TrustRadius
Jenkins is an open source continuous integration tool.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/a9/F3/EHQMKIKITL3V.JPEGJenkins as my Continuous Integration tool of choiceThis tool made the development flow fluid. Standout features are the continuous integration and a variety of support offered for creating packages for a number of technologies like, Java, C#, C++, etc and across multiple platforms that makes releases easier for faster roll out of business functionalities . It also has hundreds of plugins that can help you setup continuous integration and continuous delivery tool chain in quick time. You can easily scale out Jenkins across multiple machines, and support simultaneous large number of builds, tests and deployments across multiple platforms.,There are plenty of plugins available which helps us automate most of the jobs. You can do anything with Jenkins as there are a huge number of community plugins. There is a learning curve of course but after you've mastered it's quick sailing. The ability to schedule jobs on the go for your software build is very useful.,I particularly don't like the user interface. There's a lot of scope for improvement. I would actually say a complete revamp is required. It is quite time consuming and not intuitive to create a job. The new build pipelines feature is good but needs to be refined and issues needs to be ironed out.,7,Has streamlined the build, release and deployment schedules with the automation it provides Very easy to run automated tests and promote code to higher environments. Scripting support helps to customize as per the organization's needs.,TeamCity and Bamboo,Puppet Enterprise (formerly Puppet Data Center Automation), Docker, Mule ESBJenkins - when you want a dedicated, non SaaS CI/CDJenkins is as our R&D build and deploy pipeline. It allows us to: 1) Run end to end and unit tests every time we push new code. 2) Compile and bundle our code. 3) Deploy images and containers it to our Azure servers (Kubernetes). 4) Give us a nice dashboard to view that status of the tests, builds, and deployment.,It is heavily used in the industry and it's open source. This is a huge benefit as there is a lot of learning material and more importantly there are many friends that can help you set things up correctly. The new UI/UX design is very user friendly and gives you good viability into your deployment pipeline status. Lots of helpful plugins that are well supported. Setup on Azure was quite straight forward.,It does require setup unlike other SaaS products like CircleCI which just require an account. Lots of plugins is also a disadvantage as you need to install quite a few and installation errors are not always easy to decipher. The UI could use better search options, especially through the logs.,8,Having a CI/CD pipeline, in general, helps you push new features faster and more reliably. In the short term - a large setup cost. Long-term - no cost for SaaS products.,CircleCI,CircleCI, GitHub, Trello, NanoboxAutomate anything and everything with SpinnakerJenkins is the tool we use for building our code, running our test cases and also for few of the inhouse datacenter deployments. Apart from the regular CICD, we also use it for many of our other automation tasks, for example automating regular operational tasks like disk cleanup, log rotation etc.,Jenkins has plugins for achieving anything and everything. Jenkins is very flexible and has gone beyond just the CI capabilities. Very active development and frequent releases with new features and bug fixes. Very good authentication/authorization features with fine-grained access control.,Sometimes installing the wrong plugins ends up with Jenkins in a non-startable state. When there is a huge number of builds, loading the Jenkins UI takes minutes. Sometimes times out as well. Lacking user level minute audit logging. It's difficult to find out which users installed/upgraded plugins. There were cases where jobs were in a hung state and could not be aborted as well. Jenkins restart was the only solution.,10,Its a great ROI. Jenkins helps in automating most of the stuff. The way Jenkins handles the scale is quite impressive. Have one master and multiple slaves of different OS types help achieve any kind of automations. We are able to achieve CICD for many applications with just one master slave Jenkins setup. The Jenkins team is very much updated with current trend technology of cloud (AWS, GC etc. ) and also supports container technologies (Docker and orchestrating it using Kubernetes ); because of this, there is no need to think of another tool for any new technologies. And enterprises can use Jenkins for long-term stability with full trust.,TeamCity and CircleCI,GitHub, Chef, Spinnaker, Docker, KubernetesJenkins at a glanceJenkins is used for automating the build process of testing, deployment, and release. It makes continuous deployment faster and an automated process. It is used across the organization.,Automated deployments. Developers manage their own code throughout the SDLC Jenkins workers can be easily scaled making multiple projects use the same Jenkins for deployment Easy setup of the environment using docker and kubernetes,Jenkins UI needs to be changed. It doesn’t utilize the modern web technologies Parallel builds should be displayed separately. Containers within containers for golang creates problems in dependency management,8,Faster deployment makes business respond to market more easily No need for a separate release management team Jenkinsfile make release deployment automated as a code,Travis CI,Google Compute Engine, Docker, KubernetesJenkins provides solid support for Continuous Integration and Continuous DeliveryJenkins is currently used to build and deploy our Amazon infrastructure. We practice the principles of infrastructure as code, meaning our infrastructure config and setup is checked into a revision control system and built via Chef and other scripts. Jenkins manages building that automatically or on demand and ensures that everything that is checked in is working properly.,Configurability - Jenkins supports all sorts of options for different build types (Microsoft, Unix, etc.). Performance - The Jenkins user interface responds pretty well and can handle a number of projects. Plugins - Generally if you have a third party system to integrate with, Jenkins generally has a plugin for it.,User Interface - The UI feels a bit dated and can be hard to use at times. Error messaging could be friendlier - sometimes it can be hard to decipher what went wrong. Configuration of roles could be easier. It would be nice if it was easier to give access to certain users for certain build options/projects/etc.,8,Streamlined building our server infrastructure, which gave us more time for other development efforts. Helped improve code quality - we were able to verify that the code was compiling properly with each check-in. Made deployments more bullet proof - with a standard flow for deploying our code/infrastructure, it made less room for human error.,TeamCity,TeamCity, GitHub, New Relic APM, Slack
Unspecified
Jenkins
177 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

Jenkins Reviews

Jenkins
177 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 177 vetted Jenkins reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 37)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ramendra Sahu profile photo
September 07, 2018

Review: "Jenkins as my Continuous Integration tool of choice"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool made the development flow fluid. Standout features are the continuous integration and a variety of support offered for creating packages for a number of technologies like, Java, C#, C++, etc and across multiple platforms that makes releases easier for faster roll out of business functionalities . It also has hundreds of plugins that can help you setup continuous integration and continuous delivery tool chain in quick time. You can easily scale out Jenkins across multiple machines, and support simultaneous large number of builds, tests and deployments across multiple platforms.
  • There are plenty of plugins available which helps us automate most of the jobs.
  • You can do anything with Jenkins as there are a huge number of community plugins. There is a learning curve of course but after you've mastered it's quick sailing.
  • The ability to schedule jobs on the go for your software build is very useful.
  • I particularly don't like the user interface. There's a lot of scope for improvement. I would actually say a complete revamp is required.
  • It is quite time consuming and not intuitive to create a job.
  • The new build pipelines feature is good but needs to be refined and issues needs to be ironed out.
It supports a rich set of plugins. The job configuration history plugin, for example, allows you to see history of past builds. Features are constantly getting enhanced with each release. Great active community support, which can help you if you are trying to do something new. Better than a lot of peers available in market. GitHub integration and pull request and support for automatic code review are truly great features.
Read Ramendra Sahu's full review
Sagiv Frankel profile photo
June 26, 2018

Review: "Jenkins - when you want a dedicated, non SaaS CI/CD"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is as our R&D build and deploy pipeline.
It allows us to:
1) Run end to end and unit tests every time we push new code.
2) Compile and bundle our code.
3) Deploy images and containers it to our Azure servers (Kubernetes).
4) Give us a nice dashboard to view that status of the tests, builds, and deployment.
  • It is heavily used in the industry and it's open source. This is a huge benefit as there is a lot of learning material and more importantly there are many friends that can help you set things up correctly.
  • The new UI/UX design is very user friendly and gives you good viability into your deployment pipeline status.
  • Lots of helpful plugins that are well supported.
  • Setup on Azure was quite straight forward.
  • It does require setup unlike other SaaS products like CircleCI which just require an account.
  • Lots of plugins is also a disadvantage as you need to install quite a few and installation errors are not always easy to decipher.
  • The UI could use better search options, especially through the logs.
If you haven't used Jenkins before and have a relatively simple and straightforward deployment setup I would not use my resources on Jenkins and go for a simpler, more SaaS-based solution. If you expect to have a lot of security demands and need control of your CI/CD pipeline I would use Jenkins for the get-go.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
No photo available
July 06, 2018

Jenkins Review: "Automate anything and everything with Spinnaker"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is the tool we use for building our code, running our test cases and also for few of the inhouse datacenter deployments.

Apart from the regular CICD, we also use it for many of our other automation tasks, for example automating regular operational tasks like disk cleanup, log rotation etc.
  • Jenkins has plugins for achieving anything and everything.
  • Jenkins is very flexible and has gone beyond just the CI capabilities.
  • Very active development and frequent releases with new features and bug fixes.
  • Very good authentication/authorization features with fine-grained access control.
  • Sometimes installing the wrong plugins ends up with Jenkins in a non-startable state.
  • When there is a huge number of builds, loading the Jenkins UI takes minutes. Sometimes times out as well.
  • Lacking user level minute audit logging. It's difficult to find out which users installed/upgraded plugins.
  • There were cases where jobs were in a hung state and could not be aborted as well. Jenkins restart was the only solution.
Jenkins is a good tool to automate anything and everything. It has plugins to integrate with any other systems.
Earlier Jenkins was more like a CI tool. But now it has evolved to cater for continuous delivery and deployment as well.

Jenkins can be used to download code from a source code versioning system, build code, run tests, upload to artifact repositories and finally deploy to the required environments via shell scripts, Chef, Ansible etc.

Apart from this, Jenkins can be used to run any kind of automation required, for example, operations scheduled activities like cleaning up disk space, rotating logs etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 05, 2018

User Review: "Jenkins at a glance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is used for automating the build process of testing, deployment, and release. It makes continuous deployment faster and an automated process. It is used across the organization.
  • Automated deployments. Developers manage their own code throughout the SDLC
  • Jenkins workers can be easily scaled making multiple projects use the same Jenkins for deployment
  • Easy setup of the environment using docker and Kubernetes
  • Jenkins UI needs to be changed. It doesn’t utilize the modern web technologies
  • Parallel builds should be displayed separately.
  • Containers within containers for golang creates problems in dependency management
Jenkins is well suited for a continuous integration and continuous deployment process. Jenkins file creates deployment automated as a code through docker.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Van Heusen profile photo
April 09, 2018

Review: "Jenkins provides solid support for Continuous Integration and Continuous Delivery"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is currently used to build and deploy our Amazon infrastructure. We practice the principles of infrastructure as code, meaning our infrastructure config and setup is checked into a revision control system and built via Chef and other scripts. Jenkins manages building that automatically or on demand and ensures that everything that is checked in is working properly.
  • Configurability - Jenkins supports all sorts of options for different build types (Microsoft, Unix, etc.).
  • Performance - The Jenkins user interface responds pretty well and can handle a number of projects.
  • Plugins - Generally if you have a third party system to integrate with, Jenkins generally has a plugin for it.
  • User Interface - The UI feels a bit dated and can be hard to use at times.
  • Error messaging could be friendlier - sometimes it can be hard to decipher what went wrong.
  • Configuration of roles could be easier. It would be nice if it was easier to give access to certain users for certain build options/projects/etc.
Jenkins is very well suited for someone in need of a Continuous Integration and Continuous Delivery solution. It does well for people with Unix/Mac based projects, it does handle Microsoft builds fine as well, however the setup of it and configuration may feel a bit more complicated for those coming from a Microsoft background.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
Neale Foulds profile photo
April 02, 2018

User Review: "Jenkins CI/CD"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Jenkins as part of our build infrastructure for compile and build, typically executing mavens builds but also ant scripts for more complex tasks and workflows
  • Is an excellent automation container
  • Is excellent at integration with many other tools and services
  • Is superbly well supported in the dev community with over 1k plugins
  • Is very easy to recruit for, having high market penetration and lots of candidates with experience
  • Has a number of security models to suit any enterprise or small user
  • Is very scalable both horizontally and vertically
  • History retention is an area that should improve
  • Trend analysis should be better supported in the core product
  • Dashboards need to be better provisioned in the core product
It is well suited to build, continuous integration and continuous deployment. A less common use case, the tool is also good for scheduling, offline tasks, environment maintenance such as log rotation etc.
Read Neale Foulds's full review
Aiman Najjar profile photo
January 19, 2018

Jenkins Review: "Unparalleled Flexibility"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is an extremely powerful continuous integration/continuous delivery tool. It can be used to automate a very diverse set of operations - including, but also well beyond, application deployments. This is thanks to amazing flexibility and the impressive number of available plugins.

In the traditional sense, Jenkins easily addresses the following problems:
  • Build and release automation
  • Test automation with result report generation
  • Test coverage reports
  • Version control polling
  • Status notifications
  • Conditional, concurrent and branched pipelines
  • Master-slave architecture
  • Credentials storage
  • Really, any custom scheduled or event-driven (primarily via version control events) workloads - of course don't go crazy with that, you don't want to schedule data science jobs on Jenkins for example. Key word is "operations".

Thanks to its large community and amount of available plugins, you can easily:

  • Integrate with Slack to push notifications, also true for many other chat services
  • Integrate with GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket via hooks (as opposed to polling)
  • Create and restore backups
  • Integrate with external authentication providers (e.g. OAuth)
  • Define your pipelines as code


  • Large and diverse selection of plugins
  • Build and release automation
  • Operations automation
  • Does not encourage modular and repeatable design patterns: while Pipeline plugin (pipeline as code) partially solves the problem but it's not quite there yet. You cannot encapsulate your entire pipelines in self-contained, reusable and deployable code.
  • Jenkins hasn't caught up in treating containers as first-class citizen. Workloads run directly atop the Jenkins node. This means potential security issues and lacking the ability to constraint resources allocated to workloads.
  • It's very plugins-driven. Although the quantity and diversity of available plugins is amazing; but the plugins architecture makes it easy to bloat your Jenkins node with plugins and destabilize it over time. Plugins are installed globally (with ability to enable/disable at job-level).
Even though Jenkins was designed primarily for CI/CD, I wouldn't say that CI/CD is its greatest strengths at this time and age. Many modern CI/CD tools have emerged recently which specifically target CI/CD problems in lean, code-driven and containerized approach.

Ironically, that makes Jenkins ahead of those CI/CD-focused tools in solving non-traditional problems. I would still think of Jenkins as first choice for following use cases:
  • Automating Standard Operating Procedures - e.g. when you want to give your T1 support team a UI with single-click button to perform a routine SOP.
  • Scheduled test and validations that are not tied to releases - e.g. I've used Jenkins to automate data consistency tests across two layers of data stores and generate a nice HTML report of detected discrepancies, and also notify when any are found!
  • Workloads that require generating custom reports
  • Any other custom operations automation

Read Aiman Najjar's full review
Deva Veluchamy profile photo
December 11, 2017

Review: "Jenkins is a flexible Open Source CI/CD tool."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is one of the best open source Continuous Integration and Continuous Deployment tools. It is used in most of the projects in our company where we need a CI/CD pipeline. In the aspect of test automation, it is most helpful for the continuous executions whenever there is a new build.
  • Provides good CI/CD pipeline
  • Not a platform dependent, available for various operating system
  • Huge list of plugins to integrate with many products
  • Easily configurable and good documentation
  • Results metrics could be improved to get good reports.
  • Environment management can be improved, which is not quite straightforward.
  • Initial setup and configuration will be challenging.
Jenkins suite is well where we need to implement continuous integration and continuous deployment is needed. In test automation, it is possible to trigger executions automatically whenever we have new build generated or automation script changes committed. This is helpful to get quicker feedback about product quality. As plugins are available for leading test automation tools, it is also possible to easily integrate.
Read Deva Veluchamy's full review
No photo available
January 23, 2018

Review: "Jenkins turns time-consuming tasks into automated successes"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is used across our entire organization. For our dev shop, it mains our build cycle by completing builds of code and handling deployment of code. In addition, we even utilize it to roll out database schema changes. If this wasn't enough, we also utilize Jenkins to generate content based off of markup. Jenkins has allowed us to meet the needs of our dev department of continuous integration while allowing customers to put out content in a timely manner.
  • Jenkins will allow you to setup continuous integration quickly for your development lifecycle. In addition to setting up your code to compile and perform unit testing, Jenkins can handle deploying the code to the needed servers.
  • Jenkins will allow you to set up processes that you wouldn't even expect to need - in our case we used it to manage our database schema by utilizing the ability to run scripts to run liquibase updates.
  • Jenkins has so many plugins, you can even integrate your deployments to update the associated task when it is ready for QA. In our case, we utilized plugins to integrate with JIRA and to notify us in our team chat that a build was ready for testing.
  • When setting up plugins, it can be tricky when you run into errors as sometimes the errors are not explanatory.
  • Jenkins requires plugins for most tasks, it would be nice to see things that are needed for most installations to be out of the box. This would tie them into the product more nicely and hopefully make those plugins easier to use.
  • Lucky for us, we run a fairly monolithic codebase which makes unit testing easier to set up. However, research shows that setting up this type of testing for micro-services with Jenkins is problematic as you cannot test multiple services at once.
Jenkins is wonderful for technically proficient users to setup continuous integration quickly. In addition, if you have processes that are currently only available via command-line utilities - you can setup Jenkins jobs to run these and this now makes those jobs accessible for users who cannot or will not use command-line. In addition, the easy to use interface allows more than the tech team to utilize jobs after they are set up allowing you to spread the workload for manually triggered jobs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 12, 2018

"Quick review of Jenkins"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization has deployed Jenkins as the main continuous integration tool for their projects which is responsible for automating all the unit tests, integration tests, end-to-end tests and also the process of releasing the final products as configured.
  • Jenkins creates a comprehensive platform to automate the project builds.
  • Jenkins can be configured to build the projects as periodically (nightly builds) or in the event of subversion commitment.
  • Jenkins provides a user-friendly portal to do the configurations you need.
  • Jenkins can improve their product by integrating agile frameworks for the platform directly.
  • They can think further on Jenkins to improve the security as such issues were claimed in the recent past.
  • Jenkins UIs are sometimes slow responsively.
As an open-source product, Jenkins can be recommended for any company who needs continuous integration/delivery for their projects. However, Jenkins offers the extended functionalities through their plug-ins which seems good in most cases but sometimes, this may lead to having unwanted functionalities and security issues in the platform in the case of using of multiple plug-ins for doing a specific task.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 21, 2017

User Review: "Why We Use Jenkins"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is a continuous integration tool on which my team relies heavily. My whole company uses Jenkins. It starts our build process, and goes all the way to start the code pipeline, from then our release goes from qa env, to e2e, and to production. Each job on Jenkins starts automatically when we push a new code to master.
  • Continuous integration
  • Zero downtime and automatic/scheduled jobs
  • No manual effort
  • Jobs can be turned enabled and disabled at any time with any configuration settings
  • For my team in particular, we have some common accounts that we use, which makes it difficult to understand who initiated the job
  • Could use a UI upgrade
  • Don't have mobile flow
It is a great tool for companies who are trying to minimize manual effort and are looking for more automatic release processes. It works great to start our regression tests, code coverage builds, or any ind of automatic ob under the roof. It is easily configurable and jobs can be easily copied and linked to GitHub repo.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Automate your environment with Jenkins"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Jenkins is being used across the IT team in our organization. It simply does the hard job of automating all the repetitive tasks, includes details in projects, inside builds, follows workflows, accesses operating systems, and alerts when it's done, or, based on decisions during tasks, what to do. This reduced a lot of work for our dev teams, but also now is helping the infrastructure team and other departments. The knowledge of Jenkins utilization replicates really fast inside our organization as at least one people inside every team learned about or knows how to use it to build a simple job to automate a task, workflow or a deploy. Jenkins also allows us to monitor what's being done, helping managers and the team have an overview of how a pipeline is running. Another problem that Jenkins solved is centralizing automation. As it's controlled by a web console, it's easy to check what is being done, access logs of old jobs, view the entire console output and know exactly who and when a job was last executed. Also, you may set permissions by project, by job, or what you or your organization needs.
  • Continuous Delivery
  • Continuous Integration
  • Automation
  • Single Sign On
  • User Interface
  • Dashboards
Jenkins is well suited for continuous integration, continuous delivery, task automation, deploy automation, detailed security, audit jobs, dashboards, central console to manage, orchestration of jobs (starting a job after your current job was finished with success, for example). But if you wish to continue running things manually, or enjoy it, this is definitively not a tool for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 28, 2018

"Jenkins Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by mostly the technology department. It allows us to run jobs between engineers and non-engineers. It increases productivity by automating processes.
  • Automated scheduled jobs
  • I think the UI is not the greatest.
It is well suited for kicking off a job manually or running automated jobs. I do see the use of a product such as this for business type folks, however, the UI is not that business friendly, rather more engineer friendly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2017

Review: "JENKINS, OPEN SOURCE CONTINUOUS INTEGRATION TOOL"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our EAI department, we are using Jenkins to automate building and packaging TIBCO BW project.
Once the testing step is OK, the package is installed firstly in test environment.
Jenkins process is triggred each time a code is commited on SVN.
Jenkins can also serve as a versioning system because each time a build is made, its version is stored in Jenkins
  • Graphical Interface.
  • Possibility to use versioning system like SVN,CVS.
  • We can execute quality code tool to check code quality.
  • Easy to install.
  • Version change too fast can sometimes cause instabilities with some plugins that have not been updated yet.
  • In an open source context, coordination between different developers is often lacking; suddenly, it's sometimes a bit of a mess: new versions come out quickly, but they are not always well tested and regressions appear.
Jenkins is an open source tool that allows you to supervise and integrate all project parts. It becomes the conductor of the entire development workflow
Read this authenticated review
Jonathan Yu profile photo
November 13, 2017

Jenkins Review: "The venerable open source build tool trusted by companies large and small"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Jenkins to manage both development and release builds of software at my two previous roles (IBM and Red Hat.) In both cases, each department had its own instances, so that plugins could be customized and managed on a per-team, per-product basis. It enables teams to manage a fleet of build servers (slaves in Jenkins parlance) that can build source code and run tests in an automated fashion, across platforms - this enables cross-platform software to be tested against various versions of Windows and Linux, for example. It can also be used for simple automation tasks, though other tools like Ansible are better suited for those tasks.
  • Minimal but extensible and flexible: Out of the box, Jenkins provides rudimentary capabilities to manage a host system with a framework for running build tasks and installing tools. There are many extension points available for plugins, and so a rich ecosystem of plugins is available. Many version control systems are supported, and integrations with other tools through plugins is excellent.
  • Cross-platform: Supports many platforms and architectures quite easily, thanks to its implementation in Java
  • Design focus: With Blue Ocean, you can get a nice-looking web interface for free
  • Rich ecosystem: As Jenkins has been around for quite some time, there is a rich ecosystem of blogs, tutorials, guides, and documentation available for performing most of the day-to-day tasks you would need. There are also various vendors like CloudBees that offer hosted services.
  • Ease of deployment: Jenkins can be deployed quite easily as a standalone JAR file. There are also system packages available for many Linux operating systems, such as Debian.
  • Difficult to manage build configurations: builds are generally configured through the user interface, which is easier to modify (especially for casual users rather than dedicated release engineers), but this results in changes that can be difficult to track, especially if multiple people have write access to the system. Some teams manage this by restricting people that can modify builds, but this creates a bottleneck. Ideally, the system would provide a good audit trail and change history, allowing changes to be tracked and reverted easily. Competing offerings get around this by version-controlling their configuration (e.g. Travis CI, Drone, AppVeyor) but this results in a slightly higher learning curve.
  • Quality of plugins varies widely: plugins are in various states of maintenance, and some are woefully incomplete and no longer updated. It can be difficult to know whether a plugin is well-written or not, or even actively maintained.
  • Builds are often not easily reproducible: By default, builds are run on the slave systems, which can retain state between runs that cause difficult-to-debug failures. It's possible to get around this by using VM snapshots and periodically reverting to clean systems, or by using the Docker plugin to run builds inside ephemeral containers.
  • Plugins are globally scoped: Because plugin versions and the Jenkins version are per-installation, companies with multiple teams typically run multiple instances of Jenkins. This leads to a maintenance nightmare and a lot of duplicated effort across teams keeping the systems patched, but is necessary because software requires different toolchains. It would be nice if Jenkins supported plugins on a "per tenant" basis, even though the running version would still be one-per-instance. Some platforms (such as OpenShift) get around this by running Jenkins inside a container, but that leaves out Windows slaves.
Jenkins works pretty well for what it does, is easy to use, and aggregates logs as you would expect. For simple builds (especially Java builds), Jenkins works fairly well. It can run on full systems or headless systems, so tests requiring a graphical interface (such as those driven by Selenium and the WebDriver API) have no issues running. It can be used to manage systems to some extent (installing and managing software across a cluster by SSHing into slave machines) but its ecosystem is not geared for that; for a general automation solution, look to Ansible instead.
Read Jonathan Yu's full review
Mohit Goenka profile photo
November 09, 2017

Review: "Jenkins helps automating everything manual"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Jenkins across the company. The infrastructure provided by Jenkins allows us to automate our build process. The ability to work with numerous plugins makes it super easy to change various parts of the manual process to be fully automated. This reduces the level of effort engineers need to put in.
  • UI for displaying test results
  • Detailed logs
  • Easy segmentation of build processes
  • Make it easy to search logs across builds
  • Provide wrappers to replicate jobs across multiple products
  • Provide ability to export data
Jenkins is very well suited if you have a manual push process and are trying to automate it. This would help reduce the work load engineers have. Note that it is important for the process to be driven by scripts. If the build process is based on manual configurations and approvals, Jenkins wouldn't be very useful.
Read Mohit Goenka's full review
Stanislaw Wozniak profile photo
September 29, 2017

Review: "Jenkins - monkey that needs to be tamed"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is used as a default tool for continuous integration across the enterprise. We have multiple instances for different applications. The slaves are auto scaled depending on the demand for builds. Jenkins builds, deploys and tests our deliverables providing instant feedback when changes are implemented. We use a numerous number of plugins to support our choice of technologies
  • Distribute builds across slave farm
  • Extremely flexible e.g. pipeline jobs
  • Open api which means it is easy to extend
  • Integrates with other tools such as SCM or project management
  • Plugins can clash with each other as they are not tested together
  • Upgrades can be painful, again because of plugins
  • Missing support for job templates, no useful plugins exist
More stability and job templates would make Jenkins a serious competitor in the CI space
Read Stanislaw Wozniak's full review
Linda McDonald profile photo
August 29, 2017

Jenkins Review: "Amazing CI Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is used as a development only tool as a manual as well as continuous integration tool with hooks into Artifactory. We have 15 build machines supporting Windows, Mac OSX and Linus Operating Systems.
  • Creating a basic build job is quick and painless.
  • Jenkins integrates with source control and Artifactory extremely well.
  • There are so many plugins that just about anything is possible.
  • Quite a few plugins have been discontinued recently due to security flaws.
  • Slaves often get disconnected for no apparent reason and have had to write our own code to check and bring them back online automatically when needed.
Jenkins is a wonderful tool for all levels of developers allowing many plugins to be added and scripts can be written to account for any customizations needed. I am not familiar with the pipelines functionality but hope to start using it soon for continuous delivery.
Read Linda McDonald's full review
Rene Enriquez profile photo
November 14, 2017

User Review: "Go for jenkins"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are mainly using jenkins to automate many parts of out software development life cycle like:
- Build artifacts after commits
- Run integration tests
- Deploy artifacts
  • It allows to use plugins for integrating Jenkins with tons of programming languages.
  • Good way to manage credentials in a centralized way.
  • Clustering.
  • Cross platform and easy to be installed.
  • Nice UI to build pipelines, it has a minimalistic UI which is very intuitive.
  • Good notification system that allows to be integrated with Slack, HipChat and other chats that allows to the team be aware of the status of the Jenkins jobs.
  • Graphic representation for the pipelines.
Jenkins is good when:
- You want to automate your build pipelines
- Implementing continuous delivery process
- Automate manual tasks

Jenkins is not good when:
- You have your code in GitHub, I will rather use travis instead which is already included and well integrated
- You want to see in a graphic representation of your pipeline, in this cases another tools like GoCD would be a fit
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
Juni Mukherjee profile photo
July 21, 2017

"Jenkins Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is being used by the whole organization.

Jenkins is being used as the orchestration layer for our Continuous Delivery Pipelines. The DSL is used to set up Pipeline-As-Code.
  • Jenkins offers flexibility to implement any customer use case.
  • Jenkins has a plugin ecosystem that's helpful to avoid writing too much custom code.
  • Jenkins is free.
  • Jenkins has a buzzing community and great docs.
  • Jenkins lends itself to containerization.
  • Jenkins Pipeline-As-Code should be declarative instead of requiring users to write groovy code/script.
  • Jenkins should offer a better dashboard with KPIs that customers care about.
  • Jenkins should improve their UI and graphical visualization of Pipelines.
Jenkins addresses most use cases.
Read Juni Mukherjee's full review
No photo available
June 05, 2017

Review: "Jenkins - Continuous Integration Continuous Deployment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is really useful at the time of regression testing. At the time of deployment it’s very handy to use, just have to trigger the build corresponding to the environment and to get your job deployed. Also, we have automatic build triggers in Jenkins, which get activated when there is any code change.This reduces the manual effort of triggering a build.
  • Continuous integration.
  • Customise jobs as per the components across various environments.
  • Very useful in automation regression testing.
  • Jenkins build use servers, if the servers are less, load is more, and the build may take a long time to complete.
  • The access rights have to be used wisely, or else it will impact other build jobs.Only people with good expertise can use Jenkins.
  • Being an open source tool, not much information is available to learn Jenkins.
Jenkins is most appropriate for regression and smoke testing. It is less appropriate for end to end testing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 22, 2017

User Review: "Jenkins - The way you want"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Jenkins in different areas of organization such as in Development, Test Automation and in cases for building docker images.
  • Wide range of plugin base support
  • Continuous Integration
  • Easy installation
  • GUI - There are places were you will think the UI is giving a hard time.
  • Documentation on DSL
Jenkins can be configured easily and enpowers you to define a pipeline which can be exececuted on a regular basis to give us faster feedback.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 22, 2017

User Review: "Jenkins open source build server"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across all the dev org. Maintenance is pretty straight forward and there are so many plugins to choose from. We have about 20-25 build machines that are continuously running jobs. It has so many hooks for svn.
  • Plays well with Linux, Windows and Mac OSX build machines
  • Maintenance - upgrades are pretty simple.
  • Plays well with SVN. Plus so many custom plugins.
  • Support
  • So many bugs
  • Clients constantly keep disconnecting from master
Scheduled build jobs are always easy to run. I don't believe there is a less appropriate way to use Jenkins.
Read this authenticated review
Juan Ayala profile photo
April 13, 2017

Review: "Jenkins is free and great for small business and start ups."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jenkins to build and deploy AEM (java/maven) applications. We usually stand up one instance per project so that teams do not interfere with each other. At the end of the project we destroy those instances. It is used primarily for CI to dev and qa environments, and final build package delivery. It integrates with our package management system Artifactory.

We have been able to leverage existing free plugins, and not needed to write any custom or convoluted scripts.
  • Job chains. you can break up tasks into multiple jobs and chain them together.
  • Jobs are very flexible. there are many plugins available for things like maven/ant/msbuild/s3 and if you can't find one for your particular stack, you can always drop down to scripting.
  • Notifications. we've used the out-of-the-box email notifications to report on failures, and we also use the Slack integration provided by a free plugin.
  • Its open source, so there are times when plugins (not the core) have issues and you either have to wait for a fix, suggest a fix, or find a work-around.
  • The UI leaves a little something to be desired. It seems like it was designed by engineers. fortunately there is a plugin for styling which makes it a little better.
  • Version 2 is out. At the time when I tried to migrate from 1.6 I had issues because some of the plugins I use had issues in 2.0.
Its great for test/build/deploy in dev/qa scenarios. I would not suggest it for production.
Read Juan Ayala's full review
Yasmany Cubela Medina profile photo
March 30, 2017

Jenkins Review: "The most flexible CI/CD tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jenkins is been use as our main CI/CD software, we have a micro-service architecture that is been build, tested, deployed through all our environments qa, staging, production and all of them at scale. We also build on jenkins our mobile applications with the same flow we build test and deploy our applications to the stores reducing human error on configurations and spotting issues before we even know about it. That allow us to reach an estate of trust with our clients.
About Jenkins we are using the new BlueOcean interface, what it is really amazing; and using Pipelines as our definition language.
  • Integration with third part tooling, testing software and platforms
  • Plugin platform, really flexible and easy to develop for
  • Open source
  • Scalable
  • Easy to install and configure
  • UI Interface
  • API
  • Administration
Jenkins is well suited for scenarios where building, testing and deployment basically all that involves CI/CD, but jenkins is also really flexible you can use it even for specific control rules, execute scheduled tasks, manage clusters common tasks like cleanups or even maybe scale up and down you can use jenkins for all that is automation related.
Read Yasmany Cubela Medina's full review

About Jenkins

Jenkins is an open source continuous integration tool.
Categories:  Build Automation

Jenkins Integrations

Jenkins Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No