Gitlab Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
119 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 26, 2020
David McCann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is used by one portfolio of work within the larger organization, as its backlog/project management tool, revision control, and CI/CD pipeline. There are two main projects for managing the front-facing and mostly static website content of the portfolio, as well as for the source code of its flagship product.
  • Continuous integration/build pipelines
  • Project Management
  • Git workflows, pull requests and review
  • Revision control
  • In-app editing of project source
  • Kanban board views of project could use some improvement
  • Better explanations and granularity of user permissions and controls
Gitlab is a great opportunity to "practice what you preach" if you are a shop that advocates the use of open source tools. Whether you use [Gitlab] or your own internal deployment, this tool offers good value for money (typically free in both cases for most organizations' needs). It would be less appropriate when an organization:
  1. Doesn't want to host their own revision control, for less hands-on DevOps
  2. Needs their code to be private/proprietary, and
  3. Already has existing products and workflows for Continuous Integration and project management
In this case, a company license for GitHub.com may make more sense.
Read David McCann's full review
December 08, 2020
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for nearly all of our projects, as one of the central repository and DevOps tools. We use most of its features, mostly the repository, ticketing, and CI/CD pipelines. It has been our main project management tool for many years now.
  • Very nice and high UX value GUI.
  • Pipeline administration.
  • Issue tracking and wiki functionality.
  • Must restart it when we upgrade it, upgrade processes tend to be problematic.
For modern software projects, this tool is one of the best solutions for essential must-haves. It provides basic issue-tracking, ticketing, repository, and pipeline functions. From small to highly complex software, from single player projects to multi-level software building, this tool has nearly everything you need. Easy to configure and use, has a lot of best-practices already built in, easy to use, and shortens unnecessary devops scripting to a minimum as well as providing a very useful central repository for your code just as git. It expands git functionality greatly.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
November 27, 2020
Gregory Pecqueur | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gitlab during all stages of development and deployment. Customers can download a copy of the code at any time.
  • Version tracking
  • Public or private depots, depending on the development phase
  • Auto DeOps
  • UI git client
  • Key management
  • Automatic testing
In monitoring and safeguarding the development, maintenance, and deployment phases of modern software, web and android applications, Gitlab works wonders. The data is in a safe place, and it is easy to go back in time and create branches to test different code optimization strategies.
Read Gregory Pecqueur's full review
November 23, 2020
Prakash Chakraborty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is used by our company as a code repo, version control and continuous integration tool. It is being used across multiple departments and some departments have their separate instance! We have several internal networks as well like intranet , DMZ etc. For several projects, there is a separate instance for Gitlab in each of these network to ensure data privacy and data isolation requirements.
  • Version Control.
  • Code Repository.
  • Continuous Integration.
  • Third-party integrations.
  • Improved UI.
  • More robust user management.
If you are looking for a secure, agile, custom deployable SCM solution for Enterprise applications, this is the one for you! However some features like the ssh key integrations and other 3rd party integrations can be improved.
Read Prakash Chakraborty's full review
November 15, 2020
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is used by one of our major clients as a means of hosting 20+ repositories for a major software platform that we are building. It allows us to intelligently manage the flow of code through its gated software review process and traditional git support instead of trying to be a new custom solution.
  • Merge rules
  • Custom templates
  • Pricing
  • Code reviews
  • User interface
For most project scenarios, Gitlab is a solid choice to manage your code. While there are plenty of free platforms out there to give you a git repository, Gitlab particularly shines by providing gated merge requests for you at the basic paid tier while others require higher levels. The code review interface is more sophisticated and makes it easy for you to start a code review without necessarily doing a merge right away through a single checkbox. The code review templates were particularly powerful for us because it allowed us to provide custom documentation and a checklist to remind the developers what needed to be done. The custom fields can't prevent a merge programmatically, but it makes for a good user flow.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
September 27, 2020
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab was used by the entire engineering team (developers and operations) to hold all the code for all our projects. It was installed on-premise since we had 1000 projects to hold. All teams throughout the company used it on a daily basis to share code and discuss merge requests and issues.
  • Great interface for merge requests and issues.
  • Great community. It's easy to interact with and propose new stuff.
  • Used Gitlab community edition for years and it solved all my complaints during these years.
In case you have many repositories and want some on-premise, Gitlab is the best thing you can get. For new startups looking for a great a great (or free) place to have private repositories, Gitlab is the best option you will find as well. It also has an integrated CI for your project, which is really nice.
I like it a lot. To me, it feels very simple than other systems I used in the past. Version control is not something easy and they make it simple and easy to use. The whole experience their platform provides is just great.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
September 24, 2020
Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is used by my team and many others in my organization. We use it for its core features as a web-based Git repository. This allows us to track changes in our code and make use of the collaboration features in Gitlab like issues and pull requests. We're also getting started with using the CI and package registry features.
  • Merge request management.
  • CLI User Experience (UX).
  • Continuous Integration (CI).
  • Package management.
  • User and permissions management.
Gitlab is well suited for any project that requires revision tracking along with collaboration with other contributors. It supports the standard features of Git and adds its own recipe to the features that other Git SaaS providers offer as well. This includes issue tracking, pull request management (or merge request management in Gitlab speak...which I actually prefer considering the action that takes place), and recently artifact and package management. Gitlab has also been a leader in bringing CI to the repo ahead of its competitors. Of course, not all of these features need to be used. If all a dev needs is to track code, Gitlab can handle that just as well as any other cloud or self hosted repo.
I will admit, being an enterprise Gitlab user may come with additional access to Gitlab support. With that said, I have found them to be very supportive and responsive when prompted with questions about the tool. The engineers I've worked with have been very keen to listen to feedback from my team and have taken it back as suggestions for improvements to the tool.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
September 22, 2020
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is being used by our development team (whole organization) as our git source control provider and our build system, CI and CD provider. We use it for managing and reviewing pull requests and configuring our deployments for each project. It saves us from having to use multiple systems and is much easier as a built-in solution.
  • Gitlab hosts your code and provides build servers all in one solution.
  • Pull requests and code reviews are all easy within Gitlab.
  • A viable alternative to using GitHub.
  • They keep adding features all the time.
  • Not as good as GitHub in some areas.
  • UI isn't as pretty or friendly as its competitors.
  • Has a lot of room for growth.
  • Is lacking some enterprise-level features.
Gitlab is well suited if you're looking for a cheap git source control provider with decently priced CI. However, it does lock you into using their build machines - in contrast, GitHub plays a bit nicer with external build services like CircleCI and Travis. However, Gitlab provides a fairly decent set of features; it is catching up to GitHub in a variety of ways.
Read Richard Rout's full review
December 08, 2020
Raju Maisnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gitlab as a git server and also for our CI/CD pipelines. We use IBM Cloud as our primary cloud provider and it integrates well with Gitlab. We are able to run tests and automate deployments through the cloudfoundry integration. Other than this we also use the kanban board to plan and track the progress of our development.
  • It has a free plan and easier to use interface than Bitbucket
  • Has all the features as GitHub
  • The code editor is particularly useful because of the syntax highlighting
  • Not so popular for open source as GitHub but thats probably not its intended market.
  • Since it is feature rich, it takes a bit of time to know where things are
If you like an all in one package where everything is stored in one place, Gitlab is a good option because it already comes packed with a lot of features at half the price of a GitHub subscription. Also it's particularly well suited for devops.
I wouldn't recommend it for open source projects though as not everyone knows about Gitlab.
Read Raju Maisnam's full review
September 22, 2020
Marco Carnevali | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gitlab for every code project we have such as the website, APIs and mobile applications. It offers a free plan that has everything you need. We use Gitlab, especially for it's CI (continuous integration) feature that let us automate team working and deploying frameworks on dev and productions channels
  • Continuous integration
  • Git
  • Automations
  • Artifacts
Gitlab it's needed if you are developing software, and you want to enhance your development with integrations and automation.
I've never used Gitlab support.
I think gitlab is really easy to use but they still have way to improve the UX of their interface
Read Marco Carnevali's full review
November 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is being used across my organisation and sister companies as well.
It helps in the continuous integrations of the code.
Provide comfort of scheduling pipelines to solve integration specific problems.
We can integrate CI/CD jobs to smooth the integration process and automate the build systems to help in easy integration of the final code.
  • Server - Provides cloud based/ self hosted server facility.
  • Continuous integrations
  • Pipeline scheduling
  • Third party app integrations
  • Basic problem is solved pretty well by Gitlab, rest points can be user specific and cost bound.
  • Should have one GUI based app for windows and mac OS like one of their competitors.
  • Documentation can be improved.
Well suited for small to large teams where continuous integration is a requirement.
Less suited if the team is not inclined to research out the specific scenarios which they might face later on when the setup is done.
A thorough R&D in the documentation needs to be done before setting up the cloud/self hosted servers.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using GitLab as part of a full stack engineering team. We have our own company instance of GitLab, and log in with a federated OAauth provider. GitLab. It's solving the problems of:
- Providing secure, stable, and scalable Git hosting.
- Facilitating and running Continuous Integration automation tools.
- Facilitating code reviews on Merge Requests using a Git branching workflow.

At a higher level, this means that GitLab is giving us a toolkit to store and work on our source code.
  • Code review and Merge UI are more intuitive than GitHub.
  • CI is tightly integrated and well exposed in the UI.
  • Overall a stronger product and experience than GitHub if you don't need to be open-source.
  • A feature to mirror GitHub CodeSpaces would be a nice addition.
  • Automatically @mentioning people in Slack when they get assigned to a code review / merge request would be a helpful way to draw their attention.
It's a solid product and its only real competition is GitHub. (Don't even consider Atlassian's offering here, GitHub and GitLab are both miles ahead.)
You're going to need hosting for your source code, and Git is likely what you'll use, therefore you have 3 serious choices:

1) Self host. I wouldn't recommend this.
2) GitHub. If your project is open source, you should use GitHub. The experience will be worse than GitLab, except you will be most visible to the open source community. If only part of your project is open source, you might consider hosting your whole project in GitLab and mirroring the open parts to GitHub.
3) GitLab. If you don't need GitHub's open source community, then GitLab is 100% your choice. It has a stronger, less buggy, cleaner, more featureful experience for working on code with a team.

So at the end of the day, you're likely going to be using GitHub or GitLab. Think about their missions:

GitHub: Community First, Developer Experience Second.
GitLab: Developer Experience First, Community Second.

Which one aligns with what you want? For most of you: GitLab. For the Open Source projects, GitHub.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Gitlab both personally and professionally. I have also used it at several organizations. In my current organization, it is being evaluated for rollout as a company wide version control standard.
  • Pipelines: Gitlab Pipelines is an excellent way to get started with pipelines easily and without much overhead. And with it being all encapsulated within Gitlab itself, it makes integrating your code into that pipeline even easier. Just a little bit of code and VOILA. You have at least a minimum viable pipeline.
  • VCS: Gitlab is, of course, a great version control system.
  • Usability: Gitlab has really put a significant amount of focus into usability. They've drilled down and ensured that the way companies and individuals need to use the tool, they can.
  • Groups: Gitlab makes setting permissions on projects extremely easy. Other version control systems make it more difficult to set things granular enough, but gitlab allows you to group things in a granular enough way for your projects.
  • In some ways, it's more difficult to navigate the web UI than I would like. Could be an overload of options, or could just be the difference of switching between different version control systems.
Gitlab is extremely well suited for an enterprise VCS solution. It's also great for personal projects as well. Best part is: it's free up to a certain point which allows you to properly evaluate the solution for your organization.
At this point, I do not have much experience with Gitlab support as I have never had to engage them. They have documentation that is helpful, not quite as extensive as other documentation, but helpful nonetheless. They also seem to be relatively responsive on social media platforms (twitter) and really thrived when GitHub was acquired by Microsoft.
In some ways, as mentioned before, the web interface can be a little different to get used to. The gitlab documentation is also a little lacking compared to documentation of other tools in the same class.
Read this authenticated review
November 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using GitLab for git and it's CI/CD capabilities, and that everything is managed and stored within GitLab. One of the major draws of GitLab is their security scans that are only offered in their Ultimate edition. We are using this (and GitLab) for all our projects, which assists us in surfacing security issues, helping us deploy faster, etc. Everything can be self-hosted and self-contained.
  • Security scans
  • CI/CD pipelines
  • Code management
  • CICD documentation can get very complex or ambiguous.
  • Documentation in general can be improved and updated better.
  • Jira integration is still lacking.
GitLab is very good if you want to self-host your instance, and it integrates well with Azure AD. I would suggest using this if you want to do everything in GitLab end-to-end, from setting and configuring (DevOps) to security dashboards to sprints to development to code reviews to deployment to even rollback. GitLab is really very powerful and configurable, would suggest to trial it out first and see if it meet your needs.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is being used as both a source code repository as well as a CI/CD solution. Gitlab as a whole is used within our enterprise, but we are using our own instance. Using Gitlab allows us to keep revisions of the code we are deploying in a central repository, as well as continually integrating and deploying our software.
  • Source Code repository.
  • CI/CD.
  • Source code reviews.
  • There have been GUI issues.
  • We have encountered issues upgrading.
  • It seems to still have rough edges.
Gitlab is well suited for those that have a familiar experience with CI/CD, and can get their way around their source code repository. We have encountered some issues where it has started to slow down a bit, but we just gave the VM more resources.
We haven't had a lot of reasons to open up support tickets, but when we have, Gitlab has addressed our issues. So I am pretty happy about that.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab was used by my company for version control and to share files among collaborators. It was used by developers, technical staff, and researchers across departments to manage joint projects, as well as with external collaborators from other companies. Developers also used the software to manage changes, especially for projects where files were being edited by different people at a time.
  • Version control.
  • Shared folders.
  • Privacy.
  • Security.
  • Access control.
  • Managing users' access to projects.
  • Server configuration when hosted locally.
  • User interface.
Gitlab worked better for our team when compared with GitHub. There was better control over resources when we hosted the system locally, and users could be managed easier. Being a small team, we didn't run into too many issues. However, the UI for managing user access control could be improved.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2019
Dustin Ghia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Gitlab for software projects in my company and for some of my clients. I highly recommend Gitlab for distributed teams, especially for software projects that are developed in offshore mode. A key feature of Gitlab is its JIRA Software integration. This is very useful considering that JIRA is a very powerful agile planning tool.
  • Supports the entire CI/CD lifecycle.
  • Integration with JIRA Software.
  • On-premise self-managed version.
  • Documentation could be better.
  • Multiple issue assignees should be a core feature.
Gitlab is well suited for distributed and centralized teams. It is less appropriate for agile teams.
The support is agile and respects the time of SLA. This regarding the Starter license. Surely for higher-level licenses the support is even better.
Read Dustin Ghia's full review
February 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gitlab in a small group of 5 developers, including the Scrum Master. Practically, we use the board to display our issues and organize its status (doing, in progressing, code revere, ready to UAT). We also use Gitlab repository and the wiki to describe the project.
  • Easier then Jira.
  • Beautiful UI.
  • Sometimes when you click on the card it doesn't open.
  • Plugin for test cases as we have in Jira.
If you have small or medium projects, go ahead and give a try on Gitlab. Two years ago, we changed Jira to Gitlab. We exported the issues and repositories into Gitlab. The Scrum Master is happier in using these tools because he always says that Gitlab is easier and less complex than Jira.
Gitlab is easy to use. It's a ready to go software.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gitlab to check in all the codes that we develop. We use it as an online repository.
  • Can be accessed easily from the terminal.
  • Easy to maintain the codes online.
  • Can't think of any.
It is really suitable when you have a large team developing a number of scripts. It's easy to merge everything together. Everybody can access everybody's codes. Really speeds up the development process. Very useful for version control. It can get a bit difficult for a newbie to access it from the terminal. But once you get hold of it, it's easy.
It is a great product and serves its purpose.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as one of our git-repository management services inside the company. We host there some of our projects and take advantage of their continuous integration and continuous deployment mechanisms to build a more solid and robust codebase.
It allows us to work collaboratively by simplifying code review processes through merge requests.
  • Built-in continuous integration
  • Built-in continuous deployment
  • Wiki supports
  • Easy collaboration between members of a team
  • I wish they said `Pull Request` instead of `Merge Request`.
  • Smaller community than GitHub for Open Source projects.
Gitlab is pretty well suited for scenarios in which you want a more robust and solid codebase. The reason for that is they provide right away and with free plans too, continuous integration and continuous deployment services.

I wouldn't consider it too suited for open source projects since the community is smaller in comparison to other platforms like GitHub.
I haven't contacted customer support because I haven't had any problems with Gitlab. Their service has been outstanding.

I know they have a very active Twitter account in which they provide very quick updates. As far as I know the community is pretty happy with their service.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across organization for managing code.
  • Ability to check the history, git logs
  • Ability to assign PR(pull request) for people to review and merge it when set of approvers approve it
  • Version management
  • Integration with CI/CD pipeline
  • Auto code deployed when things are merged
Well suited for source code version management, where the lot of people are collaborating on code across organization. Give visibility of code to the people who are participating in code commits, by code reviews, merge approval process.
Faster resolution of tickets, easy to work with support people
Read this authenticated review
August 13, 2019
Kevin Ritchey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gitlab across our entire business, from documentation to code versioning to CI/CD and IaaS. We've used other documentation tools such as Confluence by Atlassian but we keep coming back to Markdown in Gitlab because of the simplicity, exportability, portability, better versioning, better integration - such as with Readthedocs. Our helpdesk team finds Gitlab easy to use. We also use Gitlab for our development teams and operations teams.
  • Markdown.
  • CI/CD integration.
  • User and group management.
  • Branding.
  • Standard Gitlab implementation.
  • Themes.
  • Need to reconfigure too often.
  • Use the same Markdown engine everywhere.
We would whole-heartedly recommend Gitlab for code versioning with teams across different organizations as the management of users and groups is so easy. CI/CD is built-in and batteries included and because the implementation of Gitlab is standard it is easier to use than Bitbucket. If your organization is already in the Cloud Gitlab is one of the easiest solutions to roll out on AWS, DigitalOcean, GCI, Azure, Linode, etc. Even the management of Gitlab itself can be versioned and deployed using CI/CD tools such as Jenkins.
The web console management is superior and I would have given Gitlab a 10, but sometimes it is hard to find documentation about a configuration setting in the gitlab.rb configuration file. As we move everything to code that means moving our CVS tools to code as well - and Gitlab to code. The usability of Gitlab from the end user's perspective is superior and the usability from the operations team is very good and getting better but there could be a little improvement in the gitlab.rb config file layout and documentation.
The online documentation is best in breed and sets the example for all other platforms. We find it so useful that we have never once had to reach out to the Gitlab support team for assistance. In fact, because the chef recipe is so well written we have found that most issues are resolved with 'gitlab-ctl reconfigure'.
Read Kevin Ritchey's full review
June 11, 2019
Thomas Ketchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is used across Sutori and it allows us a clear view of all the existing bugs/stories that we need to address as a company. Having everything in one centralized place is one of the reasons why we're big fans of Gitlab as it allows viewers and collaborators to all get involved in the process of fixing issues and moving to the next business item.
  • Ease of Use
  • Continuous integrations
  • Automated help
  • Onboarding some of our employees can be a bit of a drag
  • The backing of Gitlab can take a while
GitLab has a full suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones and issue boards, group and user management, including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration and scheduled jobs. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pull the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces. The general workflow is similar enough to GitHub that most developers find it familiar. It's replaced GitHub in our organization and we haven't looked back since using GitLab.
Read Thomas Ketchell's full review
February 10, 2019
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gitlab is used by all departments at my current client as a code repository and a tool for automated integration and deployment. It is used across the IT department. It has been used to implement the CI/CD system and source control. It has also been used for tagging. It has different runners which run different tasks.
  • CI/CD implementation
  • Source control
  • User access of the source code
  • Runner performance
  • Real-time job and task status
  • Nested pipelines
Gitlab does a wonderful job when it comes to implementing CI/CD in a project. Once tasks are set up, they can be used by developers to push code in production making it a really easy tool for day to day operations. It also has amazing source control features which are not just limited to code storage, but teams and individuals can access the code repositories.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
December 18, 2018
Leah Jakaitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Gitlab at multiple roles in a few different companies, though never as a lead developer or software engineer. Especially at a small to mid-size company, Gitlab's support for project management and version control using git repos can't be beat. It works as a platform to allow for cross-organizational collaboration on code repositories. A major reason to use Gitlab in an organization is its CI/CD (continuous integration/continuous deployment) pipeline, which facilitates the passing of code to the repos reliably and quickly between team members.
  • CI/CD capabilities.
  • Variable access/security levels for different users within an organization or working on a project.
  • Project management capabilities far surpass GitHub's PM capabilities: easier to manage and organize contributions to repos.
  • Interface and use can be overwhelming for new users: built-in tutorial or key highlights would be helpful to lessen the learning curve.
Gitlab is a natural evolution after a certain threshold is met in most organizations: either projects become more complex in scope, additional team members add more 'noise' to a project, or there's just an extensive amount of space or security needed. Gitlab is a reliable next step after using GitHub: it functions very similarly, and offers consistent up-time and usability (especially important if working for a remote team). The project management is a huge plus for Gitlab, and has made it managing and deploying elements of a larger, complex project less complicated.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review

What is Gitlab?

GitLab is a complete open-source DevOps platform, delivered as a single application, fundamentally changing the way Development, Security, and Ops teams collaborate and build software. From idea to production, GitLab helps teams improve cycle time from weeks to minutes, reduce development process costs and decrease time to market while increasing developer productivity.

Gitlab Screenshots

Gitlab Integrations

Gitlab Competitors

GitHub, Bitbucket, Jira Software, Azure DevOps (formerly VSTS)

Gitlab Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per user per month
Bronze$4per user per month
Gold$99per user per month
Silver$19per user per month
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per user per month
Starter$4per user per month
Premium$19per user per month
Ultimate$99per user per month

We provide free Gold and Ultimate licenses to qualifying open source projects and educational institutions, find out more by visiting https://about.gitlab.com/solutions/open-source/

Gitlab Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat

Gitlab Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, BSD* (Ubuntu 14.04 LTS or later), Android, iOS, full list see https://about.gitlab.com/handbook/security/approved_os.html
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:International
Supported Languages: Chinese, English, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish