Azure Cosmos DB Reviews

33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 14, 2021
Akshay Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team is using Azure Cosmos DB for an Android application where NoSQL database is required. It is helping us to store large amount of user data on day to day basis. Also it provides us the flexibility to scale based on the requirement.
  • Fast query processing on the data
  • Easy to apply analytics using Azure Data Center
  • Automatically scalable
  • High speed data ingestion
  • Easy to use and deploy APIs
  • It is bit on the expensive side
  • Auto indexing of data sometimes takes more time than usual
  • More flexibility is required in terms of querying data and design of custom queries
It is well suited for scenarios where you need high performance NoSQL database. It is a reliable and stable database solution. If the application data set is of very large size, then the cost will increase in multiple folds.
The product support and documentation for setup and implementation is very good from Microsoft. Also E-learning material is available from Microsoft for the development teams. The email support is very quick and responsive. Overall satisfied with the support.
Read Akshay Sharma's full review
May 21, 2021
Niloofar Keshvari Nia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for all large-scale projects, [like] our enterprise customers who need NoSQL database with Open APIs to run the fastest time response to develop advanced and modern applications. We recommended Azure Cosmos DB to anyone because it is so fast to read and write and very useful for very large volumes of data. It’s scalable instantly and automatically serverless database for any serious large business.
  • Scalable Instantly and automatically serverless database for any large scale business.
  • Quick access and response to data queries due to high speed in reading and writing data
  • Create a powerful digital experience for your customers with real-time offers and agile access to DB with super-fast analysis and comparison for best recommendation
  • When searching by default, it is case sensitive, which must be changed by default
  • In many ways, the price should be more flexible according to the requested facilities, because the price is very expensive for startup companies.
  • It is not fully compatible with most common Streaming Analytics tools applications and developers should be worked on it
NoSQL platforms are very useful when it comes to security, speed, accuracy, high accessibility with high read and write power. Everything is managed under the cloud and we have the various capabilities of Azure and support for Microsoft products with us. Flexibility in price and variety of features, as well as real-time results, are some of the popular [features] of this platform.
The support team is very responsive and we are generally satisfied with Microsoft support, in my opinion support team of a product and service is just as valuable as its quality and performance. Telephone answering, 24-hour hotline, email support and ticketing are excellent.
Read Niloofar Keshvari Nia's full review
May 02, 2021
Prabhu Sundararaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are developing projects for the clients in Energy and utility sector. Involved in migrating Cassandra DB to Azure Cosmos DB Cassandra API. With help of Cosmos DB API, migration cost reduced and opened the immense window to store data in cloud for infinite scalability and high availability. Also, we got freedom to alter the consistency levels based on demand.
  • Infinite scalability and High availability
  • Freedom to alter consistency level
  • Better features in disaster recovery
  • When Consistency level increases cost also increase.
  • Need to very conscious in monitoring resource cost.
Our clients decided to move their data to cloud platform, and they are already established Cassandra DB for all their business needs. So the Azure Cosmos DB is the best choice because of Cassandra API compatibility. Maintaining high availability throughout countries with help of consistency level and well-built disaster recovery system which helps to safeguard the critical data.
Help from support team was above average.
Read Prabhu Sundararaj's full review
July 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Azure Cosmos DB is being used as part of our platform. It is being used to help the existing platform we have to scale with the amount of data that we are storing. The data stored in SQL servers did not scale for us. Reports and graphs generated from the data were slow. Azure Cosmos DB improved performance.
  • Global key distribution
  • Elasticity in scale
  • ANSI SQL support
  • Pure ACIDity support
If issues are occurring with Mongo DB, then using Azure Cosmos DB could be better in certain instances. However, I would not replace it completely over Cassandra or Redis. Through size in k-v distribution could become an issue, especially with Redis. Azure Cosmos DB could help in that apsect.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure Cosmos is used in a department that does a lot of analytics work and deals with big data. Typically we have systems hosted in AWS or Azure. The ones hosted in Azure datacenters rely on Azure Cosmos databases. That being said, the downstream users are scattered globally. Azure Cosmos DB is fast and reliable.
  • Highly available
  • Seamless service with low latency
  • Can be accessed through API
  • Expensive, so be careful of the use case.
  • We had a thought time migrating from traditional DBs to Cosmos. Azure should provide a seamless platform for the migration of data from on-premises to cloud.
Cosmos DB is fast, reliable, and highly available. We use it mostly in analytics and applications that leverage big data hosted on the Azure Datacenter. If you have a virtual private cloud in one of Azure sites, then you would definitely need Cosmos. It works well with on-premises applications and offers little to no latency.
Microsoft is the best when it comes to after-sales support. They have a well-structured training and knowledge base portal that anyone can use. They are usually quick to respond to cases and are on point for on-call support. I have no complaints from a support standpoint. Pretty happy with the support.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Azure Cosmos DB for multiple projects across IT that require a NoSQL data store. We were initially storing JSON data inside of SQL Server, but the volume and speed of this unstructured data were too much.
  • Injects unstructured data at a very high speed.
  • No real need for administrative work, it indexes everything on it's own.
  • Cost, it's quite expensive.
If you need to store high volumes/velocity of unstructured data, Azure Cosmos DB definitely worth looking at.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's currently used for our e-Commerce enterprise platform to serve online customers to fulfill their online purchases. Currently we started using it for our ordering platform and plan to use it across multiple departments like marketing, finance, etc. As customers are growing rapidly for our system and we recently moved to a cloud platform, Microsoft Azure Cosmos DB offers high scalability and performance.
  • High Avalibility
  • Performance
  • Migration should be easy, especially moving out of any other database platform like SQL Server, DB2, or Oracle
  • Query Monitoring
It's a perfect choice for cloud environments with a heavy user base where performance and availability is in high demand. I would not say it's less appropriate because it completely depends on environment to environment and what you are trying to achieve. Overall Azure Cosmos DB also offers high data availability and data security. It's also easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2018
Lars Kemmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Azure Cosmos DB as our preferred NoSQL store for custom application development for our clients. It solves many of the onboarding hurdles for graph databases in particular, and the automatic indexing features make it ideal for a variety of scenarios across document and table storage as well. We rely on Cosmos DB when we need high availability, globally-distributed access with very low latency, and always-ready compute over data. In the past two years, I've found our team moving away from relational databases more and more as we're discovering ways to apply NoSQL much more cost-effectively than what could be done with an RDBMS.
  • Turn-key geo-redundancy with multi-master writes is unprecedented and unparalleled in the industry!
  • Guaranteed low latency makes Cosmos DB an excellent fit for most of our performance-intensive situations.
  • The tunable consistency model simplifies so many challenges in distributed systems engineering that otherwise require advanced knowledge of computer science topics. I continue to be impressed at how Cosmos DB has abstracted away so much complexity.
  • Cosmos DB can be very expensive if you're using it for scenarios that are better completed in regular old Azure Table Storage or Blob Storage, specifically if you put some thought into your partitioning schemes. No product is a good substitute for thoughtful system design.
  • It would be helpful if I had some more insight into how many resources (DTUs) an individual query uses.
  • The auto-indexing is great, but a little mysterious -- not usually an issue but it does require some intentional thought.
Cosmos DB is hands-down the most flexible and performant way to store and access data related to the functionality of your applications. If you don't really need a 3rd-normal-form relational schema, and if you're not working on a (hot or cold) big data analytics scenario, then you should almost definitely be using Cosmos DB! The only major exception is if your use case can be addressed with some thoughtful planning and use of plain old Azure Storage, which might not get a lot of attention but is still a rock-solid platform.
Read Lars Kemmann's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (8)
8.6
Availability (8)
9.3
Concurrency (8)
8.1
Security (8)
8.5
Scalability (8)
8.8
Data model flexibility (8)
7.6
Deployment model flexibility (8)
7.8

What is Azure Cosmos DB?

Microsoft Azure Cosmos DB is Microsoft's Big Data analysis platform. It is a NoSQL database service and is a replacement for the earlier DocumentDB NoSQL database.

Azure Cosmos DB Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Azure Cosmos DB's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Azure Cosmos DB?

The most common users of Azure Cosmos DB are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.