TrustRadius
Amazon S3 is a commonly used cloud object storage solution.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/2G/ql/3B4G0CIO0TQL.pngAmazon S3 - The Best Data Storage Decision You'll Ever MakeAmazon S3 is being used as a way for us to securely and reliably store our company's website and data. We use it to host a numerous amount of exceptionally critical data. In terms of data hosting, there simply isn't any better alternative. Amazon S3 helps us to manage and store our data in such a simple, user-friendly way that has become exceptionally beneficial to our business model.,S3 provides possibly the most easily scalable cloud storage service on the planet. It feels as though it's been custom build from day 1 with company growth in mind - something any healthy business will surely appreciate. The intricate system of S3 servers across the globe is a great feature for anyone conducting any sort of international business. You get to choose where your data is stored and, as we all know from bounce rates, every millisecond of load time can be the difference between making or losing a sale. Pulling data is another feature we use quite often and it honestly works flawlessly every single time we have to pull anything.,It's genuinely hard to fault S3 so I'll have to resort to nitpicking but their main interface is quite bland, still super easy to use and navigate, just bland. Contacting their support can be quite cumbersome as every ticket is sent through the always cumbersome Amazon hierarchy of internal bureaucracy (similar to Seller Central) but it's not the worst system in the world by any means. At this point, I'm almost out of critiques - after all, it's what huge digital entertainment companies like Netflix rely on to make a living. That being said, there's always room for improvement and perhaps creating more servers around the world would decrease their minimal send and retrieval times.,10,Amazon S3 has allowed our e-commerce company to efficiently deliver content en masse and has been nothing but a benefit the whole way through. Our customers simply wouldn't be able to purchase anything from us if it was not for S3. S3 has also provided us with a great platform to categorize and sort our data which, in turn, has provided a lot of insights into how we could further improve our own data from the ground up. Most importantly, Amazon S3 is simply the most secure cloud storage platform we know. In the days of the high-stakes cyber-crime, that alone is worth its weight in gold.,Google Cloud Storage,Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe XD, Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Shopify PlusAmazon S3 is the best in class asset hosting solutionMy organization is using Amazon S3 to host all of our assets for each of our products. It is primarily being used by the engineering teams but is being used across the organization as well. Our marketing team also uses it for image assets for email marketing as well as custom image uploads for our route tiles on our site.,Allows for ease of setting up multiple buckets to keep your assets organized Gives you the option of keeping your images public or private - good for keeping your image storage organized with what you want to exposed/not exposed to users Allows for easy integration with other AWS products,Web interface is not the most intuitive at first. Takes some time getting used to Private assets being displayed could end up breaking your site if you're unaware that you need to set them public S3 is overall an expensive option for a smaller company,8,Interaction between Ruby on Rails and the Fog/Carrierwave Gem to upload images is a costly, manual process for the team,,Amazon DynamoDB, Amazon Glacier, Amazon CognitoTop Marks for S3 Storage and WebsitesWe use S3 for the storage of all our of static web assets (images, videos, audio, etc), user-uploaded data, internal log files, and backups. In addition to the storage uses, we also use the static website hosting feature for some of our web-based services. This is a particularly cost-effective way of getting a website online - either a small and simple HTML-based site or a complex single-page web application.,Storage! You can store as much as you like in whatever format and structure you like. Pay as you go - you only pay for what you use, so your storage costs scale up and down with your storage and access patterns. No more having to provision space ahead of time or having wasted space floating around. It's also fairly inexpensive. Static website hosting - really simple and easy to get going with, but surprisingly powerful. You can do everything from simple static websites to full Single Page Applications (assuming its all Javascript).,It isn't the cheapest out there for storage, but I think still represents good value for money. You do also have a large array of storage options which can lower the cost if you are willing to reduce reliability/robustness. You can't use HTTPS off the bat with S3, so you almost always need to put CloudFront (or similar CDN) in front of it. Whilst this isn't a problem, it means it isn't quite as quick and straightforward to get going with as perhaps some other services. Whilst generally very low latency, we have observed occasional latency spikes whilst retrieving objects. Assuming you are running a CDN in front of S3 (which you should) then this becomes less problematic, but it probably isn't the best choice if you absolutely must guarantee low latency.,10,S3 is such a great way to store things, it's a little hard to measure all the benefits against the other options (Dropbox, hard drives in laptops etc), but it gives a simple place to store pretty much anything. We did replace a traditional LEMP-stack website service with static website hosting in S3 + javascript. This vastly reduced our running costs as we turned all the websites EC2 instances and Load Balancers off. It also meant we didn't have to look after or maintain autoscaling strategies anymore because S3 handles the scaling for us.,Amazon CloudFrontYou know you're supposed to use S3. Just do it.We use S3 for everything imaginable, but particularly for storing larger assets like images, video, isos or data files. This allows us to purchase much smaller nodes in terms of attached SSDs. The cost of S3 for storage is almost a non-issue for anything in the sub-terabyte range, especially when compared to the price of larger EC2, Rackspace, or digital ocean instances.,Nearly every web framework now has integrations with the service as an easy plug-and-play storage solution. General integration is so good there are tons of third-party tools like Transmit (for mac) you can mount S3 as a remote disk for easy access, and even Amazon's own web portal for using S3 has gotten quite good. It's incredibly easy to offload all the expensive bandwidth operations for your typical website or app to S3, and, assuming your services are not yet HTTP2, you even get the benefits of sharding.,There is no true hierarchical filesystem in S3. So for example, if you have a file like /images/pizza/1.png, and you delete 1.png it deletes the entire directory structure. Now many tools will place an empty dummy file at /images/pizza to make it appear as if the structure is there – but if you do these operations via api it can be a bit of a gotchya. The bucket namespace is global, so it can be really hard to get a sensible bucket name. Honestly no idea why they made that global. While you can serve S3 content at your own subdomain, you have to have the proper bucket name to do so and this can get pretty cumbersome. Ideally, there would be a better way to mask S3 buckets at a DNS level.,10,S3 has a direct impact on ROI because it lowers your overall hosting budget. You will pay pennies on the dollar to host your larger files as S3 over your compute nodes. Especially when you consider all the additional backup storage, image storage, and uptime requirements of keeping files online where your compute nodes are. If you ever want to have server clusters, where do you think you're going to store your static assets? Yep, S3. No brainer again – now you can scale. I'll throw one more bone out here for this – you can literally distribute s3 files to a global CDN (CloudFront) with just a few clicks of a button. That kind of speed can have an immediate return on investment for international customers.,,Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Rackspace, Laravel PHP FrameworkS3 for Cloud BackupWe are currently using S3 for off-site storage of backup data using a variety of backup client software. We utilize multiple Amazon sites for redundancy when needed. Some data is stored in our account using our software for our clients, and some data is stored in the client's account which we manage.,Multiple security access levels ensure that one client cannot access another clients data. Multiple geographic locations allows us to meet certain audit requirements. Simple setup from within many cloud backup clients.,Security configuration can be a little confusing and sometimes requires making completely new accounts.,10,The storage costs are extremely low compared to storage provided by cloud backup vendors, most of which are just reselling Amazon S3. This has allowed us to be more competitive in the corporate backup market.,Wasabi,ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect), ConnectWise Manage, QuickBooks Pro
Unspecified
Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service)
146 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Amazon S3 Reviews

Amazon S3
146 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 146 vetted Amazon S3 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 27)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
September 26, 2018

Review: "Amazon S3 - The Best Data Storage Decision You'll Ever Make"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon S3 is being used as a way for us to securely and reliably store our company's website and data. We use it to host a numerous amount of exceptionally critical data. In terms of data hosting, there simply isn't any better alternative. Amazon S3 helps us to manage and store our data in such a simple, user-friendly way that has become exceptionally beneficial to our business model.
  • S3 provides possibly the most easily scalable cloud storage service on the planet. It feels as though it's been custom build from day 1 with company growth in mind - something any healthy business will surely appreciate.
  • The intricate system of S3 servers across the globe is a great feature for anyone conducting any sort of international business. You get to choose where your data is stored and, as we all know from bounce rates, every millisecond of load time can be the difference between making or losing a sale.
  • Pulling data is another feature we use quite often and it honestly works flawlessly every single time we have to pull anything.
  • It's genuinely hard to fault S3 so I'll have to resort to nitpicking but their main interface is quite bland, still super easy to use and navigate, just bland.
  • Contacting their support can be quite cumbersome as every ticket is sent through the always cumbersome Amazon hierarchy of internal bureaucracy (similar to Seller Central) but it's not the worst system in the world by any means.
  • At this point, I'm almost out of critiques - after all, it's what huge digital entertainment companies like Netflix rely on to make a living. That being said, there's always room for improvement and perhaps creating more servers around the world would decrease their minimal send and retrieval times.
S3 is one of those few solutions that work for everyone at any range. From small startups to corporate giants, S3 has something to offer all businesses with its infinite scalability and absolutely brilliant pay structure. Coming from the personal experience of having experienced both the small and big company aspect, S3 is your best bet for any and all cloud storage needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

Review: "Amazon S3 is the best in class asset hosting solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is using Amazon S3 to host all of our assets for each of our products. It is primarily being used by the engineering teams but is being used across the organization as well. Our marketing team also uses it for image assets for email marketing as well as custom image uploads for our route tiles on our site.
  • Allows for ease of setting up multiple buckets to keep your assets organized
  • Gives you the option of keeping your images public or private - good for keeping your image storage organized with what you want to exposed/not exposed to users
  • Allows for easy integration with other AWS products
  • Web interface is not the most intuitive at first. Takes some time getting used to
  • Private assets being displayed could end up breaking your site if you're unaware that you need to set them public
  • S3 is overall an expensive option for a smaller company
If you're looking to host a wide array of assets, including large images, then S3 is your best bet. It is challenging to get used to initially as the web interface isn't the most intuitive to a beginner but if you're hosting for multiple products, it is worth it. Also makes integration with other AWS products easy.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Raines profile photo
May 02, 2018

Amazon S3 Review: "Top Marks for S3 Storage and Websites"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use S3 for the storage of all our of static web assets (images, videos, audio, etc), user-uploaded data, internal log files, and backups. In addition to the storage uses, we also use the static website hosting feature for some of our web-based services. This is a particularly cost-effective way of getting a website online - either a small and simple HTML-based site or a complex single-page web application.
  • Storage! You can store as much as you like in whatever format and structure you like.
  • Pay as you go - you only pay for what you use, so your storage costs scale up and down with your storage and access patterns. No more having to provision space ahead of time or having wasted space floating around. It's also fairly inexpensive.
  • Static website hosting - really simple and easy to get going with, but surprisingly powerful. You can do everything from simple static websites to full Single Page Applications (assuming its all Javascript).
  • It isn't the cheapest out there for storage, but I think still represents good value for money. You do also have a large array of storage options which can lower the cost if you are willing to reduce reliability/robustness.
  • You can't use HTTPS off the bat with S3, so you almost always need to put CloudFront (or similar CDN) in front of it. Whilst this isn't a problem, it means it isn't quite as quick and straightforward to get going with as perhaps some other services.
  • Whilst generally very low latency, we have observed occasional latency spikes whilst retrieving objects. Assuming you are running a CDN in front of S3 (which you should) then this becomes less problematic, but it probably isn't the best choice if you absolutely must guarantee low latency.
Wherever you need to store things, S3 is pretty much the answer. Also, if you want to host simple websites without the cost or headache of scaling your own services, the static web hosting may be the answer you're looking for.
Read Andrew Raines's full review
Justin Schroeder profile photo
January 22, 2018

Amazon S3 Review: "You know you're supposed to use S3. Just do it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use S3 for everything imaginable, but particularly for storing larger assets like images, video, isos or data files. This allows us to purchase much smaller nodes in terms of attached SSDs. The cost of S3 for storage is almost a non-issue for anything in the sub-terabyte range, especially when compared to the price of larger EC2, Rackspace, or digital ocean instances.
  • Nearly every web framework now has integrations with the service as an easy plug-and-play storage solution.
  • General integration is so good there are tons of third-party tools like Transmit (for mac) you can mount S3 as a remote disk for easy access, and even Amazon's own web portal for using S3 has gotten quite good.
  • It's incredibly easy to offload all the expensive bandwidth operations for your typical website or app to S3, and, assuming your services are not yet HTTP2, you even get the benefits of sharding.
  • There is no true hierarchical filesystem in S3. So for example, if you have a file like /images/pizza/1.png, and you delete 1.png it deletes the entire directory structure. Now many tools will place an empty dummy file at /images/pizza to make it appear as if the structure is there – but if you do these operations via api it can be a bit of a gotchya.
  • The bucket namespace is global, so it can be really hard to get a sensible bucket name. Honestly no idea why they made that global.
  • While you can serve S3 content at your own subdomain, you have to have the proper bucket name to do so and this can get pretty cumbersome. Ideally, there would be a better way to mask S3 buckets at a DNS level.
Anytime – and I do mean anytime – you have files of any size over, say, 50kb and they are static you should reach for S3 first. In 7 years of using the service, I have never once lost a file. There have been a total of maybe 30 minutes of downtime in 7 years, which was a DNS level issue. The speed is excellent, the availability is incredible, and there simply is no good competitor for the price.
Read Justin Schroeder's full review
Bill Greganti profile photo
January 16, 2018

Amazon S3 Review: "S3 for Cloud Backup"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using S3 for off-site storage of backup data using a variety of backup client software. We utilize multiple Amazon sites for redundancy when needed. Some data is stored in our account using our software for our clients, and some data is stored in the client's account which we manage.
  • Multiple security access levels ensure that one client cannot access another clients data.
  • Multiple geographic locations allows us to meet certain audit requirements.
  • Simple setup from within many cloud backup clients.
  • Security configuration can be a little confusing and sometimes requires making completely new accounts.
Amazon S3 meets many of the demands for cloud based backup including some audit requirements for various DoD, HIPAA, and PCI restricted businesses. We store data with various levels of encryption and redundancy for our clients as required by their industry. There are also less expensive options, such as Glacier, in cases where audit compliance is not an issue.
Read Bill Greganti's full review
Akmal Muqeeth profile photo
November 21, 2017

Review: "Amazon S3 is a versatile storage solution for any business use-case"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon s3 throughout the company to solve different problems and use cases. We have used s3 to store images, as a data back up, to host static web pages and even as an intermediary between SQS and SNS to store event files. Most recently, we have used S3 to power our applications view history.
  • High availability - we have never had any problems with S3 being down.
  • Simple, easy to use interface
  • Very affordable for the versatile storage solution it provides
  • I would like an in console file viewer instead of having to download the file to see its content
  • Speed of download has increased a lot in the past year, though still a room for improvement
  • Apart from storage, a few transactions are charged as well
The beauty of S3 is that it provides a generic storage solution which can be customized to cater to many business needs. Its a definite fit for any application level storage like images, data files, pdf etc. On an architectural level, since it plays well with other AWS services, it can be used very well in conjunction with SQS, SNS and Lambda.
Read Akmal Muqeeth's full review
Robb Glietz profile photo
September 29, 2017

User Review: "Amazon S3 the goto storage spot"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using S3 in two different areas of the company, the first is to store backups for our WordPress websites, we have 10 different sites so each site has an automated process where every day they upload critical framework data to the different files I set up on S3. The second area where we use it is for archiving of BLOB's from our escrow software. The software saves documents which are used in the escrow in BLOB format. Using the automated process in the escrow software every sixty days the BLOB's are uploaded into the S3 folder setup for it.
  • Once set up it is as simple as pointing to it and it works.
  • It is fast for putting data on it and taking it off.
  • It allows a mixture of data types which makes it ideal for how we use it; we don't have to worry that it would store a data type.
  • If you're not a network type and don't understand terms like DNS or routing then it's going to be hard to get it setup correctly. They need to make this process a little more user-friendly for people that are not IT types.
  • They should make security more friendly currently you have to have a very good understanding of what your setting so that the outside world does not see all of your data, a security preview would be great also to make sure the security setting is performing correctly.
  • Billing is another area which could use some help in making it friendlier, you have to spend a lot of time doing deep dives on your bill to understand why cost just seems to have gone up.
Amazon S3 is well suited for any applications which need to store documents, pictures, video either pre/post-processing or BLOB's/CLOB's. The reason for that is once you set everything up it is easy to point to and it is fast to get and store items on it with no worries. Plus with the redundant backup's it is secure. The other great feature is if you're using other AWS it is extremely easy to connect to S3 and the speed is even better since it is on their own network.
Read Robb Glietz's full review
Carl Schwarz profile photo
August 16, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "S3 for backups and web media storage"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
S3 is used by us for offsite backup storage and also hosts some media files for a web application. S3 is very cheap storage and solves the issue of storage, it has a great API which has made automating offsite backups easy, it also has granular access control over files which has assisted in providing a backup service for my customers.
  • The storage is fast
  • There are flexible storage options for even cheaper long term storage
  • "Client" access accounts can be created that look nice to give clients access to their own storage which is stored on my account.
  • The Amazon CLI API makes automating reliable backups possible on Windows Servers. Other consumer based services such as dropbox won't run as a "service" and need the user logged in so isn't appropriate for a database server.
  • Amazon has it's own JSON format for granular account control and is difficult to implement. There have been improvements to moving that towards a GUI based control system but not all of the features are there yet.
Each input/output over a certain amount is charged so s3 is not useful as a mounted drive or frequently accessed storage. S3 is great for low I/O storage.
Read Carl Schwarz's full review
Juni Mukherjee profile photo
September 11, 2017

User Review: "Amazon S3 is effective"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
S3 is used across the whole organization.

It has:

1) massive scale

2) reliability

3) capability to capture any kind of data
  • It is durable
  • It can capture any kind of data
  • It can capture any amount of data
  • Storing versioned artifacts is easier in JFrog's Artifactory or Sonatype's Nexus, than they are on Amazon S3.
S3 is well-suited for almost any kind of data storage and retrieval. However, S3 can act as a secondary storage for versioned artifacts, while the primary storage is considered to be Artifactory or Nexus.
Read Juni Mukherjee's full review
No photo available
October 13, 2017

User Review: "Amazon S3 is great"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon S3 for a lot of storage needs. We use this internally to connect with Salesforce and send our data as back up, as well as post our files/images/other related content to Amazon S3 rather than using up our data storage in Salesforce which is more expensive, this is the story of many of our clients as well. It's just a much quicker access point because of the nature of it being Amazon.
  • It's really simple to use and implement for someone like us.
  • It's super scalable, we have used it in small amounts and in enterprise levels.
  • It's a secure solution for data storage.
  • I feel like Amazon S3 could use some GitHub-like-features.
  • Update the S3 desktop app, because the web app is much farther in advance of that.
We use Amazon S3 for a lot of storage needs for ourselves and our clients, included. We use this for our clients to connect with Salesforce and send our data as back up, as well as post our files/images/other related content to Amazon S3 rather than using up our data storage in Salesforce which is more expensive. It's just a much quicker access point because of the nature of it being Amazon.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 19, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "S3 at a glance. PROS and CONS."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use amazon S3 to store all of our data collected from many mobile applications. All of Big Data related workloads consumes run on the data stored in S3.It's cheaper and reliable to store petabyte scale data.
  • AWS S3 is a secure service with variety of encryption services available, it is a best bet. We encrypt most of our data using AWS KMS (Client-Side) encryption where we manage the key and the data is secure on the servers.
  • We started using S3 to overcome the cost of maintaining the data nodes on Hadoop EMR just for the sole purpose of storing data as it was way expensive than storing the data on S3.
  • Due to its nature to scale infinitely and also availability we had to choose this platform to make sure our app's have maximum availability.
  • Not to mention the durability and the easy to manage nature of S3.
  • Should reduce the cost of IO when transferring the data to glacier archives. Its expensive I believe. When the transfer is between AWS resources the cost should be minimal or negligible.
  • Scanning for the object size (Get Size) using the new aws S3 console is considerably slower. AWS team should maintain a hourly or daily metadata backup of the bucket or object structure which would fetch the results faster.
  • I would love to see a minimal outages in the future as it has impacted many businesses recently because of the long lasting outage.
It's very well suited if the data being generated by those specific applications is very very large and at a petabyte scale. The reason to choose S3 is very simple and to the point and that is because not only for the fact AWS S3 is a cheaper solution to store such a huge volume of data, but, it's durable, scalable and highly available. Even with the simultaneous loss of 2 data centers, we need not worry that our data is lost. It's a best bet for startups who do not want to invest in the infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
Corwin Cole profile photo
March 30, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "Fast, easy-to-use storage for static, media, and uploaded files"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon S3 is one of the primary Amazon Web Services that we use to power our website, including the web application that employees use for our core business functions. We utilize S3 to automatically store all claim documentation and legal agreements uploaded or generated through our web app. S3 is also automatically used by Amazon's Elastic Beanstalk to store zipped packages of previous versions of our application, in case we require a rollback. Finally, S3 is where we store all of our static and media files, e.g. JavaScript, CSS, and images. Our EB application serves these files from S3 rather than from its local machine.
  • Automatically stores previous versions of applications deployed to Elastic Beanstalk, to preserve rollbacks.
  • Integrates with Python applications using the boto library.
  • Serves static and media files quickly and reliably.
  • The documentation about caching, CORS protection, and permissions in general could be easier to comprehend. For experts on cloud architecture, I'm sure it's fine, but as a novice, it was very difficult to wrap my head around.
  • Could come with some Amazon-vetted JavaScript, especially a framework like jQuery, Angular, etc. Having to upload my own copies of frameworks like jQuery into S3 so that I'm not dependent on an external CDN is a little redundant.
  • I'm not sure if it already comes with virus protection or if that would even make sense, but if not, that could be a feature. Really I have almost no complaints.
S3 is excellent for storing and serving static, media, and uploaded files. Keep your JS, CSS, and images there, as well as user-uploaded images and documents and app-generated documents, and then serve them through configuration in your scalable applications. Elastic Beanstalk and Lambda play very well with S3. If you grow to especially large scale, start managing the regions of your S3 buckets for optimal cloud service.
Read Corwin Cole's full review
Craig Nash profile photo
February 27, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "S3 is a great, reliable place to keep your data if you are already using AWS, but don't fall down the rabbit hole of services."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Amazon web services as one of several preferred cloud providers, which we use to host WordPress sites after we have completed the design, giving the client a private, managed server cluster within the same price range of a basic WordPress host. We specifically use S3 as the primary storage location of all site content, and as a cache/cdn service. This lets us use the EC2 storage for storing only server related files, which reduces storage costs and potential data loss, as we can quickly rebuild our servers, while not having to worry about the safety and integrity of the sites content. We essentially use S3 in the same way one would use a NAS or SAN on a web hosting network, which is a fairly accurate comparison due to the integration and partnership that Amazon has with EMC, giving S3 similar functionality as a physical EMC SAN.
  • One of the main attractions of S3 is the quality of it's basic services, including security, stored data integrity, and data availability from almost anywhere via almost any system. The snapshot service is one of the best services offered through a cloud, and has always been a required feature for any SAN device I potentially purchase.
  • S3 has a strong partnership with EMC, which has allowed S3 to offer a wide variety of services and features that would normally require the customer to purchase an EC device, which opens up high-level storage to smaller companies at an affordable rate.
  • S3 has a major lead over other cloud providers due to the S3 service, and the wide range of capabilities. Instead of being a simple "drive" it can natively operate as a web server, hosting a wide array of static content, which reduces server load and costs. This is a major advantage, especially for someone operating within the free tier, where every little bit of processing power is an important resource.
  • The final selling point of S3 for myself, was the ability to connect into a wide variety of services, both local Amazon services, such as CloudFront CDN, and remote non-Amazon services such as WordPress backup solutions, which ends up keeping all of my data across the organization at one easy to access, and secure location.
  • While S3 has a huge list of available services, the services themselves tend to be lacking, such as the web server capability being able to only host static HTML content.
  • The additional capabilities have gotten a bit "out of hand" in terms of the amount of services available, which seemingly follow no particular grouping, which can make venturing beyond basic S3 storage services a daunting, and confusing endeavor.
  • Not having any storage "packages" for serving data is a big negative, as we would feel more comfortable with a set package, and a known monthly cost, rather than a fluctuating service billed by time x data.
I feel S3 is best used by a company looking to primarily use it as a safe and secure location to store high-availability data, leaving the additional services as an option for future expansions. Myself, and several other cloud architects I have spoken with have shared another scenario that fits S3, and other AWS services quite well, which is a startup using the free-tier with the Activate program. If done correctly, several S3 capabilities can be employed to offload tasks from underpowered virtual servers, letting the entire system become faster and more reliable.
Read Craig Nash's full review
Mark Richards profile photo
March 29, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "Why I am so impressed with Amazon Web Services!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using Amazon S3 for multiple clients and our own purposes.

S3 is a simple to use Cloud based storage product that is a secure, scale-able low cost approach for any organization that needs to have off site storage for the purposes of backup or retention, document storage and archiving. Good versioning control, secure access and an almost infinite ability to increase your storage effortlessly as your organization's needs grow. Amazon has a very easy to use interface and for users that are not very technically minded there are third party tools out there like Filezilla and S3 Fox that enable the upload and download of files in easy to use folders that anyone can feel comfortable with. Amazon S3 is also a very robust and safe storage of your files and documents as it has 99.999999999 %. Availability and your data is spread over multiple zones so that there is an as close to zero chance of data loss as is possible. I would thoroughly and unequivocally recommend Amazon S3 storage to businesses in any environment.
  • Easy creation of Buckets that mimic what most people are familiar with like a folder on your desktop computer.
  • Easy to use interface to upload, download or delete files.
  • Secure and easy to control who has access to your information.
  • Scale-able without committing to a fixed price over time.
  • I think file dates on upload should reflect the date that the file was created on the original source, not the date that you uploaded it, or at least have that option.
  • Drag and drop from your desktop would be a useful ability.
  • Would be nice to be able to import directly from other clouds, like One Drive, Google Drive or Dropbox.
Very suited to legal environments where document versioning is key. Not suited to situations where file creation date is critical.
Read Mark Richards's full review
Anudeep P profile photo
March 27, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "Does its job for the intended use case."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use S3 for storage of deployment release backups, database backups, storing internal tech talk videos, as internal CDN (Content Delivery Network), and storing large documents internally. The primary business problem is [that it's] a cheap storage mechanism with unlimited storage that would be billed based on what we use. Cheap and scalability are the two primary business needs that S3 offers over other systems.
  • Its a scalable solution with unlimited storage that bills for what you use. This would replace our mindset from 'would we run out of memory' to 'does it need to be stored'
  • Simple API with built in permissions using IAM would allow us to programmatically manage documents.
  • S3 has robust compression algorithms that do a pretty good job of compressing and decompressing things. We saw cases where the zip files were compressed up to 40% upon uploads.
  • Reliability and Multi zone backups would mean that even if one zone is shut down like it happened few weeks ago, your data is still safe.
  • Better user interface, for all the functionality that S3 offers, the UI for AWS suite of applications is still clunky to say the least. The UI offers manual selection of files or drag and drop file uploads. But from my experience the drag and drop functionality does not work well for large files. It takes forever to manually upload the files from the UI and there is certainly a room for improvement.
  • Wish the security is distilled down from a separate IAM module and integrated into S3. Say for example, if I want to restrict a specific set of users, why should I go to the IAM to restrict it? Why not have that functionality from that specific bucket itself, so that I dont lose my context.
Well suited for cheap, multi-zone storage for large files. It's also very widely used as a CDN by popular companies. It could also be used as a static web server, though I don't have much experience with it. It also has a robust API, so integrating S3 programmatically is straight forward.

Less suited for non-tech savvy users who wanted to use the UI mostly for modifying files. There are other cloud storage tools like Dropbox that provide better integrations with mobile and it has an intuitive front end.
Read Anudeep P's full review
Michael Jipping profile photo
March 24, 2017

User Review: "Amazon S3 for Backups"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon S3 to store our Office365 Backups from AvePointe, We have a S3 Bucket Provisioned and replicated to a different region. We also use the S3 infrastructure in conjunction with the Amazon Storage Gateway Product which Stores our Microsoft Exchange On-Prem Legal Hold backups. This is what we are using for our storage platform for the entire enterprise for Backups. This has simplified our solution for LongTerm Off-Premise Backups.
  • Geo-Replication. Even in the event of a AWS Downtime/Issue our data remained available across different Geo-Zones. You have to configure and pay for this, however, if you dont set it up you may lose access to your data.
  • An S3 Bucket presented with the Storage Gateway is a great way to mount your storage volumes. This operates through a linux based appliance which connects over the cloud to your volumes and presents itself as an ISCSI Connector. You can connect to many Volumes using this appliance.
  • The Cloud Monitoring is also a great tool to keep an eye on your volumes health and performance.
  • Overall they do a great job in making the product as easy as possible. One feature we would like to see for our Radiology Storage is File Server Paths to use. Our Legacy Image Distribution requires full UNC Paths to the storage Shares.
You have to make sure that using S3 Storage fits your business application needs. For us it is a great method for Backup Storage and overflow Storage. You must rely on yourself to provide the testing to your applications and requirements. There is no one size fits all. But AWS S3 is a great solution to try to fit into your environment.
Read Michael Jipping's full review
Ivan Miller profile photo
March 22, 2017

Review: "Amazon S3 - A Fantastic Solution to Modern Software Demands"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use amazon s3 to persist all of our internal and client data in the cloud. It is a fantastic choice when your infrastructure is also hosted within the AWS ecosystem, as all of their technologies interoperate very nicely with the S3 storage service. It sort of eliminates the need for traditional dev ops.
  • Storing any types of data
  • Interacting with other services and technologies in the AWS ecosystem
  • Horizontal scalability of data storage
  • Better interoperability with tools outside of the AWS toolkit
  • The command line client is very verbose and clunky to use
  • Better client tools for interacting with S3
S3 is really well suited for data storage supporting most modern software solutions. Modern technology demands far more scalability than has been available in the past, and the distributed nature of the AWS ecosystem supports these demands quite nicely. On the flipside, it is often easier to "hit the ground running" with more of an in-house, single-server approach to software applications.
Read Ivan Miller's full review
Joel Tanzi profile photo
March 22, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "Free to be S3: Cost-Effective Site Hosting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Amazon S3 to host websites for myself and clients I build them for. I've used other web hosting services but have found S3 to offer the best combination of ease of use, cost controls, and reliability. S3 buckets have been a lifesaver for me in allowing me to manage multiple sites in the easiest manner available while keeping my site hosting expenses to a minimum.
  • Cost reduction is a major factor in my selection of Amazon S3 for hosting websites. When you host your site on S3 you are billed for the traffic you use, not based on a flat-rate. As a result it is far easier to keep site hosting expenses low, and scale up when you need to.
  • S3 buckets are managed through a very simple and easy interface that is extremely well-documented and can be set up with a few clicks. I can deploy a site in under five minutes, so the time-saving aspects of this are hard to overstate.
  • AWS is known for reliability and you can be confident that your site or data hosted on an S3 bucket will be available when you or your clients need it. As anyone knows, site reliability is a major factor in driving business decisions on whom to select as a host, and you can't get much better than AWS.
  • Learning curve can be a bit steep for some of the more advanced features for the service.
  • Could be a bit more accessible for non-technical or lower-technical users such as small business owners and non-tech professionals.
  • Bucket policies can be daunting to work with (although some example baseline policies are available).
S3 is an excellent service for website and web application hosting for those willing to take the time to learn the complexities of AWS and want complete control over content, implementation and security. It also does well as a backup and storage mechanism, and hosting software files to be available to download. If what you are after is a quick and easy way to get a site up and running and you are not about to write the code for that site yourself, then you are probably looking for another solution that includes site-building tools, such as Squarespace.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
Robbie Hodge profile photo
April 19, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "The best image and file storage program"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Amazon S3 to host email images and other web images used on multiple websites. It is used widely by the marketing, tech, and even the customer service department. It created a great alternative for where we store files.
  • Simple File Hosting
  • Inexpensive
  • Fast
  • Better front end UI
  • Less downtime
  • Better status updates
  • Perfect for anyone with an image heavy website.
  • Not great for users who wouldn't know how to use it.
Read Robbie Hodge's full review
No photo available
April 03, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "S3 is trusted and reliable for cloud native applications"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use S3 for all distributed file storage for all of our web applications. We run entirely on the cloud, in AWS, and S3 is the only way we offload data, so that it isn't stored on EC2 machines. This allows us to be able to persist data, and recover data in the event a server terminates (very likely in a cloud only environment). In addition to application data, all of our customer data is serialized and stored in S3 in addition to our databases for further post ad-hoc analysis. S3 allows us to have a virtual SAN without any complications.
  • S3 is available in various regions around the world.
  • You can host a website on S3 and use AWS optimized routing for very fast page loads.
  • S3 is versioned, so you can restore a backup.
  • S3 web console is great, but could be more user-friendly.
  • S3 versioning should be enabled by default, and users prompted to disable.
  • S3 desktop client would help end users access data.
S3 is very cheap and is easy to set up if you are already on AWS. It integrates with virtually every AWS service and has very good documentation in terms of setting it up, implementing distributed web applications, and operationally keeping your costs low. If you have data that has complex business logic and workflows, S3 is able to support various requirements with lifecycle policies. S3 also has different storage tiers that are priced at different rates to enable business continuity and allow mission critical applications the SLA's they demand while pushing non-mission critical applications to lower tiers.

S3 may not be suitable if you are on another cloud platform like GCE or Azure. In that case, it might be better to use their distributed file system. However, S3 has an open API and is able to work in a hybrid-cloud environment if need be.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "Great cloud storage solution but a little cumbersome to set up for notice users."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Amazon S3 as an online repository for online backups. This addresses the needs of having data stored offsite with multiple layers of redundancy.
  • Security - S3 is great at encrypting traffic at rest and in transit.
  • Integration - S3 works great with multiple applications which is great for us since we don't have to be married to a partciluar software solution for online backups.
  • Billing - Easy to read and straight forward for clients.
  • Ease of use - Pretty difficult to setup if you aren't in the industry. Not something a notice user can setup without spending some time with it.
S3 is well suited for anyone that wants to store data in the "cloud" and not be so expensive. This is beneficial for individuals that have a lot of data to store.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 30, 2017

User Review: "Amazon S3 - The Best in Storage"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our central data store for resources. Aside from one outage, it has been incredibly beneficial to use. Its persistent storage is always available and delivers our assets quickly. I'm am such a big fan that I have adopted it for all my personal projects as well. Amazon Simple Storage Service is used across all departments both engineering and non-engineering.
  • Storage of assets
  • Uploading of images and other content from users
  • Backing builds and other essential components to engineering
  • There is some difficulty learning Amazon S3 which is common for all their products. There is a lot happening which takes time to dig in and get how they all fit together.
  • They had a big outage this year which brought down many large companies' website. This is a huge deal for something that so many people rely on.
  • It would be nice if it were more friendly for non-engineers.
Amazon Simple Storage Service is simply the leader for long-term persistent storage for anything. It's very simple to use and access anything that you would like to save in the cloud. It allows us to save static assets, images and other content, software build artifacts, and database backups. We would be pretty lost without something that powerful to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: ""Strong object-store database to help you store data at your desired scale with high security options""

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wow, S3 is an Amazon object store product. However big the file size, whatever format the file is, we don't need to worry, just store the data and retrieve it whenever needed. Similar to other AWS Services, using AWS SDK, you can access S3 at a much faster and easier way, and don't really need to worry about writing REST API. I feel it handles our major business issue of storing data in one format and converting it to another, which is expensive and also time consuming, S3 is a wonderful solution for all these problems.
  • We use S3 as an easy file sharing platform for official handovers within the company.
  • Using the bucket policies, you can easily restrict the users accessing the files. Also, have server side encryption, so don't need to worry encrypting and decrypting back the data.
  • The scale of S3 is really fascinating - It's huuuuge and highly scalable.
  • I feel managing the data in the object store, using the AWS Console is quite complicated/difficult, but they have improved the S3 UI recently which is pretty fascinating.
  • Uploading folders was quite complicated previously, haven't checked the new console though.
Irrespective of the work that you that you do, if you want to store data in different formats or any format of your choice, I guess S3 is the solution. You can store and retrieve the data in your desired format without any hassle.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2017

Amazon S3 Review: "The Name Says it all! Simple, simple simple."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
S3 is an immensely valuable storage solution.
We use it for:
  • Managing Remote State for Terraform Infrastructure-as-code
  • storing and restoring-from backups
    • managing lifecycles of backups
  • Providing state and storage for lambda functions
  • Image repositories
    • new uploads to S3 bucket automatically trigger lambda functions to resize
  • S3 - as its name implies is dead simple. You don't spend your time thinking about storage, you spend your time building the app that consumes it
  • Lifecycle management is critical for backups. You can set bucket lifecycle rules which move files to glacier and then remove them after set times.
  • Accessibility from local development makes for great dev workflows
  • My team hasn't run into any pain points so far...it's been very easy to use. "lacking features" actually keep things simple and keep it from being a God-service
Well suited for:
  • Backup
  • Image/Upload Repositories
  • Lambda Storage
  • Media Hosting
  • File Delivery (customer downloads)
  • Anything where files need lifecycle management
Read this authenticated review
Yanan Wang profile photo
July 18, 2016

Review: "Simple, Reliable, Maintainable Storage - Amazon S3"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My current company is still in the process of moving to the AWS stack, but my previous company already had a successful story using Amazon tools, including S3. It was used across the whole organization. Server logs and data from the MySQL database were replicated to S3, and from there, the data got processed by Mapreduce programs running on EMR, and eventually get stored in RedShift or Elasticsearch. S3 is also used as a fast and neat backup storage for RedShift and Elasticsearch.
  • Easy-to-use command line interface and APIs.
  • Great integration with other Amazon services.
  • Secured. And access can be easily managed with IAM service.
  • GUI is not user-friendly. I had to use a third party tool called S3Hub to do quick file downloads/uploads for testing.
Amazon S3 is best suited when you're already using an AWS stack or thinking about moving toward it. It is a reliable and high throughput storage that you will be using in the back of a lot of other Amazon tools such as EMR and RedShift. However, if what you need is a cheaper and a more longer-term storage, you might want to take a look at Amazon Glacier.
Read Yanan Wang's full review

Amazon S3 Scorecard Summary

About Amazon S3

Amazon S3 is a commonly used cloud object storage solution.

Amazon S3 Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No