Linode Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
213 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 128)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 14, 2021
Rudolph Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[Linode] is used by the Open Source development team for hosting Ningx, MySQL and PHP based web applications. Several websites have been publicly hosted.
Read Rudolph Pereira's full review
March 31, 2021
Dave Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were a small hosting company, all of our web servers and various other services were run on Linode's platform. Although I have largely exited the Webhosting industry, I still have half a dozen Linode servers hosting our internal applications, customer-facing website, and a few remaining customer sites. Even to this day, I run some public mirrors for a few open-source projects.
Read Dave Warren's full review
March 30, 2021
Albert Mensah-Ansah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Linode is basically our provider for VPS solutions. Whenever we build a web application, we host it on Linode servers. It is used by the tech division of the organization. It basically takes our mind off the complexity of aws(ec-2 instances) and their not so transparent billing. I find Linode to be very simplified, clean and gets the job done with very transparent billing.
Read Albert Mensah-Ansah's full review
March 23, 2021
Justin Ponce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Linode to spool up Linux environments for training, testing & development, and for hosting customer websites. Right now, my business might be small in comparison to others like it, so saying that we use Linode in one department or throughout the entire organization is one and the same. Speed and reliability are the two most important factors for customers we cater to and Linode helps us solve both of these quite well.
Read Justin Ponce's full review
March 18, 2021
Tiago Ameller Gomila | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started using Linode hosting services in 2017. Moving from DigitalOcean, our motivation at the beginning was just pricing. But after four years I can say reliability and professional service is key for remaining. We still have some servers running on a local data center, but have plans to move all of them to Linode in next months/years.
We use Linode's VPS for custom web services for all customers, which are small companies. For $5 to $20 at month, we can host a web application with some hundreds of users.
Read Tiago Ameller Gomila's full review
March 17, 2021
Harald Kubota | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Linode runs for many years all of the infrastructure we need for our web pages and all our public Internet-facing applications. While over the year we used other providers in additions, none were better. It's nice to be able to provision VMs all over the globe, just like we can do with the usual cloud providers, and yet due to their scale, we still feel we get much better and much more personal support when needed.
Read Harald Kubota's full review
March 15, 2021
Praneeth Karnena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a small start-up. Hence cost matters to us a lot. Our primary requirement is to cut costs as much as possible. Hence we mostly used open-source technologies and implemented everything by ourselves. We are running everything on a single server. We did a test run on major cloud providers like AWS and GCP. Linode's price-to-performance ratio is much higher than both AWS & GCP. Also, as seen on the internet portals, folks at Linode are pure geeks and tech enthusiasts. They have built everything from the ground up. We loved that as geeks ourselves and our journey with Linode started.
Read Praneeth Karnena's full review
March 15, 2021
David Ashman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I've been using Linode for the past eight years to run a website hosting a wiki for a mobile video game. I needed something reliable, scalable, and affordable for a non-commercial project. I was able to use Linode to run my own database, web server, and web application for less than it would have cost to use those same services individually through other providers. The storage and bandwidth allowances were also more generous than competing offers.
Read David Ashman's full review
March 14, 2021
Marc Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a consulting agency that provides custom software solutions for our clients that are predominantly web based. All of our customer facing services are deployed through Linode. This includes all of our project tracking systems, code repositories, client projects, and supporting systems. Linode allows us to use industry-standard platforms that allow us to focus on our client's needs instead of proprietary APIs.
Read Marc Lewis's full review
March 14, 2021
Chris Hodgetts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Lindode to service our DNS demands, Web Presence and Mail services. Being a small company we do not need the complexities or cost of Google or Office365. With the services we have from Linode, they are cost effective and put us in control of our own data, and allow us to scale up or down as our demands require. It is not a one-stop shop - it gives our IT independence and freedom back.
Read Chris Hodgetts's full review
January 28, 2021
Erle Pereira, MBA (EntMgt) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We operate as a team of freelance professionals. Our specialisation is in Open Source and Linux technologies. Our range of projects can vary, from the mundane to the esoteric. These edge case projects leverage heavily on open source. Often they require a lot of flexibility from the underlying infrastructure platform. The nature of its offering allows us to adapt and evolve these solutions cost effectively. Excellent support, with an organisation that understands the nuances of Linux based solutions. This means we have to jump through fewer hoops. Linode is one of the primary hosting platforms for our online presence and infrastructure.
Read Erle Pereira, MBA (EntMgt)'s full review
March 30, 2021
Boon Eam Lim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Linode in many areas including company's staging/development server, email/web server, DNS, application server and email server/gateway, web server for customers. It's being used by the whole organization.
Read Boon Eam Lim's full review
March 26, 2021
Alan Dingeldein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using a Linode to host an Ignition instance. It is used by several controls engineers. We are able to avoid the expense of having hardware in our facility to maintain and cool and Linodes just work.
Read Alan Dingeldein's full review
March 19, 2021
Juan Manuel Acuna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Linode throughout our organization, and we continually implement it as a solution for our customers. We use Linode both for our development infrastructure and to provide services to our clients. Using Linode gives us peace of mind, knowing that we can grow without worrying about the cost of purchasing new hardware.
Read Juan Manuel Acuna's full review
March 17, 2021
Richard Irwin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used for both own company web sites and for meeting clients needs supporting web their presence. Very easy and quick to deploy with many out-of-the-box options for deploying operating systems and fully configured packages. Appears to be very secure and very reliable. Much simpler to use than bigger named competitors.
Read Richard Irwin's full review
March 17, 2021
Moshe Katz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Linode across our organization to host our web applications that provide free recorded audio lectures. We wanted a platform that would give us the ability to completely manage our instances as we want them, that would not limit what technologies we use, and, most importantly, that did not oversell their hardware capacity. After trying several other providers that failed to meet our needs in various ways, we found Linode, and we have been happy customers for over a decade.
Read Moshe Katz's full review
March 17, 2021
Matt Hackmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Linode to host multiple websites and microservices used by those websites. It's given me the flexibility to easily change how my software is architected as those websites continue to evolve and scale, going from a monolithic app LAMP stack, to one that's gone to a multi-server microservices based architecture. But, at the same time, I can still host multiple other basic websites as I see fit and stand up new ones with ease.
Read Matt Hackmann's full review
March 17, 2021
Phillip Clapham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Linode to run my own LAMP servers to serve my client's WordPress sites. I choose Linode because it is the perfect balance between cost, performance, and the features I'm looking for. Even after using them for several years now I feel no need to look for a new service as they continue to impress me year after year.
Read Phillip Clapham's full review
March 17, 2021
Michael Babcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our current use case is running a mail server for several of our domains. We've also used Linode to spin up test servers for various applications, to see if they are worth pursuing for our own internal use or as recommendations for current and future clients.
Read Michael Babcock's full review
March 17, 2021
Joseph Brower | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have used Linode for our own, and our client's hosting of game servers, websites, and static content. Recently, we integrated with Forge for automated provisioning and the integration has worked well. Without Linode, we would be needing to use other providers that don't fit our preferred billing methodology and would lack the predictability that we and our clients need.
Read Joseph Brower's full review
March 15, 2021
Ryan Hoyt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Linode to offer fast, reliable hosting to our clients. It allows us the flexibility of a standalone server while adding features such as backups, DNS records, cloning, and other server-side management. Our organization has adopted a workflow to incorporate Linode with other server management tools to allow us flexibility and automation in hosting while maintaining full control of our clients' hosting.
Read Ryan Hoyt's full review
March 15, 2021
Shyju Kanaprath | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Linode is used by our organization. Our ERP is hosted there. We use it host software for our clients. Our website runs on it. It is cost-effective and powerful. We store our custom images in Linode at no cost which makes deployment much easier and faster. A simple and uncluttered interface makes it stand out from the other cloud hosting provider.
Read Shyju Kanaprath's full review

What is Linode?

For cloud infrastructure, Linode offers Linux virtual machines and a set of tools to develop, deploy, and scale modern applications.

Linode states their belief that in order to accelerate innovation in the cloud, virtual computing must be more accessible, affordable, and simple. Their infrastructure-as-a-service platform is deployed across 11 global markets from global data centers and is supported by what they describe as a Next Generation Network, advanced APIs, comprehensive services, and a vast library of educational resources. Linode products, services, and people aim to enable developers and businesses to build, deploy, and scale applications more easily and cost-effectively in the cloud.

Linode Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features

Has featureService-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
Has featureDynamic scaling
Has featureElastic load balancing
Has featurePre-configured templates
Has featureMonitoring tools
Has featurePre-defined machine images
Has featureOperating system support
Has featureSecurity controls

Linode Screenshots

Linode Videos (2)

Linode Downloadables

Linode Integrations

Linode Competitors

Linode Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
1 Core$5.00Per Month
2 Cores$20.00Per Month
8 Cores$160.00Per Month

CPU, transfer, storage, and RAM bundled into one simple price. Increase storage capacity with additional Block Storage or S3-compatible Object Storage. Add instant Backups with complete independency to your stack. Ensure your applications and services are highly-available with Linode NodeBalancers. Deploy Kubernetes clusters with our fully-managed container orchestration engine.

Linode Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Linode Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Linode's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Linode?

The most common users of Linode are Small Businesses from the Computer Software industry.