StarWind Virtual SAN Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
26 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Norman Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

A Game-Changing SAN

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using StarWind Virtual SAN in 2016 after evaluating it. It is used as the backbone of our Hyper-V cluster that runs all of our business-critical virtual machines. Our entire infrastructure is run on our StarWind Virtual SAN, including domain controllers, database servers, file/print servers, application servers, and all of our supporting virtual machines. StarWind has greatly reduced our CAPEX and OPEX costs; prior to adopting StarWind Virtual SAN, we had a physical SAN and all of the fiber-channel and networking infrastructure to support it. Now, we simply have 2 nodes that do everything!
  • Reliability - The StarWind nodes are Active/Active, so we can operate without any downtime if a node is down for any reason. The built-in data sync capability also assures us that our data is safe.
  • Management and Maintenance - Although I hardly have to open the management console, management and maintenance are very simplified.
  • Dependability - It just works! The Cluster Shared Volumes created in StarWind are always there for our Hyper-V cluster. Even if a node goes down, the other node does all the work. Downtime is simply a thing of the past.
  • Value - CAPEX and OPEX costs are significantly lower vs buying and maintaining a traditional SAN.
  • Ease of upgrades - Upgrading requires no downtime! Just update one node at a time and wait for it to reboot and you're done.
  • Performance - I worked with StarWind's engineers before I purchased my hardware. A mixture of SSDs, HDDs, 10GB Ethernet cards, and 1GB Ethernet cards was all I needed to achieve high IOPs and excellent performance in this hyper-converged solution.
  • Data sync after an unplanned hardware failure - Although this doesn't affect the production environment or the end-user experience, from a peace of mind perspective, I like to see when my data is synchronized between both nodes. I wish the sync was faster.
StarWind Virtual SAN is well suited in any scenario where a SAN would have been deployed. StarWind's engineers and/or whitepapers can help you calculate what hardware is needed to perform at a certain threshold to support whatever scenario you are trying to accomplish. It is well-integrated and proven with Hyper-V, vSphere, and other solutions.
Read Norman Allen's full review
Robin Kirmeier | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

StarWind SAN is a excellent software SAN solution that is easy to use and very reliable.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have set up a dual StarWind SAN with a fault-tolerant volume for our critical virtual servers in addition to some non fault-tolerant volumes for less critical virtual servers in both our corporate HQ and one of our large divisions. The corporate site is using HyperV and the other division using VMWare ESX. Between the two sites, we have 15+ physical servers with over 150 VMs running. Our corporate site used Dell servers w/SAS drives for the 2 StarWind nodes, and the division site built 2 Whitebox type servers using NAS specific SATA drives. Both solutions have been outstanding.
  • StarWind is an excellent software-based SAN solution that is easy to set up and manage.
  • Fault tolerant volumes provide peace of mind and solves downtime due to storage.
  • The only improvement I would like to see in StarWind is centralized management for UPS Battery backup shutdown in the event of a power loss.
StarWind provides an easy and economical way to create a fault tolerate storage volume for virtual machines.
Read Robin Kirmeier's full review
André Marques | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

StarWind - A VSAN you can build, then trust.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a VSAN for Hyper-V Clusters. We originally had 2 2012 R2 Clusters and are now migrating to Server 2019. We needed a SAN that could deliver different performance tiers, be highly available, scalable, and adapted to our size and budget. We built our own nodes and validated the HW choices with StarWind support.
  • Simple to configure and manage.
  • Our choice of hardware.
  • High availability, with separate nodes allowing for easy maintenance.
  • Easy to tier, creating fast or cheap storage and letting us use what we have or exactly what we need.
  • Better performance on storage-separated mode.
Best suited for Hyper-V Hyper-Converged Clusters, where you can have a very fast and reliable 2 node cluster.
Read André Marques's full review
Michael Dotter | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

StarWind for the WIN

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used StarWind Virtual SAN with 3 Lenovo servers with SSDs for our in-house data center. We run multiple servers through a 10gbit fiber connection. Works great.
  • Simple interface
  • Just works
  • Graphical interface is easy to read and understand
  • Support is awesome
  • Easier setup with vlans
  • Pricing is a little difficult to understand.
StarWind Virtual SAN replaced an expensive HP lefthand setup. Just works. We have not had any issues and speed is awesome. This will work great with VMWARE and Lenovo.
Read Michael Dotter's full review
Dmitry Sysin | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2019

StarWind Virtual SAN is a good choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
StarWind Virtual SAN is used in our organization on servers for high availability. Hyper-V-based virtual machines that host database management servers access fault-tolerant storage. This allows us to give uninterrupted work of our employees with databases even while servicing one of the servers.
  • Fault-tolerant and high-performance storage.
  • Servers of one cluster can be located at a distance from each other.
  • It works even on the oldest servers and requires nothing but two network cards.
  • For me, management through poweshell is not very clear, and there is very little documentation on this issue.
  • There is no multilanguage, but technical support speaks my native language perfectly.
StarWind Virtual SAN is an excellent and inexpensive solution that allows you to quickly configure fault-tolerant storage for any task. This is true when you already have a server and you do not need to spend extra money on the purchase of data storage systems.
Read Dmitry Sysin's full review
Douglas Edwards | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Great product at a great price point

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the entire organization, and resolves my pre-requisites of high availability and failover.
  • High Availability
  • Failover
  • Replication
  • Bugs with hardware (Broadcom NICs and Jumboframes)
  • Could use more video tutorials
  • Describe additional support options
Great for setting up a vSAN at a price point that is very competitive, both using storage within hosts or external storage.
Read Douglas Edwards's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

A great solution with amazing support!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use StarWind Virtual SAN to provide high availability for our 2-node Hyper-V hyper-converged cluster. It provides high availability and zero downtime for our entire company. We initially looked at S2D but found it isn't really designed for 2-node hyper-converged clusters. We demoed StarWind VSAN because of all the great reviews and mentions from the community, but what sold me was an amazing support. During the demo, I was able to work with a very knowledgeable engineer and after our purchase, an engineer validated EVERY aspect of the configuration. Not only did they validate everything and correct problems, but they also explained everything and really increased my knowledge. Support even checked back several times to see if I needed anything.
  • High availability.
  • Seamless fail-over.
  • Rock solid performance.
  • None that I've experienced.
StarWind Virtual SAN worked extremely well for our 2-node hyper-converged cluster. The performance has been great and looks like it will scale with our future growth. It really works well for our smaller deployment, but I feel that with its scale-out capability it will be a valuable product for the foreseeable future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Starwind VSAN solution for SMB to enjoy simple enterprise storage solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by the small office of JLT in Barbados. It supports 11 users on-premises and runs across three VMware physical hosts. It addresses problems of business continuity due to potential system failures that can happen and hence VSAN allows for redundancy to be apart of the business resilience in having highly available systems. Another business issue was less complex and integrated storage solution where all computing services can run and be managed from a single hypervisor platform such as VMware.
  • Integration into already existing infrastructure.
  • Provides immediate high availability of storage for VMs.
  • Excellent customer support if you do not have storage experience IT staff essentially Starwind highly experienced engineers provides support not only for VSAN but also on your VM estate to ensure your infrastructure is optimal.
  • It can have an easier way to reboot the VMs that manage the storage for the hypervisor to avoid long syncing between storage nodes. My storage runs on Win 2012 VM and when patching the OS I have to reboot and sometimes the VSAN service hangs and I have to force a reboot. OS boots fine but sometimes it does long syncs, like 11 hours to replicate changes to the other two storage nodes.
  • A manual assignment of which hosts is primary if all hosts failed due to sudden power outage. This can allow for the host that has a priority 1 status not to have a fill synchronization of storage as the other storage nodes in cluster syncs to this host.
  • The VSAN software has an all-compassing feature set in the console that may concern other products of Starwind. I suggest a more simple console for system admins like me and closer to Vmware builtin VSAN solution.
It is well suited for tight budget environments that need enterprise storage features. Such features like high availability and disaster recovery or business continuity.

It is also good for remote management of enterprise storage in branch offices.

Starwind now sells appliance solutions with dedicated IT support so that is a plus for persons with larger User environment with a lack of IT resources.

It may not suit a basic test environment or worth the cost if the estate has a hyper V shop for a small user base less than 50 as the VSAN licensing may be prohibited when you already have Microsoft licenses and sufficient support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

StarWind Virtual SAN Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use StarWind vSAN as two node HA solution. My older colleagues have been using it for 5 years and it was mostly used as a data store for saving all workloads. Now, we've purchased a new license and we plan to use it as VMs storage. So far, we have deployed a dozen virtual machines and set up high availability without any hassle.
  • Storage mirroring. This means that you always have at least one copy of the data in case of failure of one of the hosts.
  • Price is much more affordable than competing products.
  • Saves space in the rack and you don't need to spend money to purchase additional hardware storage.
  • You don't need 3rd host as a witness to gain HA.
  • They should work on the GUI to improve visualization.
  • Better reporting service from the software itself.
  • Possibility of sending email notifications.
Works very well with vMotion technology on ESXi hosts so maintaining data and virtual machines is very simple and secure and you don't have to fear for data loss. It is a great solution for businesses that don't have a large IT budget but still want secure and highly accessible work environment.
Read this authenticated review
Branden Beachy | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2019

StarWind VirtualSAN - A cost effective SAN solution that gives you hardware flexibility

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use StarWind VirtualSan as our primary production SAN for our entire school district. It runs all of our virtual servers. The only thing we don't use it for is video storage and backups. We have found that it has greatly reduced our costs when it comes to our virtual environment. We are able to use commodity hardware that we can get good prices on to achieve high-performance storage without paying for proprietary hardware/software.
  • The nodes are Active/Active, allowing us to take any node down for maintenance at any time, without having to shut anything down, or even really announce that we are doing maintenance. Since all hosts see all nodes over all paths, we hardly ever experience any SAN downtime.
  • Upgrades are painless. Run the latest installation file, it takes the node down (which doesn't affect any hosts), upgrades, and then brings everything back up without any interruptions .
  • Stability. Once it is up and running, it requires almost no hand-holding. I have gone months without opening the console. I have it set to send me alarms, and I hardly ever get any - it just sits there and runs and I don't have to worry about it.
  • vSphere integration would be a major improvement. The ability to manage storage from a single interface would be very useful.
  • The UI can be somewhat cumbersome, especially if you are not familiar with it. Seems like it could be updated.
  • Some kind of storage tiering and pooling over multiple physical devices, and also abstracting that away from the Hypervisor.
Any small to mid-size setting where you don't need hundreds of volumes could benefit from it, especially if cost is an issue. It doesn't provide some of the "secret sauce" functionality of other SAN solutions, but for basic storage needs, you can make it as fast as you want by providing whatever speed hardware you deem necessary. If you need to manage a large number of volumes (>100), the UI would start to get cumbersome, and the lack of any kind of storage pooling mechanism would start to become an issue.
Read Branden Beachy's full review
Ted Feddema | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

StarWind Virtual SAN is flexible and affordable when creating cluster environments

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
StarWind VSAN software allows us to build a fairly inexpensive two-node cluster, and provide a fault-tolerant solution to our users. The cluster supports the entire organization, which operates on a 24/7 365 days basis. With a limited budget for IT, we were able to provide a solution utilizing local storage on the cluster nodes instead of an external SAN.
  • Being able to work with any storage configuration on the nodes.
  • It keeps everything in perfect sync.
  • It integrates well with the Microsoft Hyper-V and Cluster technologies.
  • We haven't come across any problems so far.
For our environment, being a relatively small organization, the Starwind Virtual SAN solution was very cost-effective and performs very well for us.
Read Ted Feddema's full review
Evgenii Korsak | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Clustering with StarWind VSAN

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is a public school district with 1000+ staff and around 10,000 students. Before StarWind VSAN, we used stand-alone Hyper-V hypervisors with DAS for all of our server infrastructure needs. Server configuration changes and updates resulted in downtime for VMs and needed to be scheduled in advance. By StarWind VSAN as shared storage for Hyper-V cluster, we are able to reduce downtime and improve the redundancy of our infrastructure.
  • VSAN can be used with existing servers, no need to purchase additional hardware. Vendor lock-in is low.
  • Licensing is uncomplicated. Free version with limited functionality is available, as well as the trial of the full version.
  • Support is very knowledgeable and helpful. StarWind offered advice on how to fix possible performance bottlenecks during configuration of the cluster, for example.
  • Documentation for Hyper-V clustering is very good. Many vendors are focused on VMware but not StarWind
  • Cluster configuration, while not complicated, can be a time-consuming process.
In my opinion, StarWind VSAN is very good for Hyper-V clusters, hyper-converged clusters built on existing hardware, small organizations (2 node cluster is possible). For organizations using VMware and/or looking to purchase custom hardware appliances, there are many choices available. Without discounting StarWind VSAN, I would shop around more if I looked to purchase appliances or used VMware as a hypervisor.
Read Evgenii Korsak's full review
Anton Chernomazov | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2019

Use StarWind Virtual SAN!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company's storage infrastructure is built upon StarWind Virtual SAN. All consumers of big pieces of data (virtualization hosts, database management servers, and just file servers) are connected to storage directly through the iSCSI protocol. Most consumers are using high-availability targets.
StarWind storage clusters allow us to deploy and to evolve high-availability storage infrastructure while keeping costs low.
  • At the beginning we had DAS. With StarWind, we transformed two ordinary servers to fault-tolerance storage. We got higher-level storage quality just after buying a software solution.
  • StarWind's management console is simple. One page of instruction is enough to put a new worker in the picture.
  • We placed storage clusters' nodes in different rooms. So local incidents will have local impact only.
  • We upgrade our storage by ordinary disks, RAID-controllers, 10G network cards and disk shelves with low price. We have no hardware vendor dependency.
  • We can maintain nodes of storage clusters without the necessity of stopping our services or difficult migration of these services to another storage.
  • Node's stopping is needed to change cache size or to enable/disable it.
StarWind Virtual SAN is a solid choice if you want to get full-scale easy-expandable storage solution at a low cost. In fact, you can pay only for hardware and get StarWind with just community support for free.
StarWind may be less suitable for situations where you need an all-in-one solution from one vendor who will solve any issues, and high costs are acceptable.
Read Anton Chernomazov's full review
Nikolai Zhitkov | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2019

Great product for the money!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this solution for SAN storage. We have a two-node Microsoft Windows 2016 full SSD (SATA) configuration with RAM cache (500GB each node), and iSCSI to connect HA virtual clusters. Using Mellanox network technology with two 100Gbit switches in HA mode. Also, we have more than sixty MSSQL databases hosted on it.

Virtual SAN has improved stability, performance, and maintenance cost in our organization. This is a great solution for replacement "Hardware", both entry-level and some mid-level storage. It allows you to use ANY consumer or enterprise HDDs and SSDs, and that's a really great thing!
  • High performance.
  • Easy-to-use solution.
  • Great support.
  • Stability and flexibility.
  • I would like to see full support for iSER. This time, technical support does not recommend using iSER on NICs except on an internal (StarWind Node-to-StarWind node) connections.
  • High availability for direct attached hardware drives (without virtual disk layer) could be useful to increase the performance of StarWind virtual storage cluster.
It might be a great solution for speed up old storages by using RAM cache.
It can be used in hybrid environments and it is compatible with various hypervisors and operating systems.
Read Nikolai Zhitkov's full review
Dan Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

A StarWind Virtual SAN Review - from the SMB perspective.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are 100% virtualized at the desktop and utilize VMware for VDI. During the last hardware refresh for our VDI I decided to use StarWind VSAN. Because of some VMware licensing snafus we were left out on the VMware vSAN product. We are a mid-sized architectural firm with 3 offices, some rental "spaces" and a great deal of our users work from home several days a week. We even have a few totally remote employees.

We formerly had a hardware/proprietary SAN solution. It was end of life and their replacement product would not meet our needs. I had to balance performance, speed, cost and reliability. Starwind does a good job of ticking off those boxes.
  • StarWind is economical, it uses your existing hardware and unlike some other VSAN solutions doesn't require a witness node.
  • Because you're using your own hardware - and you get to pick your hardware - you can be very flexible in how you set your VSAN up. Helping balance the cost/performance issue.
  • StarWind setup and support is stellar. They go above and beyond to make sure you are setup correctly.
  • This is repeating a bit but StarWind is very flexible and configurable. Lots of options.
  • Although StarWind supports you through your entire setup and implementation process, which is good, their documentation is pretty weak. It's hard to grab their manual and look up why they did this or that. I would like better reference documentation.
  • Performance monitoring and event viewing could be much better. Should have built in notifications to let you know when something is wrong.
I think the product scales well and though I'm no longer in an enterprise environment - I could see it being used even in an enterprise environment. On the flip side I think it is tailor made for SMB environments. The flexibility on how you want to set it up, their ability to guide you through the setup & implementation process is just what an SMB needs. I think the price compared to hardware solutions is beyond compare. Performance has been great. I think you get a whole lot of bang for your buck.
Read Dan Reynolds's full review
Robert Ivanusa | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

StarWind Virtual SAN Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
StarWind Virtual SAN is used across whole organization (two data centers). Before we implemented StarWind Virtual SAN solution, we used several non-clustered servers with no real time replication solution for data, which presented too of a high operational risk (data loss, service downtime). We did use scripts and backup software, but that was not the right solution. Now we use synchronous replication across two datacenters. DR (BCP) tests (scenarios) were tested and the solution worked as expected.
  • Realtime synchronous replication.
  • Superb support.
  • Straightforward installation.
  • Easy administration.
  • Have no comments.
  • Best for SMB companies, one or two datacenters, up to 200 TB of data.
  • Or for branch offices.
  • Realtime replication might become slow for a very large environment or more than 20 servers.
Read Robert Ivanusa's full review
Tamim Tabiat | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Good Product and Great Support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used StarWind Virtual SAN in one of our schools in the IT Production Department. We needed a cost-effective solution for High Availability System and we didn't want to invest a purchase shared storage. StarWind Virtual SAN was the perfect solution to create a cluster using the existing resources and storage capacity.
  • User Friendly Interface
  • Straight forward installation
  • Experienced Team
  • Excellent Support
  • Recommend something other than RAID10 to benefit from the capacity.
StarWind Virtual SAN Software is user-friendly. The steps to install it and prerequisites are clear and do not need expertise. They have a well trained and experienced support team. The response time in any case is great. The team do follow up any pending issues until cleared. One request would be great if they could recommend something other than RAID10 for HDD in order to gain more storage capacity.
Read Tamim Tabiat's full review
Artur Kamalov | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

StarWind Virtual is a good solution!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software is used in our organization to improve the reliability of storage of all the documentation in our company. It allows you to get a hot reserve of our corporate storage system. In case of the failure of one of the sites, this software will allow us to provide service to employees in full so that they will not notice the difference.
  • This software product allows you to get high availability, there is no interruption in the provision of service.
  • Budget savings. Very profitable solution price.
  • Easy to set up and operate.
  • Continue to release software updates to earlier versions of Windows operating systems. For example, the 2008 version.
StarWind Virtual SAN is well suited for scenarios where it is not profitable for you to buy a storage system separate from the servers. Together with the expensive purchase of a storage system, you buy a StarWind Virtual SAN, and as a result, you get good reservations for your services and data.
Read Artur Kamalov's full review
Tom Francis | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

StarWind, providing high availability storage in a HyperV cluster

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team supports the IT infrastructure of a college, K-12 school and a large church with several hundred full-time staff and about 1,000 total users. We needed a product that would meet our High Availability (HA) needs as well as interoperate with our existing Microsoft HyperV cluster. It currently provides the Virtual Machine (VM) backing for about 40 VMs.
  • StarWind uses a lightweight frontend that runs on top of our HyperV storage nodes. It is fast, easy to navigate and provides a clear indication of the synchronization of our storage across nodes.
  • StarWind leverages the server hardware and HyperV setup we already have. It was easy to stand up a second node and replicate our RAID 5 array to the second server, providing HA.
  • Given the criticality of the storage, we were concerned about support. StarWind provided us several options for support and has always been available when needed. They worked with us on TeamViewer to get the configuration up and running in just a few hours.
  • Starwind currently has a Windows native application that it uses for management. There is not a web-based GUI at this time. This may be a choice to reduce the services running on the storage nodes but does seem like it would be a good alternative.
StarWind fits well in organizations that need a reliable inexpensive storage solution that works well with HyperV. It may not integrate well with high-end management platforms or have an API, but we didn't want the cost or overhead of those.
Read Tom Francis's full review
Grzegorz Magierski | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Good redundant storage system without breaking the bank

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Before we used a cluster of two windows servers with shared storage system on a single SAN. Our theme was working with clustered SQL server with database mirroring. Every part of the system was redundant except for SAN. It was almost satisfying. Every cluster server system we know needs a shared storage system. Cluster could be fully redundant, but this redundancy is worth nothing without a redundant storage system. We had a single SAN system. As a single, SAN was not redundant. But we needed a redundant storage system. We always were afraid that once upon a time our SAN will stop working. We, of course, had backups, but it was not enough. What we needed was a system with no data loss in case of an issue and with no interruption (or only several seconds of interruption) in data processing. We were looking for a relatively simple and not very expensive solution. Now we have a redundant storage system, so our cluster system is fully redundant. We now have two clusters of two nodes Windows Hyper-V servers with StarWind V-san working as hosts.
  • Easy implementation
  • Very good support
  • I had no problems with understanding how the system worked. It was important to me.
  • The system has the possibility to send an e-mail message about issues, but only within the internal company mail system. I would like to have e-mail messages also when I'm away.
Hmm. StarWind gave me what I expected. I was looking for an inexpensive fully redundant storage system and I found it. With StarWind Virtual SAN, I have built my own little cloud system. We have two clusters of two nodes with Hyper-V servers and SW Virtual SAN working as hosts. These two clusters are located in the same city but several miles from one another. The VMs working on one of the clusters are replicated on another one. It works well and I'm satisfied. It is something like a very small private cloud.
Read Grzegorz Magierski's full review
Chaz Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

StarWind Virtual SAN-- cost effective shared storage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using StarWind Virtual SAN across our organization to provide high availability for large virtual machines. We were running out of space on our VMWare hosts, as we use local flash storage.
  • High availability at a good price.
  • Fantastic support and deployment team.
  • Very good customer service and follow up.
  • Could provide an implementation checklist.
  • Installation on a Free ESXI.
  • An equipment checklist.
StarWind Virtual SAN is a cost-effective product to deploy HA shared storage in your environment.
Read Chaz Hill's full review
Remon Asaad | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Starwind a great tool for VSAN and HA storage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I had a project in Egypt with Starwind VSAN solution and it is a very stable solution that I recommend to implement it in any crucial site that needs an HA storage solution.
  • High Availability
  • Disk Mirroring
  • Powershell scripting
  • Technical Support
  • Documentation Examples
I had a solution of Windows clustering and I tested both virtual targets of MS and Starwind and I found the ISCSI virtual targets feature in Starwind is more stable than the MS one.
Read Remon Asaad's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2019

StarWind Virtual SAN, more storage for less money.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
StarWind Virtual SAN is being used as our SAN in a VMware cluster with six nodes. Production systems are using StarWind for storage. Our StarWind san has three nodes spread across sites to mitigate outages. All users are dependent on the SAN for critical systems like e-mail, database, and network storage.
  • Support is very good. Everyone is responsive and knowledgeable.
  • Being a virtual SAN, StarWind has the ability to drop nodes or sites in our case, and there is no downtime.
  • The costs are very reasonable.
  • The new Linux appliance does not have all the features that the Windows version does.
  • Monitoring with products like Nagios requires extra setup, and no plugins were available from the vendor.
Some of the best use cases are when you need something low cost, but are able to put some work into the product, like setting up your own hardware. It's also useful if you need high uptime because whole nodes or shelves can go offline without downtime. You might want to look at other products if you want things like san-side snapshots and need to use the Linux version.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

StarWind Virtual SAN - Fast & Reliable In Security Enviroment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of the StarWind solution does not have to be just a strictly IT domain.

In my case, we needed to find and implement a solution that guaranteed the supervision of security systems in the scenario of a full disaster of our main center of supervision.

To achieve that, we needed to use technology that would give us fast and reliable data replication between two supervision centers and would not ruin our security department budget. On the other hand, the solution must be easy to administrate with the tools we had.

StarWind Virtual SAN was a bulls-eye. Now, we can transfer the full spectrum of information to remote infrastructure that allows us to ensure continuity, which means better security of the company. The StarWind Virtual SAN management console is also intuitive and easy to use.
  • Fast & reliable data replication
  • Easy implementation
  • Great support
  • Good price
  • At this moment I don't see any missing functionality or area for improvement
A great solution for fast data replication between two data centers or in scenarios when you need to mirror your VM environment in a distaster recovery center.
Read this authenticated review
Tommy Grignon | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Good product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are a gold mining partnership in Malartic, Québec where we work 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. About 1500 people are on our sites, 900 users have computers and 100 different virtual servers runs to maintain the production area.

We used: 8 different cold storage, 2 SAN and automatic synchronizations for files between 15 minutes and 24 hours (Vsphere replication and SRM).


The problem: Single point of failure, no real-time synchronization with our disaster recovery site so we were unable to make updates and upgrades without any cuts on the production infrastructure.


Now: We can have 2 sites with real-time synchronization and no more single point of failure. Moreover, we can make updates and upgrades at any time without cuts to the production infrastructure.
  • Real-time sync.
  • Take care of a crash without cuts.
  • Opportunity to make updates and upgrades in real-time.
  • Central management on a webpage.
Well suited for scenarios where you are not at risk for single point failure.

It wouldn't be appropriate for backing up data.
Read Tommy Grignon's full review

About StarWind Virtual SAN

StarWind Virtual SAN (VSAN) is presented by the vendor as a lightweight software-defined storage (SDS) for Enterprise ROBO, SMB & Edge that removes the need for physical storage. The solution is compatible with any hypervisor of choice, and is hardware-agnostic. The vendor invites users to integrate it into an existing infrastructure with minimum requirements, and enjoy constant uptime in a true 2-node scenario.

StarWind VSAN has no strict hardware compatibility lists (HCLs) and is licensed per node. A license unlocks access to all features upon purchase and differs only by capacity volume. The vendors promises customers get the chance to reduce their total cost of ownership (TCO) while receiving 99.9999% uptime. StarWind also helps with configuration, deployment, and migration.

StarWind Virtual SAN:

  • provides 90% of raw performance
  • squeezes 100% IOPS out of existing hardware
  • works on the iSCSI layer
  • “speaks” most uplink protocols, including NVMe-oF
  • works on top of Hardware or Software RAID (MDADM, ZFS)
  • does 2- or 3-way synchronous replication, and more.

The true 2-node solution is enabled through HeartBeat (no witness required). Thanks to “mirroring” of internal disks and flash between hypervisor servers, customers receive fault-tolerant storage. It’s scalable up and out, allowing users to introduce infrastructure changes without downtime or additional licensing costs.

StarWind Virtual SAN makes enterprise-level virtual shared storage accessible.

StarWind Virtual SAN Competitors

VMware vSAN, Microsoft S2D, StorMagic SvSAN

StarWind Virtual SAN Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No