GitHub

GitHub

Top Rated
Score 9.1 out of 10
Top Rated
GitHub

Overview

What is GitHub?

GitHub is a platform that hosts public and private code and provides software development and collaboration tools. Features include version control, issue tracking, code review, team management, syntax highlighting, etc. Personal plans ($0-50), Organizational plans ($0-200), and Enterprise plans are...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Developers love it

9 out of 10
September 25, 2021
GitHub is used by different departments in our organization. GitHub is used as a version control platform and deployment of our source code.
Continue reading

GitHub Review

8 out of 10
May 19, 2021
Git is very good for agile planning and maintaining the code according to different versions. In our project we work on three release …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of GitHub, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Team

$40

Cloud
per year per user

Enterprise

$210

Cloud
per year per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://github.com/pricing#compare…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $4 per month per user
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Universe 2021 Keynote Day 1: GitHub on GitHub
16:21
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is GitHub?

GitHub is a platform that hosts public and private code and provides software development and collaboration tools. Features include version control, issue tracking, code review, team management, syntax highlighting, etc. Personal plans ($0-50), Organizational plans ($0-200), and Enterprise plans are available.

GitHub Video

CEO Nat Friedman will introduce a demo packed session highlighting the latest feature updates. You'll hear directly from the Hubbers who helped build them and learn how we successfully use GitHub at GitHub to build GitHub on GitHub. As always, feel free to leave us a comment ...
 Show More

GitHub Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

GitHub starts at $4.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.8.

The most common users of GitHub are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 120)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
With GitHub we address some problems like code management, Teams can host, share and collaborate on code repositories using Git, a popular version control system. Issue tracking, Teams can use GitHub's issue tracking system to track bugs, feature requests, and other tasks. Pull Requests: Teams can review and merge code changes through pull requests, enabling collaboration and code review. Project Management: Teams can use GitHub's project boards to plan, organize and track work across multiple repositories.
  • Version control: GitHub provides a powerful and flexible Git-based version control system that allows teams to track changes to their code over time, collaborate on code with others, and maintain a history of their work.
  • Code review: GitHub's pull request system enables teams to review code changes, discuss suggestions and merge changes in a central location. This makes it easier to catch bugs and ensure that code quality remains high.
  • Collaboration: GitHub provides a variety of collaboration tools to help teams work together effectively, including issue tracking, project management, and wikis.
  • Search functionality, have a better way to search for a sample of code
  • Code visualization, have a better way to compare diff versions of code in a file
  • Customization, have more customization options, such as the ability to create custom workflows and add custom tools and integrations
GitHub is well suited for software development, GitHub is particularly well suited for software development projects, where teams need to collaborate on code, track changes, and review code changes. Also for open-source projects, GitHub is an ideal platform for open-source projects, where teams of developers from all over the world can collaborate on code and contribute to projects. For documentation, GitHub provides a platform for creating and sharing documentation, making it an ideal solution for teams that need to create and maintain documentation. On small and medium-sized teams GitHub is well suited as those teams that need to collaborate on software projects and track changes to their code.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub Team is a key technology that enabled our product engineering teams to version, build, verify, validate, and deploy software enhancements to support our customers. The GitHub Team edition enables each team to take advantage of key capabilities that drive standardization across our software products while still enabling freedom to explore additional capabilities to support their respective CI/CD processes.
  • Integrated peer reviews allow engineers to collaborate efficiently and ensure the conversation is preserved for historical purposes.
  • The rollout of GitHub actions has enabled our teams to reduce dependencies on external CI/CD services and increase engineering by having less systems to utilize/manage.
  • When it comes to Compliance and Security, the GitHub Team editions should provide the ability for SSO or the ability to limit invites to approved business domains.
GitHub is well suited for companies of all sizes to build their software products. Although there are various tiered levels you can purchase, most companies will find that the GitHub Team version meets or exceeds all their needs. Companies that have specific requirements around compliance will need to upgrade to the enterprise version, which may be an expensive investment for minimal value.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Github is our main code repository, version control, and build-integration platform. Github triggers a cloud build, and gives us deployable software.
  • Cloud-build integration
  • Version control
  • Vulnerability scanning via dependabot
  • Jira integrations
  • The handling of merge-conflicts directly via Github web is difficult
  • The PullRequest code review tool is frequently troublesome in how it displays the diff between source and changed code.
Github can be deeply integrated into a production environment, with build triggers launching a cloudbuild, which delivers deployable code. Multiple active users within a project with overlapping changes are difficult to manage, but definitely doable.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Every day, we use GitHub for end-to-end SDLC, including project management, codebase CI/CD, and package management, among other things. The branch protection policy has no impact on the production codebase. We handle our automation and deployments with the help of GitHub Actions.
  • GitHub Action for your automation, build, test and deployment any platform and any languages
  • GitHub help store our artifacts and dependency with in Github using GitHub packages
  • You can integrate with the other third party applications like Jira, Azure DevOps etc..
  • GitHub helps to integrate Development IDE like Visual studio, Eclipse, and jet brain ides etc..
  • issues and projects they have to improve little more functionality like conditions for the particular issues or labels
  • issues create, update, delete options for respective teams or user
  • in developer workflow mandatory for issues or work-item functionality
With GitHub, you can integrate other third-party applications for project management. You can also scan your source code to find vulnerabilities and hardcoded tokens.
Bimal Subedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub has been a boon to me and my company. We are focused on developement of softwares and web applications.It is a necessity in our company to manage the different versions of our products for efficient developement and deployment. GitHub has been helping a lot in this field. With the help of git version control system, we can easily switch between two versions of our product with a single click. Besides from version control, GitHub has been helping our company members to work in a team. A developers adds some feature in the product and then pushes it to GitHub. The pushed code is then pulled by another developer. In this way, we are able to develop quality codes with an ease in overall development tasks.
  • Able to switch back to previous code if error occurs while running present code.
  • Enables us to work in a team in an effective manner.
  • Allows giving roles and access to specific people assigned.
  • We can choose between private and public repository that enhances privacy.
  • Deleting a folder is pretty hard in GitHub. It should be made as easy as deleting a file.
  • It would be better if the code editing environment has more features like other IDEs.
GitHub is well suited in IT firms, companies and offices where coding is required for creating desired products for client. It is less appropriate for the places which are not oriented to technical backgrounds like shops, retaurants, etc. However, in this age of science and technology, GitHub can be used in any places since IT is becoming an integral part everywhere in our day-to-day activities.
ANurag Tamrakar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub helps my organization to host Source code repository without hassle. Dependa Bots and Integrations with third-party apps are great, A lot of options are available.GitHub package repository and Container Registry is also very useful. No doubt GitHub is an awesome source code management, also it offers to host repositories for free which is a great support to the open-source community and contributors.
  • GitHub helps my organization to host Source code repository without hassle.
  • Dependa Bots and Integrations with third-party apps are great, A lot of options are available.
  • GitHub package repository and Container Registry is also very useful.
  • Lack of rich CI/CD which is better by all means in GitLab.
  • GitHub should focus on CI/CD they are very good at source code repository hosting.
  • Dosen't provide [a] self managed offering. We can't download, install, and setup our own GitHub server if we want to use GitHub we can use Github.com only.
No doubt GitHub is the best source code management tool and all other source control tools are influenced by Github only. Also, it offers to host source code repositories for free which is great support for all the open-source communities and contributors. If you're fine with hosting your repositories on a SaaS based source control platform it's good to GO! But in case you want to set up your own source control server and host source code repositories then GitHub is not for you.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Github is being used as a hub for shell or skeleton automation frameworks that cover various languages and tech stacks. These are leveraged for demos presented to prospective clients, or for turn-key starter frameworks for new or existing clients. It is also used by individual engineers who contribute open source solutions that may be used in different situations.
  • Excellent user interface that allows for quick assessment.
  • Seamless integration with local git configuration.
  • Fosters involvement with the open-source community.
  • Difficult to permanently remove unwanted files.
  • Comments are sufficient to count for repository contributions, which is misleading.
  • Notifications can be missed.
Github is well suited for introducing specialized modules that can contribute to a missing aspect of functionality. The process of obtaining and running applications is seamless and fast. It may be less appropriate for situations that require development of proprietary software. The cost of running private repositories can get high.
September 25, 2021

Developers love it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub is used by different departments in our organization. GitHub is used as a version control platform and deployment of our source code.
  • As a repository it's great. It houses almost all the open-source applications/code that anyone can fork and play with. A huge collection of sample codes available with problem statements across different domains make Github a one-stop location.
  • I use GitHub with Windows and the Git Bash is superb. It [is] a powerful alternative to the Command Prompt and Powershell. Allows me to run shell scripts and UNIX commands inside the terminal [on] a Windows PC.
  • GitHub integration with almost all cloud development/deployment platforms is amazing. Deploying a new application in Azure is really smooth. Just link the GitHub repositories and it's good to go. From automatic build to deployment everything is just amazing.
  • Not an easy tool for beginners. Prior command-line experience is expected to get started with GitHub efficiently.
  • Unlike other source control platforms GitHub is a little confusing. With no proper GUI tool its hard to understand the source code version/history.
  • Working with larger files can be tricky. For file sizes above 100MB, GitHub expects the developer to use different commands (lfs).
  • While using the web version of GitHub, it has some restrictions on the number of files that can be uploaded at once. Recommended action is to use the command-line utility to add and push files into the repository.
Best suited:
  • When we want to setup an automated deployment pipeline.
  • When we need a repository while working on open source projects supported by a huge community.
  • If you want to deploy the programs in cloud platforms. Tested on platforms like AWS, Azure, GCP, Heruko.
Less appropriate:
  • When the need is just for version control. GitHub is more than that.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub is easy to integrate with other tools and it makes it easy to research and find what code changed and when with the pipeline. It is the most trusted place to store your project code and is also useful as a collaboration tool to get others involved in our work.
  • GitHub has a powerful UI for creating pull requests
  • It makes it easy to research and find what code changed and when.
  • It is reliable and dependable. I've used it for four years without issue.
  • I would like to be able to view commits by user.
  • Conflict management could be improved.
  • Navigating around a GitHub repo can be a little confusing until you're used to it.
For small team projects or open-source libraries, GitHub is a great and affordable option. It is the best solution for code version control and collaboration on software products. It helps us build great software, and integrates with many services we use to help us be more effective with a distributed team.
May 19, 2021

GitHub Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Git is very good for agile planning and maintaining the code according to different versions. In our project we work on three release cycle in parallel so to have different branches and merging the code is a big task which GitHub has resolved. It makes EPIC planning more easy when there is less dependency on branches.
  • GitHub is easy to use and handle i.e. not much training you need to be if implemented in project.
  • Also merging capability and solving merge conflicts is easy in GitHub.
  • GitHub is a costly tool so not every organization can afford the license of it.
  • GitHub has security issues because it upload data on cloud which is venerable to attack.
It could easily be considered as Master of version control tools.
It is very easy to integrate with third parties.
It provides visibility in scrum planning.
it is very much capable of giving the devops pipeline view and understands the overall product need.
the only drawback is the pricing for the license which might not be affordable if you are a small startup. The open source platform makes it vulnerable for the hackers to get into





Olivier JM Maniraho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are currently using GitHub as a code hosting platform and a collaboration tool to get others involved in the work we do. For us it solves the problem of getting open source contributors to collaborate with us and using the GitHub actions we can easily deploy to different instances of our hosting platforms.
  • GitHub actions easily help manage pipelines of the application and with these, you can do code health checks and deploy to any platform.
  • Proper clean and simple project management via issues and boards.
  • Analytics of one's contribution over a period of time.
  • It has lots of widely popular open source projects.
  • The project management could be a bit more robust by proving epics.
  • Would be better to be able to merge organization and personal account contribution over the year.
  • Actions marketplace could be better by automatically installing them in the specified repo.
If you want to put up an opensource repository, GitHub is a great place to do so, You can also learn from different open-source projects that are. As a business you can have multiple private repos for free and you can benefit from GitHub actions and be able to manage your project via issues, milestones, and pull requests.
Ajay S Insan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub is VCS is vastly used by organizations so does us. All of our developers are using GitHub to store code on the cloud and it's easy to check everything on that. All the features are perfect to launch versions of any application. We can share our code to anyone else and can make public repo etc.
  • Easy to use
  • Distributed development
  • Large community
  • Open Source
  • Continuous integration leads to problems
  • Worst team experience at same project
  • Nested commands
When we are using GitHub for own project then it's awesome to used but when we include someone like team member then we need to care about pull and push very carefully otherwise project can be destroyed and leads to crawl blogs for help. For single projects it's very good and paid version is also having more advanced features.
Richard Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub is used by some development teams across our large organization, including our small web team. It's used as a central code repository for storing our website code and allows multiple developers to work on separate branches simultaneously, then merge those changes into the main branch once their work is finished. It also keeps a history of changes so we can tell who changed things and when they were changed.
  • Seamless integration with Git. Although you can use Git without using GitHub, the two have become almost synonymous.
  • It provides a nice web-based UI for interacting with your central Git repository.
  • Facilitates working with multiple branches, forks, and pull requests—all different aspects of having multiple people working on the same code simultaneously.
  • Honestly, I'm having a hard time coming up with any cons or things I would change.
If you use Git and have multiple people working on the same code, then GitHub is for you. If you're a sole developer and don't need to share or publish your code, then you might not have much need for GitHub.
I haven't needed to use their support, which is the best case imaginable.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub is used by many teams in our IT department and it solves our repository needs and collaboration across teams.
  • Version control system GUI is great
  • Open-source support
  • Pull request reviews are easy
  • Conflict resolution interface is helpful
  • UI could be a bit easier to use, especially the tabs on the pull request page
If you would like to publish an open-source project or you are working on a team where you work on the same projects or you want to control the version of the app, GitHub is a great option. It is also good if you are just working on/trying new technologies you like.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Github extensively for version control and team collaboration in all of our development/architecture projects. It's primarily used by our product team but we also use it to share information with the success team and collect feedback. Github assists us in the process of code reviews and is a powerful tool when managing/deploying multiple simultaneous projects.
  • Version Control: GitHub, being built over Git, makes it fast and easy to develop projects in versions/branches and easily rollback to previous versions when necessary.
  • Pull Requests/Review: GitHub has a powerful UI for creating pull requests, with useful tools like inline commenting and more recently "suggested changes". Pull request history is always maintained and easy to search.
  • Collaboration/Auditing: It's easy for multiple team members to work on the same project and merge changes (often) seamlessly. All contributions are tracked so it's easy to identify contributors.
  • Industry Standard: GitHub is used by virtually all major open source projects so it's very easy to find and contribute to projects of interest if you're well versed with GitHub.
  • Reviewing large pull requests can be tedious and it can be tough to identify recent changes (e.g. a one line change) in new files or files with lots of changes.
  • It should be a bit harder to push unresolved merge conflicts, we've had these slip through once in awhile.
  • You have to be careful with merge operations; a bad merge can be painful to reverse.
Situations where Github is well suited:
- Pretty much any development project (solo or as a team, it's always useful to have backups/project history; you never need to worry about losing your work if you commit/push regularly)
- Projects involving multiple collaborators with and a structured text-based syntax

Situation where Github is less appropriate:
- It's less useful for situations where you have multiple collaborators working on written/formatted reports; I've found Git can produce some nasty merge conflicts in these situations
I honestly can't see a better alternative to GitHub. It's competitors may have similar features now, but Github far more widely used and continues to evolve and add powerful features. Outside of work, from a hobbyist perspective it was also nice to see them open the use of private repos and reasonable usage limits. I continue to be impressed by the speed and ease of use provided by GitHub.
February 01, 2020

Review of GItHub!

Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use GitHub as a central source control repository for all client engagements. GitHub allows our global teams to collaborate in real time through its best-in-class tooling and simple to use interface. Github also serves as the main integration point with other pieces of software, including integration into continuous integration and continuous deployment services.
  • Central repository for tens of thousands of open source projects, making it very simple to contribute to those projects
  • Desktop and web clients are robust, simple to learn, and easy to use
  • Reliability is solid and we never have to worry much about Github being available
  • Github's status as an industry leader means it's often targeted by sophisticated attackers with DDOS attacks, which has kicked it offline a handful of times in the past few years
  • Lacks first-party support for mobile (no app component)
  • Uncertainty in how Microsoft will manage the company post-deal-close
Being involved in professional software development necessitates using Github in some sense; even if a project is stored in other source control, there's a very good chance that dependencies are available on Github. Github is one of the first things that new software engineers learn when picking up how the code is committed in a professional sense.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
All engineering teams use GitHub for version control. It is integrated with Looker, JIRA, Jenkins, and all DevOps tools along with all popular IDEs.
  • Keeps history of our code
  • Allows sharing of branches easily
  • Can't think of one
Git is de facto standard for version control in software development these days as almost every software worth its grain has Git integration, and GitHub makes it easy to work with Git using its web interface. There are still some commands which need to be performed using Git on the command line, which Github can make it intuitive to use using its web interface.
Haven't needed to use customer support.
Gedson Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We're using GitHub for our entire software workflow cycle including code versioning, code review and approval, team collaboration on the code, and release management. Now, with actions, we're also building our Docker images and deploying them live, so it's a full CI/CD pipeline for us, all in a single package that's used by the entire development team.
  • Simple and intuitive.
  • Broad set of features.
  • Conflict management could be improved.
  • Searching is good but not great.
It's very well fitted for every software lifecycle use case. It's very easy to set up new repositories, both public and private, and to grant your teammates access to them. History tracking is also amazingly well implemented. What I like the most is that GitHub is always adding great new features. If you need it just for storing your binaries than it's not a great fit.
GitHub support was always there on the few times when we needed them, and have always proved to be very helpful.
October 29, 2019

The hub of choice

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is the first place I look to use as a code repository on any project I am on. No more worrying about what would happen to your code if your computer dies, it is on GitHub. Collaboration with other developers via GitHub is a great experience.
  • User friendly
  • Clean UI/UX
  • Great documentation
  • A lot of hooks into other services
  • Discovering new repos could be improved
Version control is absolutely necessary and GitHub makes it simple. Use familiar Git commands while knowing GitHub is hosting your code as expected.
October 18, 2019

GitHub Delivers

Tim Noetzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
At our company, all Engineering and Product Design team members use GitHub. We use its code repository, version control, and ticket tracking tools to store, maintain, and manage code for various projects. It works incredibly well at all 3 functions and is an extremely vital tool for our entire organization.
  • Version Control
  • Code Repository
  • Ticket Tracking
  • UI for non-technical users
GitHub is a fantastic tool for software orgs that need to securely store their code, manage versions, and track bugs, enhancements, and the like. It's not especially suited for non-technical users.
GitHub is extremely well-documented and incredibly stable. We've never had an issue that requires direct support from the GitHub team.
Emeka Opara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GitHub is being used by the information technology department to work concurrently on projects we are looking to implement in the coming months. It addressed the issue of having to work together and input code from various locations.
  • The ability to access GitHub on multiple platform makes organizing files very easy.
  • GitHub is intuitive enough to help new users immediately understand its platform and how to use it. It has instructions and help notes at every turn to help with this and the UI is user-friendly.
  • The best aspect of GitHub in my opinion is its ability to track your activity and also shows you a working map of of your activity over time. This can help with planning and scheduling of one's work.
  • I think GitHub should incorporate two-factor authentication to improve user account security.
  • The Macbook GitHub application could be improved to be more intuitive.
I think GitHub is well suited for individual or group projects. However, I cannot think of a scenario where it is less appropriate but not customizable to fit the situation. GitHub is highly customizable to fit various situations and uses.
It has been really easy to use and has significantly helped simplify group works and improve project completion times.
Ray Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Github is being used for version control and feature branches for our main website. The tech team is the only person with access to push or pull from the repository. Our industry is changing very rapidly, and so, the tech team is charged with adjusting our front-facing website hourly, and sometimes this causes conflicts when one of the team members is also doing a similar task. Thus, GitHub allows us all to stay in tune and be in perfect unison when it comes to deploying code out to the web.
  • Version Control - You can see the progression of where you started to where you are today, and if need be, rewind to a certain time in the past and use that version if need be.
  • Storage Space - There are really no limits to the amount of information you can keep in one place.
  • Collaboration - Contributors can be one or can be many, and GitHub keeps track of each instance by the author.
  • UI - Although there is a readme file that can be made to look pretty, over the UI is very dry.
  • App or web app - If there we an easier way to integrate with GitHub versus the command line, I am sure the number of users would increase dramatically.
  • Glossary of Actions - There is not one place to which one author could go to find an absolute glossary of what actions do and what those actions are. Very hard to decipher the amount of information available on the web.
For software developers, web developers, and code developers in general, GitHub allows you to actually see your developments historically, and there is no limit amount of stored history that I am aware of. Keeping your code to look back or even reference from time to time is a great well worth the cost associated with both mental and physical costs.
Support for GitHub is truly open-sourced, so finding the most credible source is the hardest part.
Tim Hardy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using GitHub in our development team as our source control solution. GitHub allows us to easily work from either the office or remotely. Git's distributed version control makes branching incredibly easy, and GitHub provides the most seamless and easy to use Git solution I have found. GitHub provides a ton of integration options with any tool you are using.
  • GitHub makes it easy to research and find what code changed and when.
  • GitHub is easy to integrate with other tools.
  • GitHub is reliable and dependable. I've used it for nine years without issue.
  • When browsing history of a file, GitHub could make it easier to see the file after a particular commit instead of just being able to quickly view the commit. I'd like to be able to see the commit or the file itself in one click.
  • I would like to be able to view commits by user.
  • I would love to be able to traverse code on GitHub (go to definition, etc) - the good news here is that they are working on these features!
Any scenario where source control is needed is a scenario where GitHub is well suited - that means, any time you are writing code and don't want to immediately throw it away once you are finished. GitHub is especially well-suited for remote work and any work where integration with third-party tools would prove helpful.
There are a ton of resources and tutorials for GitHub online. The sheer number of people who use GitHub ensures that someone has the exact answer you are looking for. The docs on GitHub itself are very thorough as well. You will often find an official doc along with the hundreds of independent tutorials that answers your question, which is unusual for most online services.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
In my organization, GitHub is used by the development team, so everyone can keep track of the version control for the code we produce on a daily basis in projects.
  • It's easy to use and has a very intuitive platform on the web.
  • There's a whole bunch of tutorials online about how to use GitHub via the command line.
  • Anyone who codes can create a free account on GitHub and start contributing with code.
  • We can only have one private repository with a free account.
GitHub is appropriate when you work on small to medium size projects, but for something bigger, you should consider Bitbucket.
Never had the need to use GitHub's customer support. The tool is already very intuitive, has a lot of FAQ on their website, or you can easily find your needs by just googling the issue. Also, GitHub has abundant documentation online for any specific scenario that the user may have.
Bryan McAnulty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our design and development team uses GitHub. About 10 years ago we used to use SVN instead of Git and we tried some cloud services for hosted SVN repositories. At the time we felt that Git was more focused specifically on open source software projects, didn't have GUI clients for designers, and didn't have the project management-oriented features that we wanted. That has completely changed since then, and now Git and GitHub specifically is the perfect solution for our team. GitHub helps us build great software, and integrates with many services we use to help us be more effective with a distributed team.
  • Integrations with services like Heroku that allow us to deploy staging environments from a pull request.
  • Familiarity with other developers making it easy to add a collaborator to a project and have them make a productive impact on the project right away without learning new tools.
  • It makes it easy to review and collaborate on open source projects and private ones.
  • It has many GUI client options for those who are not as comfortable with the command line.
  • Helpful reporting of contributor activity and built-in project management features like docs and comments.
  • In some ways, the design of GitHub incentivizes the use of certain practices like using pull requests, which may not fit your organization's workflow (though I don't really see this to be an issue personally, and if your organization isn't using something like pull requests, then I would question why).
GitHub is the best solution for code version control and collaborating on software products. If you are specifically a writer for instance and want to collaborate on a piece of copy with someone else, GitHub can work for that too, but it isn't really suited for version control outside of software.
The minimal support I have needed was great, but I don't have much experience with it.
Return to navigation