TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/26/zl/BMAMVUMT97F8.PNGAn excellent choice for version control!All the members of my research team, who are members of various departments, use GitHub for version control. Besides version control for code, we also use GitHub to write collaborative papers and store important code from previous research projects. Developing code as a team is incredibly difficult without good version control software. Fortunately, GitHub facilitates this process by making it easy to reconcile conflicting versions of code or reports. Furthermore, 'branching' makes it easy for several people to work on different sections of a project without affecting the main project. The changes made on 'branches' can later be merged back into the overall project. Since most of the members of my research team are in different buildings within our organization and in different states, GitHub also allows us to all work remotely on code as a team. GitHub avoids the inefficiencies that result from emailing reports to team members and having to merge track changes. Finally, GitHub acts like a back-up tool, which is incredibly useful. GitHub makes it easy to revert back to a previous version of a project, because it saves the changes that are made by team members on a timeline. Overall, GitHub has made our code development much more efficient and saves us a lot of time and hassle!,The GitHub feature I like most is that it keeps track of all changes made to a project. Prior to using GitHub, I would write code, delete parts of it and rewrite it...only to realize a few weeks later that I should have kept the original version. With GitHub, I can always go back to a previous version. Although GitHub has a bit of a steep learning curve, it is relatively easy even for beginners to get started. The GitHub website has clear directions for creating a repo, setting up an account and the basics of the GitHub workflow. I found these tutorials very helpful when I started using GitHub. I like that GitHub has options in terms of user interface. Currently, I use GitHub via the command line, but there are also GUIs that make GitHub accessible to beginners as well. Recent versions of MATLAB, R, and PyCharm (plus others) include options to link to a GitHub repository.,GitHub is not easy to learn for beginners. It took me about a year to really feel comfortable with it. For those who are not experienced programmers, GitHub can be difficult to get used to. Although I appreciate that GitHub allows merging of different versions, merging two conflicting versions can be quite difficult. The default merge tool in GitHub is vimdiff, which I found incredibly unintuitive. I installed a different tool, Meld, which I like much better. One of the best things about GitHub is that it is free. However, with a free account, you can only create public repositories (anyone can access your repository). You can create private repos in GitHub, but they are not free.,10,Github has increased our rate of code development, increasing our publishing rate. This helps bring attention to the research we are doing and ultimately brings in more funding for further research. Because GitHub makes my team more efficient, we are able to put more hours into code development / report writing rather than agonizing over different versions of code created without version control software. We use a paid version of GitHub, because we work through private repositories, but the increase in productivity, efficiency, and research progress is definitely worth the price.,Box, Adobe Acrobat DC, QGISThe best place to host and version code of any kindGithub is very easy to use git hosting provider server. Github allows easy contributions of code between our project members. Github provides a way to review code before it is merged into master branch. It provides a nice interface to view all commit history and allows to easily compare two different commits. Github provides fast searching across all files. I recommend GitHub to all developers who are looking for a simple and easy to use source code management and git version control hosting server. GitHub has some of the best documentation around. Github makes easy to contributions to projects within small and large teams.,GitHub offers to host projects that rely on the Git version control system. While mainly aimed at developers, it works very well for any text-based work. GitHub offers free hosting for all open source repositories (i.e. your code will be visible to the public). The website is extremely easy to use and has a beautiful, clean interface. I have used this workflow with great success in the context of small teams.,Outside if the free student accounts, the GitHub subscription could be slightly pricey, especially for a small developer.,10,GitHub is an incredible service for hosting any kind of code of versionable content. It's extremely affordable, even for an individual who wants to host a huge number of private repositories. It integrates with just about everything that you could want, to the point where you can even use GitHub's integration list as a portal to finding other great services you can use online.GitHub is currently a top cloud based SCMGitHub is used throughout the organization as cloud based SCM. To enhance and automate the SDLC process as much as possible, features such as branch protection, mandatory code reviews, and continuous integration checks are used whenever possible. As a cloud based SCM solution, it provides the security and redundancy needed in an SCM solution.,Different offering for continuous integration providers New features (code owners, branch protection) Bring the social aspect of programming into focus,Lack of command line configuration options (everything is GUI based) Downtime (not infrequent, no data loss, but still a pain) Improved security scanning (for keys in history to prevent merges, etc),8,Reasonably comparably priced to competitors Allows users to show off their experience with the company, increasing the company's brand awareness as well as the individual engineer's Drives users to work from anywhere with constant availability,Gitlab and Bitbucket,Gitlab, Loopio, Sophos Endpoint ProtectionGitHub-A GiftGitHub is our primary repository for all the code in the company. GitHub also serves as the main integration point with other pieces of software, including integration into continuous integration and continuous deployment services.,Desktop and web clients are robust, simple to learn, and easy to use Code reviews are easy to do with GitHub. Developers can comment on each others' code and approve or reject changes in a pull request. They can also request specific improvements to the code before it is merged. Documentation for Git and its workflows can be quickly found and understood,Lacks first-party support for mobile (no app component). The desktop application is a bit limited in terms of more advanced options It's bit hard to work with merge conflicts.,10,Eliminates the need for manually tracking file changes, etc, leading to more time spent evaluating our actual software, and less time managing the process Speed for collaboration between developers has a tremendous positive impact. Allows people to contribute quickly and efficiently.Allows team to constantly deliver value,JIRA SoftwareOnline Repository Service, Ideal for In-house & Remote developing temsOur organization currently uses GitHub as a platform to collaborate with our remote developers on the new website that is in the works. Only the IT/Web Development team is using GitHub, the other employees would have no use for this platform. A major business problem GitHub solves is the ability to share code with our remote developers with efficient version control for editing.,Codesharing Version Control Hosting - this keeps all the ducks in a row ... The ability to manage various stages of projects is a must with any changes or edits being made other than myself. Public Repositories - Free public repositories allow for outside professionals to suggest improvement and the ability to commit the changes an individual makes if you so desire.,Private repositories are far too expensive Beginners: GitHub is definitely not the easiest to learn or understand. There are resources out there to assist you, but I found it much easier to understand the platform and its capabilities once I joined a team that was already well versed and could assist with any quick questions I may have had. Apple / Linux OS get the shortend of the stick and have to use the command line,9,The ability to share, review, and edit code on an online platform for free is quite a positive impact on our overall business objectives. If you can utilize the platform properly, it can save your business quite a bit of money throughout any development process. Another positive impact is the written documentation throughout the development process ... This saves an incalculable amount of time and money for future developers and projects ... proper documentation for existing or new developers can truly expedite the projects timeline.,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System
Unspecified
GitHub
325 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

GitHub Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

GitHub
325 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 325 vetted GitHub reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 74)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Maike Holthuijzen profile photo
August 02, 2018

GitHub Review: "An excellent choice for version control!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All the members of my research team, who are members of various departments, use GitHub for version control. Besides version control for code, we also use GitHub to write collaborative papers and store important code from previous research projects. Developing code as a team is incredibly difficult without good version control software. Fortunately, GitHub facilitates this process by making it easy to reconcile conflicting versions of code or reports. Furthermore, 'branching' makes it easy for several people to work on different sections of a project without affecting the main project. The changes made on 'branches' can later be merged back into the overall project. Since most of the members of my research team are in different buildings within our organization and in different states, GitHub also allows us to all work remotely on code as a team. GitHub avoids the inefficiencies that result from emailing reports to team members and having to merge track changes. Finally, GitHub acts like a back-up tool, which is incredibly useful. GitHub makes it easy to revert back to a previous version of a project, because it saves the changes that are made by team members on a timeline. Overall, GitHub has made our code development much more efficient and saves us a lot of time and hassle!
  • The GitHub feature I like most is that it keeps track of all changes made to a project. Prior to using GitHub, I would write code, delete parts of it and rewrite it...only to realize a few weeks later that I should have kept the original version. With GitHub, I can always go back to a previous version.
  • Although GitHub has a bit of a steep learning curve, it is relatively easy even for beginners to get started. The GitHub website has clear directions for creating a repo, setting up an account and the basics of the GitHub workflow. I found these tutorials very helpful when I started using GitHub.
  • I like that GitHub has options in terms of user interface. Currently, I use GitHub via the command line, but there are also GUIs that make GitHub accessible to beginners as well.
  • Recent versions of MATLAB, R, and PyCharm (plus others) include options to link to a GitHub repository.
  • GitHub is not easy to learn for beginners. It took me about a year to really feel comfortable with it. For those who are not experienced programmers, GitHub can be difficult to get used to.
  • Although I appreciate that GitHub allows merging of different versions, merging two conflicting versions can be quite difficult. The default merge tool in GitHub is vimdiff, which I found incredibly unintuitive. I installed a different tool, Meld, which I like much better.
  • One of the best things about GitHub is that it is free. However, with a free account, you can only create public repositories (anyone can access your repository). You can create private repos in GitHub, but they are not free.
GitHub is the best tool I've come across for collaborative code development (although it is also great for working on solo code development!). Working with many people on code is usually cumbersome, but with GitHub, it is relatively painless! Because GitHub is free, GitHub is a great choice when money is tight (but again, the free version of GitHub only allows the creation of public repositories). If money is not an issue, however, you can create private repositories for a $7 a month. Because GitHub is rather difficult to learn, I would recommend it to those who have an interest or previous experience in coding and computer science.
Read Maike Holthuijzen's full review
Vikas Lalkiya profile photo
July 10, 2018

GitHub Review: "The best place to host and version code of any kind"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Github is very easy to use git hosting provider server. Github allows easy contributions of code between our project members. Github provides a way to review code before it is merged into master branch. It provides a nice interface to view all commit history and allows to easily compare two different commits. Github provides fast searching across all files. I recommend GitHub to all developers who are looking for a simple and easy to use source code management and git version control hosting server. GitHub has some of the best documentation around. Github makes easy to contributions to projects within small and large teams.
  • GitHub offers to host projects that rely on the Git version control system. While mainly aimed at developers, it works very well for any text-based work.
  • GitHub offers free hosting for all open source repositories (i.e. your code will be visible to the public). The website is extremely easy to use and has a beautiful, clean interface. I have used this workflow with great success in the context of small teams.
  • Outside if the free student accounts, the GitHub subscription could be slightly pricey, especially for a small developer.
Github is by far one of the best services for managing development projects. You will have executed some commands via the command prompt or terminal. The main benefit would be version control. Version Control also means that your project has also been backed up online for easy recovery in case of onsite accidents. Most simply, hosting code and using it in various Continuous Integration contexts.
Read Vikas Lalkiya's full review
Stephen Groat profile photo
October 12, 2018

Review: "GitHub is currently a top cloud based SCM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is used throughout the organization as cloud based SCM. To enhance and automate the SDLC process as much as possible, features such as branch protection, mandatory code reviews, and continuous integration checks are used whenever possible. As a cloud based SCM solution, it provides the security and redundancy needed in an SCM solution.
  • Different offering for continuous integration providers
  • New features (code owners, branch protection)
  • Bring the social aspect of programming into focus
  • Lack of command line configuration options (everything is GUI based)
  • Downtime (not infrequent, no data loss, but still a pain)
  • Improved security scanning (for keys in history to prevent merges, etc)
GitHub is very well suited for small to medium size companies that are looking for tools to help programmatically enforce their SDLC. The cloud based system is full featured and helps users develop their SDLC processes within their framework. For larger companies, the Enterprise edition is soo expensive to probably not be worth the cost.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
Dishank Vishnoi profile photo
September 12, 2018

User Review: "GitHub-A Gift"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is our primary repository for all the code in the company. GitHub also serves as the main integration point with other pieces of software, including integration into continuous integration and continuous deployment services.
  • Desktop and web clients are robust, simple to learn, and easy to use
  • Code reviews are easy to do with GitHub. Developers can comment on each others' code and approve or reject changes in a pull request. They can also request specific improvements to the code before it is merged.
  • Documentation for Git and its workflows can be quickly found and understood
  • Lacks first-party support for mobile (no app component).
  • The desktop application is a bit limited in terms of more advanced options
  • It's bit hard to work with merge conflicts.
GitHub is the best tool I've come across for collaborative code development (although it is also great for working on solo code development!). The only time I can think of an instance where I might suggest not using Git is when you deal with an integrated and closed development environment.
Read Dishank Vishnoi's full review
Taylor Patton profile photo
August 08, 2018

GitHub Review: "Online Repository Service, Ideal for In-house & Remote developing tems"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization currently uses GitHub as a platform to collaborate with our remote developers on the new website that is in the works. Only the IT/Web Development team is using GitHub, the other employees would have no use for this platform. A major business problem GitHub solves is the ability to share code with our remote developers with efficient version control for editing.
  • Codesharing
  • Version Control Hosting - this keeps all the ducks in a row ... The ability to manage various stages of projects is a must with any changes or edits being made other than myself.
  • Public Repositories - Free public repositories allow for outside professionals to suggest improvement and the ability to commit the changes an individual makes if you so desire.
  • Private repositories are far too expensive
  • Beginners: GitHub is definitely not the easiest to learn or understand. There are resources out there to assist you, but I found it much easier to understand the platform and its capabilities once I joined a team that was already well versed and could assist with any quick questions I may have had.
  • Apple / Linux OS get the shortend of the stick and have to use the command line
GitHub is great for hosting your projects for free, receiving advice or help from fellow developers in the community, comfortably working with remote developers through code sharing and version control hosting, and lastly the ability to review code from contributing developers for any flaws with a variety of code tools. GitHub has a plethora of applications and code tools that you can integrate with the platform or vice versa
Read Taylor Patton's full review
Garett Dunn profile photo
July 31, 2018

User Review: "GitHub - A Solid and Enjoyable VCS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by a few departments within the organization. Different groups used it to varying degrees. Of course, it was used as a version control system, but other groups (like the one I was a part of) also used it for CI/CD purposes. I think this is where GitHub really starts to shine. It's definitely useful just as a Git repository, and we would gain a lot from that. But what brings it over the top is its integration with a lot of other tools we used, including Slack, Jenkins, and custom integrations utilizing webhooks. This allowed us to use GitHub as a central repository, not just for code, but also for knowledge, interactions, auditing, etc.
  • Makes collaboration over code incredibly simple. The UI is designed in such a way that anyone can pick it up very quickly. There are seemingly small features like being able to tag people in Issues, and the fluid process of doing PRs, that all come together to make it simple and enjoyable to use.
  • It is very robust and reliable. We used the self-hosted version and it was incredibly reliable, with very few issues over a long span of time.
  • It is very much the de facto standard for open source coding. This means that the friction for developers to both manage any open source parts of your code, as well as integrate open source code into your existing codebase, is very low.
  • GitHub has a lot of third-party integrations, but it isn't natively integrated with other project management tools, like something like JIRA and Bitbucket are.
  • It does its core work of code collaboration and review very well, but doesn't offer much in terms of other features. Gitlab, for example, has CI/CD tools built in. This item is a con for some and a pro for others.
GithHub is best suited for any size of a team of developers. It's also well-suited for other types of engineers like network and system engineers who are trying to "codify" their infrastructure better.

GitHub is really designed around Git. There are wrappers to make other systems (like Mercurial or SVN) compatible, but this is merely hiding it from the user, while still using git underneath
Read Garett Dunn's full review
Joshua Dickson profile photo
July 27, 2018

"Review of GItHub!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GitHub as a central source control repository for all client engagements. GitHub allows our global teams to collaborate in real time through its best-in-class tooling and simple to use interface. Github also serves as the main integration point with other pieces of software, including integration into continuous integration and continuous deployment services.
  • Central repository for tens of thousands of open source projects, making it very simple to contribute to those projects
  • Desktop and web clients are robust, simple to learn, and easy to use
  • Reliability is solid and we never have to worry much about Github being available
  • Github's status as an industry leader means it's often targeted by sophisticated attackers with DDOS attacks, which has kicked it offline a handful of times in the past few years
  • Lacks first-party support for mobile (no app component)
  • Uncertainty in how Microsoft will manage the company post-deal-close
Being involved in professional software development necessitates using Github in some sense; even if a project is stored in other source control, there's a very good chance that dependencies are available on Github. Github is one of the first things that new software engineers learn when picking up how the code is committed in a professional sense.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
Chris Barretto profile photo
September 24, 2018

User Review: "GitHub is the way to go!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GItHub is being used as the main repository for version controlling all of our software. It provides a safe house and central location for storage as well as facilitates permissions for accessibility.
  • Version control
  • Permissions for access
  • Public vs. private repositories
  • Search across all public projects
It is great for open source software as well as for your own private repository. It scales well against large or small projects and provides an easy way to navigate through the code base without the need of an IDE. Security is top notch and pushing and pulling is a breeze when you have the correct credentials.
Read Chris Barretto's full review
Bridgette Reynolds profile photo
September 12, 2018

User Review: "GitHub"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use GitHub to put in request for IT work to be fixed. We have 3 out of 5 employees using GitHub. It speeds up the process of getting things done faster and not having to go through multiple steps. It has really helped!
  • Being able to add and customize labels for each task.
  • Receiving email notifications when someone comments on a ticket.
  • Being able to close out tickets and have them in a separate place, but also being able to go back and view those items if needed.
  • Would love to receive a notification when a label was added, changed or removed.
  • Previewing photos or links when adding them to a ticket.
  • The system auto remember certain words added for the title so you can reuse them without having to remember them or re-write it. Auto-populate.
It has tremendously helped our company and running things more smoothly so I would highly recommend to anyone that works directly with a tech person!
Read Bridgette Reynolds's full review
Ronald Melendez profile photo
July 18, 2018

User Review: "GitHub Rocks your code"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is a great solution to have version control in your application, I think that for any programming team it is essential to have this type of tool, it is essential since you can have your project in the cloud and you can define work teams for projects, define security options by project and give access to the code to your collaborators, it also solves many problems with clients since you can configure several deployment environments and versions of your application so the client can have an idea of how the implementation of your application is going . This is a tool that is always present in the IT development teams.
  • Platform that serves not only to store code in the cloud but also for deployment in pre-production environments.
  • You can have a private project for free, then you can make a plan update. The cost is not very high.
  • In particular I do not like the desktop version, since I think that more profit is derived from the tool working directly from the bash with console command, it is much more precise and timely
  • They should have a configuration guide available on their website, as there are advanced configurations that not many people manage and it is a bit difficult to implement such solutions.
  • You have a single private project for free, if you need to have other projects privately you have to have a paid account.
When you are in large projects, which have a lot of developers and layers within the project it is ideal to have a code version driver, such as GitHub since you can control your versions and give access by pull request to those who can edit the code and upload to the cloud in these scenarios GitHub becomes your best tool, plus you can have backups of your work in the cloud and use this in any computer, now if you have a small application and few developers and you do not need integration of this work, it is not really It is so necessary since the strength of this software is the integration of online code.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
No photo available
June 27, 2018

GitHub Review: "Great Source Code Control Tool for Distributed Teams"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is being used for the engineering group’s - primarily for software engineering and some DevOps scripts.
  • GitHub is very strong on coding collaboration. Great tooling that enables distributed teams to work in an asynchronous manner.
  • Excellent code repository & related tooling. Managing changes/pull requests from the UI is extremely simple.
  • System uptime is incredible - you can rely on this for your company.
  • Keeping issues with each project is extremely helpful.
  • GitHub needs a higher level of project organization. Being able to group related projects and then handle project related issues vs specific module related issues would be incredibly useful.
  • Native integration into CI/CD pipeline would be awesome
  • User interface design could stand to be updated to feel fresh and improve UX a bit.
  • Enable GitHub pages for private repos and keep them private
GitHub is well suited as a source code repository and software collaboration tool when used with highly distributed teams. The workflows that you can easily create help you control bad code from getting merged into the mainline. Enables people to work in a highly asynchronous manner due to its distributed nature. And also helpful that GitHub removes any cloned repos of private repos for individuals who have left the organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 29, 2018

GitHub Review: "The standard - does the job, keeps us happy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GitHub to host all of our public repos, and several of the private repos for our organization. It does the job well, developers are familiar with it, and the price is reasonable. We have no complaints, but we also haven't seriously evaluated alternatives. We don't really use the issue tracking features so our use of GitHub is pretty limited, but the importance of a hosted repo solution cannot be understated.
  • Love the website and interface, particularly for diffs
  • Ubiquity of GitHub as a platform and the community elements make it the ideal place for open source projects
  • Again, its ubiquity is a plus because developers are typically already familiar with it
  • Issues system is so basic that it's not exceptionally useful - though you can still use it if you pair it with an external issue tracker like JIRA
  • Certain aspects of the web interface could be made more clear - even as an experienced user certain things are not intuitive
Great for open-source projects because it's the largest community. For private repos, GitHub charges you, whereas alternatives like Bitbucket are free, so it's worth considering whether you really need something specific to GitHub. There are also other decent looking competitors like GitLab. Ultimately they all provide a pretty simple service, so evaluate the costs & features and make the decision that's right for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 06, 2018

GitHub Review: "The hub of choice"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the first place I look to use as a code repository on any project I am on. No more worrying about what would happen to your code if your computer dies, it is on GitHub. Collaboration with other developers via GitHub is a great experience.
  • User friendly
  • Clean UI/UX
  • Great documentation
  • A lot of hooks into other services
  • Discovering new repos could be improved
Version control is absolutely necessary and GitHub makes it simple. Use familiar Git commands while knowing GitHub is hosting your code as expected.
Read this authenticated review
Christine Alling profile photo
June 13, 2018

Review: "GitHub - to isolate developer skill sets"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a technical recruiter, I use GitHub to identify users of the site who are skilled in specific technologies. For example - if there is a discussion about using microservices to break down a big ball of mud, I would then start looking at the profiles of developers who seem to have expertise in this area. It's especially helpful when recruiting for developers - just because someone codes in Java, doesn't mean they're a fit for a Java Developer role - it's about what they've done in Java. Github helps me discover WHAT they've done - not just what language they've used.
  • Identifying developers who have particular skill sets or interests beyond the stack they use.
  • Demonstrating a developer candidate's knowledge, coding, and philosophies
  • Showing that a developer is dedicated and passionate about their work - GitHub is voluntary - if they're spending time on there, it's because they want to be.
  • Finding the passive seeker - GitHub isn't a job board.
  • A lot of developers and recruiting sites don't realize how important location still is - not everyone is willing to allow remote workers. Being able to know where the developer lives would be so helpful.
  • It would be great if companies could create exercises for people to complete - just to see if they are a fit. To make it part of the hiring process would require validation. If it's a voluntary exercise, it would be easy.
  • Knowing the background & years of experience of the developer.
It's more appropriate if you're willing to relocate or allow people to work remotely. Very challenging to isolate local candidates, geographically. Also challenging to see the scope of their work and abilities. It does a great job of identifying specific skill sets of developers and what tools they've used. Like, if you want someone who is an expert in AWS, you can search for people who answer those questions.
Read Christine Alling's full review
Fedor Paretsky profile photo
June 06, 2018

GitHub Review: "Great Service for many different teams!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is currently used by I entire organization to fork and customize popular repositories for our company's own usage. We additionally privately host our own original code repositories. GitHub has many useful integrations that work well with our company's choice of products for productivity, management, etc... and allows for easy, quick setup when there isn't a lot of time for overhead.
  • GitHub does a great job at managing issues and assignment of issues with team members. Their easy-to-navigate issue portion of each repository makes it easy to identify which issues have to do with each branch, and which team member(s) are assigned to each issue.
  • GitHub has a variety of useful integrations with other software like Slack, which makes it easy to comment on code commits in a team-chat setting.
  • GitHub's wiki section of each code repository is a very useful tool to introduce in-depth documentation pertaining to the code in that repository.
  • GitHub can get quite expensive for teams, since they charge for plans that include more than 2 people.
  • There is no free mobile app integration or manager in case you want to check your code commits on the go.
  • If you're new to VCM or Git, GitHub doesn't really have a formal learning process or introduction on their platform. You will have to look elsewhere for a good tutorial on how to use GitHub/Git.
GitHub has created and worked on a very well-designed interface that is easy-to-use and intuitive. For almost all companies, GitHub is the best solution for VCM, as it has an all-inclusive feature set that is optimal for small to large Engineering teams, regardless of your company's stage. The only thing that can really get in the way of a company hosting their code on GitHub is the cost...
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Stephen Bussey profile photo
April 15, 2018

Review: "GitHub: dependable, predictable, worthwhile source control"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire engineering and product organization has logins to GitHub and uses it to develop all of our software and even some of our processes (through Wikis). The big problem it solves is source control centralization for the organization, with the largest use case being code pull requests for all new code that goes into production.
  • The pull request system is very easy and intuitive to use. New engineers, even that don't use GitHub otherwise, can quickly get up and running with it.
  • GitHub makes the cross between private/public very easy, but also protected. It's not possible for an employee to take a private repo public without manager / admin approval.
  • GitHub has pretty good uptime for such a core business tool. they've had some issues, but that's generally expected over time.
  • Some setup around private keys has been confusing over time. An account and project cannot have the same private key added, so it can be difficult to migrate from a single bot repo to multiple.
  • Native integration with other tools like Jira for the project flow could make it more likely for a development team to be able to switch between the two.
I generally would recommend GitHub for any source control needs, outside of extreme situations like very large organizations (multiple thousand developers) where I do not have experience. For any organization that needs good control of source code, and that interfaces with public open source projects, it's very recommended.

If an organization is entirely private and has no open source interaction, other tools may work better. Such as on-premise source control.
Read Stephen Bussey's full review
Dylan Eikelenboom profile photo
April 11, 2018

GitHub Review: "Come for the software versioning, stay for the community"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Github within our software research and development department as our software versioning system. We have our codebase available in multiple projects on GitHub and continuously make adjustments to it using Git branches, merge requests and tags. Our team also reviews new merge requests within Github. With this, we are able to have a history of our code, so we can always revert back to an earlier point in time.
  • The interface of Github is clear and all frequently used functionalities are easy to find.
  • The community using Github is very open and friendly, so even having a publicly available repository is fine.
  • Being able to write in markdown is a plus, in my opinion.
  • Github makes it easy to contribute to public or open source projects
  • Only accounts that pay the premium fee can create hidden or private repositories.
  • Github is great for software versioning, but I have found it to be difficult to use for Agile project planning.
  • The allowed maximum file and repository size is smaller than its competitors.
Github is great for pure software versioning, especially if it involves public or open source projects. The Github community is very large, so having the project listed there will attract alot of attention.

If you want to have private repositories, it requires you to have a paid account, so this is something to keep in mind when deciding the right system to use.

If you want to have a complete system for both software versioning and project planning, I would recommend to look elsewhere for systems that have this type of planning implemented better. This is not a detriment to Github, but it is somehting to keep in mind.
Read Dylan Eikelenboom's full review
Peter Tantono profile photo
March 21, 2018

User Review: "GitHub Easy SCSS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was a technical project manager for a big automotive client. My role was to create educational simulations for automotive technicians. In doing so, I played a team leader role in storing repositories/source code for each of the projects that I manage. We were concerned about longevity, security and management of code and GitHub addressed all of the above.
  • Version control
  • Code Checkout and check-in
  • Security
  • Single Sign-On
  • Accessibility - even for developers that are outside of our organization
  • Integration with open source project management
  • I wish to see more hooks developed for project management platforms
  • Cost Control
GitHub is awesome for IT or Development projects or any digital projects. It is not suited for, let’s say, Home Improvement projects because those projects tend to be waterfall based instead of agile.
Read Peter Tantono's full review
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu profile photo
March 13, 2018

GitHub Review: "Distributed source code management tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is one of the best distributed version control tools I've ever used. GiHub makes it easier to use Git from a Graphical Interface. It is widely used across all the platforms in our organization. It unifies and maintains the code repository from different developers. We deploy the code to production from our centralized GitHub repository.
  • Maintain distributed code contributors to a centralized repository.
  • Visualize the changes made along with contributor's ID.
  • Easy to deploy code from GitHub repo to production boxes.
  • Blame/raw features are unique in GitHub.
  • Making changes for the historic commit is difficult. I think there is room for improvement.
  • Cannot load more than 100 MB of data at once.
  • Contributions to the private repositories are not accounted as expected.
GitHub is well suited for maintaining centralized code repository while developers can work on individual local offline repo and contribute upon completion. It is very easy to integrate with various IDE like eclipse, intellij and many more. It provides various security features and additional functionalities like webhooks. It is less appropriate during historical code modification and loading huge files.
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review
Collin Berg profile photo
March 06, 2018

Review: "Github is the gateway to better team management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used github for side projects and hosting a company wordpress theme for a few years. On a personal level, github is great for saving projects and showcasing the different languages you are proficient in. We use it for our platform and to make sure we have a place to review our code as a team. I use it in each and every project so that i can always look back and track progress, or roll back incase I break something. If you aren't using git in some form on a project, you leave yourself vulnerable to mistakes.
  • Githubs does a great job of visually showing commit history.
  • The UI is clean and easy to navigate through. It has a lot of useful features no matter how small. Such as assigning issues/pull requests, labels and milestones.
  • Gist is a great tool for keeping quick, short snippets in a central location
  • The online community surrounding github makes it one of the best learning resources.
  • No three view for each repo. They have extensions for work arounds, but it intutive and should be a main feature.
  • If someone is new to GitHub, one of the challenges is learning all the ins and outs with the github model, which requires practice and time.
  • Unless you pay for github. there are no private repo's which is sad.
Github is great for working solo or with a team on a project. If you do have a team working on a project, getting files synced between all parties can be a real hassel, and doing it without some form of git is dangerous. Github allows team members to review each others work, and make sure they don't overwrite each others work on accident.
Read Collin Berg's full review
Justin Reynard profile photo
February 28, 2018

Review: "GitHub is amazing for collaboration, no matter the size of your company!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My companies use github for collaboration. It makes it really easy to keep everyone on the same page, even if they're working across the world! We have people in Los Angeles, Phoenix, Chicago and London all working together through programming and project management tools included inside github!
  • Github is amazing for people with experience in programming. The public issue trackers have a wealth of information where I don't usually even need to go to stackoverflow anymore for help since the problem/solution probably exist
  • They give back to the community as well with amazing applications and tools like Atom and Electron.
  • Github's user interface is better than all the others, which is why many others just straight up copy it.
  • Their project management tools are constantly getting better but I would like to see them be a viable (lightweight!) Jira replacement.
The code isn't on your computer, so if your computer breaks or a programmer quits (or your house burns down) you always have a backup. But this can be a con, as well, if you work for a company that doesn't allow the code to leave the building (but do offer an enterprise plan!)
Read Justin Reynard's full review
Mamoru Fujinoki, PMP, CSM, ITILF, LSSGB profile photo
February 19, 2018

GitHub Review: "The de-facto standard source control"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use GitHub as my source control service. I can easily track the code change, branch the projects, and go back to the previous change. It can also share the project files, collaborate with others, and showcase my coding experience. Also, I can get open source codes from other developers to use and to modify for new projects.
  • Source control
  • Programming collaboration
  • Developers community to share knowledge base
  • User interface
  • Free private repository
  • Language localization
It is good for especially open source projects. You can share and showcase the code publicly. However, this is not suitable if you do not want to share the code with others unless you pay for private repositories. And probably it is not suitable for projects that are for your clients and internal projects.
Read Mamoru Fujinoki, PMP, CSM, ITILF, LSSGB's full review
Andrew Vawdrey profile photo
February 08, 2018

Review: "GitHub is best thing since sliced bread"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GitHub is being used across all of our development and IT teams. It is being used to manage our code repos and managing out pull requests made by all of our users. It has been great in rolling out clean code and it is easy to manage, roll back and keep our repos going.
  • Easy to review, approve/reject and roll out new code
  • Great for large teams working on one code repo
  • Has great integrations with many popular Git clients like SourceTree or GitKraken
  • Bit of a learning curve but great once you get past it
GitHub is a must have for anyone that needs code management, code reviews, and code merging. Github is a perfect solution that will make your code repos delightful to work with. Github gives great access to your team to view your code changes and to approve or suggest changes. If you need changes you can easily edit it right in the browser UI.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
Ruirong Chen profile photo
February 05, 2018

"Github review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Github is being used as the code repository across the whole organization. It addresses the problem of code sharing/management within the company
  • Easy to use
  • Good support
  • used by other engineers in the industry
  • Might be hard to pick up from a different background
  • No phone support
If you need to start a new code project, or you need to start storing some files that will be shared among the organization and you need versioning of the files, GitHub is the way to go.
Read Ruirong Chen's full review
Jeremy Hawes profile photo
January 16, 2018

Review: "GitHub's Free Version is a must for any new or veteran developer and the paid versions have useful features worth considering for development when version control is a must"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use GitHub as it relates to those external from our company. It allows us to use their utilities/apps, contribute to them, subscribe to them, and ultimately collaborate with them in any further development that is needed. It is also a great place for us to store internal projects that we would like to be open source and available to other contributors in the development community.
  • Version Control
  • Cloning applications
  • Merging code/development changes
  • Viewing/Presenting code changes
  • Built-in tutorial into the UI
Whether a private or public project (though private costs money) GitHub is extremely well suited for a web-based, version controlled repository for any online application.
Read Jeremy Hawes's full review

About GitHub

GitHub is a platform that hosts public and private code and provides software development and collaboration tools. Features include version control, issue tracking, code review, team management, syntax highlighting, etc. Personal plans ($0-50), Organizational plans ($0-200), and Enterprise plans are available. 
Categories:  Version Control

GitHub Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No