IBM Storwize (now part of FlashSystems) Reviews

21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

IBM Storwize - Great mid-range product.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company implemented Storwize 3700 a couple of years ago to replace an existing highly available solution from Scale Computing. For a fraction of the price we received over 20TB of usable space, dual, highly available controller nodes and much better speeds in a 2U form factor. It quickly addressed issues with space and reliability that we have been experiencing over the past 2 years with our old solution.
  • Redundant controllers
  • Wide selection of connectivity options
  • Issues with recognising disks from it's own supported disks models
  • The support staff can be a bit better
The hardware itself is great, apart from few issues I had with it recognising disks from the officially supported lists. Another disadvantage is that you cannot really mix and match disks, at least in my experience. The support can be a bit nicer, however, once you get to an escalation point, things start getting better and my issue was resolved quickly. Performance is stellar, ease of use is great - very intuitive. All in all - very good product, marginally let down by not great support at the first line.
First off, I would like to comment on how great the cost of the device is! I paid around £20K for a fully populated device, with built-in resilience and only takes 2U in my rack! Has multiple 10Gbps network interfaces and works as iSCSI standard disks without a fault! I currently have about 120 people using the data on the device on a daily basis and some of them are very heavy graphics users! Never had a complaint to do with performance! Great product, highly recommended for midsized workloads and especially when the budget is an issue.
Read this authenticated review
Tom Corrado | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Storwize - High-Capacity Storage at a Manageable Price Point

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use a Storwize V7000 for backups and testing of copy services. It addresses the problem of recovering from a failure of our primary storage systems.
  • Low cost
  • High capacity
  • Good for backups
  • Would benefit from internal flash
  • Could use more streamlined port assignments
Storwize is an excellent backup solution that works very well for us. It is great for high capacity, low speed use cases. It would be less appropriate for production systems or applications requiring the lowest response time.
Storwize is very effective for midsized workloads because it can handle business-critical workloads without adding prohibitive extra costs.
Read Tom Corrado's full review
fredy garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

IBM Storwize, IBM's resilient product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
IBM Storwize is used by the entire organization. It is normally used for some databases with medium transactions and file saving as document management.
  • IBM Storwize, thanks to its IBM Spectrum Virtualize base software, is able to perform well-executed functions such as storage to storage replication, easy tier, flash copy and the most interesting one that I have seen operating in our clients is the capacity for real-time compression.
  • We have had several clients with real-time compression component, thanks to the great benefits it offers us in saving space in volumes, rack space, energy saving, among others.
  • Real-time compression on a V7000 with its compression accelerators not only has the ability to compress data volumes but also gives us better performance.
  • I would like them to improve the real-time compression in the V5030 family, since when compressing the data it takes processor resources from the controllers, degrading the performance at the time of compression.
A scenario where IBM Storwize is suitable is when we have hybrid environments such as databases, virtual machines, and file servers. With IBM Spectrum Virtualize software integration, we can take full advantage of the advantages offered by compression, deduplication, storage pool balancing, and data reduction pools among other interesting features that allow us to save considerable space and performance.

A scenario where IBM Storwize is not very suitable is when we have many transactions or a very high level of IOPS. In this case, it is better to consider an IBM Flash type storage with micro-latency.
IBM Storwize is quite effective for organizations with medium-sized workloads. In fact, I have seen IBM Storwize V7000 Gen 3 work with NVMe Flash disks in work environments where high transactions are required and the product has responded quite well.
Read fredy garcia's full review
Peter Sachs | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

Storwize made a great replacment to 3PAR

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Storwize V7000 Gen 3 provides all tiers of SAN storage for our hospital. The cost is reasonable any you can pretty much configure the systems with whatever types of drives, SSD and NVMe media you need.
  • The price of the Storwize has been quite reasonable
  • Support is great!
  • With Storwize any GUI commands that run have their CLI counterpart recorded on the same screen which is great for scripting.
  • We can take our legacy storage and represent it behind the storwize.
  • Better advertising of their product.
  • Rackmount diagrams could be clearer.
  • Add a second Welcome mat in the box that shows clear rail deployment steps.
The support for larger 12TB and 14TB spinning drives will be great for PACS and imaging.
It's great because you can buy any level or drive, SSD or NVMe you desire.
Read Peter Sachs's full review
Rusty Beard | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Satisfied Storwize Business Partner!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Customers of mine deploy IBM Storwize systems for many different purposes of general information technology storage. Storwize is one of the most flexible and capable block storage devices in IT today, and one of IBM's most successful. It addresses issues of high-speed data storage and combines with software-defined virtualization.
  • Software-defined virtualization based on a two-decade track record of SVC.
  • Flexibility in device choices.
  • Industry-leading replication over FC or IP.
  • It would be nice, at some point, if new disks could be added to a pre-existing RAID array.
It excels at nearly all things block-storage related. It's not a NAS device, and doesn't support NAS protocols.
IBM Storwize laser-targets the midrange workloads. Mostly through its flexibility, performance, and ease-of-use.
Read Rusty Beard's full review
Bill Raines | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

My review of IBM Storwize 2019

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I'm with an IBM business partner. The Storwize portfolio targets the majority of clients with a very flexible and simple block storage for most every use case in their business. I think that IBM's product and support wrapped with their Storage Insights in the cloud make this an excellent choice for the first time client as well as loyalty clients. Based on IBM Spectrum Virtualize provides the client peace of mind that IBM has done most of the work for them in proven solutions that clients need to support their older, current and future infrastructure.
  • Flexible Configurations and Features that are relevant to clients who need an array for a specific use case or a mixed workload at the right price
  • Simple GUI and Integration of the functions into the most widely used hypervisors for administrators of all types
  • Space Efficiency Technologies
  • Storage Insights to assist the administrator do their job
  • As a business partner looking to provide services to keep the uptime of the Storwize, I would like to have the capability to pull reports from IBM Storage Insights to assist my clients in managing their system through it's lifecycle.
  • More knowledge out there for partners to best integrate IBM Storwize with IBM Power i. This seems to be lacking in communication from IBM.
Well Suited:
Clients with Power Systems (Linux, AIX, and iSeries)
General Environments with mixed workloads
Traditional applications
Environments where the client has to co-exist legacy and modern systems (Spectrum Virtualize)
The capability to enable the storage to tier, accelerate with all flash, and deep and inexpensive in a single storage. Add to that the Storage Insights and you provide the admin the capability to quickly resolve problems before they arise in terms of support, performance, capacity, and planning to budget for growth and new projects.
Read Bill Raines's full review
Roberto Etcheverry | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

A review of the v3700 in a small company.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use a v3700 storage as the main storage for the entire company. Thanks to Thin Provisioning and Easy Tier I can look over provision volumes and be sure that my most used data will be on the fastest tier of storage. The performance, even being the smallest of the family, is a great bang for the buck and meets all our needs.
  • Management Interface
  • Easy Tier
  • Migration support
  • SCSI Unmap support (fixed in the new generation)
  • Data Deduplication (Again, fixed in the new generation)
  • Flashcopy interface, it's hard to understand at first.
Storwize products are well suited to most scenarios, it's features adapt to most workloads seamlessly. Only if one needs the least latency between data and the server and is willing to forego all the features the Storwize stack brings, just in that case something like the FS900 might be better suited.
It is very effective in organizations small and midsized due to it's abundance of features. It has the same graphical interface as the rest of the family, which means no need to retrain an operator when the company grows and migrates to bigger storages. The newer generations also bring enterprise features like dedup and compression to the small machines.
Read Roberto Etcheverry's full review
Richy Peebles | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

my storwize review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently have V9000 installed connected to P824 running IBMi 7.2. We use JD Edwards E1 9.2. We went with Flash for performance reasons and for the most part have not been disappointed.
  • Self monitoring and reporting
  • Friendly GUI interface
  • Make finding information about storage insights easier
  • As new technology is introduce, could have better migration paths
Sizing and price points are good for clients moving from internal storage to external storage for the first time.
Very effective. Pricing, and scaleability are the key to it's effectiveness.
Read Richy Peebles's full review
Kenneth Ditmar Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

I love how easy IBM Storwize is in my daily job

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Storwize storage products for fast flash storage access for hosting of customers' data, but also for internal use. Storwize products are in my opinion very easy to use, fast and a reliable storage solution. They are up to date with the newest flash technology, and that gives us an advantage in the industry.
  • Easy to use GUI
  • Fast performance
  • Good value for monney
  • Remote service built in, like EMC's ESRS
  • Better and easier support page
  • New data reduction features
  • Mid-range storage for all around storage, and can fit in all storage departments, easy to work with, and provides newest flash technology in an easy way.
  • Good for mid size environments, and for all workloads it's easy to design the right solution.
  • IBM is a well known brand and provides a good bang for the buck.
IBM Storwize easily lives up to mid-size workloads, and even at high end performance, low latency and high bandwidth, I think is easy with the right configuration. It can do jigh end workloads as well.

Easy to install and less manpower to admin, and easy to get in production, with all features.
Read Kenneth Ditmar Hansen's full review
Keith Thuerk | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Storwize - storage that makes sense it today's tight IT budget world

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IBM Storwize was originally purchased to consolidate DS5000 workloads. Hence we have refreshed the array and even grown it [to] add in a DR location. The GUI is super easy - even our manager can figure it out in times of need.
  • Block Storage
  • Storage Consolidation
  • Easy to Use GUI
  • Always room for Data Reduction Improvements (efficiency) without the overhead on the array
  • Would love to see NVMe roadmap
Midrange to Large Enterprise Storage offerings. No NAS or Unified storage offering (enterprise) as IBM has dropped all the NAS/Unified offerings
Storwize is a great fit for mixed application workloads and shrinking IT budgets. The Graphical User Interface makes life simple as it should be not complex to make someone feel proud they can configure IT storage.
Read Keith Thuerk's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

Large savings for midsize workloads

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Storwize virtualized products to leverage storage efficiency practices to scale our storage to business demands. Data is endlessly growing, and being able to use virtualized products we can somewhat manage growth. We use multiple Storwize V7000 and V5000 devices behind SVC. The SVC allows us to seamlessly move data between storage devices without issues. Specifically, the V7k V5k, and as well as the V9Ks allow us to provision storage and over-allocate storage when workloads are not meeting the requests from the users.
  • Data processing and IO. The Storwize devices are very resilient in how they process data and do not have a drop in IO when errors occur (common errors such as disk failures and lost paths).
  • Storage efficiency management. We are able to use multiple efficiency techniques such as thin provisioning and data reduction to reduce our budget footprint.
  • Easy to use interfaces. Creating a volume and mapping to a host has proven to be a very easy process and makes onboarding less stressful for our team.
  • Support could use some improvement when there are major issues. Call home reaches level 1 support, but each error should probably reach a different team when a more major event occurs.
  • There is a bit of confusion surrounding data reduction pools and leveraging DRP or using FCM. This may be confusion on my part, not necessarily the Storwize product.
Storwize has been well suited in environments where users have requested more storage than they need. Using thin provisioning techniques we have eliminated the need for multiple storage purchases. In our industry, we have users request storage more than they need. A user may request a 2 TB volume, but only use 900GB of the 2TB. Storwize is well suited for these type of scenarios because it can manage to provide the user with the 2TB allocation, but only physically be using the 990GB that is in use, allowing for us to allocate additional storage for other users.
Storwize is perfect for organizations with midsized workloads. Being able to capitalize on storage efficiency practices with thin provisioning, data reduction pools, and compression have proved to be very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

IBM Storwize Human Element.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this with all of our IBM storage systems, it allows us a single use platform to connect to our systems.
  • Simple Use.
  • Great GUI
  • Easy Management
  • Updates hard to manage.
  • Storwize works well for underlying issue resolution for business/enterprise level storage.
  • May not always be best to use for small environments.
It's very effective from a price and usefulness standpoint because it allows that simple view for midsize companies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

So far so good

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Storwize is our company's main storage application. We're able to utilize its VTS optimization, and it's as easy and as streamlined as we hoped. Although I haven't been exposed to as many storage resolutions as some, I do appreciate the thought that went behind this product, from a user perspective.
  • Ease of use
  • Visually appealing
  • Fast
  • Well thought out
  • Could be faster
  • Updates [could be] easier to install
  • Updated GUI
IBM Storwize is well suited for our VTS resolution, with its ease of use, and its fast and reliable software.
IBM Storwize is not the best suited for our physical tape resolution.
IBM Storwize fits our organizational needs for midsized workloads, and resolves most of our storage needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Storwize is a wise solution for tiered storage

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Storwize is used as a SAN with multi tier storage for production and prototype systems. It is used by many areas of the enterprise.
  • Multi tier storage
  • Internal fault checking
  • Speed of fast tier storage
  • Cost is high for storage
  • Cost of maintenance is higher than it should be
Storwize is well suited for areas requiring/benefiting from complex tiered storage. It is expensive to service, so having local expertise is helpful.
Read this authenticated review

IBM Storwize (now part of FlashSystems) Scorecard Summary

About IBM Storwize (now part of FlashSystems)

The IBM Storwize family, now part of the FlashSystems family, is designed to meet the storage requirements of businesses with entry to mid-sized application workloads who need all the features and capabilities demanded in business-critical environments but within constrained budgets. Members of the Storwize family deliver hybrid flash capability at a low entry price whereas others offer high performance end-to-end NVMe including NVMe flash drives and support for NVMe over Fibre Channel fabrics. Many Storwize systems include unique IBM FlashCore Modules with ultra-low latency, and compression and FIPS 140-2 encryption, delivered without impact to performance.

Offered in a wide range of storage systems, the IBM Storwize family delivers sophisticated capabilities that are easy to deploy and easy to manage thanks to its IBM Spectrum Virtualize software. These capabilities include non-disruptive data migration from existing storage, comprehensive data reduction to help reduce costs, six-nines availability to meet the most demanding business needs, easy scalability, and hybrid cloud capability when used with IBM Spectrum Virtualize for Public Cloud. All Storwize systems are enhanced with cloud-based IBM Storage Insights that helps monitor health, status, and performance, and offers proactive recommendations. When problems occur, Storage Insights helps streamline obtaining support.

IBM Storwize (now part of FlashSystems) Features

Has featureGet faster insights with NVMe acceleration
Has featureImprove your business agility with enterprise-class storage capability
Has featureTransform the economics of data storage using data reduction technologies
Has featureLeverage AI to optimize configurations and streamline issue resolution
Has featureComplement on-premises storage of all types with hybrid multicloud capability

IBM Storwize (now part of FlashSystems) Screenshots

IBM Storwize (now part of FlashSystems) Competitors

IBM Storwize (now part of FlashSystems) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No