Apache Subversion Reviews

55 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 09, 2021
Richard Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our web development team uses Apache Subversion as one of our version control systems. A version control system is a critical tool for software development because it provides a central repository for our shared code and also tracks how our code changes over time, allowing us to view a history of changes or revert back to a previous version if necessary.
Read Richard Davies's full review
April 08, 2021
Rob Domenico | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used mainly as a collective tool for version tracking to ensure revisions are tracked by the dev team, and all maintain branches of our team/project repositories. To commit the revisions once all devs have merged code from respective timelines.
Read Rob Domenico's full review
March 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Subversion (SVN) as our development team's version control system. All source code, assets such as images are stored and managed by SVN. It allows different team members to work on the same code file in parallel, for example, one working on a bug fix while another working on the new feature enhancement, without having to worry about interfering with each other's work. Once completed, changes from different team members can be merged in together when ready. SVN also help tracking each change made to the files, allowing for each traceability when needed.
Read this authenticated review
March 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Apache Subversion to manage and control source code for our development team. Subversion helps to track, version, and manage conflicts when a file is being worked on by different team members at the same time. It allows changes to happen in parallel, keeps track of exactly what, when, and who has made the change, and allows us to revert back if necessary.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2019
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used to use Apache SVN for source code file versioning for all our software projects in the e-business department. Now we only use it for few projects that are not transitioned yet to Git. SVN, as most of the file versioning tools provide the following for us:
  • Revision control.
  • Interactive conflict resolution.
  • Tracking commits.
  • Collaborative commits (with the ability to lock files for disabling collaboration and avoid conflicts).
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
February 05, 2018
Luca Campanelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my organization, Apache Subversion (SVN) is used as a versioning software for some specific types of objects. It is always and only used to allow the multiple processing of objects avoiding that a resource overwrites more recent changes and to keep track of the last changes made so as to go back to the previous modification and evaluate the differences.
Read Luca Campanelli's full review
September 14, 2017
Arthur Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Subversion to manage a ColdFusion based software development project for a US Federal government contract. We were largely isolated (both geographically and organizationally) from the rest of the company (it was their attempt to get into Federal contracting) and I'm not sure what was used in other parts.

Our biggest reason for using it was to allow working on multiple releases in parallel. Before I helped set up Subversion properly, they were delivering old code with new releases, "clobbering", as they said, previously delivered code. By setting up proper branching, I fixed the problem, to the relief of both the company and the customer.

I also integrated it with the Redmine issue tracking system, requiring developers to associate issues with their commits.
Read Arthur Adams's full review
March 24, 2017
venkat nitin panaganti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used apache subversion for a course that I have taken and also for a company that I intern for. It is used for collaborating projects with team members. At the university level, apache subversion is a mandatory version control [solution] to be used in many courses and an option in many other courses in the fields related to computers. At an organizational level, at the company that I currently intern for, apache subversion is used by the whole software department over 3 different countries to collaborate over the huge project we are working on. Apache Subversion is a simple tool used to keep all the people working on a project on the same page by letting everybody work on the same project at the same time.
Read venkat nitin panaganti's full review
November 30, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Subversion is being used by our engineering team to manage the development code we write for the company.
Read this authenticated review
January 19, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Subversion used to be our main version control software before we started using GitHub. But after introduction of Git, we stopped using subversion drastically . We only have a few old code projects which are still on subversion. We have decided to go ahead with Git for all new projects.
Read this authenticated review

What is Apache Subversion?

Apache Subversion is a version control option.
Categories:  Version Control

Apache Subversion Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Apache Subversion?

Apache Subversion is a version control option.

Who uses Apache Subversion?

The most common users of Apache Subversion are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.