Terraform Reviews

63 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 27, 2021
Fraser Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Enabled the business to move infrastructure to AWS without concern of losing all infrastructure
  • Allows us to plan and review changes with speculative runs
  • Provides disaster recovery for AWS accounts being destroyed
Read Fraser Clark's full review
February 15, 2021
Ben Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • 20,000 in savings of engineering costs monthly
  • Standardized DSL to allow us to understand what is deployed
  • Better controls around cost and adoption saved 150k in one year.
Read Ben Carter's full review
February 12, 2021
Jude Allred | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Expressing infrastructure as code enables development patterns that are otherwise impossible -- spinning up and down ad-hoc environments, making strong use of A/B deployments, allowing all developers to have custom development environments provisioned from a central place, and permitting version control on your infrastructure. These are second-order positive impacts which all have a strong ROI in terms of reducing effort for engineers and increasing product stability.
Read Jude Allred's full review
February 12, 2021
Abdullah Khawer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Terraform is free to use.
  • Terraform is easy to maintain.
  • Terraform makes infrastructure provisioning faster as code is already written and we just need to run it.
Read Abdullah Khawer's full review
February 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Safer Infrastructure changes
  • Faster deployments
  • Better security tracking
  • Code review on infrastructure changes
  • Quicker startup of new projects' infrastructure
  • Reduce bus factor of Sysadmin roles
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2020
Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Using code, we are able to build and deploy cloud resources faster and more consistently than producing the same resources in the console manually.
  • For applications that share architectures, we can reuse code to expedite development. We can also do the same with modules that are shared across the organization.
  • By defining all of our resources as code, we can deploy complete environments with "batteries included." For example, we can use code that spins up servers in a cloud provider and at the same time, creates monitors with in our monitoring provider. Likewise, when the servers are decommissioned, the monitors are decommed along with them. In the past, the creation and decom of the monitors would have been a disjointed, manual step. With Terraform we get it all with one "terraform apply."
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
December 17, 2019
Ronak Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Prevents mistakes compared to deploying directly on live environment.
  • Configuration changes are reviewed before changes are made (using Git of course).
Read Ronak Shah's full review
January 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Scaling our infrastructure has become much easier, leading to less downtime.
  • Less buggy deployments due to bad config changes, also leading to less downtime.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Jeffrey Severance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Terraform has increased our time to market in releasing new software.
  • Terraform has decreased defects in our operating environment.
  • Terraform has improved our ability to plan for labor resources by creating a common skill set.
Read Jeffrey Severance's full review
August 19, 2019
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our deployments are more reliable. This way we avoid having unexpected outages due to misconfiguration performed manually.
  • Agility. While doing this using our previous way, we used to spend hours to deploy a new environment. With Terraform it is just a few minutes.
  • Better control! We can track every single change in our environment by our control versioning system.
Read Erlon Sousa Pinheiro's full review
May 16, 2019
David Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Now that we're using Terraform we don't need dedicated IT administrators.
  • Developers are able to quickly spin up resources for testing.
  • Sometimes the ease of setting up environments can lead to higher expenses without realizing.
Read David Tanner's full review
January 30, 2019
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Deployment to cloud has been made easier.
  • Developers do not need to know much, they can just do minor tweaks by changing variables and parameters here and there and manage to deploy to AWS.
  • This has resulted in dollar benefits because deployment through the script is error-free compared to manual deployment.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
January 16, 2017
Charles Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I can't say that we've had any ROI yet because we're not using Terraform in production. I look forward to building a (somewhat) self-documenting infrastructure and having multiple engineers working together on it.
Read Charles Anderson's full review
April 26, 2017
Aiman Najjar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Terraform is open source and free and learning curve is medium. It is an amazing investment overall that leads businesses to have a clean and well-maintained inventory
  • Terraform simplifies orchestrating complex infrastructure setups, such as clusters that involve different types of AWS resources can be templated and reused to provision new environments or rebuild existing ones, making the business truly agile.
  • Conventions can be enforced be using organization-level modules, such as naming conventions, tagging requirements,..etc
Read Aiman Najjar's full review
April 14, 2017
Kyle Rockman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Infrastructure as code federated out to the developers themselves freeing up our OPS/Infrastructure team from doing the work to more of a consulting role
Read Kyle Rockman's full review
February 15, 2017
Deepshikha Gandhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Quick turnaround time for spinning new infrastructure
  • We now have readable and documentable infrastructure which can be version controlled
  • Hooking up Terraform with CI/CD tools like Jenkins has enabled us to build a pipeline for continuous testing and delivery
Read Deepshikha Gandhi's full review
April 12, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Provisioning SLA times was reduced.
  • Standard Terraform scripts helped standardize the configuration.
  • Clustering applications was easier.
Read this authenticated review

What is Terraform?

Terraform from HashiCorp is a cloud infrastructure automation tool that enables users to create, change, and improve production infrastructure, and it allows infrastructure to be expressed as code. It codifies APIs into declarative configuration files that can be shared amongst team members, treated as code, edited, reviewed, and versioned. It is available Open Source, and via Cloud and Self-Hosted editions.

Terraform Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per month
Team & Governance$20per user/per month
BusinessContact sales team

Terraform Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Terraform?

Terraform from HashiCorp is a cloud infrastructure automation tool that enables users to create, change, and improve production infrastructure, and it allows infrastructure to be expressed as code. It codifies APIs into declarative configuration files that can be shared amongst team members, treated as code, edited, reviewed, and versioned. It is available Open Source, and via Cloud and Self-Hosted editions.

What is Terraform's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Terraform?

The most common users of Terraform are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.