TrustRadius
Nimble Storage was acquired by HPE in 2017. The enterprise flash array product line now goes by the name HPE Nimble Storage.Nimble is the no compromises, best of all worlds, storage solutionOur HPE Nimble SAN is the core storage backend for our virtualization infrastructure. This allows us to leverage VMware cluster capabilities for high availability. We have utilized Nimble for the last 4 years and it is our only storage solution for the entire organization. It provides a self tuning "set it and forget it" storage for our growing enterprise.,Nimble provides top notch predictive flash caching that "just works". We typically see 95% + cache hits daily. World class support... You typically don't' call Nimble support when there are problems, they call you. The Nimble hybrid array is a cost effective solution with no compromises. Infosight, the cloud management dashboard, is easy to use and provides quick access to useful information. Our Nimble has had 100% uptime, 4 years and counting.,We haven't experienced any cons in 4 years. It's divine.,10,100% uptime 4 years and counting in a 24/7 environment. Long hardware support lifecycle, with extremely affordable maintenance renewal plans that provide real value. Nimble has been the most cost-effective SAN solution I have ever deployed. The inital costs, ongoing maintenance, and administration requirements were all 50% less than EMC and NetApp.,EMC VNX and NetApp FAS series,Barracuda Backup, SonicWall Web Content Filtering Services, VMware vCenter Server, Cisco Catalyst Switches, HP ProLiant DLGood and reliable Storage system, I highly recommend Nimble Storage for all of your SAN storage needs!We are using HPE Nimble Storage arrays in our VMware environment hosting all our VM Servers. The entire organization has access to the server farm as end users and I manage Nimble and the associated devices. We have 2 HPE Nimble Storage with replication configured.,Ease of use and price. Its competitively priced and has great expansion options based on the base model. Deduplication Feature gives really good compression of data, Snapshot is really easy and restores as well. World class customer experience. I like how Nimble uses flash storage. The virtual machines I have residing on our Nimble preform disk writes cleanly and quickly.,Lack of an active active configuration, if they would change this it would change our us of them. The company at the time was nimble alone and was a little rocky to deal with.,8,The device has worked as expected since installation. Higher performance than NetApp and easier to maintain. Nimble storage is affordable and great performance SAN.,NetApp FlashRay,eFax, Barracuda Email Security Service, Microsoft Exchange, SolarWinds IPAM, Veriato 360, SonicWall TZ, Ubiquiti Networks UniFiLooking at Nimble Storage? I hope you like consistently sub-millisecond latency!We are currently servicing our entire VMware workload using Nimble Storage, including production systems as well as development and testing. The Nimble solution replaced a scale computing storage cluster we had for 5 years, and the difference is night and day. Everything in our environment is now instant, automatic, and reliable.,The InfoSight Predictive Analytics portal is a phenomenal value-add for the Nimble platform, especially the VMvision component, which gives incredible visibility into the entire virtualization stack. The storage itself (we are using all-flash) is blistering fast; all storage operations, from regular I/O to volume provisioning, complete instantly. Nimble's proactive support is second to none - During deployment, I took down the array to move it from our workbench to the rack, and within minutes Nimble called me to ask if we know our array is down. Nimble's support engineers are top-notch: When you call Nimble, you're talking to a tier-3 engineer. No lengthy phone trees, no call dispatching and waiting for a callback.,Nimble recently got purchased by HP Enterprise, and I've NEVER heard anyone excited about their vendor being acquired by HP. The clever little experimental features added to the "Lab" section of InfoSight don't get added to the main product quickly enough! The awesome green "bling" LEDs on the front only come in green - ideally, I'd like them to be blue, or even purple.,10,Our Nimble array has experienced a total of one incident, which had zero impact on the business, since installation. Our previous solution had at least one incident a month, each of which brought production to its knees for a while, costing us thousands (or tens of thousands) per incident. We have now automated many of our storage operations, eliminating both human work and human error from ongoing operational and development work.,Tegile, Pure Storage, Tintri, Compellent and Scale Computing M-Series,TeamCity, VMware ESXi, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup ApplianceNimble performance that won't slow down your budget.We use Nimble Storage to support our main data center VMWare environment. This main data center contains Exchange, Sharepoint and our ERP systems, as well some various other tier 2 applications and test environments. The majority of our user base uses these applications on a daily basis. We bought this Nimble unit to replace a EMC unit mostly due to differences in cost.,Great support, some of the best I've dealt with in my 9 years in IT. De-duplication and compression features. These have allowed us to run test environments of our tier 1 applications at almost no drive cost. Our data center is around 7TB but the utilization on the nimble is about 3.5TB. Ease of use. Web GUI is straightforward and easy to navigate.,Faster Web GUI performance. Can be a little sluggish at times, even though it is easy to use it may take some time to load certain forms or items. Large physical footprint. This is a 3U unit that has 8TB usable, would be nice to have a smaller rack footprint. Quick access to see which data is currently on the flash storage. The Nimble unit we use is a hybrid HDD and flash array which moves the data around when it is being utilized the most. I am not aware of a way to see this information on the fly.,10,We have been able to increase the amount of data we can use without increasing the cost of that data using the de-duplication and compression features. We have been able to utilize 7TB of Virtual Machine data but the footprint is only 3.5TB after de-duplication and compression. This unit cost significantly less than the competitors unit we compared it to, under half the cost for similar iOPs.,EMC vVNXNimble Storage - Highly RecommendedWe are using the Nimble Storage Array in our current VDI Environment. Last year when we decided to upgrade our old infrastructure with newer equipment, the question of storage came up and we needed to find a device that could handle our workload plus be easy to scale and have manageability. Our search took us to Nimble, which was already a leader in storage using adaptive flash arrays. Their patented CASL (Cache Accelerated Sequential Layout) was extremely impressive in I/O reduction and performance. The enhanced quickness could be seen immediately on our SQL servers, resulting in faster VDI times and related services. Nimble also has tie-in compatibility with other big named technology such as Cisco (SmartStack Integration) and VMware SRM (SAN Replication). This allowed it to easily be used with our Cisco USC and with our Disaster Recovery Site where we used VMware's Site Recovery Manager. It should also be noted that the Nimble team was extremely helpful during our POC (proof of concept), implementation, and post implementation. They provided knowledge, insight, and training to our group and were always ready to help, if we needed assistance.,CASL (Cache Accelerated Sequential Layout) - basically the backbone of their OS that allows them to be so efficient in speed. Management Portal - Insight offers storage management and predictive analytics (prescriptive guidance). Support - Excellent support model. All representative were very knowledgeable and could assist or expedite to someone who could.,Price - the Nimble Solution is on the high end of the storage market. Hybrid Flash solution - part SSD, part HDD. There is rumor that an all Flash Array is coming soon - Q3? Education - not much in formal training is available for this product. There is a class given by Nimble but is not thorough enough to teach someone to be certified in using Nimble.,9,Faster VDI's (performance in virtual desktops) VDI related services (AppSense, Citrix, VMware) DR (data replication) - ideal for our DR solution,EMC and Pure Storage,Citrix NetScaler, VMware ESXi, AppSense
Unspecified
HPE Nimble Storage
29 Ratings
Score 9.5 out of 101
TRScore

HPE Nimble Storage Reviews

HPE Nimble Storage
29 Ratings
Score 9.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 29 vetted HPE Nimble Storage reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-9 of 9)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
September 11, 2018

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Nimble is the no compromises, best of all worlds, storage solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our HPE Nimble SAN is the core storage backend for our virtualization infrastructure. This allows us to leverage VMware cluster capabilities for high availability. We have utilized Nimble for the last 4 years and it is our only storage solution for the entire organization. It provides a self tuning "set it and forget it" storage for our growing enterprise.
  • Nimble provides top notch predictive flash caching that "just works". We typically see 95% + cache hits daily.
  • World class support... You typically don't' call Nimble support when there are problems, they call you.
  • The Nimble hybrid array is a cost effective solution with no compromises.
  • Infosight, the cloud management dashboard, is easy to use and provides quick access to useful information.
  • Our Nimble has had 100% uptime, 4 years and counting.
  • We haven't experienced any cons in 4 years. It's divine.
Nimble has simplified storage for organizations of any size. If you're a small to medium organization that has enterprise storage requirements, Nimble can help you meet that need without having to have a storage engineer on staff. Nimble also has larger arrays that scale to provide solutions for large environments, while also reducing costs compared to other storage vendors.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 27, 2018

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Good and reliable Storage system, I highly recommend Nimble Storage for all of your SAN storage needs!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using HPE Nimble Storage arrays in our VMware environment hosting all our VM Servers. The entire organization has access to the server farm as end users and I manage Nimble and the associated devices. We have 2 HPE Nimble Storage with replication configured.
  • Ease of use and price. Its competitively priced and has great expansion options based on the base model.
  • Deduplication Feature gives really good compression of data, Snapshot is really easy and restores as well. World class customer experience.
  • I like how Nimble uses flash storage. The virtual machines I have residing on our Nimble preform disk writes cleanly and quickly.
  • Lack of an active active configuration, if they would change this it would change our us of them.
  • The company at the time was nimble alone and was a little rocky to deal with.
HPE Nimble Storage provided the best performance per dollar. We were able to decommission our legacy NetApp system which resulted in higher performance, reduced size in our rack, and lower costs than replacing with a competitive NetApp product. Other vendors were considered though none could match the overall value of the Nimble solution. ”
Read this authenticated review
Bear Golightly profile photo
March 23, 2017

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Looking at Nimble Storage? I hope you like consistently sub-millisecond latency!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently servicing our entire VMware workload using Nimble Storage, including production systems as well as development and testing. The Nimble solution replaced a scale computing storage cluster we had for 5 years, and the difference is night and day. Everything in our environment is now instant, automatic, and reliable.
  • The InfoSight Predictive Analytics portal is a phenomenal value-add for the Nimble platform, especially the VMvision component, which gives incredible visibility into the entire virtualization stack.
  • The storage itself (we are using all-flash) is blistering fast; all storage operations, from regular I/O to volume provisioning, complete instantly.
  • Nimble's proactive support is second to none - During deployment, I took down the array to move it from our workbench to the rack, and within minutes Nimble called me to ask if we know our array is down.
  • Nimble's support engineers are top-notch: When you call Nimble, you're talking to a tier-3 engineer. No lengthy phone trees, no call dispatching and waiting for a callback.
  • Nimble recently got purchased by HP Enterprise, and I've NEVER heard anyone excited about their vendor being acquired by HP.
  • The clever little experimental features added to the "Lab" section of InfoSight don't get added to the main product quickly enough!
  • The awesome green "bling" LEDs on the front only come in green - ideally, I'd like them to be blue, or even purple.
Do you like fast, reliable storage and work for a company that likes to invest in performance? Nimble is for you. Is your organization miserly with storage spending? Nimble is not for you.
Read Bear Golightly's full review
Jeremy Judnic profile photo
March 20, 2017

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Nimble performance that won't slow down your budget."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nimble Storage to support our main data center VMWare environment. This main data center contains Exchange, Sharepoint and our ERP systems, as well some various other tier 2 applications and test environments. The majority of our user base uses these applications on a daily basis. We bought this Nimble unit to replace a EMC unit mostly due to differences in cost.
  • Great support, some of the best I've dealt with in my 9 years in IT.
  • De-duplication and compression features. These have allowed us to run test environments of our tier 1 applications at almost no drive cost. Our data center is around 7TB but the utilization on the nimble is about 3.5TB.
  • Ease of use. Web GUI is straightforward and easy to navigate.
  • Faster Web GUI performance. Can be a little sluggish at times, even though it is easy to use it may take some time to load certain forms or items.
  • Large physical footprint. This is a 3U unit that has 8TB usable, would be nice to have a smaller rack footprint.
  • Quick access to see which data is currently on the flash storage. The Nimble unit we use is a hybrid HDD and flash array which moves the data around when it is being utilized the most. I am not aware of a way to see this information on the fly.
Nimble Storage is well suited to small/mid sized environments who are budget conscious. We asked another vendor for a similar unit and it was over 100K, while this Nimble unit was less than 50K. It allowed us to provide a high amount of iOPs without breaking the bank to a good amount of applications in our VMWare cluster.
Read Jeremy Judnic's full review
Anthony Nguyen profile photo
March 22, 2016

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Nimble Storage - Highly Recommended"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Nimble Storage Array in our current VDI Environment. Last year when we decided to upgrade our old infrastructure with newer equipment, the question of storage came up and we needed to find a device that could handle our workload plus be easy to scale and have manageability. Our search took us to Nimble, which was already a leader in storage using adaptive flash arrays. Their patented CASL (Cache Accelerated Sequential Layout) was extremely impressive in I/O reduction and performance. The enhanced quickness could be seen immediately on our SQL servers, resulting in faster VDI times and related services. Nimble also has tie-in compatibility with other big named technology such as Cisco (SmartStack Integration) and VMware SRM (SAN Replication). This allowed it to easily be used with our Cisco USC and with our Disaster Recovery Site where we used VMware's Site Recovery Manager. It should also be noted that the Nimble team was extremely helpful during our POC (proof of concept), implementation, and post implementation. They provided knowledge, insight, and training to our group and were always ready to help, if we needed assistance.
  • CASL (Cache Accelerated Sequential Layout) - basically the backbone of their OS that allows them to be so efficient in speed.
  • Management Portal - Insight offers storage management and predictive analytics (prescriptive guidance).
  • Support - Excellent support model. All representative were very knowledgeable and could assist or expedite to someone who could.
  • Price - the Nimble Solution is on the high end of the storage market.
  • Hybrid Flash solution - part SSD, part HDD. There is rumor that an all Flash Array is coming soon - Q3?
  • Education - not much in formal training is available for this product. There is a class given by Nimble but is not thorough enough to teach someone to be certified in using Nimble.
If using a virtualized environment, especially with virtualized SQL, Nimble Storage with all it's features would be highly recommended.
Read Anthony Nguyen's full review
Nicolas Tenthorey profile photo
March 22, 2016

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Nimble Storage - an "A Team" product. Easy to use and deploy across multiple sites."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two Nimble storage arrays. One array is located in our HQ and the other at an offsite data center. These devices work together in perfect harmony. They are connected via an MPLS network and are constantly syncing our volumes. We have Hyper-V hosts at both locations and the Nimble serves as NAS for these hosts.
  • Snapshot scheduling is very easy to do.
  • Cloning volumes to create new VM's very easy.
  • Adding additional storage very simple. Plug and play.
  • Firmware updates could be improved, possibly automated.
  • Cost is a bit high per GB compared to alternatives.
  • Data restoration process could be improved. Right now we have to clone volume and attach to server. A webpage data explorer would be nice.
Nimble Storage is well suited for a Hyper-V or VMware environment where fast network attached storage is demanded.
Read Nicolas Tenthorey's full review
Larry Askew profile photo
August 16, 2014

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Nimble SAN revew"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed small SANs, each to support VMWare HA clusters at different sites. We needed ease of use, good data/reporting, minimal rack space and lastly, while our performance needs could have been met by a wide range of products, we didn't want that to be a limiting factor down the road. While we have a range of server types running on the Nimble arrays, MS SQL servers and application servers are the most important.
  • The data available from the dashboard/UI is really great.
  • Nimble's tech support, not only for their product directly but also digging well into VMWare and working with VMWare tech support on one particularly difficult problem was impressive. They didn't draw a line and begin to ask that we contact another vendor.
  • The performance is really quite good. While our applications don't push the array at all, I was able to drive impressive IOPS using SQLIO. The numbers were particularly impressive considering ours is 1GB iSCSI.
  • One of our arrays has had no hardware failures at all while the other has had a failed power supply and controller. Both caused alerts to be generated and Nimble contacted us to ship the replacement components, so I suppose that's a weakness and strength in one.
  • While compression is a great thing, it does cause some confusion in terms of capacity when looking at vCenter and the Nimble web based UI. Somewhere between thin provisioning, multiple VMs per partition and compression, I sometimes find it difficult to know exactly where one might be tight on space.
Really anybody needing a high performing iSCSI SAN with great performance, ease of use and support would be well served by the Nimble, that is if cost isn't a primary deciding factor.
Read Larry Askew's full review
No photo available
June 16, 2016

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Nimble Storage Keeping It Awesome"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nimble Storage for all of our data storage needs. We have 155 virtual servers running off of our array. We have Cisco UCS blades running our hosts that connect to Nimble Storage. Our Nimble has 2 10GB network ports that we have aggregated on each controller. We are getting 20GBs network throughput. On average we are using about 3,000 IOPS, but our system can handle around 21,000 IOPS according to our tests. Our SQL servers all run on Nimble Storage. They are fast.
  • Storage Compression - Get more space for your money. We are saving about 4TB right out now using 20TB of space.
  • Caching - Built in SSD caching works well. 75% of our data is hitting cache. It would be more, but our application code limits that.
  • Latency - Latency is very low. Reads and Writes are always below 1ms.
  • Usage Reporting - Great web portal to see how much space you are taking up and your expected growth pattern.
  • Easy Setup - Easy to set up new volumes and expand volumes.
  • Infosight (Web interface) has some neat free features. With VMware and maybe Hyper V you can see your performance on your VMs from the interface. You can see IO, latency, times, etc., that is useful for troubleshooting and performance planning.
  • Rack Space - One of the main reasons we went with Nimble Storage was for rack space. We had 12U of space being taken up by HP Storage. With only 4U we could double and triple our storage space and save 8U for other things. This prevented us from adding another rack at our data center. Which isn't cheap. It saved us around $1200 a month.
  • Power Button - The power button is easily accessed on the front chassis. This button should be covered, or concave to push, not sticking out.
  • Web interface (InfoSight) could have more real-time information. Currently it is a few hours to last 24 hours of data.
  • Weekly reports - Would be nice to see weekly reports and trends emailed.
Nimble Storage works well for storage of anything. It is fast and reliable. Nimble storage is great for virtual machines, SQL databases, exchange, backups, and anything else you would put on a SAN. Nimble is especially good at compression and consolidation. If you have a rack now with 24U of storage, you can most likely knock that down to 4U with Nimble. You get more space for your money on both storage and rack space.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 06, 2016

HPE Nimble Storage Review: "Nimble Storage - a great solution for our growth"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nimble Storage is our primary SAN device for hosting Windows servers and a few management Linux machines. We use VMWare hosts with Nimble. We use Nimble to host internal AD servers, websites and storage servers. The entire organization has access to the server farm as end users. I manage Nimble and the associated devices.
  • Really good management interface, can monitor pace and performance easily.
  • Nimble Infosight software helps plan future needs.
  • Nimble heartbeat monitoring helps me know that Nimble support backs me up as to status of a unit. As a one man shop, it's hard to be on top of everything.
  • The web interface can be sluggish at times, but this is pretty typical of most of my internal use interfaces.
  • I would like to drill down on the snapshots but they take volumes. We wouldn't want to restore a volume typically, we would want to restore an individual server, but the Nimble setup was not done by me and setup could have been better.
  • During setup, our Nimble install was checked by the local rep and he tore down the setup and caused a lot of extra work on the team; his skill level was very basic compared to my contracted install help
We use our Nimble for a Windows Server farm of web and database servers. We also have some P2V legacy servers where the hardware is obsolescent, but we still can use the OS and legacy software as we migrate into new versions of the software.
Read this authenticated review

About HPE Nimble Storage

Nimble Storage was acquired by HPE in 2017. The enterprise flash array product line now goes by the name HPE Nimble Storage.

HPE Nimble Storage Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No