some critical applications, Memcached may be a better option. But the feature-rich characteristics of Redis will position it in a more competitive place against many applications.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
September 14, 2019
Ryan Hiebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is well suited for caching, as well as distributed coordination between workers. It doesn't work extremely well for cases where the data is highly interconnected, though RedisGraph may be a good solution to that (I'm not able to review it, because I haven't used it). Its variety of data types makes it possible to do some rather advanced things easily, and when combined with scripting, there are very few hard limitations on what is possible.
Read Ryan Hiebert's full review
September 07, 2019
Anush Ramani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would highly recommend Redis as a hosted solution. We tried self-hosting initially but gave up on that due to the overhead of maintenance. We really want to use Redis in mission-critical projects and as such, reliability is paramount. Self-hosting leads to concerns with reliability—that's best left to services for whom that is their bread and butter.
Read Anush Ramani's full review
September 11, 2019
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The best scenario for Redis is where fast response speed is required to have an optimal performance of the applications, or when it is required to have data that is consulted on a recurring basis.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
August 27, 2019
Matthew Kuc | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is suited to database and back-end data processing.
Read Matthew Kuc's full review
October 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is great at at reducing your reliance on SQL and the cost associated with running a SQL infrastructure.We have been able to scale out and improve performance on database requests. Reliability has also great improved over running a SQL infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is well suited for front end caching of websites and apps. We also use it successfully to manage our web/app cookies and sessions. Everything in Redis is in your RAM, so if you need anything stored permanently you'll need to turn on the persistence options, which will slow down Redis a bunch since it has to write to disk.
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is a tool when you want to get a key-value store up and running in production quick without a lot of constraints. And it will keep the customer happy for a considerably long time. However, if the scaling is critical, Redis might not be the best choice available in the market.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is great for any organization that requires data-intensive tasks that quire records or require large sets of data. Redis has greatly improved our messaging EMR performance at reduced costs compared to if we built our own solutions. If you require fast response speeds then Redis is your provider. Great for back end data base processing.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for keeping track of scoring scenarios.

Poorly suited for long term storage of data.
Read this authenticated review
September 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Redis is very useful for real-time scenarios where disposable recent information may be useful such as a location share app, mobile games or even a volatile chat. I must say, I haven't looked into Redis beyond these examples, so I couldn't recommend it for other use cases. The obvious less appropriate use would be for something such as a full database stack.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (68)
9.3
Availability (68)
8.7
Concurrency (67)
8.5
Security (62)
7.5
Scalability (68)
8.8
Data model flexibility (61)
8.8
Deployment model flexibility (61)
8.9

What is Redis?

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

Redis Features

NoSQL Databases Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureIntegrated modules
Has featureActive-Passive Geo Distribution
Has featureCluster Architecture
Has featureLinear Scaling
Has featureDurability
Has featureBackup and Disaster Recovery
Has featureReliability

Redis Screenshots

Redis Video

Why Redis?

Redis Downloadables

Redis Integrations

Apache Spark, OpenShift, CData, Pivotal Cloud Foundry

Redis Competitors

Redis Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Redis Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Redis Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: https://redis.io/clients