SOLIDWORKS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
145 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Jacob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

SOLIDWORKS! From a Solid User

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our R&D department uses SOLIDWORKS daily for design, validation and training. New products come to life in SOLIDWORKS, before being manufactured. Drawings are utilized in SOLIDWORKS to send parts out to suppliers or create instructions for the technicians. Tools and fixtures are designed and validated in SOLIDWORKS as well.
  • Part design.
  • Instructional drawings.
  • Ease of use.
  • Slow.
  • Expensive.
  • Buggy.
SOLIDWORKS is very well suited for part creation, design work and large assembly. SOLIDOWORKS effortlessly manages complex designs, multi-part assemblies and large simulations all at the same time. Its built-in simulation tools offer the best all in one solution. Design itereations, drawings, and testing can be completed all within the same program.
Read Jacob Smith's full review
Auzzi Amini | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

My experience with SOLIDWORKS as a mechanical design engineer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SOLIDWORKS is being used in my company for designing parts, modelling of assemblies, and preparing 2D production drawings.
  • Comprehensive standard parts library (such as bearings, fasteners, etc.)
  • Easy to work with (intuitive)
  • Comprehensive and easy to use hole drilling and tapping options
  • The GD&T options could be updated to latest ASME standards
  • PDM interface could be modernized
  • Simulation for static finite element analysis could be expanded to provide more contact options.
SOLIDWORKS is very useful for designing 3D solid parts and modelling designs. It is very easy to use and learn. It includes a comprehensive standard library, and it is widely used among manufacturing companies, which makes transferring files easier.
Read Auzzi Amini's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

SOLIDWORKS Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently the only person in our company using SOLIDWORKS. We mostly use 2D drawings for our jobs, but with more and more companies going to 3D modeling, it was important for us to be able to decipher what those customers are sending us. SOLIDWORKS has been very handy in that it allows us to not only open individual part files, but we can open an assembly file and see how exactly the parts are going to fit together.
  • Allows you to rotate a 3D part to see any angle you need
  • Can easily generate a 2D drawing, showing each face of a part
  • You can view entire assemblies from any angle you want
  • Dimension based drawing so you can change a dimension without redrawing an entire part
  • It's a little bit complicated when you're used to simple 2D drawings
  • The program crashes quite frequently - SAVE OFTEN!
  • Updates are tied to a subscription that must remain active
SOLIDWORKS seems to be very popular as there are a lot of resources on the internet to help teach you how to use the program. So even if you don't want to or aren't able to pay for formal training, YouTube will get you through a lot of issues that might come up.
SOLIDWORKS has a very good sheet metal system, as well as a weldment feature for building tubing structures. And on top of the default sheet metal thicknesses and tubing sizes, you can make your own custom sizes that will fit your specific needs.
We use SOLIDWORKS mostly to build sheet metal parts. In SOLIDWORKS, you can build the part in 3D, in its finished state, then export the part to a .dxf file as a flat pattern so that you can cut/form the piece.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2020

Best 3D prototyping software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SOLIDWORKS to make prototypes and create actual drawings related to machine developments.
  • Easy to model ideas due to user-friendly interface and multitasking tools.
  • Can save work with many available formats which can be referred to many other compatible software and devices.
  • Lots of learning and helping materials are readily available when issues are raised.
  • Needs to be lightweight in order to run on low performance machines with out sticking.
  • Needs to improve 2D drawing tools to be more user friendly.
  • Needs to improve inbuilt rendering software to be more realistic.
Designing 3D models of working prototypes of a machine, this is excellent. By starting from parts modeling, it provides the ability to assemble and analyze the model. It provides options to convert drawings directly from 3D models.
If we need only to make 2D drawings, this is not the best but for 3D, excellent.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2020

Easy to learn

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company designs and manufactures mechanical batteries for energy storage. SOLIDWORKS is primarily used by the design teams. They use it to design components and assemblies, make engineering drawings, and conduct finite element analyses (FEA). I work in the manufacturing department, and we use SOLIDWORKS to design equipment, fixtures, gauges, or other custom tools for the manufacturing process.
  • I have been using the Weldments feature recently, and I was surprised by how easy it is to make a weldment using a simple 3D sketch.
  • Our product contains over 200 components, and many of them have lots of details in them. SOLIDWORKS loads and runs smoothly.
  • There are extensive online forums to help you build whatever you need to. It is very useful.
  • Getting the right parameters set when doing an FEA is always challenging for me. Attaching conditions to a face, for example, covers it with little arrows. On complex assemblies, I can't tell what is even selected.
  • The license management software could use an update in UI. It seems like some tabs are unnecessary and it is not immediately clear what is and isn't checked out.
SOLIDWORKS has become the industry standard from what I can tell from the tech jobs I have worked at. It is pretty easy to get acquainted with and has lots of functionality. Since it is so widely used, you can easily solve all of your problems with a simple Google search.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

SOLIDWORKS is a solid choice for rapid prototyping and 3D printing CAD

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I first used SOLIDWORKS nearly 20 years ago (!!) while earning my engineering degree, and then later in my engineering consulting work. After a break of a few years, I've returned to using SOLIDWORKS for personal/entrepreneurial use, primarily for 3D printing of custom parts for radio-controlled aircraft.

The highly intuitive, visual UI and seamless backend integration into my 3D printing workflow, meant that alongside my familiarity from my earlier career, it was the obvious choice.
  • Highly visual and intuitive UI--my 10-year-old son can use it to create complex designs!
  • Has very wide integration of CAD to all the other things you'd use CAD for (fluid dynamics, stress testing, CNC, 3D printing).
  • It has very useful presentation modes to be able to present working concepts.
  • Resource hungry (but then you should expect that!)
  • So full-featured that sometimes it's a little confusing
  • Community support is vibrant, but could benefit from more structure.
In my mind, whilst it's understandably expensive (for the commercial versions), SOLIDWORKS is the leading CAD software on the market. I would recommend it for all engineering students, anyone who wants to be able to quickly prototype an idea and then test it out (whether that is visually or via integration with CFD/stress testing software). This is the real deal.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

SOLIDWORKS - great software for design!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses SOLIDWORKS for all of our CAD needs, to design parts, create drawings, build assemblies, etc. SOLIDWORKS is used by the product development team only.
  • SOLIDWORKS has an intuitive UI with very good online tutorials and training courses.
  • SOLIDWORKS PDM does a great job at managing revision histories.
  • SOLIDWORKS is great for creating models of parts and assemblies.
  • Sometimes SOLIDWORKS pushes through too many updates and it can cause issues when working with files from older versions.
SOLIDWORKS is well suited for CAD for designing parts and assemblies at any scale. SOLIDWORKS makes it easy to make multiple configurations of parts and assemblies and also has great capabilities for modeling (including final elements). SOLIDWORKS has an easy UI to allow for design of parts and drawings that are very customizable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

SOLIDWORKS for manufacturing ease

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Engineering department is using SOLIDWORKS. It is effortless to use, user-friendly and fast you can do a lot of things in it. Complex assemblies are easy to make, user-defined drawing paper, good quality rendering, realistic simulation, suitable for designing small parts, for 3D print, realistic-looking rendering, materials, scene, animation (motion) is good, and decent report of simulation.
  • Focus on ease of use allows the user to produce a 3D design in a fastest and easiest way.
  • Provides a seamless and integrated workflow
  • Create, validate, manage, and transform ideas to produce an excellent product design.
  • It can be slow, sometimes gets stuck while processing multiple parts.
  • Its time consuming to form an object from different parts.
  • File import from other software can be tricky and does not work very well.
With SOLIDWORKS files can be shared with different clients.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2020

Easy to use, easy to learn, does the job.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our engineering department uses SOLIDWORKS for mechanical design and simulation needs for consumer electronic products. We design components and full assemblies, analyze the parts for manufacturability using inspection tools, and conduct simulation to determine thermal performance of products, which often include both active and passive cooling features (heatsinks and fans) designed as part of the component. We use SOLIDWORKS to communicate with suppliers and some customers within the SOLIDWORKS format.
  • Ease of use.
  • Flexibility.
  • Compatibility for files with annual software versions.
  • Load/startup time.
I would recommend SOLIDWORKS for any situation where a company needs to do general product design and modelling, for basic simulation needs. SOLIDWORKS works very well within small businesses where it can be the design tool for these needs in an isolated environment. It is not as well suited for advanced surface modelling in automotive and aerospace markets. This also makes it difficult to work with some external customers, depending on the industry - for example, most of our larger OEM automotive customers use CATIA exclusively, making file transfer more difficult.
Read this authenticated review
Cory Puuri | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

SOLIDWORKS is a solid choice for 3D CAD

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EAA offers it for free to EAA members but we also use SOLIDWORKS in our Aircraft Maintenance area to draw parts for FAA approval of replacement owner-manufactured parts. The product is a powerful tool from sketch to manufacturing. Even with all this power, it is pretty straightforward to learn how to use it.
  • Makes changes fast. It adapts the assembly to part modifications and then saves the changes back to the part models.
  • Interface checking and analysis are simple yet effective.
  • Parts and template lists are quick and easy to generate.
  • CAM is only 2.5 axis.
  • The import of scanned objects should require less work.
  • Adding features could be more intuitive. Tube trims and weldments take too much tinkering.
SOLIDWORKS does well with complex parts and assemblies. It also works well with iterative development processes and analysis. If you plan to share the assembly with multiple people for manufacturing purposes, I wouldn’t use any other product. Their manufacturing network is extensive.

It is too complicated to learn for simple sketches where precision is not important. For example, I was drawing a stepstool that would fold and it was faster to sketch it out on paper.
Read Cory Puuri's full review
Sean Nutley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

SOLIDWORKS is the top of the line 3D modeling software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SOLIDWORKS for designing mechanical components, building assemblies of those components, stress testing new and existing designs as well as rendering images for Sales and Marketing. The 3D models we create are used to create 2D drawings for manufacturing or machining shops. We also send our models to consultants looking for a layout or part files can be sent out to program CNC machinery.
  • Creating models in steps that are easily modified later
  • Assembling part files and keeping them organized
  • Drawings need some flexibility on creating annotations in a certain way
  • Sometimes there are unexplained crashes
SOLIDWORKS is a very easy to learn software and is very versatile in use with other programs. There are many features within that are suited to any industry and are all easily learn-able. The amount of export options is very handy for whatever the manufacturer needs. There really isn't a situation/industry where SOLIDWORKS would not be useful.
Read Sean Nutley's full review
Keith Cordero | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Powerful and easy to use software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization. Each department has access to it through EPDM and we can access all files each department has created using the shared folder. We use it to 3D model our parts. We also will create an engineering print from each 3D file so that our company has a standard print that they can use to build our parts.
  • Great at 3D modeling.
  • Great with FEA analysis.
  • Formatting has always been an issue for me.
  • Creating a mid-plane has always been frustrating.
Solidworks is well suited if you want to create a 3D model or a part of an assembly. Every powerful and has a lot of custom features. It is less appropriate for creating threads on bolts and screws. They have a function that creates the image of a thread on a bolt, but it is not an actual thread cut into the part. They need to have some type of auto thread cutting function.
Read Keith Cordero's full review
Michael Greene | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

Designing with SOLIDWORKS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a long-time user of SOLIDWORKS, I have seen the progression from the beginning. In its infancy it was a good option at a good price for a stand-alone 3D program. It was occasionally unstable in the early years but has progressed to a very stable user-friendly platform for mechanical design applications. I have designed many complex progressive stamping dies using SOLIDWORKS Professional and continue to do so. The time saved by using toolbox and library features is one of the best benefits.
  • 3D modeling.
  • Automatic drawing creation.
  • Integration with Mastercam.
  • Needs more progressive die components in toolbox.
  • Drawing layers and colors are difficult to work with.
  • Complex sketches are still somewhat slow to rebuild.
SOLIDWORKS is very well suited for modeling complex 3D parts and assemblies. Simple 2D drawings for laser, water jet, or wire EDM are better suited for DraftSight.
Read Michael Greene's full review
Vlad Kalika | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Easy to use CAD for smaller assemblies

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SOLIDWORKS is used by the engineering team in the Cummins Electrified Power business unit for mechanical and electrical design.
  • Quick 3D modeling.
  • FEA analysis.
  • Good for smaller assemblies.
  • Weight and center of gravity analysis.
  • Crashes constantly with large assemblies.
  • It does not do well with imported files such as .step.
  • 3D routing in SW Electrical is clumsy.
  • Collaboration tools are behind the competition.
SOLIDWORKS is great for the majority of the designs but fails miserably in very large assemblies.
Read Vlad Kalika's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Opinion on SOLIDWORKS for product design

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm gonna refer mainly to my previous job since now I only use SolidWorks for personal matters. I worked in a product design company so we used SolidWorks as a tool in the projects. It was the main resource to develop the product, from the first stages of creation through to the final product.
  • It has the precision required for manufacturing that is necessary so that you can guarantee that the product can be produced in the end.
  • SolidWorks makes it possible to visualize how the product is going to look in the end.
  • It is intuitive, so you don't waste time looking for resources or tools in the program.
  • It gives feedbacks about errors in the parts so that you can review and correct them.
  • The rendering function "Photoview" could be improved in terms of realism.
  • The metal sheet resources are not so intuitive and could be improved. I often get stuck in some errors that I can't figure out the solution or the cause.
It is more appropriate to model parts, products, and make assemblies (even the more complex ones). I do not recommend using it to model constructions or bigger spaces.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

3D CAD design software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a FabLab in the school, and we use SOLIDWORKS to design our products, and then we prototype the 3D model in the 3D printer.
  • 3D modeling for mechanical designs.
  • SOLIDWORKS has an excellent photorealistic rendering that helps you so much to see how your final product will be.
  • Interface: I think they should make a friendlier interface to look more sophisticated. This is not a con; actually, it’s just an improvement.
SOLIDWORKS is very appropriate for mechanical designs, but not for architectural designs. For the architectural design, you should use AutoCAD.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Schaefer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

SOLIDWORKS: A legend in the making.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SOLIDWORKS is our mainstay computer-aided design software package and is utilized by all of our office locations across the globe for Gardner Denver Medical. It replaced other leading 2D and 3D CAD platforms many years ago; complimentary add-in packages from DS-SOLIDWORKS have been added over the years and are part of our day-to-day engineering work. Being the number one PC-based 3D solid modeling CAD package on the market, we use SOLIDWORKS, Simulation, Enterprise PDM (product data management), Inspection, and Composer to create, edit, manage, and document our engineering designs. We rely upon SOLIDWORKS' ability to open other CAD formats in our relationships with vendors and customers alike. And we lean upon our reseller's expertise to aid us throughout each year. Personnel outside of engineering takes advantage of eDrawings as a means of communicating 3D collateral. SOLIDWORKS has been, for the most part, easy to deploy and maintain and predictable with regards to cost of ownership.
  • Having built themselves as the premier desktop CAD package, SOLIDWORKS has tools for almost every design-related.
  • Learning SOLIDWORKS is very straightforward and there exists a large body of free tutorials and on-line help forums.
  • SOLIDWORKS' partner program means having access to world-class software applications that run native within SOLIDWORKS.
  • The FEA and CFD tools (Simulation) are best-in-class in-CAD analysis softwares and have helped shape that particular landscape since their adoption inside SOLIDWORKS.
  • The reseller channel may, perhaps, be the greatest strength of SOLIDWORKS. It means guaranteed help/support, access to updates, a a vibrant user community.
  • To date, the baked in surfacing tools lack power compared to dedicated surfacing software.
  • In a similar vein, the core modeling kernel is not owned by SOLIDWORKS themselves and so there exists limitations with regards to implementing certain modeling/math.
  • SOLIDWORKS is playing catchup to other online vendors of CAD (notable Onshape); instead of being the once leader, they are being forced to compare themselves. This, however, may work to their advantage and in turn allow them to produce a better on-line CAD tool.
Generally speaking, SOLIDWORKS is still the number one desktop CAD tool. If, however, one wishes for limited 3D modeling capabilities and does not want to pay for commercial 3D solid modeling, then other tools are available that may or may not be as "good" as SOLIDWORKS from an ease-of-use and modeling power standpoint. SOLIDWORKS' in-CAD simulation tools defined what in-CAD simulation should be, period. Other solvers and software companies have only followed suit. So if you're looking for affordable FEA or CFD AND CAD, then SOLIDWORKS is best-fitted.
Read Christopher Schaefer's full review
Uday Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2019

Level the playing field with SolidWorks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company develops new technology, involving chemical engineering processes and unit operations, for the capture and conversion of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases to usable products with industrial value. Because we are a technology start-up, it is used across our currently small organization. Because we already use DraftSight (a product of the same company that developed SolidWorks), the transition is easier. We use DraftSight to create design drawings of a physical component in 2D, and the use of SolidWorks to produce a 3D version. Now, we can use the 3D version to route piping, electrical conduit, and even conduct flow simulations in the 3D model.
  • Conversion of a detailed 2D design into a 3D physical model that we can manipulate (rotate, inspect, modify).
  • Route piping, conduit and other components through the model.
  • Conduct flow simulation to understand how we can improve our physical model.
  • These features would have taken us months of work using traditional design tools. Now we can go from concept to a final model in days.
  • While it is not difficult to install, it does require some patience.
  • Because we use DraftSight, our learning curve is likely shorter, but video tutorials would help.
  • The software is very sophisticated; if we could add pop-ups like autofill suggests in other software, it would be helpful.
Especially for a start-up entity with few resources in house, SolidWorks gives us the capability to match the sophistication of a larger competitor in a few days. Few things are more important to us than being able to turn on a dime, adapting to improvements in our technology field, which is evolving rapidly. We could only accomplish this by both being nimble and having the cutting edge tools we can afford. SolidWorks provides us with this capability.
Read Uday Singh's full review
Nebojsa Popovic | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

SolidWorks 2001-2018 experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolidWorks was used in my company since inception and I was using the software since 2002. As a mainstream 3D parametric software design tool it really made a huge difference in productivity and versatility in design process and drafting. Year after year customer-driven changes and improvements aligned with my advancements in career and my company's penetration to the markets. It is a must-have type of software in today's industry.
  • 3D modeling.
  • Assemblies.
  • Drawing updates.
  • Integration for parts, assemblies and drawings.
  • Some software stability.
  • Version conversion to earlier releases for file exchange.
  • Subscription value for the money.
Pros:
  • As a mainstream design tool for the mechanical industry, it is a top tier option
  • Collaboration with other users
  • File format flexibility for data exchange
  • Various industry-driven tools for design
  • Design for manufacturing driven
Cons:
  • Civil engineering applications very limited
  • Not suitable for design by code application, especially if FEA modules are used.
  • Strangely, does not collaborate well or at all with Catia even as a part of the same company
Read Nebojsa Popovic's full review
Benjamin Reilly | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

Solidworks is a powerful 3D CAD package with a few holes

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solidworks is used for all design and verification of fixtures, tooling, brackets, and components in a production plant. Solidworks is our primary 3D CAD package for the development of tools.
  • Solidworks has simple modeling and sketching.
  • Solidworks has good conversion to drawings.
  • Solidworks has adequate assembly control and mates.
  • Solidworks could improve on collaboration tools.
  • Solidworks needs to fix bugs before releasing features.
  • Solidworks is a resource hog, and the resource monitor is constantly going off.
  • Solidworks could have better assembly controls.
Solidworks is a reasonable 3D CAD program, just under Inventor in my book, and above the "free" or other cloud-based services. It is easier than Creo.
Read Benjamin Reilly's full review
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

SolidWorks is a "Solid" product that I can recommend for 3D rendering and design.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SOLIDWORKS is used as our primary 3D rendering software for design and development. It is used by our engineering department only and suits our needs perfectly fine.
  • SOLIDWORKS offers solid support through 3rd party vendors. I've yet to find a time where I wasn't able to find a satisfactory answer for an issue I was having.
  • Stable releases with continuing improvements in the software.
  • Communication with us on a yearly basis to see how the software is working for us and what improvements we would like to see.
  • SOLIDWORKS is extremely particular is what video cards and versions of Windows they will support. It seems as though they are looking for reasons to not have to support their software.
  • Missing functionality would be the stress analysis portion that requires additional licenses. Aside from that, everything is pretty good with it.
Per the words of one of our designers,"Its one of the most complete pieces software I've used in my 30 years."
Read Tracy Burton's full review
Bob Householder | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

SOLIDWORKS, the right choice for now and later

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a trusted SOLIDWORKS gold partner, we used SOLIDWORKS every day to check the performance of our software in the SOLIDWORKS environment. SOLIDWORKS is a great company with an excellent product. Our plug-in works with other similar MCAD packages, but SOLIDWORKS has the easiest interface to use with seamless product updates. From past company experience, SOLIDWORKS provided an excellent MCAD experience.
  • SOLIDWORKS is easy to pick up. The interface is clean, consistent and intuitive.
  • SOLIDWORKS has a great partner program, so CAE software vendors can integrate specialized tools into the CAD platform.
  • SOLIDWORKS is long-standing. This has become the default MCAD tool for many industries and professionals.
  • The surfacing could be improved, and that's the reason I have used Rhino3D for this specialized purpose.
  • Other programs, such as Rhino3D, have allowed for backward compatibility, where SOLIDWORKS has not allowed this.
  • An online version of SOLIDWORKS, such as what Onshape did, would be very helpful for many designers for collaboration.
For detailed and accurate component design and mechanical assembly, SOLIDWORKS is an excellent choice. SOLIDWORKS has a tremendous reach and is applicable for every industry, making it a great choice for the mechanical engineer and designer early in their career. SOLIDWORKS' surface could use improvement to make it the best all-around MCAD tool.
Read Bob Householder's full review
Alan Tillman | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

SOLIDWORKS - use for heavy equipment design and production

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SOLIDWORKS was being used to create our engineering production drawings to fabricate large equipment in the wastewater treatment industry. It was used only in the engineering design group. It addressed not having to make hand drawings to pass onto production as well as creating the 3D models of parts that were able to be put together into assemblies. By assembling the rendered parts we could see what spacing to expect and if we had incorrectly modeled any parts prior to actually making them and trying to put them together.
  • Creates detailed renderings of parts.
  • Production drawings can be made from renderings.
  • Assemblies allow you to see if all the pieces fit together prior to production.
  • We were not using a CNC for any parts now, but I do remember back in school we had to use AutoCAD for the CNC we had at school. I don't know if that was a SOLIDWORKS or a CNC issue, and I would assume this has been done in the last 5 years, but if not, that integration would really be my only complaint.
In engineering design and manufacturing it was a great tool to create drawings and test assemblies prior to fabrication. It was very useful in that application. In the past, it was not useful for parts that needed to be put through the CNC, but that was years ago so it may have changed since I had that issue.
Read Alan Tillman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

SOLIDWORKS Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SOLIDWORKS is used across out whole organization. It is used for design, FEA, rendering, and visualization purposes. In the design group, we use it to create, edit, and share parts and assemblies across a wide range of applications, including consumer goods, machinery, devices, etc.
  • The collaborative work environment is a cool and useful feature where groups of people can work on the same model at the same time, and SOLIDWORKS ensures that you don't overwrite each other's work.
  • The ease and amount of customization options are very useful for creating a personalized and intuitive user interface, whether SOLIDWORKS is your native CAD package or not.
  • It is very easy to quickly edit a model you have already created. The software allows sketch and feature editing without having to take the time to actually enter the sketch/feature environment.
  • The use of configurations and configurations-specific dimensions in the same sketch is very useful for creating different forms of the same part
  • SOLIDWORKS gets very slow when using large assemblies, parts with many features, and sketches with many fully-defined entities.
  • Saving can become extremely slow when there are STL files inserted into your part file. Has taken up to 10 minutes to save one part file. However, using the Save As option and giving the same part a new name will reduce save time by 10x. Seems to be some room for improvement here.
  • When using the loft command without guide curves, there are two orbs that can be moved to determine how the profile twists from one face of the loft to the other(s). However, you cannot constrain these points and they can change position in different configurations. These points should be able to be constrained.
SOLIDWORKS is well suited for creating fully-define, parametric parts. SOLIDWORKS makes it easy to quickly edit your parts, which can be done on the fly during meetings. It is well suited for a collaborative environment, as well as for creating complex, working assemblies. SOLIDWORKS is less appropriate for complex surface modeling and non-parametric applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

To create fast and easy 3D objects, use SOLIDWORKS!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, SOLIDWORKS is being used by the engineering department to create high precision parts, such as gears, handles, zippers, metal structures. With these designs our company prints them with 3D printers, to be able to sell them and obtain a constant cash flow. Also with this tool we are able to show simulations for projects presented to other companies, thanks to its excellent graphic engine, the functions we want to use in projects can be shown in detail.
  • I think it is the best CAD tool in terms of design of extreme technical details.
  • Its system of assembly of pieces is very useful when it comes to show off or create high-quality simulations.
  • Particularly I think sketch tools are excellent for create 2D drawings of pieces, thanks to this the process of creation of 3D objects is streamlined.
  • Its rendering system is very professional and provides very great visual details.
  • Very unfavorable not being able to open versions of modern SOLIDWORKS in older versions.
  • Sometimes it is difficult to understand the process of rendering 3D parts.
  • It is not capable of processing solid pieces of STL format with many surfaces.
Well suited:
For companies that need to make designs of small mechanical parts it is very useful. We can create these pieces in less than hourly, and therefore give quick responses to our customers. Also to show mechanical simulations to companies.
Less appropriate:
Creating 3D objects as sculptures is not very appropriate since it does not have mesh design. Do not try to modify STL format files, since it causes many design errors.
Read this authenticated review

About SOLIDWORKS

Dassault Systemes offers SOLIDWORKS, a computer-aided design (CAD) system for education and manufacturing supporting 2D or 3D design, electrical design, simulations, and product development with collaboration tools.

SOLIDWORKS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No