Git Reviews

77 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 23, 2020
Josh Stapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is being used as version control software to merge different sets of code together and keep a log we can look back on if problems occur. I don't think there is any real competitor to Git. It can also be used to try to track your commit level vs others.
Read Josh Stapp's full review
January 20, 2020
Ray Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is currently being used for version control in our IT department. This allows us to not only keep various projects under source control, but also to work on many different features concurrently, and maintain many different versions of our software.
Read Ray Smith's full review
January 18, 2020
Nate Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Git as source control for all our projects across our entire department. I know there are other departments in our organization that use it as well. I also use Git for all my personal projects and side projects. Git enables all of our developers to collaborate and contribute code to our projects simultaneously, preventing conflicts.
Read Nate Dillon's full review
November 05, 2019
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Since the beginning of the uni, I found out that professional companies use at least some kind of versioning system. Git proved to be one of the most robust and logical systems for that. Every single company I have worked for is, or was about to, use it on a daily basis for supporting bigger codebases. The supporting software makes Git even more useful and one of the core tools used for modern software development. This is the number one must-have for every software development job.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
January 29, 2020
Suleman Ahmad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Git in our entire organization for our codebase versioning/management. We migrated from TortoiseSVN. We work in different teams so every team takes the branch from production/master and works in their own branch so that it should not affect any other's work.
Read Suleman Ahmad's full review
January 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is used mostly as a source version controlling system which allows developers to collaborate with one another. It helps teams to contribute to various projects by pushing code to GIT. It can be used for release versioning. It is helpful to know which version has been released in production and at what codebase.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's widely used by our component owners to store all the libraries. The beauty about Git compared to others is that it stores snapshots instead of deltas, which makes it just much much faster and more reliable to store code within it. We have integrated Git with Gerrit which stores the whole organization's Git repos within it, thus making it more reliable and scalable.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our whole company uses Git for code collaboration where a team can continuously develop features for the software. Also, it allows our peers to review the code and once necessary approvals are received, we can merge the code ensuring proper workflow is followed. Git gives us helpful insight regarding project progress, software security vulnerabilities.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
César Costas Carrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is used across most of the organization, if not all of it. Git is a Version Control System, which means that allows you to "backup" and control who edited your files, providing its best value when it comes to plain text files, such as code.
Read César Costas Carrera's full review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GIT is being used as a version control tool within our organization. Its been used to speed up the code deliveries to different environment and track the changes being deployed to the software product.

GIT being widely used tool has proven itself to be more stable and reliable for code management within organizations and vital for organizations who share their codes(Ex : Integration kits) with their customers IT teams.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is being used by the whole enterprise right now. We use it as a version control tool to help our developers manage their code version for better collaboration. Our developers love it and have had a great experience with it.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2019
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization uses Git for version control of our various codebases. It is used by the engineering and dev-ops teams. We use git because it reliably handles creating branches for various features and bug fixes, and provides an effective and trusted way to merge and release that code to our different environments.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
March 30, 2019
Nikolay Rogoshchenkov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is one of the source code version control tools used at my organization. We are using Git (Gitlab) to store our source code across multiple repositories. We have a mainline development branch which all our new code is eventually pushed to after being code reviewed by their branch using pull requests.
Read Nikolay Rogoshchenkov's full review
November 29, 2018
Joel Tanzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses Git for code versioning, namely to track and manage changes to the codebase in a way that avoids accidentally writing over another engineer's code, resolves change conflicts, and provides a rollback option in the event of a breaking change. Git has become an important part of the development workflow for most software engineering teams. The problem Git addresses for us is the problem of having multiple people updating a codebase. One developer might change a portion of the code in one area and another might change it somewhere else, and managing the merging of these changes together is the main job of Git. To facilitate this Git stores every committed change in a log, and this log can be reviewed and even used to roll the code back and reject changes further down the pipeline. In our organization, each engineer creates a new branch from the master codebase whenever they are starting a new task in the project, and once they have completed that task and confirmed the code is stable, the code can be merged into the master codebase and eventually included in the production build. Our team has a strict policy of not merging your own code, so the code is reviewed and approved by another engineer whom merges it in after assessing its impact. We use Git across our engineering department only.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
February 12, 2019
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our organization, Git is used by several departments for file versioning, collaborative work on the same source code, change tracking, branch merging, version comparison etc. Especially because we have distributed teams all over the world, we needed a reliable tool to achieve these goals, and Git was the natural choice.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
September 12, 2018
Matthew Mariner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is being used by our organization on an information technology department level. We use Git as our sole Version Control system for all of our software releases, maintenance & deployment.
Read Matthew Mariner's full review
December 26, 2018
Chris Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is being used throughout our organization by the majority of the development teams--custom app development and off-the-shelf customized products. We primarily use Git as a source-code management, a repository, and for revision control and deployment (integrated with other apps to support this function). Being on a large software development team with multiple different developers pitching in on in-house applications, it's essential that we have a tool like Git to manage multiple processes involved with app development. Git allows us to release development changes faster and minimizes potentially negative impacts to our production releases. I also use Git for personal hobby and freelance projects.
Read Chris Martin's full review
December 17, 2018
Jakub Wilk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is used as alternative solution to mercurial. It is used more by my department and is used to manage projects for customers. We are using them in the cloud version to share code with our customer. Each team has their own repository per customer. We usually receive this repository from the customer, because he wants to have control over this.
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
June 07, 2018
Joshua Weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git manages the source control over all of our web-related codebases. It allows us to be light and flexible with our approach to not only development and coding, but also using a continuous integration workflow that automates processes in the deployment chain. Without Git, life as a developer would be quite painful indeed.
Read Joshua Weaver's full review
March 15, 2018
David Petrie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is one of the source code version control tools used at my organization (the other major one being Subversion). We are using Git to store our source code across multiple repositories and branches (features and bugs). We have a mainline development branch which all our new code is eventually pushed to, after being code reviewed by their branch using pull requests. The development branch in our Git repositories are polled for any changes, and builds are automatically run to verify the code.
Read David Petrie's full review
March 01, 2018
Christy Herron | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am a freelance, full-stack, software developer. Git repositories are used for all my code. I use multiple machines to create software for different platforms - Ubuntu to create websites to run on Heroku, and iOS apps. Git allows me to work on any machine while away from my normal setup. It also keeps all my source code backed-up, and I have the ability to grant access to my client if required.
Read Christy Herron's full review
April 20, 2018
Miguelangel Nuñez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Git is only used in our department. All our code is saved and versioned with Atlassian Stash using Git as version control system. There are at least 15+ projects in the development using this VCS.
Read Miguelangel Nuñez's full review
December 14, 2017
Rene Enriquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Git to store our source code with all of our clients. All the technical staff uses Git as a CVS. It's an awesome product for versioning and managing source code no matter what programming language you use.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
March 07, 2018
Benjamin Hale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Git to track all changes in our multiple websites and landing pages, along with internal scripting projects. Git addresses the issue of keeping track of the code we have created, and maintains security and redundancy between employees. In this way, we can be sure that no one person or one device has all the information we use daily to keep our systems and websites running.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
September 29, 2017
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Git for many varying purposes. The most obvious use case is for our code-based projects. Drupal modules, WordPress plugins, Composer packages, NPM modules, you name it--it's all in GitHub! Additionally, we use GitHub for managing libraries of shared code snippets, managing configuration files, holding Ansible playbooks, and the list goes on and on.
Read Ben McClure's full review

What is Git?

Categories:  Version Control

Git Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Git's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Git?

The most common users of Git are Mid-size Companies from the Computer Software industry.