Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Diligent Boards

Diligent Boards
Formerly Diligent Boards & Leadership Collaboration

Overview

What is Diligent Boards?

Diligent’s Board & Leadership Collaboration solution is built to provide organizations everything they need to drive digitization and operational excellence for board, committee, and executive meetings. Directors and executives can leverage real-time communication, secure collaboration, governance approval workflows and intelligence…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Lighten your workload!

10 out of 10
November 28, 2023
Incentivized
We use Diligent Boards for all of our various Board meetings. It allows access to materials to Board members regardless of their location, …
Continue reading

Easy to use

9 out of 10
July 25, 2023
Incentivized
I use Diligent as an administrator: to build Board and Committee books, review documents, and distribute the materials to Board …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Diligent Boards?

Diligent’s Board & Leadership Collaboration solution is built to provide organizations everything they need to drive digitization and operational excellence for board, committee, and executive meetings. Directors and executives can leverage real-time communication, secure collaboration,…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.diligent.com/pricing…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

15 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is ContractZen?

Secure corporate governance software for advanced contract management, board management, entity management, eSignatures, and virtual data rooms (VDR). Saved and discoverable contracts with automatic reminders Securely shared meeting materials and electronically signed minutes Visualized…

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Diligent Boards?

Diligent’s Board & Leadership Collaboration solution is built to provide organizations everything they need to drive digitization and operational excellence for board, committee, and executive meetings. Directors and executives can leverage real-time communication, secure collaboration, governance approval workflows and intelligence to power smart decisions. More broadly, Diligent solutions aim to provide a growth trajectory on the path to good governance and bundle capabilities that support the evolution of forward-looking boards and leadership teams.

  • Save time by digitizing meeting materials and workflows
  • Work together without worrying about security
  • Drive better decision-making with curated data and intelligence

Diligent is a governance, risk and compliance (GRC) SaaS company, serving 1 million users from over 25,000 customers around the world. Their technology gives leaders a connected view of governance, risk, compliance and ESG across their organizations, to spark the insights they need to make better decisions and lead with purpose.

Diligent Boards Features

  • Supported: Multiple boards
  • Supported: Groups (group spaces)
  • Supported: Resource center
  • Supported: Current & archived books
  • Supported: Contacts, calendar & meetings
  • Supported: Signatures, resolutions & approvals
  • Supported: Annotations
  • Supported: Questionnaires
  • Supported: Update history
  • Supported: Search (global search)
  • Supported: Link history (link back)
  • Supported: Online/Offline sync (unified)
  • Supported: Remote purge
  • Supported: Secure messaging
  • Supported: Meeting minutes management
  • Supported: File sharing
  • Supported: Data rooms
  • Supported: Auto agenda
  • Supported: Presenter mode
  • Supported: Page links
  • Supported: Watermarks
  • Supported: Self service site management

Diligent Boards Screenshots

Screenshot of Preparation for board, committee and executive meetings, whether in person, virtual or a hybrid of the two.Screenshot of Collaboration on sensitive documents across the organisation in preparation for the board meeting, while safeguarding information in Diligent’s secure ecosystem.Screenshot of Adds an additional layer of security to known processes with key integrations like Microsoft 365. Documents can be shared and users can collaborate with both internal and external stakeholders.Screenshot of The centralized platform where users can take, record, review and share minutes.Screenshot of Simplified board evaluations and questionnaires.Screenshot of D&O questionnaire requirements are managed in a single application experience.Screenshot of Communication with leadership teams occurs in real-time on an encrypted, uncluttered channel to signify importance and urgency.

Diligent Boards Video

Diligent clients describe how Board & Leadership Collaboration drives board & committee effectiveness.

Diligent Boards Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web, Windows 10
Supported CountriesAll
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish, Italian, Arabic, Japanese, Hebrew, Dutch

Diligent Boards Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Nasdaq Boardvantage, OnBoard Board Management Software, and Board Intelligence are common alternatives for Diligent Boards.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.6.

The most common users of Diligent Boards are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(69)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 39)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
November 28, 2023

Lighten your workload!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent Boards for all of our various Board meetings. It allows access to materials to Board members regardless of their location, either in the Board Room or remotely, on their choice of laptop, iPad, mobile phone, etc. All communication and supporting documents for the Board is housed in Diligent.
  • Outstanding 24:7 Customer Service
  • Easy to use/intuitive design
  • Eliminates the need for paper copies
  • Has voting function for consent items
  • Still clunky with Excel spreadsheets that have multiple tabs. I find I have to pdf these files before uploading to Diligent.
I cannot imagine a scenario where I wouldn’t want to use Diligent for my boards. Go back to paper packets filled with highly confidential material? No, thank you! Easy for the Board members, easy for the admi team!
October 11, 2023

Paralegal Point of View

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Diligent Boards for board meetings and questionnaires.
  • Organization
  • Ease of use
  • Function
  • Improve user access
  • Adding the ability to share with auditors would be a great option
  • Price could be improved
I really like this platform and would recommend Diligent Boards to my colleagues.
September 08, 2023

Diligent Boards for Boards

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent Boards to share board and committee materials confidentially with our board members.
  • Repository
  • Customer Service
  • Global search term ability
  • Ability to edit documents on Diligent Boards
It is suited for the sharing of confidential information with individuals outside the company.
July 25, 2023

Easy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Diligent as an administrator: to build Board and Committee books, review documents, and distribute the materials to Board members/directors. I also review the books as a Board member, from the users' point.
Diligent provides secure and confidential distribution of the materials.
I also manage the contract with Diligent Boards: conduct RFP process and manage annual payments.
  • to post documents and be flexible with updating
  • to share documents in the Resources section
  • easy to view as a user
  • not so easy to handle access when we have to arrange a specific, non-standard set up of access: sometimes we have to limit the access to one or few of the members of a particular book
  • calendar function will be useful, but it is an additional cost
  • flexible view options: vertical vs. horizontal
Diligent is pricey, so it is suitable for large-size organizations with sufficient funding. Universities and colleges would be good clients.
Diligent is not suitable for small organizations or not-for-profit organizations due to the pricing.
There are other options to distribute and share documents, such as Google format, so I think pricing is the key to expand the market for Diligent.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use it to post documents that need Board approval, and I use it to post quarterly Board meeting material. We also publish a monthly board report that is distributed for all board members. It is also used for networking between board members and for their use of organizing between board meetings.
  • Ease of building books
  • Security features
  • Support
  • Resource Center needs some work
  • I would like to see additional resources for different types of applications
  • I would like to have a better guide on using Diligent for new users
Our board members are spread across the United States. Using a secure program like Diligent allows us to publish critical often confidential information that all board members are able to access in a timely manner, and vote on items that require additional authority to move forward with a project or purchase.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Generation and distribution of Board and Committee meeting materials and generation, distribution and collection of information for the Annual D&O Questionnaires
  • Love the ease of creating Board and Committee Meeting materials
  • Love the D&O Questionnaire module
  • Love the ability to retrieve and review archived materials
  • Maybe available - I just don't know - the ability to see the emails sent to Directors and/or officers when sending materials through the portal after the materials are sent
  • Would like to be able to see who has looked at the materials
  • Would like to have the ability to notarize electronically in the portal
  • Would like the ability to make edits in my document in the board book portal - not just upload a newly revised document
I have used two different board materials portals and Diligent is by far the more intuitive and user friendly
July 06, 2023

review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent Boards to manage board books and meetings.
  • Manages books
  • Keeps board members engaged during meetings
  • D&O is easy to use and efficient.
  • The web functions need to mirror the oneclick functions
  • Getting your service team to respond to issues in a timely manner has been a problem for us.
  • The multi factor log-on requirement was not an easy process
  • Support should be able to provide consistent and reliable assistance.
The platform provides an easy and efficient means for the directors to access board materials and participate in meetings. Building books is a easy process.
June 30, 2023

trusted product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Board and committees for board member and employee use - to ensure a paperless environment for the 120 users on our account
  • limitless volume
  • ease of loading and access
  • options in the platform for books, resource materials, evaluations
  • inability to link in WebAdmin within documents in the Resource Centre
  • links are lost when exporting documents in WebAdmin
  • loading documents in Resource Centre not entirely intuitive
very good for high volume of materials for multiple users
may be cost prohibitive for a very small board
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent Boards as our sole platform for our Board of Trustee meeting documents as well as a resource centre, questionnaires and resolutions.
  • Customer support is second to none
  • Ease of use
  • I currently use one click as I like the functionality of importing a word agenda and being able to link. I know there is an updated version but sometimes new is not always better! Please keep one click!
Diligent Boards is a safe, secure means to share information. In the current environment where information is easily hacked, Diligent gives us peace of mind.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent Boards to transmit confidential meeting materials to our Board of Directors and Senior Management. We use Diligent Messenger to transmit confidential communications to the Board of Directors and Senior Management between meetings.
  • Provides a secure board portal that Board Directors and Management can use to access confidential meeting materials
  • Provides excellent customer support 24/7
  • Boards is extremely user friendly and easy to use
  • Also being used for Management meetings
  • Would like to see a copy feature in Diligent Messenger so that I don't have to retype Diligent Messenger messages sent to me that I need to share with others
  • Would like to see search function in all formats - web, iPad, Android
Fits our requirement perfectly for a safe and secure Board portal to share meeting materials for Board, Committee, and Management meetings. Diligent Messenger also fulfills our requirement for a safe and secure vehicle to transmit confidential communications that cannot be forwarded or printed.
June 16, 2023

Choose Diligent!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Ascension Illinois uses Diligent Boardbooks to manage the Hospital Board materials for external Board members. Non-employees are unable to access our files so Diligent provides a confidential platform for those members to access the materials.
  • I love the functionality of being able to move documents from one location to another.
  • The Board members love to take notes right on the board packet.
  • The ease of labeling sections and adding documents is priceless.
  • Adding documents from Google docs without converting to a pdf.
Diligent works for our company. I have not found any areas where it is not suitable.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent to post our Board Book to our 16 board members as well as to our CPQSC Committee. We are most concerned about security issues as we deal with physician confidential information.
  • Response time to questions and calls is very good.
  • It is very easy to put a board book together.
  • They are always asking if you want to add on new functions without informing you of the additional costs until the very end.
  • I think there should be a one sheet explanation of the services you offer and cost.
  • I have attended several of the online courses and they assume you are using the newest platform and I use One Click.
When you go to your webpage, you are not able to find cost and I think this is a very important thing. You have to schedule a demo, I guess, in order to find out the cost and what you get. I also feel that being able to talk to someone on the phone is very important versus going to a training session. The available times in Colorado are not very good for these sessions. Many are in the middle of the night or 9 pm at night or on a weekend. I think Diligent is very good for boards. I wish when you talked to account reps that they always weren't trying to sell you something versus trying to help you or say we have a new platform that ultimately will be taking the place of One Click. These are the benefits, etc. and show you how to use it so you can actually see the time it saves you.
June 06, 2023

Great Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have used Diligent Boards for quite some time with our Board of Directors along with our subsidiary Boards.
  • Ease of uploading of documents
  • Customer Support
  • Overall user friendly and east of use
  • moving documents between tabs is a big issue that could be resolved
  • While we are a large user, it would be helpful to allow larger organization more control (i.e., add and remove users)
We strictly use this for building and sharing board books with Board members. The Board members really like this program. I see where we could use many of the other features as they improve. However, at this time, we recently merged with another organization so that will take some time.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use the product for Board of Director Meetings and communications. It is also used to share Financial reports.
  • Security
  • Ease of use
  • Product support
  • Customer support
  • The ability to enable account feature without contacting Account manager (example Adding date and time stamp to signatures)
  • Have all the functionality available in the One-Click application available in the Web admin.
Diligent Boards is well suited for Board Meeting management, confidential document sharing, D&O surveys, secure instant messaging.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Diligent Boards for posting and distribution of Board and Board Committee meeting materials, to complete the D&O Questionnaire process and for consent processing.
  • Very easy to navigate
  • allows for secure processing of Board materials
  • very efficient, quick and professional customer service
  • There is a new feature where you have to confirm uploading of documents which causes you to have to log out of the folder where you are pulling documents from which causes extra steps. It used to be that you could just go down the agenda topics and continue to pull documents without having to close and reopen the folder you are pulling documents from.
I have used other Board portals which are not near as intuitive or easy to use as Diligent Boards for the admins and the end users. The customer service is also excellent. It is efficient, quick and professional. I am really pleased with this product.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I am in charge of uploading the BoD and Ac materials every quarter.
The only thing that has given me some trouble is when I have tried to substitute some parts of the material, and it does not allow me to do so. I do not know if it has any implication in the counselors annotations whether I substitute or not the material.
  • Easy to find
  • Shortcuts
  • Archive
  • Uploading more than 1 file at the time
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent to maintain corporate records for a two hospitals, one foundation and 11 committees.
  • Structure of Levels and Tabs
  • Ease of uploading documents
  • Quick Links
  • My only example will be that the web base version does not have the ease of one-click and items are most often hard to find and maneuver.
I would recommend Diligent because it's a good program and there is always support at all hours of the day.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Diligent Boards to manage Board Meeting material and annual surveys. Diligent Boards has help our company transition from hard-copy board books to seamlessly managing them electronically. My scope of use is uploading and organization materials into books.
  • Upload documents quickly
  • Renumbers agenda when additional line items are added
  • Easily restricts sensitive documents
  • Uploading signature could be better. Right now its very restrictive on the size.
Diligent Board is especially useful if a last minute change is implemented on a document. The change can easily be made and uploaded to the system and viewable in minutes. Another useful feature is how notes can be moved over from one document to the updated document so that users do not lose notes when an updated version is made available.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent Boards for all regular Board & Committee Meetings, Mergers & Acquisition approval meetings and review and approval of the Company's earnings materials. Diligent Boards provides the company with a secure way to send presentations and information without using email. It also ensures that when presenting at a meeting, all attendees are reviewing and looking at the same materials.
  • Easy to use both from an administrative perspective and from an end user prospective.
  • Stores historical information that both the legal department and the end user can utilize when needed.
  • Provides a secure way to share this information.
  • It would be nice when using the link functionality that you had a preview screen. The Web version currently does not have this capability.
  • It would be nice if we could archive resource documents similar to how books are archived.
  • If the product was more cost effective, we would be able to expand it to other users that prepare board materials but don't necessarily attend the board meetings.
It is well suited for use at all board & committee meetings, approving or presenting potential mergers and acquisitions, for the Board & Committee evaluations and the Director and Officer questionnaire process. The reporting for the questionnaire portal is especially helpful. Due to the cost of the product, we cannot really utilize for internal meetings.
May 24, 2023

New user.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Diligent Boards is user-friendly and offers new and functional features to clients. I applaud how effective the customer service team was during the onboarding process. They communicated effectively and offered around-the-clock assistance. The training sessions are also useful and allow us to learn at our own pace.
  • communication
  • training
  • user-friendly
  • Diligent could offer practice runs for board meetings.
  • Specialists could be on call for board meeting postings.
  • Diligent could offer a community board to answer questions in real-time.
Diligent Boards are great for formal meetings of the Board. It does offer many features, so sometimes it may appear to be convoluted when trying to conduct a simple task. Also, I think it would be more helpful if there was a number to call to troubleshoot instead of a chat (although this may be already offered).
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Diligent Boards to share all the information with the Board of Directors and the Audit Committee.
  • Ease of use - very intuitive - minimum training needs.
  • Easy tools to upload information.
  • Easy way of preparing the agenda with the support materials for the Board of Directors and the Audit Committee.
  • I really do not have any recommendations; works very well for what I need.
Diligent Boards are very well suited to share information on a monthly basis with the Board of Directors and prepare the agenda with the supporting material for the quarterly meetings with the Board and the Audit Committee.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the tool to upload all the information of the Board of Directors and General Meetings. In addition, we also uploaded relevant information such as the Policies and we are moving forward to make greater use of the minutes and their signing. Sometimes we have also used the survey part for a relevant topic that facilitates access to our directors.
  • The creation of the files, the agenda and everything related to the uploading of Board documentation.
  • Has different access profiles to the documentation and they are very detailed
  • The minutes drafting could include more validation sections.
  • It would be nice if people who are not in Diligent could receive notifications of decisions made in the Board (for example the accounts were approved)
  • For the administrator, it would be great to be able to see how a specific director sees the documentation that has been uploaded (so it could be verified 100% that they see it as the administrator wants it to be)
Diligent is the tool that any secretary of the Boards of Directors would like to have. It orders the documentation, files it and allows all the directors of your companies to be organized and informed. In short, improve the quality of your meetings. I just love it. It makes easy my life with all my companies, Boards, etc.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Diligent Boards is our tool for communication and safeguarding of information with the different government bodies that participate in decision-making process within the organization, including the board of directors. Support is always available and the tool is very robust, safe and useful but it does present some challenges: - Unequal utilization: our governing bodies have members of different ages. The younger ones find it a very easy to use tool, but the older directors have a hard time familiarizing themselves with it and they don't take advantage of its full potential, they limit themselves to the basics. - Despite being a versatile tool, in my opinion the information available and its configuration varies depending on the device used (laptop, tablet, iphone, android & web vs app). In my opinion, this confuses board members, stresses them out because they can't find things where they expect, and makes it difficult to communicate with them. -In my opinion, its use and exploitation require discipline and someone constantly monitoring that the defined protocols are complied with and that the users fulfill their tasks in due time. In my opinion, it does not work alone nor on automatic.
  • 24 hrs. support.
  • They usually listen to suggestions and work on them.
  • They speak my own language.
  • Same functionality and appearance no matter the device used to work with Diligent Boards (App vs web, laptop, tablet, iphone, android ...).
  • Questionnaires - I've found it is not possible to send reminders from Diligent Boards.
  • Votes: it is not possible to have more than 1 issue to vote. Either you vote all your issues for or against, there is no other possibility available. If we have more than one decision to make, we use questionnaires because the vote function is no useful in such cases. Questionnaires are ok but they demand more work and follow up.
This tool is great for a governing structure that is already mature or at least has strong bases. If this is not the case it might be an expensive tool you may not capitalize from it.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Diligent Boards to load materials, to prepare board books and review materials, create pdf's from the materials. My main issue is that board members do not get a nice list of materials, but everything is in one lump of documents and they sometimes complain that it is hard to find reports, etc. I would like to be able to set books, material in a list by business unit and type of the material, maybe date and even importance.
  • Easy to create book with subtitles and links
  • Easy to create pdf from the material
  • If I have issues I always get help from the support
  • I like that I am offered training if I need to update my knowledge
  • I am using one click, it would be nice to see what board members see
  • I mentioned before I would like to be able to sort documents by various parameters like importance, date, type
  • Talking to other assistance i find that everyone knows something different about quicker ways to load, maybe a weekly/monthly tip would be beneficial.
I would definitely would recommend diligent to other companies and my colleagues to use for board material loading, as despite few small issues otherwise it is a great tools and most importantly board members use it and find it more or less easy. If they have any suggestions i can always accommodate, what it is also great is the support team behind the tool.
Return to navigation