Brackets Reviews

21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Kunal Verma | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Brackets: A Modern Web Application Development IDE.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brackets have been used for many years for developing web applications based on HTML, CSS, and BootStrap. It is being preferred over the other IDE because of its feature of live preview, which allows seeing the result of the developing application live and as fast as possible. It is not only used for developing web-based applications but also used for writing software codes in various supported languages such as Java, C/C++, Python, Groovy, etc. This IDE supports all the modern languages, and It is very light in weight. Moreover, it is available to use freely.
  • Live preview is best feature of the Brackets.
  • Intellisense for the many languages is available.
  • Takes more time on startup.
  • Sometime Live preview automatically shut down.
Brackets is an excellent Development IDE for Web applications. It is straightforward to use and can be used by both experts as well as novice programmers. The Brackets IDE supports many languages, and plug-ins are available for different languages for additional features. It is free to use and openly accessible over the Internet for downloading.
Read Kunal Verma's full review
Jeff Hanson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

A nice open source editor for web view development (HTML, JS, CSS)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is used by developers to develop applications using a wide variety of programming languages and syntax. The program is used by a limited number of developers and is not used outside of the technology department (to my knowledge). It addresses the needs of developers by providing an extendable, customizable, and rich editor for use with Javascript, HTML, XML, and Java.
  • Javascript auto minification
  • Code auto-completion
  • Extensibility (custom add-ons) is easy to configure. Many are available for code beautification, formatting, syntax checking.
  • Can be a little slow to open and render larger files at times relative to a similar application running on the same computer.
  • Some plugins have performance or quality issues (not the fault of Brackets per se, but with the ecosystem of extensions).
  • Color schemes, styling ease of use could be improved. For example, provide out-of-the-box schemes like "high-contrast, night-time, bold."
Well Suited: Javascript, CSS, and HTML development. Brackets works better with scripting languages as in the situation where you are augmenting an IDE like Eclipse, where web page development is lacking. Less approprate: developing in environments when controlling the servers is required, or where a compilation of code is needed. It would not be useful in environments like .Net where a superior editor exists.
Read Jeff Hanson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

Brackets is a great (basic) code editor

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Brackets for basic code editing in HTML, CSS, JavaScript (and jQuery), and PHP & MySQL. It is not the most advanced editor but is my go-to because it is quick and easy to use.
  • Highlighting code
  • Code indenting with a hotkey (if you enable the feature).
  • Fast and easy setup.
  • Managing projects, such as opening files from a repo. It can be done, but it is pretty much file by file instead of accessing a project or folder.
  • Working with repos (see the previous answer).
I'd recommend Brackets for basic editing or if someone wanted to make quick code changes in a good tool.
Read this authenticated review
Somit Vishwakarma | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Best Application for Web Designer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bracket is an open source code editor that helps us to create new web pages or sites. I have been using this application for the last few years and it seems it provides a simple interface to web designers. Many members of our team used this application to create websites as well, as it helps to manage multiple pages at once.
  • Live preview of web page
  • Inline editor
  • simple user interface
  • Easily switch between the tabs or pages
  • Some ready-made code
  • Unexpected shutdown (Not Responding)
  • Auto save option
If you are a beginner in the web designing field and you need the best application from which you can manage web pages easily then this is a perfect opportunity to use Bracket without any cost. This is a nice application for an earlier stage. With Bracket, it is hard to know the start and end point of Div, Section, or Class. You need to maintain it from the starting point.
Read Somit Vishwakarma's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2019

HTML should go into Brackets

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brackets is the workhorse for developing HTML and CSS projects. There is a lot of overlap in the world of text editors, and we actually use several, as they are useful for different things. The niche Brackets fills, it fills nicely, with a few specific conveniences. The specific features that make it such a time-saver are the image hover info and the live updating browser view.
  • Image hover info. If you hover your mouse over an image link in the code, you get specific file information that is useful for the HTML, image size and dimensions, etc. ...as well as a preview.
  • Live browser preview. You can open your working files in a browser and all saved changes are automatically updated. It doesn't seem like a big deal to go over to the browser and refresh, but once you get used to it, it is a pain when missing in other browsers.
  • Brackets is still fairly small in the text editor arena, but there is already a rich ecosystem of plugins and customizations.
  • It is actually fairly easy to create your own custom themes.
  • Multiple cursors!! It is amazing to be able to insert multiple cursors and type the same thing in multiple places.
  • As it is a javascript based program it can have some performance issues, especially with larger files (too large and it can't even open them).
  • Themes are limited to the editor area, but it would be nice to be able to customize the file-tree and gutter areas.
  • And the smallest quibble of all, make the open files area resizable. It's a little annoying to have to scroll up and down when you have plenty of screen space to see all the open files.
Brackets can handle most text editing problems, at least if you have a file small enough that it opens. But with so many free and open-source editors out there, it is easy to have multiple tools that fit specific niches. If you are editing HTML and CSS, get Brackets.
Read this authenticated review
William Ruthrauff | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Brackets contains all your coding needs in one simple editor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While not used by the company as a whole, there are pockets of us that use this free code editor. I intially was using another product which was offered by the company, but eventually was removed as an offering. In speaking with another more experienced coder, he had suggested using Brackets. I downloaded the editor and have never looked back. When anyone comes to me for advice on editors to use, I let them know what is out there, but always guide them to Brackets.
  • The Live Preview feature is extremely helpful. You can make tweaks to your CSS and then see how it affects the pge you're coding.
  • The recently added file tree feature is really a time saver. You can move files with a drop and drag feature without ever minimizing the program.
  • One of my favorite features is the ability to update the core program with extensions. Some of the extensions are simple, like adding themes, while others are a offer a little more assistance like creating Lorem Ipsum text for you.
  • Since Brackets is an open source software, it is always improving. So if you feel it is lacking something, shortly thereafter it almost always appears in the next software release.
  • While using extensions are at your own risk, I have sometimes found an extension that caused a problem. It was easily resolved by deleting the software and then reinstalling.
  • Live Preview sometimes doesn't work for me. While most of the time it does, it almost always seems to not work when I need it to work the most.
When I'm designing a specific page, I can line up all the folders and files in the left File Tree panel. This keeps me organized and able to find things as I need them. Once I'm organized, I'm ready to start coding. Brackets allows you to control quite a bit of your environment, which contributes to your efficiency at coding in an effort free environment. One of the standard features of the color coding of tags really makes a difference. As I'm reviewing the code, generally I can quickly notice a missing </> or some other typo. Plus the color coding often helps you quickly find a particular line you need. And speaking of color, when you hover over a hexadecimal value in the code, a box pops up showing you the color of that code. This is particularly helpful when you have multiple colors and you want to make sure that your CSS is spot on.
Read William Ruthrauff's full review
James Pautz II | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Best for web developers, OK for everyone else

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brackets is used by me in my role managing my company website's codebase as well as some other websites that I run. I also use it for development of browser extensions for Firefox and Chrome. It is a very web-focused text editor that has a good number of useful plugins to extend functionality.
  • A clean simple UI with an excellent dark theme
  • There are plenty of customization options and extensibility via plugins
  • It is pretty fast and very smart when working with front-end website files
  • The live preview mode is a nice feature when coding as part of a presentation
  • The implementation of code-completion feels natural and effortless
  • It has some readability issues with the fonts being too small on my personal laptop.
  • It isn't as powerful as some new competitors.
If you are just developing for the front end of the web, Brackets is a great option. It is cross-platform works well. If you rely on all the extras that an IDE gives you, Brackets probably won't satisfy you.
Read James Pautz II's full review
Reed Horanburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Brackets is Great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Brackets is the best text and code editor around. We use it daily for fixing HTML and CSS and for opening any text/code files. The beautify.co plugin works very well for keeping to industry standards. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a full featured text editor for similar purposes.
  • Auto fill of code
  • Auto formatting of code
  • Easy to use GUI
  • More themes
  • Have beautify.co built in
  • Better previews
It works well as an editor replacement for SharePoint and other weaker intranet applications.
Read Reed Horanburg's full review
Dennis Hughett | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

A fast, lightweight code editor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Brackets for quick code editing. It’s fast and works very well for what it’s intended to do, which is to write and edit code. It's my ‘go-to’ for any quick coding and editing.
  • Code-writing.
  • Code-editing.
  • General and advanced coding.
  • It doesn’t allow you to view multiple browsers, only Google Chrome.
  • The shortcuts aren’t robust.
  • Some ‘suggestions’ aren’t robust.
Best suited for quick editing. Not recommended for multiple browser testing. It only works with Google Chrome.
Read Dennis Hughett's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2019

Brackets for the win

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Brackets as the tool of choice for editing CSS and HTML classes for our various web applications. It’s mainly used by our software engineering group/teams as we stand up and modify our applications.
  • Editing CSS classes are done particularly well. It’s very simple and straightforward. Brackets will throw errors while editing so you know where you may have made a wrong turn. Very helpful
  • The simple UI is refreshing. Often times code editors throw too much on the screen. Brackets keeps it simple and it’s appreciated!
  • Would be nice if Brackets had an easy way to export and share code between users. Would help on projects you are working on together.
Brackets is great for editing CSS and HTML code and classes. Some colleagues of mine have used it to edit Java classes with minimal success. I would suggest keeping it to simpler code and leaving Java and other similar languages to Eclipse or similar tools.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2019

Brackets- Happy FrontEnd Coding!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a team of developers who use Brackets basically for our product development. The front end for the UI web development is handled quite easily using this source code editor tool. Now I see that it is majorly adopted across different department levels in our organization.
  • It is Cross-platform so it is available for Macros, Windows and Linux OS.
  • It provides real time editing of HTML, CSS, and JS.
  • Its open source and free..so it's obviously cost efficient.
  • It has its own intelligence so the time and effort of writing long codes is reduced.
  • It gives handy shortcuts like ctl/cmd+E( for colours selection).
  • It has built-in JSLINT that checks JS code.
  • It lacks split-screen support.
  • It doesn't provide full-screen mode support.
  • Unlike some other HTML5 text editors, Brackets requires installation which is a kind of overhead for users who can directly link from the website.
Brackets is hands down a great text editor tool for Front End Developers. Because it is free and open source it is useful in complex and large projects where budget allocation is huge. It contains a few features that make it stand out among text editors.
Read this authenticated review

About Brackets

Brackets is a free and open source text editor developed at Adobe under the MIT license, featuring inline editing, live preview, and a wide range of extensions.
Categories:  Text Editors

Brackets Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No