TrustRadius
Wordpress is an open-source publishing platform popular with bloggers, and a content management system, known for its simplicity and modifiability. Websites may host their own blogging communities, controlling and moderating content from a single dashboard.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3s/tM/BG448UBIK1SQ.PNGBest CMS PlatformWordPress is used by my business to establish a web presence and publish content easily and affordably,Wordpress is fast Wordpress is easy to use and setup Wordpress is cost-effective,Security,10,My business’ Wordpress site is our number one source of new clients,Wix,Clio, Google Analytics,Developer,10-100 pagesThe safest content manager on the market.I use WordPress as a content manager to develop the pages of my clients because it is the best way to deliver a complete and fully self-managed website.,for developments of web pages that need to be delivered quickly. dynamic websites where information will be constantly loaded. (Manageable Auto) if you need a secure solution and a development that you can start with a theme or a template.,is not very good with very elaborate developments as e-commerce, in my opinion, there are more complete alternatives. free websites because they fill the advertising site. mobile apps.,6,productivity increase. Increased response times. greater autonomy when managing your site.,Joomla!,Joomla!, Wix, Slack,Developer,1-10 pagesBest CMS platform providing a number of features without any knowledge of codingIt is used by the department to maintain blogs. To make a different type of websites which are describing small and larger business of people. With the help of WordPress number of online stores, websites are being made every day to provide best and stylish experience to the users of the website.,Wordpress is an open source CMS system that provides plethoras of free features. There are varieties of plugins by installing them. We can add new functionalities to the website without any knowledge of coding. Wordpress is the best platform for customization of websites and millions of free themes are there.,The security of WordPress websites is not up to the mark. This should be improved so that we can overcome the threats and attacks on the websites. Premium version of plugins is more costly. Plugins are making websites slow.,8,Well income from making websites Income by adding new functionalities in existing websites Pro version of plugins are very costly,,Azure SQL Database, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, Amazon API Gateway,Developer,1-10 pagesWordpress is good for quick and dirty projectsWordPress is being used by various clients for website capabilities. We specifically recommend WordPress for those teams who lack advanced technical proficiency when it comes to content publishing platforms. For the more advanced user, other platforms like Drupal are better.,Easy-to-use Customizable with plugins,Very buggy, especially with more plugins Small updates can break the entire site,6,WordPress works great when it does. When it doesn't, it can be a nightmare for those who aren't technically proficient.,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesCome for the Price, Stay for the CommunityWe use WordPress to create and maintain websites for multiple universities across the country. These websites are used to capture prospective students contact information and inform them about our education programs. We also use WordPress for some of our internal websites. This is our main source for any public facing, robust website we created for ourselves or our school partners.,WordPress is quick to implement and have up and running. The combination of the quick installation to the user-friendly interface of the back end, makes WordPress a great tool for experts and novices alike. There is a huge community of developers and experts to provide customization and tips for any website. A quick Google search will find numerous solutions to most WordPress and website issues that may arise. Plugins everywhere! This is great because there are options for plugins. Some other CMS solutions offer one or two options for different features, but WordPress has multiple options and allows you to find free and more premium options. Because it is built using free and open source platforms, there are no additional software or specialty hardware costs needed to get a website up and running. Just a basic website package will do.,Security can be an issue, because you are dealing with both core WordPress code, and any plugin code. WordPress is usually quick with updates, and does a good job of keeping up on any possible security issues. But, plugins can be a different story. Add to that, as one of the largest CMS systems around, it is often a target of attackers. The plugin marketplace can be a minefield. While there is a review process, we find that we have to be very vigilant in looking for plugins that are actively being patched and updated. The extensible of WordPress can make it slow. If we are not careful with our plugins and customizations, we can sometimes create sites that do not perform up to web standards.,8,Zero/low up front cost. (Depends on plugins we choose to buy.) Loads of talent to help us create and maintain the site. Quick turnaround when launching new sites and updating existing sites resulting in less downtime. Need to monitor for updates and verify updates don't break plugins or customization.,ExpressionEngine, Joomla!, Adobe Experience Manager and ASP.NET,CakePHP, CodeIgniter, WooCommerce,Developer,10-100 pages
Unspecified
WordPress
1744 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

WordPress Reviews

WordPress
1744 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1744 vetted WordPress reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 58)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 03, 2018

WordPress Review: "Best CMS Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress is used by my business to establish a web presence and publish content easily and affordably
  • Wordpress is fast
  • Wordpress is easy to use and setup
  • Wordpress is cost-effective
  • Security
Wordpress is well-suited for any small to mid-size business
Read Stephen Shepard's full review
May 10, 2018

WordPress Review: "The safest content manager on the market."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use WordPress as a content manager to develop the pages of my clients because it is the best way to deliver a complete and fully self-managed website.
  • for developments of web pages that need to be delivered quickly.
  • dynamic websites where information will be constantly loaded. (Manageable Auto)
  • if you need a secure solution and a development that you can start with a theme or a template.
  • is not very good with very elaborate developments as e-commerce, in my opinion, there are more complete alternatives.
  • free websites because they fill the advertising site.
  • mobile apps.
I recently developed a website for a client with this CMS. and it was quite useful until today the client makes use of this content manager to upload new content every week to his web page.
Read Richard Molina's full review
May 28, 2018

WordPress Review: "Best CMS platform providing a number of features without any knowledge of coding"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the department to maintain blogs. To make a different type of websites which are describing small and larger business of people. With the help of WordPress number of online stores, websites are being made every day to provide best and stylish experience to the users of the website.
  • WordPress is an open source CMS system that provides plethoras of free features.
  • There are varieties of plugins by installing them. We can add new functionalities to the website without any knowledge of coding.
  • WordPress is the best platform for customization of websites and millions of free themes are there.
  • The security of WordPress websites is not up to the mark. This should be improved so that we can overcome the threats and attacks on the websites.
  • Premium version of plugins is more costly.
  • Plugins are making websites slow.
WordPress provides tons of free features by installing different plugins and we can add every functionality to the website without any knowledge of coding.
If you are looking for a secure website then WordPress is not providing it by default. However, there is a limit of login attempts to overcome invalid logins
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2018

Review: "Wordpress is good for quick and dirty projects"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress is being used by various clients for website capabilities. We specifically recommend WordPress for those teams who lack advanced technical proficiency when it comes to content publishing platforms. For the more advanced user, other platforms like Drupal are better.
  • Easy-to-use
  • Customizable with plugins
  • Very buggy, especially with more plugins
  • Small updates can break the entire site
WordPress is best for teams wishing to get off the ground ASAP. It is ready to go and very easy to set up. However, for more advanced capabilities and customization, WordPress may have some weaknesses. Plugins can also get complex, especially when constant updating is required.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2018

WordPress Review: "Come for the Price, Stay for the Community"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WordPress to create and maintain websites for multiple universities across the country. These websites are used to capture prospective students contact information and inform them about our education programs. We also use WordPress for some of our internal websites. This is our main source for any public facing, robust website we created for ourselves or our school partners.
  • WordPress is quick to implement and have up and running. The combination of the quick installation to the user-friendly interface of the back end, makes WordPress a great tool for experts and novices alike.
  • There is a huge community of developers and experts to provide customization and tips for any website. A quick Google search will find numerous solutions to most WordPress and website issues that may arise.
  • Plugins everywhere! This is great because there are options for plugins. Some other CMS solutions offer one or two options for different features, but WordPress has multiple options and allows you to find free and more premium options.
  • Because it is built using free and open source platforms, there are no additional software or specialty hardware costs needed to get a website up and running. Just a basic website package will do.
  • Security can be an issue, because you are dealing with both core WordPress code, and any plugin code. WordPress is usually quick with updates, and does a good job of keeping up on any possible security issues. But, plugins can be a different story. Add to that, as one of the largest CMS systems around, it is often a target of attackers.
  • The plugin marketplace can be a minefield. While there is a review process, we find that we have to be very vigilant in looking for plugins that are actively being patched and updated.
  • The extensible of WordPress can make it slow. If we are not careful with our plugins and customizations, we can sometimes create sites that do not perform up to web standards.
WordPress is well suited to most conventional or eCommerce websites. There are features to use the built in database for data driven sections of websites, like a store finder. The flexibility of WordPress can help make it a good choice for almost any website type, but if someone is looking for a very simple one or two page website that will not change much, WordPress may be overkill.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
January 24, 2018

WordPress Review: "Great for blog management"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Wordpress at a marketing agency to manage and post blogs for various clients. It was is an integral tool for the content team to ensure that content is published across clients' websites. Posts could effectively be uploaded by the agency content team and reviewed by the client before publication.
  • Flexibility of design
  • Ability to check drafts
  • Ease of use
  • One Wordpress account I have been locked out of and can't get back into despite requesting reset email
Wordpress is perfect for the blog functionality of a website. The post feature is fantastic - this is my primary use. It is great for a content team who can review content before it is published, schedule postings etc. The Yoast SEO optimisation plugin is also fantastic to help with your keyword language.

I have also used Wordpress to build websites from scratch - it is perfect for Small Businesses who may not have a large budget or experience in web design. The plug-ins require plenty of flexibility and functionality and there is plenty of support in the user forums.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2018

WordPress Review: "Gotta love open-source"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use wordpress as a lightweight microsite CMS for our clients. It is used by our entire marketing department. The different user roles gives each individual within our department access to the appropriate level of editing without creating a workflow bottle neck. It also gives us a great platform for our content markteing efforts with the built-in blog post type. And with it being an open-source CMS, there are several great plugins that are easy to add onto our sites.
  • User roles. Plenty of variety here that gives different people appropriate access.
  • Easy to write your own plugins. Or if you're not that tech-savvy, there are several great, free plugins out there that are easy to install & easy to use.
  • Multisite support, which is great if you have several locations or subdomains to manage. You can use the same install across all of these.
  • Security. Being open-source, it is a big target for hackers. The folder structure is very predictable.
  • Page speed. It is relatively lightweight, but there are a few script files that are built into the CMS that makes compression tricky at times.
If you need to get a site up & running quickly, wordpress is an excellent option. Out of the box installations do not require knowledge of code, so if you're not a developer, wordpress is again an excellent solution.

If you need a custom site that is outside the scope of a traditional sitemap, wordpress may not be a good option for you. It is not an intranet solution, nor is it a dashboard solution.
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2018

Review: "WordPress is one of the best open source CMS platforms available."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wordpress is widely used by our organization. We build all of our partner's sites using Wordpress and we also develop and design some internal web projects using WordPress. We choose to use WordPress because it has a very intuitive and easy to use admin dashboard to allow us to manage the back end of our websites.
  • WordPress allows us to create websites quicker because it provides a number of built in systems so we don't have to develop from ground up.
  • WordPress makes it easier for non-coders to manager their websites through the content management system admin interface.
  • There is a massive WordPress community that you can use as support and third party plugins that you can select from to extend the functionality of your site outside of the standard Wordpress themes.
  • Sometimes there are too many plugins to choose from for a specific need. It requires you to try and test multiple ones to find the right fit for your site.
  • WordPress can run slow if you use too many plugins and don't do any speed optimizations within your configurations.
  • Plugins and WordPress make a numerous updates throughout the year. In order to keep up with the latest updates and security patches, you must keep up and update as new releases come out.
Wordpress is well suited for blogs and other informational websites. It allows non-coders to manage their websites without knowing how to code. The content management backend allows admins to easily make updates and add functionality to their site. Although you can certainly use WordPress to build landing pages, I don't think it's an ideal solution. There are other platforms like Unbounce that specialize in landing pages with built-in features specifically for landing page use cases.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2018

User Review: "WordPress - I'm Impressed!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used WordPress in various capacities, both in its original implementation as a blog on an otherwise larger site and to host entire sites with posts (such as products and blog posts). I have created themes for these sites to customise the appearance and features of the CMS on the front end, and have contributed to the content, so have used it as both an administrator and author.

WordPress provides a relatively easy solution to put a platform in place to create and manage content, with its large number of plugins to add functionality and features to the end product. I have found the availability of plugins exceptionally useful in filling in gaps within the original CMS, and have also found the availability of tutorials and documentation very useful in modifying the platform in-house too.
  • Quick to set up
  • Highly customisable, especially with the regular updates the platform receives
  • A large number of available plugins and themes
  • Extensible and versatile
  • Relatively simple to manage
  • Relatively open to hacking (if not properly maintained and set up)
  • Plugins can break with platform updates or clash with each other
  • Can be overkill if inappropriate for your project
  • Some themes are slow to load
WordPress is very well suited to projects that have a short window of time to be implemented, due to its relatively quick setup time. This isn't to say it is not suitable for more complex or well-thought-out implementations, but it just lends itself particularly well to fast turnarounds. It is excellent in scenarios where regular posts of content are required as it was originally set up as a CMS for blogging, but now supports many other content types. With page builders and custom post types, there really aren't many limits to what can be done within WordPress, and really the limitation generally lies with the developer implementing a site with it.
Read this authenticated review
January 26, 2018

"WordPress Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wordpress is used to build smaller sites that we need to look good, and be able to create within a timely manner. Wordpress also allows us to create great looking content/websites for our clients, and it's easy to hand over the editing capabilities to them with little training on the CMS.
  • Interface ease of use.
  • Ability to train clients to use the CMS to edit their own content.
  • Endless amounts of themes and plugins available to use for customization.
  • Regulations of who can create themes/plugins. There seems to be many glitchy themes/plugins created.
  • Although there's a huge online community/forums with support, it would be nice to have a chat feature and be able to talk with an actual rep.
  • Security. I seem to hear a lot about being easy to hack.
I think that WordPress is well suited to people who have a small business and are looking to have a blog on their website. I believe that if you have a major site, I would stick with hiring a professional developer/team to build and run your website.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2018

Review: "WordPress is a great content management system for marketers and bloggers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use WordPress in our Marketing Department for marketing websites for our clients. Each website is a marketing website, designed and built with lead generation in mind, with our goal being to convert as many free leads as possible. We also use it for internal websites, intranets and for plugin development.
  • WordPress is extremely easy to set up and install.
  • WordPress has a large and extremely active support community.
  • WordPress scales well for websites that get light traffic and those that experience heavy traffic.
  • WordPress is built on PHP and can be customized easily.
  • Upgrading WordPress versions is extremely simple.
  • The WordPress documentation is outstanding and provides plenty of code examples.
  • WordPress sites are prone to hacking.
  • Since WordPress is open-sourced, finding the right plugin for what you want to accomplish can oftentimes be difficult.
WordPress is an excellent blogging and website platform for a wide range of users. It is simple to add, update and delete pages, manage navigation menus and give your clients complete control of their website. It is updated regularly and offers an immerse plugin gallery to help accomplish even the simplest of tasks.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2017

Review: "WordPress is the Website Software to Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress is the software that runs the company’s website. Only a select few at my company have access to the program. The nature of the software offers a flexible and adaptable website. It is also a cost-effective way to create a website.
  • WordPress is adaptable. No company is the same. A website building tool should be able to reflect the needs of the business. All too often a software’s limitation dictates what a client can or cannot do. The business should make the choices, not the program.
  • It is widely used. The familiarity of WordPress is great for companies without a dedicated tech team. Finding someone to change or fix a bug isn’t hard.
  • User roles. Having different permissions and user roles is very beneficial. It allows people with different abilities and comfort levels to use and interact with a site’s content.
  • I’ve been very pleased with WordPress. Though I’ve found that with the increasing ability to change the design and look of a site, it is easy to have custom CSS in multiple spots.
I think this is a great program for small business. It offers out of the box solutions that you can individualize as needed and invest in as a company grows. It is an easy software to learn how to use.

I find WordPress.com more difficult to use, but that is because I like the flexibility of WordPress.org.
Read this authenticated review
September 20, 2017

User Review: "WordPress - the choice for most!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wordpress for our websites, landing pages and for designing and developing websites for other companies.
  • It is a relatively easy to manage content management system for business sites, personal and professional blog sites and e-commerce sites.
  • WordPress has an impressive number of free and paid plugins that are regularly updated to manage security, seo and other functionality.
  • WordPress has an impressive number of well-written themes so that one does not have to be a programmer to create and/or update their site.
  • WordPress consistently does updates to the platform for usability and security. I do not see any inherent problems with how WordPress operates.
  • There is some confusion between wordpress.com (all-in-one blogging platform) and wordpress.org (self-hosted) that I personally feel should be separated. I've had some clients sign up and pay through wordpress.com when they should be using (free) wordpress.org which can be a pain.
The only time I do not recommend WordPress is if a completely non-techy person wants to create their own website without wanting to learn the basics or hire someone to help them create and/or maintain the site. It's features and capabilities far exceed those by the "do it yourself without any tech knowledge" of Squarespace, Weebly, Wix, etc.
Read Shelle Pourmanafzadehardabili's full review
February 20, 2017

Review: "WordPress works for most smaller clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WordPress for a lot of our smaller clients' websites. [It's] usually companies with website spends of less than 10k. It fits the smaller companies well, as it is easy for them to use once we build out their site and allows us to do most of the builds without any real heavy lifting in regard to coding.
  • WordPress is free, first of all. Of course, if you are building out a custom site, you may need to purchase a Bootstrap template or build your own in-house, but otherwise, the CMS is open source.
  • WordPress makes it easy for our client to do basic updates or post to a blog or news feed. Not all take advantage of this, of course, but WordPress provides a simple dashboard that is easily navigated with very little training on our part.
  • The breadth of plugins has grown immensely over the past few years. For anything you need to be able to do with WordPress, you can usually find a plugin to solve your problem.
  • The text editor leaves a little to be desired but is easy to work around once you know its limitations.
  • SEO is a bit tricky with WordPress. Some of the plugins that are available don't seem to help you a lot with SEO, and may actually hurt, in my opinion.
WordPress can be used by anyone to build a basic website. The marketplace for custom templates is absolutely massive. You should be able to find a template to suit your needs for any site. If you are looking for a bunch of custom functionality, such as customer portals, you may be better off with a .NET build out. But if you're on a budget, and don't have super high standards, WordPress can suit that sort of need as well.
Read this authenticated review
August 14, 2016

Review: "WordPress Can Save You Thousands Of Dollars On Web Development Costs And Put You In The Driver's Seat Of Your Online Vehicle!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used WordPress for years to build websites for business clients, and also ran government and local council-sponsored training seminars and workshops teaching businesses how to grow their presence online using WordPress.

After building hundreds of WordPress sites over the years and authoring a series of detailed WordPress training guides for beginners. I have recently turned all of my WordPress knowledge and expertise into a comprehensive Free WordPress training site at WPCompendium.org and developed WPTrainMe - a WordPress tutorials plugin that allows users to get instant access to hundreds of detailed WordPress step-by-step tutorials from their own WordPress dashboards.
  • WordPress allows users with no technical knowledge or coding skills to be in complete control of their web presence.
  • WordPress can save business owners thousands of dollars in web development and web design costs.
  • WordPress is a powerful, secure and highly scalable online content publishing platform and business marketing tool that costs almost nothing to run.
  • WordPress can be configured to automate many areas of website management and online marketing, including automatic updates and automatically driving visitors from search engines and social networks to your site whenever new content is published.
  • WordPress is open source software and benefits from the contribution of thousands of community users, including web developers and web designers.
  • WordPress is regularly updated (on average every 3 months) to provide users with new features, bug fixes, and to address security vulnerabilities found in previous versions.
  • WordPress is the most popular and fastest growing content management system in the world
  • I have written a detailed article listing 50 reasons why WordPress is the ideal choice for most website owners here: http://wptrainme.com/wordpress/50-great-reasons-why-you-should-choose-wordpress
  • The biggest challenge I have found with WordPress is training - helping clients and business owners understand just how much they can achieve with WordPress. Even though there is so much great information online about WordPress, most of it is not organized into a logical system, or aimed at technical users. This is why I have years developing a comprehensive WordPress 'A-Z' training system that takes users step-by-step through every aspect of using WordPress.
Most people equate WordPress with "blogging". WordPress has evolved way beyond blogging to the point where many people are visiting websites that don't look like blogs, but are actually being powered by WordPress.

WordPress would suit most business uses and applications. I would only recommend custom web development work if a business owner cannot get the functionality they need or the web design look they want from a WordPress plugin or theme.
Read Martin Aranovitch's full review
January 05, 2016

WordPress Review: "Easy to develop, easier to use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wordpress is the content management platform on which our company's blog is run. It gives our marketing department an easy to use interface for writing and managing content.
  • The blogging engine is really powerful, with a simple UI, and well-developed, polished features.
  • SEO (search engine optimization) is very good built into Wordpress and can be made even better with plugins, like Yoast SEO.
  • From a development standpoint, Wordpress is very flexible. I was able to exactly duplicate the design of our main website, even though it isn't run on Wordpress. This creates a seamless experience for visitors.
  • The user-security model out of the box is adequate, but it could be more explicate and robust. There are numerous plugins that do help with this, however.
  • The plugin directory should force plugin developers to be more out right about what the free version vs. paid version of plugins do.
Wordpress is great for managing blogs and basic websites. It is simple and straightforward to develop with themes and plugins and has a vast plugin library already. It may not be the best choice for eCommerce, though there are plugins that can support it if needed.
Read James Pautz II's full review
September 08, 2015

Review: "WordPress is the Democratization of Personal Publishing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use WordPress to build and run websites for clients across a wide spectrum of business types and website needs. Utilizing plugins and custom code i create solutions for ecommerce, brochure, information, lead generation and product specification websites for small businesses, entrepreneurs and advertising / marketing agencies. It is rare that I find an application needed by a small business that cannot be met by WordPress.
  • Offers easy-to-use back end management of content for non-technical users, making updating basic content achievable without contracting a developer.
  • Offers a wide variety of plug-able features to expand functionality without adding bloat allowing a wide range of custom applications without unnecessary or unneeded features crowding the system.
  • Offers basic on-page SEO optimization out of the box with little or no configuration allowing site owners to focus on their content.
  • Offers a wide variety of theme options that can be used without the need for a designer or developer, but also provide a lot of flexibility to creat unique, custom solutions as well.
  • WordPress has been slow to implement an internal API, though this should be addressed over the next year.
  • The sheer number of plugins and themes available can be overwhelming to new users.
  • Documentation is often intended for developers and advanced users making initial use without help a difficult learning process.
WordPress is well suited to a very wide range of applications and shines when used for content management, periodic news, product information and comparison, and ecommerce applications.

Community interaction websites may not find all of the features they need readily available, and sites needing to display a large amount of data that is heavily cross referenced or that needs very complex data structures may have a hard time building out the necessary site structure.
Read Dane Morgan's full review
April 14, 2016

User Review: "WordPress from developer point of view"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use wordpress across the whole organization as our main landing page which redirects to our products or services. The main problem with wordpress is that we can't process payment through it, it's not secure at all.
  • Blog Posts or Pages
  • Easy description of your business
  • Easy Development
  • Fast conversion rates
  • Customitzation
  • Security
  • More control over the plugins that are released
If you want to have a main page of your product and have your own implementation, that will give you more reliability than having a WordPress [page].
Read Cristian Vitales Muñoz's full review
July 13, 2015

Review: "WordPress - a User-Friendly Blogging and Content Management System (CMS)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use WordPress to run all my websites and also recommend it to other users. It makes it easy to update the site and look after search engine optimization issues. It is immensely configurable by choosing and editing themes to change the design and by installing plugins to look after different types of functionality.
  • One of the best features of WordPress is that it is easy to add, edit and update site content. Anyone who can use wordprocessing software can use WordPress. It's also simple to illustrate your content with images.
  • I particularly enjoy the ability to update site functionality via plugins. Although using too many plugins can slow a WordPress based site down, there are some crucial plugins that improve the basic installation.
  • It's also great that you can change the design easily at a range of price points, using free, freemium or premium themes.
  • While one of the strengths of WordPress is the ability to change your site without coding, the ability to manually edit core files can be a weakness, as users can break the site without knowing what they are doing. However, there is plenty of online help so you can avoid this.
  • Not all WordPress themes and plugins work as intended or play nicely together. This may not be because of WordPress itself, but can cause issues. It pays to do some research before installing something new.
  • An issue which is less common now is pasting content from Word and having strange characters appear when the post is published. Recent updates seem to have solved that problem, but if you are running an older version of the software, it's worth upgrading. Upgrading is also good for security.
WordPress is well suited to sites with multiple authors, as each contributor can have a separate login. It also lends itself well to creating news type sites, as content can be uploaded for review by an editor before going live. Frankly, it works for a wide range of sites and situations. However, those who want fine grained control may prefer to create or commission their own custom theme or plugin.
Read Sharon Hurley Hall's full review
July 07, 2015

User Review: "WordPress FTW! ...most of the time."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WordPress as our primary platform for new client sites. Our bundle consists of probably the most respected of the premium WordPress theme frameworks, custom graphics from our design department, a set menu of plugins, custom programming to make certain features sing, and responsive styles baked in by default. Our development stack allows us to bring client sites to life in a week or two at a competitive price point, while delivering a decent feature set with a totally custom design.
  • WordPress can handle a broad array of content-centric sites from static sites, to a blog, to a mixed media site, to a content heavy site like TechCrunch.
  • Most mainstream site scenarios can be built using WordPress, up to the point where a high I/O or real-time webapp needed instead.
  • High I/O or real-time webapps.
  • High concurrent user sites. The server environment would need to be tuned to handle this, but the same can be said for most development platforms out there.
  • Wordpress as a framework or other MVC-style sites, the tools are still in their infancy.
  • WordPress' core is slowly being refactored from procedural to OOO-based code.
What is the purpose of the site?
What types of content will be served?
For how many users?
Will they need different access levels?
How many monthly visitors are expected?
How many concurrent users?
Will you need e-commerce baked in?
For how many SKUs?
Do you consider mobile users important to your online strategy?
Will the site need to be responsive?
How important is SEO to you?
Do you plan to advertise the site with PPC or on social media?
How will the site need to fit into your social media strategy?
Read Ansel Taft's full review
September 11, 2015

User Review: "WordPress - A Love Affair and more"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

I run a boutique web development and marketing agency, New Tricks. We only build websites using WordPress. Although this open source platform was created just over ten years ago, WordPress currently powers over 26% of all the websites in the world. One of the reasons it is so popular is that it was built to be easy for end users to add fresh content to their websites without having to call a developer. Being able to use your website agility as the hub of your marketing activities is essential for small businesses. WordPress started as a blogging software but in just a few years was extended to be a full content management program and is currently used by small businesses and also by enterprise organizations, museums, universities, retail companies for their bricks and mortar locations and for online sales. The possibilities are endless.

WordPress has Open Source licensing which means no one owns the code/program. It and it is free and available for all to use. A community of volunteers works to keep it going and growing. There are many ways for people to volunteer. Many of us who make our living using WordPress get involved with the WordPress community doing a variety of things. Some people work developing new code, some fix bugs or create plugins or themes. Others who are not coders, write documentation or work in their cities to help people learn more about WordPress and how to use it by running local WordPress Meetup groups or by organizing WordCamps (WordPress conferences).

  • WordPress is easy for end users to add content to keep their sites fresh and attract search engines and readers to their websites.
  • Because of the widespread use of this free open source software, there is a huge development community helping it to grow. There are over 2,600 plugins which add extra functionality to WordPress out of the box, and thousands of free and premium themes to help people get started with their websites.
  • The WordPress community is helpful and gives away lots of free information on the web and in person. Local WordPress users have WordPress Meetups. all over the country where we put on trainings. Our community organizes WordCamps in major cities all over the world, with tickets priced around 20.00 a day, with tracks geared to WordPress beginners, users, designers and developers
  • WordPress is not easy for end users to fully customize. So if they have very particular needs they should have someone experienced set up the website.
  • It is so easy to use that people who don't know how to do web marketing create sites that are not very effective.
  • Programmers who don't take enough time to get to know the WordPress built in capabilities, end up hardcoding everything which then leaves their clients with a site that cannot be used effectively.
If you are just blogging or don't want to have to do backups and updates, it would be better to use WordPress.com. This is the free version of WordPress where they host it for you rather than your having to get your own hosting account and domain name.
Read Judi Knight's full review
January 05, 2015

User Review: "Stress Less with WordPress"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress is currently being used by 100% of my clients that I have had the pleasure of doing business with recreating their business websites. WordPress addresses many different business problems, but the problems that it addresses the most are ease of use for an average user to update content on their website without the help of a webmaster, or hiring of a programmer or developer each time something needs to be changed on their website. Many business owners want the ability to update their own content without worrying about delegating the service to someone else, especially if content is ever changing or expanding, hiring a separate person for that can be cost effective and some businesses are going through tough times and need to be able to rely on themselves more these days to do some of the web work.

The second problem it addresses is the ability to insert a wide variety of different functionality into the site at any given time with the use of easy to install plugins. The variety of various types of plugins can address a lot of coding from scratch during the website building phase, which cuts costs for the business owners by only having to pay a fraction of the cost for the plugin than it would cost if a programmer was hired to do it from scratch for them. Plugins can be activated, and deactivated for use on the site without any coding knowledge necessary for most of them. I must state though that it does require grasping the systems user mechanics to a fair degree. Some plugins do require some knowledge of PHP, HTML5, CSS3 but most of it has been taken care of with the implementing of shortcodes that require only the knowledge of what the shortcode is used for and the ability to insert the shortcode in the proper areas of the website. Instead of writing out code, users can use something similar to: [large_image]http://example.com/largeimage.jpg[/large_image] instead, which is very user friendly to understand and implement.

Another problem WordPress addresses is cost. Since WordPress is a free to use platform with open source coding to the frame, anyone who uses WordPress can install it onto their website's host server for free, and they can also choose from a vast amount of free WordPress themes that give the user a head start on their project when the choose the right template for their site. In the WordPress depository, there are a wide variety of free plugins to use as well that cover almost anything you will need to get your site up and running efficiently. As for some of the better plugins out there, you can purchase a paid version of some of the plugins you find in the depository, or you can find them on other specific websites that sole purpose is to provide premium plugins, and themes to help with building your business' website.



  • WordPress is a free to use, continuously updated with new features, quality product maintained, framework that can be easily installed on almost any server in the matter of minutes. This feature alone gives you the type of service that most paid systems would give you, but instead, it's absolutely free.
  • WordPress and third party companies offer many WordPress themes that are perfect for almost every type of website that you can think of making as a business or for personal use. The cost of these themes varies from Free - to upwards of $150 as the highest priced theme that I have personally seen on the market. You can also hire a developer to create your own custom theme with the needed requirements you would like as well, and that can range anywhere from $800 - $5,000 or more depending on the developer and the requirements of your site.
  • WordPress and third parties also offer many WordPress plugins that provide the business/user's website with specific functionality that the Wordpress framework and possibly their currently installed WordPress theme may not offer. Plugins can range from Free - $200 or more from my own personal experience looking across the internet on all the different websites that offer their plugin products. You can also hire a developer to create a custom WordPress plugin that meets your specific requirements as well. This can cost anywhere from $100 - $1,500 or more depending on the specific needs of the plugin you are looking to have created.
  • Wordpress offers ease of use for updating content for people who may not be so website savvy when it comes to the structure, lingo, or code layout. There are many options to customize your website with content using a visual composer plugin, or built in feature of a theme, or the WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) that's built into the WordPress framework already.
  • WordPress has been improving their framework since the beginning of development. If I would say that WordPress has room for improvement, it would be giving itself the ability to host plugins on a remote location to call functions from so that the use of many plugins won't disrupt the site's load speed times, which effects the overall experience of the site's users.
  • I think that WordPress can expand on some of their customization features to allow a simpler, faster way of getting your brand in the framework. Though this is capable through plugins that are out there, I think WordPress could alleviate the use of a lot of plugins if they incorporate some of the major used plugins features within the framework itself.
  • I think that WordPress can improve on the ease of use in connecting their members management functionality with outside source software that companies may be offering as a SaaS to their customers, and using WordPress as their main site that stores the sales information and sign-up features.
If you're looking to create an application or some type of software system, then WordPress isn't the appropriate choice. WordPress is best used as informational, e-commerce products, and interaction based content to engage with users who are interested in their business/site. However, if you're looking to build a membership site, WordPress has a lot to offer in terms of e-learning functionality with the use of themes or plugins to integrate into the site as well, and should be considered as a serious option for the selection of the business/user that's looking for the right framework/system to use for their site.
Read Mathew Riexinger's full review
July 29, 2015

Review: "Business owner perspective on WordPress"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress is used as a framework for building my clients websites.
  • A Solid Framework.
  • Many Plugins Available.
  • Community Support.
  • Free.
  • Security can be an issue as it's a large target.
  • More CMS features such as making custom post types easier.
  • Adding a visual editor would be a benefit.
For websites with a variety of content types I might use something like ExpressionEngine 2 vs. WordPress.
Read Jake Smith's full review
September 23, 2014

WordPress Review: "The best incumbents web devs have ever had"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPress is used as either the blog engine or else the main CMS for most of our clients' websites as well as for many years, our own. As the #1 popular CMS of all time, it provides many advantages. In many ways it is an ideal example of the way open source software should be, comprising a simple and in many ways solid software platform, an extremely active global community, and a vibrant community of theme and extension developers.
  • WordPress is simple enough that non-developers can start a simple website and grow it until it is moderately large...for a fraction of the cost of a custom developed site.
  • WordPress provides web developers a gentle, friendly introduction to start creating content-oriented websites.
  • One of WordPress' most-loved features is its easy-to-understand administrative area. When a WordPress site has been well-implemented, even a non-technical user will be able to manage their website.
  • Due to its simple architecture, WordPress is comparatively easy to hack. While the risk of hacking can be mitigated by careful security measures, websites with sensitive data may be best put elsewhere.
  • It's easy to take a simple WordPress website and add new features by installing Plugins. However, this can easily get out of hand when users begin installing hundreds of plugins, some of which may conflict or even cause security gaps.
WordPress is well-suited for websites where written or graphical content is central. It's especially good at presenting content that is released over time (it's a blogging platform after all). It's not as good for websites where security is crucial or other types of data are central.
Read Michael D. Bower's full review
August 30, 2014

Review: "CMS-Lite: while WordPress is the best of open source options, it just can't handle all the needs of large institutions"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While Hannon Hill's Cascade Server is at the heart of Philadelphia University's web content management strategy, a single product cannot always satisfy the disparate (and often transplanted) limbs of an institution where some faculty and staff desire more freedom when it comes to the design, administration and expression of what is traditionally understood as a blog.

Predating our use of Cascade Server by two years, our installation of WordPress on a dedicated server was a stopgap measure instituted first (and still) for our online daily news outlet: PhilaU Today. WordPress was free, open source and easy to install and get up and running. Its community of devoted developers writing plugins for practically everything also made WordPress more appealing than its competition at the time. Once the word spread (a partial pun?), academic programs and services (e.g., Industrial Design or Study Abroad on any given year) began to request installations that would allow them to showcase their particular student work and news — elements not always covered in PhilaU Today or on the recruitment-focused websites for each major. By the time we adopted Cascade, these blogs were legacy, and with our focus on using Cascade to push out the unified design of the juggernaut of our primary domain that encompasses over 50 academic programs, 3 distinct colleges and numerous administrative departments, we made the conscious decision to let the WordPress blogs be while we developed and designed the — by nature of our brand — Philadelphia University website proper.

After establishing the wireframes, information architecture and all of the supporting design and scripting elements that would become our primary, recruitment-focused domain, it became clear to a small department of IT staff and an even smaller department of Marketing and Public Relations (which includes web communications) that WordPress blogs — providing that they were initially setup by Marketing and IT with a top level admin from each that could not be removed from users — would continue. Seven years on, and these blogs have not only continued, but thrived to now include over 70 blogs.

Many provisos are in place for those who blog using WordPress: 1) the initial setup, approval of blog design (which was encouraged to be unique and fitting for the program it served), and right to override or edit content must remain centralized with marketing staff; 2) blogs could not violate the University brand (outlined in our Style Guide); 3) blogs must be maintained with current content as any blog untended for weeks at a time is the kiss of death; and 4) use of WordPress must be restricted to blogs. Regarding the latter, it is great that WordPress sites have now advanced to the point where they can be setup to act as standalone sites (i.e., not traditional blogs). But our policy was clear: official departmental sites were to built within Cascade Server. To do otherwise would risk not only redundancy of information, but also misrepresentation of the institution by well meaning people who do not nor could ever represent the institution as a whole.

These blogs could have been brought into Cascade Server. We considered that option. But legacy site management being what it is, we chose to retain the separate WordPress server and maintain it as our place where members of the University community could contribute to our brand story without diluting the precision work that goes into the design and maintenance of the primary domain.

  • Easy installation
  • Intuitive interface for non-technical users
  • Massive community of developers whose often free plugins make for quick and easy add-ons (e.g., social media sharing)
  • True customization is only possible if you have a really good designer / developer on staff or are willing to pay for a freelancer (i.e., free or premium ($) themes can be rigid)
  • No "out of the box" workflows to speak of (you can find plugins, but you need someone on staff who knows what to look for!)
  • By its nature of being free and open source, there is no true support, only community forums where problems are discussed; this is no substitute for a CMS vendor with excellent customer service (a true test of the real but often unstated value of content management systems)
WordPress is well suited for traditional blogs (understood primarily as an engine for sequential posts). Where it has become more than blog and can mimic some of the best web designs on the market, you will pay for the consultants, freelancers or on-staff designers and developers needed to make the necessary customization.

Also ask yourself how scaleable, modular, and just downright big your intended site needs to be. The more complex the site, the less likely WordPress is a good solution. For a small company that only needs a few static pages and a place to post news items, WordPress more than does the job.
Read Christopher Davis's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (24)
8.1
API (16)
8.0
Internationalization / multi-language (14)
8.5
WYSIWYG editor (24)
7.9
Code quality / cleanliness (24)
8.0
Admin section (25)
8.4
Page templates (24)
7.5
Library of website themes (25)
8.6
Mobile optimization / responsive design (24)
8.3
Publishing workflow (25)
8.2
Form generator (22)
7.7
Content taxonomy (22)
8.5
SEO support (23)
8.3
Bulk management (18)
7.6
Availability / breadth of extensions (23)
9.3
Community / comment management (21)
9.1

About WordPress

Wordpress is an open-source publishing platform popular with bloggers and a content management system. The appearance of a Wordpress site and many of its functions are managed through themes, and further customizable through altering code, though altering code is not required; templates and plugins to expand its capabilities are plentiful. Wordpress features integrated link management, and a search-engine friendly permalink structure. WordPress now allows multiple blogs to exist within one installation. Websites may host their own blogging communities, controlling and moderating content from a single dashboard.

 

Wordpress is popular due to its simplicity and modifiability. Furthermore implementing Wordpress costs only time. Two paid versions exist. The $99 premium plan allows a user an ad free custom domain with 13GB of space and advanced customization. The $299 Business plan allows unlimited space and supports eCommerce as well.

Categories:  Blogging,  Content Management

WordPress Integrations

WordPress Competitors

WordPress Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No