Amazon CloudFront Reviews

43 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Fortune Nwaiwu | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

My experience using CloudFront

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently deploy Amazon CloudFront, and it enables us to speed up the delivery of our static content such as images, style sheets, JavaScript, etc. to our clients across the world. We take advantage of the Amazon web server's backbone network using Amazon CloudFront to give our customers a fast, safe, and reliable experience when they visit our website.
  • It enables us to customize at the edge.
  • Deliver private content to our customers by using Lambda@Edge Customization's.
  • Cost of deploying solutions
  • Skillset required for deployment
Amazon CloudFront is well suited for accelerated static web content delivery.
Read Fortune Nwaiwu's full review
Bob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

If you need a CDN and already use AWS, then Amazon CloudFront is a no brainier...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Amazon CloudFront as a Content Delivery Network (CDN) to increase the availability of resources across multiple geographic regions while minimizing our need for EC2 instances to deliver such content. From a simple form of hosting website content (CSS, JS, Images) along with building products to utilize Amazon CloudFront as a more friendly manner to serve content within S3 and other origins.
  • Allow you to create and manage your own CDN.
  • Improving performance of serving S3 content.
  • For new users, it could be easier to implement an initial stack.
  • Better tutorials on different configurations.
  • Amazon CloudFront is excellent for serving static content as objects are cached and reserved.
  • Dynamic content is more challenging because you lose some control as to what is being cached based on the access.
Read Bob Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

AWS CloudFront: Quick Way To Get A CDN. Great If You're Already Using AWS Services.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudfront is being used to distribute audio and image content to end-users. The end users are medical professionals relying on the content as part of a subscription service to maintain their career skills. To keep the content private and accessible to subscribers only, we implemented token-based security between CloudFront and our web servers.
  • Highly available content delivery.
  • Improved speed of content delivery to end users.
  • The token-based authentication is a little complicated to implement.
If your content is vital to the product you sell, or if your content IS what you sell, then you need some kind of content delivery network service. You get redundancy at many levels, protecting you from outages. The speed of access to your content for your customers is improved and stabilized. You don't have to pay for all the hardware and technicians to get the infrastructure set up, which is a huge benefit. AWS tech support is very good in case you need assistance in setting up your CloudFront CDN. The best use for CloudFront is also as part of a 100% AWS-based infrastructure. AWS's services all work well together, but sometimes have issues with outside integration. If your content is not a big piece of your money-making operation, you can probably get away with something simpler.
Read this authenticated review
Matthew Gardner | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2018

A great addition if you're already using AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used within the engineering department as our CDN for both the consumer-facing and B2B portions of our business. The graphics team needs access for asset uploads, etc. It helps us to quickly deliver heavy assets globally and in a way which is not developer-dependent. This is key with multiple departments using the product.
  • Distribution - Easily deployed globally with proper configuration
  • Speed - No customers complain about delivery issues or slow loading
  • Delivery - we can rely on the service to stay up and deliver our assets
  • The UI is godawful. I would almost say you need to be technical to feel confident that you're not going to break something, which is an issue for us as not all of our graphics team can use it.
It's great for engineers who know what they're doing, but you don't want to bug an engineer every time you want to update an image asset. The process of uploads and invalidations can be too complex for non-technical staff, which can bottleneck content delivery and updates.
Read Matthew Gardner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

CloudFront CDN from AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is a heavy user of AWS. As part of that, we also use CloudFront as our CDN for all our front end applications for static content and videos hosted on our websites. CloudFront works seamlessly with other AWS services like EC2, Lambda etc. It also has deep integration with load balancers and routers like ELB, Route 53. It is also a highly secure CDN at the network and application level.
  • CloudFront, like other CDNs, is a very reliable content delivery network for delivering content like images, videos, HTML, and javascripts that are run on browsers across the world.
  • It provides secure hosting of content at no extra cost. AWS Certification Manager also provides the ability to create and manage custom SSL certificates at no extra cost for our websites.
  • It is secure, which means that it uses AWS Shield for Layer 3/4 DDoS mitigation and AWS WAF for Layer 7 protection. Hence seamlessly integrating with other AWS services. So you do not have to shop outside of AWS ecosystem
  • I cannot think of a lot of examples where CloudFront could be improved. One thing could be an enhanced integration with its CI/CD services like Code Deploy and Code Pipeline. Currently, we use Code Pipeline to build static content and push to S3 and then push to CloudFront.
Well suited for the following scenarios:
- hosting static content for your websites.
- hosting videos and images to be shown on the website.
- integrating and managing custom SSL certificates.
- integrating with AWS WAF and Route 53.
Less suited to storing large files. You should use AWS S3.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Barretto | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2018

CloudFront for the win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it as our asset server sitting on top of S3. This addresses the problem of S3 being repeatedly hit when serving an asset, and can instead serve a cached version.
  • Reduces requests to S3
  • Easy integration into our platform
  • Easy scalability to add more servers
  • I'd like the ability to update a cached location by just appending an action to the end of the url to bust the cache. For example http://foo.bar/f9asjdf9jasdf90adfa/update
It is great if you are serving a lot of static content. If you have pages with lots of images, this is very useful to reduce the number of requests directly to S3.
Read Chris Barretto's full review
Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2018

Amazon CloudFront Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon CloudFront is a great CDN choice for applications that are already deployed to the Amazon/AWS stack. The value potential there is clear: first-party support with S3, EC2, etc. As a result, for customers that are already invested in the AWS ecosystem, using CloudFront is a logical choice. We use it across our own organization, and it fits into the CDN use case for most customers with AWS deployments. Like any CDN, CloudFront helps offload repetitive work from your main application logic, and, depending on how you configure it, can greatly speed up content downloads for end users.
  • First-party integration with S3, EC2, ElasticBeanstalk, etc.
  • Generous free tier for organizations that are just starting to work with CDNs
  • Packaged into existing AWS ecosystem with consolidated billing, support, etc.
  • Incredibly solid and reliable service
  • If price is the main concern, CloudFront is not the cheapest-in-class by a wide margin
  • Some of the settings are not obvious to new users, and the management dashboards could use work
  • Lacks fine-grained access controls and statistical reports for usage
Amazon CloudFront shines as an addition to an organization that's already invested in the Amazon stack, and would rather pay a bit more for the ease of having all their services covered by a single provider. It shines less where cost is the central concern, or more advanced analytics are needed at edge sites.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
Ashish Agarwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2017

Amazon CloudFront: Best, reliable, fast and a cost effective CDN

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon CloudFront boosted the loading speed of landing page of our application by 10 times. I use Amazon cloud front to load static css, javascript and images on landing page of our application. It is being used across the whole organization to solve the problem of assets caching. Amazon CloudFront primarily speeds up distribution of your static and dynamic web content by delivering the the content to through worldwide edge locations. Amazon CloudFront delivers data from the nearest edge location that provides the lowest latency and thus provide high speed data transfer for best permanence. Amazon CloudFront is my best choice among other CDN as it provides increased reliability and availability of files because copies of files are held in multiple edge locations around the world.
  • if a website’s static data are based in New York City, people in Boston will get the content faster than people in San Francisco or Tokyo. The farther away customers are from a company’s data center, the slower the website or application loads. This problem can be fixed with a content delivery network like Amazon CloudFront
  • When a visitor requests a file from your website, Amazon CloudFront automatically sends the request to a copy of the file at the nearest edge location. This results in faster download times.
  • You may have great hosting but it doesn’t have the capacity or scalability offered by Google, Microsoft or Yahoo. The better CDNs like Amazon CloudFront offer higher availability, lower network latency and lower packet loss.
  • Amazon CloudFront provides 24/7 email and phone support
  • Amazon CloudFront Free Tier allows you to free up to 50 GB of data transfer and 2,000,000 HTTP and HTTPS requests / month for one year.
  • Amazon CloudFront can improve the security of the files that are being delivered from edge locations.
  • Amazon CloudFront should increase the number of edge location around the world for high data availability
  • you will probably get better performance and price of Amazon CloudFront when you are hosting your web servers in EC2
Amazon CloudFront is best suited when there is a need of speed in serving static and dynanic web contents of a web application. If the content is already in that edge location, CloudFront delivers it immediately. If the content is not currently in that edge location, CloudFront retrieves it from an Amazon S3 bucket or an HTTP server. Amazon CloudFront is not appropriate in case users can tolerate some delays or servers are present near to the location of user. It also Integrates through the W3 Total Cache plugin. Amazon CloudFront Pricing based on bandwidth usage that's the best part of it.
Read Ashish Agarwal's full review
Andrew Raines | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2018

Great CDN with lots of extras

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used CloudFront in a number of different scenarios. Firstly as a standard Content Delivery Network, used as a edge-cache in front of the likes of S3. I've also used it in front of more dynamic services, allowing to amalgamate multiple services or behaviours under a single domain/cache. Finally I've also used it in conjunction with Lambda@Edge allowing for quite complex behaviours to take place, such as dynamically resizing images on the fly.
  • Solid CDN services, does what it says on the tin
  • Lots of configuration options, which allow for different setups and pricing strategies
  • Lambda@Edge integration allows for really quite complex behaviours to be executed in the cloud at the edge node itself. This means there are a huge amount of possibilities for shaping and altering traffic close to the viewer.
  • Simple integration to other AWS services (e.g. S3)
  • It isn't the cheapest option out there, nor is it the most simple to set up. The likes of CloudFlare may be a better choice for small / simple sites, especially if there isn't any need for other AWS services.
If you've already got plenty of AWS services, CloudFront is an obvious choice. It integrates seamlessly with other AWS infrastructure, and can be managed via CloudFormation as part of your wider Infrastructure as Code. Whilst it is slightly more complex than some of the competition to set up, it does have a large number of options and is very configurable.

If you want to do just the very basic CDN at the minimum of cost on a small website (e.g. personal blog), its perhaps not the best choice. However, I personally made the decision to use CloudFront anyway, even though it was a little more than the competition, purely for the convenience factor as I was using Route 53 anyway and it gives me plenty of future options should I wish to make it more complex later on.
Read Andrew Raines's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2018

CloudFront is low cost and high impact!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use CloudFront to cache my frequently accessed static assets in a wide variety of geographic locations in order decrease the load-time of my web application. This helps contribute to a positive user experience, while also helping mitigate the effects of unpredictable hosting outages.
  • Integrates seamlessly with Amazon Web Service's asset storage solution (S3). If you've already committed to the AWS ecosystem, this synergism is one of the perks.
  • Easily allows for serving assets from custom domains.
  • Fine-grain control over caching logic and response headers. It's a simple, but very powerful interface.
  • It would be appreciated if there were more inline documentation regarding what some of the charts and menu options do. As this was my first time using a Content-Delivery Network, decreasing my need to do research elsewhere would be appreciated.
If your website or web application has an international userbase it is important to use CloudFront to decrease the distance between your users and the assets that comprise your website or web application. If all of your users are located within a short distance of where you website is hosted, CloudFront will likely have little impact and is less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review

About Amazon CloudFront

CloudFront is the content delivery network (CDN) from Amazon Web Services.

Amazon CloudFront Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No